The museum facade
Historic Markers

Another Historic Markers Search

The query returned 2979 records.
These results are formatted to show the text in the same format as the marker.

County: ALBANY
Town: ALBANY, CITY OF

  • ALBANY
    CALLED FORT NASSAU 1614,
    FORT ORANGE 1624,
    BEVERWYCK 1652, ALBANY
    1664; CHARTERED 1686
    Location: PLAZA, BROADWAY AT FOOT OF STATE ST.

  • ALBANY CITY HALL
    CITY CHARTERED JULY 22, 1686
    THIS BUILDING ERECTED 1882
    TOWER CONTAINS MUNICIPAL
    CARILLON OF 60 BELLS
    Location: EAGLE ST. BETWEEN MAIDEN LA. AND PINE ST.

  • BIRTHPLACE OF
    MODERN ELECTRICITY
    HERE DISCOVERING MAGNETIC
    INDUCTION, JOSEPH HENRY
    PIONEERED THE TELEGRAPH
    AND ELECTRIC MOTOR, 1829-31
    Location: WASHINGTON AVE., NEAR EAGLE ST.

  • BIRTHPLACE OF
    AMERICAN UNION
    NEAR THIS SITE, BENJAMIN
    FRANKLIN PRESENTED THE 1ST
    FORMAL PLAN OF NATIONAL
    UNION; CONGRESS OF 1754
    Location: PLAZA, BROADWAY AT FOOT OF STATE ST.

  • CLERMONT
    NEAR THE FOOT OF MADISON
    AVENUE ROBERT FULTON IN
    AUG. 1807, COMPLETED THE
    FIRST SUCCESSFUL
    STEAMBOAT VOYAGE
    Location: PLAZA, BROADWAY AT FOOT OF STATE ST.

  • COLONIAL HOSPITAL
    NEAR THIS SITE STOOD THE
    MILITARY HOSPITAL WHERE THE
    WOUNDED FROM TICONDEROGA,
    1758 AND SARATOGA, 1777
    WERE ATTENDED.
    Location: LODGE AND PINE STS.

  • COLONIAL WARPATH
    RENDEVOUS OF TROOPS IN
    FIVE WARS. HERE ARMIES
    UNDER ABERCROMBIE, LOUDOUN
    AND AMHERST MOVED TO THE
    CONQUEST OF CANADA 1756-60
    Location: PLAZA, BROADWAY AT FOOT OF STATE ST.

  • COURT OF APPEALS
    HIGHEST TRIBUNAL IN
    NEW YORK STATE
    THIS BUILDING ERECTED 1842
    Location: EAGLE AND PINE STS.

  • EXECUTIVE MANSION
    RESIDENCE OF THE GOVERNORS
    OF NEW YORK STATE
    Location: EAGLE AND ELM STS.

  • FIRST CHURCH IN ALBANY
    REFORMED
    ORGANIZED 1642
    PRESENT BUILDING
    DESIGNED BY PHILIP HOOKER
    ERECTED 1798
    Location: SW CORNER N. PEARL AND ORANGE STS.

  • FORT ORANGE
    SITE OF WEST INDIA COMPANY
    COLONY 1624. HERE WAS BORN
    SARAH RAPELJE, FIRST WHITE
    CHILD IN N. Y. STATE, 1625
    FORT STOOD S. E. BY THE RIVER
    Location: PLAZA, BROADWAY AT FOOT OF STATE ST.

  • FORT VAN NASSAU
    BUILT 1614 BY THE DUTCH
    EXPLORERS CHRISTIAENSEN
    AND BLOCK. FIRST TRADING
    CENTER ESTABLISHED IN
    NEW YORK STATE
    Location: PORT RD., NR. ADMINISTRATION BLDG.

  • FROM THIS GROUND
    GLENN CURTISS
    BEGAN THE FIRST LONG
    DISTANCE AIRPLANE FLIGHT
    ALBANY TO NEW YORK
    MAY 29, 1910
    Location: PORT RD., NR. ADMINISTRATION BLDG.

  • GENERAL BURGOYNE
    OVER THIS ROAD ENTERED
    ALBANY WITH HIS STAFF AFTER
    THE BATTLE OF SARATOGA
    GOING TO SCHUYLER MANSION
    AS PRISONERS OF WAR - 1777
    Location: PLAZA, BROADWAY AT FOOT OF STATE ST.

  • GENERAL WASHINGTON
    TRAVELED THIS ROAD ON
    HIS TOURS OF THE MOHAWK
    VALLEY 1782 AND 1783
    Location: WASHINGTON AVE. NR. SWAN ST.

  • HENRY HUDSON
    EXPLORER, HERE ENDED THE
    VOYAGE OF THE HALF MOON
    IN QUEST OF THE INDIES
    SEPTEMBER, 1609
    Location: PLAZA, BROADWAY AT FOOT OF STATE ST.

  • HERMAN MELVILLE
    AUTHOR OF"MOBY DICK",
    STUDIED AND WORKED DURING
    FORMATIVE YEARS IN ALBANY,
    1830-1838, FAMILY HOME AT
    3 CLINTON SQUARE, 1834-1838
    Location: CLINTON SQ., N. PEARL AND ORANGE STS.

  • IN THE MIDDLE OF THIS STREET
    TO THE EAST STOOD
    FORT FREDERICK
    GOAL OF BURGOYNE'S DRIVE TO
    SPLIT THE COLONIES - 1777
    Location: CAPITOL PARK, EAGLE AND STATE STS.

  • IROQUOIS TREATY
    AUGUST 1684
    BASIC PEACE BY GOV. DONGAN
    GOV. HOWARD OF VA. AND
    FIVE NATIONS AT COURT HOUSE
    WHICH STOOD 100 FEET WEST
    Location: PLAZA, BROADWAY AT FOOT OF HUDSON AVE.

  • JOHN TUNNICLIFF, JR.
    1751-1814
    CRAFTSMAN AND SUPERINTENDENT
    OF TOWN CLOCKS
    Location: MAIDEN LANE BETWEEN EAGLE ST. AND LODGE ST.

  • NEAR HERE
    MOHAWK AND HUDSON
    FIRST RAILRAOD
    CHARTERED IN THIS COUNTRY
    1826, BEGAN ITS RUN ALBANY
    TO SCHENECTADY
    Location: WESTERN AVE., NR. NORTH ALLEN ST.

  • NEW YORK STATE
    OFFICE BUILDING
    CORNERSTONE LAID BY
    GOV. ALFRED E. SMITH, 1928
    Location: S. SWAN ST. AND WASHINGTON AVE.

  • PATROON STREET
    FORMER NAME OF CLINTON AVE.
    THIS WAS THE DIVIDING LINE
    BETWEEN THE CITY OF ALBANY
    AND THE MANOR OF
    RENSSELAERWYCK
    Location: CLINTON AVE. AT N. PEARL ST.

  • PIONEER ROUTE
    AT THIS POINT THE PIONEERS
    GOING WEST IN OX CARTS AND
    HORSE DRAWN CARAVANS ASSEMBLED,
    THIS STREET FORMERLY CALLED
    THE BOWERY
    Location: CENTRAL AVE., NR. NORTHERN BLVD.

  • SCHENECTADY GATE
    NEAR THIS POINT THE PATH
    TO SCHENECTADY USED BY
    INDIANS AND FUR TRADERS
    LED THROUGH THE PALISADES
    WHICH ENCLOSED THE CITY
    Location: MAIDEN LA. BETWEEN EAGLE AND LODGE STS.

  • STATE EDUCATION BUILDING
    DEDICATED 1912. EDUCATION DEPARTMENT
    OFFICES; STATE LIBRARY; STATE MUSEUM;
    EXHIBITS; OPEN TO PUBLIC
    Location: WASHINGTON AVE. BETWEEN HAWK AND SWAN STS.

  • THE CAPITOL
    OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK
    SECOND CAPITOL BUILDING
    ERECTED BY THE STATE
    CORNERSTONE LAID 1871
    25 YEARS IN CONSTRUCTION
    Location: CAPITOL PARK, EAGLE ST. NR. WASHINGTON AVE.

  • [ARROW]
    1 1/2 MILES
    SCHUYLER MANSION
    HOME OF GENERAL PHILIP
    SCHUYLER. RESIDENCE OF
    ALEXANDER HAMILTON IN 1781
    AND 1795
    Location: CAPITOL PARK, EAGLE ST. NR. WASHINGTON AVE.

County: ALBANY
Town: BERNE, TOWN OF

  • 5 MILES S - E
    SITE OF
    DIETZ MASSACRE
    WHERE JOHANNES DIETZ AND
    HIS FAMILY WERE KILLED BY
    TORIES AND INDIANS
    SEPTEMBER 1781
    Location: NYS 43, .5 MI. W. OF BERNE

  • AX FACTORY
    ESTABLISHED BY DANIEL
    SIMMONS IN 1825. SAID TO BE
    THE FIRST FACTORY IN THE
    UNITED STATES TO MAKE
    AXES FROM CAST STEEL.
    Location: NYS 156, AT BERNE

  • BEAVER DAM
    LATER CALLED BERNVILLE
    FORTIFIED DURING THE
    REVOLUTION. JOHN DIETZ'.
    FAMILY MASSACRED BY INDIANS
    Location: NYS 43, .5 MI. E.. OF W. BERNE

  • CHEESE FACTORY
    FIRST IN TOWN OF BERNE
    BUILT IN 1878 AND MADE
    495 POUNDS IN A SINGLE DAY
    Location: NYS 156, AT BERNE

  • CORPORATION
    INN
    OPENED 1817 BY
    HENRY ENGLE
    Location: NYS 43, .5 MI. W. OF BERNE

  • DWELLING
    BUILT ABOUT 1800 BY
    WILLIAM SHULTES
    Location: NYS 43, AT W. BERNE

  • EARLY SETTLER
    JACOB WEIDMAN, A SWISS,
    LOCATED ON FOXENKILL ON
    SITE OF BERNE VILLAGE ABOUT
    1750. BUILT FIRST SAWMILL
    AND GRISTMILL
    Location: NW CORNER NYS 43 AND NYS 156 AT BERNE

  • EAST BERNE
    FORMERLY CALLED
    WERNER'S MILLS
    AND PHILADEPHIA
    Location: NYS 43, at E. Berne

  • FIRST MILL
    BUILT 1750 BY JACOB
    WEIDMAN STOOD NEAR HERE
    Location: NYS 156, AT BERNE

  • FIRST STORE
    STOOD ON THIS SITE
    OWNED BY JOHN FISHER
    Location: NYS 156, AT BERNE

  • INDIAN
    STOCKADE
    BUILT ON SITE
    OF BERNE VILLAGE
    Location: NYS 43, 1/4 MI. EAST OF BERNE

  • JUSTICE OF
    PEACE
    JACOB HOCHSTRASSER
    WAS FIRST SUPERVISOR
    AND JUSTICE OF PEACE
    OF TOWN OF BERNE
    Location: NYS 43, AT E. BERNE

  • M. E. CHURCH
    ORGANIZED AT REIDSVILLE
    1830 BY REVEREND ROSMAN KELLY
    CHURCH REPLACED IN 1841
    Location: TOWN RD., AT REIDSVILLE

  • MILL SITE
    FOR CARDING AND FULLING
    MILL BUILT AT AN EARLY
    DATE BY MALACHI SHIPPLE
    WILLIAM H. BALL
    AND LYMAN DWIGHT
    Location: NYS 156, AT BERNE

  • PIONEER
    COL. JESSE WOOD OF LONG
    ISLAND SETTLED HERE ABOUT
    1800. SERVED IN WAR OF
    1812. DIED JULY 23, 1853
    AT AGE OF 83 YEARS
    Location: NYS 156, .5 MI. N. OF BERNE

  • REFORMED
    DUTCH CHURCH
    ORGANIZED 1763 BY REV. JOHANNES
    SCHUYLER OF SCHOHARIE
    LOG CHURCH 1765. FRAME 1786
    WHICH WAS TAKEN DOWN 1830
    Location: NYS 43, AT W. BERNE

  • REFORMED
    DUTCH CHURCH
    ORGANIZED 1763, FIRST
    PASTOR JOHANNES SCHUYLER
    1767. OLDEST CHURCH IN
    COUNTY OUTSIDE OF ALBANY
    Location: NYS 43, .5 MI. W. OF BERNE

  • SCHOOLS
    IN 1812 THERE WERE 21
    SCHOOL DISTRICTS IN TOWN
    OF BERNE AND 30 THE NEXT
    YEAR. IN 1816 THERE WERE
    1710 PUPILS IN SCHOOL
    Location: NYS 43, .5 MI. W. OF BERNE

  • SOUTH BERNE
    PREVIOUS TO 1828 CALLED
    CENTERVILLE BECAUSE IT
    WAS EQUI-DISTANT FROM
    THREE OF THE OTHER VILLAGES.
    Location: CO. RD., AT S. BERNE

  • TOWN OF BERNE
    FORMED MARCH 17, 1795, FROM
    RENSSELAERVILLE. TOWN OF
    KNOX TAKEN OFF IN 1822.
    JACOB WEIDMAN, FIRST
    SETTLER ABOUT 1750
    Location: NYS 43 AND NYS 85, AT MALLORY CORNERS

  • WEIDMAN HOME
    THE LARGEST HOUSE IN BERNE
    WITH TEN FIRPLACES
    BUILT BY PETER WEIDMAN
    IN 1800, STOOD
    ON THIS SITE
    Location: NYS 43, AT BERNE

  • WEST BERNE
    CALLED MECHANICSVILLE
    1830-34 BECAUSE SO MANY
    MECHANICS LIVED THERE.
    Location: NYS 43, AT W. BERNE

  • WILLIS' STORE
    ESTABLISHED IN 1800 BY
    MAJOR STEPHEN WILLIS STOOD
    HERE. HE ALSO HAD A POTASH
    FACTORY, TANNERY, WHISKEY
    STILL, AND SHOE FACTORY.
    Location: NYS 157, .5 MI. NE OF E. BERNE

County: ALBANY
Town: BETHLEHEM, TOWN OF

  • AGRICULTURAL FAIR
    FIRST ANNUAL FAIR OF
    ALBANY COUNTY AGRICULTURAL
    SOCIETY HELD AT BETHLEHEM
    CENTER OCT. 4-6, 1853
    Location: NYS 32, 100 YDS. W OF US 9W

  • AGRICULTURAL FAIR
    FIRST ANNUAL FAIR OF
    ALBANY COUNTY AGRICULTURAL
    SOCIETY HELD AT BETHELEM
    CENTER OCT.4-6,1853
    Location: NYS 32, 100 YDS. W OF US 9W

  • BAKER FARM
    SETTLED BY JOAB BAKER
    OF CONNECTICUT IN 1791
    Location: NYS 144, .5 MI. N. OF SELKIRK

  • BECKER HOMESTEAD
    AT BECKER'S CORNERS
    SETTLED BY ALBERTUS BECKER
    WHO MARRIED HELEN
    VAN DERZEE
    Location: NYS 396, N. OF RR BRIDGE

  • BETHLEHEM CENTER
    KNOWN AS BABCOCK
    CORNERS ON THE ALBANY
    AND BETHLEHEM TURNPIKE
    Location: W CORNER, US 9W AND NYS 32

  • DELMAR
    EARLIER ADAMSVILLE AND ADAMS STATION
    NATHANIEL ADAMS LOCATED
    HERE IN 1836 AND BUILT
    A HOTEL IN 1838.
    Location: NYS 43, AT DELMAR

  • TANNERY
    BUILT ABOUT 1825 ON
    FARM OF ISAAC AND JOHN
    COFFIN. OPERATED FOR
    MANY YEARS BY ROBERT
    CARHART. BURNED 1883
    Location: WILLOWBROOK AVE., IN S. BETHLEHEM

  • TURNPIKE
    ALBANY AND DELAWARE
    CHARTERED MARCH 2, 1805.
    6000 SHARES AT $25.
    EXTENSIVELY TRAVELLED ALBANY
    TO OTEGO. ABANDONED 1868
    Location: NYS 43, W. OF ALBANY CITY LINE

  • VAN WIE'S DOCK
    SITE OF DOCK OWNED BY
    PETER G. AND HENRY VAN WIE
    AND LEASED FEB. 23, 1835
    TO HUDSON RIVER STEAMBOAT
    CO. FOR ALBANY TERMINAL
    Location: TOWN RD., AT VAN WIE'S POINT

  • VAN WIE'S HOUSE
    BUILT BY HENDRICK VAN WIE
    IN 1732. THE HOME OF SIX
    GENERATIONS OF THIS DUTCH
    COLONIAL FAMILY, SETTLERS
    AT FORT ORANGE, IN 1664
    Location: TOWN RD., NR. WM. GIBSON'S RD. AT VAN WIE'S POINT

  • VAN WIE'S POINT
    HENDRICK GERRITSE VAN WIE
    DUTCH COLONIST IN FORT
    ORANGE 1664, BUILT HOUSE
    HERE IN 1679
    Location: TOWN RD., AT VAN WIE'S POINT

  • WINNE
    FARM
    SETTLED BY
    FRANCIS WINNE
    Location: CO. RD., W. OF ALBANY FILTRATION PLANT

County: ALBANY
Town: COEYMANS, TOWN OF

  • COEYMANS
    TOWN FORMED MARCH 18, 1791
    FROM WATERVLIET. A PART WENT
    TO FORM WESTERLO IN 1815.
    NAMED FROM THE PATENTEE
    BARENT PIETERSON COEYMANS
    Location: CHURCH AND WESTERLO STS., COEYMANS

  • COEYMANS GAZETTE
    STARTED 1863 BY
    THOMAS MCKEE AS
    EDITOR. SUCCEEDED
    BY COEYMANS HERALD
    Location: NYS 144, AT COEYMANS

County: ALBANY
Town: COHOES, CITY OF

  • CAMP VAN SCHAIK
    CONTINENTAL ARMY, NORTHERN
    DEPARTMENT UNDER COMMAND
    GENERAL PHILIP SCHUYLER
    GENERAL HORATIO GATES
    AUG. 15 - SEPT. 8, 1777
    Location: SE CORNER MYRTLE AND PARK

  • CONTINENTAL AVE.
    ALGONQUIN AND MOHAWK
    INDIAN TRAIL
    COLONIAL MILITARY ROUTE
    Location: SW CORNER ONTARIO AND CONTINENTAL

  • EGBERTS AND BAILEY MILL
    FIRST BUILDING ERECTED FOR THE
    MANUFACTURING OF KNIT GOODS BY
    POWER IN AMERICA, 1836. FIRST
    POWER KNITTING MACHINERY
    APPLIED IN COHOES, 1832
    Location: ONTARIO, W. OF REMSEN

  • FIRST BRIDGE
    ACROSS MOHAWK RIVER
    OPENED 1795.
    900 FT. LONG
    24 FT. WIDE, 15 FT. ABOVE
    BED OF RIVER ON 13 STONE
    PIERS. COST $12,000 DOLLARS
    Location: MOHAWK AND REMSEN STS.

  • HOME OF JAMES
    "BUTTERMILK" LANSING
    BUILT BY DOUW FONDA BEFORE
    1767. ONE OF THE FOUNDERS OF
    BOGHT SETTLEMENT, COHOES, N.Y.
    Location: W. COLUMBIA ST., BETWEEN SUNSET AND ELAINE CTS.

  • INDIAN SPRING
    ALGONQUIN AND MOHAWK INDIANS
    COLONIAL MILITARY SPRING 1690
    1782, FIRST SOURCE OF WATER SUPPLY
    FOR THE SETTLERS
    OF COHOES
    Location: CONTINENTAL AVE., E. OF SCHOOL

  • JUNCTA
    JUNCTION OF THE ORIGINAL
    ERIE AND CHAMPLAIN CANALS
    FIRST SETTLEMENT AND NAME
    COHOES. SITE OF THE
    FIRST POST OFFICE
    Location: NW CORNER SPRING AND SARATOGA STS.

  • MANOR AVENUE
    THE OLD BOGHT ROAD
    NORTHERN BOUNDARY LINE OF
    THE MANOR OF
    RENSSELAERWYCK
    1630
    Location: N. BAKER AND MANOR AVE.

  • MILITARY ROAD FROM 1690
    THROUGH THE REVOLUTION. USED
    BY GENERAL EBENEZER LEARNED ON HIS
    WAY TO RELIEVE FORT STANWIX -
    AUG. 14, 1777
    Location: CONTINENTAL AVE., S. OF SCHOOL

  • ONE OF THE FIRST CHURCHES
    NORTH OF ALBANY 1788
    REFORMED CHURCH
    OF THE BOGHT
    Location: SW CORNER BAKER AVE., AND VLIET BLVD.

  • SITE OF
    COHOES
    MASTODON
    FOUND SEPTEMBER 1866
    NOW IN N. Y. STATE MUSEUM
    Location: MOHAWK AND VLIET STS.

  • VAN SCHAIK
    BURIAL PLOT
    FIRST SETTLERS OF COHOES
    AND OWNERS OF HALF MOON
    PATENT BURIED HERE
    Location: DELAWARE AVE. BETWEEN ONTARIO AND VAN SCHAICK

County: ALBANY
Town: COLONIE, TOWN OF

  • 1/4 MILE [ARROW]
    SHAKERS
    SOUTH FAMILY
    ONLY SURVIVING FAMILY
    OF WATERVLIET COMMUNITY
    FIRST BUILDING ERECTED
    1800 AND STILL STANDING
    Location: NYS 155, W. OF AIRPORT

  • BOGHT CHURCH
    SITE OF THE REFORMED DUTCH
    CHURCH OF THE BOGHT
    1ST CHURCH NORTH OF ALBANY
    ORGANIZED BY THE CLASSIS
    OF ALBANY, FEB. 22, 1784
    Location: BOGHT RD., E. OF US 9

  • LOUDEN'S FORD
    BRITISH AND CONTINENTAL
    ARMY FORD PROTECTED
    AUGUST-SEPTEMBER 1777
    BY GENERALS ENOCH POOR
    AND BENEDICT ARNOLD
    Location: FONDA RD. AT POWER STATION

  • OLD LOUDON
    ROAD
    NAMED AFTER EARL LOUDON
    IN 1756. ROUTE OF BRITISH
    AND CONTINENTAL ARMIES TO
    MONTREAL
    Location: US 9, AT BOUGHT CORNERS

  • SHAKER
    CEMENTERY
    FIRST BURIAL 1797 AND
    EARLIER BURIALS REMOVED
    HERE LATER
    Location: NYS 155, W. OF AIRPORT

  • SHAKERS
    ANN LEE AND COMPANY CAME
    TO AMERICA 1774 AND FOUNDED
    HERE IN THE VALLEY OF THE
    WILDERNESS THE FIRST SHAKER
    COMMUNITY 1776
    Location: NYS 155, NR. ALBANY AIRPORT

  • THE BOGHT
    SETTLED 1718-1750 BY
    FAMILIES FROM HOLLAND,
    AMONG THEM FONDA, LANSING,
    LIEVERSE, ROFF, STAATS,
    VAN DENBERGH, VISSCHER, ETC.
    Location: US 9, AT BOGHT CORNERS

  • [ARROW]
    SHAKERS
    WEST FAMILY
    AT FIRST KNOWN AS
    THE SECOND FAMILY
    OCCUPIED BY SHAKERS
    1810-1915
    Location: NYS 155, W. OF AIRPORT

  • [ARROW] 1/2 MILE
    SHAKERS
    NORTH FAMILY
    OCCUPIED BY SHAKERS
    - 1919
    PRINCIPAL BUILDING YET
    STANDING RECONSTRUCTED
    Location: SHAKER RD., NR. CO. JAIL

County: ALBANY
Town: GUILDERLAND, TOWN OF

  • 100 FT. W.
    SITE OF FIRST REFORMED
    DUTCH CHURCH
    IN GUILDERLAND
    BEFORE 1767. FIRST PASTOR
    REV. HARMANUS VAN HUYSEN
    Location: NYS 146, W. OF NYS 158

  • ABOUT 1750
    FREDERICK CROUNSE
    SON OF POLISH NOBLEMAN
    SETTLED HERE
    FARM OWNED BY CROUNSE
    FAMILY TO PRESENT 1934
    Location: NYS 156, S. OF ALTAMONT

  • ABRAHAM WEMPLE
    COL. SCHENECTADY MILITIA
    DURING AMERICAN REVOLUTION
    OWNED FARM HERE 1765 TO
    DEATH IN 1799. BURIED ON
    HIGH KNOLL ABOVE RESERVOIR
    Location: US 20, W. OF RR BRIDGE

  • ALTAMONT
    INCORPORATED AS A VILLAGE
    1890 OFFICERS: PRESIDENT
    HIRAM GRIGGS. TRUSTEES - SMITH
    PHILLEY, JESSE CROUNSE
    HENRY A. WILBUR
    Location: WESTERN AVE., AT FIRE HOUSE IN ALTAMONT

  • BATTLE OF NORMANSKILL
    FOUGHT NORTH OF THE CREEK
    SCHENECTADY MILITIA WITH
    40 RHODE ISLAND TROOPS
    DISPERSED LARGE GROUP OF
    TORIES ON AUGUST 11, 1777
    Location: NYS 146, 2 MIS. W. OF GUILDERLAND

  • CASE HOMESTEAD
    BUILT AS TAVERN BY
    RUSSELL CASE AT THE
    OPENING OF GREAT
    WESTERN TURNPIKE, 1799
    Location: US 20, E. OF GUILDERLAND

  • DR. F. CROUNSE
    BUILT THIS HOUSE 1833
    FIRST PHYSICIAN AT
    WEST GUILDERLAND (ALTAMONT)
    PRACTISED HERE SIXTY YEARS
    Location: DUNNSVILL RD. - NEAR INTERSECTION OF GUN CLUB RD..

  • FARM AND
    BURIAL PLACE
    JOHN GROOT
    OFFICER 3D REGIMENT
    ALBANY COUNTY MILITIA
    WAR OF REVOLUTION
    Location: NYS 397, N. OF ALTAMONT

  • FARM OF
    FREDERICK CROUNSE
    OFFICER 3D ALBANY CO. MILITIA
    IN REVOLUTION. CARRIED FOOD
    TO ARMY BATTLE OF SARATOGA
    BURIED HERE
    Location: NYS 156, 1 MI. S. OF ALTAMONT

  • FARM OF EVERT BANCKER
    THIRD MAYOR OF ALBANY, 1695
    INDIAN COMMISSIONER, 1696
    MASTER CHANCERY, 1705
    DIED HERE, 1734
    Location: NYS 146, .5 MI FROM US 20

  • FARM OF WALTER VORMAN
    CAPT. SCHENECTADY MILITIA
    DURING AMERICAN REVOLUTION
    CAPTURED BY TORY FORCE
    SOUTH OF ONEIDA LAKE; HELD
    PRISONER IN CANADA 1780-82
    Location: NYS 158, S. OF US 20

  • FIRST MEETING
    OF TOWN OF GUILDERLAND
    HELD APRIL 5, 1803 IN THIS
    HOUSE, AT THE TIME A
    TAVERN CONDUCTED
    BY HENDRICK APPLE
    Location: NYS 146, 1 MI. W. OF GUILDERLAND CENTER

  • FREEMAN HOUSE
    SAID TO HAVE BEEN ERECTED
    1734. LATER THE HOME OF BARENT
    MYNDERSE, LIEUT. IN WAR OF REV.
    Location: NYS 146, AT GUILDERLAND CENTER

  • FRENCH'S MILLS
    SITE OF EARLY SAWMILL;
    CLOTHES WORKS OF PETER K.
    BROEK 1795; FACTORY OF
    ABEL FRENCH 1800;
    TAVERN OF JACOB AKER 1800
    Location: NYS 146, AT GUILDERLAND CENTER

  • GLASS WORKS, 1785-1815
    MADE BOTTLE AND WINDOW
    GLASS. STARTED HERE BY
    LEONARD DE NEUFVILLE. LATER
    CALLED ALBANY GLASS HOUSE,
    THEN HAMILTON GLASS WORKS
    Location: US 20, AT GUILDERLAND

  • HOME OF
    GEORGE WAGNER
    LIEUTENANT IN THE
    AMERICAN REVOLUTION
    Location: NYS 397, S OF DUNNSVILLE

  • HOME OF
    HENRY ROWE SCHOOLCRAFT
    B. 1793 - D. 1864
    GLASS MAKER, EXPLORER, AUTHOR,
    POET, AUTHORITY ON
    AMERICAN INDIANS
    Location: WILLOW ST., IN GUILDERLAND

  • HOUSE BUILT 1802
    BY NICHOLAS V. MYNDERSE
    SOLD TO MICHAEL FREDERICK
    WHO RAN IT AS A TAVERN FOR
    MANY YEARS
    Location: NYS 146, AT GUILDERLAND CENTER

  • INN OF GEORGE SEVERSON
    OLD SCHOHARIE ROAD
    BUILT AT CLOSE OF REVOLUTION
    FIRST POST OFFICE OF
    WEST GUILDERLAND AS
    THIS PLACE WAS THEN CALLED
    Location: ALTAMONT BLVD. AND HELDERBERG AVE., IN ALTAMONT

  • INN OF JACOB CROUNSE
    BUILT 1833. MIDWAY TAVERN
    WHERE HORSES WERE CHANGED ON
    SCHOHARIE-ALBANY
    STAGE COACH ROUTE
    Location: NYS 146, E. OF ALTAMONT

  • JACOB VAN AERNAM (1723-1813)
    CAPT. 3RD ALBANY REGIMENT
    LEADER OF PATRIOT FORCES
    IN THE HELDERBERGH REGION
    DURING AMERICAN REVOLUTION
    LIVED ON FARM HERE
    Location: NYS 156 BETWEEN ALTAMONT AND VORHEESVILLE

  • KNOWER HOUSE
    EST. AS HAT FACTORY ABOUT 1800
    BY BENJAMIN KNOWER
    GOV. WILLIAM L. MARCY
    MARRIED CORNELIA KNOWER
    IN THIS HOUSE
    Location: NYS 146, E. OF ALTAMONT

  • OLD HELLEBERGH
    LAND OF BITTER CONFLICT
    BETWEEN PATRIOT AND TORY
    KNOWN LATER AS
    WEST GUILDERLAND,
    KNOWERSVILLE, AND ALTAMONT
    Location: MAIN ST. AND MAPLE AVE., IN ALTAMONT

  • OLD PLANK ROAD
    SCHOHARIE TO ALBANY
    FOLLOWED THIS ROUTE
    CHARTERED 1849
    ABANDONED 1867
    Location: MAIN ST. AND BRANDLE RD., IN ALTAMONT

  • ON THIS SPOT STOOD THE
    FIRST
    LUTHERAN CHURCH
    IN TOWN OF GUILDERLAND
    1787 REV. HEINRICH MOELLER
    FIRST REGULAR PASTOR
    Location: NYS 146, 2 MIS. E. OF ALTAMONT

  • RED MEN'S HALL
    FORMERLY USED AS BAPTIST
    CHURCH, 1850-66; CATHOLIC
    CHURCH; TEMPERANCE HALL
    Location: US 20, E. OF GUILDERLAND

  • SEVERSON HOUSE
    BUILT BY EARLY SETTLER
    JURRIAN SEVERSON
    LOCATED ON MAP OF WEST MANOR
    RENSSELAERWYCK, 1767
    Location: NYS 146 AT ALTAMONT

  • SITE OF
    INDIAN VILLAGE
    NEIGHBORING STREAM CALLED
    WILDEHAUSE KILL
    OR INDIAN HOUSE CREEK
    Location: N. OF US 20 AT DUNNSVILLE

  • SITE OF
    HAMILTON UNION CHURCH
    OCTAGONAL BUILDING USED
    ALSO AS A SCHOOL HOUSE
    BUILT BY HAMILTON MFG.
    SOCIETY ABOUT 1797
    Location: US 20, AT GUILDERLAND

  • SITE OF
    FIRST INN
    AND STORE
    KEPT IN DUNNSVILLE
    BY JOHN E. WINNE
    1800-1830
    Location: US 20 AT DUNNSVILLE

  • SITE OF
    TOLL GATE
    NUMBER TWO ON WESTERN
    TURNPIKE. ROAD PLANKED IN
    1849. THIS GATE MAINTAINED
    UNTIL 1906
    Location: US 20, 2 MIS. E. OF GUILDERLAND

  • SITE OF HOUSE
    OF DR. JONATHAN JOHNSON
    FIRST PHYSICIAN IN
    DUNNSVILLE WHO CAME
    HERE ON HORSEBACK IN 1808
    SURGEON IN WAR OF 1812
    Location: US 20 AT DUNNSVILLE

  • THE
    VALE
    OF
    TAWASENTHA
    Location: NYS 146, 3/4 MI. W. OF GUILDERLAND

  • TOWN OF GUILDERLAND
    ESTABLISHED APRIL 4, 1803
    FROM PART OF WATERVLIET
    FIRST OFFICERS, SUPERVISOR,
    NICHOLAS V. MYNDERSE, TOWN
    CLERK, PETER G. VEEDER
    Location: NYS 146, AND NYS 158 AT OSBORN'S CORNERS

County: ALBANY
Town: KNOX, TOWN OF

  • ALBANY COUNTY
    DERIVED ITS NAME FROM
    THE SCOTCH TITLE OF THE
    DUKE OF YORK AND ALBANY
    AFTERWARDS KING JAMES II
    OF ENGLAND
    Location: NYS 43, W. OF W. BERNE AT ALBANY - SCHOHARIE CO. LINE

  • ANTI-RENT RIOTS
    MORE LEASED LAND IN BERNE
    THAN ANY OTHER TOWN IN
    ALBANY COUNTY LED TO
    SERIOUS OUTBREAKS
    AFTER 1840
    Location: NYS 157 A, 3 MIS. N. OF EAST BERNE

  • KNOXVILLE ACADEMY
    INCORPORATED 1837 CHARTERED
    REGENTS 1842-1869 FACED
    MILITARY TRAINING GROUND 1776
    Location: NYS 156, AT KNOX

  • SAND FARM
    SETTLED BY
    CHRISTIAN ZANDT
    IN 1787
    Location: NYS 156, 1 MI. W. OF KNOX

  • WHIPPLE FARM
    SETTLED BY MALACHI
    WHIPPLE OF CONN. ABOUT
    1793. IN 1820 FARM WON
    PREMIUM AS MODEL
    FARM IN ALBANY COUNTY
    Location: NYS 156, W. OF ALTAMONT

County: ALBANY
Town: NEW SCOTLAND, TOWN OF

  • CLARKSVILLE
    A HALFWAY STATION LOCATED
    ON ALBANY AND DELAWARE
    TURNPIKE NAMED FROM ADAM
    A. CLARK WHO SETTLED
    HERE IN 1822
    Location: NYS 43, AT CLARKSVILLE

  • EARLY MISSION
    FOUNDED 1787 BY
    SUFFOLK PRESBYTERY
    INCORPORATED 1789
    FIRST CHURCH 1791
    ORIGINAL FRAME STANDING
    Location: NYS 85, AT NEW SCOTLAND

  • HELDERBERGS
    THE NAME MEANS CLEAR
    MOUNTAINS. THEY HAVE BEEN
    CALLED "THE KEY TO THE
    GEOLOGY OF NORTH AMERICA"
    Location: NYS 157, AT J.B. THATCHER PARK

  • METHODISM
    HERE BUILT ITS FIRST CHURCH
    IN THIS ENTIRE AREA
    KNOWN AS BETHLEHEM, NORTH
    OF BLACK CREEK CHURCH, 1823
    Location: NYS 156, W. OF VORHEESVILLE

  • NEW SCOTLAND
    TOWNFORMED APRIL 25, 1832
    FROM BETHLEHEM. SCOTCH
    NAMES APPEAR AMONG EARLY
    SETTLERS. FIRST TOWN MEETING
    APRIL 9, 1833
    Location: NYS 85, AT NEW SCOTLAND

  • SLINGERLAND
    HOUSE 1762
    BUILT BY TUNIS CORNELISE
    SLINGERLAND, DUTCH
    EMIGRANT 1650, ON LAND
    PURCHASED FROM INDIANS
    Location: NYS 32, 3 MIS. S. OF FEURA BUSH

  • TORY CAVE 1777
    JACOB SALSBURY, A SPY
    DURING BURGOYNE INVASION,
    FOUND REFUGE FROM SETTLERS
    IN A CAVE AGAINST
    THE CLIFFS NEARBY
    Location: N. OF NYS 157, AT TRAIL, IN J.B. THATCHER PARK

County: ALBANY
Town: RENSSELAERVILLE, TOWN OF

  • ALBANY COUNTY
    ONE OF THE ORIGINAL
    COUNTIES OF THE PROVINCE
    OF NEW YORK CREATED
    BY LAW NOVEMBER 1, 1683.
    MOTHER OF MANY COUNTIES
    Location: NYS 145, NW OF PRESTON HOLLOW AT ALBANY-SCHOHARIE CO. LINE

  • ALBANY COUNTY
    ONE OF THE ORIGINAL
    COUNTIES OF THE PROVINCE
    OF NEW YORK CREATED
    BY LAW NOVEMBER 1, 1683.
    MOTHER OF MANY COUNTIES
    Location: NYS 145 S. OF COOKSBURG AT ALBANY-GREENE CO. LINE

  • ALBANY COUNTY
    ONE OF THE ORIGINAL
    COUNTIES OF THE PROVINCE
    OF NEW YORK CREATED
    BY LAW NOVEMBER 1, 1683.
    MOTHER OF MANY COUNTIES
    Location: NYS 81, E. OF COOKSBURG, AT ALBANY-GREENE CO. LINE

  • DISTRICTS
    MANOR OF RENSSELAERSWYCK
    CREATED A DISTRICT
    IN 1772 AND SUBDIVIDED
    INTO EAST AND WEST
    DISTRICTS IN 1779
    Location: NYS 85, 1.5 MIS. NE OF RENSSELAERVILLE

  • DR. SAMUEL PRESTON
    SETTLED HERE IN 1789 AND
    GAVE HIS NAME TO PRESTON
    HOLLOW. HE BUILT THE FIRST
    SAWMILL AND GRISTMILL.
    Location: NYS 145, AT PRESTON HOLLOW

  • INDIAN TRAIL
    RAN FROM CATSKILL TO
    SCHOHARIE VALLEY ALONG
    THIS STEAM THROUGH PRESTON
    HOLLOW AND LIVINGSTONVILLE
    Location: NYS 81 AT COOKSBURG

  • PIONEER
    JOSEPH BURCHARD SETTLED
    HERE IN 1789. PRESIDENT
    R.B. HAYES WAS RELATED
    TO THIS FAMILY
    Location: NYS 145, 1.5 MIS. NW OF PRESTON HOLLOW

  • TURNPIKE
    SCHOHARIE TO ATHENS
    CHARTERED IN 1802 AND
    MUCH USED IN EARLY DAYS
    Location: NYS 81 AND 145, AT COOKSBURG

  • WHIPPING POST
    FOR TOWN LOCATED ON FARM
    OF LAWRENCE FAULK WHO
    SETTLED HERE IN 1790,
    AND DIED IN 1838
    Location: NYS 145, NW OF PRESTON HOLLOW

County: ALBANY
Town: WESTERLO, TOWN OF

  • ACADEMY
    THIS HOUSE WAS THE
    CHESTERVILLE ACADEMY
    BUILT ABOUT 1800
    GABRIEL PINNEY
    HEAD MASTER
    Location: NYS 143, N. OF WESTERLO

  • ALBANY COUNTY
    ONE OF THE ORIGINAL
    COUNTIES OF THE PROVINCE
    OF NEW YORK CREATED
    BY LAW NOVEMBER 1, 1683.
    MOTHER OF MANY COUNTIES
    Location: NYS 32 AT ALBANY-GREENE CO. LINE

  • ALLEN HOUSE
    BUILT 1795, HERE AND ON
    THIS ROAD LIVED EBENEAZER
    ALLEN AND HIS SONS JUSTICE,
    HOWARD AND STEPHEN. ALL
    SOLDIERS IN REVOLUTION.
    Location: CO. RD.,1 MI. W. OF BASIC CREEK RESERVOIR

  • ANTI-RENT WAR
    EVENTS IN THE QUARREL OF
    TENANTS WITH LORD OF THE
    VAN RENSSELAER MANOR
    OCCURRED IN THIS REGION
    IN 1840 AND LATER
    Location: NYS 85, AT SNYDER'S CORNERS

  • BAPTIST CHURCH
    ORGANIZED AT CHESTERVILLE
    1800. ROSWELL BECKWITH
    WAS THE FIRST PASTOR
    Location: NYS 143, AT WESTERLO

  • BEARDSLEY HOUSE
    HOME OF WILLIAM BEARDSLEY
    HERE WAS HELD FIRST TOWN
    MEETING OF WESTERLO
    APRIL 4, 1815
    Location: CO. RD., W. OF WESTERLO

  • DORMANSVILLE
    NAMED IN HONOR OF DANIEL
    DORMAN, AN INN AND STORE
    KEEPER, AND FIRST POST-
    MASTER IN 1832
    Location: NYS 32 AND NYS 143 AT DORMANSVILLE

  • EARLY DOCTOR
    DR. JONATHAN PROSSER OF
    DUTCHESS COUNTY SETTLED
    ON THIS FARM IN 1788
    Location: NYS 32, 1.MI.S. OF DORMANSVILLE

  • GRANT AND EADIE
    EARLY STOREKEEPERS
    MADE POTASH AT
    CHESTERVILLE, 1798
    Location: NYS 143, AT WESTERLO

  • INDIAN TRAIL
    OLD INDIAN TRAIL LED
    THROUGH THIS VALLEY TO
    THE SWITZKILL, INDIAN
    CAMP GROUND NEAR HERE
    Location: CO. RD., W. OF WESTERLO

  • MANOR OF
    VAN RENSSELAER
    1630 KILIAEN VAN RENSSELAER
    GRANTED PATENT FOR 1152
    SQUARE MILES INCLUDING ALL
    OF ALBANY AND RENSSELAER
    COUNTIES
    Location: NYS 143, AT WESTERLO

  • MYERS FARM
    PHILIP MYERS OF GERMANY
    IN 1763 BUILT A LOG HOUSE
    AT CHESTERVILLE, MARRIED A
    DAUGHTER OF NICHOLAS
    STODDARD AND DIED 1813
    Location: CO. RD., S. OF NYS 143, AT WESTERLO

  • NEAR HERE
    ANDREW HANNAY
    RAISED A COMPANY OF
    VOLUNTEERS OCTOBER 1777
    TO OPPOSE INVASION OF
    BURGOYNE, WHO SURRENDERED
    BEFORE THEIR ARRIVAL
    Location: NYS 32 AND NYS 143 AT DORMANSVILLE

  • QUAKER CHURCH
    SITE OF A QUAKER CHURCH
    AND SCHOOL. ERECTED 1803
    CEMETERY IN REAR
    Location: CO. RD., NR. SMITH'S CORNERS

  • REFORMED CHURCH
    FIRST CHURCH IN TOWN.
    ORGANIZED 1793. ORIGINAL
    SITE FIVE MILES SOUTH
    OF HERE
    Location: NYS 143, E. OF WESTERLO

  • SNYDER CEMETERY
    CONTAINS THE UNMARKED
    GRAVES OF SEVERAL
    SOLDIERS OF THE
    REVOLUTION
    Location: CO. RD., 1.5 MIS. S. OF SNYDER'S CORNERS

  • SOUTH WESTERLO
    NAME CHANGED IN 1827 FROM
    SMITH'S MILLS NAMED AFTER
    DAVID SMITH WHO ALSO OWNED
    A TANNERY AND ASHERY
    Location: CO. RD., AT S. WESTERLO

  • TEMPERANCE
    SOCIETY
    ORGANIZED IN SCHOOL
    HOUSE NEAR CHESTERVILLE
    IN 1828
    DEACON HOLMES PRESIDED
    Location: NYS 143, AT WESTERLO

  • VAN LEUVAN'S
    CORNERS
    NAMED AFTER ISAAC VAN LEUVAN.
    EARLIER KNOWN AS SACKETT'S
    CORNERS AND THEN
    PRESTON'S CORNERS
    Location: CO. RD.,.5 MIS. S. OF SNYDER'S CORNERS

  • WESTERLO
    TOWN FORMED MARCH 16, 1815
    FROM COEYMANS AND
    RENSSELAERVILLE. NAMED FOR
    REV. EILARDUS WESTERLO
    OF ALBANY
    Location: NYS 143, AT WESTERLO

County: ALLEGANY
Town: ALMA, TOWN OF

  • TRIANGLE NO. 1
    FIRST OIL WELL DRILLED
    IN ALLEGANY COUNTY
    DRILLED BY
    O.P. TAYLOR
    1879
    Location: ON TOWN ROAD ABOUT 1/4 MI. SOUTHWEST OF PETROLIA

County: ALLEGANY
Town: ANGELICA, TOWN OF

  • SITE GIFT OF CHURCH FAMILY, 1801;
    FIRST BURIAL, 1803; AMONG NOTED
    MEN OF ALLEGANY CO. BURIED HERE
    ARE; MAJOR M. VAN CAMPEN, CAPT.
    P. CHURCH, JUDGE M. GROVER AND
    REV. C. FAIRBANK
    Location: ONE MILE FROM CENTER OF VILLAGE. ONE EAST MAIN STREET

County: ALLEGANY
Town: BURNS, TOWN OF

  • FIRST HOUSE
    IN CANASERAGA
    BUILT ON THIS SITE
    BY SAMUEL BOYLAN
    IN 1806
    Location: ON MILL STREET IN CANASERAGA

  • SITE OF
    FIRST
    SCHOOL HOUSE
    IN TOWN OF BURNS
    ERECTED 1810
    DAVID CROOK, FIRST TEACHER
    Location: ON NYS 70 ABOUT 1/2 MILE WEST OF CANASERAGA

County: ALLEGANY
Town: CUBA, TOWN OF

  • CUBA LAKE
    SUMMIT LEVEL FEEDER FOR
    OLD GENESEE VALLEY CANAL,
    FORMED, 1856, BY BUILDING
    A 60 FOOT DAM ACROSS THE
    STREAM CALLED OIL CREEK
    Location: ON NYS 305 ABOUT 1 MILE NORTH OF VILLAGE OF CUBA

County: ALLEGANY
Town: HUME, TOWN OF

  • JOCKEY STREET
    ONCE FAMOUS RENDEZVOUS FOR
    GENESEE VALLEY CANAL BOAT-
    MEN. NOW KNOWN AS HOME OF
    HOUGHTON COLLEGE
    Location: VILLAGE OF HOUGHTON

County: ALLEGANY
Town: WILLING, TOWN OF

  • FIRST
    TOWN MEETING
    TOWN OF WILLING HELD
    AT HOME OF HIRAM YORK
    MARCH 2, 1852
    Location: NORTHWEST OF INTERSECTION OF ROUTE #'S 19 AND 29

County: BRONX
Town: NONE

  • BRONX RIVER
    DURING THE REVOLUTION, THE
    BRITISH FLEET WAS ORDERED
    TO "PROCEED UP THE BRONX
    AND ATTACK THE YANKEES
    IN HIDING ABOVE."
    Location: BRONX RIVER, AT BOSTON RD. BRIDGE, IN BRONX PARK

  • CITY ISLAND
    "PEARL OF THE SOUND", WAS
    SO CALLED, BECAUSE IT WAS
    PLANNED TO OUTSTRIP NEW
    YORK CITY. OYSTER CULTURE
    FIRST STARTED HERE.
    Location: CITY ISLAND PARK

  • DRAKE PARK
    CONTAINS GRAVE OF JOSPEH
    RODMAN DRAKE, POET, AUTHOR
    OF "THE CULPRIT FAY", "ODE
    TO THE AMERICAN FLAG", AND
    "BRONX".
    Location: JOSEPH RODMAN DAKE PARK, HUNT'S POINT AVE.

  • FEATHERBED LANE
    SO CALLED FROM STORY THAT
    FARMERS' WIVES, IN 1776,
    AIDED AMERICANS TO ESCAPE
    BRITISH BY SPREADING
    FEATHERBEDS ON THE LANE
    Location: PARK TRIANGLE AT FEATHERBED LANE

  • FORDING PLACE
    EARLY CROSSING OF BRONX
    RIVER, NEARBY WAS BEAR
    SWAMP, HAUNT OF BEARS.
    SITE OF SEWANOE INDIAN
    VILLAGE UP TO 1689.
    Location: WEST SIDE OF LAKE IN BRONX RIVER, OPPOSITE ZOOLOGICAL SEC., 1/3 MI. NORTH OF ENTRANCE

  • FORT INDEPENDENCE
    ONE OF FORTS BUILT IN 1776
    BY AMERICANS TO COMMAND THE
    VALLEY BELOW. GENERAL
    RICHARD MONTGOMERY HAD A
    FARM NEARBY, IN 1772.
    Location: CLAFLIN TER. ON WALK EAST OF RESERVOIR OPPOSITE FORT INDEPENDENCE AVE.

  • FORT NUMBER FOUR
    ONE OF THE CHAIN OF FORTS
    BUILT BY THE AMERICANS IN
    1776, TO COMMAND THE VALLEY
    OF THE HARLEM RIVER; LATER
    OCCUPIED BY THE BRITISH
    Location: CLAFLIN TER. EAST OF SEDGWICK AVE., WEST OF JEROME PARK RESERVOIR

  • GLOVER'S ROCK
    IN BATTLE OF PELL'S POINT,
    COL. GLOVER AND 550 MEN,
    HELD BRITISH LONG ENOUGH
    FOR WASHINGTON'S ARMY TO
    ESCAPE TO WHITE PLAINS
    Location: ON ROAD TO CITY ISLAND NEAR TABLET OFF ROAD

  • HUNTER'S ISLAND
    CONTAINS THE HUNTER-ISELIN
    MANSION; OGDEN MANSION ON
    TWIN ISLAND; INDIAN NAME
    "LAAPAWACHKING", - "PLACE
    OF STRINGING BEADS".
    Location: HUNTER'S ISLAND AT ENTRANCE FROM HIGHWAY

  • JONAS BRONCK
    FIRST SETTLER IN THE BRONX,
    1639, BUILT HOUSE EAST OF
    THIS PARK, WHERE WAS SIGNED
    TREATY BETWEEN DUTCH AND
    WECKQUAESKEEK INDIANS, 1642.
    Location: PULASKI PARK

  • LYDIG'S MILL
    BUILT IN 18TH CENTURY, STOOD
    HERE. NORTH WAS JOHNSON'S
    TAVERN, WHERE STAGE COACHES,
    NEW YORK TO BOSTON, STOPPED
    TO CHANGE HORSES.
    Location: BRONX RIVER, ABOUT OPPOSITE ENTRANCE TO NEW YORK ZOOLOGICAL GARDENS

  • MACOMB'S DAM
    BRIDGE IS ON SITE OF OLD
    DAM WHICH MADE POND OF
    HARLEM RIVER. DAM BECAME
    NUISANCE AND WAS TORN
    DOWN BY CITIZENS IN 1840.
    Location: MACOMB'S DAM PARK

  • OLD INDIAN PATH
    LATER KNOWN AS THE
    SPLIT ROCK ROAD
    ERECTED BY THE PARK DEPT.
    CITY OF NEW YORK
    OCTOBER 18, 1938
    Location: BET. PELHAM BAY PARK ON SPLIT ROCK ROAD, AND BET. PELHAM MANOR AND PELHAM R

  • PARADE GROUND
    HERE WAS THE BOUWERIE OR
    FARM OF ADRIAN VAN DER DONCK,
    SECURED BY PURCHASE FROM INDIANS
    AND GRANT BY GOVERNOR KIEFT, 1650.
    Location: ON BRAODWAY, WEST SIDE OF PARADE GROUND VAN CORTLAND PARK

  • PELL ESTATE
    THOMAS PELL OF FAIRFIELD,
    CONN., UNDER TREE KNOWN AS
    TREATY OAK, BOUGHT PELHAM
    MANOR FROM THE SACHEMS
    ANNHOOCK AND MAMINEPOE
    Location: PELHAM BAY PARK

  • POE COTTAGE
    EDGAR ALLAN POE LIVED HERE
    1846-49 AND WROTE MANY OF
    HIS POEMS "ANNABEL LEE",
    "ULALUME, AND OTHERS. HIS
    WIFE, VIRGINIA, DIED HERE.
    Location: ON GRAND CONCOURSE BRONX

  • SCREVEN'S POINT
    SEWANOE INDIANS HAD CASTLE
    HERE, SEEN BY ADRIAN BLOCK
    ON HIS VOYAGE, 1614. LOYALIST
    CLERGYMEN, INCLUDING SAMUEL
    SEABURY, HID IN FARMHOUSE.
    Location: SMALL PARK AT END OF CASTLE HILL AVE.

  • SITE OF WEST CHESTER TOWN
    PRESCOTT BRYANT REPULSED
    BRITISH AT CAUSEWAY OVER
    WEST CHESTER CREEK
    WESTCHESTER "LEXINGTON"
    Location: TARRYTOWN

  • SPLIT ROCK
    NEAR HERE WAS HOME OF
    ANNE HUTCHINSON, WHO
    SETTLED IN 1642. SHE AND
    HER FAMILY WERE KILLED IN
    THE INDIAN UPRISING, 1662
    Location: AT SPLIT ROCK, PELHAM BAY PARK

  • ST. ANN'S SHRINE
    HERE RESTS LEWIS MORRIS, "SIGNER"
    DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE;
    GOUVERNEUR MORRIS, "PENMAN"
    CONSTITUTION OF U.S.A.; JUDGE
    R.H. MORRIS, MAYOR OF NEW YORK
    Location: NEW YORK CITY

  • THROGG'S NECK
    NAMED FOR THROCKMORTON, WHO
    SETTLED HERE IN 1642. ONE
    OF HIS COMPANIONS WAS
    ROGER WILLIAMS, FOUNDER
    OF RHODE ISLAND.
    Location: THROGG'S POINT PARK

  • VAN CORTLANDT
    MANSION BUILT IN 1748 BY
    FREDERICK VAN CORTLANDT.
    HESSIAN HEADQUARTERS IN
    REVOLUTION. WASHINGTON AND
    ROCHAMBEAU WERE HERE.
    Location: IN FRONT OF VAN CORTLAND MANSION, VAN CORTLANDT PARK

  • VAN CORTLANDT MILL
    SITE OF GRIST AND SAW MILL
    OF VAN CORTLANDT FAMILY.
    USED OVER 200 YEARS, BURNED
    IN 1901. ONE OF THE MILLSTONES
    IS WEST OF THE MANSION
    Location: ON BROOK, NEAR DAM, EAST OF VAN CORTLANDT MANSION

  • VAN DER DONCK
    ADRIAN VAN DER DONCK,
    FIRST SETTLER HERE, 1650
    BUILT HOUSE, LATER BURNED
    BY INDIANS. ORIGINAL SITE
    OF VAN CORTLANDT HOUSE.
    Location: EAST OF VAN CORTLANDT MANSION, BETWEEN IT AND DAM.

  • VAULT HILL
    BURIAL VAULT OF THE VAN
    CORTLANDT FAMILY, WHERE
    AUGUSTUS VAN CORTLANDT,
    CITY CLERK, HID NEW YORK
    RECORDS DURING REVOLUTION
    Location: ON EAST HILL OF PARADE GROUND, NORTH OF RAILROAD UNDERPASS, IN VAN CORTLAND PARK

County: BROOME
Town: CHENANGO, TOWN OF

  • INDIAN CASTLE
    LOCATED NEAR JUNCTION OF
    CASTLE CREEK WITH CHENANGO
    RIVER. CALLED OTSININGO.
    DESTROYED AUG. 18, 1779
    DURING SULLIVAN CAMPAIGN.
    Location: ON US 11 AND NYS 12 ABOUT 3 MILES NORTH OF BINGHAMTON

County: BROOME
Town: DICKINSON, TOWN OF

  • FIRST COURT
    IN THIS SECTION
    WAS HELD HERE IN 1791
    UNDER ELM TREE
    Location: ON US 11 AND NYS 12 ABOUT 1/2 MILE NORTH OF BINGHAMTON

County: BROOME
Town: WINDSOR, TOWN OF

  • SAGE CREEK
    NAMED FOR SETH SAGE,
    1748-1822, CAPTAIN
    IN THE AMERICAN
    REVOLUTION
    Location: ON NYS 79 ABOUT 2 MILES NORTH OF WINDSOR

County: CATTARAUGUS
Town: ELLICOTTVILLE, TOWN OF

  • FIRST
    FRAME HOUSE
    IN ELLICOTTVILLE, 1817
    EARLY COURTS OF COUNTY AND
    MEETINGS OF BOARD OF
    SUPERVISORS HELD HERE.
    Location: IN ELLICOTTVILLE SO. SIDE WASHINGTON ST., BETWEEN JEFFERSON AND MADISON STS

County: CATTARAUGUS
Town: HINSDALE, TOWN OF

  • SENECA OIL
    SPRING
    1627 FIRST PETROLEUM
    DISCOVERED IN AMERICA
    1 MI. NORTH 1000 YDS EAST
    Location: ON NYS 408 AT CATTARAUGUS-ALLEGANY COUNTY LINE

County: CATTARAUGUS
Town: YORKSHIRE, TOWN OF

  • FIRST
    FRAME HOUSE
    IN TOWN OF YORKSHIRE
    BUILT IN 1820 BY
    ISAAC WILLIAMS
    OPENED AS TAVERN 1822
    Location: ON NYS 39 AT YORKSHIRE IN YARD OF ELKHORN INN

  • SAW MILL AND
    GRIST MILL
    FIRST IN TOWN OF
    YORKSHIRE. BUILT 1814 BY
    ISAAC WILLIAMS
    Location: ON NYS 16 AT YORKSHIRE NEW OLEAN ROAD

County: CAYUGA
Town: AUBURN, CITY OF

  • AUBURN PRISON
    ERECTION COMMENCED 1816
    FIRST PRISONERS 1817
    ASSISTED IN CONSTRUCTION
    FIRST ELECTROCUTION
    IN THE WORLD 1890
    Location: IN FRONT OF PRISON WEST SIDE OF STATE ST.

  • AUBURN PRISON
    CONVICTS MADE SEWING SILK
    1841-1846
    HERE WAS PRINCIPAL CASH
    MARKET IN U.S. FOR
    COCOONS AND RAW SILK
    Location: IN FRONT OF PRISON WEST SIDE OF STATE ST.

