Military Forces of the United States Army

The U.S. Army is divided into three vitally important components: the Regular Army,
the Army Reserve, and the National Guard.


Army Seal Soldiers in the Regular Army are active-duty full-time men and women responsible for land-based operations.
Reserve Seal Army Reserve soldiers are part-time, but may be required to perform full-time duties. Reserve enlistments range from one to six years. Reservists can be called to active duty as units or as individuals. Like the National Guard, the Army Reservist brings civilian skills to his or her Army career.
The National Guard's soldiers are state-controlled, but federally recognized. They may be activated by either the governor or the president for state-related emergencies or called to active duty for wars, national disasters, or actions in aid to civil authority. Duties may be full-time or part-time.


Office of Cultural Education | New York State Education Department
Information: 518-474-5877 | Contact Us
Join Us On:
Join us on Facebook See us on YouTube