  • CALVARY PRES. CHURCH
    OLDEST CHURCH EDIFICE
    IN AUBURN. ERECTED 1815-17
    AT FRANKLIN AND NORTH STS.
    AS FIRST PRES. CHURCH
    MOVED HERE 1869
    Location: COR. CAPITOL AND FRANKLIN STS. IN FRONT OF CHURCH

  • CAYUGA COUNTY COURT HOUSE
    FRAME BUILDING ERECTED ON
    REAR OF THIS LOT 1809
    PRESENT BUILDING
    ERECTED 1836
    RECONSTRUCTED 1922-24
    Location: ON COURT HOUSE GREEN, GENESEE ST.

  • CENTER HOUSE
    TAVERN 1805. LAW OFFICE OF
    GOV. ENOS THROOP
    1ST PRES. CHURCH ORG. 1810
    1ST WHITE S.S. 1819
    REMOVED TO FULTON ST. 1829
    Location: AT INTERSECTION GENESEE AND MARKET STS.

  • CENTER HOUSE
    EARLY TAVERN ERECTED 1805
    AT GENESEE AND MARKET STS.
    MOVED HERE 1829
    Location: NOW ON 2ND STORY FACE SO. SIDE BLOCK GENESEE AND MARKET STS.

  • DURING THE
    WAR OF 1812
    BARRACKS WERE ESTABLISHED
    IN THIS LOCALITY
    TROOPS PASSING TO AND
    FROM NIAGARA CAMPED HERE
    Location: NORTH SIDE W. GENESEE ST.

  • FIRST
    FREIGHT DEPOT
    AUBURN AND SYRACUSE R.R.
    BUILT BY C. W. POMEROY, 1836
    BUILDING USED LATER
    AS GENESEE OPERA HOUSE
    Location: ON 2ND STORY FACE SCHRECK BROS. STORE, 16 E. GENESEE ST.

  • FIRST SCHOOL
    IN VICINITY OF AUBURN
    ERECTED BEFORE 1796
    ORIGINALLY ON GENESEE ST.
    AND DUNNING AVE.
    MOVED HERE 1818
    Location: WEST SIDE OF DUNNING AVE.

  • FIRST TAVERN AND STORE
    OPENED IN A LOG CABIN
    BUILT BY
    SAMUEL BRISTOL
    1796
    Location: ON FACE AUBURN TRUST CO. GENESEE ST. SIDE

  • FORT HILL
    OF MOUNDBUILDER ORIGIN
    LATER CAYUGA COUNCIL SEAT
    AND VILLAGE FORT WASCO
    TRADITIONAL BIRTHPLACE
    OF CHIEF LOGAN
    Location: AT ENTRANCE FT. HILL CEMETERY SO. SIDE FORT ST.

  • FRANCIS HUNTER
    ERECTED TAVERN HERE 1808
    UNDER NEARBY ELM
    COUNCILS WERE HELD
    BETWEEN WHITE SETTLERS
    AND INDIANS
    Location: NO. SIDE E. GENESEE ST.

  • HOME OF
    HARRIET TUBMAN
    "THE MOSES OF HER RACE"
    UNDERGROUND RAILROAD
    STATION IN SLAVERY DAYS
    Location: EAST SIDE SOUTH ST. AT CITY LINE

  • HOUSE BUILT 1802 BY
    JEHIEL CLARK WHO HERE
    FOUNDED CLARKSVILLE 1795
    HIS GRIST, SAW AND
    CARDING MILLS WERE NEARBY
    ALONG OWASCO RIVER
    Location: W. SIDE COR. AURELIUS AVE. AND CLARK ST.

  • JOHN HUGGINS
    HERE MADE FIRST SETTLEMENT
    ON GENESEE TURNPIKE BETWEEN
    ELBRIDGE AND CAYUGA FERRY
    IN 1791. HIS SON ZENAS
    BUILT THIS TAVERN 1804
    Location: N. SIDE W. GENESEE ST. BETWEEN CRANE BROOK AND CITY LIMITS

  • MILITARY DEPOT CAMP
    DURING CIVIL WAR
    Location: AT COR. CAMP ST. AND LAKE AVE.

  • NORTH STREET CEMETERY
    MOST OF THE SETTLERS OF
    HARDENBERGH'S CORNERS
    AND EARLY INHABITANTS OF
    AUBURN AND BURIED HERE
    MAIN CEMETERY UNTIL 1852
    Location: IN FRONT OF CEMETERY NORTH ST.

  • ON THIS SITE THE
    BANK OF AUBURN
    FIRST BANK IN AUBURN AND
    PREDECESSOR OF NAT. BANK
    OF AUBURN WAS OPENED 1817
    IN DEMAREE'S TAVERN
    Location: ON WALL OF NATIONAL HOTEL NEAR ENTRANCE

  • OSBORNE WORKS
    DAVID M. OSBORNE, CYRUS C.
    DENNIS AND CHAS. P. WOOD
    MAKERS OF KIRBY REAPER
    AND OTHER FARM MACHINERY
    ORIGINAL FACTORY 1858
    Location: ON 2ND STORY FACE OLD OSBORNE OFFICES N. SIDE COR. GENESEE AND OSBORNE STS.

  • PIONEER ROADS
    OLD GENESEE ROAD 1791
    NEW GENESEE ROAD 1797
    OLD CHENANGO ROAD 1791
    LATER KNOWN AS CAYUGA AND
    SENECA TURNPIKE 1802
    Location: MARKER FASTENED TO E.FACE OF STORE N.W. CORNER GENESEE AND NORTH STS., 2ND STORY

  • SITE OF
    WILLARD TAVERN 1810
    REBUILT 1828-1830 AS
    AMERICAN HOTEL
    BURIED 1879
    Location: ON 2ND STORY FACE METCALF BLDG., 141 GENESEE ST.

  • SITE OF
    BOSTWICK'S
    TAVERN 1803-1868
    REBUILT 1824, RENAMED
    WESTERN EXCHANGE HOTEL
    LAFAYETTE A GUEST 1825
    Location: ON E. FACE PEARSON BLOCK COR. GENESEE AND EXCHANGE STS.

  • SITE OF FIRST
    SCHOOL HOUSE
    ESTABLISHED IN AUBURN 1796
    BENJAMIN PHELPS
    SCHOOLMASTER
    Location: ON W. SIDE NORTH ST. IN FRONT OF HOLY TRINITY HIGH SCHOOL

  • SITE OF FIRST LOG
    DAM AND MILL
    ON OWASCO RIVER BUILT BY
    JOHN L HARDENBERGH 1793
    ENLARGED 1802
    PRESENT STONE MILL 1824
    Location: ON FACE OF GAS STATION S. SIDE GENESEE AT JUNC. MARKET. SITE, STONE MILL RECENTLY RAZED.

  • SITE OF LOG CABIN 1793
    OF JOHN L. HARDENBERGH
    FIRST SETTLER OF AUBURN
    FIRST AURELIUS TOWN
    MEETING HELD HERE 1794
    Location: ON MARKET ST. IN FRONT OF FIRE DEPARTMENT

  • WASCO
    "THE CROSSING PLACE"
    SITE OF A CAYUGA VILLAGE
    OCCUPIED BY INDIANS BEFORE
    AND AFTER SETTLEMENT OF
    HARDENBERGH CORNERS
    1793
    Location: STATE ST.-GRASS PLOT BETWEEN PRISON WALL AND RIVER

  • WM. G. FARGO
    MAY 20, 1818-AUG. 3, 1881
    ORGANIZER OF WELLS-FARGO
    EXPRESS COMPANY
    SERVED HERE AS
    FIRST FREIGHT AGENT
    Location: ON 2ND STORY FACE SCHRECK BROS. STORE, 16 E. GENESEE ST.

  • [ARROW] 500 FEET
    FORT HILL
    PREHISTORIC INDIAN FORT
    TRADITIONAL BIRTHPLACE
    OF CHIEF LOGAN
    NOW A CEMETERY
    Location: S.W. CORNER FORT AND GENESEE STS.

County: CAYUGA
Town: AURELIUS, TOWN OF

  • 1798 - 1800
    OLD GENESEE ROAD
    FROM HARDENBERGH CORNERS
    TO HARRIS FERRY CROSSED
    HERE
    Location: ON STATE RD. 326, 1 MILE NORTH OF OAKWOOD

  • COL. JOHN HARRIS
    FIRST WHITE SETTLER IN
    CAYUGA COUNTY BUILT LOG
    CABIN HERE 1788
    ESTABLISHED HARRIS FERRY
    ACROSS CAYUGA LAKE
    Location: ON CO. RD. 1/2 MIL S. VILG. CAYUGA NEAR ENTRANCE COWAN'S PT. COTTAGE SETTLEMENT

  • FIRST CAYUGA COUNTY
    COURT HELD HERE 1799
    REMOVED TO AURORA 1804
    AND TO AUBURN 1809
    Location: IN CAYUGA VLGE. ON RTE 90 EAST SIDE, SOUTH OF GENESEE ST.

  • PIONEER ROADS
    INDIAN TRAIL AND
    EARLIEST ROAD
    S.W. TO HARRIS FERRY
    GENESEE TURNPIKE TO
    CAYUGA BRIDGE BUILT 1800
    Location: ON W. GENESEE ST. STATE RD. AT INTERSECTION CO. RD. AND LVRR

  • SITE OF
    CAYUGA LONG BRIDGE
    ONE MILE LONG, 1800-1857
    CARRIED GREAT STREAM OF
    WESTERN MIGRATION
    EARLY COUNTY JAIL WAS
    UNDER THIS END OF BRIDGE
    Location: IN CAYUGA VILLAGE ON GREEN AT END OF GENESEE ST.

  • SITE OF
    TREATY FOR PURCHASE
    CAYUGA RESERVATION
    FROM THE INDIANS
    RED JACKET AND FISH CARRIER
    SPOKESMAN FOR CAYUGAS
    Location: ON CO. RD. 1/2 MIL S. VILG. CAYUGA NEAR ENTRANCE COWAN'S PT. COTTAGE SETTLEMENT

  • SULLIVAN'S CAMPAIGN
    ONE MILE WEST
    COL. BUTLER CROSSED
    CAYUGA LAKE AND DESTROYED
    CAYUGA VILLAGE OF TICHERO
    Location: ON NYS 5 AND 20, 1 1/2 MILE E. OF BRIDGE

County: CAYUGA
Town: BRUTUS, TOWN OF

  • CAYUGA COUNTY
    EARLY IROQUOIS COUNTRY 1768.
    PART OF MONTGOMERY CO. 1784.
    PART OF HERKIMER CO. 1791.
    PART OF ONONDAGA CO. 1794.
    CAYUGA CO. SET OFF 1799.
    Location: RTE. 5 AT ONONDAGA CO. LINE

  • CENTERPORT
    SETTLED BY BENJ. HAIKES
    1805-6. WAS IMPORTANT
    VILLAGE ON OLD ERIE
    CANAL IN 1825
    Location: CENTERPORT

  • TOWN OF BRUTUS
    FORMED FROM AURELIUS 1802
    FIRST SETTLEMENT IN TOWN
    MADE BY ARRON FROST 1795;
    HE BUILT THE FIRST
    GRIST MILL
    Location: WEEDSPORT

  • WEEDS' BASIN
    NAMED AFTER ELIHU AND EDWARD
    WEED WHO CONSTRUCTED A
    BASIN ON OLD ERIE CANAL
    1821. P.O. ESTABLISHED 1822
    WEEDSPORT INC. VILLAGE 1831
    Location: JUST NO. OF HOTEL, RTE. 34

County: CAYUGA
Town: CATO, TOWN OF

  • 1800
    FIRST SETTLEMENT
    IN THE TOWN OF CATO
    MADE BY SAMSON
    LAWRENCE
    Location: AT INTERSECTION L MI. N. OF SENECA RIVER

  • ABRAMS FERRY
    FROM 1805 FOR MANY YEARS
    ABRAMS WHO SETTLED IN
    THAT YEAR MAINTAINED A
    FERRY UNTIL THE TOLL
    BRIDGE WAS BUILT
    Location: NEAR BRIDGE OVER SENECA RIVER

  • CATO FOUR CORNERS
    GEO. LOVELESS AND ABEL PASKO
    FIRST SETTLERS IN 1804
    JESSE ELWELL AND ABNER
    HOLLISTER SETTLED IN 1805.
    CALLED MERIDIAN SINCE 1849
    Location: MERIDIAN

  • CERMONIAL FIRE
    SITE OF PERMANENT VILLAGE
    AND PERPETUAL COUNCIL FIRE
    OF CAYUGA BRANCH OF THE
    IROQUOIS. LAMOKAS, SENECAS
    TRAIL TO ONONDAGA FOR SALT
    Location: 1 1/2 MILE SOUTH OF MERIDIAN, ON WEEDSPORT COUNTY HIGHWAY

  • JAKWAY'S CORNERS
    VILLAGE FORMERLY SO CALLED
    FROM DR. JOHN JAKWAY
    SETTLING 1809, ASSOCIATE
    OF ETHAN ALLEN. PLATT
    TITUS FIRST SETTLER 1805.
    Location: CENTER OF CATO VILLAGE

  • METHODIST
    EPISCOPAL
    CHURCH
    ORGANIZED 1820.
    BRICK EDIFICE BUILT 1828
    REMODELED ABOUT 1870
    Location: ON BRICK CHURCH ROAD

  • OLD MILL
    FIRST GRIST MILL IN IRA.
    BUILT IN 1818 BY JOHN
    HOOKER, ASSOCIATE OF
    ETHAN ALLEN. MILL WAS OLD
    PART OF PRESENT BUILDING
    Location: WEST OF CENTER OF CATO VILLAGE EAST SIDE OF R.R.

County: CAYUGA
Town: CONQUEST TOWN OF

  • "THE PEPPER MILL"
    SO CALLED FROM THE FIRST
    GRIST MILL IN TOWN BUILT
    1810 BY THEOPHILUS EMERSON
    WHO WITH HIS BROTHER
    CLEMENT SETTLED HERE 1802
    Location: IN EMERSON

  • CONQUEST CENTER
    SETTLED 1802 BY JAMES
    PERKINS AND SONS, IRA
    GILBERT, JEREMIAH, AND
    JOHN. JOHN WAS A CAPTIAN
    IN THE WAR OF 1812
    Location: CONQUEST VLGE. ON RTE. 3F

  • PINEVILLE
    FORMERLY SO CALLED FROM
    THE PINE FORESTS WHICH
    COVERED THIS LOCALITY,
    NAME CHANGED IN 1874
    TO SPRING LAKE
    Location: AT SPRING LAKE

  • TOWN OF CONQUEST
    SET OFF FROM CATO 1821.
    FIRST SETTLERS 1800.
    GEO. SNYDER, A SOLIDER
    OF THE REVOLUTION AND
    ISRAEL WOLVERTON
    Location: CONQUEST VLGE. ON RTE. 38

County: CAYUGA
Town: FELMING, TOWN OF

  • EAST CAYUGA-OLD TOWN
    INDIAN VILLAGE OF 13 HOUSES
    DESTROYED SEPT. 22, 1779
    BY COL. WILLIAM BUTLER'S
    DETACHMENT OF
    SULLIVAN CAMPAIGN
    Location: ON GULLY RD. 1/2 MI. WEST OF RTE. 34B IN TN. SPRINGPORT

County: CAYUGA
Town: FLEMING, TOWN OF

  • FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH
    IN AURELIUS WAS ERECTED
    HERE 1796
    PASTOR DAVID IRISH
    FIRST CHURCH IN FLEMING
    SECOND IN CAYUGA COUNTY
    Location: ON BLUEFIELD RD. N.W. OF FLEMING

  • GEORGE FLEMING
    CAPTAIN IN REVOLUTION
    BREV. BRIG. GEN. 1816
    BUILT THIS HOME ON HIS
    MILITARY BOUNTY LAND
    TOWN NAMED AFTER HIM 1823
    Location: ON RTE. 34B 1/2 MILE S. MAPLETON

  • GREAT
    IROQUOIS TRAIL
    FROM CAYUGA TO OWASCO LAKES.
    PART OF THE GREAT TRAIL FROM
    NIAGARA TO ALBANY DURING
    THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION
    Location: ON 34, 1/4 MILE SO. LVRR AT BRICK SCHOOL

  • HOME OF
    HENRY WYCKOFF
    BUILT 1835. JACOB BYERS
    SETTLED HERE 1790. PLANK
    ROAD FROM HERE TO MORAVIA
    BUILT IN 1852
    Location: ON AUBURN MORAVIS STATE RD. AT WYCKOFF'S. W. SIDE OF RTE 38.

  • JOSIAH CHATFIELD
    FIRST SETTLER
    OF FLEMING VILLAGE 1798
    ERECTED HIS HOME ON
    THIS SITE
    Location: N.W. CORNER, CENTER VILLAGE OF FLEMING

  • SAND BEACH CH.
    REFORMED PROTESTANT DUTCH
    CHURCH AT THE OWASCO OUTLET
    ORGANIZED 1807
    FIRST BUILDING 1810
    PRESENT CHURCH 1855
    Location: IN FRONT OF BRICK CHURCH ON W. OWASCO L. ROAD. SO. TRAFFIC CIRCLE

County: CAYUGA
Town: GENOA, TOWN OF

  • FIRST STORE
    IN THE TOWN OF GENOA
    WAS OPENED HERE BY
    ELIHU TALLADAY
    PRIOR TO 1800
    Location: EAST GENOA ON RTE. 34

  • FORKS
    OF THE CREEK
    PINE LUMBER WAS SAWED
    HERE FOR CONSTRUCTION
    OF EARLY FARM HOUSES
    IN THIS VICINITY
    Location: EAST OF FIVE CORNERS AT THE FORKS

  • PRESBYTERIAN
    CHURCH, FIRST IN GENOA
    ORGANIZED AUG. 13, 1798
    BY EARLIEST SETTLERS IN
    REGION, THEN KNOWN
    AS THE MILITARY TRACT
    Location: IN FRONT OF CHURCH IN KINGS FERRY

  • SITE OF
    OLD CHURCH
    FIRST CONGREGATIONAL IN TOWN
    OF MILTON. ORGANIZED 1798.
    FIRST LOG MEETING HOUSE
    BUILT HERE IN 1802
    Location: 1 MILE EAST AND 1 MILE SOUTH OF KINGS FERRY

  • SITE OF
    LOG METTING HOUSE
    BUILT 1802, BY CONGREGATIONAL
    CHURCH OF MILTON. ORGANIZED
    IN 1798. SECOND OLDEST
    CHURCH IN CAYUGA COUNTY
    Location: CORRECTION OF ABOVE MARKER, SAME LOCATION

  • TOWN OF GENOA
    ORGANIZED AS MILTON 1789.
    NAME CHANGED TO GENOA 1808.
    JOHN CLARK WAS THE FIRST
    SETTLER 1791
    Location: IN GENOA VILLAGE SOUTH SIDE RTE. 90 IN FRONT OF CHURCH

County: CAYUGA
Town: IRA, TOWN OF

  • BURIAL PLACE
    OF THE PIONEERS OF THIS
    SECTION, INCLUDING SEVERAL
    REVOLUTIONARY VETERANS
    1809-1860
    Location: JUST WEST OF CATO-MERIDIAN CENTRAL SCHOOL

  • FOX'S KLIN
    ANCIENT LIMESTONE QUARRIES
    OPENED UP PRIOR TO 1835
    Location: 3/4 MILE WEST OF IRA

  • IRA CORNERS
    SETTLED IN 1805 BY THOMAS
    BARNES, LUTHER SAMUEL AND
    ISRAEL PHELPS. TWO LATTER
    OPENED 1ST STORE 1813. PHELPS
    BUILT HOTEL 1820, WHERE FIRST
    TOWN MEETING WAS HELD, 1821.
    Location: STANDS ON TOWN LINE NEAR LVRR

  • TOWN OF IRA
    SET OFF FROM CATO 1821.
    FIRST SETTLEMENTS IN TOWN,
    1800, BY DAVID AND ELEAZER
    STOCKWELL, WILLIAM
    PATTERSON AND HENRY CONRAD
    Location: IN CENTER OF VILLAGE

County: CAYUGA
Town: LEDYARD, TOWN OF

  • ALGONKIAN
    INDIAN VILLAGE SITE PRIOR
    TO IROQUOIS DURING STONE
    AGE OCCUPATION ABOUT 1000
    A.D. EXCAVATIONS 1932-34
    SHOW HEARTHS AND BURIALS
    Location: 1 MI. EAST OF LEVANNA

  • BIRTHPLACE OF
    THEODORE LEDYARD CUYLER
    BORN JAN. 10, 1822
    DIED FEB. 26, 1909
    PRESBYTERIAN CLERGYMAN
    AND WRITER
    Location: VLG. AURORA, OPP. RR. STA.

  • BOUNDARY OF
    RESERVATON
    SOUTHEAST CORNER OF EAST
    CAYUGA RESERVATION. CAYUGAS
    RESERVED IT 1789. CEDED TO
    N.Y. STATE BY TREATY 1794
    Location: AURORA-SHERWOOD RD. W. OF SHERWOOD

  • BUILT 1804
    HERE IN 1846 WAS BORN
    ELIZA MOSHER
    EMINENT WOMAN PHYSICIAN
    1875-1928
    Location: 1 MI. WEST RIDGEWAY CEMETERY

  • CAYUGA LAKE
    ACADEMY
    CHARTERED BY REGENTS 1801
    FIRST BUILDING 1803
    PRESENT STRUCTURE 1835
    WELL KNOWN SCHOOL
    Location: IN FRONT OLD BRICK SCHOOL OPPOSITE PRES. CH., AURORA

  • FIRST HOME
    BUILT BY A WHITE MAN
    CAPT. ROSEWELL FRANKLIN
    IN CAYUGA COUNTY 1789
    HE WAS AN OFFICER IN
    SULLIVAN-CLINTON CAMPAIGN
    Location: IN AURORA IN FRONT OF MISS EDITH MORGAN'S BARN, W. SIDE STATE ROAD

  • FIRST NEWSPAPER
    IN CAYUGA COUNTY PUBLISHED
    IN 1798 BY R. DELANO.
    CALLED LEVANNA GAZETTE
    OR ONONDAGA ADVERTISER
    Location: AT LEVANNA

  • GLEN PARK 1852
    HOME OF HENRY WELLS
    FOUNDER OF
    AMERICAN EXPRESS CO., 1850
    WELLS FARGO EXPRESS CO., 1852
    WELLS COLLEGE, 1868
    Location: FRONT WELLS COLLEGE, W. SIDE STREET

  • GRAVE OF
    CAPT. ROSWELL FRANKLIN
    FIRST SETTLER 1789
    DIED 1792
    Location: SO. SIDE PAINES CREEK GULLY, 1000 FT. E. BRIDGE, SO. END AURORA

  • HOME OF
    JETHRO WOOD
    INVENTOR OF CAST IRON
    PLOUGH
    Location: 1/2 MI. W. POPLAR RIDGE

  • ISAAC MEKEEL
    HERE DEVELOPED
    MANUFACTURE OF
    AMBER CANE SYRUP
    1860-1904
    Location: 1 MI. WEST RIDGEWAY CEMETERY

  • LEDYARD
    NAMED FROM BENJ. LEDYARD.
    CALLED CHAPINS CRS. FROM
    P. CHAPIN, SETTLED 1800
    AND TALCOTTS CRS. FROM R.
    TALCOTT, SETTLED 1812
    Location: RTE. 34B VLGE. LEDYARD

  • OLD ELM TREE
    REMAINING FROM
    THE PRIMEVAL FOREST
    Location: AURORA-POPLAR RIDGE RD. 1/2 MILE. WEST RR

  • PAINES CREEK GULLY
    "MOONSHINE FALLS"
    ONE MILE UPSTREAM
    SITE OF EARLY SAW, GRIST
    AND WOOLEN MILLS
    Location: SO. END BRIDGE, RET. 90 SO. OF AURORA

  • PATRICK
    TAVERN
    ERECTED 1793
    EARLY COURT HELD HERE
    CAYUGA COUNTY MEDICAL
    SOCIETY ORGANIZED HERE 1806
    Location: SO. E. OR. DUBLIN HILL & MAIN ST. AURORA

  • PIONEER HOUSE
    BUILT ABOUT 1799 BY
    BENJAMIN HOWLAND
    HERE SAME YEAR WAS HELD
    FIRST MEETING IN COUNTY
    OF SOCIETY OF FRIENDS
    Location: CHAPEL COR., PAINES CREEK RD. TO POPLAR RIDGE

  • RESIDENCE OF
    MAJOR BENJAMIN LEDYARD
    FIRST CLERK OF ONONDAGA
    AND CAYUGA COUNTY
    TOWN NAMED IN HIS HONOR
    Location: NEAR HOUSE BACK FROM MAIN ST., SO OLD ACADEMY IN AURORA

  • SCIPIO LODGE
    MASONIC CHARTER 1797
    BUILDING ERECTED 1806
    USED BY THE CRAFT
    UNTIL 1819
    Location: MAIN ST. 2ND HOUSE N. SCHOOL

  • SEQUOIA
    (CALIFORNIA REDWOOD)
    PLANTED IN 1826
    Location: RTE. 90, NORTH END AURORA

  • SITE OF
    CHONODOTE
    "PEACH TOWN"
    CAYUGA VILLAGE DESTROYED
    WITH ORCHARD OF 1500
    TREES DURING SULLIVAN
    CAMPAIGN SEPT. 1779
    Location: NORTH END VILLAGE ON RTE. 90

  • SITE OF
    FIRST STEAM
    FLOURING MILL
    WEST OF HUDSON RIVER
    BUILT BY ROSWELL TOWSLEY
    1817
    Location: S.E. COR. OLD STONE WAREHOUSE LYON PROPERTY, AURORA

  • SITE OF
    UPPER CAYUGA
    VILLAGE
    DESTROYED BY COL. BUTLER'S
    DETACHMENT OF SULLIVAN'S
    ARMY, SEPT. 22-23, 1779
    Location: SIDE RD. YOUNG FARM & MONUMENT NOW OWNED BY CAYUGA MUSEUM

  • TO
    MOONSHINE FALLS
    [ARROW]
    Location: PROSPECT CRS. 1 MIL. E. RTE. 60

  • TO
    MOONSHINE FALLS
    [ARROW]
    Location: RTE. 90 OPP. PAINES CREEK RD. TO POPLAR RIDGE

  • UPPER CAYUGA
    MARKING THE PROBABLE
    FORTIFICATION FOR NEARBY
    INDIAN VILLAGES DESTROYED
    BY COL. BUTLER'S SOLDIERS
    SEPT 22-23, 1779
    Location: ON GREAT GULLY FORT SITE. ACCESSIBLE ONLY TO HIKERS

  • WELLS COLLEGE
    FOUNDED BY HENRY WELLS
    1868
    ORGANIZER OF AMERICAN AND
    WELLS FARGO EXPRESS COMPANIES
    Location: FRONT WELLS COLLEGE, E. SIDE STREET

County: CAYUGA
Town: LOCKE, TOWN OF

  • INDIAN
    FORT SITE
    THIS VICINITY IS SITE OF
    AN INDIAN VILLAGE
    PROBABLY FORTIFIED
    AND INDIAN BURIAL GROUND
    Location: WEST OF LOCKE

  • TOWN OF LOCKE
    SET OFF FROM MILTON NOW
    GENOA IN 1802. LOCKE
    VILLAGE FORMERLY CALLED
    MILAN FIRST SETTLED 1790
    Location: IN LOCKE ON RTES. 90 & 38

County: CAYUGA
Town: MENTZ, TOWN OF

  • BRIGHAM YOUNG
    THE MORMON PROPHET LIVED
    IN THE HOUSE 100 YARDS
    EAST OF HERE IN 1831. HE
    WAS BAPTIED A MORMON IN
    1832 AT MENDON, N.Y.
    Location: PORT BYRON FRONT OF HOTEL

  • HENRY WELLS
    FOUNDER OF WELLS FARGO
    EXPRESS COMPANY WAS A
    SHOEMAKER BY TRADE AND
    LIVED IN THIS HOUSE
    FROM 1827 TO ABOUT 1830
    Location: RTE. 31, 38, IN PORT BYRON

  • PORT BYRON
    NAMED 1832. INC. 1837.
    FORMERLY CALLED BUCKSVILLE
    FROM AHOLIAB BUCK, SETTLER
    IN 1798, ALSO KING'S
    SETTLEMENT FROM P. KING 1797
    Location: IN FRONT PORT BYRON HOTEL

County: CAYUGA
Town: MONTEZUMA, TOWN OF

  • COL. COMFORT TYLER
    1764-1827
    REVOLUTIONARY SOLDIER, COL.
    IN WAR OF 1812, SURVEYOR,
    ENGINEER SALT MAKER.
    SETTLED HERE IN 1811
    Location: ON COR. NORTH RTE. 31

  • MONTEZUMA
    NAMED FROM THE AZTEC
    EMPERORS. TOWN FORMED FROM
    MENTZ IN 1859. VILLAGE
    INCORPORATED IN 1866
    Location: IN MONTEZUMA BY HOTEL

  • OLD ERIE CANAL
    COMPLETED FROM UTICA TO
    HERE 1819. THE "MONTEZUMA"
    BUILT HERE WAS THE FIRST
    BOAT ON THE CANAL. TOOK
    PASSENGERS TO SYRACUSE 1820
    Location: ON OLD CANAL BY RTE. 90

  • SALT SPRINGS
    CHIEF SUPPLY FOR INDIANS.
    LATER EXTENSIVELY DEVELOPED
    BY EARLY SETTLERS PRIVATELY
    AND WITH STATE AID
    Location: ON OLD CANAL BY RTE. 90

  • SQUAGONNA
    ABORIGINAL NAME FOR
    "PARADISE OF MUSQUITOES"
    THE RIVER WAS TIOHERO
    "RIVER OF RUSHES"
    Location: NEAR BRIDGE OVER SENECA RIVER

County: CAYUGA
Town: MORAVIA, TOWN OF

  • CADY TAVERN
    IN 1801 ZADOC CADY BUILT
    A LOG TAVERN HERE. A FEW
    YEARS LATER HE BUILT THE
    PRESENT BUILDING
    Location: SO. MAIN ST. IN VILLAGE

  • JOHN STOYELL
    FIRST SETTLER IN MORAVIA
    1790. BUILT FIRST HOUSE AT
    REAR OF THIS LOT. WAS 1ST
    JUSTICE AND SUPERVISOR OF
    SEMPRONIUS IN 1798
    Location: CORNER MAIN & CAYUGA STS.

  • MILLARD FILLMORE
    13TH PRESIDENT OF
    THE UNITED STATES, WAS BORN
    IN A LOG CABIN IN
    THE ADJACENT FIELD
    JAN 7, 1800
    Location: COUNTRY RD. 1/2 MI. N.W. RTE. 135

  • OLDEST HOUSE
    IN MORAVIA
    THE KITCHEN OF THIS HOUSE
    IS THE ORIGINAL CABIN BUILT
    BY GERSHOM MORSE IN 1794
    Location: SO. MAIN ST. IN VILLAGE

  • OWASCO FLATS
    SITE OF INDIAN VILLAGE
    LAND CULTIVATED PRIOR TO
    WHITE SETTLEMENTS.
    NEIGHBORING SETTLERS CAME
    TO HARVEST HAY 1789-90
    Location: RTE. 38 WEST OF VILLAGE

  • SITE OF
    OLD ARSENAL
    NEW YORK STATE ARSENAL
    NUMBER 68. BUILT IN
    1800. STOOD FOR OVER
    100 YEARS
    Location: VLG. MORAVIA ON SIDE STREET

  • THE FIRST
    CAST IRON PLOW
    IN THE WORLD WAS MADE BY
    JETHRO WOODS
    AT FOOT OF FALLS
    1819
    Location: RTE. 38A BY BRIDGE, MONTVILLE

  • TOWN OF MORAVIA
    FORMED FROM SEMPRONIUS IN
    1833. VILLAGE OF MORAVIA
    INCORPORATED IN 1837
    REINCORPORATED IN 1859.
    Location: BACK OF SERVICE STA. E. CAYUGA ST.

County: CAYUGA
Town: NILES, TOWN OF

  • KELLOGGSVILLE
    NAMED AFTER JUDGE CHARLES
    KELLOGG, WHO OPENED THE
    FIRST STORE HERE IN 1804
    Location: IN FRONT OF STORE

  • OLD MILL
    PARTLY BUILT BY CHARLES
    KELLOGG IN 1823. SOLD TO
    HORACE ROUNDS IN 1851, TO
    HIS SON EUGENE ROUNDS 1865,
    TO W. E. ROUNDS & A. RYAN, 1919
    Location: IN NEW HOPE

  • OLD SALT ROAD
    OVER THIS ROAD
    SALT
    WAS FORMERLY TRANSPORTED
    OVERLAND FROM SYRACUSE TO
    PENNSYLVANIA AND NEW YORK
    Location: KELLOGGSVILLE

  • TOWN OF NILES
    SET OFF FROM SEMPRONIUS
    IN 1833. FIRST SETTLED 1792.
    NAMED FROM ELDER ROBT. NILES,
    A PASTOR OF THE 1ST BAPTIST
    CHURCH OF SEMPRONIUS
    Location: AT DUTCH HOLLOW

County: CAYUGA
Town: OWASCO, TOWN OF

  • ALGONKIAN
    VILLAGE SITE
    OF THIRD PERIOD CULTURE
    ONE OF LARGEST INDIAN
    POTTERY JARS IN STATE
    FOUND HERE
    Location: IN ENNA JETTICK PARK OPP. SESQUI. MONUMENT

  • FORD
    ACROSS WASCO OUTLET ON
    GREAT IROQUOIS TRAIL USED
    BY COL. PETER GANSEVOORT
    WHO ENCAMPED HERE
    SEPT. 21, 1779
    Location: SO. SIDE PAVILION, EMERSON PARK

  • HERE
    WAS BUILT IN 1798
    FIRST CHURCH
    IN CAYUGA COUNTY
    REFORMED DUTCH CHURCH
    OF OWASCO
    Location: ON E. LAKE RD., BEYOND DUTCH HOLLOW-BURTIS POINT

  • TOWN OF OWASCO
    FORMED FROM AURELIUS 1802.
    FIRST SETTLEMENTS 1792
    REFORMED DUTCH CHURCH OF
    OWASCO ORGANIZED 1798.
    CHURCH BUILT 1815
    Location: IN OWASCO

  • WILLOW BROOK
    HOME OF ENOS. T. THROOP
    1784-1874
    CONGRESSMAN 1815
    CIRCUIT JUDGE 1823
    GOVERNOR OF N.Y. 1829-32
    Location: ON E. LAKE RD. SO.OF FOOT OF LAKE

County: CAYUGA
Town: SCIPIO, TOWN OF

  • #1 - THE SQUARE
    SO NAMED BECAUSE OF BEING
    ON LOT ONE OF THE TOWN
    OF SCIPIO. THIS
    PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH WAS
    BUILT IN 1825
    Location: AT #1 INTRSCTN. RTE. 34B & OLD RIDGE RD. AT PRES. CH.

  • CAYUGA CASTLE
    STOOD TWO MILES WEST
    RAZED BY COL. BUTLER
    IN SULLIVAN CAMPAIGN
    SEPTEMBER 22-23, 1779
    Location: ON RTE. 34B 1/2 MI. SO. RTE. 1

  • EARLY NEWSPAPER
    THE WESTERN LUMINARY,
    SECOND IN THE COUNTY
    WAS PUBLISHED IN THIS
    HOUSE MARCH 24, 1801
    Location: SCIPIOVILLE, RTE. 34B

  • EMILY HOWLAND
    1827-1929
    NOTED EDUCATOR AND
    PHILANTHROPIST, FOUNDED
    THE SHERWOOD SELECT SCHOOL
    1872, LIVED HERE
    Location: SHERWOOD, RTE. 34B

  • INDIAN SITE
    REMAINS OF LARGE VILLAGES
    FOUND ON FARMS ON
    EITHER SIDE OF THIS ROAD
    CAYUGAS DRIVEN OUT BY
    COL. BUTLER IN 1779
    Location: ON RTE. 34B SO. OF SCRIPIONVILLE

  • PIONEER SITE
    SETTLED 1794-95 BY
    JUDGE SETH SHERWOOD
    ERECTED HOUSE WHEREIN
    COURT WAS HELD 1804 WHEN
    VILLAGE WAS COUNTY SEAT
    Location: IN SHERWOOD E. SIDE FRONT OF STORE

  • TOWN OF SCIPIO
    ONE OF ORIGINAL
    TOWNS OF THE MILITARY TRACT
    FORMED IN 1794. NAMED
    AFTER THE ROMAN GENERAL
    Location: AT SCIPIO CENTER

  • WARING PLACE
    BUILT AS A TAVERN 1806
    MASONIC LODGE QUARTERS
    1811-14, 1822-42
    LOWER STORY USED AS
    SCHOOL
    Location: WARINGS CRS. RTE. 34 SO. SCRIPIO CNTR.

County: CAYUGA
Town: SEMPRONIUS, TOWN OF

  • OLD SALT ROAD
    OVER THIS ROAD
    SALT
    WAS FORMERLY TRANSPORTED
    OVERLAND FROM SYRACUSE TO
    PENNSYLVANIA AND NEW YORK
    Location: AT DRESSERVILLE ON CO. RD. 1/2 MI. E. OF RTE. 41A

  • SAYLES CORNERS
    FIRST SETTLEMENT IN
    SEMPRONIUS 1793 BY EZEKIEL
    SAYLES, SURVEYOR AND FIRST
    TOWN CLERK. HIS LOG HOUSE
    STOOD ABOUT HERE
    Location: AT SALES CRS. ON CO RD. BETWEEN RTES. 38A & 41A

  • SITE OF
    GLEN HAVEN HOUSE WHICH IN
    1845 WAS CONVERTED INTO
    GLEN HAVEN SANITARIUM
    DESTROYED TO PROTECT
    SYRACUSE WATER SUPPLY
    Location: ON W. LAKE RD. NEAR HEAD SKANEATELES LAKE

County: CAYUGA
Town: SENNETT, TOWN OF

  • BAPTIST
    CHURCH
    ORGANIZED 1799
    FIRST STONE CHURCH BUILT
    ON THIS SITE 1808
    PRESENT CHURCH BUILT 1875
    Location: NO. SIDE ST. E. OF CENTER SENNETT

  • BLACKSMITH
    SHOP
    BUILT ABOUT 1837. FIRST
    TRIP HAMMER IN CAYUGA
    COUNTY AND FIRST ONE USED
    IN AUBURN PRISON MADE HERE
    Location: FRANKLIN ST. RD. E. SOULE CEMTRY

  • BLACKSMITH
    SHOP
    BUILT PRIOR TO 1825
    LOCAL METHODIST SOCIETY
    HERE ORGANIZED AND PLANNED
    ERECTION OF THEIR CHURCH
    Location: SO. SIDE ROAD E. OF SENNETT

  • EARLY HOME
    BUILT ABOUT 1795 BY
    DANIEL SENNETT
    SIDE JUDGE OF
    CIRCUIT COURT
    TOWN NAMED IN HIS HONOR
    Location: ON RTE. 5 N. SIDE-E. OF SENNETT

  • FIRST STORE
    IN VILLAGE OF SENNETT
    OPENED 1795 BY
    RUFUS SHELDON AND
    CHAUNCEY LATHROP
    FIRST POST OFFICE 1806
    Location: NORTH EAST CORNER IN SENNETT

  • FIRST TAVERN
    IN VILLAGE OF SENNETT
    BUILT 1795
    Location: NORTHWEST CORNER OF SENNETT

  • GREAT GENESEE ROAD
    FROM OLD FORT SCHUYLER TO
    THE GENESEE RIVER VIA
    HARDENBERGH CORNERS AND
    CAYUGA BRIDGE. BUILT 1794
    Location: AT OWLS NEST ON FRANKLIN ST. RD. 1 MI. EAST OF SOULE CEMETERY

  • OLDEST CHURCH
    IN SENNETT. BUILT 1820
    ORGANIZED 1809 AS
    FIRST CONGREGATIONAL
    REMODELED 1847
    BECAME PRESBYTERIAN 1870
    Location: SOUTHWEST CORNER OF SENNETT

  • SENECA TURNPIKE
    1800
    FROM UTICA TO CANANDAIGUA
    VIA SKANEATELES CREEK AT END
    OF CHERRY VALLEY TURNPIKE.
    MIRGRATION ROUTE TO THE WEST
    Location: ON RTE. 20 1 MI. E. OF AUBURN

  • THIS HOUSE
    ERECTED 1823
    DR. SYLVESTER WILLARD
    Location: CENTER OF SENNETT, SO. SIDE FORMER RTE. 5

County: CAYUGA
Town: SPRINGPORT, TOWN OF

  • CAYUGA CASTLE
    "GOI-O-GOUEN"
    SITE OF PRINCIPAL
    CAYUGA VILLAGE
    DESTROYED SEPT. 23, 1779
    SULLIVAN CAMPAIGN
    Location: ON SESQUI MONUMENT LOT NR. GREAT GULLY RTE. 90

  • CAYUGA CASTLE
    SITE TWO MILES EAST
    CAYUGA VILLAGE DESTROYED
    IN SULLIVAN CAMPAIGN
    SEPTEMBER 1779
    Location: JUNCTION RTE. 90 & GREAT GULLY ROAD

  • CAYUGA MINE
    RESERVATION
    NORTHWEST COR.OF SQ. MILE
    RESERVED TO CAYUGAS BY
    TREATIES 1789
    SOLD TO THE STATE 1799
    Location: ON AUBURN RD. 326, 2 MIS. E. RTE. 90

  • FIRST
    SCHOOL HOUSE
    IN TOWN OF SPRINGPORT
    ERECTED ON THIS SITE
    ABOUT 1800
    Location: AT JUNCTION RTE. 90 & AUBURN RD.

  • FIRST CHURCH
    ERECTED IN SPRINGPORT
    1816 STOOD ON THIS SITE
    USED UNTIL 1840
    Location: AT CROSS ROADS

  • FRONTENAC
    ISLAND
    ANCIENT ALGONKIAN VILLAGE
    SITE. INDIAN BURIAL PLACE
    GIVEN TO UNION SPRINGS
    BY THE STATE 1856
    Location: UNION SPRINGS-ON ISLAND OFF UNION SPRINGS

  • GE-WAUGA
    A SMALL CAYUGA VILLAGE
    WHERE COL. BUTLER
    CAMPED SEPT. 21, 1779
    Location: IN FRONT OF OLD HIGH SCH. MAIN ST., UNION SPRINGS

  • HOME OF
    JOHN J. THOMAS 1810-95
    PROMINENT AGRICULTURIST
    AN EDITOR OF "THE COUNTRY
    GENTLEMAN" AND PROMOTER
    OF CAYUGA LAKE R.R.
    Location: UNION SPRINGS S. SIDE HOMER ST.

  • INDIAN MOUND
    JUST EAST OF HERE
    KNOWN TO BE THE SITE OF
    AN EARLY JESUIT MISSION
    Location: ON SESQUI MON. PLOT, RTE. 90 1 1/2 MI. SOUTH OF UNION SPRINGS

  • IROQUOIS TRAIL
    FROM CAYUGA TO OWASCO
    LAKES, PART OF THE GREAT
    TRAIL FROM NIAGARA TO
    ALBANY DURING THE
    AMERICAN REVOLUTION
    Location: ON 326 NORTH OF OAKWOOD

  • RESERVATION OF
    CAYUGAS
    SOLD TO THE STATE 1799
    A BODY OF TUSCARORAS WERE
    THE LAST OF THE IROQUOIS
    TO OCCUPY THIS POINT
    Location: ON FARLEYS POINT

  • SPRING MILLS
    ERECTED 1839-40 BY
    GEORGE HOWLAND
    STONE MILL THIRD BUILT
    ON SAME SITE
    SECOND WAS WOOLEN MILL
    Location: IN FRONT OF POND W. SIDE RTE. 90, UNION SPRINGS

  • UPPER CAYUGA
    SITE OF VILLAGE AND FORT
    ON OPPOSITE BANK OF
    GREAT GULLY
    DESTROYED BY COL. BUTLER
    IN SULLIVAN CAMPAIGN
    Location: ON SO. SIDE GREAT GULLY RD. 2 MILES EAST OF RTE. 90

  • YAWGER TAVERN
    BUILT BY PETER YAWGER, 1810
    ON THE JUNCTION OF THE
    INDIAN TRAILS WASCO TO
    GEWAUGA AND CHUHARO
    TO GOIOGOVEN
    Location: INTRSCTN. RTE. 326 & CO. RD. 1 MI. E. OF RTE. 90

  • [ARROW] WEST
    FRONTENAC
    ISLAND
    SITE OF ALGONKIAN VILLAGE
    DEEDED TO UNION SPRINGS
    BY THE STATE FOR USE
    AS A PARK 1856
    Location: COR. RTE. 90 & SEMINARY ST. UNION SPRINGS

County: CAYUGA
Town: STERLING, TOWN OF

  • FAIR HAVEN
    LITTLE SODUS
    SETTLED PRIOR TO 1811
    FIRST HOTEL, ABIJAH HUNT, 1825.
    FIRST STORE, G. TAYLOR, 1825
    Location: AT FAIR HAVEN ON RTE. 104A

  • MARTVILLE
    CHAUNCEY HICKOCK AND
    TIMOTHY AUSTIN SETTLED 1823,
    BUILT FIRST MILLS, ROBT.
    LAY BUILT FIRST STORE 1825
    Location: MARTVILLE ON RTE. 104A

  • STERLING VALLEY
    FIRST SETTLEMENT MADE HERE
    1805 BY PETER DUMAS, A
    SOLDIER WITH LAYFAYETTE.
    EARLIER CALLED COOPERS
    MILLS AFTER JOHN COOPER 1819
    Location: AT STERLING VALLEY. ON RTE. 104A

  • TOWN OF STERLING
    NAMED AFTER A REVOLUTIONARY
    OFFICER, LORD WM. ALEXANDER
    STERLING. SET OFF FROM CATO
    1812. FIRST GRIST AND SAW
    MILL BUILT HERE IN 1813
    Location: AT STERLING CTR. ON RTE. 104A

County: CAYUGA
Town: SUMMERHILL, TOWN OF

  • OLD SALT ROAD
    OVER THIS ROAD
    SALT
    WAS FORMERLY TRANSPORTED
    OVERLAND FROM SYRACUSE TO
    PENNSYLVANIA AND NEW YORK
    Location: W. SIDE RD. AT HEAD SHERMAN GULF

  • OLD SALT ROAD
    OVER THIS ROAD
    SALT
    WAS FORMERLY TRANSPORTED
    OVERLAND FROM SYRACUSE TO
    PENNSYLVANIA AND NEW YORK
    Location: IN SUMMERHILL, RTE. 90

  • SUMMERHILL
    FORMED FROM LOCKE AS PLATO
    1831. NAME CHANGED 1832
    FIRST SETTLEMENT MADE BY
    HEZEKIAH MIX IN 1797
    ONE MILE WEST OF HERE
    Location: IN SUMMERHILL ON RTE. 90

County: CAYUGA
Town: THROOP, TOWN OF

  • HOME OF
    GEN. JOHN S. CLARK
    BORN 1823. DIED 1912.
    CIVIL ENGINEER, HISTORIAN,
    CIVIL WAR OFFICER AND
    FIRST SUPERVISOR OF THROOP
    Location: ON CO. RD. #1148 1 1/2 MIS. N.W. OF THROOPVILLE

  • THROOPSVILLE
    FIRST SETTLED BY CHRISTOPHER
    JEFFERIES, HOTEL KEEPER, IN
    1799. REV. JOHN JEFFRIES
    FIRST BAPTIST PASTOR.
    MENTZ ORGANIZED 1803.
    Location: THROOPSVILLE

  • TOWN OF THROOP
    FORMED 1859 FROM PORTIONS
    OF AURELIUS, MENTZ, AND
    SENNETT. NAMED AFTER FORMER
    GOVERNOR ENOS T. THROOP
    OF AUBURN
    Location: THROOPSVILLE

  • WARDS SETTLEMENT
    NAMED FROM JONAS WARD AND
    SON, CALEB, WHO SETTLED HERE
    IN 1796. FIRST SETTLEMENT IN
    THROOP MADE NEAR HERE IN 1790
    BY EZEKIAL CRANE
    Location: NEAR TN.LINE ON RAOD FROM THROOPSVILLE TO MONTEZUMA

County: CAYUGA
Town: VENICE, TOWN OF

  • BAPTIST
    CHURCH
    FOUNDED JUNE 9, 1795 BY
    ELDER DAVID IRISH
    PRESENT CHURCH ERECTED
    1812-14
    Location: STEWARTS CORNERS

  • HOME OF
    DANIEL HOLLEY
    SETTLED HERE 1797. THE
    FRAME HOUSE BUILT SOON
    AFTER IS PART OF BARN
    Location: 1 MI.S. & 1/2 MI. E. OF STEWARTS CNRS.

  • INDIAN FIELDS
    FARMS OF THE CAYUGAS
    BEFORE REVOLUTION
    HERE WHITE SETTLERS FOUND
    CLEARED AND CULTIVATED
    FIELDS, VILLAGES AND FORTS
    Location: INDIAN FIELDS ON RTE. 34 SO. OF VENICE CENTER

  • INDIAN FIELDS
    FARMS OF THE CAYUGAS
    BEFORE REVOLUTION
    HERE WHITE SETTLERS FOUND
    CLEARED AND CULTIVATED
    FIELDS, VILLAGES AND FORTS
    Location: ON RTE. 34 NO. OF TOWN LINE

  • SITE OF
    FIRST STORE
    BUILT ABOUT 1800 BY
    JETHRO WOOD, INVENTOR
    PRESENT STORE BUILT FROM
    SOME OF ORIGINAL TIMBERS
    Location: POPLAR RIDGE

  • TOWN OF VENICE
    SET OFF FROM SCIPIO 1823.
    SETTLED AS EARLY AS 1790.
    JOSHUA MURDOCK CAME HERE
    IN 1800 AND BUILT A
    HOMESTEAD IN 1816
    Location: VENICE CENTER

County: CAYUGA
Town: VICTORY, TOWN OF

  • NORTH VICTORY
    FIRST SETTLEMENT BY CONRAD
    PHROZINE IN 1812. HERE IS
    THE SITE OF THE MILL HE
    BUILT
    Location: AT INTERSECTION RTES. 104 & 38

  • TOWN OF VICTORY
    SET OFF FROM CATO 1821.
    FIRST SETTLEMENTS 1800 BY
    JOHN MCNEAL AND JOHN
    MARTIN. VILLAGE SETTLED
    BY JAMES GREGORY IN 1806
    Location: IN VICTORY

  • WESTBURY
    FIRST SETTLED IN 1806 BY
    WILLIAM AND JACOB
    BURGHDUFF. M.E. CHURCH
    ORGANIZED 1816, BUILT 1838
    Location: 1 1/2 MILES N.W. OF VICTORY

County: CHAUTAUQUA
Town: ARKWRIGHT, TOWN OF

  • FIRST
    OIL WELL
    IN ARKWRIGHT WAS
    ERECTED ON THIS SITE
    ABOUT 1840
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 2 MIS. S. OF FORESTVILLE

  • FIRST CHEESE
    FACTORY
    IN CHAUTAUQUA COUNTY
    ERECTED HERE IN 1861 BY
    ASAHEL BURNHAM
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT GRISWOLD

County: CHAUTAUQUA
Town: CARROLL, TOWN OF

  • FREW HOUSE
    FIRST HOUSE ERECTED IN
    FEWSBURG. BUILT 1807 BY
    HUGH AND MARY R. FREW.
    Location: ON NYS 60 AT KIANTONE-CARROLL TOWN LINE

  • HOME OF
    JAMES AND MARY W. FREW
    BUILT 1821
    Location: ON NYS 60 IN FREWSBURG

County: CHAUTAUQUA
Town: CHAUTAUQUA, TOWN OF

  • DONALD MACKENZIE
    BORN IN SCOTLAND 1783
    DIED IN MAYVILLE 1851
    AT ONE TIME PARTNER OF
    JOHN JACOB ASTOR IN
    PACIFIC FUR CO.
    Location: ON NYS 430 IN VLGE. OF MAYVILLE

  • FIRST COURTS
    WERE HELD IN THIS COUNTY
    IN 1811 - 12 - 13 IN A SMALL
    TWO-STORY PLANK HOUSE
    BUILT HERE FOR THE PURPOSE
    Location: ON NYS 17, VLGE. OF MAYVILLE

  • FIRST SETTLER
    ON CHAUTAUQUA LAKE WAS
    DR. ALEXANDER MCINTYRE
    WHO ERECTED HERE HIS LOG
    CABIN AND STOCKADE
    Location: ON NYS 17J IN VLGE. OF MAYVILLE

  • LAND OFFICE
    HERE IN 1810 WILLIAM PEACOCK,
    LOCAL AGENT OF HOLLAND LAND
    CO. BUILT HIS CABIN AND OFFICE
    OF LOGS. HE SERVED 26 YEARS
    Location: ON NYS 17 IN VLGE. OF MAYVILLE

  • MACKENZIE HOME
    HERE IN 1833 DONALD
    MACKENZIE, FAMOUS IN
    "NORTH WEST" FUR TRADE
    BUILT HIS DWELLING
    Location: LOCATED AT REAR OF MAYVILLE HIGH SCHOOL

  • PIONEER HOME
    JUNE, 1806 WILLIAM AND
    MEHITABLE WING PRENDERGAST
    AND FAMILY SETTLED IN A LOG
    HOUSE. SONS NOTABLE IN
    COUNTY HISTORY
    Location: ON CO. RD. 2 MIS. S. CHAUTAUQUA

  • SITE OF
    SCOTT TAVERN
    FIRST BOARD OF SUPERVISORS
    MET HERE. SEVERAL OF THE
    EARLY COURTS WERE HELD HERE
    Location: ON NYS 17J, VLGE. OF MAYVILLE

County: CHAUTAUQUA
Town: ELLICOTT, TOWN OF

  • NATHAN BROWN
    IN 1850'S BUILT FLAT BOATS
    LOADED WITH JAMESTOWN
    "YANKEE NOTIONS," SET OUT
    FOR SOUTH. FOR YEARS BOATS
    TOOK LADING HERE.
    Location: ON NYS 17 AT LEVANT

County: CHAUTAUQUA
Town: HANOVER, TOWN OF

  • 1796
    AMOS SOTTLE
    1000 FT. N.W. OF THIS POINT
    AMOS SOTTLE, FIRST SETTLER
    IN EASTERN CHAUTAUQUA COUNTY
    ERECTED HIS LOG CABIN
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 1 MILE SOUTH OF IRVING

  • LA GRANGE 1796
    IRVING WAS FIRST CALLED
    LA GRANGE AND ITS FIRST
    SETTLER WAS AMOS SOTTLE
    WHO BUILT HIS CABIN 3/4
    MILES SOUTH OF THIS POINT
    Location: ON US 20 AT IRVING

County: CHAUTAUQUA
Town: JAMESTOWN, TOWN OF

  • 1ST TEXTILE MILL
    HERE IN 1816 FIRST WOOLEN
    MILL WAS BUILT BY DANIEL
    HAZELTINE. HERE WAS DYED AND
    FINISHED CLOTH WOVEN ON HAND-
    LOOMS BY WOMEN IN EARLY HOMES.
    Location: ON EAST 1 ST STREET

  • FIRST SASH FACTORY
    BUILT HERE 1826, IN 1845 DOORS
    AND BLINDS WERE ALSO MANU-
    FACTURED. FROM 1829 THESE
    WARES WERE SHIPPED SOUTH ON
    FLAT BOATS MANY YEARS.
    Location: ON WINDSOR STREET

  • FIRST TRAIN
    ARRIVED IN JAMESTOWN
    AUGUST 25, 1861 OVER
    THE NEWLY LAID RAILS
    OF THE ATLANTIC AND
    GREAT WESTERN RAILROAD.
    Location: ON MAIN STREET

  • HERE IN 1811
    JAMES PRENDERGAST
    BUILT A LOG HOUSE, SAW-
    MILL AND DAM, BEGINNING
    OF JAMESTOWN INDUSTRY
    BUILDING BURNED 1812
    Location: ON WEST 2ND STREET

  • HERE STOOD A STATION OF
    UNDERGROUND R.R
    IN WHICH CATHERINE HARRIS
    DID HEROIC SERVICE FOR
    FUGITIVE SLAVES
    Location: ON 7TH STREET

  • HOME OF
    REUBEN E. FENTON
    "THE SOLDIERS' FRIEND"
    GOVERNOR 1865-1869
    U.S. SENATOR 1869-1875
    Location: ON SOUTH MAIN STREET

  • LOG CABIN 1810
    HERE JOHN BLOWERS BUILT
    FIRST HOME IN JAMESTOWN
    AND MARY BLOWERS, FIRST
    WHITE CHILD WAS BORN THAT WINTER
    Location: ON FAIRMONT AVENUE

  • PIERRE CELORON
    WHITE FRENCH AND INDIANS
    PASSED DOWN THE CHADAKOIN
    TO THE ALLEGHANY IN 1749
    CLAIMING THE TERRITORY,
    FOR FRANCE
    Location: ON FAIRMONT AVENUE

  • SITE OF
    JAMESTOWN FEMALE
    SEMINARY
    1849-1859, CLARISSA D.
    WHEELER FOUNDER AND HEAD
    Location: ON NORTH MAIN STREET

  • SITE OF
    QUAKER SCHOOL
    SO NAMED BECAUSE MARY E.
    OSBORNE, A QUAKERESS
    CONDUCTED IT. 1833-1843
    Location: ON FOOTE AVENUE

  • SITE OF
    THE FOOTE HOME
    BUILT IN 1823 BY ELIAL
    TODD FOOTE, PHYSICIAN,
    LEGISLATOR, JURIST,
    HISTORIAN, WHO SETTLED
    IN JAMESTOWN IN 1815.
    Location: ON EAST 2ND STREET

  • SITE OF
    METHODIST CHURCH
    FIRST EDIFICE OF THE
    METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH
    IN JAMESTOWN WAS ERECTED IN
    1830. A PLAIN HOUSE 40 BY
    50 FEET
    Location: ON 2ND STREET

  • SITE OF
    PAIL FACTORY
    FIRST FACTORY FOR MAKING
    WOODEN PAILS AND TUBS BUILT
    IN 1829, LARGE INDUSTRY FOR
    YEARS. FIRST FLAT BOAT STOCKS
    BUILT HERE 1835.
    Location: ON WINDSOR ST.

County: CHAUTAUQUA
Town: RIPLEY, TOWN OF

  • SITE OF
    FARM OF ALEXANDER COCHRAN
    1804, FIRST SETTLER
    IN CHAUTAUQUA COUNTY
    Location: ON US 20 ABOUT 2 MIS. NE PENNA.-N.Y. STATE LINE

  • SITE OF
    FARM OF WILLIAM CROSSGROVE, 1807
    ONE OF ORIGINAL INHABITANTS
    OF CHAUTAUQUA COUNTY
    Location: ON US 20 ABOUT 1 MI. NE OF PENNA.-N.Y. STATE LINE

County: CHEMUNG
Town: ASHLAND, TOWN OF

  • LINE OCCUPIED
    RIFLE CORPS
    UNDER GENERAL HAND
    AT OPENING OF BATTLE
    AUGUST 29, 1779
    Location: ON NYS 17 AT LOWMAN

  • LINE OF RUDE
    BREASTWORKS
    WHERE BRITISH AND INDIANS
    DISPUTED ADVANCE OF
    SULLIVAN'S ARMY
    AUGUST 29, 1779
    Location: AT INTRSECTN. NYS 17 & 367

  • NEWTOWN
    SO NAMED BY GENERAL SULLIVAN
    OCCUPIED BY BRITISH
    AND INDIANS
    DESTROYED BY GENERAL
    SULLIVAN, AUGUST 30, 1779
    Location: ON NYS 17 1 MI. W. OF LOWMAN

  • THIS RIDGE
    FORTIFIED BY THE BRITISH
    FORMED THE SOUTH LINE
    OF DEFENCE
    AUGUST 29, 1779
    Location: ON NYS 367 SOUTH OF LOWMAN

County: CHEMUNG
Town: BIG FLATS, TOWN OF

  • FIRST SETTLER
    CHRISTIAN MYNEER BUILT
    FIRST LOG CABIN 1787 AND
    FIRST FRAME HOUSE AND
    PLANTED FIRST ORCHARD IN
    TOWN OF BIG FLATS
    Location: ON 17 E 1 1/2 MI. W. ELMIRA

  • RUNONVEA
    INDIAN VILLAGE
    DESTROYED BY GEN. SULLIVAN
    AUGUST 31, 1779
    Location: ON NYS 17 AT BIG FLATS

County: CHEMUNG
Town: CHEMUNG, TOWN OF

  • CAMP OF
    GEN. MAXWELL'S
    BRIGADE
    SULLIVAN-CLINTON CAMPAIGN
    AUGUST 28, 1779
    Location: ON NYS 17 2 MIS. W. OF CHEMUNG

  • CAMP OF
    GEN. CLINTON'S
    BRIGADE
    SULLIVAN-CLINTON CAMPAIGN
    AUGUST 28, 1779
    Location: ON NYS 17 2 MIS. W. OF CHEMUNG

  • CHEMUNG RIVER
    DERIVED ITS NAME FROM
    "BIG HORN" ON TUSK OF
    MAMMOTH FOUND IN
    RIVER BEFORE 1757
    Location: ON NYS 17 3 MIS. W. OF CHEMUNG

  • MILITARY ROUTE
    OF THE SULLIVAN-CLINTON
    ARMY ON ITS CAMPAIGN
    AGAINST THE BRITISH
    AND INDIANS OF WESTERN
    NEW YORK IN 1779
    Location: ON NYS 17 NR. CHEMUNG-TIOGA CO. LINE

  • MILITARY ROUTE
    OF THE SULLIVAN-CLINTON
    ARMY ON ITS CAMPAIGN
    AGAINST THE BRITISH
    AND INDIANS OF WESTERN
    NEW YORK IN 1779
    Location: ON NYS 17 AT CHEMUNG

  • OLD CHEMUNG
    INDIAN VILLAGE
    DESTROYED BY GEN. SULLIVAN
    AUGUST 31, 1779
    Location: ON NYS 17 AT CHEMUNG

  • SULLIVAN-CLINTON CAMPAIGN
    ARMY CAMP
    ON RIVER FLATS TO SOUTH
    AUGUST 27, 1779
    Location: ON NYS 17 1/2 MI. W. OF CHEMUNG

  • [ARROW]
    SULLIVAN ROAD
    OVER NARROWS MOUNTAIN
    BUILT FOR USE OF
    SULLIVAN'S ARMY
    EXPEDITION AGAINST INDIANS
    1779
    Location: ON NYS 17 1/2 MI. W. OF CHEMUNG

County: CHEMUNG
Town: ELMIRA, CITY OF

  • DEWITTSBURGH
    NEWTOWN POINT
    BOUNDARY ABOUT 1790
    VILLAGE NAMED AFTER
    MOSES DEWITT
    Location: ON E. WATER ST. IN ELMIRA

  • ENCAMPMENT
    SULLIVAN'S ARMY
    ON RETURN FROM EXPEDITION
    AGAINST THE INDIANS
    SEPT. 24-29, 1779
    Location: ON E. WATER ST. IN ELMIRA

  • MARK TWAIN STUDY
    BUILT ON EAST HILL 1874
    GIVEN TO ELMIRA COLLEGE IN
    1952. HE WROTE "TOM SAWYER,"
    OTHER NOVELS IN THE STUDY
    WHEN SUMMERING IN ELMIRA.
    Location: AT EDGE OF PARK PL. IN ELMIRA

  • OLD FERRY
    OPERATED FROM ABOUT
    1800 TO 1824
    PRECEDED FIRST BRIDGE
    Location: IN BRAND PARK IN ELMIRA

  • OLD SECOND
    STREET CEMETERY
    1838-1919, HERE ARE BURIED
    PIONEERS, AND SOLDIERS OF THE
    REVOLUTIONARY WAR, WAR OF 1812
    AND THE UNION ARMY
    Location: N.W. CNR., COLLEGE AVE. & W 2ND ST. IN ELMIRA

County: CHEMUNG
Town: ELMIRA, TOWN OF

  • MILITARY ROUTE
    OF THE SULLIVAN-CLINTON
    ARMY ON ITS CAMPAIGN
    AGAINST THE BRITISH
    AND INDIANS OF WESTERN
    NEW YORK IN 1779
    Location: ON NYS 13 & NYS 17 IN ELMIRA HEIGHTS

  • MILITARY ROUTE
    OF THE SULLIVAN-CLINTON
    ARMY ON ITS CAMPAIGN
    AGAINST THE BRITISH
    AND INDIANS OF WESTERN
    NEW YORK IN 1779
    Location: ON NYS 17 AT ENTRANCE TO NEWTOWN BATTLEFIELD STATE PARK

County: CHEMUNG
Town: HORSEHEADS, TOWN OF

  • MILITARY ROUTE
    OF THE SULLIVAN-CLINTON
    ARMY ON ITS CAMPAIGN
    AGAINST THE BRITISH
    AND INDIANS OF WESTERN
    NEW YORK IN 1779
    Location: ON NYS 14 1 MI. N. OF HORSEHEADS

County: CHEMUNG
Town: SOUTHPORT, TOWN OF

  • FITZSIMMONS
    CEMETERY
    CONTAINS REMAINS OF MANY
    PIONEERS AND MEMBERS OF
    SULLIVAN-CLINTON CAMPAIGN
    Location: ON NYS 427 SO. OF ELMIRA

County: CHEMUNG
Town: VETERAN, TOWN OF

  • GREEN BENTLY
    1741-1821
    SERVED IN SULLIVAN-CLINTON
    CAMPAIGN AND WAS A PIONEER
    IN MILLPORT. DEDICATED BY
    BOY SCOUTS OF MILLPORT
    Location: ON NYS 14 AT MILLPORT

  • MILITARY ROUTE
    OF THE SULLIVAN-CLINTON
    ARMY ON ITS CAMPAIGN
    AGAINST THE BRITISH
    AND INDIANS OF WESTERN
    NEW YORK IN 1779
    Location: ON NYS 14 AT MILLPORT

County: CHENANGO
Town: AFTON, TOWN OF

  • MORMON HOUSE
    JOSEPH SMITH, FOUNDER
    OF THE MORMON CHURCH
    WAS MARRIED IN THIS HOUSE
    JANUARY 18, 1827
    TO EMILY HALE
    Location: ON NYS 41 AT AFTON

County: CHENANGO
Town: AUGUSTA, V. OF ORISKANY FALLS

  • CHENANGO CANAL
    AUTHORIZED 1833, UTICA TO
    BINGHAMTON. COMPLETED 1836.
    72 LOCKS IN 30 MILES
    ABANDONED 1876
    STATE EDUCATION

County: CHENANGO
Town: BAINBRIDGE, TOWN OF

  • FIRST TOLL GATE
    ON THE
    SUSQUEHANNA-BATH
    TURNPIKE
    WAS NEAR THIS POINT
    Location: ON NYS 206 3 MIS. N.W. OF BAINBRIDGE

County: CHENANGO
Town: COLUMBUS, TOWN OF

  • [ARROW]
    1/4 MILE
    TO HISTORIC
    CARR FARM
    MEETING PLACE OF BRANT'S
    INDIANS AND TORIES
    1770-1778
    Location: ON NYS 8 6 MIS. NORTH OF NEW BERLIN

County: CHENANGO
Town: GREENE, TOWN OF

  • FIRST
    BAPTIST CHURCH
    IN CHENANGO COUNTY
    ORGANIZED ON THIS SITE
    BY ELDER NATHANIEL KELLOGG
    IN 1795
    Location: ON NYS 12 4 MIS. N.E. GREENE

  • FIRST BRIDGE
    ACROSS THE CHENANGO RIVER
    WAS BUILT ON THIS SITE IN
    1807. SUSQUEHANNA AND BATH
    TURNPIKE CROSSED HERE.
    Location: ON NYS 41 AT GREENE

  • FIRST CHURCH
    IN VILLAGE OF GREENE
    THIS CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH
    WAS ORGANIZED IN 1811.
    THE FIRST PASTOR WAS
    REV. JOHN B. HOYT.
    Location: ON NYS 12 T GREENE

  • FIRST HOTEL
    IN GREENE
    ERECTED ON THIS SITE
    IN 1803 BY THOMAS
    WATTLES
    Location: ON NYS 41 AT GREENE

  • GO-WON-GO
    MOHAWK
    AN INDIAN PRINCESS
    LIVED IN THIS HOUSE
    Location: ON NYS 12 AT GREENE

  • GREENE
    SETTLED IN 1795
    BY STEPHEN KETCHUM;
    ALSO BY FRENCH REFUGEES.
    TALLEYRAND VISITED HIS
    COMPATRIOTS HERE IN 1795.
    Location: ON NYS 12 AT GREENE

  • GREENE
    VILLAGE LAID OUT IN 1806
    BY ELISHA SMITH. WAS FIRST
    CALLED HORNBY. LATER NAMED
    FOR GEN. NATHANIEL GREENE.
    INCORPORATED 1842
    Location: ON NYS 12 AT GREENE

  • NEAR THIS SITE
    STEPHEN KETCHUM
    THE FIRST SETLER IN
    TOWN OF GREENE, BUILT
    HIS LOG CABIN IN 1792

  • WILCOX HOMESTEAD
    FIRST TAVERN IN THE TOWN
    OF GREENE ERECTD ON THIS
    SITE BY CONRAD SHARP, 1794.
    FIRST TOWN MEETING
    HELD HERE IN 1798
    Location: ON NYS 12 2 MIS. N. OF GREENE

County: CHENANGO
Town: LINCKLAEN, TOWN OF

  • JOHN B. FINCH
    GREAT TEMPERANCE ORATOR,
    BORN HERE MARCH 17, 1852
    RIGHT WORTHY GRAND TEMPLAR
    OF THE WORLD-WIDE ORDER OF
    GOOD TEMPLARS, 1884-1887
    Location: ON CO. RD. 1 1/2 MIS. N. LINCKLAEN

County: CHENANGO
Town: MC DONOUGH, TOWN OF

  • DEACON TOWNE
    CAME WITH PIONEERS FROM NEW
    ENGLAND AND HELD FIRST RELIGIOUS
    SERVICES HERE IN LOG CABINS.
    BURIED ON FORMER MICHAEL AND
    DANIEL PIKE FARM, SOUTH OF FENCE.
    Location: ON TOWN RD. 2 MIS. N.E. MC DONOUGH

  • SETTLERS OF
    MC DONOUGH
    FIRST PERMANENT SETTLERS:
    SYLVANUS MOORE, NEH. DUNBAR
    BENJ. KETCHAM, BENJ. KENYON
    HENRY LUDLOW, EPH. FISH
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT MC DONOUGH

  • TOWN OF
    MC DONOUGH
    SET OFF FROM TOWN OF PRESTON
    APRIL 17, 1816. NAMED FOR
    COMMODORE THOMAS
    MAC DONOUGH, 1783-1825
    Location: ON NYS 220 AT MC DONOUGH

County: CHENANGO
Town: NEW BERLIN, TOWN OF

  • JOHN P. USHER
    SECRETARY OF THE INTERIOR
    UNDER ABRAHAM LINCOLN
    PRACTICED LAW IN THIS SITE
    IN COMPANY WITH JOHN HYDE
    1837-1839
    Location: ON NYS 8 AT NEW BERLIN

  • NEW BERLIN
    FIRST SETTLED ABOUT 1790
    ANSON BURLINGAME BORN HERE
    NOVEMBER 14, 1820
    U.S. MINISTER TO CHINA
    UNDER PRESIDENT LINCOLN
    Location: ON NYS 8 AT NEW BERLIN

  • SITE OF
    DANIEL SCRIBNER'S HOME
    BUILT 1790, FIRST HOUSE IN
    16TH TOWNSHIP. LARGE LOG
    BUILDING USED AS TRADING
    POST AND FOR TOWN MEETINGS
    Location: ON NYS 8 2 MIS. S. NEW BERLIN

  • UNADILLA RIVER
    LANDS WEST OF RIVER CEDED
    TO N.Y. STATE INDIANS IN
    A TREATY MADE BY GOV. GEORGE
    CLINTON AT FORT SCHUYLER,
    SEPTEMBER 22, 1788
    Location: ON NYS 8 2 MI. N. NEW BERLIN

County: CHENANGO
Town: NORTH NORWICH, TOWN OF

  • ON THIS SITE
    IN 1798 STOOD THE HOME
    OF OBADIAH GERMAN, MILITIA
    GENERAL, LAND AGENT, STATE
    ASSEMBLYMAN, UNITED STATES
    SENATOR 1809-1815
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT NORHT NORWICH

County: CHENANGO
Town: NORWICH, TOWN OF

  • 1/4 MILE WEST
    "THE CASTLE"
    ONEIDA INDIAN FORT.
    COUNCILS HELD HERE
    UP TO 1790
    Location: ON CO. RD. 1/4 MI. S. POLKVILLE

  • 1789
    CAPT. JOHN HARRIS, SEAMAN
    AND PIONEER, BOUGHT LAND
    FROM BROAD STREET TO RIVER.
    FIRST NORWICH TOWN MEETING
    HELD IN HIS HOME.
    Location: ON NYS 12 AT NORWICH

  • AVERY POWER
    FIRST SETTLER IN TOWN
    OF NORWICH 1788; OWNED
    ADJOINING RIVER FLAT.
    LUCY POWER, FIRST WHITE
    NATIVE OF CHENANGO VALLEY
    Location: ON NYS 12 1/2 MI. SO. NORWICH

  • FIRST LOG CABIN
    IN NORWICH WAS BUILT ON
    THIS SITE ABOUT 1790 BY
    COLONEL WILLIAM MONROE
    "DRUMMER BOY OF THE
    REVOLUTIONARY WAR"
    Location: ON GROUNDS OF CO. COURTHOUSE AT NORWICH

  • WHITE STORE CHURCH
    BUILT 1820 BY
    BAPTISTS, METHODISTS, AND
    UNIVERSALISTS. CHURCH IN
    ORIGINAL FORM EXCEPT
    PULPIT LOWERED 1863.
    Location: ON NYS 8 AT WHITE STORE

County: CHENANGO
Town: OXFORD, TOWN OF

  • BLACKMAN FARM
    SETTLED BY ELIJAH BLACKMAN
    1788; THE FIRST SETTLER
    IN THE TOWN ON OXFORD
    Location: ON NYS 12 1 MI. N..E. OXFORD

  • CONGREATIONAL CHURCH
    OLDEST CHURCH EDIFICE STANDING
    IN THE VILLAGE OF OXFORD
    DEDICATED JULY 31, 1823
    Location: ON NYS 220 AT OXFORD

  • FIRST SITE OF
    OXFORD ACADEMY
    CHARTER GRANTED, 1794.
    URI TRACY, FIRST PRINCIPAL.
    ONE OF THE FIRST FOUR CHARTERS
    GRANTED WEST OF HUDSON RIVER
    Location: ON NYS 220 AT OXFORD

  • FORT HILL MILL
    BUILT IN 1794 BY THEODORE
    BURR AND JOHNTHAN BALDWIN
    Location: ON NYS 12 AT OXFORD

  • HOUSE BUILT BY
    JOHNATHAN BALDWIN IN 1794.
    BUILDER OF MANY OF THE FIRST
    HOUSES, FIRST SCHOOL HOUSES
    AND SECOND RIVER BRIDGE IN OXFORD
    Location: ON STATE STREET AT OXFORD

  • JUNCTION OF
    ITHACA-CATSKILL TURNPIKE
    AND THE UTICA-BINGHAMTON
    LINE OF POST-COACHES.
    STAGE ROUTE AND MAIL
    LINE FORMED IN 1822.
    Location: ON WASHINGTON AVE. AT OXFORD

  • LAKE WARN
    ACCORDING TO TRADITION BURIAL
    PLACE TO THICK NECK, GIANT
    CHIEF OF THE ANTONES, A TRIBE
    OF THE TUSCARORAS, KILLED
    BY THE ONEIDAS.
    Location: ON NYS 12 4 MIS. S.W. OXFORD

  • OXFORD
    NAMED BY BENJAMIN HOVEY
    AFTER HIS NATIVE TOWN,
    OXFORD, MASSACHUSETTS.
    Location: ON NYS 22 AT OXFORD

  • OXFORD
    FIRST TOWN MEETING
    HELD IN APRIL 1794.
    INCORPORATED AS VILLAGE
    APRIL 6, 1806.
    Location: ON FORMER NYS 12 AT OXFORD

  • SITE OF
    LOG HOUSE BUILT BY
    BENJAMIN HOVEY, 1790,
    WHO SERVED IN THE
    REVOLUTION AND WAS KNOWN
    AS "FATHER OF THE SETTLEMENT"
    Location: IN PARK IN FRONT OF OXFORD HIGH SCHOOL AT OXFORD

  • SITE OF
    ST PAUL'S EPISCOPAL CHURCH
    ERECTED IN 1816. THE
    FIRST CHURCH
    EDIFICE IN THE
    VILLAGE OF OXFORD
    Location: IN PARK IN FRONT OF OXFORD HIGH SCHOOL AT OXFORD

  • SITE OF ANCIENT
    INDIAN FORT
    IN 1791 EARLY SETTLERS
    FOUND EVIDENCE OF THIS
    FORT HAVING BEEN IN USE
    FOR MANY YEARS
    Location: IN PARK IN FRONT OF OXFORD HIGH SCHOOL AT OXFORD

County: CHENANGO
Town: SHERBURNE, TOWN OF

  • "WESTERN ORACLE"
    FIRST NEWSPAPER IN CHENANGO
    CO. WAS PUBLISHED ON THIS
    SITE IN 1803 BY ABRAHAM
    AND NICHOLAS REMEYN
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT SHERBURNE FOUR CNRS.

  • ALBANY-ITHACA TURNPIKE
    A STAKE DRIVEN HERE
    MARKED 100 MILES WEST
    FROM ALBANY ON THE
    ALBANY-ITHACA TURNPIKE
    BUILT 1805
    Location: ON NYS 8 1 MI. E. SHERBURNE

  • WEST HILL - 1802
    COLONEL WILLIAM S. SMITH,
    AIDE TO WASHINGTON, OWNED
    150,000 ACRES HEREABOUT IN
    1791; MARRIED ABIGAIL ADAMS.
    BURIED AT REAR, DUE NORTH
    Location: ON NYS 80 2 MIS. N.W. SHERBURNE

County: CHENANGO
Town: SMYRNA, TOWN OF

  • ALBANY-ITHACA TURNPIKE
    A STAKE DRIVEN HERE
    MARKED 101 MILES WEST
    FROM ALBANY ON THE
    ALBANY-ITHACA TURNPIKE
    BUILT 1805
    Location: ON NYS 80 AT SGERBURNE

County: CLINTON
Town: AUSABLE, TOWN OF

  • TURNPIKE
    PORT KENT TO HOPKINTON
    BUILT 1829-32. VIA
    AUSABLE FORKS, BLACK BROOK,
    FRANKLIN FALLS, LOON LAKE
    ST. REGIS FALLS, HOPKINTON
    Location: ON NYS 9N AT CLINTONVILLE

  • UNDERGROUND
    RAILROAD
    STATION WHERE
    NEGRO SLAVES WERE AIDED
    TO ESCAPE TO CANADA
    Location: IN FRONT OF GREEN APPLE INN ON RTE. 9 AT KEESEVILLE

County: CLINTON
Town: BLACK BROOK, TOWN OF

  • TURNPIKE
    PORT KENT TO HOPKINTON
    BUILT 1829-32. VIA
    AUSABLE FORKE, BLACK BROOK,
    FRANKLIN FALLS, LOON LAKE,
    ST. REGIS FALLS, HOPKINTON
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. AT BLACK BROOK

  • TURNPIKE
    PORT KENT TO HOPKINTON
    BUILT 1829-32. VIA
    AUSABLE FORKE, BLACK BROOK,
    FRANKLIN FALLS, LOON LAKE,
    ST. REGIS FALLS, HOPKINTON
    Location: ON COUNTY RD AT UNION FALLS

County: CLINTON
Town: CHAMPLAIN, TOWN OF

  • CAMP GROUND
    OF THE BRITISH ARMY, 1814.
    OPPOSITE IS THE
    FARM OF PLINY MOORE,
    BUILT IN 1808,
    AND USED BY THE COMMISSARY
    Location: ON PROSPECT ST., CHAMPLAIN

  • EAST BATTERY
    ON THIS HILL WAS ENCAMPED
    THE ARTILLERY OF THE
    AMERICAN ARMY
    UNDER GEN. GEORGE IZARD
    1814
    Location: ON PINE ST. AT CHAMPLAIN

  • IN THE
    FIRST SCHOOL
    WHICH STOOD NEAR THIS SITE
    DR. WILLIAM BEAUMONT
    SURGEON AND PHYSIOLOGIST
    WAS SCHOOLMASTER, 1807-10
    Location: ON OAK ST. AT CHAMPLAIN

  • NEAR THIS SITE THE
    FIRST SAW MILL
    WAS ERECTED IN 1788 BY
    PLINY MOORE
    AND
    ELNATHAN ROGERS
    Location: ON US 11 AT WESTERN EDGE OF VILLAGE OF CHAMPLAIN

  • SITE OF
    BURYING YARD
    IN WHICH WAS INTERRED
    LT. COL. BENJAMIN FORSYTH
    KILLED AT ODELLTOWN, L.C.
    JUNE 28, 1814
    Location: ON OAK ST. AT. CHAMPLAIN

  • SITE OF THE BIRTHPLACE
    JEHUDI ASHMUN
    APRIL 21, 1794
    FIRST COLONIZATION AGENT
    AT LIBERIA, AFRICA
    1822-1828
    Location: ON OAK ST. AT CHAMPLAIN

County: CLINTON
Town: MOOERS, TOWN OF

  • FIRST BRIDGE
    BUILT ON THIS SITE WAS FOR
    THE PLATTSBURG-MONTREAL R.R.
    HELPING TO BRING PEACE
    FROM BUSINESS STRIFE
    IN THE NORTH COUNTRY.
    Location: ON NYS 22 AT MOOERS

  • FIRST TOWN MEETING
    HELD IN HOME OF JOHN SHEDDEN
    APRIL 3, 1804. HIS GRANDSON,
    LUCIEN LOVE SHEDDEN WAS REGENT
    OF THE UNIVERSITY OF THE
    STATE OF NEW YORK 1905-1912
    Location: ON NYS 22 AT MOOERS

  • MOOERS JUNCTION
    ABOUT 1850 EATING HOUSE
    WAS EAST OF THIS SITE WHERE
    PLATTSBURG-MONTREAL AND
    OGDENSBURG-LAKE CHAMPLAIN
    RAILROADS CROSSED
    Location: ON NYS 22 AT MOOERS

  • SITE OF
    LINCOLN WIGWAM
    BETWEEN MAIN STREET AND
    R.R. BRIDGE ON WEST SIDE.
    FIRST TAVERN, FIRST STORE IN
    TOWN AND VILLAGE OF MOOERS.
    Location: ON NYS 22 AT MOOERS

  • SITE OF HOME
    BUILT BEFORE 1804
    BY JOHN SHEDDEN WHOSE
    BARN SHELTERED THE FIRST
    QUARTERLY MEETINGS OF THE
    METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH
    Location: ON US 11 AT MOOERS

  • TOWN OF MOOERS
    FORMED BY STATE ACT FROM
    CHAMPLAIN MARCH 20, 1804.
    FIRST LOG HUT TEN RODS EAST,
    ALSO FIRST GRIST AND SAW MILLS
    Location: ON NYS 22 AT MOOERS

County: CLINTON
Town: PERU, TOWN, OF

  • [ARROW]
    TO SITE OF PERU
    BLOCKHOUSE
    ONE OF FIVE ERECTED IN
    NORTHERN NEW YORK IN 1794
    AS A REFUGE FOR SETTLERS
    FROM INDIAN ATTACKS
    Location: ON TN. RD. ABOUT 4 MILES EAST OF PERU

County: CLINTON
Town: PLATTSBURGH, CITY OF

  • A BLOCKHOUSE
    USED BY AMERICAN ARMY
    DURING BATTLE ON PLATTSBURGH
    STOOD HERE IN 1814
    Location: ON HAMILTON ST.

  • BRITISH HOSPITAL
    THE BRITISH ARMY USED
    THE BASEMENT OF THIS
    HOUSE FOR A HOSPITAL
    DURING BATTLE OF PLATTSBURG
    SEPTEMBER, 1814
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF OAK & COURT STS.

  • FIRST BUILDING
    ERECTED IN THIS SETTLEMENT
    STOOD HERE IN 1767.
    IT WAS THE HOME OF
    COUNT CHARLES DE FREDENBURGH
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF BRIDGE AND CHARLOTTE STS.

  • HEADQUARTERS
    BRITISH OFFICERS
    DURING BATTLE OF
    PLATTSBURG, SEPTEMBER, 1814
    Location: AT INTERSECTION, CORNELIA ST. AND CUMBERLAND AVE.

  • OLD MILITARY
    TURNPIKE
    PLATTSBURG TO HOPKINTON
    VIA ELLENBURG, CHATEAUGAY
    MALONE. BEGUN BY ILITARY
    LABOR 1817. COMPLETED 1826
    Location: ON CORNELIA ST. AT CITY LINE

  • SITE OF HOME
    ZEPHANIAH PLATT
    1735-1807
    FOUNDER OF PLATTSBURG
    BUILT IN 1799
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF HAMILTON AND JAY STS.

County: CLINTON
Town: PLATTSBURGH, TOWN OF

  • BAKER
    BURYING GROUND
    HERE LIE SIX REVOLUTIONARY
    SOLDIERS AND MANY PIONEERS
    OF CLINTON COUNTY
    Location: ON NYS 3 ABOUT 1/2 MILE EAST OF WEST PLATTSBURGH

  • HOME OF
    GENERAL BENJAMIN
    MOOERS
    1758-1838
    VETERAN OF REVOLUTION
    AND WAR OF 1812
    Location: ON CO. RD. CUMBERLAND HEAD

  • HOME OF
    JOHN ADDAMS
    BUILT 1790
    MAJOR AND SURVEYOR DURING
    ENTIRE PERIOD OF REVOLUTION
    Location: ON CO. RD. CUMBERLAND HEAD

  • MACDONOUGH FARM
    PRESENTED TO COMMODORE
    THOMAS MACDONOUGH BY
    THE STATE OF VERMONT
    FOR HIS VICTORY
    BATTLE OF PLATTSBURG, 1814
    Location: ON CO. RD. ON CUMBERLAND HEAD

  • OLD MILITARY
    TURNPIKE
    FORMERLY AN INDIAN TRAIL
    IN 1817 MADE A
    MILITARY TURNPIKE BY
    PRESIDENT JAMES MONROE
    Location: ON OLD MILITARY TURNPIKE ABOUT 4 MILES N.W. OF PLATTSBURGH

  • OLD MILITARY
    TURNPIKE
    PLATTSBURH TO HOPKINTON
    VIA ELLENBURG, CHATEAYGAY
    MALONE. BEGUN BY MILITARY
    LABOR 1817. COMPLETED 1826
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF NYS 3 AND OLD MILITARY TURNPIKE ABOUT 2 MILES WEST OF PL

  • WOOLSEY MANSION
    BUILT BEFORE 1800
    MELANCTON LLOYD WOOLSEY
    1758-1819
    FIRST COLLECTOR OF CUSTOMS
    FIRST COUNTY CLERK
    Location: ON CO. RD. ON CUMBERLAND HEAD

County: COLUMBIA
Town: ANCRAM, TOWN OF

  • ANCRAM
    COPAKE LINE
    ANCRAM FORMED AS GALLATIN
    1803. NAME CHANGED 1814
    DIVIDED 1830. COPAKE
    FORMED FROM TAGHKANIC 1824
    Location: COUNTY RD., W. COPAKE TO ANCRAM

  • SITE OF
    IRON WORKS
    FIRST IN COLONY OF NEW YORK,
    HAD 4 FORGES. FOUNDED BY
    ROBERT LIVINGSTON 1748.
    DEMOLISHED 1854
    Location: NYS 82 IN ANCRAM

  • SITE OF
    LEAD MINES
    ORE DISCOVERED BY MR. KEEFER.
    LIVINGSTON BOUGHT LEASE 1827
    OPERATED TO 1837. OTHERS
    OPERATED TO 1866
    Location: NYS 82 IN ANCRAMDALE

  • TOWN AND COUNTY LINE
    PINE PLAINS, DUTCHES COUNTY,
    ORG'D 1823; PART OF NORTHEAST
    1788, PART LITTLE NINE
    PARTNERS 1706. ANCRAM,
    COLUMBIA COUNTY FORMED 1814.
    Location: NYS 82 AT CO. LINE BETWEEN ANCRAMDALE & PULVERS CORNERS

  • TOWN OF ANCRAM
    NAMED IN HONOR OF THE
    ANCESTRAL HOME OF THE
    LIVINGSTONS AT TEVIOTDALE
    ROXBURGHSHIRE, SCOTLAND
    Location: NYS 82 IN ANCRAM

County: COLUMBIA
Town: AUSTERLITZ, TOWN OF

  • SPENCERTOWN ACADEMY
    1847
    TIMOTHY WOODBRIDGE D.D.,
    FIRST PRESIDENT
    USED CONTINUOUSLY AS SCHOOL
    HOUSE SINCE ERECTION
    Location: NYS 203 IN SPENCERTOWN

County: COLUMBIA
Town: CANAAN, TOWN OF

  • DOUGLAS HOUSE
    HOME OF ASA DOUGLAS. NOTED
    RESORT OF WHIGS DURING THE
    REVOLUTION. GARRET USED
    TO CONFINE TORY NEIGHBORS.
    Location: CO. RD., N. OF CANAAN CORNERS

  • JASON WARNER HOUSE
    MANY OF SCENES IN "WIDE WIDE
    WORLD" AND "QUEECHY" WERE LAID
    IN AND AROUND THIS HOUSE WHERE
    SUSAN AND ANNA WARNER, NOTED
    AMERICAN AUTHORS, SPENT
    SEVERAL SUMMERS
    Location: ON PAPER MILL HILL RD., S. OF QUEECHY

  • RED ROCK
    SETTLED IN 1750
    FORMERLY KNOWN
    AS PILFERSHIRE
    Location: CO. RD. AT RED ROCK

  • SITE OF GRIST MILL
    BUILT BY COL. WILLIAM B.
    WHITING. BURNED DURING THE
    REVOLUTION BY TORIES, WHEN
    FILLED WITH GOVERMENT GRAIN.
    REBUILT LATER.
    Location: NYS 295 NEAR QUEECHY LAKE

County: COLUMBIA
Town: CHATHAM, TOWN OF

  • FRIENDS
    MEETING HOUSE
    BUILT IN 1777 AT RAYVILLE
    FIRST IN COLUMBIA COUNTY
    Location: CO. RD. AT RAYVILLE

  • GROAT'S TAVERN
    FIRST BUILDING ERECTED IN
    CHATHAM - BUILT BY WILLIAM
    THOMAS IN 1811 - CHATHAM WAS
    FIRST CALLED GROAT'S CORNERS
    Location: NYS 66 IN CHATHAM

  • HOME OF
    ABRAHAM VAN NESS
    OFFICER IN REVOLUTION
    WHO WAS SHOT ON BRIDGE
    BY TORIES IN AUGUST, 1777
    Location: NYS 66 S. OF MALDEN BRIDGE

  • VAN ALSTYNE HOUSE
    REPUTED TO HAVE BEEN
    USED AS A FORT
    DURING REVOLUTION
    Location: CO. RD. E. OF CHATHAM CTR.

County: COLUMBIA
Town: CLAVERACK, TOWN OF

  • BRICK HOUSE
    BUILT 1804
    BY DR. THOMAS BRODHEAD
    THE BRICKS WERE MADE HERE
    BY CLAY KNEADED BY CATTLE
    BEING DRIVEN OVER IT.
    Location: US 9, NORTH OF CLERMONT

  • CLAVERACK-GHENT LINE
    CLAVERACK A DISTRICT 1772,
    TOWN 1788. HILLSDALE TAKEN
    OFF 1782, HUDSON 1785. GHENT
    FORMED FROM PARTS OF CHATHAM,
    CLAVERACK, KINDERHOOK 1818.
    Location: NYS 66, WEST OF NYS 9H

  • CLERMONT
    POST-OFFICE
    ESTABLISHED IN 1791. ONE
    OF THE FIRST HUNDRED
    POST OFFICES IN THE U.S.
    Location: US 9, IN CLERMONT

  • NEW YORK'S FIRST
    PUBLIC SCHOOL
    WAS ESTABLISHED AT CLERMONT
    IN 1791
    Location: US 9, IN CLERMONT

  • POST ROAD - 1772
    ALBANY TO NEW YORK. WEEKLY
    MAIL SERVICE ESTABLISHED
    ON HORSEBACK. PASSENGER
    SERVICE BY COVERED WAGONS
    AND FOUR HORSES IN 1786.
    Location: NYS 9H N.E. OF JUNCT. WITH NYS 66

  • SITE OF TOLLGATE
    OF THE
    HIGHLAND TURNPIKE COMPANY
    Location: US 9, SOUTH OF CLERMONT

  • THE ACADEMY
    BUILT IN 1834
    AS A SEMINARY OF LEARNING
    THE LAND WAS GIVEN BY
    EDWARD P. LIVINGSTON
    Location: US 9, IN CLERMONT

County: COLUMBIA
Town: CLERMONT, TOWN OF

  • CLERMONT
    BUILT 1730, ON LIVINGSTON
    MANOR. HOME OF CHANCELLOR
    LIVINGSTON, ONE OF THE FIVE
    DRAFTERS OF THE DECLARATION
    OF INDEPENDENCE.
    Location: CO. RD., WEST OF NYS 9G

  • CLERMONT
    BUILT 1730, ON LIVINGSTON
    MANOR. HOME OF CHANCELLOR
    LIVINGSTON, ONE OF THE FIVE
    DRAFTERS OF THE DECLARATION
    OF INDEPENDENCE.
    Location: WEST OF CO. RD., N. OF TIVOLI

  • CLERMONT
    BUILT 1730, ON LIVINGSTON
    MANOR. HOME OF CHANCELLOR
    LIVINGSTON, ONE OF THE FIVE
    DRAFTERS OF THE DECLARATION
    OF INDEPENDENCE.
    Location: NYS 9G, NORTH OF TIVOLI

County: COLUMBIA
Town: COPAKE, TOWN OF

  • COPAKE-HILLSDALE LINE
    COPAKE PART OF GRANGER 1803,
    FORMED FROM TAGHKANIC 1824.
    HILLSDALE FORMED FROM
    CLAVERACK AS DISTRICT 1782,
    TOWN 1786.
    Location: NYS 22, S. OF HILLSDALE

  • FARM OF
    HANS CHRYSLER
    FOR WHOM CHRYSLER POND WAS
    NAMED. HOME OF AMY MARIAH
    CHRYSLER, BORN 1770
    Location: CO. RD., N. OF CHRYSLER POND

County: COLUMBIA
Town: GALLATIN, TOWN OF

  • CHURCH CEMETERY
    CONNECTED WITH REFORMED
    PROTESTANT DUTCH CHURCH
    KNOWN AS STISSICK, GALLATIN,
    ANCRAM, GREENBUSH AND VEDDER
    CHURCH, OLDEST STONE 1770
    Location: CO. RD., S. OF SPAULDING FURNACE

  • DINGS CEMETERY
    OLDEST CEMETERY IN GALLATIN
    PRIVATE FOR DINGS FAMILY
    BEFORE 1748
    Location: AT SILVERNAILS

  • GALLATIN-ANCRAM
    TOWN LINE
    GALLATIN AND ANCRAM
    ORGANIZED AS GALLATIN 1803;
    NAME CHANGED TO ANCRAM 1814
    SEPARATED 1830
    Location: NYS 82 WEST OF ANCRAM

  • GALLATIN-LIVINGSTON
    TOWN LINE
    GALLATIN ORGANIZED FROM
    LIVINGSTON 1803. LIVINGSTON
    A MANOR 1686; A DISTRICT 1772;
    A TOWN 1788, INCLUDING GALLATIN,
    ANCRAM, TAGHKANIC AND COPAKE
    Location: CO. RD., N. OF ELIZAVILLE

  • GALLATIN-MILAN
    TOWN LINE
    DIVIDING GALLATIN, COLUMBIA
    COUNTY, ORGANIZED 1803, FROM
    MILAN, DUTCHESS COUNTY
    ORGANIZED 1818
    Location: CO. RD., E. OF ELIZAVILLE

  • GALLATIN-TAGHKANIC
    TOWN LINE
    GALLATIN ORGANIZED 1803 AND
    INCLUDED ANCRAM.
    TAGHKANIC ORGANIZED 1803 AS
    GRANGER AND INCLUDED COPAKE.
    BOTH TAKEN FROM LIVINGSTON
    Location: NYS 82 AT ENTRANCE TO LAKE TAGHKANIC STATE PARK

  • GALLATINVILLE
    NAMED FOR HONORABLE
    ABRAHAM A. A. GALLATIN.
    B. GENEVA, SWITZERLAND, 1761
    D. NEW YORK CITY, N.Y., 1849
    SECRETARY OF TREASURY 1801-1813
    Location: AT GALLATINVILLE

  • HISTORIC FARM
    REV. HERMAN VEDDER
    IN FAMILY SINCE MAY 1, 1804,
    LIFE LEASE FROM JOHN LIVINGSTON.
    "SHALL MINISTER & PREACH
    GOSPEL IN GREENBUSH CHURCH"
    Location: CO. RD., N. OF MT. ROSE

  • JANSEN KILL
    CHECOMINGO KILL
    FIRST NAMED AFTER ROELIFF
    JANSEN, OVERSEER OF THE
    ORPHAN CHAMBER OF THE
    CHECOMINGO INDIAN TRIBE
    Location: E. OF BRIDGE, E. OF SILVERNAILS

  • LASHER HOUSE
    OLDEST PART BUILT
    ABOUT 1770
    IN POSSESSION OF
    LASHER FAMILY
    UNTIL 1910
    Location: CO. RD., ABOUT 2 1/2 MIS. S. OF SUYDAM

  • OLD TURNPIKE
    THE OLD ROAD FROM THE
    HUDSON RIVER THROUGH
    ANCARAM TO SALISBURY
    CONNECTICUT
    Location: NYS 82 AT SUYDAM

  • OLD TURNPIKE
    ROAD TO NOBLETOWN,
    ANCRAM AND BARRINGTON.
    Location: CO. RD. AT SPAULDING FURANCE

  • SIGNAL ROCK
    USED BY INDIANS FOR FIRES.
    FIRES BUILT ON THIS ROCK
    COULD BE SEEN FOR MANY MILES.
    CALLED GREEN HILL INDIAN
    SIGNAL ROCK.
    Location: 2 1/2 MIS. W. OF CO. RD., SUYDAM TO SPAULDING FURNACE

  • SITE OF
    PLOW FURNACE
    ESTABLISHED 1840 BY MOSES
    SPAULDING ON SPAULDING
    CREEK. ABANDONED 1910.
    Location: CO. RD. AT SPAULDING FURANCE

  • SITE OF
    MANNESSAH HOME
    PRINCE QUACK MANNESSAH OF
    THE MOHICAN SHACOMECO CLAN
    WAS THE LAST KNOWN INDIAN
    RESIDENT OF GALLATIN
    Location: SILVERNAILS-PINE PLAINS RD.

  • SITE OF
    DINGS HOUSE
    HOME OF HANS DINGS,
    ONE OF FIRST SETTLERS OF
    GALLATIN, N.Y. BEFORE 1748.
    LEASED FROM LIVINGSTON
    Location: AT SILVERNAILS

  • SITE OF
    FIRST SUYDAM
    SCHOOL HOUSE
    BURNED OCT. 1918. LAND
    DONATED BY JACOB SUYDAM
    ABOUT 1800
    Location: NYS 82 AT SUYDAM

  • STAGE INN
    J. SUYDAM'S HOTEL, 1798-1822;
    DR. C. SUYDAM'S OFFICE
    1798-1822; J. SUYDAM JR'S
    HOTEL, 1822-49; SUYDAM
    POST OFFICE UNTIL 1906
    Location: NYS 82, WEST OF SUYDAM

  • TOWN AND
    COUNTY LINE
    GALLATIN, COLUMBIA COUNTY
    PINE PLAINS, DUTCHESS COUNTY
    GALLATIN ORGANIZED 1803
    PINE PLAINS ORGANIZED 1823
    Location: SILVERNAILS-PINE PLAINS RD.

  • TOWN AND
    COUNTY LINE
    GALLATIN, COLUMBIA COUNTY
    PINE PLAINS, DUTCHESS COUNTY
    GALLATIN ORGANIZED 1803
    PINE PLAINS ORGANIZED 1823
    Location: CO. RD., W. OF JACKSON'S CRNRS.

  • TRAINING GROUND
    FOR NEW YORK STATE MILITIA
    OF THE GALLATIN DISTRICT.
    JEREMIAH CRONK, FIFER, 1812
    Location: W. OF BRIDGE AT SILVERNAILS

County: COLUMBIA
Town: GERMANTOWN, TOWN OF

  • FIRST
    REFORMED CHURCH
    OF THE PROTESTANT DUTCH IN
    GERMANTOWN. ERECTED IN 1728
    AND WAS LOCATED 500 FT.
    WEST OF THIS POINT.
    Location: NYS 9G, S. OF N. GERMANTOWN

  • FIRST
    SCHOOLHOUSE
    IN GERMANTOWN. BUILT BY
    PALATINES IN 1711. LOCATED
    JUST WEST OF THIS POINT
    Location: CO. RD. S. OF GERMANTOWN

  • ROCKEFELLER
    HOME
    HOME OF SIMEON, SON OF
    DIELL ROCKEFELLER WHO
    LANDED AT EAST CAMP, 1733
    Location: CO. RD., E. OF GERMANTOWN

  • SHARPS LANDING
    ACTIVE IN TRADING
    IN 1684
    Location: NYS 9G, S. OF N. GERMANTOWN

  • SITE OF
    THE SECOND
    REFORMED CHURCH
    OF GERMANTOWN. BUILT
    HERE IN 1814
    Location: CO. RD., E. OF GERMANTOWN

  • SITE OF
    GRIST AND
    SAW MILL
    ERECTED BY DIELL
    ROCKEFELLER IN 1751
    Location: CO. RD. FROM GERMANTOWN, WEST OF NYS 9G

  • SITE OF
    FIRST
    LUTHERAN CHURCH
    IN GERMANTOWN. ERECTED IN 1710
    Location: NYS 9G, S. OF N. GERMANTOWN

  • THIRD
    LUTHERAN CHURCH
    OF GERMANTOWN BUILT
    HERE IN 1812
    Location: CO. RD., N. OF VIEWMONTE

County: COLUMBIA
Town: GHENT, TOWN OF

  • LOUIS FRISBEE PAYN
    U.S. MARSHALL, SUPT. OF
    INSURANCE AND FOR 68 YEARS
    LEADER OF THE REPUBLICAN
    PARTY IN COLUMBIA CO. WAS
    BORN HERE JAN. 27, 1835
    Location: NYS 66, 3 MIS. S. OF GHENT

County: COLUMBIA
Town: GREENPORT, TOWN OF

  • COLUMBIA COUNTY
    SEPARATED FROM ALBANY CO.
    APRIL 4, 1786. NAME FROM
    COLUMBUS, DISCOVERER OF
    AMERICA
    Location: NYS 9G AT S. APPROACH TO RIP VAN WINKLE BRIDGE

County: COLUMBIA
Town: HUDSON, CITY OF

  • "PARADE HILL"
    GRANTED TO COMMON COUNCIL
    ON MARCH 9, 1795
    FOR A PUBLIC WALK OR MALL
    GRANTED BY "PROPRIETORS,
    SETTLERS OF HUDSON
    Location: PARK AT FOOT OF WARREN ST.

  • GEN. WORTH HOUSE
    HERE ON MARCH 1, 1794, WM. J.
    WORTH, A MAJOR-GENERAL IN THE
    MEXICAN WAR, WAS BORN. DIED
    AT SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS, 1849
    Location: AT 211 UNION ST.

  • SITE OF
    TWO DWELLINGS
    FIRST IN LHUDSON. ERECTED
    IN 1783. PROPRIETORS HELD
    FIRST MEETING IN JENKINS
    HOME HERE. BURNED 1838
    Location: IN CITY PARK, FRONT ST.

  • SITE OF CITY HALL
    FIRST IN HUDSON. BEGUN 1786;
    COMPLETED 1804. USED AS A
    COURT HOUSE IN 1805. FIRST
    COURT HELD JAN. 1806. SOLD
    TO THIS CHURCH IN 1835
    Location: WARREN & SOUTH 4TH STS.

  • THIS BUILDING
    BUILT FOR A JAIL IN 1805.
    CHANGED TO A CITY HALL IN 1835.
    IN 1855, BECAME "DAVIS HALL"
    A THEATER. SINCE 1862 IT HAS
    BEEN A PRINTING SHOP.
    Location: WARREN & NORTH 4TH STS.

County: COLUMBIA
Town: KINDERHOOK, TOWN OF

  • APPROACHING
    LINDENWALD
    HOME OF PRESIDENT
    MARTIN VAN BUREN. 1841-62
    Location: W. OF NYS 9H, S. OF LINDENWALD

  • APPROACHING
    LINDENWALD
    HOME OF PRESIDENT
    MARTIN VAN BUREN. 1841-62
    Location: W. OF NYS 9H, N. OF LINDENWALD

  • COLUMBIA COUNTY
    SEPARATED FROM ALBANY CO.
    APRIL 4, 1786. NAME FROM
    COLUMBUS, DISCOVERER OF
    AMERICA
    Location: US 9 AT COLUMBIA-RENSSELAER LINE

  • GEN. JOHN BURGOYNE
    AS PRISONER OF WAR WAS
    ENTERTAINED IN THIS HOUSE
    ON NIGHT OF OCTOBER 22,
    1777 WHILE BEING TAKEN FROM
    BATTLE OF SARATOGA TO BOSTON
    Location: BROAD NEAR CHURCH ST., KINDERHOOK

  • LINDENWALD
    HOME OF PRESIDENT
    MARTIN VAN BUREN, 1841-62
    BUILT IN 1797
    BY PETER VAN NESS
    Location: W. OF NYS 9H, 1 1/2 MIS. S. OF ROAD TO KINDERHOOK

  • OLD COLUMBIA
    ACADEMY
    EARLY DUTCH SCHOOL
    INCORPORATED MARCH 13, 1797
    BECAME KINDERHOOK ACADEMY
    APRIL 3, 1824
    Location: ON ALBANY ST., KINDERHOOK

  • POST ROAD - 1772
    ALBANY TO NEW YORK. WEEKLY
    MAIL SERVICE ESTABLISHED
    ON HORSEBACK. PASSENGER
    SERVICE TO COVERED WAGONS
    AND FOUR HORSES IN 1786
    Location: NYS 9H, E. OF KINDERHOOK

  • QUACKENBOSS TAVERN
    HERE IN 1753 FOR TWO MONTHS
    SAT COMMISSIONERS TO
    DIVIDE GREAT KINDERHOOK
    PATENT OF 1686. MARTIN
    VAN BUREN LATER TRIED
    A LAW CASE HERE.
    Location: AT JUNCTION, US 9 & NYS 9H

  • REFORMED
    DUTCH CHURCH
    ORGANIZED IN 1712
    SIXTH CHURCH BETWEEN
    NEW YORK AND ALBANY
    Location: BROAD & CHURCH STS., KINDERHOOK

  • SITE OF
    ICHABOD CRANE
    SCHOOLHOUSE
    WASHINGTON IRVING VISITED
    HERE WHEN THE SCHOOL WAS
    TAUGHT BY JESSE MERWIN
    Location: NYS 9H, 1 1/4 S. OF ROAD TO KINDERHOOK

  • VAN ALEN
    HOMESTEAD
    ERECTED IN 1736
    KATRINA VAN TASSEL
    RESIDED IN THIS HOUSE
    ACCORDING TO TRADITION
    Location: NYS 9H, 7 MIS. S. OF ROAD TO KINDERHOOK

County: COLUMBIA
Town: LIVINGSTON, TOWN OF

  • "THE HILL"
    BUILT IN 1801 BY HENRY
    WALTER LIVINGSTON, WHO
    DIED HERE IN 1810
    Location: CO. RD., EAST OF NYS 82

  • "WAGGON PATH
    YT LEADETH FROM YE
    MANOR HOUSE"
    Location: E. OF NYS 9G ON CO. RD., LINLITHGO TO BLUE STORES

  • 1714
    "THE KINGS HIE WAY
    YT LEADETH FROM THE
    MANOR HOUSE TO
    TAHKANICK"
    Location: CO. RD., AT LINLITHGO

  • BINGHAM'S MILLS
    NAMED FOR CHARLES BINGHAM.
    FORMERLY BAKER'S MILLS. 20
    DWELLINGS, M.E. CHAPEL, 2
    MILLS, BLACKSMITH SHOP AND
    WOOLEN FACTORY
    Location: S. OF CO. RD., W. OF BLUE STORES AT BINGHAM'S MILLS

  • BURDEN
    HUDSON RIVER ORE & IRON CO.
    1875-1898 IRON MINES EMPLOYED
    550 MEN; 1200 TONS ORE MINED
    DAILY. 1000 ACRES LAND OWNED.
    STORE, MACHINE SHOP, 60 HOUSES.
    Location: CO. RD. AT BURDEN

  • CALENDAR HOUSE
    BUILT BY SAMUEL TEN BROEK
    IN 1773. LATER PURCHASED
    BY GEN. HARRY LIVINGSTON
    WHOSE DESCENDANTS HELD
    IT UNTIL 1861
    Location: CO. RD., 1/2 MI. S. OF MANORTON

  • GLENCO MILLS
    WAS ESTABLISHED AS
    POST OFFICE IN 1856
    HENRY P. HEERMANCE,
    POSTMASTER
    Location: OLD NYS 82 AT GLENCOE MILLS

  • HIGHLAND TURNPIKE
    INCORPORATED IN 1804.
    AN EARLY ROAD.
    Location: US 9 AT BLUE STORES

  • JOHNSTON
    NAMED FOR JOHN LIVINGSTON,RO
    SETTLER. LIVINGSTON POST
    OFFICE 1805. HAD A
    REVOLUTIONARY STAGE INN AND
    LINLITHGO REFORMED CHURCH.
    Location: MAIN ST., IN LIVINGSTON

  • LAND MARKER
    DIVIDING INHERITANCES OF
    ROBERT C. AND HENRY
    LIVINGSTON FROM 3RD PRO-
    PRIETOR OF THE MANOR 1792.
    TWIN MARKER AT BLUE STORES
    Location: E. OF MAIN ST., LIVINGSTON

  • LAND MARKER
    DIVIDING INHERITANCES OF
    ROBERT C. AND HENRY
    LIVINGSTON FROM 3RD PRO-
    PRIETOR OF THE MANOR 1792.
    TWIN MARKER AT LIVINGSTON.
    Location: W. OF US 9 AT BLUE STORES

  • LINE HOUSE
    TAVERN AND STAGE INN
    BEFORE 1790.
    JOHN MANNY
    FIRST PROPRIETOR
    Location: AT ELIZAVILLE

  • LIVINGSTON
    THE PRESENT VILLAGE OF
    LIVINGSTON WAS FORMERLY
    CALLED JOHNSTOWN
    AFTER JOHN LIVINGSTON
    Location: MAIN ST., IN LIVINGSTON

  • LIVINGSTON-CLAVERACK LINE
    BOTH DISTRICTS 1772, TOWNS
    1788. LIVINGSTON INCLUDED
    CLERMONT, GALLATIN, GRANGER.
    CLAVERACK INCLUDED HUDSON,
    HILLSDALE, PART OF GHENT.
    Location: CO. RD., WEST OF CHURCHTOWN

  • LIVINGSTON-CLAVERACK LINE
    BOTH DISTRICTS 1772, TOWNS
    1788. LIVINGSTON INCLUDED
    CLERMONT, GALLATIN, GRANGER.
    CLAVERACK INCLUDED HUDSON,
    HILLSDALE, PART OF GHENT.
    Location: CO. RD., WEST OF CHURCHTOWN

  • LIVINGSTON-CLAVERACK LINE
    BOTH DISTRICTS 1772, TOWNS
    1788. LIVINGSTON INCLUDED
    CLERMONT, GALLATIN, GRANGER.
    CLAVERACK INCLUDED HUDSON,
    HILLSDALE, PART OF GHENT.
    Location: CO. RD., EAST OF BELL'S POND

  • LIVINGSTON-CLERMONT LINE
    LIVINGSTON A MANOR 1686,
    DISTRICT 1772; INCLUDED
    ANCRAM, CLERMONT, COPAKE
    GALLATIN, GERMANTOWN,
    TAGHKANIC. TOWN 1788.
    Location: CO. RD., E. OF ELIZAVILLE

  • LIVINGSTON-CLERMONT LINE
    LIVINGSTON A MANOR 1686,
    DISTRICT 1772, INCLUDED
    ANCRAM, CLERMONT, COPKAE,
    GALLATIN, GERMANTOWN,
    TAGHKANIC. TOWN 1788.
    Location: CO. RD., W. OF ELIZAVILLE

  • LIVINGSTON-GERMANTOWN LINE
    BOTH TOWNS 1788. LIVINGSTON
    A MANOR 1686, DISTRICT 1772,
    INCLUDED CLERMONT, GALLATIN,
    GRANGER. GERMANTOWN A DIST.
    1775; PART OF CLERMONT
    ADDED IN 1858
    Location: NYS 9G, N. OF BRIDGE

  • LIVINGSTON-GREENPORT LINE
    LIVINGSTON A MANOR 1686, A
    DIST. 1772, INCLUDED ANCRAM,
    TAGHKANIC, GALLATIN, COPAKE,
    CLERMONT. TOWN 1788. IN 1837
    GREENPORT FORMED FROM HUDSON
    Location: US 9 AT RACE PLACE

  • MEMORIAL CHAPEL
    BUILT IN 1780 ON SITE OF
    EARLIER CHURCH. COVERS
    OLD CRYPT WHICH IS THE
    BURIAL PLACE OF GENERATIONS
    OF LIVINGSTONS.
    Location: CO. RD., E. AT LINLITHGO

  • OAK HILL
    BUILT IN 1793 BY JOHN
    LIVINGSTON, SON OF THE 3RD
    PROPRIETOR, AND HOME OF
    SUCCEEDING GENERATIONS
    OF THE FAMILY.
    Location: W. OF NYS 9G, RD. TO GREENDALE

  • OLD ROAD HOUSE
    BUILT IN 1803.
    THE STAGE-COACH STOPPED
    HERE ON TRIPS OVER THE
    HIGHLAND TURNPIKE
    Location: CO. RD., S. OF BURDEN

  • POST ROAD - 1772
    ALBANY TO NEW YORK. WEEKLY
    MAIL SERVICE ESTABLISHED
    ON HORSEBACK. PASSENGER
    SERVICE BY COVERED WAGONS
    AND FOUR HORSES IN 1786
    Location: US 9, S. OF BLUE STORES

  • SITE OF
    "LINLITHGO MILLS"
    GRIST MILLS BUILT 1780 BY
    ROBERT LIVINGSTON. NAMED BY S.
    FOX OF FOX'S HOSIERY
    FACTORY AND GRIST MILLS.
    Location: CO. RD., BELL'S POND

  • SITE OF
    GOOD HOPE MILLS
    GRIST MILLS ERECTED BY THE
    LIVINGSTONS PRIOR TO 1780.
    MACHINERY REMOVED 1896.
    C.E. BINGHAM LAST OPERATOR
    Location: S. OF CO. RD., W. OF BLUE STORES AT BINGHAM'S MILLS

  • TEVIOTDALE
    BUILT ABOUT 1773 LIVINGSTON-
    FULTON HOUSE HOME ON HON.
    WALTER LIVINGSTON AND OF
    SON-IN-LAW ROBERT FULTON
    Location: CO. RD., E. OF LINLITHGO

  • THE HERMITAGE
    BEGUN BY PETER R. LIVINGSTON
    DURING THE REVOLUTION AND
    NEVER FINISHED. LOCATED ABOUT
    A MILE DOWN THIS LANE ON
    ROELOFF JANSEN'S KILL
    Location: OFF CO. RD., BURDEN TO BLUE STORES

  • TOWN OF
    LIVINGSTON - 1788
    CONTAINED BAKERS MILLS,
    BLUE STORES, BURDEN,
    ELIZAVILLE, GLENCO MILLS,
    LINLITHGO, AND WALKER'S MILLS.
    Location: MAIN ST., IN LIVINGSTON

  • UNION CORNERS
    IN TOWNS OF GALLATIN
    AND LIVINGSTON. SETTLED BEFORE
    1790. POST OFFICE
    ESTABLISHED 1840. NAMED FROM
    UNION CORNERS HOUSE, A TAVERN.
    Location: AT ELIZAVILLE

County: COLUMBIA
Town: NEW LEBANON, TOWN OF

  • BOOGE-TORREY HOUSE
    BUILT BY ABNER SHUMWAY 1786 HOME OF
    ARRON JORDON BOOGE 1801-26 PREPARED
    YOUNG MEN FOR YALE AND SERVED AS
    CHAPLAIN IN WAR OF 1812 HERE FOR A
    CENTURY LIVED JESSE TORREY'S FAMILY
    Location: CO. RD., N. OF NEW LEBANON

  • COLUMBIA COUNTY
    SEPARATED FROM ALBANY CO.
    APRIL 4, 1786. NAME
    FROM COLUMBUS, DISCOVERER
    OF AMERICA
    Location: NYS 22, COLUMBIA-RENSSELAER LINE

  • COLUMBIA COUNTY
    SEPARATED FROM ALBANY CO.
    APRIL 4, 1786. NAME
    FROM COLUMBUS, DISCOVERER
    OF AMERICA
    Location: US 20 AT COLUMBIA-RENSSELAER LINE

  • GILBERT HOUSE
    BUILT IN 1780 BY MAJOR
    ELISHA GILBERT 1749-1823
    CONTAINS UNIQUE EXAMPLE
    DECORATED MASONIC MEETING
    ROOM
    Location: US 20, W. OF NEW LEBANON CENTER

  • HOUSE BUILT 1800
    BY COL. JONATHAN MURDOCK
    1758-1832.
    REVOLUTIONARY SOLDIER
    THE ORIGINAL MURDOCK HOUSE
    STOOD ABOVE THE ROAD
    TO THE SOUTHWEST
    Location: CO. RD., N. OF NEW LEBANON

  • KENDALL SHOP
    FIRST THERMOMETERS
    MADE IN THE UNITED
    STATES PRODUCED ON
    THIS SITE
    Location: US 20 & NYS 22, NEW LEBANON

  • NEW YORK STATE
    EXPLORED BY DUTCH, 1609;
    SETTLED BY DUTCH, 1624;
    UNDER ENGLISH RULE AFTER
    1664. NAMED FOR DUKE OF
    YORK, LATER KING JAMES II
    Location: US 20, W. OF N.Y.-MASS. LINE

  • SITE OF FIRST
    FREE PUBLIC LIBRARY
    ESTABLISHED MARCH 12, 1804, BY
    DR. JESSE TORREY, FATHER OF THE
    PUBLIC LIBRARY MOVEMENT OF AMERICA
    Location: NYS 22, IN NEW LEBANON

County: COLUMBIA
Town: STOCKPORT, TOWN OF

  • CHITTENDEN
    HOLLOW
    ON WEST SIDE OF FALLS. HERE
    GEORGE CHITTENDEN BUILT 2ND
    COTTONMILL IN THE COUNTY
    LATER CALLED ROSSMAN MILLS
    Location: CO. RD.,SE OF BRIDGE AT CHITTENDEN FALLS

  • CHITTENDEN FALLS
    ON THE WEST SIDE OF THE FALLS
    GEORGE CHITTENDEN BUILT THE
    SECOND PAPER MILL IN THE
    COUNTY LATER CALLED ROSSMANS
    Location: NYS 9H, NW OF BRIDGE AT ROSSMANS

  • COLUMBIAVILLE
    INCORPORATED 1812; ACT
    REPEALED 1833. IN 1813
    HAD COTTON FACTORY, SAW
    MILLS, PAPER MILLS,
    AND GRIST MILLS.
    Location: US 9, N. OF BRIDGE

  • COLUMBIAVILLE
    FALLS
    IN 1800 SLOOPS CAME AS
    FAR AS THESE FALLS FROM
    THE HUDSON RIVER
    Location: US 9, S. OF BRIDGE

  • COLUMBIAVILLE
    BRIDGE
    IN 1870 THE IRON BRIDGE
    245 FT. LONG, BUILT HERE,
    WAS THE LONGEST SINGLE SPAN
    ROAD BRIDGE IN N.Y. STATE
    Location: US 9, S. OF BRIDGE

  • STAATS HOUSE
    BUILT BY COL. ABRAM STATS
    BETWEEN 1654-1664
    HENRY HUDSON LANDED
    HERE SEPTEMBER 17, 1609
    IN SAILING UP HUDSON RIVER
    Location: CO. RD., 1 1/2 MI. W. OF US 9

  • STOCKPORT CREEK
    FOR GENERATIONS KNOWN AS
    ABRAM'S CREEK. FORMED AT
    STOCKPORT BY UNION OF
    KINDERHOOK AND CLAVERACK
    CREEKS
    Location: CO. RD., N. OF BRIDGE AT STOCKPORT

  • STOCKPORT-GREENPORT LINE
    STOCKPORT FORMED FROM PARTS
    OF HUDSON, GHENT AND
    STUYVESANT IN 1833.
    GREENPORT FORMED FROM
    HUDSON CITY IN 1837
    Location: US 9 AT TOWN LINE

  • STOCKPORT-STUYVESANT LINE
    STOCKPORT FORMED FROM PARTS
    OF HUDSON, GHENT, STUYVESANT,
    1833. STUYVESANT FORMED FROM
    KINDERHOOK 1823.
    Location: NYS 9J AT TOWN LINE

  • STOCKPORT-STUYVESANT LINE
    STOCKPORT FORMED FROM PARTS
    OF HUDSON, GHENT, STUYVESANT,
    1833. STUYVESANT FORMED FROM
    KINDERHOOK 1823.
    Location: US 9 AT TOWN LINE

  • TOWN OF
    STOCKPORT
    NAMED FROM STOCKPORT, ENG.,
    FORMER HOME OF JAMES WILD,
    PROPRIETOR OF MILLS AT
    COLUMBIAVILLE IN 1812
    Location: CO. RD.,W. OF US 9 AT COLUMBIAVILLE

County: COLUMBIA
Town: STUYVESANT, TOWN OF

  • BENJAMIN F. BUTLER
    BORN HERE 1795 - DIED 1858
    A REVISER OF STATE LAWS;
    REGENT 1829-32; ATTORNEY
    GENERAL U.S. 1833-38;
    ACTING SEC. OF WAR 1836-37
    Location: NYS 9J, S. OF STUYVESANT

  • CLOTH MILL
    BUILT BY WILLIAM VAN HOESEN
    IN 1800. LOCATED WHERE
    POWER HOUSE STANDS
    Location: CO. RD., E. OF BRIDGE AT STUYVESANT FALLS

  • COLUMBIA COUNTY
    SEPARATED FROM ALBANY CO.
    APRIL 4, 1786. NAME
    FROM COLUMBUS, DISCOVERER
    OF AMERICA
    Location: NYS 9J, NEAR SCHODACK LANDING

  • HENRY
    VAN SCHAACK
    DIED HERE IN 1823.
    BUILT THESE TWO HOUSES. WAS
    ON FIRST BOARD OF TRUSTEES
    OF WILLIAMS COLLEGE.
    Location: NYS 9J, AT STUYVESANT

  • HENRY HUDSON
    LANDED HERE SEPT. 19. 1609
    AND WAS ENTERTAINED BY
    INDIANS WHO ENCAMPED HERE
    CALLED KINDERHOOK.
    Location: NYS 9J, N. OF STUYVESANT

  • NUTTEN HOOKE
    GRANTED TO ARENT VAN DEN
    BERGH 1666. SOLD TO HANS
    HENDRICKSEN IN 1667. OLD
    "FISH PLACE" 1 1/2 MI. SOUTH
    Location: NYS 9J, AT NEWTON HOOK

  • POWELL PATENT
    1664
    DIRECTLY EAST TO CREEK
    MARKS SOUTHEAST
    POINT OF GRANT
    Location: EAST OF US 9, TO SUNNYSIDE

  • POWELL PATENT
    1664
    THE SOUTHWEST POINT OF
    THE GRANT IS NORTH OF
    "SWARTE HOOCK"
    Location: NYS 9J, S. OF STUYVESANT

  • POWELL PATENT
    1664
    THIS MARKS THE NORTHWEST
    POINT OF THIS EARLY GRANT
    Location: NYS 9J, N. OF STUYVESANT

  • PRIOR TO 1667
    KNOWN AS "MAJOR ABRAM'S
    (STAATS) KILL" AND "THIRD
    FALLS." IN 1823 CALLED
    "STUYVESANT FALLS" AND AFTER
    1845 "KINDERHOOK CREEK"
    Location: CO. RD., W. OF BRIDGE AT STUYVESANT FALLS

  • SITE OF BIRTHPLACE
    REAR ADMIRAL JOHN WOODWARD
    PHILIP U.S.N., 1840-1900,
    GRADUATE OF NAVAL ACADEMY
    WHO COMMANDED THE "TEXAS" IN
    BATTLE OF SANTIAGO, 1898
    Location: NW OF KINDERHOOK, NEAR EICKYBUSH

  • STUYVESANT
    LANDING
    SET OFF FROM TOWN OF
    KINDERHOOK 1823.
    NOW PART OF THE TOWN
    OF STUYVESANT.
    Location: NYS 9J & NYS 398 AT STUYVESANT

  • UPPER FALLS
    1ST PAPER MILL IN COLUMBIA
    COUNTY. BUILT BY PITKINS AND
    EDMUNDS ON THE SITE OF AN
    OLD GRIST MILL. BUILT IN 1800
    Location: CO. RD., W. OF BRIDGE AT STUYVESANT FALLS

County: COLUMBIA
Town: TAGHKANIC, TOWN OF

  • SITE OF
    MARYBURGH FORGES
    ESTABLISHED BEFORE 1700
    BY THE LIVINGSTONS.
    ABANDONED BEFORE 1798
    Location: ON TOWN RD., 1/8 MI. N. OF NYS 82 AND SUYDAM

  • SITE OF
    NEW FORGE
    IRON WORKS 1770-1790
    GRIST, FEED AND PLASTER
    MILLS, BLACKSMITH SHOP,
    STORE, DWELLINGS, 1800-1876
    Location: TN. RD., NORTH OF SUYDAM

  • SITE OF
    PLOW FURNACE
    ESTABLISHED 1830 BY JOHN
    C. WHEELER ON CHRYSLER
    POND OUTLET. 6 STYLES OF
    PLOWS MADE. ABANDONED 1905
    Location: CO. RD. W. OF CHRYSLER POND

  • SITE OF
    MILLER'S TAVERN
    BUILT BEFORE 1770 BY WM.
    ROCKEFELLER, JONAS I. MILLER
    PROPRIETOR FOR MANY YEARS
    FIRST TOWN MEETING HERE 1803
    Location: NYS 82. AT W. TAGHKANIC

  • SITE OF
    TAGHKANIC HAMLET
    INCLUDED TAVERN BUILT PRIOR
    TO 1770, POST OFFICE, STORE,
    LUTHERAN CHURCH AND SIX
    DWELLINGS
    Location: CO. RD., AT TAGHKANIC

  • TAGHKANIC-CLAVERACK LINE
    TAGHKANIC ORGANIZED 1803
    AS GRANGER, INCLUDED COPAKE,
    CLAVERACK, A DISTRICT 1772.
    HILLSDALE REMOVED 1782. HUDSON
    1785. ORGANIZED AS TOWN 1788
    Location: CO. RD., SOUTH OF CHURCHTOWN

  • TAGHKANIC-CLAVERACK LINE
    TAGHKANIC ORGANIZED 1803
    AS GRANGER, INCLUDED COPAKE,
    CLAVERACK, A DISTRICT 1772.
    HILLSDALE REMOVED 1782. HUDSON
    1785. ORGANIZED AS TOWN 1788
    Location: CO. RD., NEAR CHURCHTOWN

  • TAGHKANIC-COPAKE LINE
    TAGHKANIC ORGANIZED 1803 AS
    GRANGER, INCLUDED COPAKE.
    BOTH TAKEN FROM LIVINGSTON.
    NAME CHANGED TO TAGHKANIC
    1814. COPAKE TAKEN OFF 1824.
    Location: NYS 23, W. OF CRARYVILLE

  • TAGHKANIC-HILLSDALE LINE
    TAGHKANIC ORGANIZED 1803
    AS GRANGER, INCLUDED COPAKE.
    HILLSDALE FORMED FROM
    CLAVERACK AS DISTRICT 1782.
    ORGANIZED AS TOWN 1788
    Location: NYS 23, W. OF CRARYVILLE

  • TAGHKANIC-LIVINGSTON LINE
    TAHJKANIC ORG'D 1803 AS
    GRANGER, INCLUDED COPAKE.
    LIVINGSTON, A MANOR 1786;
    DIST. 1772; TOWN 1788; INCLUDED
    GALLATIN, ANCRAM,
    TAGHKANIC, COPAKE
    Location: NYS 82. NEAR GLENCOE MILLS

  • TOWN OF
    TAGHKANIC
    TAGHKANIC ORGANIZED 1803
    AS GRANGER. NAME CHANGED
    TO TAGHKANIC 1814. COPAKE
    TAKEN OFF IN 1824.
    Location: NYS 82. AT W. TAGHKANIC

County: CORTLAND
Town: CORTLANDVILLE, TOWN OF

  • HEADWATERS OF
    THE TIOUGHNIOGA RIVER
    SITE OF A LARGE INDIAN
    VILLAGE. A FAVORITE
    STOPPING PLACE OF
    EARLY PIONEERS
    Location: ON CLINTON AVE. IN CORTLAND

  • JOHN MILLER
    BUILT LOG CABIN HERE
    IN 1792. THIS HOUSE
    BUILT BY HIS SON
    GENERAL DANIEL MILLER
    Location: ON NYS 13 NEAR HOMER-CORTLANDVILLE TOWN LINE

  • LAMONT MEMORIAL
    LIBRARY-BOYHOOD HOME OF
    DANIEL S. LAMONT
    PRIVATE SECRETARY TO PRESIDENT
    CLEVELAND 1885-89 - SECRETARY
    OF WAR 1893-97
    Location: MAIN ST. VLGE. MCGRAW NEAR CORNER OF CHURCH ST.

  • PORT WATSON
    NAMED AFTER ELKANAH WATSON
    BUSY RIVER PORT 1800-1850
    SITE SHIPYARDS, ROPE WALK,
    FACTORIES. "ARKS" CARRIED
    CARGOES TO PENNSYLVANIA
    Location: CITY OF CORTLAND N.W. BRIDGE TIOUGHNIOGA R. AT INTSCTN. PORT SATSON ST.

County: CORTLAND
Town: CUYLER, TOWN OF

  • BROWN CABIN
    BENJAMIN BROWN FROM
    CONNECTICUT SETTLED HERE
    IN 1795. FIRST ASSESSOR
    AND SECOND TOWN CLERK
    IN FABIUS
    Location: ON CO. RD. 1/2 M.I. S. OF KEENEY

  • CAMPFIRE SITE
    HERE DAVID MOSS AND
    JAMES LOCKWOOD MADE
    FIRST CAMPFIRE APRIL 1792
    AND MADE FRIENDS WITH
    THE INDIANS
    Location: ON TN. RD. NEAR CUYLER

  • FOX CABIN
    SAMUEL FOX SETTLED HERE
    IN 1795 FROM CONNECTICUT
    THIS HOUSE ERECTED
    ABOUT 1821
    Location: ON TN. RD. 1/4 MI. E. KEENEY

  • GATES CABIN
    ZEBIDIAH GATES SETTLED
    HERE IN 1807
    CAME FROM MASSACHUSETTS
    Location: ON CO. RD. 1 MI. S.E. CUYLER

  • GRISWOLD CABIN
    ERECTED PRIOR TO 1825
    Location: ON TN. RD. 3 MIS. N.W. CUYLER

  • KEENEY CABIN
    THOMAS KEENEY
    SETTLED HERE IN 1796
    BUILT THIS HOUSE 1810
    PROPERTY STILL IN
    FAMILY POSSESSION
    Location: ON TN. RD. 1 MI. N. CUYLER

  • LEE HOMESTEAD
    BENJAMIN LEE
    SETTLED HERE ABOUT 1796
    BUILT THIS HOUSE
    1810
    Location: ON TN. RD. 2 MIS. N. CUYLER

  • PIONEER
    CHURCH
    FIRST CHURCH SERVICES
    HELD IN A BARN
    ON THIS SITE IN 1808
    BY BENONI HARRIS
    Location: ON TN. RD. 2 1/2 MIS. N. CUYLER

  • PIONEER HOME
    OF JAMES LOCKWOOD
    BUILT ON 100 ACRES OF
    LAND GIVEN HIM BY
    DAVID MOSS
    Location: ON TN. RD. NEAR CUYLER

  • SITE OF
    POTTER CABIN
    NATHANIEL POTTER
    SETTLED HERE IN 1792
    Location: ON TN. RD. L 1/2 MIS. S.W. CUYLER

  • SITE OF CABIN
    PIONEER HOME OF WANTON
    COREY, WHOSE MARRIAGE TO
    DEBORAH MOSS IN 1806
    WAS FIRST IN TOWN
    Location: ON LINCKLAEN ST., CUYLER

  • SITE OF CABIN
    DAVID MOSS SETTLED HERE
    IN 1792 FROM NEW JERSEY
    ON LAND GRANTED FROM
    GOVERNMENT. STILL IN
    FAMILY POSSESSION
    Location: ON TN. RD. AT CUYLER

  • SITE OF CABIN
    JOB WHITMARSH FROM
    VERMONT SETTLED HERE
    IN 1796
    PROPERTY STILL IN
    POSSESSION OF FAMILY
    Location: ON CO. RD. 3/4 MI. S. OF KEENEY

County: CORTLAND
Town: HOMER, TOWN OF

  • BIRTHPLACE OF
    FRANK B. CARPENTER, ARTIST
    PAINTED "LINCOLN AND CABINET"
    SON OF ASAPH CARPENTER
    WHO SETTLED HERE
    IN 1800
    Location: ON US 11 3 MIS. NORTH OF HOMER

  • EARLY SETTLER
    THOMAS GOULD ALVORD, SR.
    BUILT HIS CABIN HERE IN
    1794 ON LAND GRANTED FOR
    SERVICES IN
    REVOLUTIONARY WAR
    Location: AT INTRSCTN. NYS 41 & 41A

  • ELI DE VOE
    BORN HERE IN LOG CABIN
    MEMBER OF U.S. SECRET SERVICE
    DETECTED AND FRUSTRATED
    A PLOT TO KILL LINCOLN
    Location: AT INTRSCTN. NYS 41 & 41A

  • JOHN ALBRIGHT
    REVOLUTIONARY SOLDIER
    BUILT THIS HOUSE IN 1827
    FOR HIS DAUGHTER, MRS.
    NANCY GRIFFITH
    Location: ON NYS 13 AT EAST HOMER

  • SALISBURY-PRATT HOMESTEAD
    USED BEFORE CIVIL WAR AS
    AN "UNDERGROUND STATION"
    WHERE OREN CRAVATH
    SHELTERED & AIDED FUGITIVE
    SLAVES ON WAY TO CANADA
    Location: ON NYS 281 1/2 MI. S. LITTLE YORK

  • SITE OF THE
    FIRST LOG CABIN
    SCHOOLHOUSE
    OF DISTRICT NO. 8
    1828-1838
    Location: ON NYS 41 2 MIS. N.W. HOMER

County: CORTLAND
Town: PREBLE, TOWN OF

  • BALTIMORE
    TANNERY AND SHOE SHOP. 1810
    POST OFFICE 1812-1832
    HOTELS 1814-24; 1830-56
    SCHOOL 1801 ON EAST HILL
    ROAD 1/4 MILE E. BRICK
    YARD 1812. STORE 1810
    Location: ON US 11 1 1/2 MIS. E. PREBLE

  • FIRST CHURCH
    IN TOWN OF PREBLE
    STOOD HERE. BUILT 1804
    REMOVED TO VILLAGE 1859
    Location: ON US. 11 2 MIS. N.E. PREBLE

  • FIRST SCHOOL
    BUILT IN PREBLE 1801
    RUTH THORP TEACHER,
    HAD SCHOLARS FROM THE
    TOWNS OF TULLY AND HOMER
    Location: ON CO. RD. 2 MIS. E. PREBLE

  • METHODIST
    ESPISCOPAL CHURCH
    ORGANIZED 1814
    CHURCH ERECTED 1824
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT PREBLE

  • PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH
    ORGANIZED AS CONGREGATIONAL
    1804; REORGANIZED PRESBYTERIAN
    1810; MOVED TO ITS PRESENT
    SITE 1859
    Location: ON CO. RD. 1/2 MI. E. OF PREBLE

  • SITE OF
    OLD LOG CHURCH
    M.E. CHURCH ORGANIZED 1814
    LOG CHURCH BUILT SAME YEAR
    ON GOSPEL AND SCHOOL ACRE
    AND USED UNTIL THE NEW
    CHURCH WAS BUILT IN 1824
    Location: ON TN. RD. AT PREBLE

  • SLAB CITY
    SITE OF SAW MILL 1800
    GRIST MILL 1806
    SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 4
    ORGANIZED 1813
    PRESENT SCHOOL BUILT 1843
    Location: ON US 11 2 1/2 MIS. S.E. PREBLE

  • WILLIAM VAN DENBURG
    ERECTED LOG CABIN 1802
    FIRST FRAME HOUSE BUILT
    1806 AND USED AS HOTEL
    Location: ON NYS 281 IN PREBLE

County: CORTLAND
Town: VIRGIL, TOWN OF

  • FIRST
    SCHOOL HOUSE
    IN TOWN OF VIRGIL
    WAS ERECTED ON THIS SITE
    1799
    Location: ON CO. RD. 1 1/4 MIS. S.W. OF VIRGIL

  • FIRST
    STATE ROAD
    IN TOWN OF VIRGIL
    BUILT 1793-94 BETWEEN
    OXFORD AND CAYUGA
    BY JOSEPH CHAPLIN
    Location: ON NYS 90 IN VIRGIL

  • NATHAN BOUGHTON
    1802 - 1876
    WHO WROTE & PUBLISHED
    A HISTORY OF THE
    TOWN OF VIRGIL
    WAS BORN ON THIS FARM
    Location: ON CO. RD. 2 1/2 MIS. S.W. OF VIRGIL

County: DELAWARE
Town: ANDES, TOWN OF

  • ANTI-RENT WAR
    ONE MILE TO SCENE OF
    TRAGEDY WHERE UNDER-
    SHERIFF OSMAN N. STEELE
    WAS SLAIN BY ANTI-RENTERS
    AUGUST 7, 1845
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 1 1/2 MIS. SOUTH OF ANDES

County: DELAWARE
Town: COLCHESTER, TOWN OF

  • DELAWARE COUNTY
    SET APART FROM ULSTER AND
    OTSEGO COS., 1797; NAMED
    FOR DELAWARE RIVER, WHICH
    WAS NAMED FOR LORD DELAWARE,
    GOVERNOR OF VIRGINIA, 1609.
    Location: ON NYS 17 AT DELAWARE-SULLIVAN COUNTY LINE

County: DELAWARE
Town: DAVENPORT, TOWN OF

  • DELAWARE COUNTY
    SET APART FROM ULSTER AND
    OTSEGO COS., 1797; NAMED
    FOR DELAWARE RIVER, WHICH
    WAS NAMED FOR LORD DELAWARE,
    GOVERNOR OF VIRGINIA, 1609.
    Location: ON NYS 23 AT THE DELAWARE-OTSEGO COUNTY LINE

County: DELAWARE
Town: DELHI, TOWN OF

  • FRISBEE HOUSE
    THIS HOUSE BUILT IN 1804 BY
    GIDEON FRISBEE, LATER JUDGE,
    REPLACED THE LOG INN WHERE
    THE FIRST DELAWARE COUNTY
    COURTS CONVENED 1797-1799
    Location: ON NYS 10 ABOUT 2 MILES NORTHEAST OF DELHI

County: DELAWARE
Town: DEPOSIT, TOWN OF

  • DELAWARE COUNTY
    SET APART FROM ULSTER AND
    OTSEGO COS., 1797; NAMED
    FOR DELAWARE RIVER, WHICH
    WAS NAMED FOR LORD DELAWARE,
    GOVERNOR OF VIRGINIA, 1609.
    Location: ON NYS 17 AT THE DELAWARE-BROOME COUNTY LINE AT DEPOSIT

County: DELAWARE
Town: FRANKLIN, TOWN OF

  • DELAWARE COUNTY
    SET APART FROM ULSTER AND
    OTSEGO COS., 1797; NAMED
    FOR DELAWARE RIVER, WHICH
    WAS NAMED FOR LORD DELAWARE,
    GOVERNOR OF VIRGINIA, 1609.
    Location: ON NYS 28 AT THE DELAWARE-OTSEGO COUNTY LINE

  • TURNER TAVERN
    FIRST FRAME HOUSE TO BE
    ERECTED IN THE VILLAGE OF
    FRANKLIN
    INHABITED BY ASA TURNER
    IN 1792.
    Location: ON NYS 7B AT FRANKLIN

County: DELAWARE
Town: HAMDEN, TOWN OF

  • TOWN OF HAMDEN
    FIRST SETTLEMENT 1779 BY
    DAVID HARROWER AND WIFE, THEIR
    SONS, DAVID AND DUGAL. THESE
    PIONEERS ARE BURIED NEAR HERE.
    Location: ON NYS 10 AT HAMDEN

County: DELAWARE
Town: MIDDLETOWN, TOWN OF

  • DELAWARE COUNTY
    SET APART FROM ULSTER AND
    OTSEGO CO., 1797; NAMED
    FOR DELAWARE RIVER, WHICH
    WAS NAMED FOR LORD DELAWARE,
    GOVERNOR OF VIRGINIA, 1609.
    Location: ON NYS 28 AT DELAWARE-ULSTER COUNTY LINE

  • SANFORD SITE
    ZIBA SANFORD AND HANNAH
    ROBERTS SETTLED IN DUNRAVEN
    IN 1819, BY OX TEAM. LIVED
    IN ONE OF FIRST LOG CABINS
    IN MARGARETVILLE VICINITY.
    Location: ON CO. RD., DUNRAVEN-NEW KINGSTON; 2 MIS. N. OF DUNRAVEN

  • STONE
    SCHOOL HOUSE
    BUILT IN 1820
    REBUILT IN 1860
    DISTRICT NO. 10
    TOWN OF MIDDLETOWN
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 2 MILES SOUTHWEST OF MARGARETVILLE

County: DELAWARE
Town: ROXBURY, TOWN OF

  • DELAWARE COUNTY
    SET APART FROM ULSTER AND
    OTSEGO COS., 1797; NAMED
    FOR DELAWARE RIVER, WHICH
    WAS NAMED FOR LORD DELAWARE,
    GOVERNOR OF VIRGINIA, 1609.
    Location: ON NYS 23 AT DELAWARE-GREENE COUNTY LINE

  • HARDENBURG
    MANOR HOUSE
    BUILT IN 1780 ON A GRANT
    OF LAND ABOUT 2,000,000 ACRES
    TO JOHANNES HARDENBURG AND
    OTHERS, 1708, BY QUEEN ANNE
    Location: ON NYS 23 NEAR DELAWARE-GREENE COUNTY LINE

County: DELAWARE
Town: STAMFORD, TOWN OF

  • ERECTED 1801
    OLD ST. PETER'S
    PROTESTANT EPIS. CHURCH
    OF THE TOWNS OF STAMFORD,
    HARPERSFIELD AND KORTRIGHT
    PARISH ORGANIZED 1794.
    Location: IN VILLAGE OF HOBART AT FOOT OF CHURCH ST.

  • INDIAN TRAIL
    USED BY MOHAWK INDIANS ON
    HUNTING EXCURSIONS FROM
    SCHOHARIE CREEK TO COOK
    HOUSE - NOW KNOWN AS
    DEPOSIT
    Location: ON NYS 23 AT STAMFORD

County: DELAWARE
Town: WALTON, TOWN OF

  • BIRTHPLACE OF
    WILLIAM B. OGDEN
    1805-1877
    FIRST MAYOR OF CHICAGO
    Location: ON NYS 10 ABOUT 1 1/2 MIS. EAST OF WALTON

  • GABRIEL NORTH
    BUILT A LOG HOUSE
    HERE IN 1785
    Location: ON NYS 10 AT WALTON

  • HOMESTEAD OF
    THE PINE FAMILY
    JOSHUA PINE SETTLED
    HERE IN 1785.
    Location: ON NYS 10 ABOUT 1 MILE SOUTHWEST OF WALTON

  • HOMESTEAD OF
    DR. PLATT TOWNSEND
    BUILT 1796. LEADER OF
    THE FOUNDERS OF WALTON
    Location: ON NYS 10 AT WALTON

  • SITE OF
    FIRST CHURCH
    ERECTED IN WALTON 1791
    Location: ON WEST BROOK RD., WALTON

  • TURNPIKE
    HISTORIC ROUTE
    FROM KINGSTON TO
    JERICHO (BAINBRIDGE)
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF PROSPECT AVE. & DELAWARE ST., WALTON

County: DUTCHESS
Town: AMENIA, TOWN OF

  • AMENIA UNION
    HOME OF DR. THOMAS YOUNG,
    WHO NAMED AMENIA, AND
    VERMONT; A REVOLUTIONARY
    PATRIOT, AND FRIEND OF
    ETHAN ALLEN.
    Location: CO. RD AT AMENIA UNION

  • DUTCHESS COUNTY
    CREATED IN 1638, AND NAMED
    FOR THE DUTCHESS OF YORK.
    THE "T" IN ORIGINAL NAME
    IS STILL USED
    Location: NYS 343, NE OF LEEDSVILLE, AT N.Y.-CONN. LINE

  • NAMED FROM THE LATIN
    "AMOENA," "PLEASANT TO
    THE EYE," BY DR. THOMAS
    YOUNG, EARLY SETTLER, WHO
    ALSO NAMED VERMONT.
    Location: US 44, N. OF AMENIA

  • NEW YORK STATE
    EXPLORED BY DUTCH, 1609,
    SETTLED BY DUTCH, 1624; K.
    UNDER ENGLISH RULE AFTER
    1664. NAMED FOR DUKE OF
    YORK, LATER KING JAMES II
    Location: NYS 343, NE OF LEEDSVILLE, AT N.Y.-CONN. LINE

  • RICHARD SACKETT
    FIST SETTLER OF AMENIA,
    ABOUT 1711, HAD FARM HERE
    AND IS BURIED ON HILL TO
    NORTH. HE WAS COMMISSIONER
    ON PALATINE SETTLEMENT.
    Location: NYS 22 AT S. AMENIA

  • SITE OF
    AMENIA SEMINARY
    BUILT IN 1835; IT WAS
    DIRECTED BY THE METHODIST
    CHURCH. IT HAD A HIGH
    REPUTATION AND MANY NOTED
    GRADUATES.
    Location: US 44, OF AMENIA

  • TROUTBECK
    FORMER HOME OF MYRON B.
    BENTON, POET-NATURALIST,
    FRIEND OF JOHN BURROUGHS,
    EMERSON AND THOREAU
    Location: NYS 343, AT LEEDSVILLE

  • ULDRICK WINEGAR
    AND HIS SON CAPT. GARRETT
    WINEGAR, WHO CAME FROM THE
    EAST CAMP OF THE PALATINES,
    GERMANTOWN, N.Y. SETTLED
    HERE IN 1724.
    Location: CO. RD .5 MI. NW OF AMEINA UNION

  • [ARROW]
    RED MEETING HOUSE
    "CARMEL IN NINE PARTNERS,"
    FIRST CHURCH IN AMENIA, WAS
    FORMERLY NEAR CEMETERY.
    GEORGE WHITEFIELD, FAMOUS
    METHODIST, PREACHED HERE
    Location: US 44, .7 MI. N. OF AMENIA

County: DUTCHESS
Town: BEACON, CITY OF

  • CITY OF BEACON
    INCORPORATED MAY 15, 1913
    CONSOLIDATION OF MATTEWAN
    AND FISHKILL LANDING
    VILLAGES
    Location: NYS 9D, N. OF BEACON

  • CITY OF BEACON
    INCORPORATED MAY 15, 1913
    CONSOLIDATION OF MATTEWAN
    AND FISHKILL LANDING
    VILLAGES
    Location: NYS 52, E. OF BEACON

  • CITY OF BEACON
    INCORPORATED MAY 15, 1913
    CONSOLIDATION OF MATTEWAN
    AND FISHKILL LANDING
    VILLAGES.
    Location: NYS 9D, S. OF BEACON

  • FISHKILL LANDING
    ONE OF OLDEST LANDINGS ALONG
    HUDSON RIVER. DURING REV.
    SUPPLIES FOR TROOPS IN
    NEWBURGH & N.J. FROM NEW
    ENGLAND BROUGHT ACROSS RIVER HERE
    Location: BEEKMAN AND RIVER STS.

  • FISHKILL LANDING
    IN 1869 POP. 1100; CONTAINED
    4 CHURCHES, NEWSPAPER OFFICE,
    STEAMBOAT LANDING, 2 MACHINE
    SHOPS, R.R. STATION. STEAM
    FERRY TO NEWBURGH. FERRY IN 1743.
    Location: WILLOW ST. & VERPLANCK AVE.

  • MATTEWAN
    IN 1860 POP. 1476, CONTAINED
    4 CHURCHES, MACHINE WORKS,
    CLOTHING AND FILE FACTORIES,
    AND RUBBER SHOP. FORMERLY
    HAD EXTENSIVE COTTON MILLS.
    Location: ON NYS 9D & NYS 52

  • [ARROW]
    MOUNT BEACON
    ON THE SUMMIT, 1640 FEET
    ABOVE HUDSON, WAS ONE OF
    SYSTEM OF BEACON IN THE
    HIGHLANDS PLANNED BY GENS.
    WASHINGTON AND CLINTON.
    Location: NYS 9D, AT FT. OF MOUNT BEACON

County: DUTCHESS
Town: CLINTON, TOWN OF

  • DEWITT HOUSE
    BUILT 1773 BY JOHN DEWITT
    CAPTAIN, REVOLUTIONARY WAR,
    MEMBER OF ASSEMBLY, SHERIFF
    DUTCHESS CO. AND MEMBER
    CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION.
    Location: CO. RD. AT FROST'S MILLS

County: DUTCHESS
Town: DOVER, TOWN OF

  • CLOVE ROAD CAMP
    A MILE WEST IS PHILIP HOAG
    HOUSE, BUILT 1750, WHERE
    WASHINGTON AND TROOPS, EN
    ROUTE FROM BOSTON TO NEW
    YORK, ENCAMPED IN 1776
    Location: NYS 22, N. OF NYS 55, AT WINGDALE

  • DOVER STONE CHURCH
    A CAVERN, WITH A WATERFALL,
    REFUGE OF SASSACUS, PEQUOT
    CHIEF, FLEEING FROM ROUT OF
    HIS TRIBE AT NEW LOUDON, CONN.
    AFTERWARD KILLED BY MOHAWKS.
    Location: NYS 22, AT DOVER PLAINS

  • MOREHOUSE TAVERN
    SITE OF TAVERN, ON ROAD
    FROM HARTFORD, CONN., TO
    FISHKILL, N.Y. WHERE
    WASHINGTON, ROCHAMBEAU AND
    DE CHASTELLUX STAYED
    Location: NYS 22, N. OF NYS 55, AT WINGDALE

County: DUTCHESS
Town: EAST FISHKILL, TOWN OF

  • HOUSE BUILT IN 1740 BY
    JUDGE THEODORUS VAN WYCK
    OCCUPIED 1776-1777 BY
    JOHN JAY
    WHO HERE PRESIDED
    AT PROVINCIAL COURT
    Location: NYS 52 W. OF WICOPEE

  • SIBYL LUDINGTON
    RODE HORSEBACK OVER THIS
    ROAD THE NIGHT OF APRIL 26,
    1777, TO CALL OUT COLONEL
    LUDINGTON'S REGIMENT TO
    REPEL BRITISH AT DANBURY, CONN.
    Location: NYS 52 & NYS 216, AT STORMVILLE

  • STORMVILLE VILLAGE
    SETTLED 1730 BY GENET,
    GEORGE, AND ISAAC STORM
    AFTER WHOM VILLAGE WAS
    NAMED. PREVIOUS TO 1860
    HAD 20 HOUSES.
    Location: NYS 52 AT STORMVILLE

  • TOWN AND COUNTY LINE
    EAST FISHKILL, DUTCHESS CO.
    FORMED FROM FISHKILL 1849.
    KENT, PUTNAM CO. FORMED AS
    FREDERICKSTOWN 1788. CHANGED
    TO FREDERICK 1795, KENT 1817.
    Location: NYS 52, .5 MI. S. OF PECKSVILLE, AT DUTCHESS-PUTNAM CO. LINE

  • TOWN AND COUNTY LINE
    EAST FISHKILL, DUTCHESS CO.
    FORMED FROM FISHKILL 1849.
    KENT, PUTNAM CO. FORMED AS
    FREDERICKSTOWN 1788. CHANGED
    TO FREDERICK 1795, KENT 1817.
    Location: CO. RD., 1 MI. W. OF PECKSVILLE, AT DUTCHESS-PUTNAM CO. LINE

  • TOWN LINE
    EAST FISHKILL FORMED FROM
    FISHKILL 1849. BEEKMAN
    FORMED AS TOWN 1788. PART OF
    LAGRANGE OFF IN 1821: AND
    PART OF UNION VALE IN 1827.
    Location: NYS 216, 1 MI. E. OF STORMVILLE

  • TOWN LINE
    EAST FISHKILL FORMED FROM
    FISHKILL 1849. FISHKILL
    FORMED 1788. PART OF LA GRANGE
    OFF 1821 AND EAST FISHKILL
    1849. PART OF
    PHILIPSTOWN ANNEXED 1806.
    Location: NYS 52 OF WICOPEE

  • TOWN LINE
    EAST FISHKILL FORMED FROM
    FISHKILL 1849. FISHKILL
    FORMED 1788. PART OF LA GRANGE
    OFF 1821 AND EAST FISHKILL
    1849. PART OF
    PHILIPSTOWN ANNEXED 1806.
    Location: NYS 52 OF WICOPEE

County: DUTCHESS
Town: FISHKILL, TOWN OF

  • BATTERY
    ON THIS HILL, DURING THE
    AMERICAN REVOLUTION, WAS
    A BATTERY FOR THE DEFENSE
    OF "THE GORGE OF THE
    MOUNTAINS," FISHKILL CLOVE
    Location: US 9, 1/8 MI. N. OF DUTCHESS-PUTNAM CO. LINE

  • BUILT 1738 BY
    COLONEL JOHN
    BRINCKERHOFF
    WASHINGTON'S HEADQUARTERS
    WHILE ARMY WAS
    IN FISHKILL
    Location: NYS 82, E. OF BRINCKERHOFF

  • DUTCHESS COUNTY
    CREATED IN 1683 AND NAMED
    FOR THE DUTCHESS OF YORK.
    THE "T" IN ORIGINAL NAME
    IS STILL USED
    Location: US 9, AT DUTCHESS-PUTNAM CO. LINE

  • ENOCH CROSBY
    AMERICAN SPY, TAKEN WITH
    RECRUITS FOR BRITISH ARMY,
    CONFINED HERE AFTER MOCK
    TRIAL BY COMMITTEE OF SAFETY
    WAS ALLOWED TO ESCAPE
    Location: NYS 52, AT FISHKILL

  • HOME OF
    HENDRICK KIP
    BUILT 1753. FISHKILL
    HEADQUARTERS OF BARON VON
    STEUBEN ABOUT 1777.
    GEN. WASHINGTON AND COUNT
    PULASKI VISITED HERE
    Location: SW OF NYS 52, NR. GLENHAM

  • SITE OF
    FISHKILL TEA PARTY
    AUG. 26, 1776, 100 WOMEN
    FORCED ABRAM BRINCKERHOFF
    STOREKEEPER, TO SELL THEM
    TEA AT LAWFUL PRICE OF
    SIX SHILLINGS PER POUND
    Location: NYS 52, AT BRINCKERHOFF

  • STAR MILLS
    BUILT BY ABRAM BRINCKERHOFF.
    BURNED 1777. REBUILT BY
    ORDER OF GEN. WASHINGTON
    WHILE HIS SOLDIERS ENCAMPED
    AT FISHKILL. LATER DEMOLISHED
    Location: S. OF NYS 52, IN BRINCKERHOFF

  • VERPLANCK HOUSE
    BUILT 1740, BY GULIAN
    VERPLANCK, BURNED 1931.
    HEADQUARTERS BARON STEUBEN
    1762. SOCIETY OF CINCINNATI
    ORGANIZED THERE IN 1783.
    Location: NYS 9D, .5 MI. N. OF BEACON

  • WARTON HOUSE
    MADE FAMOUS BY
    COOPER'S NOVEL, "THE SPY"
    HEADQUARTERS OF GEN. PUTNAM
    IN REVOLUTION
    Location: US 9, .5 MI. S. OF FISHKILL

  • WASHINGTON'S SWORD
    WAS FORGED OR REPAIRED NEAR
    HERE BY JOHN BAILEY. THE
    SWORD IS NOW IN SMITHSONIAN
    MUSEUM, WASHINGTON, D.C.
    Location: NYS 52, AT GLENHAM

  • [ARROW]
    TRINITY CHURCH
    ORGANIZED BY REV. SAMUEL SEABURY
    1756, BUILT 1760. PROVINCIAL CONGRESS
    MET HERE SEPT. 1776. USED AS
    HOSPITAL DURING REVOLUTION.
    Location: NYS 52 AT FISHKILL

  • [ARROW]
    DUTCH CHURCH
    REFORMED CHURCH OF FISHKILL
    ORGANIZED 1716, BUILT 1725,
    OCCUPIED 1776 BY NEW YORK
    PROVINCIAL CONGRESS, ALSO
    PRISON DURING REVOLUTION.
    Location: NYS 52, AT FISHKILL

County: DUTCHESS
Town: HYDE PARK, TOWN OF

  • SITE OF
    JAMES K. PAULDING
    HOUSE, 1841-1860
    PAULDING WAS A DISTINGUISHED
    AUTHOR, COLLABORATED WITH
    WASHINGTON IRVING. WAS SEC'Y
    OF NAVY UNDER VAN BUREN
    Location: US 9, 2 MIS. N. OF HYDE PARK

  • ST. JAMES CHURCH
    ERECTED 1844. ATTENDED BY
    FRANKLIN D. ROOSEVELT, 32D
    PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED
    STATES, AND HIS FAMILY
    Location: US 9, 1 MI. N. OF HYDE PARK

County: DUTCHESS
Town: LA GRANGE, TOWN OF

  • [ARROW]
    OSWEGO
    OLD NAME OF COMMUNITY ONE
    MILE EAST, WITH MEETING
    HOUSE OF SOCIETY OF
    FRIENDS, 18TH CENTURY CENTER
    FOR A WIDE NEIGHBORHOOD
    Location: NYS 82, AT MOORE'S MILLS

County: DUTCHESS
Town: MILAN, TOWN OF

  • BURIAL GROUND
    CHIEF CROW AND OTHER
    MOHICAN SHACOMECOS OF
    MORAVIAN FAITH BURIED HERE.
    LAST BURIAL ABOUT 1850
    Location: CO. RD., W. OF JACKSON CORNERS

  • COLONIAL INN
    BUILT ABOUT 1773
    STAGE INN, DOCTOR'S OFFICE,
    HOTEL, STORE,
    POST OFFICE OF
    JACKSON CORNERS
    Location: AT JACKSON CORNERS

  • FULTON HOMESTEAD
    JOHN FULTON, FIRST OWNER.
    DEED RECORDED OCT. 12, 1795
    HAS ALWAYS BEEN IN POSSESSION
    OF THE FULTON FAMILY.
    IN FULTON NAME UNTIL 1933.
    Location: CO. RD., BETWEEN UPPER RED HOOK & JACKSON CORNERS

  • NOBLETOWN ROAD
    RUNNING FROM POST ROAD
    IN LIVINGSTON, THROUGH
    GALLATIN, ANCRAM, STATE LINE,
    NOBLETOWN, TO BARRINGTON, N.H.
    IN USE BEFORE 1798
    Location: CO. RD., W. OF JACKSON CORNERS

County: DUTCHESS
Town: NORTH EAST, TOWN OF

  • BRYAN
    BURYING GROUND
    PRIVATE GRAVE YARD
    OLD STONE 1825
    Location: NYS 82, N. OF SHEKOMEKO

  • COLEMAN'S STATION
    BURYING GROUND
    PRIVATE GRAVE YARD
    OLD STONE 1749.
    Location: .5 MI. E. OF US 44, AT COLEMAN'S STATION

  • IRONDALE CEMETERY
    IRONDALE, MILLERTON.
    TOWN OF NORTH EAST
    OLD STONE 1818.HIP, LITCHFIELD
    Location: NYS 22, AT MILLERTON

  • NORTH EAST CENTER
    BURYING GROUND
    EARLY STONE MARKED 1801
    Location: US 44, AT NORTH EAST CENTER

  • SPENCER'S CORNERS
    BURYING GROUND
    BELONGED TO BAPTIST CHURCH.
    LAND DONATED HERE FOR CHURCH
    & GRAVE YARD BY REV. SIMON
    DAKIN, 1776. OLDEST STONE 1701.
    Location: CO. RD., 1.5 MIS. E. OF NYS 22

  • SPENCER'S CORNERS
    NORTH EAST POST OFFICE
    MAY 1, 1773, FIRST BAPTIST
    COVENANT MEETING IN NORTH
    EAST HELD AT HOME OF REV.
    SIMON DAKIN, NEAR HERE.
    Location: CO. RD., 1.5 MIS. E. OF IRONDALE

  • TOWN, COUNTY, & STATE LINE
    NORTH EAST TOWNSHIP, DUTCHESS
    COUNTY, NEW YORK STATE;
    SALISBURY TOWNSHIP, LITCHFIELD
    COUNTY, CONNECTICUT.
    Location: US 44, AT N.Y.-CONN. LINE

  • TOWN, COUNTY, & STATE LINE
    NORTH EAST TOWNSHIP, DUTCHESS
    COUNTY, NEW YRK STATE;
    SALISBURY TOWNSHIP, LITCHFIELD
    COUNTY, CONNECTICUT.
    Location: NYS 361, AT N.Y.-CONN. LINE

County: DUTCHESS
Town: PAWLING, TOWN OF

  • DUTCHESS COUNTY
    CREATED IN 1683 AND NAMED
    FOR THE DUTCHESS OF YORK.
    THE "T" IN ORIGINAL NAME
    IS STILL USED.
    Location: NYS 22, 3 MIS. S. OF PAWLING

  • JOHN L. WORDEN
    COMMANDER OF THE MONITOR,
    AGAINST THE CONFEDERATE RAM,
    MERRIMAC, HAMPTON ROADS,
    MAR.9, 1862; REAR ADMIRAL,
    U.S.N. IS BURIED HERE
    Location: NYS 22, 100 YDS. N. OF NYS 55

  • KANE HOUSE
    OCCUPIED BY GEN. WASHINGTON,
    SEP.-NOV., 1778 AFTER THE
    BATTLE OF MONMOUTH, N.J. WHEN
    HE WAS PLANNING AN ADVANCE
    UPON NEW YORK CITY
    Location: NYS 22, AT PAWLING

County: DUTCHESS
Town: PINE PLAINS, TOWN OF

  • CHRISTIAN CHURCH
    WEST PINE PLAINS
    DEDICATED 1859 BY REV. ELI
    FAY OF YELLOW SPRINGS, OHIO.
    NEW STOREHOUSE FOR FARM
    MACHINERY AND ALSO GARAGE.
    Location: NYS 199, 2 MIS. W. OF PINE PLAINS

  • HUBBELL SPRING
    NAMED FOR MR. HUBBELL
    WHO BUILT CABIN NEARBY
    ABOUT 1760. WATERING
    THROUGH HERE SINCE THAT
    DATE.
    Location: NYS 199, .5 MI. W. OF PINE PLAINS

  • MOUNT ROSS
    NAMED FOR CAPTAIN THOMAS
    ROSS, WHO WAS CALLED
    "BARON ROSS"
    DIED AUGUST, 1762
    Location: CO. RD., AT MOUNT ROSS

  • OLD TURNPIKE
    RHINEBECK-SALISBURY
    TURNPIKE. LEGISLATIVE
    ACT PASSED APRIL 2, 1802.
    Location: NYS 199, .5 MI. E. OF PINE PLAINS

  • PINE PLAINS
    NORTHEAST LINE
    PINE PLAINS ORGANIZED 1823.
    NORTHEAST FORMED 1788 AND
    INCLUDED MILAN AND PINE
    PLAINS. MILAN TAKEN OFF IN 1818.
    Location: NYS 82, 4 MIS. SE OF PINE PLAINS

  • PINE PLAINS
    NORTHEAST LINE
    PINE PLAINS ORGANIED 1823.
    NORTHEAST FORMED 1788 AND
    INCLUDED MILAN AND PINE
    PLAINS. MILAN TAKEN OFF IN 1818.
    Location: NYS 199, AT PINE PLAINS-NORTH EAST LINE

  • PINE PLAINS-STANFORD LINE
    PINE PLAINS ORGANIZED 1823.
    PART OF NORTHEAST 1788 AND
    LITTLE NINE PARTNERS 1706.
    STANFORD ORGANIZED 1793.
    PART OF WASHINGTON 1788 AND
    GREAT NINE PARTNERS 1697
    Location: NYS 82 A, 1 MI, N. OF ATTLEBURY, AT PINE PLAINS-STANFORD LINE

  • SCYTHE WORKS SITE
    STONE FROM HERE USED IN
    BASEMENT WALLS OF ADDITION
    TO PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH; ALSO
    FOR FOUNDATIONS IN EVERGREEN
    CEMETERY.
    Location: NYS 199, .5 MI. W. OF HAMMERTON

  • SITE OF
    RED CHURCH
    BUILT BY GERMAN REFORMERS
    1772 ON PULVER FARM; TORN
    DOWN 1826; KNOWN AS THE
    OLD RED CHURCH
    Location: NYS 199, 1 MI. W. OF NYS 82

  • SITE OF
    GRINDING WORKS
    FOUNDED BY COL. SILAS
    HARRIS ABOUT 1832.
    Location: NYS 82, 3 MIS. SE OF PINE PLAINS

  • SITE OF
    OLD TAVERN
    LOG HOUSE TAVERN INN 1798,
    DR. ASAHEL HASKINS, PROP.
    HOTEL BUILT 1804 BY F. & E.
    DIBBLEE, C. KETTERER OWNER
    ENLARGED HOTEL 1872 & 1882.
    Location: SE CORNER MAIN AND CHURCH STS. IN PINE PLAINS

  • SITE OF
    SEYMOUR SMITH ACADEMY
    OPENED 1879: LEASED 1896, AS
    UNION FREE SCHOOL. REV. A.
    MATTICE, A.M. ONLY PRINCIPAL.
    1000 GRADUATES
    Location: ACADEMY AND SMITH STS., IN PINE PLAINS

  • SITE OF
    DIBBLE-BOOTH HOUSE
    BUILT ABOUT 1728. REPAIRED
    BEFORE 1775 AND TOP STORY
    ADDED. J. LEWIS, STOREKEEPER,
    1ST OCCUPANT. INDIAN TRADING
    POST AND STORE. TORN DOWN 1878
    Location: NYS 199, W. OF PINE PLAINS

  • UNION LIBRARY
    OF PINE PLAINS
    ORGANIZED 1798. EBENEZER
    BALDWIN FIRST LIBRARIAN.
    FIRST PUBLIC LIBRARY IN
    TOWN OF NORTH EAST
    Location: SW CORNER MAIN AND CHURCH STS. IN PINE PLAINS

County: DUTCHESS
Town: POUGHKEEPSIE, CITY OF

  • MATTHEW VASSAR
    FOUNDER OF VASSAR COLLEGE,
    LIVED IN HOUSE ON THIS SITE
    FOR MANY YEARS. NOW SITE OF
    VASSAR BROS. HOME
    Location: NE CORNER MAIN & VASSAR STS.

  • ON THIS SITE 1777-1807
    STEPHEN HENDRICKSON'S INN;
    1807-1876, THE FORBUS HOUSE;
    SINCE 1876, THE NELSON HOUSE
    Location: MARKET ST. AT NELSON HOUSE

  • POUGHKEEPSIE
    FIRST SETTLERS IN 1687.
    NEW YORK STATE CAPITAL,
    1778-1783. CONSTITUTION OF
    THE UNITED STATES RATIFIED
    HERE BY NEW YORK, JULY 26, 1788
    Location: NYS 376, SE OF POUGHKEEPSIE

  • POUGHKEEPSIE
    FIRST SETTLERS IN 1687.
    NEW YORK STATE CAPITAL,
    1778-1783. CONSTITUTION OF
    THE UNITED STATES RATIFIED
    HERE BY NEW YORK, JULY 26, 1788
    Location: US 9 G, N. OF POUGHKEEPSIE

  • POUGHKEEPSIE
    FIRST SETTLERS IN 1687.
    NEW YORK STATE CAPITAL,
    1778-1783. CONSTITUTION OF
    THE UNITED STATES RATIFIED
    HERE BY NEW YORK, JULY 26, 1788
    Location: US 9, S. OF POUGHKEEPSIE

  • SITE OF
    SMITH THOMPSON
    COUNTRY HOME
    THOMPSON WAS SECRETARY
    OF NAVY, 1818-1822 AND
    JUSTICE OF THE SUPREME
    COURT OF U.S., 1833-1843
    Location: US 9, 75 YDS. N. OF CITY LINE

  • THE GLEBE HOUSE
    BUILT IN 1767
    BY MEMBERS OF THE CHURCH
    OF ENGLAND IN DUTCHESS
    COUNTY FOR THEIR MINISTER
    Location: 635 MAIN ST.

  • VAL KILL
    DUTCH NAME FOR
    "STREAM OF FALLS"
    "PONDANICKRIEN" IS THE
    INDIAN NAME MEANING
    "CROOKED PLACE"
    Location: MILL ST. AT BRIDGE

  • [ARROW]
    1776 SHIPYARD
    ON SHORE LINE OF RIVER WAS
    A CONTINENTAL SHIPYARD
    WHERE FRIGATES CONGRESS
    AND MONTGOMERY WERE BUILT
    TO DEFEND THE HUDSON RIVER
    Location: NE CORNER LIVINGSTON AND PROSPECT STS.

County: DUTCHESS
Town: POUGHKEEPSIE, TOWN OF

  • ENTRANCE TO ESTATE OWNED
    AND OCCUPIED 1804-1812 BY
    GEORGE CLINTON
    THEN VICE PRESIDENT OF
    THE UNITED STATES
    Location: SHAEFE RD., AT N.Y. TRAP ROCK CO.

  • SPECK ZYN KILL
    DUTCH FOR "SPECK, HIS
    STREAM". LATER CALLED
    SPECK'N KILL AND
    SPECKENKILL. SPECK, AN
    INDIAN, OWED THIS LAND
    Location: US 9, AT SPECKENKILL RD.

  • ZEPHANIAH PLATT
    COUNTY COURT JUDGE, COLONEL
    OF MILITIA, MEMBER COUNCIL
    OF SAFETY, CONSTITUTIONAL
    CONVENTION, DELEGATE STATE SENATE
    LIVED HERE 1762-1798.
    Location: OVERLOOK RD., 1 MI. FROM NYS 55

County: DUTCHESS
Town: RED HOOK, TOWN OF

  • DAVID VAN NESS
    BUILT BRICK HOUSE HERE BEFORE
    1797. WAS CAPTAIN DURING
    REVOLUTION, GEN. OF STATE
    MILITIA, STATE SENATOR AND
    PRESIDENTIAL ELECTOR 1812.
    Location: W. MARKET & PHILLIPS STS., IN RED HOOK

  • DUTCHESS COUNTY
    CREATED IN 1683 AND NAMED
    FOR THE DUTCHESS OF YORK.
    THE "T" IN ORIGINAL NAME
    IS STILL USED
    Location: US 9, .5 MI. N. OF KERLEYS CORNERS

  • MONTGOMERY PLACE
    HOME OF JANET LIVINGSTON,
    WIDOW OF GENERAL RICHARD
    MONTGOMERY. KILLED IN
    QUEBEC 1775; AND OF HON.
    EDW. LIVINGSTON, 1764-1836.
    Location: CO. RD., .5 MI. SW OF ANNANDALE-ON-HUDSON

  • OLD RED BRICK TAVERN
    KNOWN IN 1789 AS THE
    THOMAS HOUSE
    HEADQUARTERS IN 1777 OF
    GENERAL PUTNAM
    Location: E. OF US 9, IN UPPER RED HOOK

County: DUTCHESS
Town: RHINEBECK, TOWN OF

  • BIRTHPLACE OF
    BRIG. GEN. JOHN A. QUITMAN
    SEPT. 1, 1799-JULY 17,1858
    HERO OF MEXICAN WAR
    SENATOR, CHANCELLOR, JUDGE
    GOVERNOR OF MISSISSIPPI
    Location: US 9, 2 MIS. N. OF RHINEBECK

  • BOGARDUS LAND
    TRAINING GROUND OF
    REVOLUTIONARY TROOPS.
    FORMERLY BELONGED TO
    WILLIAM TRAPHAGEN, FOUNDER
    OF VILLAGE OF RHINEBECK
    Location: US 9, AT RHINEBECK P.O.

  • HOUSE OCCUPIED BY
    GEN. RICHARD MONTGOMERY
    WHEN HE TOOK COMMAND
    OF THE NORTHERN FORCES
    1775
    Location: LIVINGSTON ST., RHINEBECK

  • JOHN BENNER HOUSE
    HELD THE FIRST METHODIST
    CHURCH SRVICES IN THE
    TOWN. CONDUCTED BY THE
    REV. FREEBORN GARRETSON, 1791-1792
    Location: US 9, 2 MIS. S. OF RHINEBECK

  • LANDSMAN'S KILL
    WHOSE WATERS OPERATED
    THE MILLS OF SCHUYLER,
    MONTGOMERY, MORGAN LEWIS
    LIVINGSTON AND MANY OTHERS
    Location: US 9, AT BR. IN RHINEBECK

  • LONG DOCK
    LANDING FOR FERRY CHARTERED
    1752, CONNECTING THE ULSTER
    AND SALISBURY PIKE ON THE
    EAST WITH THE ULSTER AND
    DELAWARE ON THE WEST
    Location: NYS 308, 1 MI. W. OF RHINEBECK

  • OLD RHINEBECK
    ORIGINAL LOCATION OF THE
    VILLAGE OF RHINEBECK
    SITE OF OLDEST CHURCH
    IN NORTHERN PRECINCT OF
    DUTCHESS COUNTY
    Location: US 9, 2 MIS. N. OF RHINEBECK

  • PETER PULTZ' TAVERN
    BUILT ABOUT 1800
    KNOWN ALSO AS "BOWERY HOUSE"
    WAS SOCIAL CENTER OF COMMUNITY;
    ITS COURTROOM, THEATER & BALLROOM
    WAS HDQTS. "YELLOW BIRD" STAGE LINE
    Location: NYS 308, E. OF MULBERRY ST., IN RHINEBECK

  • RUINS OF THE
    KIP-BEEKMAN-HEERMANCE HOUSE
    BUILT 1700 BY HENDRICK KIP, PATENTEE.
    HOME OF COL. HENRY BEEKMAN, JR.
    LATER OF HIS GRANDSON COL. HENRY
    B. LIVINGSTON OF THE REV. ARMY
    Location: NYS 308, .5 MI. E. OF RHINECLIFF

  • WESTWARD ON THE LEFT (RIGHT)
    GASMERE-BIRTHPLACE-W.A. DUER
    ONCE PRESIDENT OF COLUMBIA COL.
    ON THE RIGHT BEYOND - ELLERSLIE
    HOME OF LEVI P. MORTON, GOV. OF
    N.Y. & VICE PRES. OF U.S.
    Location: US 9, 2 MIS. S. OF RHINEBECK

  • WHITE CORNER
    BUILT IN 1816 BY
    CHRISTIAN SCHELL.
    ONCE THE COMMERCIAL
    AND FINANCIAL CENTER
    OF THE COMMUNITY
    Location: NW CORNER MILL & W. MARKET STS. IN RHINEBECK

County: DUTCHESS
Town: WAPPINGER, TOWN OF

  • MESIER PARK
    PRE-REVOLUTIONARY HOUSE
    HOME OF MESIER FAMILY
    FROM 1777 TO 1890
    ACQUIRED BY VILLAGE 1891
    Location: NYS 9D, AT WAPPINGERS FALLS

County: DUTCHESS
Town: WASHINGTON, TOWN OF

  • JACOB WILLETTS
    DEBORAH WILLETTS
    WIDELY KNOWN EDUCATORS
    LIVED HERE IN EARLY
    19TH CENTURY
    Location: NYS 343, 1/4 MI. E. OF MILLBROOK

  • MEETING HOUSE
    BUILT IN 1780 BY THE
    NINE PARTNERS MEETING
    OF THE SOCIETY OF FRIENDS
    Location: NYS 343, .5 MI. E. OF MILLBROOK

  • NINE PARTNERS
    SCHOOL
    ON THIS SITE, 1796-1863,
    INFLUENTIAL IN EDUCATION
    FAMOUS FOR ITS TEACHERS
    AND PUPILS
    Location: NYS 343, 3/4 MI. E. OF MILLBROOK

County: ERIE
Town: AMHERST, TOWN OF

  • MAIN STREET
    SURVEYED IN 1799 BY JOSEPH
    ELLICOTT ALONG THE LINE OF
    THE OLD "CENTRAL TRAIL" FROM
    ALBANY, WAS AN EARLY STAGECOACH
    ROUTE AND WAGON TRAIL TO THE WEST
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT BUFFALO CITY LINE

  • U.S. BARRACKS 1812
    ALONG GARRISON RD TO CREEK AND
    EXTENDING SOUTHEAST WERE LOG
    BARRACKS OF GEN. SMYTH'S ARMY DURING
    WINTER OF 1812 AND '13. THESE
    BUILDINGS WERE LATER USED AS HOSPITAL
    Location: ON NYS 5 IN VLGE. OF WILLIAMSVILLE

County: ERIE
Town: BOSTON, TOWN OF

  • PIONEER CHURCH
    FOUNDED BY REV. JOHN
    SPENCER, MISSIONARY, 1811.
    MEETING HOUSE ERECTED 1837.
    REAR SECTION HOUSED SELECT
    SCHOOL, ORGANIZED 1809.
    Location: ON US 219 AT BOSTON

County: ERIE
Town: BUFFALO, CITY OF

  • OLD NAVY YARD
    1813
    FIVE VESSELS OF COMMODORE
    PERRY'S FLEET WERE RECONDITIONED
    ON SOTUH BANK AT NORTH OF
    NEARBY SEAJAQUADA CREEK

  • SITE OF
    OLD JUBILEE SPRING HOUSE
    BUILT IN 1830. SOURCE
    OF EARLY WATER SUPPLY
    Location: ON DELAWARE AVENUE

  • WILCOX MANSION
    SITE OF ARMY BARRACKS
    ESTABLISHED HERE IN 1838.
    PRESIDENT THEODORE ROOSEVELT
    TOOK THE OATH OF OFFICE AS
    PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES
    HERE
    Location: ON DELAWARE AVENUE

County: ERIE
Town: CHEEKTOWAGA, TOWN OF

  • [ARROW]
    1/4 MILE
    WAR OF 1812 CEMETERY
    Location: ON GARRISON ROAD AT ELLICOTT CREEK ROAD

County: ERIE
Town: TONAWANDA, TOWN OF

  • ST JOHN'S
    CEMETERY
    FIRST BURIAL 1839
    ORGANIZED 1850
    RESTORED 1934
    KNOWN AS "WERKLEY"
    CEMETERY
    Location: ON EGGERT ROAD NEAR SHERIDAN DRIVE

County: ERIE
Town: WEST SENECA, TOWN OF

  • JACK BERRY'S TOWN
    LARGEST POST REVOLUTIONARY
    SENECA INDIAN VILLAGE
    OCCUPIED THIS SITE
    1780-1840
    Location: VILLAGE OF GARDENVILLE IN MEMORIAL PARK

  • MIDDLE EBENEZER
    HOME (1843-1864) OF
    CHRISTIAN METZ
    LEADER OF THE COMMUNITY
    OF TRUE INSPIRATION
    [ARROW]
    Location: VILLAGE OF GARDENVILLE BY BRIDGE OVER BUFFALO CREEK

County: ESSEX
Town:

  • JOHN BROWN'S BODY
    GUARDED BY LOCAL CITIZENS
    RESTED IN THE COURT HOUSE
    ON THE NIGHT OF DEC. 6, 1859
    ON ITS WAY TO BURIAL AT HIS
    HOME IN NORTH ELBA

County: ESSEX
Town: CHESTERFIELD, TOWN OF

  • TURNPIKE
    PORT KENT TO HOPKINTON
    BUILT 1829-32. VIA
    AUSABLE FORKS, BLACK BROOK,
    FRANKLIN FALLS, LOON LAKE,
    ST. REGIS FALLS, HOPKINTON
    Location: ON NYS 373 ABOUT 2 MILES FROM PORT KENT

  • TURNPIKE
    PORT KENT TO HOPKINTON
    BUILT 1829-32. VIA
    AUSABLE FORKS, BLACK BROOK,
    FRANKLIN FALLS, LOON LAKE,
    ST. REGIS FALLS, HOPKINTON
    Location: ON NYS 9N AT CLINTONVILLE

  • TURNPIKE
    PORT KENT TO HOPKINTON
    BUILT 1829-32. VIA
    AUSABLE FORKS, BLACK BROOK,
    FRANKLIN FALLS, LOON LAKE,
    ST. REGIS FALLS, HOPKINTON
    Location: ON NYS 373 ABOUT 2 MILES FROM PORT KENT

  • TURNPIKE
    PORT KENT TO HOPKINTON
    BUILT 1829-32. VIA
    AUSABLE FORKS, BLACK BROOK,
    FRANKLIN FALLS, LOON LAKE,
    ST. REGIS FALLS, HOPKINTON
    Location: ON NYS 9N AT CLINTONVILLE

  • TURNPIKE
    PORT KENT TO HOPKINTON
    BUILT 1829-32. VIA
    AUSABLE FORKS, BLACK BROOK,
    FRANKLIN FALLS, LOON LAKE,
    ST. REGIS FALLS, HOPKINTON
    Location: ON NYS 9N AT CLINTONVILLE

County: ESSEX
Town: CROWN POINT, TOWN OF

  • 500 FT.
    [ARROW]
    RUINS OF
    PRE-REVOLUTIONARY
    VILLAGE
    AND TRADING POST
    Location: ON CROWN POINT RESERVATION AT CHAMPLAIN BRIDGE

  • BUILT BY GENERAL AMHERST 1759
    COLONIAL AND REVOLUTIONARY
    MILITARY ROAD
    CROWN POINT TO TICONDEROGA
    Location: ON NYS 8 ABOUT 2 MILES SOUTH OF CHAMPLAIN BRIDGE

  • COLONIAL AND REVOLUTIONARY
    MILITARY ROAD
    CROWN POINT TO TICONDEROGA
    Location: ON NYS 8 ABOUT 2 MILES SOUTH OF CHAMPLAIN BRIDGE

  • GRENADIER FORT
    ONE OF SECONDARY DEFENSES OF
    CROWN POINT
    BUILT BY GENERAL AMHERST 1759
    VILLAGE
    AND TRADING POST
    Location: ON CROWN POINT RESERVATION AT CHAMPLAIN BRIDGE

  • GRENADIER FORT
    ONE OF SECONDARY DEFENSES OF
    CROWN POINT
    BUILT BY GENERAL AMHERST 1759
    Location: ON CROWN POINT RESERVATION AT CHAMPLAIN BRIDGE

  • LIGHT INFANTRY FOR
    ONE OF THE SECONDARY DEFENSES OF
    CROWN POINT
    BUILT BY GENERAL AMHERST 1759
    Location: ON NYS 8 AT CROWN JPOINT RESERVATION

  • LIGHT INFANTRY FORT
    ONE OF THE SECONDARY DEFENSES OF
    CROWN POINT
    BUILT BY GENERAL AMHERST 1759
    Location: ON NYS 8 AT CROWN POINT RESERVATION

County: ESSEX
Town: ELIZABETHTOWN, TOWN OF

  • ELIZABETHTOWN
    FORMED FEB. 12, 1798, NAMED
    IN HONOR OF ELIZABETH, WIFE
    OF WILLIAM GILLILAND,
    PATENTEE MANOR OF WILLSBORO
    COUNTY SEAT ESSEX COUNTY
    Location: ON US 9 AT ELIZABETHTOWN

  • ELIZABETHTOWN
    FORMED FEB. 12, 1798, NAMED
    IN HONOR OF ELIZABETH, WIFE
    OF WILLIAM GILLILAND,
    PATENTEE MANOR OF WILLSBORO
    COUNTY SEAT ESSEX COUNTY
    Location: ON US 9 AT ELIZABETHTOWN

  • NORTHWEST
    BAY ROAD
    BEGUN PRIOR TO 1810. FROM
    WESTPORT VIA ELIZABETHTOWN,
    LAKE PLACID, SARANAC LAKE,
    SANTA CLARA, HOPKINTON
    Location: ON US 9 AT ELIZABETHTOWN

  • NORTHWEST
    BAY ROAD
    BEGUN PRIOR TO 1810. FROM
    WESTPORT VIA ELIZABETHTOWN,
    LAKE PLACID, SARANAC LAKE,
    SANTA CLARA, HOPKINTON
    Location: ON US 9N AT ELIZABETHTOWN

  • STATE ARSENAL
    ERECTED BY
    STATE OF NEW YORK
    IN 1811
    USED DURING WAR OF 1812
    SOLD IN 1848
    Location: ON US 9 AT ELIZABETHTOWN

  • STATE ARSENAL
    ERECTED BY
    STATE OF NEW YORK
    IN 1811
    USED DURING WAR OF 1812
    SOLD IN 1848
    Location: ON US 9 AT ELIZABETHTOWN

County: ESSEX
Town: ESSEX, TOWN OF

  • COON MOUNTAIN
    NEAR THE NORTHERN BASE OF THIS
    MOUNTAIN, WILLIAM GILLILAND,
    EARLYPIONEER OF CHAMPLAIN
    VALLEY, MET HIS TRAGIC
    DEATH IN 1796

  • COON MOUNTAIN
    NEAR THE NORTHERN BASE OF THIS
    MOUNTAIN, WILLIAM GILLILAND,
    EARLY PIONEER OF CHAMPLAIN
    VALLEY, MET HIS TRAGIC
    DEATH IN 1796
    Location: ON NYS 22 ABOUT 1 MILE NORTH OF WADHAMS

  • SITE OF
    WILLSBOROUGH BLOCKHOUSE
    ERECTED 1797 AS A PROTECTION
    AGAINST INDIANS; USED
    FROM 1799-1807 AS
    ESSEX COUNTY COURTHOUSE
    Location: ON NYS 22 AT ESSEX

  • SITE OF
    WILLSBOROUGH BLOCKHOUSE\
    ERECTED 1797 AS A PROTECTION
    AGAINST INDIANS; USED
    FROM 1799-1807 AS
    ESSEX COUNTY COURTHOUSE
    Location: ON NYS 22 AT ESSEX

  • SPLIT ROCK
    CALLED ROCHE REGIO BY INDIANS.
    BOUNDARY BETWEEN MOHAWKS AND
    ALGONQUINS. BY TREATY OF
    UTRECHT CONCEDED AS LIMIT
    OF ENGLISH DOMINIONS.
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 3 MI. SOUTH OF ESSEX

  • SPLIT ROCK
    CALLED ROCHE REGIO BY INDIANS.
    BOUNDARY BETWEEN MOHAWKS AND
    ALGONQUINS. BY TREATY OF
    UTRECHT CONCEDED AS LIMIT
    OF ENGLISH DOMINIONS.
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 3 MI. SOUTH OF ESSEX

County: ESSEX
Town: MINERVA, TOWN OF

  • THEODORE ROOSEVELT
    SEPT. 14, 1901, STOPPED AT AIDEN LAIR
    TO CHANGE HORSES IN NIGHT RIDE ON
    BUCKBOARD FROM MT. MARCY TO NORTH
    CREEK TO TAKE OATH OF PRESIDENT
    AT BUFFALO, N.Y.
    Location: ON NYS 28N ABOUT 6 MILES NORTH OF MINERVA

  • THEODORE ROOSEVELT
    SEPT. 14, 1901, STOPPED AT AIDEN LAIR
    TO CHANGE HORSES IN NIGHT RIDE ON
    BUCKBOARD FROM MT. MARCY TO NORTH
    CREEK TO TAKE OATH OF PRESIDENT
    AT BUFFALO, N. Y.
    Location: ON NYS 28N ABOUT 6 MILES NORTH OF MINERVA

County: ESSEX
Town: MORIAH, TOWN OF

  • CHAMPLAIN ACADEMY
    SITE OF PORT HENRY'S FIRST
    TAVERN 1826. THIS BUILDING
    ERECTED AS PEASE HOUSE 1850.
    Location: ON NYS 9N AND NYS 22 AT PORT HENRY

  • CHAMPLAIN ACADEMY
    SITE OF PORT HENRY'S FIRST
    TAVERN 1826. THIS BUILDING
    ERECTED AS PEASE HOUSE 1850.
    Location: ON NYS 9N AND NYS 22 AT PORT HENRY

  • DALLIBA HOUSE
    BUILT 1824 BY MAJOR JAMES
    DALLIBA, WHO NAMED PORT
    HENRY IN 1827 FOR HENRY
    HUNTINGTON OF ROME, N.Y.
    Location: ON NYS 9N & NYS 22, PORT HENRY

  • DALLIBA HOUSE
    BUILT 1824 BY MAJOR JAMES
    DALLIBA, WHO NAMED PORT
    HENRY IN 1827 FOR HENRY
    HUNTINGTON OF ROME, N. Y.
    Location: ON NYS 9N & NYS 22, PORT HENRY

  • GUILFORD HOUSE
    FIRST POSTOFFICE IN
    PORT HENRY LOCATED
    IN THIS BUILDING
    Location: ON NYS 9N & NYS 22, PORT HENRY

  • GUILFORD HOUSE
    FIRST POSTOFFICE IN
    PORT HENRY LOCATED
    IN THIS BUILDING.
    Location: ON NYS 9N & NYS 22, PORT HENRY

  • HUBBARD HOUSE
    BUILT IN 1802
    Location: ON BROAD STREET AT PORT HENRY

  • HUBBARD HOUSE
    BUILT IN 1802
    Location: ON BROAD STREET AT PORT HENRY

  • MC KENSIE HOUSE
    BUILT IN 1785 BY WILLIAM
    MC KENSIE. BIRTHPLACE OF HIS SON,
    ALEXANDER. FIRST TOWN MEETING
    OF MORIAH HERE APRIL 5, 1808.
    Location: ON NYS 9N & NYS 22, PORT HENRY

  • MC KENSIE HOUSE
    BUILT IN 1785 BY WILLIAM
    MC KENSIE. BIRTHPLACE OF HIS SON,
    ALEXANDER. FIRST TOWN MEETING
    OF MORIAH HERE APRIL 5, 1808
    Location: ON NYS 9N & NYS 22, PORT HENRY

  • MEACHAM HOUSE
    BUILT IN 1818 BY
    CAPT. WILLIAM MEACHAM
    Location: ON NYS 9N AND NYS 22 AT PORT HENRY

  • MEACHAM HOUSE
    BUILT IN 1818 BY
    CAPT. WILLIAM MEACHAM
    Location: ON NYS 9N AND NYS 22 AT PORT HENRY

  • MILLER HOUSE
    BUILT 1839 BY HENRY
    MILLER, PORT HENRY'S
    FIRST WHEELWRIGHT.
    Location: ON BROAD ST. AT PORT HENRY

  • MILLER HOUSE
    BUILT 1839 BY HENRY
    MILLER, PORT HENRY'S
    FIRST WHEELWRIGHT.
    Location: ON BROAD ST. AT PORT HENRY

  • MORIAH PLANK ROAD
    HORSE DRAWN WAGONS HAULED IRON
    ORE FROM MINES TO PORT HENRY
    OVER THIS ROAD UNTIL 1869.
    Location: ON COUNTY ROAD AT MORIAH

  • MORIAH PLANK ROAD
    HORSE DRAWN WAGONS HAULED IRON
    ORE FROM MINES TO PORT HENRY
    OVER THIS ROAD UNTIL 1869.
    Location: ON CO. RD. BETWEEN MINEVILLE AND MORIAH CENTER

  • MORIAH PLANK ROAD
    HORSE DRAWN WAGONS HAULED IRON
    ORE FROM MINES TO PORT HENRY
    OVER THIS ROAD UNTIL 1869.
    Location: ON COUNTY ROAD BETWEEN MORIAH AND PORT HENRY

  • MORIAH PLANK ROAD
    HORSE DRAWN WAGONS HAULED IRON
    ORE FROM MINES TO PORT HENRY
    OVER THIS ROAD UNTIL 1869.
    Location: ON COUNTY ROAD BETWEEN PORT HENRY AND MORIAH

  • MORIAH PLANK ROAD
    HORSE DRAWN WAGONS HAULED IRON
    ORE FROM MINES TO PORT HENRY
    OVER THIS ROAD UNTIL 1869.
    Location: ON BROAD STREET AT PORT HENRY

  • MORIAH PLANK ROAD
    HORSE DRAWN WAGONS HAULED IRON
    ORE FROM MINES TO PORT HENRY
    OVER THIS ROAD UNTIL 1869.
    Location: ON BROAD STREET AT PORT HENRY

  • MORIAH PLANK ROAD
    HORSE DRAWN WAGONS HAULED IRON
    HORSE DRAWN WAGONS HAULED IRON
    OVER THIS ROAD UNTIL 1869.
    Location: ON BROAD STREET AT PORT HENRY

  • MORIAH PLANK ROAD
    HORSE DRAWN WAGONS HAULED IRON
    ORE FROM MINES TO PORT HENRY
    OVER THIS ROAD UNTIL 1869.
    Location: ON CO. RD. BETWEEN MINEVILLE AND MORIAH CENTER

  • MORIAH PLANK ROAD
    HORSE DRAWN WAGONS HAULED IRON
    ORE FROM MINES TO PORT HENRY
    OVER THIS ROAD UNTIL 1869.
    Location: ON COUNTY ROAD AT MORIAH

  • MORIAH PLANK ROAD
    HORSE DRAWN WAGONS HAULED IRON
    ORE FROM MINES TO PORT HENRY
    OVER THIS ROAD UNTIL 1869.
    Location: ON COUNTY ROAD BETWEEN MORIAH AND PORT HENRY

  • MORIAH PLANK ROAD
    HORSE DRAWN WAGONS HAULED IRON
    ORE FROM MINES TO PORT HENRY
    OVER THIS ROAD UNTIL 1869.
    Location: ON COUNTY ROAD BETWEEN PORT HENRY AND MORIAH

  • SHORE LINE
    OF BUTTERFIELD'S BAY. BOATS
    WERE MOORED ALONG NORTH
    MAIN STREET BEFORE BUILDING
    OF RAILROAD THROUGH HERE
    Location: ON NYS 9N & NYS 22, PORT HENRY

  • SHORE LINE
    OF BUTTERFIELD'S BAY. BOATS
    WERE MOORED ALONG NORTH
    MAIN STREET BEFORE BUILDING
    OF RAILROAD THROUGH HERE
    Location: ON NYS 9N & NYS 22, PORT HENRY

  • SITE OF
    FIRST BLAST FURNACE
    ERECTED IN 1824 BY MAJOR
    JAMES DALLIBA; CONVERTED
    INTO STOVE WORKS IN 1827
    Location: ON NYS 9N & NYS 22, PORT HENRY

  • SITE OF
    PORTER'S AND LEWSIS MILLS
    BUILT 1766; SUPPLIES LUMBER
    FOR FORT CROWN POINT AND
    ARNOLD'S FLEET. ENTIRE VALLEY
    DEPENDENT ON GRIST MILL.
    Location: ON NYS 9N & NYS 22, PORT HENRY

  • SITE OF
    FIRST BLAST FURNACE
    ERECTED IN 1824 BY MAJOR
    JAMES DALLIBA; CONVERTED
    INTO STOVE WORKS IN 1827
    Location: ON NYS 9N & NYS 22, PORT HENRY

  • SITE OF
    PORTER'S AND LEWIS'S MILLS
    BUILT 1766; SUPPLIED LUMBER
    FOR FORT CROWN POINT AND
    ARNOLD'S FLEET. ENTIRE VALLEY
    DEPENDENT ON GRIST MILL.
    Location: ON NYS 9N & NYS 22, PORT HENRY

  • THIS BUILDING
    ERECTED IN 1850 ON
    SOUTH MAIN STREET AS
    SECOND SCHOOLHOUSE
    IN PORT HENRY
    Location: ON BROAD STREET AT PORT HENRY

  • THIS BUILDING
    ERECTED IN 1850 ON
    SOUTH MAIN STREET AS
    SECOND SCHOOLHOUSE
    IN PORT HENRY
    Location: ON BROAD STREET AT PORT HENRY

  • TRAINING GROUND
    PRIOR TO 1850 MILITIA OF
    SOUTHERN ESSEX COUNTY
    HELD JUNE TRAINING HERE
    Location: ON NYS 9N & NYS 22, PORT HENRY

  • TRAINING GROUND
    PRIOR TO 1850 MILITIA OF
    SOUTHERN ESSEX COUNTY
    HELD JUNE TRAINING HERE
    Location: ON NYS 9N & NYS 22, PORT HENRY

County: ESSEX
Town: NORTH ELBA, TOWN OF

  • JOHN BROWN
    OCCUPIED HOUSE ON THIS
    SITE IN 1848-50 WHILE
    CLEARING THE LAND
    NOW KNOWN AS
    JOHN BROWN'S FARM.
    Location: ON COUNTY ROAD ABOUT 1 1/2 MILES SOUTH OF LAKE PLACID

  • JOHN BROWN
    OCCUPIED HOUSE ON THIS
    SITE IN 1848-50 WHILE
    CLEARING THE LAND
    NOW KNOWN AS
    JOHN BROWN'S FARM.
    Location: ON COUNTY ROAD ABOUT 1ᄑ MILES SOUTH OF LAKE PLACID

  • NORTHWEST
    BAY ROAD
    BEGUN PRIOR TO 1810. FROM
    WESTPORT VIA ELIZABETHTOWN,
    LAKE PLACID, SARANAC LAKE,
    SANTA CLARA, HOPKINTON
    Location: ON NYS 86A ABOUT 2 MILES SOUTH OF LAKE PLACID

  • NORTHWEST
    BAY ROAD
    BEGUN PRIOR TO 1810. FROM
    WESTPORT VIA ELIZABETHTOWN,
    LAKE PLACID, SARANAC LAKE,
    SANTA CLARA, HOPKINTON
    Location: ON NYS 86A ABOUT 2 MILES SOUTH OF LAKE PLACID

County: ESSEX
Town: TICONDEROGA, TOWN OF

  • A BATTERY OF GUNS PLACED ON
    MOUNT DEFIANCE
    BY BRITISH ARTILLERY
    OFFICERS IN JULY 1777 FORCEDR
    EVACUATION OF FORT TICONDEROGA
    BY GENERAL ST. CLAIR.
    Location: ON THE PORTAGE OF TICONDEROGA

  • A BATTERY OF GUNS PLACED ON
    MOUNT DEFIANCE
    BY BRITISH ARTILLERY
    OFFICERS IN JULY 1777 FORCED
    EVACUATION OF FORT TICONDEROGA
    BY GENERAL ST. CLAIR.
    Location: ON THE PORTAGE AT TICONDEROGA

  • ALONG THIS STREET RAN THE
    OLD MILITARY ROAD
    FORTIFIED IN 1759 BY
    GENERAL AMHERST PRIOR TO
    HIS SIEGE OF
    FORT TICONDEROGA
    Location: ON THE PORTAGE AT TICONDEROGA

  • ALONG THIS STREET RAN THE
    OLD MILITARY ROAD
    FORTIFIED IN 1759 BY
    GENERAL AMHERST PRIOR TO
    HIS SIEGE OF
    FORT TICONDEROGA
    Location: ON THE PORTAGE AT TICONDEROGA

  • COLONIAL AND REVOLUTIONARY
    MILITARY ROAD
    CROWN POINT TO TICONDEROGA
    Location: ON NYS 8 & NYS 9N & NYS 22 ABOUT 3 1/2 MIS. N. OF TICONDEROGA

  • COLONIAL AND REVOLUTIONARY
    MILITARY ROAD
    CROWN POINT TO TICONDEROGA
    Location: ON NYS 8 & NYS 22 ABOUT 3ᄑ MIS. N. OF TICONDEROGA

  • FATHER JOGUES
    RENE GOUPIL AND GUILLAUME
    COUTRE IN 1642 WERE THE
    FIRST WHITE MEN TO SEE THESE
    WATERS, NAMED LAC DU ST.
    SACREMENT BY JOGUES IN 1646
    Location: ON BLACK PT. RD. SO. OF TICONDEROGA

  • FATHER JOGUES
    RENE GOUPIL AND GUILLAUME
    COUTRE IN 1642 WERE THE
    FIRST WHITE MEN TO SEE THESE WATERS
    NAMED LAC DU SACREMENT BY JOGUES IN 1646
    Location: ON BLACK POINT RD. SOUTH OF TICONDEROGA

  • GARRISON CEMETERY
    HERE ARE BURIED SEVERAL
    HUNDRED OFFICERS AND MEN OF
    THE AMERICAN ARMY, CHIEFLY
    NEW YORK, NEW JERSEY AND
    PENNSYLVANIA MILITIA 1775-1777
    Location: ON FT. TICONDEROGA RESERVATION AT TICONDEROGA

  • GARRISON CEMETERY
    HERE ARE BURIED SEVERAL
    HUNDRED OFFICERS AND MEN OF
    THE AMERICAN ARMY, CHIEFLY
    NEW YORK, NEW JERSEY AND
    PENNSYLVANIA MILITIA 1775-1777
    Location: ON FT. TICONDEROGA RESERVATION AT TICONDEROGA

  • HERE STOOD
    THE KING'S STORE
    A STONE BUILDING ERECTED
    BY THE FRENCH IN 1756 AND
    IN USE FOR ABOUT 100 YEARS
    Location: ON FT. TICONDEROGA RESERVATION AT TICONDEROGA

  • HERE STOOD
    THE KING'S STORE
    A STONE BUILDING ERECTED
    BY THE FRENCH IN 1756 AND
    IN USE FOR ABOUT 100 YEARS.
    Location: ON FT. TICONDEROGA RESERVATION AT TICONDEROGA

  • HUT SITES
    WITHIN A RADIUS OF ONE-HALF
    MILE WERE 150 HUTS
    OCCUPIED BY AMERICAN
    TROOPS IN THE REVOLUTION
    1775-1777
    Location: ON FT. TICONDEROGA RESERVATION AT TICONDEROGA

  • HUT SITES
    WITHIN A RADIUS OF ONE-HALF
    MILE WERE 150 HUTS
    OCCUPIED BY AMERICAN
    TROOPS IN THE REVOLUTION
    1775-1777
    Location: ON FT. TICONDEROGA RESERVATION AT TICONDEROGA

  • NEAR HERE MARCH 13, 1758
    ROGERS' RANGERS FOUGHT THE
    SNOWSHOE BATTLE
    AND WERE DEFEATED BY
    FRENCH AND INDIANS UNDER
    DURANTAYE AND LANGY
    Location: ON TICONDEROGA COUNTRY GOLF COURSE SO. OF TICONDEROGA

  • NEAR HERE MARCH 13, 1758
    ROGERS' RANGERS FOUGHT THE
    SNOWSHOE BATTLE
    AND WERE DEFEATED BY
    FRENCH AND INDIANS UNDER
    DURANTAYE AND LANGY
    Location: ON TICONDEROGA COUNTRY GOLF COURSE SO. OF TICONDEROGA

  • NEAR HERE ON JULY 30, 1609
    SAMUEL DE CHAMPLAIN
    AIDED BY TWO FRENCHMEN AND
    HURON AND MONTAGNAIS
    ALLIES DEFEATED A BAND OF]
    ALLIES DEFEATED A BAND OF
    IROQUOIS WARRIORS
    Location: ON FR. TICONDEROGA RESERVATION A TICONDEROGA

  • NEAR HERE ON JULY 30, 1609
    SAMUEL DE CHAMPLAIN
    AIDED BY TWO FRENCHMEN AND
    HURON AND MONTAGNAIS
    ALLIES DEFEATED A BAND OF
    IROQUOIS WARRIORS
    Location: ON FT. TICONDEROGA RESERVATION AT TICONDEROGA

  • NEAR HERE ON JULY 6, 1758
    LORD HOWE
    WAS KILLED IN A SKIRMISH
    WITH A FRENCH ADVANCE GUARD
    UNDER LANGY AND TREPEZEC
    Location: ON ALEXANDRIA AVE. SOUTHWEST OF TICONDEROGA

  • NEAR HERE ON JULY 6, 1758
    LORD HOWE
    WAS KILLED IN A SKIRMISH
    WITH A FRENCH ADVANCE GUARD
    UNDER LANGY AND TREPEZEC
    Location: ON ALEXANDRIA AVE. SOUTHWEST OF TICONDEROGA

  • NEAR THIS SPOT STOOD THE
    HOUSE AND STORE OF
    JOHN STOUGHTON
    FIRST ENGLISH PATENTEE
    AT TICONDEROGA 1764
    Location: ON ALEXANDRIA AVE. SOUTHWEST OF TICONDEROGA

  • NEAR THIS SPOT STOOD THE
    HOUSE AND STORE OF
    JOHN STOUGHTON
    FIRST ENGLISH PATENTEE
    AT TICONDEROGA 1764
    Location: ON ALEXANDRIA AVE. AT TICONDEROGA

  • ON THE EAST SHORE OPPOSITE
    THIS PLACE WERE ERECTED
    TWO BLOCKHOUSES
    TO GUARD THE NARROWS AND
    LANDING PLACE 1759.
    Location: ON BLACK POINT RD. SOUTH OF TICONDEROGA

  • ON THE EAST SHORE OPPOSITE
    THIS PLACE WERE ERECTED
    TWO BLOCKHOUSES
    TO GUARD THE NARROWS AND
    LANDING PLACE 1759.
    Location: ON BLACK PT. RD. SO. OF TICONDEROGA

  • ON THIS POINT IN 1759 STOOD
    A BLOCKHOUSE
    THE SOUTHERLY OUTPOST OF THE
    FORT. HERE LANDED ROGERS
    RANGERS AS THE VANGUARD OF
    GENERAL AMHERST'S ARMY
    Location: ON BLACK POINT RD. SOUTH OF TICONDEROGA

  • ON THIS POINT IN 1759 STOOD
    A BLOCKHOUSE
    THE SOUTHERLY OUTPOST OF THE
    FORT. HERE LANDED ROGERS
    RANGERS AS THE VANGUARD OF
    GENERAL AMHERST'S ARMY.
    Location: ON BLACK POINT RD. SOUTH OF TICONDEROGA

  • ON THIS SPOT IN 1756
    FRENCH ENGINEERS BUILT
    A REDOUBT
    TO GUARD THE BRIDGE
    AND LANDING PLACE AT
    THE HEAD OF THE PORTAGE.
    Location: ON BLACK POINT AT TICONDEROGA

  • ON THIS SPOT IN 1756
    FRENCH ENGINEERS BUILT
    A REDOUBT
    TO GUARD THE BRIDGE
    AND LANDING PLACE AT
    THE HEAD OF THE PORTAGE.
    Location: ON BLACK POINT AT TICONDEROGA

  • OPPOSITE THIS SPOT ON THE
    WEST BANK OF THE OUTLET OF
    LAKE GEORGE STOOD
    A BLOCKHOUSE
    AND FRENCH DEFENSES TO COVER
    THE BRIDGE AND LANDING PLACE.
    Location: ON BALDWIN RD. SO. OF TICONDEROGA

  • OPPOSITE THIS SPOT ON THE
    WEST BANK OF THE OUTLET OF
    LAKE GEORGE STOOD
    A BLOCKHOUSE
    AND FRENCH DEFENSES TO COVER
    THE BRIDGE AND LANDING PLACE.

  • REDOUBT
    LOTBINIERE
    BUILT BY THE FRENCH IN
    1756, CALLED BY THE BRITISH
    AND AMERICAN ARMIES
    THE GRENADIERS' BATTERY
    Location: ON FT. TICONDEROGA RESERVATION AT TICONDEROGA

  • REDOUBT
    LOTBINIERE
    BUILT BY THE FRENCH IN
    1756, CALLED BY THE BRITISH
    AND AMERICAN ARMIES
    THE GRENADIERS' BATTERY
    Location: ON FT. TICONDEROGA RESERVATION AT TICONDEROGA

  • SCENE OF
    [ARROW]
    ROGERS' BATTLE
    ON SNOWSHOES
    PREVIOUS TO HIS REPUTED GLIDE
    OFF ROGERS' ROCK
    1758
    Location: ON NYS 8 & NYS 9N ABOUT 1 MILE SOUTH OF TICONDEROGA

  • SCENE OF
    ARROW
    ROGERS' BATTLE
    ROGERS' BATTLE
    PREVIOUS TO HIS REPUTED GLIDE
    OFF ROGERS' ROCK
    1758
    Location: ON NYS 8 & NYS 9N ABOUT 1 MILE SOUTH OF TICONDEROGA

  • THE FRENCH LINES
    BUILT BY TROOPS UNDER
    MONTCALM JULY 6-7, 1758.
    REPARIED BY
    AMERICAN TROOPS 1776.
    Location: ON FT. TICONDEROGA RESERVATION AT TICONDEROGA

  • THE FRENCH LINES
    BUILT BY TROOPS UNDER
    MONTCALM JULY 6-7, 1758.
    REPAIRED BY
    AMERICAN TROOPS 1776.
    Location: ON FT. TICONDEROGA RESERVATION AT TICONDEROGA

  • THESE DEFENSES
    WERE BUILT BY AMERICAN
    TROOPS IN 1776 AND OCCUPIED
    BY GENERAL BURGOYNE IN 1777
    CONTROLLING THE PORTAGE
    AND LOWER LANDING PLACE
    Location: ON MT. HOPE AT TICONDEROGA

  • THESE DEFENSES
    WERE BUILT BY AMERICAN
    TROOPS IN 1776 AND OCCUPIED
    BY GENERAL BURGOYNE IN 1777
    CONTROLLING THE PORTAGE
    AND LOWER LANDING PLACE
    Location: ON MT. HOPE AT TICONDEROGA

  • [ARROW]
    ON HILL ABOVE
    MOUNT HOPE BATTERY
    OCCUPIED BY GENERAL BURGOYNE
    1777
    Location: ON MT/HOPE AVE. AT TICONDEROGA

  • [ARROW]
    ON HILL ABOVE
    MOUNT HOPE BATTERY
    OCCUPIED BY GENERAL BURGOYNE
    1777
    Location: ON MT/HOPE AVE. AT TICONDEROGA

County: ESSEX
Town: WESTPORT, TOWN OF

  • FIRST SAWMILL
    IN TOWN OF WESTPORT
    STOOD HERE. BUILT 1770
    BOARDS FROM MILL USED IN
    BUILDING BARRACKS AT
    CROWN POINT & TICONDEROGA
    Location: ON NYS 9N & NYS 22 ABOUT 3 MILES SOUTH OF WESTPORT

  • FIRST SAWMILL
    IN TOWN OF WESTPORT
    STOOD HERE. BUILT 1770
    BOARDS FROM MILL USED IN
    BUILDING BARRACKS AT
    CROWN POINT & TICONDEROGA
    Location: ON NYS 9N & NYS 22 ABOUT 3 MILES SOUTH OF WESTPORT

  • HERE STOOD THE
    FIRST TAVERN
    AT NORTHWEST BAY
    BUILT BY JOHN HALSTEAD
    ABOUT 1800
    Location: ON NYS 9N & NYS 22 ABOUT 3 MILES SOUTH OF WESTPORT

  • HERE STOOD THE
    FIRST TAVERN
    AT NORTHWEST BAY
    BUILT BY JOHN HALSTEAD
    ABOUT 1800
    Location: ON NYS 9N & NYS 22 ABOUT 3 MILES SOUTH OF WESTPORT

  • NORTHWEST
    BAY ROAD
    BEGUN PRIOR TO 1810, FROM
    WESTPORT VIA ELIZABETHTOWN,
    LAKE PLACID, SARANAC LAKE,
    SANTA CLARA, HOPKINTON
    Location: ON NYS 9N ABOUT 1 MILE WEST OF WESTPORT

  • NORTHWEST
    BAY ROAD
    BEGUN PRIOR TO 1810, FROM
    WESTPORT VIA ELIZABETHTOWN,
    LAKE PLACID, SARANAC LAKE,
    SANTA CLARA, HOPKINTON
    Location: ON NYS 9N ABOUT 1 MILE WEST OF WE

County: ESSEX
Town: WILLSBORO, TOWN OF

  • BOUQUET RIVER
    BURGOYNE'S ENCAMPMENT
    JUNE 20-25, 1777
    TREATY WITH THE INDIANS MADE
    AND PROCLAMATION ISSUED.
    Location: ON NYS 22 AT WILLSBORO

  • BOUQUET RIVER
    BURGOYNE'S ENCAMPMENT
    JUNE 20-25, 1777
    TREATY WITH THE INDIANS MADE
    AND PROCLAMATION ISSUED.
    Location: ON NYS 22 AT WILLSBORO

  • LAKEVIEW CEMETERY
    FIRST BURIAL 1791
    CONTAINS GRAVE OF
    WILLIAM GILLILAND, FOUNDER
    OF TOWN OF WILLSBORO
    Location: ON NYS 22 ABOUT 2 1/2 MILES SOUTH OF WILLSBORO

  • LAKEVIEW CEMETERY
    FIRST BURIAL 1791
    CONTAINS GRAVE OF
    WILLIAM GILLILAND, FOUNDER
    OF TOWN OF WILLSBORO
    Location: ON NYS 22 ABOUT 2ᄑ MILES SOUTH OF WILLSBORO

  • MASONIC HALL
    ESSEX LODGE NO. 152
    CHARTERED FEBRUARY 14,
    1806; DISCONTINUED
    IN 1826.
    Location: ON NYS 22 ABOUT 2ᄑ MILES SOUTH OF WILLSBORO

  • MASONIC HALL
    ESSEX LODGE NO. 152
    CHARTERED FEBRUARY 14,
    1806; DISCONTINUED
    IN 1826.
    Location: ON NYS 22 ABOUT 2ᄑ MILES SOUTH OF WILLSBORO

  • MASONIC HALL
    ESSEX LODGE NO. 152
    CHARTERED FEBRUARY 14,
    1806; DISCONTINUED
    IN 1826.
    Location: ON NYS 22 ABOUT 2 1/2 MILES SOUTH OF WILLSBORO

  • MEMORIAL CEMETERY
    FIRST BURIAL 1793
    CONTAINS GRAVE OF MARTIN
    AIKEN, LEADER OF AIKEN'S
    VOLUNTEERS AT BATTLE
    OF PLATTSBURGH
    Location: ON NYS 22 ABOUT ᄑ MI. SOUTH OF WILLSBORO

  • MEMORIAL CEMETERY
    FIRST BURIAL 1793
    CONTAINS GRAVE OF MARTIN
    AIKEN, LEADER OF AIKEN'S
    VOLUNTEERS AT BATTLE
    OF PLATTSBURGH
    Location: ON NYS 22 ABOUT 1/2 MILES SOUTH OF WILLSBORO

  • NEAR HERE
    EBENEZER ALLEN
    CAPTURED BRITISH SOLDIERS
    AND MILITARY STORES AFTER
    SURRENDER AT SARATOGA
    Location: ON NYS 22 ABOUT ᄑ MILE NORTH OF ESSEX

  • NEAR HERE
    EBENEZER ALLEN
    CAPTURED BRITISH SOLDIERS
    AND MILITARY STORES AFTER
    SURRENDER AT SARATOGA
    Location: ON NYS 22 ABOUT 1/2 MILE NORTH OF ESSEX

  • SITE OF
    FIRST HOUSE
    BUILT BY WILLIAM
    GILLILAND IN 1765
    Location: ON NYS 22 AT WILLSBORO

  • SITE OF
    FIRST HOUSE
    BUILT BY WILLIAM
    GILLILAND IN 1765
    Location: ON NYS 22 AT WILLSBORO

  • WILLISBORO
    FOUNDED IN 1765 BY
    WILLIAM GILLILAND;
    TOWN FORMED 1788;
    COUNTY SEAT OF ESSEX
    COUNTY 1797-1807
    Location: ON NYS 22 AT WILLSBORO

  • WILLSBORO
    FOUNDED IN 1765 BY
    WILLIAM GILLILAND;
    TOWN FORMED 1788;
    COUNTY SEAT OF ESSEX
    COUNTY 1797-1807
    Location: ON NYS 22 AT WILLSBORO

  • WILLSBORO
    FOUNDED IN 1765 BY
    WILLIAM GILLILAND;
    TOWN FORMED 1788;
    COUNTY SEAT OF ESSEX
    COUNTY 1797-1807
    Location: ON NYS 22 AT WILLSBORO

County: FRANKLIN
Town: BANGOR, TOWN OF

  • BANGOR'S FIRST SETTLER
    JOSEPH PLUMB, REVOLUTIONARY
    SOLDIER, CAME FROM BRATTLEBORO,
    VT. TO THIS FARM, WITH OXEN
    YOKED ON A SLED
    Location: ON US 11 AT NORTH BANGOR

  • OLD MILITARY
    TURNPIKE
    PLATTSBURGH TO HOPKINTON
    VIA. ELLENBURG, CHATEAUGAY
    MALONE. BEGUN BY MILITARY
    LABOR 1817. COMPLETED IN 1826.
    Location: ON NYS 11B AT BANGOR

County: FRANKLIN
Town: BELLMONT, TOWN OF

  • ON THIS SITE
    WAS BUILT IN 1874
    THE WORLD'S LARGEST
    CATALAN FORGE
    ABANDONED IN 1893
    Location: ON NYS 374 ABOUT 1 MI. S. OF BRAINARDSVILLE

County: FRANKLIN
Town: BOMBAY, TOWN OF

  • "LOST DAUPHIN" COTTAGE
    IN THIS DWELLING LIVED
    ELEAZER WILLIAMS
    WHO CLAIMED TO BE SON
    OF LOUIS XVI OF FRANCE
    Location: ON NYS 37 AT HOGANSBURG

  • GRAVE OF
    ELEAZER WILLIAMS
    EPISCOPAL CLERGYMAN
    MISSIONARY TO INDIANS
    REPUTED THE "LOST DAUPHIN",
    SON OF LOUIS XVI
    Location: ON TOWN RD. AT HOGANSBURG

  • HOME OF
    WILLIAM HOGAN
    FOUNDER OF HOGANSBURG
    MEMBER OF UNITED STATES
    CONGRESS, 1831-33
    Location: ON NYS 37 AT HOGANSBURG

  • ON THIS SITE
    WAS ERECTED
    FRANKLIN COUNTY'S FIRST
    CATHOLIC CHURCH, 1834
    Location: ON TOWN RD. AT HOGANSBURG

County: FRANKLIN
Town: BRIGHTON, TOWN OF

  • NORTHWEST
    BAY ROAD
    BEGUN PRIOR TO 1810. FROM
    WESTPORT VIA. ELIZABETHTOWN,
    LAKE PLACID, SARANAC LAKE,
    SANTA CLARA, HOPKINTON
    Location: ON NYS 192 AT GABRIELS

County: FRANKLIN
Town: BURKE, TOWN OF

  • SITE OF
    FIRST STORE IN BURKE
    ERECTED AND OPERATED BY
    DANIEL MITCHELL AT
    THAYERS CORNERS
    DESTROYED BY TORNADO, 1856
    Location: AT THAYERS CNRS. ON US 11 3 MIS. W. OF CHATEAUGAY

County: FRANKLIN
Town: CHATEAUGAY, TOWN OF

  • FORT HICKORY
    SITE OF BLOCKHOUSE OCCUPIED
    DURING WAR OF 1812 BY
    SAMUEL HOLLENBECK, WHO
    ONCE DEFENDED IT SINGLE
    HANDED AGAINST ATTACK
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 1 MI. S. OF EARLVILLE

County: FRANKLIN
Town: DICKINSON, TOWN OF

  • OLD MILITARY
    TURNPIKE
    PLATTSBURGH TO HOPKINTON
    VIA. ELLENBURG, CHATEAUGAY
    MALONE. BEGUN BY MILITARY
    LABOR 1817. COMPLETED IN 1826.
    Location: ON NYS 11B AT E. DICKINSON

County: FRANKLIN
Town: DUANE, TOWN OF

  • NORTHWEST
    BAY ROAD
    BEGUN PRIOR TO 1810. FROM
    WESTPORT VIA. ELIZABETHTOWN,
    LAKE PLACID, SARANAC LAKE,
    SANTA CLARA, HOPKINTON
    Location: ON NYS 72 ABOUT 3 MIS. N. OF MCCOLLOMS

County: FRANKLIN
Town: FORT COVINGTON, TOWN OF

  • FIRST BAPTIST
    CHURCH
    ORGANIZED 1821. BUILDING
    ERECTED 1829. THIRD CHURCH
    BUILT IN FRANKLIN CO. NOW
    USED AS MASONIC TEMPLE
    Location: ON SALMON ST. AT FORT COVINGTON

  • ON THIS SITE
    WAS BUILT IN 1812
    A BLOCKHOUSE. USED TO
    SHELTER SICK AND WOUNDED
    AFTER THE RETREAT FROM
    CHRYSLER'S FIELD IN 1813
    Location: ON COVINGTON LA. AT FORT COVINGTON

  • PRESBYTERIAN
    CHURCH
    ORGANIZED ABOUT 1821.
    ORIGINAL BUILDING ERECTED
    1828. REBUILT AND
    ENLARGED 1866.
    Location: ON COVINGTON ST. AT FORT COVINGTON.

  • SITE OF
    FORT COVINGTON
    WINTER QUARTERS OF GEN.
    WILKINSON'S ARMY AFTER
    DEFEAT AT CHRYSLER'S FIELD
    WAR OF 1812
    Location: ON MAIN ST. AT FORT COVINGTON

  • THIS BUILDING
    WAS HEADQUARTERS OF
    GENERAL JACOB BROWN
    AMERICAN ARMY OFFICER
    DURING WINTER OF 1813-14
    IN WAR OF 1812
    Location: ON MAIN ST. AT FORT COVINGTON

County: FRANKLIN
Town: HARRIETSTOWN, TOWN OF

  • NORTHWEST
    BAY ROAD
    BEGUN PRIOR TO 1810. FROM
    WESTPORT VIA. ELIZABETHTOWN,
    LAKE PLACID, SARANAC LAKE,
    SANTA CLARA, HOPKINTON
    Location: ON NYS 86 AT NORTH END OF VLGE. OF SARANAC LAKE

County: FRANKLIN
Town: MALONE, TOWN OF

  • ARSENAL GREEN
    DEEDED TO STATE 1812 FOR
    PUBLIC PARADE GROUND.
    USED ON TRAINING DAYS.
    STONE ARSENAL BUILT 1812,
    REMAINED UNTIL ABOUT 1855
    Location: ON EAST MAIN ST. AT MALONE

  • CONGREGATIONAL
    CHURCH
    ORGANIZED 1807. FIRST CHURCH
    BUILDING IN COUNTY 1826;
    SECOND 1856; PRESENT 1883.
    FIRST PASTOR, ASHBEL PARMELEE
    Location: ON EAST MAIN ST. AT MALONE

  • FRANKLIN ACADEMY
    FIRST SCHOOL TAUGHT 1806;
    CALLED HARISON ACADEMY 1811.
    CHARTERED 1831 AS FRANKLIN
    ACADEMY. 73 MEN MORTGAGED
    THEIR FARMS TO SUPPLY FUNDS.
    Location: ON WEBSTER ST. AT MALONE

  • HARISON HOUSE
    HOME OF RICHARD L. HARISON
    1747-1829. MEMBER OF FEDERAL
    CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION
    1788. GENERAL WILKINSON'S
    HEADQUARTERS IN WAR OF 1812.
    Location: ON WEBSTER ST. AT MALONE

  • HOME OF
    WILLIAM ALMON WHEELER
    1819-87; ATTORNEY, BANKER,
    ASSEMBLYMAN, STATE SENATOR,
    CONGRESSMAN, VICE PRESIDENT
    OF UNITED STATES 1877-81.
    Location: ON ELM ST. AT MALONE

  • OLD MILITARY
    TURNPIKE
    PLATTSBURGH TO HOPKINTON
    VIA. ELLENBURG, CHATEAUGAY
    MALONE. BEGUN BY MILITARY
    LABOR 1817. COMPLETED IN 1826.
    Location: ON NYS 11B AT MALONE

  • SITE OF
    FOOTE TAVERN
    1807-13; U.S. HOSPITAL 1813-14
    ORIGINAL HOUSE MOVED TO
    FRANKLIN STREET 1892 AND
    SITE USED FOR ARMORY
    Location: ON WEST MAIN ST. AT MALONE

County: FRANKLIN
Town: MOIRA, TOWN OF

  • FIRST SCHOOL
    BUILDING IN TOWN OF MOIRA
    STOOD ON THIS SITE
    BUILT OF LOGS
    ABOUT 1807
    Location: ON US 11 AT MOIRA

  • SITE OF FIRST
    STARCH FACTORY
    IN TOWN OF MOIRA. BUILT
    1851 BY COL. C.A. STONE
    AND CAPT. WM. A. TUPPER
    Location: ON US 11 AT WESTERN EDGE OF BRUSHTON

  • SITE OF HOME
    LUTHER BRADISH
    LT. GOV. NEW YORK 1838-40
    SPEAKER OF ASSEMBLY IN 1838
    SPECIAL UNITED STATES ENVOY
    TO CONSTANTINOPLE, 1820
    Location: ON NYS 95 ABOUT 2 1/2 MIS. N. OF MOIRA

  • UNION CHURCH
    ERECTED HERE ABOUT 1833
    BY CHRISTIAN AND M.E.
    DENOMINATIONS
    FIRST CHURCH IN COUNTY
    PRESENT CHURCH BUILT 1867
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. AT MOIRA

County: FRANKLIN
Town: SANTA CLARA, TOWN OF

  • JENNINGS ROAD
    USED BY U.S. TROOPS
    WAR OF 1812
    MARCHING WEST FROM
    LAKE CHAMPLAIN TO
    LAKE ONTARIO
    Location: ON NYS 72 ABOUT 6 MIS. SE OF SANTA CLARA

  • NORTHWEST
    BAY ROAD
    BEGUN PRIOR TO 1810. FROM
    WESTPORT VIA. ELIZABETHTOWN,
    LAKE PLACID, SARANAC LAKE,
    SANTA CLARA, HOPKINTON
    Location: ON NYS 72 AT SANTA CLARA

  • OLDEST BUILDING
    TOWN OF SANTA CLARA
    FORMER RAILROAD STATION
    BUILT BY JOHN HURD
    WHO BUILT RAILROAD
    IN 1889
    Location: ON NYS 72 AT SANTA CLARA

County: FRANKLIN
Town: WAVERLY, TOWN OF

  • TURNPIKE
    PORT KENT TO HOPKINTON
    BUILT 1829-32, VIA.
    AUSABLE FORKS, BLACK BROOK,
    FRANKLIN FALLS, LOON LAKE
    ST. REGIS FALLS, HOPKINTON
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 1 MI. N. OF ST. REGIS FALLS

County: FRANKLIN
Town: WESTVILLE, TOWN OF

  • MAN HOMESTEAD
    OCCUPIED BY DR. ALBON AND
    ALRIC MAN, BROTHERS FROM
    VERMONT 1802. HOUSE
    BUILT PRIOR TO 1810. BOTH
    OFFICERS IN WAR OF 1812
    Location: ON CO. RD. 2 MIS. W. OF CONSTABLE

  • SITE OF
    FIRST CHURCH IN WESTVILLE
    WESTVILLE FREE CHURCH
    ERECTED IN 1837
    Location: ON NYS 37 AT WESTVILLE

County: FULTON
Town: BROADALBIN, TOWN OF

  • FRENCHMANS' CREEK
    IN 1810 DUNCAN MC MARTIN ON THIS
    CREEK BUILT A SAW, GRIST & WOOLEN
    MILL. HE WAS SURVEYOR, LAWYER,
    JUDGE COURT COMMON PLEAS 1813;
    LATER ELECTED STATE SENATOR.
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. AT NORTH BROADALBIN

  • HANS' CREEK
    NAMED BY SIR WM JOHNSON
    AFTER A FISHING TRIP WITH
    JOHN CONYE WHO FELL OUT OF THE
    BOAT AND NEARLY DROWNED. HANS
    BEING THE NAME FOR JOHN.
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. AT BENEDICT

County: FULTON
Town: JOHNSTOWN, CITY OF

  • 1763
    THE DRUMM HOUSE
    HOME OF EDWARD WALL SCHOOL-
    MASTER SIR WILLIAM JOHNSON'S
    FREE SCHOOL
    Location: AT INTERSECTION W. GREEN ST. AND N. WILLIAM ST.

  • CANNON
    TAKEN FROM JOHNSON HALL BY
    SIR JOHN JOHNSON ON HIS
    FLIGHT TO CANADA MAY 1776
    SPIKED AND ABANDONED NEAR
    TRAIL IN ADIRONDACKS
    Location: AT E. END OF BLOCKHOUSE AT JOHNSON HALL

  • ERECTED 1772
    ONLY COLONIAL COURT HOUSE
    IN STATE OF NEW YORK
    FIRST COURT GENERAL
    SESSIONS, TRYON COUNTY,
    SEPTEMER 8, 1772
    Location: AT INTERSECTION N. WILLIAM ST. & W. MAIN ST.

  • FORT JOHNSTOWN
    IMPORTANT FRONTIER CIVIL
    AND MILITARY PRISON DURING
    REVOLUTION. INSPECTED BY
    WASHINGTON IN 1783
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF S. PERRY ST. AND MONTGOMERY ST.

  • JAMES BURK'S INN
    MOVED HERE ABOUT 1788. LOT
    FORMERLY SIR WM JOHNSON'S.
    VILLAGE CALLED JOHN'S TOWN.
    YOUNGLOVE HOME 1812-1926.
    D.A.R. CHAPTER HOUSE 1926.
    Location: AT INTERSECTION SO. WILLIAM ST. & W. MONTGOMERY ST.

  • JOHNSON HALL 1762
    BARONIAL HOME OF SIR
    WILLIAM JOHNSON. ONE OF THE
    MOST HISTORIC COLONIAL
    BUILDINGS IN THE UNITED STATES.
    Location: ON WEST STATE ST.

  • JOHNSON TRAIL
    USED BY SIR WM. JOHNSON
    1762-1774 BETWEEN FORT
    JOHNSON AND JOHNSON HALL
    A BI-CENTENNIAL IN 1938
    CELEBRATED HIS ARRIVAL
    IN AMERICA
    Location: ON WEST STATE ST.

  • UNION HALL
    FAMOUS POST-REVOLUTIONARY
    TAVERN, RESORT OF "NICK"
    STONER, ERECTED 1798 BY CAPT.
    JEAN BATISTE VAUMANE DE FON
    CLAIRE, FORMER OFFICER IN
    FRENCH ARMY UNDER LOUIS XVI
    Location: AT INTERSECTION E. MAIN ST. & E. STATE ST.

  • [ARROW]
    1 MILE TO
    BARONIAL HOME OF
    SIR WILLIAM JOHNSON
    ERECTED 1762
    OPEN TO VISITORS
    Location: AT INTERSECTION S. WILLIAM ST. & W. MADISON AVE.

  • [ARROW]
    BARONIAL HOME OF
    SIR WILLIAM JOHNSON
    ERECTED 1762
    OPEN TO VISITORS
    Location: AT INTERSECTION W. STATE ST. AND HALL AVE.

  • [ARROW]
    BATTLEFIELD
    BATTLE OF JOHNSTOWN
    FOUGHT HERE OCTOBER
    25, 1781. LAST
    REAL BATTLE OF
    THE REVOLUTION
    Location: ON TOWN RD. AT N.W. LIMITS OF CITY

  • [ARROW]
    GRAVE OF SIR
    WILLIAM JOHNSON
    MOST OUTSTANDING FIGURE
    OF COLONIAL PERIOD. "BUILDER
    OF AN EMPIRE"
    (1715-1774)
    Location: ON N. MARKET ST. IN FRONT OF ST. JOHN'S CHURCH

  • [ARROW]
    1/2 MILE TO
    BARONIAL HOME OF
    SIR WILLIAM JOHNSON
    ERECTED 1762
    OPEN TO VISITORS
    Location: AT INTERSECTION N. WILLIAM ST. & W. GREEN ST.

  • [ARROW]
    COLONIAL
    CEMETERY
    REMAINS OF MANY JOHNSTOWN
    NOTABLES OF COLONIAL
    AND REVOLUTIONARY DAYS
    BURIED HERE
    Location: ON WEST GREEN ST.

  • [ARROW] NORTH
    SITE OF
    FIRST ST. JOHN'S CHURCH (1760)
    ERECTED BY SIR WILLIAM JOHNSON;
    FIRST CHURCH OF ENGLAND NORTH
    OF THE MOHAWK RIVER
    Location: AT INTERSECTION W. GREEN ST. AND N. WILLIAM ST.

County: FULTON
Town: MAYFIELD, TOWN OF

  • BAPTIST CHURCH
    OF MAYFIELD AND BROADALBIN
    ORGANIZED HERE IN 1792,
    THEN THE HOME OF CALEB
    WOODWORTH, SOLDIER OF
    REVOLUTION, FIRST SETTLER
    Location: ON NYS 148 ABOUT 4 MIS. N.E. OF GLOVERSVILLE

  • INDIAN RAID
    JACOB DUNHAM AND SAMUEL,
    HIS SON, KILLED HERE APRIL
    1779. OTHERS OF THE FAMILY
    ESCAPED BY HIDING IN THE
    WOODS. SITE OF THEIR HOME
    Location: ON NYS 30 ABOUT 3/4 MILE NORTH OF MAYFIELD

  • RICE HOMESTEAD
    BUILT ABOUT 1790 BY
    OLIVER RICE
    A SOLDIER OF THE AMERICAN
    REVOLUTION, SERVING UNDER
    GENERAL WASHINGTON
    Location: ON NYS 148 AT RICEVILLE

  • SITE OF
    ROMEYN'S MILL
    ERECTED 1773 BY SIR WILLIAM
    JOHNSON. REBUILT BY COL.
    ABRAHAM ROMEYN. COMMANDER
    MONTGOMERY COUNTY MILITIA
    Location: ON NYS 30 AT MAYFIELD

  • [ARROW]
    BURYING GROUND
    OF MAJOR HARMON AND
    FRANCIS VAN BUREN, SEVENTH
    ALBANY COUNTY REGIMENT;
    REVOLUTIONARY WAR.
    SETTLERS ON THIS LAND.
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 2 MIS. S.E. OF MAYFIELD

  • [ARROW]
    KING CEMETERY
    HENRY KING AND SON JOHN
    SETTLED ON THIS SITE AND
    ARE BURIED HERE. GRAVES
    OF REVOLUTIONARY SOLDIERS
    AND PIONEERS OF 1788-1815.
    Location: ON NYS 148 ABOUT 1 1/2 MIS. S.W. OF NORTHVILLE

  • [ARROW]
    BURYING GROUND
    GRAVES OF CAPTAIN GERSHOM
    WOODWORTH, FRENCH AND INDIAN
    AND REVOLUTIONARY WARS AND
    SERGEANT SELAH WOODWORTH OF
    REVOLUTION; MAYFIELD PIONEER.
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 1/4 MILE WEST OF MAYFIELD

  • [ARROW]
    SITE OF
    DUTCH REFORMED CHURCH OF
    MAYFIELD, 1793-1826.
    CHURCHYARD CONTAINING
    REMAINS OF MANY
    PIONEERS OF THIS SECTION.
    Location: ON NYS 30 AT MAYFIELD

  • [ARROW]
    WOODWORTH FARM
    CONVEYED BY COMMISSIONERS
    OF FORFEITURE TO WILLIAM G.
    WOODWORTH IN 1786. SERVED IN
    REVOLUTION. PASSED TO HIRAM
    WOODWORTH 1810-1910.
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1 1/2 MI. W. MAYFIELD

  • [ARROW]
    RICEVILLE CEMETERY
    HERE ARE BURIED JONATHAN FISK-
    OLIVER RICE-WILLIAM WOODWORTH-
    SAMUEL WOODWORTH-JESSE FOOTE-
    ISAAC BEMIS-JONATHAN CANFIELD-
    SOLDIERS OF THE REVOLUTION
    Location: ON NYS 148 AT RICEVILLE

County: FULTON
Town: NORTHAMPTON, TOWN OF

  • "FISH HOUSE"
    OF SIR WM. JOHNSON 1500
    FT. NORTHEAST OF THIS MARKER
    BUILT 1762. VILLAGE DERIVED
    NAME FROM LODGE. BURNED
    BY TORIES AND INDIANS, 1781
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT NORTHAMPTON

  • COVERED BRIDGE
    ERECTED 1818, BY STATE, AT
    FISH HOUSE OVER SACANDAGA
    RIVER. D. STEWART, BUILDER.
    JACOB SHEW, ASSEMBLYMAN.
    TORN DOWN 1930. 2000 FT. NORTH
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT NORTHAMPTON

  • GODFREY SHEW
    FIRST SETTLER FISH HOUSE
    UNDER SIR WM. JOHNSON, 1762
    SONS, JOHN, STEPHEN, JACOB
    CAPTURED IN TORY & INDIAN RAID
    JUNE 3, 1778. TAKEN TO CANADA
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT NORTHAMPTON

  • MARVIN HOUSE
    BUILT 1815 SITE SIR WM. JOHNSON'S
    FISH HOUSE BY DAVID MARVIN, CONN.
    REV. SOLDIER; HIS SON, DR. L.I. MARVIN
    ASSEMBLYMAN 1840 FROM FULTON
    CO. HOUSE MOVED 1929.
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT NORTHAMPTON

  • SHEW HOUSE
    BUILT 1784 BY GODFREY SHEW
    AND HIS SONS JOHN, STEPHEN
    AND JACOB AFTER THEIR RETURN
    FROM CANADA AS PRISONERS OF
    COL. ROSS ON JUNE 3, 1778
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT NORTHAMPTON

  • SHEW'S HILL
    ON JUNE 3, 1778 GODFREY SHEW
    STATIONED HIS SON JACOB TO
    REPORT APPROACH TORY AND INDIAN
    RAIDERS UNDER COL. ROSS.
    LATER FAMILY MADE PRISONERS.
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT NORTHAMPTON

  • ST JOHN HOUSE
    BUILT 1795 BY ALEX. ST. JOHN
    ON CONFISCATED LANDS OF
    COL. GUY JOHNSON, NEPHEW
    OF SIR WILLIAM JOHNSON
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT NORTHAMPTON

County: GENESEE
Town: ALABAMA, TOWN OF

  • FORK OF GREAT
    CENTRAL TRAIL
    DATING FROM 16TH CENTURY
    SW BRANCH TO BUFFALO
    NW BRANCH TO LEWISTON
    DEDICATED SEPT. 7, 1931
    Location: ON MEADVILLE R. AT TONAWANDA CREEK

  • HOMESTEAD OF
    ELY PARKER
    SECRETARY TO GENERAL GRANT
    BORN IN 1828, DIED IN 1895
    SACHEM OF THE WOLF CLAIN
    SENECA TITLE DO-NE-HO-GA-WA
    Location: ON LEDGE RD. ABOUT 2 MILES SOUTHWEST OF BASOM

County: GENESEE
Town: BATAVIA, TOWN OF

  • BATAVIA
    SEAT OF HOLLAND LAND
    OFFICE. THIS CITY WAS
    FOUNDED IN 1801 BY JOSEPH
    ELLICOTT, LOCAL AGENT OF
    HOLLAND LAND COMPANY
    Location: ON NYS 5 IN CITY OF BATAVIA

County: GENESEE
Town: LEROY, TOWN OF

  • GANSON TAVERN
    FIRST SETTLEMENT BETWEEN
    GENESEE RIVER AND BUFFALO
    TAVERN CONDUCTED BY
    CHARLES WILBUR 1793
    CAPT. JOHN GANSON 1797
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT LEROY VILLAGE LINE

  • LEROY HOUSE
    BUILT BEFORE 1812 AS A
    LAND OFFICE FOR THE
    TRIANGLE TRACT
    DEEDED TO UNION FREE
    SCHOOL DISTRICT 1911
    Location: ON NYS 5 IN VILLAGE OF LEROY

County: GREENE
Town: ASHLAND, TOWN OF

  • EARLY CHURCH
    FIRST CONGREATIONAL
    CHURCH OF ASHLAND
    BUILT HERE IN
    OLD WINDHAM 1799
    Location: ON NYS 23 ABOUT 1/2 MI. E. OF E. ASHLAND

  • TRINITY
    CHURCH
    INC. MAY 20, 1799
    EARLIEST EPISCOPAL
    ORGANIZATION OF OLD
    TOWN OF WINDHAM
    Location: ON NYS 23 AT E. ASHLAND

County: GREENE
Town: ATHENS, TOWN OF

  • A. VAN LOON
    HOUSE
    BUILT 1724 BY
    ALBERTUS VAN LOON
    OCCUPIED AS RESIDENCE
    SINCE DATE OF ERECTION
    Location: ON NYS 385 AT ATHENS

  • BLACK HORSE
    INN
    BUILT IN 1791
    BY ISAAC HALLENBECK
    Location: ON US 9W ABOUT 3 MIS. N.W. OF ATHENS

  • JAN VAN LOON
    HOUSE
    BUILT 1706 BY JAN VAN LOON
    CHIEF HOLDER LOONEBURGH
    PAT. 1688. ATHENS VILLAGE
    FIRST CALLED LOONEBURGH
    Location: ON NYS 385 AT ATHENS

  • NORTHRUP
    HOUSE
    BUILT 1803
    HOME OF ISAAC NORTHRUP
    FOUNDER OF ATHENS VILLAGE
    INCORPORATED 1805
    Location: ON NYS 385 AT ATHENS

County: GREENE
Town: CAIRO, TOWN OF

  • BARKER PATENT
    FIRST SETTLEMENT IN
    TOWN OF CAIRO
    BY JAMES BARKER AND
    TENANTRY IN 1791
    Location: ON NYS 32 ABOUT 1 MILE NORTH OF CAIRO

  • BELL FACTORY
    OF WILLIAM BARTON
    EARLIEST AMERICAN MAKER
    OF SLEIGH BELLS
    STOOD ON THIS STREAM
    1828
    Location: ON NYS 23 & NYS 145, S. CAIRO

  • IRON FORGE
    OF ENOCH HYDE AND
    BENJAMIN HALL STOOD AT
    FIRST FALL 1788
    FIRST IN GREENE COUNTY
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. AT PURLING

  • MASSACRE 1780
    JOHANNES STROPE & WIFE
    KILLED BY INDIANS
    FREDERICK SCHERMERHORN
    CARRIED CAPTIVE TO CANADA
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 1 1/2 MIS. SOUTHWEST OF PURLING

County: GREENE
Town: CATSKILL, TOWN OF

  • "UNCLE SAM"
    BRIDGE
    SAMUEL WILSON, WHOSE NAME
    INSPIRED NATIONAL SYMBOL
    "UNCLE SAM" LIVED NEARBY
    FROM 1817-1822
    Location: ON W. BRIDGE ST., CATSKILL

  • 100 RODS NORTH [ARROW]
    STOOD THE FIRST
    GRIST MILL
    IN GREENE COUNTY
    BUILT IN 1675 BY
    DIRCK T. VAN VECHTEN
    Location: ON WATER ST., CATSKILL

  • CATSKILL
    PACKET
    FIRST NEWSPAPER IN COUNTY
    PRINTED ON THIS SITE
    BY MACKAY CROSWELL & CO.
    AUGUST 6, 1792
    Location: AT INTRSCTN. GREEN & MAIN STS. CATSKILL

  • HOME OF
    REV. JOHANNES SCHUNEMAN
    "DUTCH DOMINIE OF
    THE CATSKILLS"
    BUILT 1792
    Location: ON TOWN RD., JEFFERSON HGTS.

  • HOP-O-NOSE
    SITE OF INDIAN VILLAGE
    PURCHASED FROM INDIANS
    IN 1682
    LOVERIDGE PATENT
    Location: ON MAIN ST., CATSKILL

  • MARTIN
    VAN BUREN
    8TH PRESIDENT OF THE U.S.
    WAS MARRIED IN THIS HOUSE
    TO HANNAH HOES IN 1807.
    HOUSE BUILT IN 1797.
    Location: ON W. MAIN ST., CATSKILL

  • OLD KATSKILL
    HOUSE
    BUILT IN 1729 BY GARRET VAN
    BERGEN. BARN BUILT 1680 BY
    MARTE GERRETSE VAN BERGEN.
    FORMERLY INDIAN VILLAGE SITE.
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1/2 MI. S. OF LEEDS

  • OLD KATSKILL
    [ARROW]
    REFORMED DUTCH CHURCH OF
    KATSKILL AND KOCKSHACKIE
    STOOD ON THIS HILL
    BUILT 1733
    Location: ON TN. RD. ABOUT 1/2 MI. S. OF LEEDS

  • PAPER MILL
    FIRST IN GREENE COUTNY
    1/4 MILE AT FOOT OF HILL
    BUILT IN 1800 BY
    NATHAN BENJAMIN
    Location: NYS 23 & 145, JEFFERSON HGTS.

  • PIETER SOUSER'S INN
    PLACE WHERE POLITICAL
    MEETINGS WERE HELD
    BEFORE 1797
    RACETRACK OF THE
    PIONEERS NEAR BY
    Location: ON NYS 23 & 145 AT JEFFERSON HGTS.

  • SITE OF
    FIRST LOG HOUSE
    IN THIS VILLAGE
    BUILT IN 1675
    STOOD 100 FEET SOUTH
    ALONG ROAD TO
    FORDING PLACE
    Location: ON NYS 23 & 145, LEEDS

  • STONE HOUSE
    BUILT IN 1762 BY
    LIEUT. COL. CORNELIUS DUBOIS.
    SURRENDER OF CORNWALLIS
    CELEBRATED HERE.
    Location: ON W. MAIN ST., CATSKILL

  • [ARROW]
    PACHQUIACK
    "OPEN COUNTRY"
    PURCHASED FROM INDIANS
    BY JAN BRONK, 1675
    FORMERLY MADISON, NOW
    LEEDS
    Location: ON NYS 23, & 145, LEEDS

  • [ARROW]
    OLD INN
    OF MARTIN G. SCHUNEMAN
    BUILT 1796
    UNITED STATES CONGRESSMAN 1805-1807
    Location: ON NYS 23 & 145, LEEDS

  • [ARROW]
    INDIAN TRAIL
    TO
    FORT ON ROUND TOP
    NOW KAATERSKILL CLOVE
    Location: ON NYS 23A & 32A ABOUT 1/2 MI. WEST PALENVILLE

  • [ARROW]
    ABEEL HOUSE
    BUILT ABOUT 1721 IN
    THE BAK-OVEN
    REBUILT ABOUT 1752
    DAVID AND ANTHONY ABEEL
    CAPTURED BY INDIANS 1780
    Location: ON NYS 23A ABOUT 1 MILE EAST OF KISKATOM

  • [ARROW]
    HOUSE BUILT IN 1814
    BY
    CAPT. JOS. ALLEN
    SEA CAPTAIN
    DURING REVOLUTION
    Location: NYS 23 & 145, JEFFERSON HGTS.

  • [ARROW]
    FOOTPATH
    FROM OLD INDIAN FORT
    CALLED CASTEEL HOOGTE
    TO COXSACKIE
    Location: ON NYS 23 & 145 AT JEFFERSON HGTS.

County: GREENE
Town: COXSACKIE, TOWN OF

  • "FIRST HOUSE ON THE HILL"
    BUILT BY DR. JOHN ELY OF
    NEWRY, ALBANY COUNTY, ABOUT
    THE YEAR 1800.
    Location: ON ELY ST., COXSACKIE

  • BRONCK HOUSE
    OLDEST HOUSE USED AS SUCH
    IN GREENE COUNTY
    BUILT BY
    PIETER BRONCK
    1663
    Location: ON PRIVATE RD. 300 FT. OFF US 9W, 1 1/2 MI. S. OF COXSACKIE

County: GREENE
Town: DURHAM, TOWN OF

  • 1/2 MILE TO [ARROW]
    MEETING HOUSE HILL
    BRONZE TABLET AND BOULDER
    MARK THE SITE OF FIRST
    PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH, DURHAM
    ORGANIZED NOVEMBER 8, 1792
    Location: ON NYS 145, DURHAM

  • R.R. DISASTER
    IN 1840 ONE HALF MILE EAST
    TRAIN PLUNGED THROUGH TRESTLE
    INTO CREEK AT HIGH ROCK
    ENDED CAREER OF CANAJOHARIE-
    CATSKILL RAILROAD
    Location: ON NYS 145 ABOUT 2 1/2 MIS. W. OF VLG. OF EAST DURHAM

County: GREENE
Town: GREENVILLE, TOWN OF

  • BENJAMIN SPEES
    SETTLED HERE IN 1781
    IN A LOG CABIN
    BUILT BY A TORY
    Location: ON NYS 32 AT GREENVILLE

  • DR. JOHN ELY
    FIRST PHYSICIAN IN
    TOWN OF GREENVILLE
    LIVED IN THIS HOUSE
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 2 MIS. NORTH OF E. GREENVILLE

  • EARLY SAWMILL
    OWNED AND OPERATED BY
    ELEAZER KNOWLES
    STOOD ON THIS SITE
    Location: ON NYS 32 ABOUT 3 MI. S. OF GREENVILLE

  • FIRST SCHOOL
    A CABIN BUILT OF LOGS
    STOOD ON THIS SITE
    FIRST TEACHER WAS A SON OF
    REV. ELEAZER HOTCHKIN
    Location: ON NYS 32 AT GREENVILLE

  • GREENVILLE
    1803 TOWN TAKEN FROM
    FREEHOLD AND COXSACKIE
    CALLED GREENFIELD, FIRST
    TOWN MEETING HELD
    1809 NAMED GREENVILLE
    Location: AT INTRSCTON. NYS 32 & 81 AT GREENVILLE

  • SITE OF
    EARLY TANNERY
    OWNED BY DANIEL MILLER
    WHO CAME FROM
    EAST HAMPTON, L.I.
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 2 MIS. NORTH OF E. GREENVILLE

  • SITE OF LOG CABIN OF
    ELEAZER
    KNOWLES
    PIONEER WHO SETTLED HERE
    IN 1781 ON A 600 ACRE LOT
    Location: ON NYS 32 ABOUT 1 MI. S. OF GREENVILLE

  • SITE OF LOG CABIN OF
    EDWARD LAKE
    PIONEER WHO SETTLED HERE
    IN 1781 ON A 600 ACRE LOT
    Location: ON NYS 32 AT GREENVILLE

County: GREENE
Town: PRATTSVILLE, TOWN OF

  • REFORMED
    CHURCH
    FIRST IN MOUNTAIN TOWNS
    OF GREENE COUNTY
    ORGANIZED IN 1798
    CHURCH BUILT IN 1804
    Location: ON NYS 23 AT PRATTSVILLE

County: GREENE
Town: WINDHAM, TOWN OF

  • [ARROW]
    AGAINST THIS ROCK
    GEORGE STIMSON
    FIRST SETTLER OF THE
    TOWN OF WINDHAM
    BUILT HIS LOG CABIN
    IN 1785
    Location: ON NYS 23 AT WINDHAM

  • [ARROW]
    FIRST
    LOG HOUSE
    BUILT HERE IN 1818
    BY JOHN HENSON
    FOUNDER OF HENSONVILLE
    Location: ON NYS 23 AT HENSONVILLE

County: HERKIMER
Town: COLUMBIA, TOWN OF

  • MASONIC LODGE
    BUILT BY D.V.W. GOLDEN 1812
    FOR WARREN LODGE NO. 155
    ORGANIZED MARCH 4, 1807
    CEASED PAYING DUES 1818.
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 2 MIS. W. OF ORENDORF CORNERS

  • ORENDORF BARN
    FIRST BUILDING WHERE
    RELIGIOUS SERVICE WAS HELD
    BODIES WERE BURIED UNTIL
    1803 AT NORTHEAST CORNER
    Location: ON NYS 28 ABOUT 1/2 MI. N. OF ORENDORF CORNERS

  • PETRIE'S CORNERS
    ON ROUTE OF SCOUT ADAM F.
    HELMER'S FAMOUS RUN TO WARN
    SETTLERS OF GERMAN FLATTS OF
    APPROACH OF BRANT'S INDIANS
    SEPTEMBER 17, 1778
    Location: AT INTERSECTION COUNTY RDS. AT COLUMBIA CENTER

  • PIONEER HOME
    OF COL. JACOB D. PETRIE,
    WHO WITH SIX SONS
    FOUNDED PETRIE'S CORNERS
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF COUNTY RDS. AT COLUMBIA CENTER

  • REFORMED PROTESTANT DUTCH
    CHURCH, ORGANIZED JULY 8,
    1798. CEMETERY DEDICATED
    1803. HAS 20 REVOLUTIONARY
    VETERANS AND 22
    SOLDIERS OF WAR OF 1812
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 1 MI. W. OF ORENDORF CORNERS

  • SITE OF
    FIRST STORE
    AND HOUSE BUILT BY DAVID
    V.W. GOLDEN BEFORE 1798,
    WHO WAS FIRST JUDGE OF
    COURT HELD AT WHITESTOWN.
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 1 1/2 MIS. W. OF ORENDORF CORNERS

  • SITE OF
    PIONEER HOME
    OF ANDREW MILLER & 6 SONS
    WHO FOUNDED MILLER'S MILLS
    ABOUT 1790. BUILT
    SAWMILL AND GRISTMILL.
    Location: ON TOWN RD. AT MILLERS MILLS

County: HERKIMER
Town: DANUBE, TOWN OF

  • FT. HENDRICK
    1754-1760
    BRITISH POST GUARDING
    MOHAWK CASTLE. NAMED FOR
    KING HENDRICK KILLED
    AT LAKE GEORGE, SEPT. 1755
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT LEROY VILLAGE LINE

County: HERKIMER
Town: FRANKFORT, TOWN OF

  • FOLTS HOMESTEAD
    ERECTED 1796 BY MAJOR WARNER FOLTS
    WHO SERVED IN WAR OF 1812 AT
    SACKETS HARBOR; MEMBER OF
    ASSEMBLY 1823-24. HOUSE OCCUPIED
    SINCE BY HIS DESCENDANTS
    Location: ON NYS 5S AT ILION

  • OLD REMINGTON HOMESTEAD
    BUILT IN 1799 BY ELIPHALET
    REMINGTON WHO FORGED THE
    FIRST REMINGTON GUN;
    BIRTHPLACE OF PHILO
    REMINGTON
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 4 MIS. S.W. OF ILION

County: HERKIMER
Town: GERMAN FLATTS, TOWN OF

  • F.E. SPINNER HOME
    HERKIMER CO. SHERIFF 1834
    MEMBER OF CONGRESS 1854-1860
    APPOINTED TREASURER OF THE
    UNITED STATES BY LINCOLN
    SERVED 1861-1875
    Location: ON NYS 5S & NYS 28 AT MOHAWK

  • MOHAWK'S FIRST
    PUBLIC SCHOOL
    BUILT IN 1809 ON THIS SITE. USED
    AS A SCHOOL UNTIL 1853. SERVED
    AS A CHURCH FOR FIVE YEARS.
    HOUSE NOW STANDS IN REAR
    Location: ON NYS 28 AT MOHAWK

  • SHOEMAKER TAVERN
    BUILT BEFORE THE REVOLUTION
    GEN. WASHINGTON HAD DINNER HERE
    UNDER TREE ON HIS VALLEY TOUR IN
    1783. WALTER BUTLER CAPTURED
    HERE; LATER ESCAPED ALBANY JAIL
    Location: ON NYS 5S AT MOHAWK

  • TRAIL OF SCOUT
    ADAM F. HELMER
    ENTERING MOHAWK VALLEY TO
    WARN GERMAN FLATTS OF APPROACH
    OF BRANT'S INDIANS, SEPT. 17,
    1778
    Location: ON NYS 5S AT MOHAWK

County: HERKIMER
Town: LITCHFIELD, TOWN OF

  • BIRTHPLACE OF
    JOHN CURTIS UNDERWOOD
    1809-1873
    U.S. DISTRICT JUDGE
    OF VIRGINIA. APPOINTED
    BY PRES. LINCOLN 1863
    Location: ON TN. RD. AT JERUSALEM HILL

  • BIRTHPLACE OF
    CHARLES F. WHEELOCK
    1849-1928
    SCHOOL TEACHER AND
    EDUCATOR FOR HALF CENTURY
    Location: ON TN. RD. ABOUT 1/2 MI. N. OF CRANES CORNERS

  • FURNACE SITE
    OF LITCHFIELD IRON MFG. CO.
    INCORPORATED 1813
    MAKERS OF PIG IRON AND
    VARIOUS KINDS OF
    IRON HOLLOW WARE
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1 MI. S. OF GULPH

  • HOME SITE OF
    ELIJAH SNOW
    WHO SETTLED HERE IN 1786
    LOCALITY THEN CALLED
    SNOW'S BUSH
    NOW LITCHFIELD
    Location: ON TN. RD. ABOUT 1 MI. N. OF CRANES CORNERS

  • HOME SITE OF

  • JERUSALEM
    HILL CEMETERY
    OLDEST BURIAL GROUND IN
    TOWN OF LITCHFIELD
    FIRST INTERMENT IN 1791
    Location: ON TOWN RD. AT JERUSALEM HILL

  • OLIVE BRANCH LODGE
    NO. 40, F. AND A.M.
    FIRST MEETING ON THIS SITE
    JULY 16, 1812. DEWITT CLINTON
    WAS GRAND MASTER AT THE TIME
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT CRANES CORNERS

  • SITE OF
    AVERY HOMESTEAD
    PURCHASED IN 1819 BY
    JOHN STANTON AVERY, ONE OF THE
    EARLIER SETTLERS IN LITCHFIELD.
    HOME DESTROYED
    BY FIRE IN 1934.
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 4 MIS. S.W. OF ILION

  • SITE OF HOME OF
    NATHANIEL BALL
    WHERE THE FIRST BAPTIST
    CHURCH IN LITCHFIELD
    WAS ORGANIZED
    MARCH 15, 1795
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 2 MIS. S. OF GULPH

County: HERKIMER
Town: NORWAY, TOWN OF

  • A RAIDING FORCE LED BY
    MAJOR ROSS & WALTER
    BUTLER WAS HERE ATTACKED
    BY COL. MARINUS WILLET'S
    PATRIOT SOLDIERS
    OCTOBER 30, 1781
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 3 MIS. S.E. OF GRAY

  • IN THIS CEMETERY ARE THE
    GRAVES OF SOLDIERS OF THE
    FOUR WARS
    FRENCH-INDIAN, REVOLUTION,
    WAR OF 1812, CIVIL WAR
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. AT NORWAY

County: HERKIMER
Town: OHIO, TOWN OF

  • WOOD HOME
    WHEELOCK WOOD (1794-1887)
    WIFE, HANNAH SOUTHWICK COMSTOCK
    (1797-1892) OF MASS. LOCATED HERE IN
    1829 AND BUILT THIS HOUSE.
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 4 MIS. E., GRAY

County: HERKIMER
Town: POLAND, TOWN OF

  • OCTAGONAL HOUSE
    BUILT ABOUT 1850 BY
    LINUS YALE
    INVENTOR OF THE
    YALE LOCK
    Location: ON NYS 28 AT NEWPORT

  • THE YALE LOCK
    WAS FIRST MADE BY
    LINUS YALE
    IN A SHOP ON THIS SITE
    1847
    Location: ON NYS 28 AT NEWPORT

County: HERKIMER
Town: SCHUYLER, TOWN OF

  • EAST OF THIS POINT
    OF BRIDENBECKER CREEK
    JOHN FINSTER BUILT THE
    FIRST SAWMILL
    OPERATED SUCCESSFULLY
    IN TOWN OF SCHUYLER
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 2 MIS. N. OF EAST SCHUYLER

  • FIRST CHURCH
    SCHOOL HOUSE
    IN TOWN OF SCHUYLER
    BUILT HERE IN 1809
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 3 MIS. N. OF EAST SCHUYLER

  • FIRST PUBLIC
    BURYING GROUND
    1766-1840
    IN TOWN OF SCHUYLER
    WAS LOCATED ON THIS FLAT
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 2 1/2 MIS. N. OF EAST SCHUYLER

  • NEW PETERSBURGH
    FORT
    A STOCKADE BUILT AND USED
    BY THE PIONEERS OF SCHUYLER
    PRIOR TO AND DURING
    THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION
    Location: ON NYS 5 ABOUT 3 MIS. WEST OF NORTH ILION

  • SITE OF HOME
    HEINRICH STARING
    B. 1730 - D. 1808
    CAPTAIN 4TH REGIMENT TRYON
    COUNTY MILITIA AND 1ST JUDGE
    OF COURT OF COMMON PLEAS
    OF HERKIMER COUNTY
    Location: ON NYS 5 ABOUT 4 MIS. EAST OF WEST SCHUYLER

County: HERKIMER
Town: WARREN, TOWN OF

  • HENDERSON HOUSE
    FORMER CRUGER MANSION
    GRANT 1739
    FRAME HOUSE BUILT 1787
    STONE HOUSE BUILT 1832
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 4 MIS. N. OF JORDANVILLE

  • JOHN TUNNICLIFF, JR.
    B. 1751, DERBY, ENGLAND, CAME
    TO AMERICA 1772; REVOLUTIONARY
    SOLDIER; SETTLED HERE 1793;
    DIED 1814; BURIED ONE MILE
    SOUTH, TUNNICLIFF CEMETERY.
    Location: ON US 20 AT WARREN

  • MARSHALL CEMETERY
    [ARROW] 1/2 MILE
    JOHN MARSHALL, 1764-1863
    REVOLUTIONARY SOLDIER; WITH
    WASHINGTON AT YORKTOWN; WITNESSED
    SURRENDER OF
    CORNWALLIS.
    Location: ON US 20 AT WARREN

  • SITE OF
    PAUL CRIM HOUSE
    PAUL CRIM CAME FROM GERMANY
    ABOUT 1757. ONE OF FOUNDERS
    OF ANDRUSTOWN. HOUSE BURNED
    AT ANDRUSTOWN MASSACRE.
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 2 MIS. S. OF HENDERSON

  • SITE OF HOME OF FREDERICK
    BELL, FEDERICK, JR.
    AND WIFE DOROTHY CRIM
    FATHER AND SON MASSACRED
    FREDERICK BELL III STOLEN
    BY INDIANS--JULY 18, 1778
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 1/2 MI. N. OF CRANES CORNERS

County: JEFFERSON
Town: ANTWERP, TOWN OF

  • CAROLINE C. BONAPARTE
    DAUGHTER OF JOSEPH BONAPARTE
    AND ANNETTE SAVAGE AND
    WIFE OF COL. Z.H. BENTON
    DIED DECEMBER 25, 1890
    BURIED IN THIS CEMETERY

County: JEFFERSON
Town: BROWNVILLE, TOWN OF

  • BABCOCK HOMESTEAD
    ERECTED 1832-33 BY JESSE
    BABCOCK; STATION ON
    UNDERGROUND RAILWAY
    PASSING NEGRO SLAVES
    OVER CANADIAN BORDER
    Location: INTERSECTION OF KIRBY & BROWN STS. AT DEXTER

  • BROWN MANSION
    HOME OF GEN. JACOB BROWN
    COMMANDER OF NORTHERN FRONTIER
    FORCES, WAR OF 1812
    COMMANDING GENERAL U.S. ARMY
    1821 UNTIL HIS DEATH IN 1828
    Location: ON MAIN ST. IN BROWNVILLE

County: JEFFERSON
Town: CAPE VINCENT, TOWN OF

  • CARLETON IS.
    OCCUPIED BY BRITISH 1774
    FT. HALDIMAND
    BUILT BY BRITISH-IROUQUOIS
    1778-79. CAPTURED BY
    AMERICANS IN 1812
    Location: ON NYS 12E ABOUT 2 MIS. EAST OF CAPE VINCENT VILLAGE

  • CUP-AND-SAUCER
    HOUSE
    BUILT NEAR THIS SITE
    BY COUNT PIERRE FANCOIS
    REAL IN 1816 AS REFUGE
    FOR NAPOLEON. BURNED 1867
    Location: AT RIVER'S EDGE ON W. SIDE REAL ST., CAPE VINCENT VILGE.

  • DURING THE
    WAR OF 1812
    AMERICAN SOLDIERS WERE
    HOUSED IN BARRACKS ERECTED
    HERE AND AT THE FOOT OF
    JAMES STREET
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF BRAODWAY & JAMES ST., CAPE VINCENT

  • FRENCH
    CATH. CHURCH
    BUILT HERE 1832 BY EARLY
    SETTLERS. HEROES OF
    NAPOLEON'S ARMY & FRENCH
    REFUGEES WORSHIPPED HERE
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 1 MILE SOUTHWEST OF ROSIERE

  • KENT'S CREEK
    SITE OF FIRST GRIST MILL
    IN THE TOWN OF
    CAPE VINCENT
    BUILT PRIOR TO 1809
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 1 1/2 MILS. SOUTHWEST OF ROSIERE

  • MILLENS BAY
    IN JUNE 1812 ABNER HUBBARD
    WITH OTHER AMERICANS
    CROSSED TO CARLETON ISLAND
    AND CAPTURED FT. HALDIMAND
    WITH ITS BRITISH GARRISON
    Location: ON NYS 12E AT RIVERVIEW

  • STONE HOUSE
    BUILT IN 1815 BY
    J.D. LE RAY DE CHAUMONT
    HERE CANADIAN REBELS WERE
    SHELTERED DURING
    PATRIOT WAR, 1838
    Location: N. SIDE B'WAY IN WESTERN PART, CAPE VINCENT VLGE.

  • TIBBITS POINT
    LIGHTHOUSE
    FIRST IN JEFFERSON COUNTY
    BUILT 1827, REBUILT 1854
    Location: AT TIBBITS PT. LIGHTHOUSE S.W. OF CAPE VINCENT

  • [ARROW]
    MEMORIAL ALTAR
    ON SITE OF OLD FRENCH
    CATHOLIC CHURCH ERECTED BY
    JAMES LE RAY DE CHAUMONT
    1832
    Location: ON NYS 12E ABOUT 3 MILES S.E. OF CAPE VINCENT

  • [ARROW]
    GRENADIER ISLAND
    VISITED BY EARLY FRENCH
    AND ENGLISH EXPLORERS
    RENDEZVOUS OF AMERICAN
    EXPEDITION AGAINST CANADA
    UNDER GEN. WILKINSON, 1813
    Location: BROWN SCHOOL HOUSE RD. & PLEASANT VALLEY ROAD

County: JEFFERSON
Town: CLAYTON, TOWN OF

  • BARTLETT'S POINT
    AMERICAN BATTERY
    UNDER CAPT. McPHERSON
    ON HEIGHTS NEAR RIVER
    ERECTED NOVEMBER, 1813
    Location: ROUTE 12E, 1/2 MILE FROM CLAYTON TOWARD CAPE VINCENT

  • CHURCH BUILT 1834-35
    FRANCIS DEPAU DEEDED SITE
    FOR HOUSE OF WORSHIP THAT
    SHALL FOREVER AT ALL TIMES
    BE OPEN AND FREE TO THE
    USE OF ALL DENOMINATIONS
    Location: ON NYS 12 NEAR INTERSECTION WITH NYS 179, DEPAUVILLE

  • ELM FLAT CHURCH
    FORTY RODS TO THE EAST
    STOOD THE FIRST CHURCH
    IN THE TOWN OF CLAYTON
    A LOG BUILDING BUILT 1820
    BY THE FREE WILL BAPTISTS
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF CO. RD. & NYS 12 & 179 ABOUT 3/4 MI N.W. OF DEPAUVILLE

  • ONONDAGA TRAILS
    JUNCTION OF WAR TRAILS
    BETWEEN LAKE ONTARIO AND
    THE ST. LAWRENCE RIVER
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF NYS 12 & NYS 179, DEPAUVILLE

  • PENET SQUARE
    N.W. CORNER OF A TRACT
    TEN MILES SQUARE CEDED TO
    PETER PENET
    BY THE ONEIDA INDIANS
    SEPTEMBER 22, 1788
    Location: ON ROUTE 12E AT CLAYTON

  • WETERINGHRA
    GUENTERE
    ANCIENT SITE OF ALGONQUIN
    FORT & 1ST LAND PAT. IN
    COUNTY, 1789. CLAYTON
    VILLAGE SETTLED HERE 1820
    Location: ON CAPE VINCENT-CLAYTON ROAD, ROUTE 12E AT CLAYTON

County: JEFFERSON
Town: DEXTER, TOWN OF

  • FIRST PRESBYERIAN
    CHURCH, DEXTER
    FOUNDED JULY 2, 1839
    WITH EIGHTEEN MEMBERS;
    PASTOR, REV. DEXTER CLARY.

County: JEFFERSON
Town: ELLISBURG, TOWN OF

  • AFTER THE BATTLE OF
    BIG SANDY
    MAY 28, 1814
    THIS HOUSE WAS USED AS A
    HOSPITAL
    FOR BRITISH SOLDIERS
    Location: ON NYS 3 ABOUT 2 MIS. N. OF OSWEGO-JEFFERSON CO. LINE

  • BONNIE VIEW
    BIRTHPLACE AND HOME OF
    MARIETTA HOLLEY
    1840-1926
    AUTHOR "SAMANTHA" NOVELS
    PEN NAME "JOSIAH ALLEN'S WIFE"
    Location: ON US 11 ABOUT 2 MIS. NORTH OF PIERREPONT MANOR

  • FAIR VIEW
    BOUGHT BY EBENEZER WOOD
    1804
    CONTINUOUSLY OCCUPIED BY
    WOOD FAMILY SINCE THAT DATE
    Location: ON ROUTE 193 AT WOODVILLE

County: JEFFERSON
Town: HENDERSON, TOWN OF

  • CAMP DE
    L'OBSERVATION
    ERECTED BY THE FRENCH
    IN 1756
    ASSOCIATION ISLAND
    Location: W. SIDE NYS 3 AT STATE-OWNED OBS.PT. ABOUT 4 MIS. S.W. OF SACKETS HARBOR

  • SAMUEL DE
    CHAMPLAIN
    FIRST WHITE MAN TO ENTER
    HENDERSON, OCTOBER, 1615
    PASSED OVER INDIAN
    TRAIL HERE
    Location: 1/2 MILE FROM HENDERSON ON THE STONY POINT RIFLE RANGE ROAD AT END OF HENDERSON HABOR

County: JEFFERSON
Town: HOUNSFIELD, TOWN OF

  • AUGUSTUS SACKET
    PIONEER OF SACKET HARBOR.
    BOUGHT TRACT IN HOUNSFIELD
    1801. 1ST JUDGE, JEFFERSON CO.
    B. N.Y. CITY NOV. 10, 1769
    D. ALBANY, N.Y. APR. 29, 1827
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF MAIN & RAY STS. AT SACKETS HARBOR

  • BLANCHARD STAND
    ERECTED HERE IN 1823
    BY STEPHEN BLANCHARD
    REBUILT 1867 AND KNOWN AS
    HALF-WAY-HOUSE TILL 1913
    A FAMOUS COUNTRY INN
    Location: AT INTERSECTION NYS 3 & CO. RD. ABOUT 2 MIS. W. WATERTOWN

  • BLOCKHOUSE
    ERECTED IN 1812 FOR DEFENSE
    AGAINST THE BRITISH ATTACK
    STONE HOUSE THE
    TISDALE HOMESTEAD
    ERECTED 1819
    Location: S. SIDE WASHINGTON ST. BETWEEN BROAD ST. & RR, SACKETS HARBOR

  • FORT CHAUNCEY
    WAR OF 1812
    NAMED FOR COMMODORE
    ISAAC CHAUNCEY
    Location: E. SIDE MONROE ST. N. OF MAIN ST. AT SACKETS HARBOR

  • FORT KENTUCKY
    WAR OF 1812
    28 GUNS
    BLOCKHOUSE IN CENTER
    Location: S. SIDE WASHINGTON ST. NEAR LAKE, SACKETS HARBOR

  • FORT TOMPKINS
    ON NAVY POINT
    WAR OF 1812
    NAMED FOR GOVERNOR
    DANIEL D. TOMPKINS
    Location: INTERSECTION MAIN ST. & ROAD ALONG LAKE SHORE. PROPERTY US COAST GUARD, SACKETS HARBOR

  • FORT VIRGINIA
    WAR OF 1812
    ARMED WITH 16 GUNS
    Location: S. SIDE WASHINGTON ST., W. OF BROAD ST., SACKETS HARBOR

  • HOME OF
    DR. SAMUEL GUTHRIE
    BORN 1782-DIED 1848
    DISCOVERED CHLOROFORM, 1831
    INVENTED PERCUSSION CAPS
    SURGEON IN WAR OF 1812
    Location: N. SIDE CO. RD. BETWEEN SACKETS HARBOR & JEWETTVILLE

  • OLD ROMEROAD
    BUILT ABOUT 1803 FROM ROME
    TO PUTNAM'S FERRY ON THE
    ST. LAWRENCE RIVER NEAR
    CAPE VINCENT

  • SITE OF
    FORT PIKE
    BEHIND THESE BREASTWORKS
    WAS BLOCKHOUSE ERECTED BY
    AMERICANS FOR DEFENSE
    AGAINST BRITISH, WAR OF 1812
    Location: ALONG LAKE FRONT WITHIN MADISON BARRACKS AT SACKETS HARBOR

  • UNION HOTEL - APRIL 1817
    BUILT BY FREDERIC WHITE
    1ST MASONIC LODGE JEFFERSON CO.
    ONTARIO LODGE FORMED APRIL 4, 1805
    ATHOL LODGE FORMED 1818
    SACKETS LODGE FORMED 1848
    Location: AT INTERSECTION MAIN & RAY STS. AT SACKETS HARBOR

  • WAR OF 1812
    LANDING OF BRITISH
    DAYBREAK, SUNDAY
    JULY 19, 1812
    Location: END OF TOWN RD. ALONG LAKE SHORE, SACKET HARBOR

County: JEFFERSON
Town: LAFARGEVILLE, VILLAGE OF

  • TOLL GATE-1852
    CLAYTON THERESA PLANK ROAD
    ON CREEK SIX RODS SOUTH
    IS SITE OF COLE'S SAW MILL
    BUILT 1835
    19 GUNS AT ARRIVAL IN VILLAGE
    Location: ON LAFARGEVILLE-DEPAUVILLE COUNTY ROAD, NEAR LAFARGEVILLE

County: JEFFERSON
Town: LERAY, TOWN OF

  • LE RAY MANSION
    BUILT IN 1825 BY
    JAMES LE RAY DE CHAUMONT
    EARLY LANDHOLDER AND
    DISTINGUISHED BENEFACTOR
    OF JEFFERSON COUNTY.

County: JEFFERSON
Town: LYME, TOWN OF

  • INDEPENDENCE POINT
    SCENE OF FIRST CELEBRATION
    OF AMERICAN INDEPENDENCE
    HELD IN JEFFERSON COUNTY
    JULY 4, 1802
    Location: ON ROAD TO INDEPENDENCE POINT AT CHAUMONT, 1 MILE SOUTH OF CRESCENT YACHT CLUB

  • SOPER'S CABIN
    NEAR THIS SPOT JAMES SOPER
    BUILT A LOG CABIN IN 1815
    IT WAS THE MEETING POINT
    OF ROADS FROM CAPE VINCENT
    CHAUMONT AND ALEXANDRIA

County: JEFFERSON
Town: ORLEANS, TOWN OF

  • MULLET CREEK
    GRIST MILL BUILT 1820
    BY WILLIAM AND TREAT
    MUDGE AT MUDGES MILLS
    RENAMED OMAR IN 1843
    Location: JUST OFF ROUTE 180 AT THE HAMLET OF OMAR

  • PEEL DOCK-WELLS ISLAND
    THE NIGHT OF MAY 29, 1838
    A PARTY OF AMERICAN
    DISGUISED AS INDIANS
    BURNED THE BRITISH
    Location: ON WELLSLEY ISLAND UNDER THE AMERICAN SPAN OF THE INTERNATIONAL BRIDGE

  • SITE OF
    FIRST MILL
    ERECTED 1819 AT
    LOG MILLS
    RENAMED LAFARGEVILLE
    JULY 4, 1823
    Location: ON NYS 180, LAFARGEVILLE

County: JEFFERSON
Town: SACKETS HARBOR, VILLAGE OF

  • FORT VOLUNTEER
    WAR OF 1812
    BUILT BY REVOLUTIONARY
    VETERANS WITHOUT PAY
    STEAMER SIR ROBERT PEEL
    Location: ON WATERFRONT OF MADISON BARRACKS AT SACKETS HARBOR

  • MILITARY ROAD
    BUILT BY SOLDIERS OF WAR
    OF 1812, LOCATED AT FEDERAL
    POSTS AT SACKETS HARBOR
    AND PLATTSBURG, ABOUT 1818.

  • PRESIDENT
    JAMES MONROE
    WAS GREETED BY SURVIVORS OF
    REVOLUTION AT THIS BRIDGE
    AUGUST 4, 1817. SALUTED WITH

  • SACKETT MANSION
    BUILT BY COL. AUGUSTUS
    SACKETT 1801-1802
    USED AS A HOSPITAL IN
    WAR OF 1812

County: JEFFERSON
Town: WATERTOWN, TOWN OF

  • OLD PLANK ROAD
    BUILT FROM WATERTOWN TO
    SACKETS HARBOR 1847-8
    WAS FIRST PLANK ROAD
    IN JEFFERSON COUNTY.

County: KINGS
Town: NONE

  • GRAVESEND
    SETTLED IN 1643 BY ENGLISH
    QUAKERS UNDER LADY DEBORAH
    MOODY ON LAND GRANTED TO THEM
    BY THE DUTCH GOVERNOR OF
    NEW AMSTERDAM
    Location: CEMETERY BETWEEN SOUTH VILLAGE RD. AND NECK RD.

  • GREEN-WOOD CEMETERY
    LT. COL. ROBERT BENSON, 1739-1823,
    BURIED HERE; AIDE-DE-CAMP TO GOV.
    GEORGE CLINTON IN REVOLUTION;
    CLERK, NEW YORK STATE SENATE.
    Location: BROOKLYN

  • MARYLAND HEROES
    HERE LIE BURIED 256
    SOLDIERS OF THE MARYLAND
    BATTALION WHO FELL IN THE
    BATTLE OF BROOKLYN ON THE
    27TH OF AUGUST, 1776
    Location: ON CORNER OF 7TH ST. BETWEEN 3RD AND 4TH AVE.

  • MAZZOLA HOME
    PROPERTY ONCE OWNED BY
    PHILIP LIVINGSTON - SIGNER
    DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE
    HOME - BROOKLYN EXCELSIORS
    BASEBALL CHAMPIONS - 1860
    Location: 133 CLINTON ST., BROOKLYN, NEW YORK 11201

County: LEWIS
Town: CONSTABLEVILLE, VILLAGE OF

  • CONSTABLE HALL
    1819
    ENGLISH MANOR TYPE BUILT BY
    WILLIAM CONSTABLE, SON OF
    WM. CONSTABLE, WHO OPENED
    LARGE TRACTS FOR SETTLEMENTS
    Location: ON WEST SIDE OF NYS 26 IB W. MAIN ST., CONSTABLEVILLE

County: LEWIS
Town: DENMARK, TOWN OF

  • FREEDOM WRIGHT'S INN
    MEETING HELD HERE IN 1804
    RESULTED IN FORMATION OF
    JEFFERSON AND LEWIS COUNTIES
    IN 1805
    Location: ON NYS 26, VLGE. OF DENMARK

County: LEWIS
Town: LEWIS, TOWN OF

  • MOHAWK RIVER
    THE HISTORIC MOHAWK RIVER
    RISES ONE-HALF MILE TO
    THE NORTHEAST AND FLOWS
    UNDER THIS BRIDGE
    Location: ON EAST SIDE OF NYS 26 IN VILLAGE OF WEST LEYDEN

County: LEWIS
Town: LEYDEN, TOWN OF

  • BLACK RIVER CANAL
    THE PIERS SUPPORTING THIS
    VIADUCT ONCE CARRIED THE
    WATERS OF THE BLACK RIVER
    CANAL ACROSS SUGAR RIVER.
    CANAL WAS IN USE TO 1915
    Location: ON NYS 12 NEAR THE LEWIS-ONEIDA COUNTY LINE

County: LEWIS
Town: MARTINSBURG, TOWN OF

  • GREYSTONE MANOR
    ERECTED 1803-1805
    HOME OF GEN. WALTER MARTIN
    INDUSTRIAL, RELIGIOUS,
    CIVIC AND EDUCATIONAL LEADER
    IN LEWIS COUNTY
    Location: ON WEST SIDE OF NYS 12D IN VILLAGE OF MARTINSBURG

  • HOUGH'S CAVE
    HIDING PLACE OF RUNAWAY
    SLAVES BEFORE THE CIVIL
    WAR AND STATION ON THE
    UNDERGROUND RAILWAY
    TO CANADA
    Location: ON NYS 12D & NYS 26 ABOUT 1 MI. S. OF MARTINSBURG

County: LEWIS
Town: NEAR ROAD MARKER

  • HOUGH'S CAVE
    HIDING PLACE OF RUNAWAY
    SLAVES BEFORE THE CIVIL
    WAR AND STATION ON THE
    UNDER GROUND RAILWAY
    TO CANADA
    Location: NYS 26

County: LEWIS
Town: WEST TURIN, TOWN OF

  • BLACK RIVER CANAL
    HERE HAD ITS NORTHERN
    TERMINUS 35 MILES FROM ITS
    BEGINNING AT ROME AND
    HERE JOINED THE BLACK
    RIVER - NAVIGABLE TO CARTHAGE
    Location: ON VILLAGE STREET AT CANAL BANK IN LYONS FALLS

  • CONSTABLE HALL
    1819
    ENGLISH MANOR TYPE. BUILT BY
    WILLIAM CONSTABLE, SON OF
    WM. CONSTABLE WHO OPENED
    LARGE TRACTS FOR SETTLEMENTS
    Location: ON CHURCH ST. IN VILLAGE OF CONSTAVLEVILLE AT ENTRANCE TO CONSTABLE HALL

  • CONSTABLE HALL
    1819
    ENGLISH MANOR TYPE. BUILT BY
    WILIAM CONSTABLE, SON OF
    WM. CONSTABLE WHO OPENED
    LARGE TRACTS FOR SETTLEMENTS
    Location: ON WEST SIDE OF NYS 26 ON W. MAIN ST., CONSTABLEVILLE

County: LIVINGSTON
Town: CALEDONIA, TOWN OF

  • BIG SPRINGS
    ANCIENT INDIAN CAMP SITE
    ON NIAGARA TRAIL
    EARLIEST WHITE TOUREIST 1615
    SCOTTISH SETTLERS 1799
    TERMINUS PIONEER R.R. 1838
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT CALEDONIA

  • CALEDONIA
    ORGANIZED 1803 AS TOWN OF
    SOUTHAMPTON; NAME CHANGED
    TO CALEDONIA 1806; SCOTTISH
    EMIGRANTS SETTLED 1799
    VILLAGE INCORPORATED 1891
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT WEST END OF CALEDONIA

  • CALEDONIA
    ORGANIZED 1803 AS TOWN OF
    SOUTHAMPTON; NAME CHANGED
    TO CALEDONIA 1806; SCOTTISH
    EMIGRANTS SETTLED 1799
    VILLAGE INCORPORATED 1891
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT SOUTH END OF CALEDONIA

  • CALEDONIA
    ORGANIZED 1803 AS TOWN OF
    SOUTHAMPTON; NAME CHANGED
    TO CALEDONIA 1806; SCOTTISH
    EMIGRANTS SETTLED 1799
    VILLAGE INCORPORATED 1891
    Location: ON NYS 36 AT NORTH END OF CALEDONIA

  • ERECTED 1826
    BY MAJOR GAD BLAKSLEE
    EARLY POST OFFICE
    FIRST BANK
    APOTHECARY SHOP
    NOW CALEDONIA LIBRARY
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT CALEDONIA

  • ERECTED 1827
    BY JAMES R. CLARK
    EARLY TAVERN, POSTOFFICE,
    EARLY BANK, LIBRARY
    CERTIFIED BY HISTORIC
    AMERICAN BUILDING SURVEY
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT CALEDONIA

  • JOHN HUGH
    MAC NAUGHTON
    1826-1891
    LIVED HERE 20 YEARS
    FAMOUS POET AND SONG WRITER
    Location: ON NYS 5 ABOUT 4 MILES SOUTHEAST OF CALEDONIA

County: LIVINGSTON
Town: CONESUS, TOWN OF

  • MILITARY ROUTE
    OF THE SULLIVAN-CLINTON
    ARMY ON ITS CAMPAIGN
    AGAINST THE BRITISH
    AND INDIANS OF WESTERN
    NEW YORK IN 1779
    Location: ON US 15 AT FOOTS CORNERS

  • MILITARY ROUTE
    OF THE SULLIVAN-CLINTON
    ARMY ON ITS CAMPAIGN
    AGAINST THE BRITISH
    AND INDIANS OF WESTERN
    NEW YORK IN 1779
    Location: ON NYS 256 ABOUT 1 MILE SOUTH OF MAPLE BEACH

  • UNION CEMETERY
    HERE IS BURIED
    CAPTAIN DANIEL SHAYS
    1747-1825
    SERVED IN THE REVOLUTION
    LEADER OF SHAYS' REBELLION
    Location: ON NYS 256 ABOUT 1 MILE NORTH OF SCOTTSBURG

County: LIVINGSTON
Town: GENESEO, TOWN OF

  • ABOUT 1/4 MILE WEST
    TREATY OF
    BIG TREE
    SITE OF MEMORABLE TREATY
    RELEASING SENECA TITLE TO
    3,600,000 ACRES OF LAND
    SEPTEMBER 15, 1797
    Location: ON NYS 63 AT GENESEO

County: LIVINGSTON
Town: GROVELAND, TOWN OF

  • 1 MILE
    GROVELAND HILL
    TORY-INDIAN AMBUSH
    SULLIVAN EXPEDITION
    1779
    FIFTEEN SCOUTS KILLED
    BOYD AND PARKER CAPTURED
    Location: ON NYS 256 AT MAPLE BEACH

  • MILITARY ROUTE
    OF THE SULLIVAN-CLINTON
    ARMY ON ITS CAMPAIGN
    AGAINST THE BRITISH
    AND INDIANS OF WESTERN
    NEW YORK IN 1779
    Location: ON NYS 63 ABOUT 1 1/4 MILES SOUTH OF HAMPTON CORNERS

  • SITE OF
    WILLIAMSBURG
    FIRST SETTLEMENT IN COUNTY
    ESTABLISHED 1792 BY
    CHARLES WILLIAMSON
    Location: ON NYS 63 ABOUT 3 MILES SOUTH OF GENESEO

  • [ARROW]
    GROVELAND HILL
    TORY-INDIAN AMBUSH
    SULLIVAN EXPEDITION
    1779
    FIFTEEN SCOUTS KILLED
    BOYD AND PARKER CAPTURED
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 1 MILE WEST OF MAPLE BEACH

County: LIVINGSTON
Town: LEICESTER, TOWN OF

  • 2 MILES [ARROW]
    BOYD-PARKER
    TOURTURE TREE AND BURIAL
    MOUND. WESTERN LIMIT
    SULLIVAN'S EXPEDITION
    1779. SENECA VILLAGE
    LITTLE BEARD'S TOWN
    Location: AT INTERSECTION US 20A & BYS 36 AT LEICESTER

  • BOYD-PARKER
    TORTURE TREE AND BURIAL
    MOUND. WESTERN LIMIT
    SULLIVAN'S EXPEDITION
    1779. SENECA VILLAGE
    LITTLE BEARD TOWN
    Location: ON US 20 A & NYS 39 ABOUT 1/2 MI. EAST OF CUYLERVILLE

  • SITE OF
    GA-ON-DO-WA-NUH
    (BIG TREE)
    SENECA INDIAN VILLAGE
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 1 1/2 MIS. N. OF CUYLERVILLE

  • SITE OF
    DE-YU-IT-GA-OH
    (VALLEY BEGINS TO WIDEN)
    SENECA INDIAN VILLAGE
    THE SPRING USED BY
    MARY JEMISON IS NEARBY
    Location: ON SQUAWKIE HILL RD. ABOUT 2 MIS. S. OF LEICESTER

  • THIS
    LOG HOUSE
    ERECTED AND OCCUPIED
    BY THOMAS JEMISON
    (BUFFALO TOM)
    GRANDSON OF MARY JEMISON
    Location: ON SQUAWKIE HILL RD. ABOUT 1 1/2 MIS. S. OF LEICESTER

County: LIVINGSTON
Town: LIMA, TOWN OF

  • GANDICHIRAGOU
    "AT THE FORKS OF THE TRAIL"
    NAME RECORDED 1634. DESTROYED
    BY DE NONVILLE'S FRENCH ARMY
    1687. SITE ALSO OF FATHER
    GARNIER'S CHAPEL OF ST. JEAN
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF US 20 & NYS 5 WITH NYS 15A AT LIMA

  • GENESEE WESLEYAN SEMINARY
    FOUNDED 1832
    GENESEE COLLEGE ESTABLISHED
    1849 AND ON APRIL 14, 1869
    WAS ALLOWED TO REMOVE TO
    FORM SYRACUSE UNIVERSITY
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF COLLEGE AVE. & GENESEE ST. AT LIMA

  • SITE OF
    SKA-HASE-GA-O
    (WAS-A-LONG-CREEK)
    A POPULOUS MODERN
    SENECA INDIAN VILLAGE
    Location: ON US 20 & NYS 5 AT LIMA

  • WARNER HOUSE
    BUILT BY ASHAHEL WARNER, 1810
    WHO WAS PIONEER IN 1795
    USED BY TRINITY MARK MASONIC
    LODGE NO. 59, 1810
    UNION LODGE NO. 45, 1816
    Location: ON US 20 & NYS 5 AT LIMA

County: LIVINGSTON
Town: LIVONIA, TOWN OF

  • 1/3 MILE EAST
    SITE OF HOME
    SOLOMON WOODRUFF
    FIRST SETTLER
    OF LIVONIA, 1789
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 3/4 MI. SO. LIVONIA CENTER

  • JACKSONVILLE
    FOUNDED 1830 BY
    ANDREW HOLDEN
    COMPRISED 130 HOUSES,
    10 MILLS, BRICKYARD,
    2 DISTILLERIES
    Location: ON TN. RD. ABOUT 1 MI. N.E. HEMLOCK NEAR LIVINGSTON-ONTARIO CO.LINE

  • MILITARY ROUTE
    OF SULLIVAN-CLINTON
    ARMY ON ITS CAMPAIGN
    AGAINST THE BRITISH
    AND INDIANS OF WESTERN
    NEW YORK IN 1779
    Location: ON NYS 15A ABOUT 1 MI. SOUTH OF HEMLOCK

County: LIVINGSTON
Town: MOUNT MORRIS, TOWN OF

  • BIRTHPLACE OF
    FRANCIS BELLAMY
    1855-1931
    AUTHOR OF "THE PLEGE OF
    ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG"
    Location: ON NYS 36 AT MOUNT MORRIS

  • FRANCIS BELLAMY
    MEMORIAL PARK
    NAMED IN HONOR OF FRANCIS
    BELLAMY, 1855-1931, AUTHOR
    OF "THE PLEGE OF
    ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG"
    Location: ON NYS 36 AT MOUNT MORRIS

County: LIVINGSTON
Town: NORTH DANSVILLE, TOWN OF

  • IN THIS CHURCH WAS
    ORGANIZED FIRST LOCAL
    RED CROSS
    SOCIETY IN THE UNITED
    STATES BY CLARA BARTON
    AUGUST 22, 1881
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF EXCHANGE & CHRUCH STS. IN DANSVILLE

  • SITE OF
    FIRST HOUSE
    IN DANSVILLE, BUILT IN
    1795 BY CORNELIUS MC COY
    WHO CAME TO AMERICA FROM
    IRELAND IN 1788
    Location: ON NYS 36 AT DANSVILLE

  • SITE OF THE
    FIRST CHURCH
    IN DANSVILLE
    GERMAN EVANGELICAL
    LUTHERAN CHURCH
    1826-1918
    Location: ON MAIN ST. IN DANSVILLE

County: LIVINGSTON
Town: OSSIAN, TOWN OF

  • BISBEETOWN
    SETTLED 1819 BY LUTHER BISBEE
    BORN 1762-DIED 1856
    SOLDIER OF THE AMERICAN
    REVOLUTION FROM MASSACHUSETTS
    SITE OF FIRST HOUSE 1 MILE SOUTH
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 1/4 MILE EAST OF WESTVIEW

  • HOME - 1850
    OF LUTHER BISBEE II AND HIS
    WIFE, ELIZA WEST, DESCENDANTS
    OF THOMAS BESBRIDGE AND
    FRANCIS WEST, FREEMEN OF
    PLYMOUTH COLONY,MASSACHUSETTS
    1637-1670
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 1/4 MILE EAST OF WESTVIEW

  • INDIAN CABIN
    NEARBY IS THE SITE OF THE
    LAST CABIN IN THIS TOWN,
    OCCUPIED BY THE SENECAS,
    BEFORE THEIR REMOVAL TO THE
    BUFFALO RESERVATION, 1826.
    Location: ON TOWN RD. AT WESTVIEW

  • OSSIAN CENTER
    SETTLED IN 1804 BY JUDGE
    RICHARD AND JAMES PORTER.
    THEY WITH THEIR BROTHER,
    NATHANIEL, WERE FIRST
    SETTLERS IN THE TOWN
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF COUNTY ROADS AT OSSIAN

  • TELEGRAPH ROAD
    ROUTE OF NEW YORK AND ERIE
    TELEGRAPH LINE CONSTRUCTED
    IN 1848 UNDER THE
    SUPERVISION OF EZRA CORNELL
    FOUNDER OF CORNELL UNIVERSITY
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 1/4 MILE EAST OF WESTVIEW

County: LIVINGSTON
Town: PORTAGE, TOWN OF

  • APPROACHING
    CIVIL WAR
    PARADE GROUND
    1862-1865
    Location: AT INTERSECTION NYS 245 & CO. RD. LEADING TO ERIE RR BRIDGE OVER GENESEE R. AT PORTAGE

  • APPROACHING
    CIVIL WAR
    PARADE GROUND
    1862-1865
    Location: ON CO. RD. LEADING TO ERIE RR. BRIDGE OVER GENESEE R. AT PORTAGE

  • CIVIL WAR
    PARADE GROUND
    1862-1865
    130TH N.Y. REGT., LATER 1ST
    N.Y. DRAGOONS AND 136TH N.Y.
    REGT. OF INFANTRY, 1862
    Location: ON CO. RD. LEADING TO ERIE RR. BRIDGE OVER GENESEE R. AT PORTAGE

  • KISH-A-WA
    FIRST SETTLERS IN 1816;
    ONLY VILLAGE IN 15 MILES;
    HOME OF MANY FAMOUS PEOPLE;
    PATH OF "OLD INDIAN TRAIL"
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. AT HUNTS HOLLOW

  • PORTAGE BRIDGE
    REPLACES LARGEST WOODEN
    BRIDGE IN THE WORLD. BUILT
    IN 1852. 300 ACRES OF
    TIMBER USED IN CONSTRUCTION
    BURNED IN 1875
    Location: ON LIVINGSTON CO. SIDE OF ERIE RR. BRIDGE OVER GENESEE R. AT PORTAGE

  • SCHOOL SITE
    FRAME BUILDING, ABOUT 1819;
    ABANDONED FOR ONE OF TWO
    ROOM AS NUMBER OF PUPILS
    GREW. SAMUEL HUNT, BROTHER
    OF GOVERNOR HUNT, TAUGHT HERE.
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1/2 MIL. W. OF HUNTS HOLLOW

County: LIVINGSTON
Town: YORK, TOWN OF

  • BRICK SCHOOL
    DISTRICT NO. 8; BUILT
    1825. PRESIDENT CHESTER
    A. ARTHUR ATTENDED THIS
    SCHOOL 1837 TO 1842
    Location: ON NYS 36 AT YORK

  • SITE OF
    O-HA-GI
    (CROWDING THE BANK)
    TUSCARORA INDIAN VILLAGE
    ONLY ONE IN COUNTY
    Location: ON TN. RD. ABOUT 1/2 MI. SOUTH OF PIFFARD

County: MADISON
Town: CAZENOVIA, TOWN OF

  • BAPTIST CHURCH
    FIRST IN TOWN OF CAZENOVIA.
    UNBROKEN SERVICE SINCE
    ORGANIZATION JULY 17, 1801.
    THIS BUILDING ERECTED 1815.
    Location: ON NYS 13 AT NEW WOODSTOCK

  • FIRST COUNTY SEAT
    THIS BUILDING ERECTD FOR
    COURT HOUSE 1810. COURTS
    HELD 1812-17. SOLD TO
    METHODISTS 1818. CONFERENCE
    SEMINARY ESTABLISHED 1824.
    Location: ON SEMINARY ST. BETWEEN SULLIVAN & LINCKLAEN STS.

County: MADISON
Town: DE RUYTER, TOWN OF

  • EZRA CORNELL
    300 YARDS UP THIS LANE
    STOOD HIS BOYHOOD HOME
    IN 1828 HE WALKED TO ITHACA
    WHERE LATER HE FOUNDED
    CORNELL UNIVERSITY.
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 3 1/2 MILES EAST OF DE RUYTER

  • [ARROW]
    MULLER HILL
    EASTATE OF LOUIS A. MULLER
    WHO LOCATED HERE IN 1808.
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 5 MILES EAST OF DE RUYTER

  • [ARROW]
    3 1/2 MILES
    SITE OF BOYHOOD HOME
    EZRA CORNELL
    FOUNDER OF
    CORNELL UNIVERSITY
    Location: ON NYS 13 AT DE RUYTER

County: MADISON
Town: EATON, TOWN OF

  • BAPTIST CHURCH
    ORGANIZED 1816. ERECTED 1819.
    REPAIRED AND IMPROVED 1856.
    REV. J. COOLEY, 1ST MINISTER.
    REV. NATHANIEL KENDRICK,
    PASTOR 1817-1833
    Location: ON NYS 26 AT EATON

  • DR. JAMES PRATT
    FIRST PHYSICIAN IN TOWN OF
    EATON, 1797, TAUGHT FIRST
    SCHOOL IN HOMES OF JOSPEH
    MORSE COL. LELAND AND THOMAS
    MORRIS ALTERNATELY.
    Location: ON NYS 26 AT EATON

  • FANNY FORESTER
    AUTHOR OF "ALDERBROOK TALES"
    BORN EMILY CHUBBUCK AUG. 22,
    1817; MARRIED DR. A. JUDSON.
    HER HOME "UNDERHILL COTTAGE"
    STOOD ABOUT ON THIS SITE.
    Location: ON NYS 26 ABOUT 1/2 MILE WEST OF EATON

  • HOME OF
    CYRUS AND ELIZABETH
    HEMINWAY FINNEY. MARRIED
    JULY 25, 1797. CAME
    FROM NEW ENGLAND AND
    SETTLED HERE 1797.
    Location: ON NYS 26 AT EATON

  • MORSE HOUSE
    JOSEPH MORSE, EUNICE BIGELOW
    FROM SHERBURNE, MASS. 1796
    FOUNDED "LOG CITY" 1800
    LATER NAMED EATON 1807
    BUILT THIS HOUSE 1802
    Location: ON NYS 26 AT EATON

  • MORSE MILL DAM
    DEVELOPMENT OF EATON BROOK
    WATER POWER BEGUN BY
    JOSEPH MORSE 1796 CREATED
    COUNTY INDUSTRIAL CENTER
    LASTING A CENTURY TO 1896
    Location: ON NYS 26 AT EATON

  • N.Y. STATE SCHOOL
    OF AGRICULTURE
    MORRISVILLE, N.Y.
    ESTABLISHED 1908
    FIRST DIRECTOR, F.G. HELYAR
    APRIL 1, 1910-NOVEMBER 15, 1917
    Location: ON US 20 AT MORRISVILLE

  • N.Y. STATE SCHOOL
    OF AGRICULTURE
    MORRISVILLE, N.Y.
    ESTABLISHED 1908
    FIRST DIRECTOR, F.G. HELYAR
    APRIL 1, 1910-NOVEMBER 15, 1917
    Location: ON US 20 AT MORRISVILLE

  • SAGE TAVERN IN LOG CITY.
    BUILT AND RUN BY ISAAC
    SAGE 1802. OLDEST HOUSE
    IN VILLAGE OF EATON.
    Location: ON NYS 26, AT EATON

  • SITE OF
    CHAMPLAIN BATTLE
    1615
    [ARROW]
    NICHOLS POND PARK,
    ON ONEIDA INDIAN
    VILLAGE SITE 10 MILES NORTH
    Location: ON US 20 AT MORRISVILLE

  • SITE OF FARM
    BROUGHT IN 1799 BY CALEB
    DUNBAR, BORN BRIDGEWATER,
    MASS., 1760. MARRIED
    HANNAH DRAKE, BORN
    EATON, MASS., 1762
    Location: ON TN. RD. ABOUT 1/4 MILE NORTH OF EATON

  • SITE OF HOME
    1793, COL. JOSHUA LELAND.
    FIRST SETTLER IN THIS VALLEY.
    HE BUILT FIRST GRIST MILL
    ON STREAM BETWEEN THESE PONDS.
    Location: ON NYS 26 ABOUT 2 MILES NORTH-EAST OF EATON

  • SITE OF LOG HOUSE
    OF LEVI BONNEY, BORN 1775,
    MARRIED RHODA PRATT. CAME
    FROM CORNWAL, CONN., 1795
    FIRST TO COME AND REMAIN IN
    THIS VALLEY.
    Location: ON NYS 26 ABOUT 1/2 MILE NORTH-EAST OF EATON

  • TOLL GATE NO. 1
    PECK'S PORT, EATON AND
    GEORGETOWN PLANK ROAD, 1849.
    SAWEN MORSE, 1ST WHITE CHILD
    BORN IN EATON WAS 1ST
    KEEPER OF THIS GATE.
    Location: ON NYS 26 ABOUT 1 MILE NORTH-EAST OF EATON

  • TOLL GATE NO. 2
    PECK'S PORT, EATON AND
    GEORGETOWN PLANK ROAD, 1849.
    Location: ON NYS 26 ABOUT 1/2 MILE WEST OF EATON

County: MADISON
Town: FENNER, TOWN OF

  • GRAIN PITS
    THESE PITS ARE REMAINS
    OF COMMUNITY STORAGE
    CELLARS FOR CORN, BEANS
    AND SQUASH. USED BY
    THE IROQUOIS INDIANS
    Location: AT NICHOLS POND ABOUT 6 MILES SOUTH OF CANASTOTA

  • INDIAN SPRING
    THIS WAS OUTSIDE
    THE AREA OF THE FORT
    AND NOT PROTECTED
    BY THE PALISADES
    Location: AT NICHOLS POND ABOUT 6 MILES SOUTH OF CANASTOTA

  • ONEIDA STONE
    OF 1615
    ONEIDA MEANS PEOPLE OF
    THE STANDING STONE. IN EACH
    VILLAGE WAS SUCH AN ALTAR
    AND COUNCIL PLACE
    Location: AT NICHOLS POND ABOUT 6 MILES SOUTH OF CANASTOTA

  • SITE OF
    CHAMPLAIN BATTLE
    HERE CHAMPLAIN AIDED BY
    HURON INDIANS ATTACKED THE
    STOCKADED ONEIDA VILLAGE
    OCT. 10-16, 1615
    Location: ON TN. RD. ABOUT 6 MILES SOUTH OF CANASTOTA

County: MADISON
Town: GEORGETOWN, TOWN OF

  • MULLER HILL
    ESTATE OF LOUIS A. MULLER,
    DISTINGUISHED FRENCH REFUGEE
    WHO LOCATED HERE IN 1808.
    DOUBTLESS NOBLEMAN FLEEING
    FROM VENGEANCE OF NAPOLEON
    Location: ON TN. RD. ABOUT 1 1/2 MILES WEST OF GEORGETOWN

  • [ARROW]
    MULLER HILL
    ESTATE OF LOUIS A. MULLER
    WHO LOCATED HERE IN 1808.
    Location: ON NYS 80 AT GEORGETOWN

County: MADISON
Town: HAMILTON, TOWN OF

  • MADISON STREET CEMETERY
    ESTABLISHED ABOUT 1830
    ELISHA PAYNE
    FOUNDER OF THE VILLAGE
    OF HAMILTON IS BURIED HERE
    Location: ON MADISON ST. AT HAMILTON

County: MADISON
Town: HAMILTON, VILLAGE OF

  • COLGATE UNIVERSITY
    FOUNDED IN 1819
    CHARTERED AS MADISON
    UNIVERSITY IN 1846
    RENAMED COLGATE IN 1890

County: MADISON
Town: LEBANON, TOWN OF

  • 1/4 MILE LEFT
    STOOD THE HOME OF
    COL. WM. S. SMITH AIDE
    TO WASHINGTON AND
    ABIGAIL ADAMS SMITH
    SEE MARKER AHEAD
    Location: ON NYS 12B ABOUT 4 1/4 MILES SOUTH OF HAMILTON

  • 1/4 MILE RIGHT
    STOOD THE HOME OF
    COL. WM. S. SMITH AIDE
    TO WASHINGTON AND
    ABIGAIL ADAMS SMITH
    SEE MARKER AHEAD
    Location: ON NYS 12B ABOUT 3 3/4 MILES SOUTH OF HAMILTON

  • HERE IN 1788 STOOD
    THE BARK HUT
    OF BATES, STOWELL AND
    SALISBURY, FIRST SETTLERS
    OF WHAT IS NOW
    MADISON COUNTY
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 2 MILES SOUTH OF EATON

  • HOUSE BUILT BY
    ENOCH STOWELL, JR.
    EARLY SETTLER. HOME OF
    HORACE STOWELL, PROMINENT
    ABOLITIONIST. STATION OF
    UNDERGROUND RAILWAY
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 2 MILES SOUTH OF EATON

  • SMITH'S VALLEY
    COL. W.S. SMITH & FAMILY
    EARLY SETTLERS & OWNERS
    OF GREAT TRACTS OF LAND
    IN THIS SECTION
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT RANDALLSVILLE

County: MADISON
Town: LENOX, TOWN OF

  • HOME OF
    THOMAS BARLOW
    HISTORIAN, COUNTY JUDGE
    IN 1843, MEMBER OF THE
    NEW YORK STATE SENATE,
    1844-1847
    Location: ON MAIN ST. AT CANASTOTA

  • HOME OF
    MILTON DELANO
    CLERK OF TOWN OF OLD
    LENOX. TWICE ELECTED
    SHERIFF OF MADISON COUNTY
    MEMBER OF CONGRESS, 1888-1892
    Location: ON NYS 13 AT INTERSECTION OF PETERBORO ST.. & RASBACK ST., CANASTOTA

  • QUALITY HILL
    GREEN
    A COMPANY OF HORSE
    ARTILLERY DRILLED HERE
    DURING THE WAR OF 1812
    Location: ON NYS 5 ABOUT 2 MILES WEST OF CANASTOTA

  • SITE OF
    CHAMPLAIN BATTLE
    1615
    [ARROW]
    NICHOLS POND PARK
    AN ONEIDA VILLAGE SITE
    6 MILES SOUTH
    Location: ON US 20 AT CANASTOTA

  • SITE OF
    MESSINGER HOTEL
    ERECTED IN 1814
    BY GEORGE MESSINGER
    Location: ON NYS 31 AT MESSINGER BAY

County: MADISON
Town: LINCOLN, TOWN OF

  • TO SITE OF
    CHAMPLAIN BATTLE
    1615
    [ARROW]
    Location: ON TN. RD. AT CLOCKVILLE

County: MADISON
Town: NELSON, TOWN OF

  • WELSH CHURCH
    ONE MILE [ARROW]
    WELSH CONGREGATIONAL
    SOCIETY FOUNDED JUNE 22, 1850
    PRESENT CHURCH BUILDING
    ERECTED 1876
    Location: ON US 20 1 MILE EAST OF NELSON

County: MADISON
Town: SMITHFIELD, TOWN OF

  • TO SITE OF
    CHAMPLAIN BATTLE
    1615
    [ARROW]
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. AT PETERBORO

  • TO SITE OF
    CHAMPLAIN BATTLE
    1615
    [ARROW]
    Location: ON MILE STRIP RD. ABOUT 6 MILES SOUTH OF CANASTOTA

  • [ARROW]
    500 FEET
    GERRIT S. MILLER
    HOME OF EARLY IMPORTED
    HOLSTEIN CATTLE.
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 2 MILES NORTHWEST OF PETERBORO

County: MADISON
Town: STOCKBRIDGE, TOWN OF

  • BIRTHPLACE
    W. DEMPSTER HOARD, BORN
    OCT. 10, 1836. GOVERNOR
    OF WISCONSIN 1889-90
    FOUNDER HOARD'S DAIRYMAN
    Location: ON NYS 46 ABOUT 1 MILE SOUTH OF MUNNSVILLE

County: MONROE
Town: BRIGHTON, TOWN OF

  • CITY OF TRYON
    FIRST WHITE SETTLEMENT
    WEST OF CANANDAIGUA
    FOUNDED 1797, ABANDONED
    1818. JOHN LUSK WAS THE
    FIRST SETTLER 1789.
    Location: ON EAST SIDE OF LANDING RD., NEAR BLOSSOM RD.

  • IRONDEQUOIT
    SITE OF A LARGE
    ALGONKIN TOWN
    THE SENECAS LINGERED
    HERE UNTIL 1845
    Location: ON BLOSSOM RD., EAST OF LANDING RD. NORTH

County: MONROE
Town: CLARKSON, TOWN OF

  • HENRY R. SELDEN
    1805-1885
    LIEUT. GOV. AND JUDGE LIVED
    HERE. GEORGE B. SELDEN
    INVENTOR OF "SELDEN PATENT" FOR
    AUTOMOBILES WAS BORN HERE.
    Location: ON US 104 AT CLARKSON

  • HOME OF SIMEON B. JEWETT
    1801-1869
    POLITICAL LEADER, JURIST, PARTNER
    OF HENRY R. SELDEN, U.S. MARSHALL,
    NORTHERN N.Y. UNDER PRESIDENT BUCHANAN.
    Location: ON NYS 19 AT CLARKSON

  • HOUSTON TAVERN
    A POPULAR STOPPING PLACE IN
    STAGE COACH DAYS. BUILT SOON
    AFTER 1825 FOR ISAAC HOUSTON
    WHO WAS THE SOLE PROPRIETOR
    FOR MANY YEARS
    Location: ON US 104 ABOUT 1 MI. E. OF GARLAND

  • PHILIP BOSS
    ARTIST AND CABINET MAKER
    LIVED HERE FROM 1820 TO 1830.
    MOVING TO ROCHESTER, THEN, HE
    ACHIEVED GREAT POPULARITY
    AS A PAINTER OF PORTRAITS
    Location: ON US 104 AT CLARKSON

County: MONROE
Town: IRONDEQUOIT, TOWN OF

  • FORT SITE
    HERE DENONVILLE'S FRENCH ARMY
    LANDED TO INVADE THE SENECA
    COUNTRY; JULY 12, 1687, 400
    MEN WERE LEFT TO BUILD FORT;
    BATTLE AT VICTOR JULY 13, 1687
    Location: ON BLUFF OVERLOOKING LAKE ONTARIO AT SEA BREEZR

County: MONROE
Town: MENDON, TOWN OF

  • CAMP SITE
    OF PRIMITIVE ALGONKINS
    WHO FISHED HERE AGES AGO
    DRIVEN OUT BY THE IROQUOIS
    WHO OCCUPIED THIS REGION
    Location: ON CANFIELD RD. AT MENDONS PONDS PARK

  • TOTIAKTON
    SENECA TOWN OF 120 CABINS
    WAS LOCATED HERE
    BURNED BY DENONVILLE, 1687
    JESUIT MISSION, 1668-1683
    Location: ON E. SIDE PLAIN RD., S. OF ROCHESTER JUNCTION

  • WAR SITE
    DENONVILLE'S ARMY OF 3000
    FRENCH AND INDIAN ALLIES
    CAMPED HERE 23 JULY 1687
    RETURNING TO IRONDEQUOIT
    AFTER RAZING SENECA TOWNS
    Location: IN MENDON PONDS PARK

County: MONROE
Town: OGDEN, TOWN OF

  • BIRTHPLACE OF
    JOHN T. TROWBRIDGE
    1827-1916
    POET; AUTHOR OF "DARIUS
    GREEN AND HIS FLYING
    MACHINE" AND OTHER STORIES
    Location: ON NICHOLS ST. ABOUT 2 MIS. S.E. OF SPENCERPORT

  • INDIAN HILL
    INDIAN ENCAMPMENT WHEN WHITES
    ENTERED REGION.
    GRANDPARENTS OF FRANCES E. WILLARD
    SETTLED HERE IN 1816
    AS PIONEERS ON THIS LAND
    Location: ON BANGS RD. ABOUT 2 MIS. N. OF CHURCHVILLE

County: MONROE
Town: PARMA, TOWN OF

  • METHODIST CHURCH
    OLDEST WEST OF THE GENESEE
    FIRST SERMON PREACHED 1804;
    CLASS ORGANIZED 1811
    CHURCH BUILT 1830.
    Location: ON NYS 259 AT PARMA CENTER

County: MONROE
Town: PERINTON, TOWN OF

  • LA SALLE ROAD
    ROUTE USED BY THE FRENCH
    ARMY OF DENONVILLE TO
    DESTROY SENECA INDIANS AT
    TOWN SOUTH OF VICTOR, NY
    JULY 13, 1687
    Location: ON NYS 96 ABOUT 1/4 MI. E. OF BUSHNELL BASIN

County: MONROE
Town: PITTSFORD, TOWN OF

  • DENONVILLE
    WITH ARMY OF 3000
    FRENCH AND INDIANS
    CROSSED THESE GROUND
    TWICE IN JULY, 1687
    Location: ON GOLF COURSE OF OAK HILL COUNTRY CLUB

  • FIRST LIBRARY
    IN THE GENESEE COUNTRY
    NORTHFIELD LIBRARY CO., 1803-
    1808, KEPT ITS BOOKS AT THE
    FARM OF EZRA PATTERSON,
    FIRST LIBRARIAN
    Location: ON MENDON CTR. RD., ABOUT 1 MI. S.E. OF PITTSFORD

  • ON THIS SPOT
    STOOD THE FIRST SCHOOL
    HOUSE IN MONROE COUNTY
    ERECTED 1794; FIRST
    TEACHER, JOHN BARROWS.
    Location: ON NYS 64 ABOUT 1 MI. S. OF PITTSFORD

  • PITTSFORD VILLAGE
    FOUNDED AUGUST 1789
    BY CAPTAIN SIMON STONE
    AND LIEUTENANT ISRAEL STONE
    Location: AT INTERSECTION NYS 96 & NYS 31 AT PITTSFORD

  • SENECA TRAIL
    CROSSING THE IRONDEQUOIT
    THICKLY WOODED, PERILOUS
    DEFILE WHERE DENONVILLE,
    EXPECTED AN AMBUSCADE ON
    JOURNEY TO GANNOGARO, 1689
    Location: ON NYS 96 ABOUT 1 1/2 MI. E. OF PITTSFORD VILLAGE

  • THE FIRST HOUSE
    IN PITTSFORD VILLAGE
    WAS ERECTED ON THIS
    SPOT BY ISRAEL STONE
    Location: ON NYS 31 AT PITTSFORD

County: MONROE
Town: RIGA, TOWN OF

  • FOUNDED 1843
    CHURCHVILLE GRADED SCHOOL
    OCCUPIED THIS BUILDING
    UNTIL 1895. A FINE EXAMPLE
    OF THE LOST ART OF BUILDING
    WITH COBBLESTONES.
    Location: ON W. BUFFALO ST., CHURCHVILLE

  • FRANCES E. WILLARD
    GREAT TEMPERANCE LEADER
    WAS BORN IN HOUSE
    STANDING ON THIS SITE SEPT. 28, 1839.
    THE WILLARDS LEFT THIS HOME FOR
    OHIO TWO YEARS LATER.
    Location: ON MAIN ST., CHURCHVILLE

  • OLD TAVERN
    BUILT BY J. THOMSON, 1808
    FIRST FRAME HOUSE AND FIRST
    POST OFFICE IN TOWN OF RIGA
    THOMAS ADAMS HOMESTEAD.
    Location: ON RIGA MUMFORD RD. AT RIGA CTR.

  • RIGA ACADEMY
    A FLOURISHING SCHOOL FOR
    BOARDING AND DAY PUPILS
    WAS ORGANIZED HERE IN 1846.
    THE BUILDING WAS EARLIER
    KNOWN AS THOMSON'S TAVERN.
    Location: ON RIGA MUMFORD RD., RIGA CTR.

County: MONROE
Town: ROCHESTER, CITY OF

  • CASCONCHIAGON
    INDIAN VILLAGE AT THE
    FALLS NEARBY. OCCUPIED
    BY SENECAS UNTIL 1819
    Location: IN MAPLEWOOD PK. N. OF DRIVING PK.

  • HIGHLAND PARK
    ROCHESTER'S FIRST PARK WAS
    OFFERED IN 1883 BY ELLWANGER
    AND BARRY AND ACCEPTED JAN.
    13, 1888. PARK COMMISSION
    WAS FORMED MAY 1, 1888.
    Location: NEAR PAVILION AT HIGHLAND PARK

  • INDIAN SPRING
    ATTRACTED INDIANS HERE;
    SUPPLIED GOOD WATER TO
    ROCHESTER'S FIRST SETTLERS
    FOR A DECADE AFTER 1812;
    GAVE NAME TO SPRING STREET.
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF SPRING & WASHINGTON STS.

  • INDIAN TOWN
    IN PRIMITIVE WILDERNESS
    HERE WAS A LARGE ALGONKIN
    VILLAGE WHOSE BARK CABINS
    AND TILLED FIELDS COVERED
    NINE ACRES
    Location: ON E. SIDE OF RIVER BLVD. NEAR ELMWOOD AVE.

  • JONATHAN CHILD
    FIRST MAYOR OF ROCHESTER
    1834-1835, BUILT THE HOUSE
    IN 1838 AND LIVED HERE WITH
    HIS WIFE, SOPHIA ELIZA ROCHESTER
    CHILD, UNTIL 1850
    Location: ON GROUNDS OF FOURTH CHURCH OF CHRIST SCIENTIST

  • LEWIS HENRY
    MORGAN'S HOME
    1855-1881. HERE HE WROTE
    HIS GREAT BOOKS: "THE AMERICAN
    BEAVER", "THE HUMAN FAMILY",
    "ANCIENT SOCIETY".
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF FITZHUGH AND TROUP STS.

  • OLD HIGH SCHOOL
    BUILT ON THIS SITE, 1827
    BY BRIGHTON DISTRICTS 4 AND 14
    NAMED ROCHESTER COLLEGIATE
    INSTITUTE, 1839. DR. CHESTER
    DEWEY WAS PRINCIPAL 1836-51.
    Location: ON GROUNDS OF FIRST UNITARIAN CHURCH ON CORTLAND ST.

  • PIONEER SCHOOL
    FIRST SCHOOLHOUSE IN ROCHESTER
    WAS BUILT OF WOOD ON THIS SITE,
    1813. IT WAS REPLACED BY A
    TWO-STORY STONE BUILDING, 1836,
    AND BY THIS STRUCTURE, 1873.
    Location: ON FITZHUGH ST.

  • SITE OF
    INDIAN FORT
    BUILT BY EARLY ALGONKINS
    IN FORM OF A SEMICIRCULAR
    EARTHEN EMBANKMENT
    WITH THREE ENTRANCES
    Location: ON W. BANK OF GENESEE R.E. OF N. END OF RIVER ST.

  • SUSAN B. ANTHONY
    OUTSTANDING LEADER IN
    WOMAN'S RIGHTS MOVEMENT
    MADE HER HOME HERE
    WITH HER SISTER, MARY
    1866-1906
    Location: ON MADISON ST. ROCHESTER

County: MONROE
Town: RUSH, TOWN OF

  • HONEOYE
    VALLEY
    THREE INDIAN TRIBES
    HAVE HUNTED, FISHED
    AND TILLED THE SOIL HERE
    FOR THOUSANDS OF YEARS
    Location: ON EAST RIVER RD., W. RUSH

  • SITE OF A SETTLEMENT OF
    TUSCARORAS
    6TH NATION OF IROQUOIS
    LEAGUE. DRIVEN FROM
    CAROLINAS BY BRITISH
    1714-1722
    Location: ON AVON RD. AT MONROE-LIVINGSTON COUNTY LINE

County: MONROE
Town: SWEDEN, TOWN OF

  • MCCORMICK REAPER
    MADE HERE IN 1846. SEYMOUR
    AND MORGAN BY BUILDING 100
    REAPERS FOR CYRUS MCCORMICK
    BEGAN QUANTITY PRODUCTION
    OF REAPERS
    Location: AT INTERSECTION MARKET & PARK STS. AT BROCKPORT

County: MONROE
Town: WHEATLAND, TOWN OF

  • BURIAL SITE
    QUAKER CEMETERY
    BOUGHT 1833
    FROM DARIUS SHADBOLT
    Location: ON BURRELL RD. S. OF SCOTTSVILLE

  • ERECTED 1854
    BY ORTHODOX QUAKERS
    USED THIRTY YEARS
    Location: ON SOUTH RD. S. OF SCOTTSVILLE

  • FIRST HOUSE
    WEST OF GENESEE RIVER
    STOOD 1700 FEET DUE SOUTH
    "INDIAN" ALLEN, BUILDER, 1786
    PETER SHAEFFER, SETTLER, 1789
    FIRST TOWN MEETING 1797
    Location: ON SCOTTSVILLE-WEST HENRIETTA RD. AT SCOTTSVILLE

  • NORTHAMPTON
    FIRST TOWN WEST OF GENESEE
    RIVER ORGANIZED HERE 1797
    EBENEZER ALLEN HOME 1786
    PETER SHAEFFER FARM 1789
    TERMINUS PIONEER R.R. 1838
    Location: MAIN ST. AT SCOTTSVILLE

  • SITE OF
    EARLY SCHOOL
    QUARKERS MET HERE
    1824-1827
    Location: ON BURRELL RD., S. OF SCOTTSVILLE

  • SITE OF FIRST
    QUAKER MEETING HOUSE
    TOWN OF WHEATLAND
    FRAME BUILDING 1827
    USED UNTIL 1854
    BY HICKSITES
    Location: ON BURRELL RD. S. OF SCOTTSVILLE

County: MONTGOMERY
Town: AMSTERDAM, CITY OF

  • 250 FEET S.
    CLAUS MASION
    BUILT 1762 BY
    SIR WM. JOHNSON
    FOR HIS DAUGHTER NANCY
    STOOD BETWEEN RIVER AND
    PRESENT RAILROAD
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT WEST END OF AMSTERDAM

  • GUY PARK, 1766
    BUILT BY SIR WILLIAM
    JOHNSON FOR DAUGHTER,
    MOLLY, WIFE OF COL. GUY
    JOHNSON. JOHNSONS LEFT
    FOR CANADA IN 1775.
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT AMSTERDAM

  • OLD MANNY INN
    WAS ON LOT 8, SUB-DIVISION
    OF LOT 1 OF THE 13TH PATENT.
    SOLD TO GABRIEL MANNY 1804.
    CAME INTO POSSESSION OF
    ROSS FAMILY IN 1839.
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT EAST END OF AMSTERDAM

County: MONTGOMERY
Town: AMSTERDAM, TOWN OF

  • 1ST CHURCH
    IN HAGAMAN
    ERECTED IN 1835 AS
    PRESBYTERIAN NORTH
    JOINED CLASSIS MOUNT 1855.
    IS NOW A REFORMED CHURCH.
    Location: ON MAIN ST. IN HAGAMAN

  • A FAMOUS INN
    HERE, 1795-1845, STOOD THE
    HOTEL OF JOHN VAN EPS WHO
    FOUGHT AT ORISKANY. HERE
    COMMODORE PERRY AND OTHER
    NOTABLES WERE ENTERTAINED.
    Location: ON NYS 5 ABOUT 2 1/2 MILES EAST OF CRANESVILLE

  • ADRIUCHA
    DE GROOT FAMILY SETTLED
    HERE ABOUT 1700, MILL BUILT
    ABOUT 1710
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT CRANESVILLE

  • CEMETERY-1774
    OWNED BY JOSEPH HAGAMAN
    FOR WHOM VILLAGE OF HAGAMAN
    WAS NAMED. CEMETERY RESTORED
    IN 1927. 7 REVOLUTIONARY
    SOLDIERS ARE BURIED HERE
    Location: ON PAWLING ST. AT HAGAMAN

  • COMPAANEN KILL
    NEAR HERE, ACCORDING TO
    TRADITION, IS THE GRAVE OF
    COPAAN THE ONEIDA, WHO AT
    WEST CANADA CREEK, 1781,
    TOMAHAWKED WALTER BUTLER.
    Location: ON NYS 5 ABOUT 2 MILES EAST OF CRANESVILLE

  • EVASKILL
    NAMED AFTER MRS. EVA VAN
    ALSTYNE WHO WAS SCALPED
    HERE 1755.
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT CRANESVILLE

  • FORT JOHNSON, 1749
    THIRD MOHAWK VALLEY HOUSE
    BUILT BY SIR WILLIAM
    JOHNSON. IMPORTANT MILITARY
    POST AND INDIAN COUNCIL
    PLACE OF 1754-60
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT FORT JOHNSON

  • JOHNSON TRAIL
    USED BY SIR WM. JOHNSON 1742-
    1774 BETWEEN FORT JOHNSON AND
    JOHNSON HALL. A BI-CENTENNIAL
    IN 1938 CELEBRATED HIS
    ARRIVAL IN AMERICA.
    Location: ON NYS 67 AT FORT JOHNSON

  • MANNY'S CORNERS
    CEMETERY-ABOUT 1790
    CONTAINS GRAVES OF
    FOUR REVOLUTIONARY
    SOLDIERS
    Location: ON NYS 67 AT MANNY'S CORNERS

  • OLD HAGAMAN
    CEMETERY-1774
    ABANDONED FOR MANY YEARS
    RESTORED BY LEWIS E.
    HARROWER IN 1927. CARED
    FOR BY TOWN OF AMSTERDAM
    Location: IN CEMETERY ABOUT 75 FT. WEST OF PAWLING ST. AT HAGAMAN

County: MONTGOMERY
Town: CANAJOHARIE, TOWN OF

  • CANAJOHARIE
    NAME MEANS
    "POT THAT WASHES ITSELF"
    THE POT HOLE IS IN BED OF
    CREEK BELOW AT ENTRANCE
    TO CANAJOHARIE GORGE
    Location: ON NYS 10 AT S. END CANAJOHARIE

  • CLINTON CAMP
    JUNE 1779
    OF COL. WEISSENFELS'
    4TH NEW YORK REGIMENT
    GUARDING ARMY'S PORTAGE
    MARCH TO OTSEGO LAKE
    Location: ON NYS 163 ABOUT 1/2 MILE NORTH OF SPROUT BROOK

  • CLINTON CAMP
    JUNE 1779
    OF COL. GANSEVOORT'S
    3RD NEW YORK REGIMENT
    GUARDING ARMY'S PORTAGE
    MARCH TO OTSEGO LAKE
    Location: ON ERIE BLVD., CANAJOHARIE

  • FLINT
    HOMESITE
    ROBET FLINT-PIONEER AND
    LIEUTENANT FRENCH AND
    INDIAN WARS. CORNELIUS
    FLINT-SOLDIER REVOLUTION
    Location: ON NYS 163 AT SPROUT BROOK

  • FORT FAILING
    1770
    PLACE OF REFUGE AND HOME OF
    COL. HENDRICK FREY
    Location: ON NYS 5S ABOUT 3/4 MILE WEST OF CANAJOHARIE

  • SITE OF
    JOHANNES REUFF'S TAVERN
    BUILT 1750 BY HENDRICK SCHREMBLING
    BECAME REUFF'S TAVERN IN 1778
    GEN. JAMES CLINTON'S HDQTS 1779
    GEN. WASHINGTON VISITED HERE 1783
    RECRUITING OFFICE 1812, DEMOLISHED 1850
    Location: ON NYS 10 AT CANAJOHARIE

  • SITE OF
    CANAJOHARIE ACADEMY, 1824-92
    SUSAN B. ANTHONY TAUGHT HERE 1846-
    1848. CHARLES F. WHEELOCK, PRIN.,
    1880-91
    Location: AT INTERSECTION CLIFF & OTSEGO STS. CANAJOHARIE

  • SULLIVAN-CLINTON
    CAMPAIGN 1779
    PORTAGE ROUTE OF GENERAL JAMES
    CLINTON'S ARMY CANAJOHARIE TO OTSEGO
    LAKE 2000 MEN, 500 WAGONS, 200
    BATEAUX AND SUPPLIES MOVED OVERLAND
    Location: ON NYS 10 AT S. END CANAJOHARIE

  • VAN ALSTYNE HOMESTEAD
    BUILT 1749 BY MARTIN J. VAN ALSTYNE
    16 OF 31 MEETINGS OF TRYON COUNTY
    SAFETY COMMITTEE HELD HERE 1774-75
    GENERAL NICHOLAS HERKIMER RECEIVED
    COMMISSION AS BRIG. GEN HERE 1775
    Location: ON MOYER ST., CANAJOHARIE

  • [ARROW]
    CLINTON ROAD
    ROUTE OF GEN. CLINTON'S AMERICAN
    ARMY OF 2000 MEN, 500 WAGONS,
    200 BATEAUX, PORTAGE
    CANAJOHARIE-OTSEGO LAKE
    1779
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 4 MILES SOUTHWEST OF CANAJOHARIE

County: MONTGOMERY
Town: CHARLESTON, TOWN OF

  • BAPTIST
    CHURCH
    ERECTED 1793
    ELIJAH HERRICK 1ST PASTOR
    Location: ON COUNTY RD., CHARLESTON

  • CHRISTIAN
    CHURCH
    ERECTED IN 1813
    JAMES WILSON FIRST PASTOR
    ELDER JOHN ROSS PASTOR
    1822-1872
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. AT CHARLESTON FOUR CORNERS

  • GRAVE OF
    SAMUEL TALLMADGE
    BORN BROOKHAVEN, L.I., NOV.
    23, 1755-DIED APRIL. 1, 1825
    LIEUTENANT AND ADJUTANT
    IN AMERICAN REVOLUTION
    Location: ON NYS 148 ABOUT 1/2 MILE SOUTHWEST OF CHARLESTON

  • GRAVE OF
    WILLIAM MC CONKEY
    JAN 22, 1744-SEPT. 10, 1825
    OWNER OF FERRY ON DELAWARE
    RIVER ON WHICH WASHINGTON
    CROSSED DEC. 25, 1776
    Location: ON NYS 148 ABOUT 1/2 MILE SOUTHWEST OF CHARLESTON

  • GRIST MILL
    ERECTED 1850 BY
    JUDAH BURTON
    SON OF THE 1ST SETTLERS
    Location: ON TOWN RD., BURTONVILLE

  • HOME OF
    LIEUT. SAMUEL
    TALLMADGE
    ERECTED ABOUT 1800
    REPLACED LOG CABIN
    BUILT ABOUT 1789
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 2 MIS. W. OF CHARLESTON

County: MONTGOMERY
Town: FLORIDA, TOWN OF

  • "YANKEE STREET"
    SURVEYED IN 1795, "SIX RODS
    WIDE, STRAIGHT COURSE S.E.
    FROM CREEK TO DIVISION LINE
    BETWEEN WARREN & REMSEN
    PATENTS," NOW SCHUYLER'S CORNER
    Location: ON NYS 30 AT MINAVILLE

  • ASSOCIATE CHURCH
    ORGANIZED ABOUT 1786 BY
    ASSOCIATE PRESBYTERY OF
    PENNSYLVANIA. 1ST MINISTERS:
    MAIRS, BANKS, DONALDSON,
    CAMPBELL. 1ST CHURCH
    BUILT 1800
    Location: ON TOWN RD. AT SCOTCH CHURCH

  • JAN WEMP (WEMPLE)
    EARLY SETTLER, OBTAINED FROM
    MOHAWK INDIANS 450 ACRES OF
    LAND IN 1737. WAS ONE OF
    CONTRACTORS WHO BUILT QUEEN
    ANNE CHAPEL & OLD FORT HUNTER
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 1/2 MILE N/E OF FORT HUNTER

  • JOHNSON'S
    1738-1742
    SITE OF FIRST
    MOHAWK VALLEY HOME
    AND TRADING POST OF
    SIR WILLIAM JOHNSON
    Location: ON NYS 5S ABOUT 1/4 MILE EAST OF AMSTERDAM

  • NEAR THIS SPOT STOOD THE
    TRADING HOUSE
    OF WILLIAM JOHNSON
    (LATER SIR WILLIAM)
    AGENT FOR WARRENBUSH PAT.
    1734
    Location: ON NYS 5S ABOUT 1/4 MILE EAST OF AMSTERDAM

  • PETER YOUNG
    SETTLED 1726 NEAR YOUNG'S
    LAKE. GRANTED FIRST LEASE
    OF LAND IN WARRENSBUSH BY
    SIR PETER WARREN, OCT. 7,
    1736.
    Location: ON CO. RD., E. SIDE SCHOHARIE CREEK ABOUT 1 3/3 MI. S.E MILL POINT

  • QUEEN ANNE
    PARSONAGE
    BUILT 1712 FOR USE OF
    MISSIONARIES TO MOHAWK
    INDIANS. HERE IN 1775 REV.
    J. STUART & J. BRANT TRANSLATED
    IN MOHAWK THE GOSPEL OF ST. MARK.
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 1/2 MILE EAST OF FORT HUNTER

  • SITE OF
    LOG MEETING HOUSE
    WARRENSBUSH CHURCH, ERECTED
    1778, FIRST METHODIST CHURCH
    IN MOHAWK VALLEY. REV. J.
    DEMPSTER, PASTOR, 1778-1804.
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 2 MILES SOUTHWEST OF AMSTERDAM

  • SITE OF
    T-CAN-DE-RO-GA OR
    TEN-ON-ON-TO-GEN. LOWER
    CASTLE MOHAWKS' WOLF CLAN
    LAST MOHAWK INDIAN VILLAGE
    IN VALLEY, 1700-1775
    Location: ON TOWN RD. AT FORT HUNTER

  • SITE OF
    QUEEN ANNE CHAPEL
    BUILT 1711-12 FOR USE OF
    MOHAWK INDIANS. TORN DOWN
    1821 TO MAKE WAY FOR ERIE
    CANAL
    Location: ON TOWN RD. AT FORT HUNTER

  • SITE OF
    OLD FORT HUNTER
    BUILT 1711-12 BY ORDER OF
    GOV. HUNTER FOR PROTECTION
    OF MOHAWK INDIANS. WAS
    STOCKADED AND SURROUNDED
    QUEEN ANNE CHAPEL
    Location: ON TOWN RD. AT FORT HUNTER

  • SITE OF
    FIRST BRIDGE
    BUILT BY ISAAC DEPUT ACROSS
    SCHOHARIE CREEK, 1796-97.
    PARTIALLY DESTROYED BY ICE
    FEB. 23, 1814
    Location: ON TOWN RD. AT FORT HUNTER

  • SITE OF
    REMSEN'S BUSH
    DUTCH CHURCH
    BUILT ABOUT 1784 ON LAND
    DONATED BY L. SHULER, REV.
    T. ROMEYN ONLY SETTLED PASTOR.
    NEW CHURCH IN MINAVILLE, 1808.
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 2 MILES SOUTHEAST OF MINAVILLE

  • SITE OF
    FREDERICK'S MILL
    AT END OF LANE PHILIP
    FREDERICK AND FRANCIS SALTZ
    LEASED LAND AND BUILT MILL,
    1750.
    Location: ON CO. RD., E. SIDE SCHOHARIE CREEK, 1 MI, S.E. MILL PT.

  • SITE OF PIONEER
    WARRENSBUSH VILLAGE
    1770-1810 HAD SAW AND GRIST
    MILL BELOW BRIDGE ON CREEK
    BEND, A PROSPEROUS VILLAGE,
    DESTROYED IN INDIAN RAIDS, 1781.
    Location: ON TN. RD. NEAR BRIDGE OVER SO. CHUCTANUNDA CR. ABOUT 1 1/2 MIS. SOUTHWEST OF AMSTERDAM

  • STANTONS FORD
    WHERE ROSS & BUTLER
    CROSSED WITH 700 TORIES
    INDIANS AND BRITISH
    OCTOBER 24, 1781
    LAST GREAT RAID IN COUNTY
    Location: ON NYS 5S ABOUT 1/4 MILE EAST OF AMSTERDAM

  • WILGEN VLACKTE
    WILLOW FLATS SETTLED
    BY CLAUS WILLEMSE VAN
    COPPERNOWL. THEN WESTERN-
    MOST LOCATION 1684
    Location: ON NYS 5S ABOUT 2 MILES EAST OF AMSTERDAM

  • [ARROW]
    FIRST TOWN MEETING
    HELD AT HOME OF EZRA MURRAY
    FIRST TUES. IN APRIL, 1794,
    MURRAY LIVED AT END OF ROAD
    AT FOOT OF BEAN HILL, ON
    PRESENT BUSSING FARM.
    Location: ON NYS 30 ABOUT 1 MILE S. OF MINAVILLE

County: MONTGOMERY
Town: GLEN, TOWN OF

  • ANDAGORON
    MIDDLE MOHAWK CASTLE
    OF THE BEAR CLAN 1642
    LOCATED ON HILL TOP.
    DESTROYED IN DE TRACY'S
    RAID OF 1666
    Location: ON NYS 5S ABOUT 2 MIS. WEST OF FULTONVILLE

  • BLOCK HOUSE
    ERECTED ON THIS
    SITE NEAR CLOSE
    OF REVOLUTION
    Location: ON NYS 5S AT FULTONVILLE

  • CROMWELL HOME
    BUILT ABOUT 1778 BY
    PHILIP CROMWELL, SURGEON
    TRYON COUNTY MILITIA
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 1/2 MILE SOUTH OF STONE RIDGE

  • FIRST SCHOOL
    IN THE TOWN OF GLEN WAS
    LOCATED HERE IN 1797
    IN THE HOME OF
    ABRAHAM D. QUACKENBUSH.
    JOHN HAZZARD, TEACHER
    Location: ON NYS 5S ABOUT 3/4 MI. WEST AURIESVILLE

  • GANDAWAGUE
    LOWER MOHAWK INDIAN
    CASTLE OF THE TURTLE
    CLAN 1659. BURNED IN
    DE TRACY'S RAID, 1666.
    Location: ON NYS 5S ABOUT 3/4 MI. WEST AURIESVILLE

  • LAST COUNCIL
    OF THE MOHAWK INDIANS
    AND THE TRYON COUNTY
    COMMITTEE OF SAFETY WAS
    HELD HERE ON THE FLATS
    OCTOBER 1775
    Location: ON NYS 5S ABOUT 1 MI. WEST OF AURIESVILLE

  • OSSERNENON
    LOWER MOHAWK INDIAN
    CASTLE 1642-1659.
    FATHER JOGUES AND RENE
    GOUPIL MARTYRED HERE.
    TEKAWITHA BORN HERE
    Location: ON NYS 5S NEAR INTERSECTION WITH NYS 288

  • STARIN TAVERN
    BUILT ON THIS SITE 1755
    WESTERN TERMINUS OF
    ALBANY POST ROAD 1795
    MAIL CARRIED WEEKLY
    FROM HERE TO JOHNSTOWN
    Location: ON RIVER ST., FULTONVILLE

  • VAN EPPS HOME
    FIRST HOME BUILT HERE
    1751 BY JOHN E. VAN EPPS
    PIONEER SETTLER IN
    FULTONVILLE THEN KNOWN
    AS VAN EPPS SWAMP
    Location: ON NYS 5S AT E. END OF FULTONVILLE

County: MONTGOMERY
Town: MINDEN, TOWN OF

  • 1739
    ANCIENT
    SALT SPRINGS
    NEARBY DAVID LINSEY
    DISCOVERED THE SPRING FROM
    WHICH VILLAGE WAS NAMED
    SOURCE OF PIONEER SUPPLY
    Location: ON CO. RD., SALT SPRINGVILLE

  • 1779
    CLINTON MARCH
    COL. LEWIS DUBOIS WITH
    5TH NEW YORK REGT, AND
    ARTILLERY LEFT FT. PLAIN FOR
    OTSEGO LAKE, JUNE 25, 1779
    Location: ON NYS 5S ABOUT 1/4 MILE WEST OF FORT PLAIN

  • 1779
    [ARROW]
    CLINTON RAOD
    PORTAGE ROUTE OF GEN.
    CLINTON'S AMERICAN ARMY
    CANAJOHARIE TO OTSEGO LAKE
    2000 MEN 200 BATEAUX 500 WAGONS
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1 MILE EAST OF SALT SPRINGVILLE

  • CAN-A-WO-GE
    MOHAWK VILLAGE STOOD ON THIS
    SAND HILL BURIAL GROUND
    ON AND ABOUT THIS ROAD
    1634
    Location: ON NYS 5S ABOUT 1/2 MILE WEST OF FORT PLAIN

  • FORT CLYDE
    STRONG FORT WITH BLOCKHOUSE
    NAMED FOR COL. SAMUEL CLYDE
    OF CANAJOHARIE
    1777-1783
    Location: ON NYS 163 ABOUT 1 MILE SOUTH OF FORT PLAIN

  • FORT PLAIN
    1776-1786
    NORTHERN LIMIT OF RAID
    BY BRANT'S INDIANS-TORIES
    16 KILLED-60 CAPTURED
    100 BUILDINGS BURNED
    AUGS.2, 1780
    Location: ON NYS 5S ABOUT 1/2 MILE WEST OF FORT PLAIN

  • FORT PLANK
    1776
    SITE MARKS STOCKADED HOME
    FREDERICK PLANCK
    MILITARY POST AND REFUGE
    1776-1783
    Location: ON NYS 5S ABOUT 2 1/2 MILES WEST OF FORT PLAIN

  • GRAVE OF
    HENRY SEEBER
    PIONEER, PATRIOT &
    REVOLUTIONARY SOLDIER
    Location: ON CO. RD. 2 MILES EAST OF SALT SPRINGVILLE

  • INDIAN TRAIL
    &
    MILITARY ROAD
    COVERED BY CLINTON'S ARMY
    IN 1779 ON MARCH TO JOIN
    GEN. SULLIVAN AT TIOGA
    Location: ON CO. RD., SALT SPRINGVILLE

  • OTS-SQUA-GO
    COURSE OF CREEK CHANGED
    FROM POINT 1/2 MILE NORTH WHEN
    ERIE CANAL WAS CONSTRUCTED
    1817-1825
    Location: ON NYS 80 AT FORT PLAIN

  • OTS-TUN-GO
    ONE OF FIRST MOHAWK CASTLES
    LOCATED ABOUT 3/4 MILE
    UP OTSTUNGO
    1580-1625
    Location: ON NYS 80 ABOUT 2 MILES EAST OF HALLSVILLE

  • SAND HILL
    SCHOOL
    SITE OF FIRST SCHOOL
    BUILT IN THIS SECTION
    BEFORE REVOLUTION
    Location: ON NYS 5S ABOUT 1/2 MILE WEST OF FORT PLAIN

  • SAND HILL
    DUTCH REFORMED CHURCH
    FIRST BUILT 1750
    BURNED IN 1780 RAID
    REBUILT 1785-TORN DOWN 1840
    Location: ON NYS 5S ABOUT 1/2 MILE WEST OF FORT PLAIN

  • SITE OF HOME AND GRAVE OF
    SERGEANT JOHN JACOB
    DIEFENDORF
    BORN 1747-DIED 1839
    SERVED REVOLUTION
    WAS IN BATTLE OF ORISKANY
    Location: ON NYS 163 AT FREYS BUSH

  • TA-RA-TO-REES
    "HILL OF HEALTH"
    MOHAWK MIDDLE TOWN
    1700-1755
    Location: AT INTERSECTION KELLOGG & DOUGLAS STS., FORT PLAIN

  • TE-NO-TO-GE
    LARGEST MOHAWK INDIAN TOWN
    VISITED BY
    VAN DEN BOGAERT 1634
    55 HOUSES-OVER 1000 PEOPLE
    Location: ON NYS 5S ABOUT 2 MILES WEST OF FORT PLAIN

County: MONTGOMERY
Town: MOHAWK, TOWN OF

  • 1/4 MILE S.
    TEKAWITHA
    SPRING
    WATER SUPPLY FOR VILLAGES
    OF CAUGHNAWAGA 1667-1693
    NAMED AFTER THE
    "LILY OF THE MOHAWKS"
    Location: ON NYS 334 ABOUT 1/2 MILE NORTHWEST OF FONDA

  • APPPROACHING SITE OF OLD
    CAUGHNAWAGA
    CHURCH
    ERECTED IN 1763
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT FONDA

  • CAMP MOHAWK
    THE "IRON HEARTED REGIMENT"
    DRILLED HERE, MUSTERED
    INTO SERVICE AUG. 16, 1862
    UNDER COL. SIMEON SAMMONS
    Location: ON NYS 148 ABOUT 1/2 MILE NORTH OF FONDA

  • CAN-A-GOR-HA
    (1666-1693)
    MOHAWK INDIAN CASTLE
    BURNED BY FRENCH AND INDIANS
    1693
    Location: ON NYS 5 ABOUT 4 MIS. W. OF FONDA

  • CAUGHNAWAGAE
    LOWER MOHAWK INDIAN
    CASTLE 1667 RULED BY
    TURTLE CLAN. JESUIT
    MISSION OF ST. PETER'S
    DESTROYED IN RAID OF 1693
    Location: ON NYS 5 ABOUT 3/4 MILE WEST OF FONDA

  • CONNOLLY INN
    STOOD AT YOSTS WHERE THERE
    WAS A TOLL GATE AND A BRIDGE
    ACROSS THE MOHAWK WHICH
    WAS SWEPT AWAY BY HIGH
    WATER AND NEVER REBUILT
    Location: ON NYS 5 ABOUT 5 MILE WEST OF FONDA

  • COURT HOUSE
    ERECTED 1836 WHEN FONDA
    BECAME COUNTY SEAT.
    SCENE OF MANY SOCIAL
    RELIGIOUS AND POLITICAL
    MEETINGS
    Location: ON GROUNDS OF OLD COURT HOUSE, FONDA

  • DANASCARA PLACE
    BUILT 1795 BY
    COL. FREDERICK VISCHER
    REPLACING HOUSE WHICH
    WAS BURNED IN THE
    VALLEY RAID OF 1780
    Location: ON NYS 5 ABOUT 3 MIS. E., FONDA

  • DAVIS TAVERN
    FAMOUS IN DAYS OF
    STAGE COACH TRAVEL.
    BUILT ABOUT 1781 BY
    MATTHEW C. DAVIS
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT FONDA

  • FONDA CEMETERY
    OLD CAUGHNAWAGA CEMETERY
    VILLAGE PROPERTY SINCE 1855
    MANY EARLY SETTLERS BURIED
    HERE, ALSO SIX
    REVOLUTIONARY SOLDIERS
    Location: ON CEMETERY ST. AT FONDA

  • FONDA TAVERN
    BUILT ABOUT 1781 BY
    JOHN FONDA
    OF TRYON COUNTY MILITIA
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT FONDA

  • LIBERTY POLE
    ERECTED ON THIS SPOT
    OCCASIONED THE FIRST
    BLOOD SHED IN OLD TRYON
    COUNTY IN MAY 1775
    Location: ON NYS 5 ABOUT 1/2 MILE WEST OF FONDA

  • PAPPY DOUW
    FONDA HOUSE
    BUILT FOR ADAM DOUW FONDA
    ON "THE WINTER FARM."
    STOOD ON HILLTOP NORTH AND
    EAST OF PRESENT LOCATION
    Location: ON NYS 334 AT FONDA

  • SITE OF
    SAMMONS' HOME
    BURNED DURING REVOLUTION AND
    SAMPSON SAMMONS AND HIS THREE
    SONS TAKEN PRISONERS. JACOB AND
    FREDERICK WERE TAKEN TO CANADA
    BUT ESCAPED AFTER MUCH SUFFERING
    Location: ON NYS 148 ABOUT 2 MILES NORTH OF FONDA

  • VAN HORN HOUSE
    BUILT BY ABRAM VAN HORN IN
    1826. USED AS A BAKERY AND
    STORE.
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT FONDA

  • VEEDER HOME
    BUILT ABOUT 1781 BY
    MAJOR ABRAHAM VEEDER
    WHO KEPT AN INN HERE
    AND OPERATED A FERRY
    ACROSS THE RIVER
    Location: ON NYS 5 ABOUT 1 MILE WEST OF FONDA

  • WEMPLE TAVERN
    ERECTED 1780 BY
    "PEGGY" WEMPLE
    REVOLUTIONARY HEROINE
    Location: ON NYS 334 AT FONDA

  • [ARROW] 700 FEET
    SITE OF HOME OF
    DOUW FONDA
    1ST SETTLER, AFTER WHOM
    VILLAGE WAS NAMED. HOUSE
    BURNED & FONDA KILLED BY
    TORIES & INDIANS 1780
    Location: ON NYS 148 AT FONDA

County: MONTGOMERY
Town: PALATINE, TOWN OF

  • ARMY CAMP
    OF GEN. VAN RENSSELAER'S
    AMERICAN ARMY, OCT. 19, 1780
    ALSO SITE OF PALATINE CHURCH
    1770
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT PALATINE CHURCH

  • FORT FREY
    1739
    HOME OF MAJ. JOHN FREY
    HENDRICK FREY LOCATION
    AT FOOT OF HILL 1689
    BRITISH FORT NEARBY 1701-1713
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT PALATINE BRIDGE

  • FORT WAGNER
    STONE SECTION OF HOUSE
    WAS STOCKADED HOME OF
    LT. COL. PETER WAGNER
    PALATINE REGT. TRYON
    COUNTY MILITIA 1750
    Location: ON NYS 5 ABOUT 1 MILE NORTHWEST OF NELLISTON

  • LOUCKS TAVERN
    SITE OF FIRST MEETING
    PLACE PALATINE DISTRICT
    COMMITTEE OF SAFETY
    AUGUST 27, 1774
    Location: ON NYS 10 AT STONE ARABIA

  • PALATINE BRIDGE
    SETTLED BY HENDRICK FREY 1689
    BRIDGE BUILT 1803
    VILLAGE CHARTERED 1867
    SETTLED BY PALATINE GERMANS
    1689-1867
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT PALATINE BRIDGE

  • SITE OF THE EARLY HOME OF
    MAJOR JELLES FONDA
    A PROMINENT MERCHANT BY
    THE MOHAWK VALLEY AND AN
    INDIAN TRADER. HERE WAS
    LOCATED AN INDIAN VILLAGE
    Location: ON NYS 5 ABOUT 4 MILES EAST OF PALATINE BRIDGE

  • SPRAKER INN
    BUILT IN 1795 BY THE
    SPRAKER FAMILY
    ONCE FAMOUS AS A
    RIVER AND TURNPIKE TAVERN
    Location: ON NYS 5 ABOUT 2 MILES EAST OF PALATINE BRIDGE

  • STONE ARABIA
    LUTHERAN CHURCH 1792
    ALSO SITE OF LOG CHURCH 1729
    SETTLED BY PALATINES
    1712
    Location: ON NYS 10 ABOUT 3 MILES NORTH OF PALATINE BRIDGE

  • STONE ARABIA
    BATTLEFIELD
    LIES EAST OF ROAD
    COL. BROWN'S AMERICAN BATTALION
    DEFEATED OCT. 19, 1780
    Location: ON NYS 10 ABOUT 2 MILES NORTH OF PALATINE BRIDGE

County: MONTGOMERY
Town: ROOT, TOWN OF

  • CURRYTOWN
    REFORMED CHURCH
    ORGANIZED 1790. PREVIOUS
    SERVICES HELD IN BARN OF JACOB
    DIEVENDORF. FIRST PASTOR
    REV. J.R.H. HASBROUCK
    Location: ON NYS 162 AT CURRYTOWN

  • HOME OF
    VOLKERT VROOMAN
    WHERE ACCORDING TO
    TRADITION WASHINGTON
    STAYED OVERNIGHT ON HIS
    VISIT THROUGH THE VALLEY
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. AT RANDALL

  • RAIDER'S CAMP
    OCTOBER 18, 1780
    CAMP OF SIR
    JOHN JOHNSON'S
    INDIAN-TORY RAIDERS
    Location: ON NYS 5S ABOUT 5 1/2 MILES W. OF FULTONVILLE

  • THIS VICINITY RAIDED BY
    TORIES AND INDIANS ON
    JULY 9, 1781
    FORT LEWIS FORMED A REFUGE
    Location: ON NYS 162 ABOUT 1 1/2 MILES N.W. OF RURAL GROVE

  • TI-ON-NON-TO-GEN
    GREAT CASTLE OF MOHAWKS
    ON HEIGHTS ABOVE
    DESTROYED BY
    FRENCH-INDIAN ARMY 1666
    Location: ON NYS 162 AT SPRAKERS

County: MONTGOMERY
Town: ST. JOHNSVILLE, TOWN OF

  • 300 FT. NORTH [ARROW]
    SITE OF
    REFORMED CHURCH
    1750
    FIRST CHURCH ORGANZATION
    IN TOWN OF ST. JOHNSVILLE
    Location: ON NYS 5 ABOUT 1/2 MILE EAST OF ST. JOHNSVILLE

County: NASSAU
Town: HEMPSTEAD, TOWN OF

  • "CHERRYWOOD"
    HOME OF CAPT. JOHN SEAMAN
    PIONEER SETTLER JERUSALEM
    BUILT NEAR THIS SITE 1644.
    PATENTEE TO 300 ACRE TRACT
    OF HEMPSTEAD PURCHASE
    Location: WANTAGH AVE., NO. OF JERUSALEM AVE., IN WANTAGH

  • 1666 JACKSON -- JONES 1935
    HOME OF COL. JOHN JACKSON
    BRIG. GEN. JACOB S. JACKSON
    SAMUEL JACKSON JONES (1923)
    AND THEIR DESCENDANTS
    FOR TEN GENERATIONS
    Location: MERRICK RD. E. OF RIVERSIDE DR., IN WANTAGH

  • BENJAMIN F. THOMPSON
    1784-1849
    WROTE "HISTORY OF LONG ISLAND"
    WHILE LIVING HERE. HIS GRAVE
    IS IN HEMPSTEAD.
    Location: FULTON AVE., W. OF TERRACE AVE. IN HEMPSTEAD

  • DUKE'S LAWS CONVENTION
    HELD NEAR THIS SPOT
    IN OLD BUILDING, 1664-65
    Location: W. SIDE COOPER FIELD PARKING SPACE BETWEEN FULTON & FRONT STS. IN HEMPSTEAD

  • GRIST MILL SITE
    COL. JOHN JACKSON GRANTED
    WHOLE LIBERTY AND PRIVILEGE
    JERUSALEM RIVER 1704; ALSO
    CONBURY PATENT 1708 FROM
    QUEEN ANNE (NOW JONES BEACH)
    Location: MERRICK RD. E. OF RIVERSIDE DR., IN WANTAGH

  • HOME OF
    ALEXANDER DAVISON, SON OF
    ROBERT DAVISON, REVOLUTIONARY
    SOLDIER, WHOSE GRANDSON
    CHARLES AND FAMILY LIVED
    HERE UNTIL THE YEAR 1921
    Location: OCEAN & ATLANTIC AVES., IN E. ROCKAWAY

  • HOMESTEAD SITE
    1687-1884
    SIX GENERATIONS OF THE
    JONATHAN SMITH JR. BRANCH
    ROCK SMITH FAMILY.
    LONG ISLAND SETTLERS, 1664
    Location: MERRICK RD. E. OF CENTRAL BLVD. IN FREEPORT

  • INDIAN TRAIL
    AND SEAMAN'S NECK PATH
    THROUGH TRACT PURCHASED
    FROM MASSAPEQUA INDIANS, 1664,
    BY CAPTAIN JOHN SEAMAN;
    BECAME PUBLIC HIGHWAY, 1762
    Location: NYS 27 & SEAMAN NECK RD., IN SEAFORD

  • LINDBERGH'S FLIGHT
    ON MAY 20, 1927, COL. CHARLES
    A. LINDBERGH ROSE 1/4 MILE
    WEST FROM ROOSEVELT FIELD,
    LANDING 33 HOURS LATER AT
    LE BOURGET FIELD, FRANCE
    Location: ON POST AVE., NEAR ENTRANCE TO ROOSEVELT RACEWAY

  • MEETING HOUSE
    BUILT 1827 BY RELIGIOUS
    SOCIETY OF FRIENDS,
    FIRST MEETING IN JERUSALEM
    HELD AT HOME OF
    BENJAMIN SEAMAN, 1699
    Location: WANTAGH AVE., ABOUT 1/2 MI. NO. OF JERUSALEM AVE., IN WANTAGH

  • NORTH JERUSALEM
    AVENUE
    VERY OLD ROUTE
    FROM HEMPSTEAD
    TO JERUSALEM
    SETTLED 1644
    Location: WANTAGH AVE., NO. OF SOUTHERN STATE PKWY., IN WANTAGH

  • RICHARD JACKSON
    CAPTAIN, JERUSALEM COMPANY,
    QUEENS CO. MILITIA 1776,
    LIVED HERE: DAUGHTER JANE
    M. LT. JOHN ALTHAUSE, HESSIAN
    ON BRITISH EVACUATION 1783
    Location: WANTAGH AVE., S. OF STRATFORD RD., IN WANTAGH

  • ROCK HALL
    COLONIAL MANOR HOUSE
    BUILT BY JOSIAH MARTIN 1767
    RESIDENCE OF HEWLETT FAMILY
    1824-1948
    OWNED BY TOWN OF HEMPSTEAD
    Location: B'WAY AT ENTRANCE TO ROCK HALL, VLGE. OF LAWRENCE

  • SAND HOLE
    CHURCH
    SITE OF CONVERTED STORE.
    FIRST METHODIST CHURCH
    IN FREEPORT, 1833-58
    NEAR CORNER OF OLD
    CROOKED AVENUE
    Location: BABYLON TRNPKE. & SEAMAN AVE. IN FREEPORT

  • SITE OF
    GRIST AND SAW MILL
    OF DANIEL RAYNOR
    RAYNORTOWN SETTLED
    BY EDWARD RAYNOR OR
    HIS CHILDREN, 1659
    Location: MILL RD., E. OF NASSAU RD. IN FREEPORT

  • SITE OF
    FIRST GRIST AND SAW MILL
    BUILT BY JOSEPH HAVILAND
    IN 1688. LAST OPERATORS
    CHARLES DAVISON AND SONS,
    ROBERT, HERBERT, AND JOHN
    Location: E. ROCKAWAY RD. OCEAN AVE., E. ROCKAWAY

  • SITE OF
    STAGE COACH STOP
    ROUTE BROOKLYN TO BABYLON;
    MERRICK POST OFFICE AND
    GENERAL STORE 1840-73;
    "LIBERTY FLAG POLE" 1862-92
    Location: BABYLON TRNPKE. S. OF MEADOWBROOK RD.

  • SITE OF
    INDIAN VILLAGE
    LODGES OF MEROKE TRIBE
    WERE FEW HUNDRED FEET
    SOUTH. MERRICK SETTLED
    IN 1643.
    Location: NYS 27, W. OF CENTRAL BLVD. IN MERRICK

  • SITE OF
    FIRST POST OFFICE, 1869
    RICHARD CARMAN AND
    L.D. SIMONS IN CHARGE
    FIRST CALLED NEAR ROCKAWAY
    NOW, EAST ROCKAWAY
    Location: MAIN ST., SO. OF ATLANTIC AVE. IN E. ROCKAWAY

  • SITE OF
    COL. RICHARD HEWLETT HOME.
    FAMOUS TORY OF LONG ISLAND,
    WHO PLANNED TO CAPTURE GEN.
    GEORGE WASHINGTON
    Location: MAIN ST., BETWEEN CARMAN AND GRANT AVES., IN ROCKAWAY

  • SITE OF HOME
    ROBERT JACKSON
    PIONEER SETTLER JERUSALEM,
    1644. PATENTEE TO TRACT
    SOUTHWARD AFTER
    HEMPSTEAD PURCHASE
    Location: WANTAGH AVE., S. OF HEMPSTEAD AVE., IN WANTAGH

  • SITE OF OVEN
    FIRST OVEN FOR PUBLIC USE.
    SOLD BY AARON ALBURTIS TO
    ISAAC BLOOM IN 1760. BREAD
    WAS BAKED HERE FOR THE
    NEIGHBORS TWICE A WEEK
    Location: MAIN ST., SO. OF ATLANTIC AVE. IN E. ROCKAWAY

  • THIS HOME
    WAS GIVEN TO JOHN HEWLETT
    BY HIS GRANDFATHER, GEORGE
    HEWLETT, WHO CAME HERE FROM
    ENGLAND IN 1636. THE HOME
    IS STILL IN THE FAMILY
    Location: E. ROCKAWAY RD., E. OF B'WAY IN HEWLETT

  • WANTAGH
    FIRST SETTLEMENT 1644
    NAMED IN MEMORY OF
    GRAND SACHEM OF MONTAUKS
    1651-1658
    Location: WANTAGH AVE., N. OF MERRICK RD. IN WANTAGH

  • WANTAGH
    FIRST SETTLEMENT 1644
    NAMED IN MEMORY OF
    GRAND SACHEM OF MONTAUKS
    1651-1658
    FOR TEN GENERATIONS
    Location: MERRICK RD. AT WANTAGH CAUSEWAY

County: NASSAU
Town: OYSTER BAY, TOWN OF

  • BROAD SPRING
    THIS SPRING MARKS
    POINT LAID OUT IN
    FIRST HIGHWAY SURVEY OF
    BETHPAGE MADE 1732
    BY SAMUEL WILLIS
    Location: CENTRAL AVE. & MEETING HOUSE RD., IN FARMINGDALE

  • CANTIAG WOODS
    NORTHWEST CORNER OF LAND
    CONVEYED BY INDIAN DEED.
    TO ROBERT WILLIAMS 1648.
    ROCK PLACED AS TOWN
    BOUNDARY MARKER 1745.
    Location: CANTIAGUE RD. & W. JOHN ST. IN HICKSVILLE

  • COUNCIL ROCK
    HERE GEORGE FOX, 1672, MET
    WITH WRIGHTS, UNDERHILL AND
    FEEKE AT QUAKER GATHERINGS
    Location: LAKE AVE., S. OF W. MAIN ST., OYSTER BAY

  • FORTIFIED
    HILL
    OCCUPIED BY
    COLONEL SIMCOE'S
    QUEENS RANGERS
    1779-81
    Location: ORCHARD & PROSPECT STS., IN OYSTER BAY

  • HOME OF
    SAMUEL JONES 1734-1819
    "FATHER OF THE N.Y. BAR"
    GRANDSON OF THOMAS JONES
    STUDIED LAW WITH
    WILLIAM SMITH
    Location: MERRICK RD., E. OF NYS 107 IN MASSAPEQUA

  • POWELL HOME
    BUILT BY THOMAS POWELL
    IN 1700 AFTER PURCHASE
    OF BETHPAGE FROM
    MASSAPEQUA INDIAN TRIBE
    OCTOBER 18, 1695
    Location: MERRITT RD., NO. OF FULTON ST., IN FARMINGDALE

  • QUAKER
    MEETING HOUSE
    BUILT AND FIRST
    MEETINGS HELD 1698
    Location: MEETING HOUSE RD., E. OF BETHPAGE STATE PK. CLUB HOUSE, FARMINGDALE

  • RAYNHAM HALL
    BUILT 1740; USED BY BRITISH
    AS COL. SIMCOE'S HDGTS;
    INFORMATION FROM HERE LED TO
    MAJOR ANDRE'S CAPTURE AFTER HIS
    VISITS; HOME OF ROBERT TOWNSEND,
    WASHINGTON'S SPY
    Location: RTE. 106, NO.SIDE W. MAIN ST., OYSTER BAY

  • YOUNGS HOME
    GEORGE WASHINGTON
    RESTED HERE ON
    APRIL 23/24, 1790
    WHILE ON HIS
    LONG ISLAND TOUR
    Location: COVENECK & OYSTER BAY-SYOSSET RD, OYSTER BAY

County: NEW YORK
Town: NONE

  • "AN AMIABLE CHILD"
    GRAVE OF ST. CLAIRE POLLOCK,
    KILLED BY FALL OVER CLIFF,
    1797. PLOT DEEDED BY UNCLE,
    GEORGE POLLOCK, TO CORNELIA
    VERPLANCK TO PRESERVE.
    Location: GRANT'S TOMB

  • BOWLING GREEN
    CENTER OF NEW AMSTERDAM
    ABOUT 1650; MARKET AND
    PARADE FOR SOLDIERS. HERE
    INDIANS SOLD MANHATTAN
    TO PETER MINUIT, 1626.
    Location: BOWLING GREEN

  • BRITISH LINES
    ERECTED IN 1776, TO DEFEND
    MANHATTAN ISLAND, WITH
    BLOCKHOUSES AND BATTERIES,
    EXTENDED ACROSS THESE HILLS
    ON THE LINE OF 100TH STREET.
    Location: 2 EAST DRIVE

  • BRITISH LINES
    CHAMBERS STREET MARKS THE
    LINE OF FORTIFICATIONS AND
    SOLDIERS' BARRACKS BUILT
    BY THE BRITISH DURING
    THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION.
    Location: CHAMBERS ST.

  • BRITISH PROVOST
    SITE OF MILITARY PRISON
    DURING THE REVOULTION.
    ETHAN ALLEN CONFINED THERE.
    LATER DEBTORS' PRISON
    AND REGISTER'S OFFICE.
    Location: CHAMBERS STREET

  • BRYANT PARK
    ONCE PART OF THE FARM OF
    ROBERT MURRAY, WHOSE WIFE
    DELAYED GEN. HOWE'S CHASE
    OF WASHINGTON, 1776. LATER
    CROTON WATER RESERVIOR.
    Location: BRYANT PARK

  • CASTLE GARDEN
    BUILT 1807. AS A BATTERY;
    AMUSEMENT HALL 1824; OPERA
    HOUSE 1847, WHERE JENNY LIND
    SANG; IMMIGRATION BUREAU,
    1855-1891; NOW THE AQUARIUM.
    Location: BATTERY PARK AQUARIUM

  • CITY HALL
    BEGUN IN 1803, COMPLETED
    IN 1812. THE ARCHITECT WAS
    JOHN MCCOMB, JR. THE FRONT
    AND SIDES OF MARBLE, REAR OF
    BROWNSTONE, FOR ECONOMY.
    Location: CITY HALL

  • CITY HALL PARK
    OLD DUTCH VLACTE (FLAT).
    OR PASTURE, LATER CALLED
    THE COMMON; GRANTED TO
    THE CITY IN 1686 BY THE
    DONGAN CHARTER
    Location: CITY HALL

  • CORLAER'S HOOK
    INDIAN VILLAGE, NAIGIANAC,
    "SAND LANDS," TRAIL ALONG
    LINE OF GRAND STREET, ACROSS
    MANHATTAN; LATER OCCUPIED BY
    FARM OF JACOB CORLAER.
    Location: CORLAER'S HOOK PARK

  • FORT AMSTERDAM
    SUCCEEDING BLOCKHOUSE OF
    FUR TRADERS, 1615; BUILT IN
    1626 BY PETER MINUIT, WHERE
    CUSTOM HOUSE STANDS. IN 1790
    SITE OF GOVERNMENT HOUSE.
    Location: BATTERY PARK

  • FORT CLINTON
    NAMED FOR MAYOR DEWITT
    CLINTON, ERECTED IN 1814,
    TO PROTECT NEW YORK CITY.
    SITE OF BRITISH EARTHWORK
    DURING THE REVOLUTION.
    Location: CENTRAL PARK

  • FORT WASHINGTON
    CENTRAL FORTIFICATION OF
    AMERICAN DEFENSES OF THE
    HEIGHTS, 1776. BUILT BY
    COL. RUFUS PUTNAM, AND
    PENNSYLVANIA TROOPS.
    Location: FORT WASHINGTON

  • FORT WASHINGTON
    AMERICAN GARRISON OF 3,000
    CAPTURED, NOV. 16, 1776, BY
    9,000 BRITISH AND HESSIANS,
    LATER NAMED FORT KNYPHAUSEN,
    AFTER THE HESSIAN GENERAL.
    Location: FORT WASHINGTON

  • GRACIE HOUSE
    BUILT BY ARCHIBALD GRACIE,
    MERCHANT, 1813. EARLIER
    HORN'S HOOK, WHERE BATTERIES
    WERE PLACED IN REVOLUTION
    AND THE WAR OF 1812.
    Location: GRACIE PARK

  • HAMILTON GRANGE
    GEN. ALEXANDER HAMILTON
    ONE OF THE FRAMERS OF
    THE CONSTITUTION, FIRST
    SECRETARY OF THE TREASURY,
    BUILT THIS HOUSE IN 1802
    Location: 287 CONVENT AVE., NEW YORK CITY

  • JUMEL MANSION
    BUILT BY COL. ROGER MORRIS
    1765; OCCUPIED BY WASHINGTON,
    SEPT.-OCT., 1776; LATER BY
    STEPHEN JUMEL, FRENCH WINE
    MERCHANT, 1810 TO 1832
    Location: EDGECOMBE AVE., WEST 160TH ST.

  • MADISON SQUARE
    ORIGINALLY PARADE GROUND
    MADE CITY PARK IN 1837.
    DOUBLE LINE OF TREES NORTH
    FROM FOUNTAIN MARKS LINE OF
    OLD POST ROAD, CLOSED 1844.
    Location: MADISON SQUARE PARK

  • MARGARET CORBIN
    WIFE OF JOHN CORBIN, OF A
    PENNSYLVANIA BATTERY, KILLED
    HERE IN THE BATTLE OF FORT
    WASHINGTON, FIRED HIS GUN
    UNTIL SHE WAS BADLY WOUNDED.
    Location: FORT TRYON PARK

  • MCGOWN'S PASS
    HERE STOOD ORIGINAL TAVERN
    ON OLD POST ROAD, BUILT 1750
    BY JACOB DYCKMAN, SOLD 1760
    TO MRS. DANIEL MCGOWN, WHO
    KEPT RESORT FOR FOXHUNTERS.
    Location: CENTRAL PARK

  • MOUNT MORRIS
    HERE WAS THE CALF PASTURE,
    IN WHICH HARLEM DUTCH
    SETTLERS HAD COMMON RIGHTS.
    AMERICAN AND HESSIAN
    BATTERIES ON SUMMIT, 1776.
    Location: MT. MORRIS PARK

  • MOUNT MORRIS
    CALLED SLANG BERG OR SNAKE
    HILL BY DUTCH SETTLERS, FROM
    RATTLESNAKES INFESTING IT.
    TOWER ON SUMMIT RELIC OF OLD
    VOLUNTEER FIRE DEPARTMENT.
    Location: MT. MORRIS PARK

  • OAK VILLA
    SITE OF COUNTRY SEAT OF
    BROCKHOLST LIVINGSTON, JUDGE
    AND GENERAL, GRANDSON OF
    PHILIP, LORD OF THE MANOR
    OF COLUMBIA COUNTY, N.Y.
    Location: RIVERSIDE DRIVE

  • OLD SHORE LINE[ARROW]
    THE ORIGINAL HUDSON RIVER
    SHORE TO 1700, WAS ON THE
    LINE OF THE NINTH AVENUE
    ELEVATED FROM GREENWICH
    STREET TO THE SOUTH FERRY.
    Location: BATTERY PARK, STATE ST. AND BATTERY PLACE

  • SPOUTING SPRING
    IN COVE BELOW WAS RESORT
    OF INDIANS, KNOWN AS
    SHORAKAPKOK, OR "SITTING
    DOWN PLACE." NAME OF SPRING
    GIVEN TO SPUYTEN DUYVIL.
    Location: INWOOD PARK

  • SPOUTING SPRING
    HERE WAS THE SHORAKAPKOK
    OR "SITTING DOWN PLACE,"
    OF THE INDIANS WHO MADE
    SPUYTEN DUYVIL A PLACE
    FOR LOAFING AND EATING.
    Location: SPUYTEN DUYVIL CREEK

  • SPUYTEN DUYVIL
    EARLY DUTCH NAME OF THIS
    STREAM, RESORT OF INDIANS
    WHOSE PALISADED VILLAGE,
    NIPNICHSEN, WAS ON SUMMIT
    OF HILL ON NORTH SHORE.
    Location: NEW BRIDGE DRIVE

  • STAMP ACT RIOT
    CENTERED HERE IN 1765;
    STATUE OF GEORGE III TORN
    DOWN, 1776, AT READING OF
    DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE
    AND MELTED INTO BULLETS.
    Location: BOWLING GREEN

  • STRIKER'S BAY
    BRITISH OUTPOST IN BATTLE
    OR HARLEM HEIGHTS. NEARBY
    STOOD ELM THAT INSPRIED
    GEORGE MORRIS' POEM, 1837
    "WOODMAN, SPARE THAT TREE."
    Location: RIVERSIDE DRIVE

  • THE CLAREMONT
    BUILT 1785, BY MICHAEL HOGAN,
    NAMED FOR HOME IN SURREY,
    ENGLAND, OF KING WILLIAM IV,
    WITH WHOM HOGAN SERVED AS
    MIDSHIPMAN IN BRITISH NAVY.
    Location: CLAREMONT

  • WASHINGTON'S HEADQUARTERS
    BUILT IN 1765 BY
    COL. ROGER MORRIS
    CENTER OF AMERICAN DEFENSE
    OF NEW YORK, SEPT.-OCT., 1776
    LATER HOME OF STEPHEN JUMEL.
    Location: JUMEL TERR.

  • WHITEHALL FERRY
    HERE IN 1783, WAS THE HEAD
    OF THE WHITEHALL FERRY SLIP
    WHERE WASHINGTON EMBARKED,
    AFTER HIS FAREWELL TO HIS
    OFFICERS IN FRAUNCES TAVERN.
    Location: STATE ST. AND WHITEHALL ST.

  • [ARROW]
    FORT TRYON
    TROOPS, IN DEFENSE OF FORT
    TROOPS, IN DEFENSE OF FORT
    WASHINGTON, WITHSTOOD
    4600 HESSIANS FOR HOURS.
    Location: FORT TRYON PARK

  • [ARROW]
    FORT TRYON
    600 MARYLAND AND VIRGINIA
    TROOPS, IN DEFENSE OF FORT
    WASHINGTON, WITHSTOOD 4600
    HESSIANS FOR HOURS. LATER
    NAMED FOR BRITISH GEN. TRYON.
    Location: FORT TRYON PARK

  • [ARROW]
    HENRY HUDSON
    IN THE HALF MOON, ANCHORED
    OFF THIS POINT, SEPTEMBER,
    1609. INDIANS OF NIPNICHSEN,
    ON SPUYTEN DUYVIL HILL,
    ATTACKED HUDSON'S CREW.
    Location: INWOOD PARK

  • [ARROW]
    HIGH BRIDGE
    BUILT IN 1842 TO CARRY THE
    FIRST CROTON AQUEDUCT
    ACROSS THE HARLEM RIVER.
    ORIGINAL NARROW CENTER
    ARCHES REMOVED IN 1928.
    Location: HIGH BRIDGE PARK

County: NIAGARA
Town: LEWISTON, TOWN OF

  • FIVE MILE MEADOWS
    IN 1813 THE BRITISH FORCES
    LANDED ON THE RIVER BANK
    BELOW AND MARCHED TO BURN
    MANCHESTER, A VILLAGE ON
    THE SITE OF NIAGARA FALLS
    Location: ON NYS 18 ABOUT 1 1/2 MIS. N., OF VLGE. OF LEWISTON

  • FIVE MILE MEADOWS
    ON DEC. 19, 1813 BRITISH TROOPS
    COMMANDED BY COLONEL MURRAY LANDED
    ON SHORE OF RIVER AND MARCHING NORTH
    CAPTURED FORT NIAGARA WHICH
    THEY HELD UNTIL MAY 22, 1815
    Location: ON NYS 18 ABOUT 2 MIS. NORTH OF VILLAGE OF LEWISTON

  • FORT JONCAIRE
    2ND BUILDING IN LEWISTON
    BUILT 1719 NEAR THIS SPOT
    A PALISADED TRADING POST
    FIRST FRENCH FORT ON
    NIAGARA RIVER
    Location: AT APPROACH TO TOLL BRIDGE OVER NIAGARA R., VLGE. LEWISTON

  • OLD TRAMWAY
    WAS BUILT HERE BY BRITISH
    IN 1763 FROM LANDING
    TO HEIGHTS ABOVE
    FACILITATING PORTAGE
    Location: AT END OF TOLL BRIDGE ACROSS NIAGARA R., VILGE. OF LEWISTON

County: NIAGARA
Town: LOCKPORT, CITY OF

  • FIRST METHODIST
    EPISCOPAL SOCIETY
    ORGANIZED OCT. 1823, CHURCH
    ERECTED 1833, DESTROYED BY FIRE
    NOV. 1854, REBUILT 1859, RAZED 1936
    EMANUEL CHURCH BUILT 1928.
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF CHURCH & NIAGARA STS.

  • RESIDENCE OF
    WASHINGTON HUNT
    FIRST JUDGE OF NIAGARA COUNTY,
    1836; STATE COMPTROLLER;
    CONGRESSMAN; GOVERNOR. PRES.
    VAN BUREN WAS GUEST HERE.
    Location: ON MARKET ST. JUST NORTH OF ADAM ST.

  • THE BIG BRIDGE
    ONE OF THE WIDEST IN THE WORLD,
    BUILT, 1914, BY NEW YORK
    STATE, SPANNING ERIE BARGE
    CANAL. WIDTH 399 FT. 7 IN.
    ROADWAY OF CREOSOTE WOOD BLOCK.
    Location: ON MAIN ST. AT BARGE CANAL BRIDGE

  • UNION SCHOOL
    FIRST UNION SCHOOL IN STATE,
    CREATED BY ACT OF MARCH 31,
    1847, ERECTED 1847-48,. OPENED
    JULY 4, 1848. FOUNDED BY
    HON. SULLIVAN CAVERNO.
    Location: ON CHESTNUT ST. BETWEEN WASHBURN & CHARLES STS.

  • WASHINGTON HUNT
    LAW OFFICE, 1834-1860
    BURNED AND REBUILT, 1835.
    Location: ON MARKET ST. S. OF ADAM ST.

County: NIAGARA
Town: LOCKPORT, TOWN OF

  • COLD SPRINGS
    CEMETERY
    WATER POISONED BY INDIANS
    IN 1812 CAUSED DEATH OF
    BRITISH AND FRENCH SOLDIERS,
    FIRST PEOPLE BURIED HERE
    Location: ON TOWN RD. NEAR EASTERN LIMITS OF CITY OF LOCKPORT

  • WYNDAMLAWN
    HOME FOR CHILDREN. WAS
    PREVIOUSLY SUMMER HOME
    OF GOVRNOR HUNT
    Location: ON OLD NIAGARA RD. NEAR JUNCTION WITH NYS 78

County: NIAGARA
Town: NIAGARA FALLS, CITY OF

  • FRENCH LANDING
    200 YEARS AGO IN THIS PARK
    WAS THE TERMINUS OF THE
    OLD FRENCH PORTAGE, WHERE
    GOODS WERE TRANSHIPPED
    WHEN ONLY CANOES WERE USED
    Location: ON BAFFALO AVE. AT 10TH ST.

  • FRENCH PORTAGE
    NEARBY RAN THE OLD FRENCH
    HIGHWAY FOR FUR TRADE, WORN
    BY THOUSANDS OF FEET IN
    MOCCASINS BEFORE THE PILGRIMS
    LANDED ON PLYMOUTH ROCK
    Location: ON PINE ST. BETWEEN PORTAGE RD. AND 11TH ST.

  • NAVY ISLAND
    ACROSS THE RIVER LIES NAVY
    ISLAND; ON IT WAS A FRENCH
    SHIPYARD. AFTER CAPTURE BY
    BRITISH, VESSELS FOR USE ON
    LAKE ERIE WERE BUILT THERE.
    Location: ON BUFFALO AVE. BETRWEEN 53RD AND 54TH STS.

  • OLD BLOCKHOUSE
    HERE STOOD ONE OF A LINE OF
    BLOCKHOUSES BUILT 1764 BY
    MONTRESOR TO PROTECT THE
    ARMY OF BRADSTREET FROM
    INDIAN MASSACRES ON MARCH
    Location: ON PORTAGE RD. BETWEEN FERRY AND BYRD AVES.

  • PORTAGE ROAD
    AN INDIAN TRAIL USED
    BEFORE WHITE MEN SETTLED IN
    AMERICA. HIGHWAY FOR FRENCH
    FUR TRADE. LATER IMPROVED BY
    BRITISH AS MILITARY ROAD
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF BUFFALO AVE. AND PORTAGE RD.

  • SITE OF
    "FORT DU PORTAGE"
    "FORT LITTLE NIAGARA" BUILT
    1751 TO PROTECT FRENCH
    TRADE. BURNED, 1759 DURING
    FRENCH AND INDIAN WAR, EXCEPT
    CHIMNEY. MOVED TOWARDS RIVER
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF BUFFALO AVE. AND PORTAGE RD.

  • SITE OF
    FIRST HOUSE
    BUILT BY JUDGE PORTER IN
    1808. MANY NOTABLE VISITORS
    AND FRIENDLY INDIANS WERE
    RECEIVED WITHIN ITS WALLS.
    Location: ON BUFFALO AVE. BETWEEN 1ST & 3RD STS.

County: NIAGARA
Town: PORTER, TOWN OF

  • BRITISH FORCES
    UNDER BRIG. GEN. JOHN PRIDEAUX
    AND SIR WILLIAM JOHNSON
    LANDED AT MOUTH OF FOUR MILE
    CREEK, JULY 6, 1759.
    BESIEGED FORT NIAGARA
    Location: AT BRIDGE OVER 4 MILE CREEK ABOUT 4 MIS. E. OF YOUNGSTOWN

  • FOX POINT BATTERY
    ON BANK OF RIVER TO WEST
    IS SITE OF FOX POINT BATTERY
    FIFTH IN SERIES OF BATTERIES
    EXTENDING SOUTH FROM FORT
    NIAGARA DURING WAR OF 1812
    Location: ON MAIN ST., IN YOUNGSTOWN

  • SITE OF
    SALT BATTERY
    THIS BATTERY WAS AN
    IMPORTANT FACTOR IN THE
    PROTECTION OF THE NIAGARA
    FRONTIER DURING WAR OF 1812
    Location: ON MAIN ST., YOUNGSTOWN

  • [ARROW]
    SITE OF BATTLE
    LA BELLE FAMILIE
    JULY 24, 1759, DECIDING
    BRITISH CAPTURE OF
    FRENCH FORT NIAGARA
    Location: ON MAIN ST., YOUNGSTOWN

County: NIAGARA
Town: ROYALTON, TOWN OF

  • SITE OF
    FIRST CHRISTIAN SOCIETY
    OF ROYALTON
    1ST PASTOR, REV. OLIVER CASTLE.
    ERECTED 1818; BURNED 1845;
    REBUILT SAME YEAR; REMOVED 1885
    AND LOT ADDED TO CEMETERY
    Location: ON ORANGEPORT RD. ABOUT 1/2 MI. S. INTRSCTN. SLAYTON SETTLEMENT RD.

  • [ARROW]
    SITE OF
    FIRST CHRISTIAN SOCIETY
    OF ROYALTON
    FIRST CHURCH
    ON HOLLAND LAND PURCHASE
    BETWEEN GENESEE AND NIAGARA RIVER. BUILT 1818
    Location: AT INTRSCTN. ORANGEPORT RD. AND SLAYTON SETTLEMENT RD.

County: ONEIDA
Town: AUGUSTA, TOWN OF

  • "STONE CHURCH"
    BUILT 1834 BY THE
    CONGREGATIONAL SOCIETY
    DEDICATION SERMON BY REV.
    O. BARTHOLOMEW, EARLY PASTOR
    REV. JOHN CROSS
    Location: NYS 12B IN ORISKANY FALLS

  • AMOS PARKER
    1762-1842
    TALLEST MAN IN AMERICAN ARMY.
    SAVED GEN. LA FAYETTE'S LIFE.
    PRESENT AT THE SURRENDER
    OF CORNWALLIS. BURIED HERE.
    Location: SALLSVILLE-AUGUSTA CO., RD., 1/2 ME. SOUTH OF AUGUSTA

  • AUGUSTA
    ONEIDA COUNTY
    MARCH 15TH 1798
    FORMED FROM THE
    TOWN OF WHITESTOWN
    Location: ON NYS 26 IN AUGUSTA

  • AUGUSTA ACADEMY
    FOUNDED 1834. SEMICIRCULAR
    STONE BUILDING USED UNTIL
    1878. ITS UNIQUE DESIGN
    WAS A CURIOSITY. FIRST
    TEACHER MELVILLE ADAMS.
    Location: ON NYS 26 IN AUGUSTA

  • AUGUSTA CHURCH
    ORGANIZED 1797, BY
    CONGREGATIONAL SOCIETY
    Location: ON NYS 26 IN AUGUSTA

  • CASSETY HOLLOW SPACE &
    SETTLED IN 1794
    THOMAS CASSETY, WHO
    ERECTED A GRIST MILL
    HERE. LATER RENAMED
    ORISKANY FALLS
    Location: NYS 12-B & NYS 26 IN ORISKANY FALLS

  • CHENAGO CANAL
    AUTHORIZED 1833. UTICA TO
    BINGHAMTON. COMPLETED 1836.
    72 LOCKS IN 30 MILES.
    ABANDONED 1876
    Location: NYS 26, ORISKANY FALLS

  • DR. A. BURGOYNE
    1737-1824
    BURIED IN THIS CEMETERY. WAS
    PHYSICIAN AT SARATOGA UNDER
    GEN. BURGOYNE, 1777. LIVED
    WITH DAUGHTER IN AUGUSTA.
    Location: SOUTH ST. IN KNOXBORO

  • INDIAN TRAIL
    USED BY ONEIDA, TUSCARORA,
    BROTHERTON AND STOCKBRIDGE
    INDIANS AS A CHANNEL OF
    COMMERCE ABOUT 1700. MADE
    HIGHWAY SOON AFTER 1800
    Location: WEST ST. IN KNOXBORO

  • KNOX HOUSE
    BUILT 1820 BY GEN. J. J. KNOX,
    PIONEER SETTLER, 1791-1876.
    VILLAGE OF KNOXBORO NAMED
    IN HIS HONOR
    Location: SOUTH ST. IN KNOXBORO

  • SITE OF
    LOCK COMPANY
    ORGANIZED 1862, BY J.C.
    KNOX. HIGH GRADE LOCKS
    WERE MANUFACTURED HERE
    FOR A NUMBER OF YEARS.
    Location: WEST ST. IN KNOXBORO

  • SITE OF
    THE GUNN HOUSE
    ABOUT 500 FEET FROM HERE
    BUILT IN 1793. FIRST HOUSE
    IN THE TOWN OF AUGUSTA BUILT
    BY A WHITE SETTLER.
    Location: COLLEGE ST. RD., 1/2 MILE NORTH OF ORISKANY FALLS

  • SITE OF
    LOG SCHOOL
    FIRST IN AUGUSTA, BUILT 1797.
    AUGUSTA THEN KNOWN AS
    BARTLETT'S CORNER. USED AS
    CHURCH AND MEETING HOUSE
    Location: SALLSVILLE-AUGUSTA CO. RD. 1 1/2 MIS. SOUTH OF AUGUSTA

  • UNION CHURCH
    BUILT 1849 BY METHODISTS
    AND PRESBYTERIANS. LUMBER
    HAULED FROM OLD CHURCH BUILT
    ABOUT 1800 ON EAST HILLS.
    CONVERTED TO SCHOOL 1873.
    Location: SOUTH & EAST STS., KNOXBORO

  • UTICA CLINTON &
    BINGHAMTON R.R.
    FORMED 1862. COMPLETED
    FROM UTICA TO TERMINATE
    AT THIS SITE 1858,
    EXTENDED SOUTH 1871
    Location: BROAD ST., ORISKANY FALLS

County: ONEIDA
Town: BOONVILLE, TOWN OF

  • BLACK RIVER CANAL
    SITE OF LOCK 71, SUMMIT
    LEVEL; 710 FEET ABOVE ROME;
    FROM HERE WATER FLOWED
    NORTH TO ST LAWRENCE,
    SOUTH TO MOHAWK
    Location: ON NYS 12 IN BOONVILLE

  • BLACK RIVER CANAL
    SITE OF THE ONCE FAMOUS
    FIVE COMBINES-WORLD'S RECORD
    FOR NUMBER OF CANAL LOCKS;
    CANAL HAS 109 LOCKS IN 35 MILES
    OF WATERWAY
    Location: NYS 46 AT ENTRANCE TO PIXLEY FALLS PARK

  • BOONVILLE
    SETTLED 1795; NAMED FOR
    GERRIT BOON, NATIVE LEYDEN,
    HOLLAND, AGENT OF HOLLAND LAND
    CO.; TOWN FORMED 1805; VILLAGE
    INCORPORATED 1855
    Location: ON NYS 12-D IN BOONVILLE

  • FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH
    SOCIETY ORGANIZED 1805
    PRESENT EDIFICE BUILT 1855-1856
    RE-DEDICATION 1955
    Location: SO. SIDE JAMES ST., BOONVILLE

  • OLD FRENCH ROAD
    BUILT BY FRENCH COLONISTS,
    1790 ON WAY TO SETTLE
    CASTORLAND; FIRST ROAD TO
    NORTH COUNTRY, FOLLOWING AN
    IROQUOIS WAR TRAIL.
    Location: ON NYS 12, 1 MILE S.E. OF BOONVILLE

  • POST HOUSE, 1817
    FIRST USED AS A SCHOOL
    LATER BOUGHT WITH LARGE
    TRACT OF LAND BY JOHN G. POST
    PASSED FROM FAMILY IN 1905
    Location: SO. SIDE OF POST ST., BOONVILLE

County: ONEIDA
Town: BRIDGEWATER, TOWN OF

  • BIRTHPLACE OF
    DR. STEPHEN MOULTON BABCOCK
    INVENTOR OF BABCOCK MILK TEST
    SCIENTIST, EDUCATOR, FRIEND
    BENEFACTOR OF ARGRICULTURE
    1843-1931
    Location: TOWN RD. AT BABCOCK HILL

  • BRIDGEWATER
    ONEIDA COUNTY
    MARCH 24TH 1797
    TRANSFERRED FROM
    CHENANGO COUNTY
    APRIL 4TH 1804
    Location: ON US 20 IN BRIDGEWATER

County: ONEIDA
Town: DEERFIELD, TOWN OF

  • DEERFIELD
    ONEIDA COUNTY
    MARCH 15TH 1798
    FORMED FROM THE
    TOWN OF SCHUYLER
    HERKIMER COUNTY
    Location: NYS 8, 2 MIS. NO. OF NYS 5 & 12

  • [ARROW]
    17 MILES
    TOMB OF
    BARON STEUBEN
    IN STATE MEMORIAL PARK
    NEAR REMSEN
    Location: NYS 12, 1 MI. NO. OF NYS 5

County: ONEIDA
Town: FLOYD, TOWN OF

  • FLOYD
    MARCH 4TH 1796
    NAMED IN HONOR OF
    WILLIAM FLOYD, 1734-1821
    A SIGNER OF THE
    DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE
    Location: NYS 46 IN FLOYD

County: ONEIDA
Town: FORESTPORT, TOWN OF

  • FORESTPORT
    TOWN-1869. VILLAGE-1903.
    FIRST SETTLEMENT 1795
    IN 1777 ST. LEGER'S INDIANS
    RETREATED THROUGH HERE
    ORISKANY TO CROWN POINT.
    Location: RIVER AND WHITE LAKE STS. IN FORESTPORT

  • ST. LEGER'S HILL
    1777
    EASTERLY OVER THIS ROUTE
    450 OF ST. LEGER'S INDIANS
    RETREATED FROM ORISKANY
    TO CROWN POINT
    Location: N. LAKE RD., 5 MIS. EAST OF FORESTPORT

County: ONEIDA
Town: KIRKLAND, TOWN OF

  • ELIHU ROOT
    SECRETARY OF WAR
    SECRETARY OF STATE
    UNITED STATES SENATOR
    WAS BORN IN THIS BUILDING
    FEBRUARY 15, 1845
    Location: HAMILTON COLLEGE CAMPUS, CLINTON

  • FIRST GRIST MILL
    NEAR THIS SPOT FRIST GRIST
    MILL WAS BUILT IN WINTER
    OF 1787. BEFORE THIS EARLY
    SETTLERS HAD TO CARRY GRIST
    TO WHITESTOWN
    Location: NYS 412 IN CLINTON

  • HAMILTON COLLEGE
    FOUNDED AS HAMILTON-ONEIDA
    ACADEMY, 1793 BY THE REV.
    SAMUEL KIRKLAND. CHARTERED
    AS HAMILTON COLLEGE
    MAY 26, 1812.
    Location: HAMILTON COLLEGE CAMPUS, CLINTON

  • HAMILTON COLLEGE CHAPEL
    1827
    AN UNUSUAL AND DISTINCTIVE
    THREE STORY CHURCH
    DESIGENED BY PHILIP HOOKER
    OF ALBANY
    Location: HAMILTON COLLEGE CAMPUS, CLINTON

  • WASHINGTON TRACT
    THESE LANDS ARE PART OF
    PARCEL OF GROUND DEEDED
    TO NATHANIEL GRIFFIN BY
    GEORGE WASHINGTON AND
    DEWITT CLINTON IN 1790
    Location: NYS 233, 1 1/2 MIS. SOUTH OF KIRKLAND

County: ONEIDA
Town: MARCY, TOWN OF

  • [ARROW] 17 MILES
    TOMB OF
    BARON STEUBEN
    IN STATE MEMORIAL PARK
    NEAR REMSEN
    Location: NYS 49 AND NYS 12-C

County: ONEIDA
Town: MARSHALL, TOWN OF

  • HOME OF
    BROTHERTON INDIANS
    1783-1850
    AMONG WHOM LIVED, 1785-1792,
    SAMSON OCCOM
    INDIAN PRESBYTERIAN PREACHER
    Location: NYS 315, 4 MIS., N.W. OF WATERVILLE

County: ONEIDA
Town: NEW HARTFORD, TOWN OF

  • 1ST RELIGIOUS
    SOCIETY
    OF THE TOWN OF WHITESTOWN
    ORGANIZED 1791
    CHURCH DEDICATED
    NOV. 29, 1797
    Location: NYS 5 AND NYS 12, NEW HARTFORD

  • A GRIST MILL
    WAS BUILT 350 FEET EAST OF
    HERE IN 1790 BY JEDEDIAH SANGER,
    FIRST SETTLER AND FOUNDER OF
    NEW HARTFORD
    Location: OXFORD PL. & MILL ST., NEW HARTFORD

  • JEDEDIAH SANGER
    FOUNDED NEW HARTFORD IN
    1788 BY PURCHASING 1000
    ACRES OF LAND AND SETTLING
    HERE WITH HIS FAMILY
    Location: NYS 5 AND NYS 12, NEW HARTFORD

County: ONEIDA
Town: PARIS, TOWN OF

  • BIRTHPLACE OF
    [ARROW] DR. ASA GRAY
    BORN NOVEMBER 18, 1810
    DIED JANUARY 30, 1888
    WORLD FAMOUS BOTANIST
    Location: PINNACLE RD., IN SAUQUOIT

  • BIRTHPLACE OF
    [ARROW] DR. ASA GRAY
    BORN NOVEMBER 18, 1810
    DIED JANUARY 30, 1888
    WORLD FAMOUS BOTANIST
    Location: PINNACLE RD., IN SAUQUOIT

  • METHODIST CHURCH
    FIRST SERMON PREACHED IN
    NORTHERN NEW YORK 1788
    BY ELDER FREEBORN GARRETSON
    WITHIN WHITESTOWN
    SAUQUOIT SOCIETY FORMED 1788
    FIRST IN CONFERENCE
    Location: MOHAWK ST. AT PINNACLE RD. IN SAUQUOIT

  • [ARROW]
    7/8 MILE
    BIRTHPLACE OF
    DR. ASA GRAY
    WORLD FAMOUS BOTANIST
    Location: NYS 8 AT PINNACLE RD., IN SAUQUOIT

County: ONEIDA
Town: REMSEN, TOWN OF

  • REMSEN
    ONEIDA COUNTY
    MARCH 15TH 1798
    FORMED FROM THE TOWN OF
    NORWAY, HERKIMER COUNTY
    Location: NYS 12-B, REMSEN

  • [ARROW]
    NEXT TURN RIGHT TO
    TOMB OF
    BARON STEUBEN
    IN STATE MEMORIAL PARK
    Location: NYS 12-B, REMSEN

  • [ARROW]
    4 MILES
    TOMB OF
    BARON STEUBEN
    IN STATE MEMORIAL PARK
    NEAR REMSEN
    Location: NYS 12 12-B, REMSEN

  • [ARROW]
    1 MILE EAST
    COL. MARINUS WILLETT ROUTED
    BRITISH-TORY FORCE OCT. 30, 1783
    ALONG WEST CANADA CREEK;
    WALTER BUTLER, TORY LEADER
    WAS KILLED BY AN ONEIDA
    Location: FAIRCHILD RD., NORTH OF HINCKLEY RESERVIOR

County: ONEIDA
Town: ROME, CITY OF

  • 1755-1756
    [ARROW]
    REVOLUTIONARY
    BATTLEFIELDS
    AND
    COLONIAL
    FORT SITES
    Location: E. DOMINICK & BOUCK STS.

  • 1755-1756
    FORT WILLIAMS
    GUARDED
    UPPER MOHAWK LANDING
    BURNED IN A PANIC
    BY BRITISH GEN. WEBB
    Location: BOUCK ST. BETWEEN E. WHITESBORO & E. DOMINICK STS.

  • DURING SIEGE OF
    FORT STANWIX AUG. 1777
    MAIN BRITISH CAMP
    WAS BETWEEN THIS POINT
    AND BLUFF TO SOUTH
    Location: E. BLOOMFIELD ST. & ROOSEVELT AVE.

  • FORT CRAVEN
    DESTROYED IN
    BRITISH PANIC
    BEFORE COMPLETION
    AUG. 31, 1756
    Location: E. WHITESBORO ST. BETWEEN BOUCK & MILL STS.

  • FORT NEWPORT
    A SMALL COLONIAL POST
    WHICH GUARDED
    UPPER WOOD CREEK
    LANDING PLACE
    Location: CALVERT ST. BETWEEN ARSENAL ST. AND BREWER ALLEY

  • HERE PASSED
    ANCIENT CARRY
    PASSED SOUTHWARD TO
    FORT NEWPORT AND
    WOOD CREEK
    Location: W. DOMINICK & JAY STS.

  • HERE PASSED
    FROM EAST TO WEST THE
    ANCIENT CARRY
    FROM THE MOHAWK TO
    WOOD CREEK
    Location: GEORGE AND LIBERTY STS.

  • INLAND CANAL
    BEGUN 1792
    AND SECOND
    ERIE CANAL
    COMPLETED 1844
    Location: SO. JAMES & E. WHITESBORO STS.

  • OLD BLACK RIVER CANAL
    BUILDING 1836-1855; CONNECTED
    MOHAWK VALLEY WITH BLACK RIVER
    COUNTRY; OPENING UP 90 MILES
    NAVIGABLE WATERWAY; JOINED
    ERIE CANAL HERE.
    Location: BLACK R. BLVD. & E. WHITESBORO ST.

  • ROME
    MARCH 4TH 1796
    FORMED FROM
    THE TOWN OF
    STEUBEN
    Location: NO. JAMES & W. PARK STS.

  • SITE OF
    U.S. ARSENAL
    MAINTAINED DURING
    WAR OF 1812 AND
    SUBSEQUENTLY
    Location: W. DOMINICK ST. BETWEEN ARSENAL & JAY STS.

  • THE CENTRAL N.Y.
    SCHOOL
    FOR THE DEAF
    FOUNDED JAN. 27, 1875 BY
    ALPHONSO JOHNSON, THOMAS
    GALLAUDET AND ROME CITIZENS
    Location: ON NYS 26

  • [ARROW]
    HISTORIC ELM
    THIS ELM WAS A SAPLING
    GROWING ON THE SOUTHWEST
    BASTION OF FORT STANWIX
    IN 1804
    Location: E. DOMINICK ST. BETWEEN JAMES AND SPRING STS.

  • [ARROW]
    ONE BLOCK
    TO SITE OF
    FORT NEWPORT
    AND WOOD CREEK
    LANDING
    Location: W. DOMINICK ST. & ARSENAL STS.

  • [ARROW]
    FORT STANWIX
    AND
    REVOLUTIONARY
    SKIRMISHES
    Location: MILL AND E, WHITESBORO STS.

  • [ARROW]
    LOWER LANDING
    AND
    ORISKANY
    BATTLEFIELD
    Location: MILL AND MARTIN STS.

County: ONEIDA
Town: ROME, TOWN OF

  • NORTHWEST 35 RODS
    JESSE WILLIAMS
    IN 1851 INAUGERATED THE
    CHEESE FACTORY
    SYSTEM
    THUS REVOLUTIONIZING DAIRYING
    Location: NYS 46, 2 MIS. N. OF ROME

  • ORISKANY
    BATTLEFIELD
    1777
    PUBLIC WELCOME
    Location: NYS 69 AT ORISKANY BATTLEFIELD

  • [ARROW]
    20 MILES
    TOMB OF
    BARON STEUBEN
    IN STATE MEMORIAL PARK
    NEAR REMSEN
    Location: NYS 46 NORTH OF ROME

County: ONEIDA
Town: SANGERFIELD, TOWN OF

  • BIRTHPLACE OF
    GEORGE EASTMAN
    INVENTOR OF KODAK
    BORN JULY 12, 1854
    DIED IN ROCHESTER
    MARCH 14, 1932
    Location: NYS 12 IN WATERVILLE

  • PROPERTY LINE
    WESTERN BOUNDARY OF
    CIVILIZATION FIXED BY
    FORT STANWIX TREATY
    NOV. 5, 1768. WITNESSED
    BY SIR WILLIAM JOHNSON
    Location: NYS 12 NORTH OF WATERVILLE

  • SANGERFIELD
    ONEIDA COUNTY
    MARCH 15TH 1795
    TRANSFERRED FROM
    CHENANGO COUNTY
    APRIL 4TH 1804.
    Location: NYS 12 AT TOWN LINE

County: ONEIDA
Town: STEUBEN, TOWN OF

  • 300 FEET WEST
    SITE OF HOME
    ROBERT EVERETT (1791-1875)
    ANTI-SLAVERY REFORMER
    MINISTER CHAPEL UCHA 37 YEARS
    EDITOR "CENHADWR" (WELSH) 35 YEARS
    Location: CO. RD., 1 MI. W. OF REMSEN

  • BARON STEUBEN
    INSTECTOR GENERAL OF ARMY
    MAJOR GENERAL IN REVOLUTION
    CITIZEN OF UNITED STATES
    AND NEW YORK STATE
    Location: AT BARON STEUBEN MEMORIAL

  • BURIAL PLACE
    OF SAMUEL SIZER, ABIGAIL
    SIZER, ASA SIZER AND
    ABIGAIL TYLER MITCHELL, THE
    MOTHER OF ABIGAIL SIZER
    Location: IN FIELD 1/4 MI. N. OF CO. RD., 2 MIS. E. OF STEUBEN

  • CAPEL ISAF OR
    SECOND BAPTIST CHURCH
    ONCE LOCATED HERE
    CARED FOR THE GRAVE
    OF BARON STEUBEN FOR
    NINETY-FIVE YEARS
    (1804-1899)
    Location: CO. RD., 1 MI. W. OF REMSEN

  • CAPT. SIMEIN WOODRUFF
    CIRCUMNAVIGATED GLOBE WITH
    CAPT. COOK. LEASED THIS
    FARM MAY 26, 1791
    FROM BARON STEUBEN
    BURIED CAPEL UCHA CEMETERY
    Location: CO. RD., 1/2 MI. W. OF REMSEN

  • EENEZER WEEKS
    SETTLED HERE 1791
    BURIED IN ADJOINING MEADOW
    BUILT BAKE OVEN AND DID
    COOPERING FOR BARON STEUBEN
    Location: CO. RD., 1/2 MI. W. OF REMSEN

  • FIRST GRAVE
    OF BARON STEUBEN NEAR THIS SPOT
    BY HIS OWN WISH HE WAS BURIED
    WRAPPED IN HIS MILITARY CLOAK
    IN AN UNMARKED GRAVE
    Location: CO. RD. W. OF BARON STEUBEN MEMORIAL

  • FRIEDRICH WILHELM
    BARON VON STEUBEN
    BORN SEPTEMBER 17, 1730
    MAGDEBURG, GERMANY DIED
    HERE NOVEMBER 28, 1794
    ERECTION COMPLETED 1872
    Location: AT BARON STEUBEN MEMORIAL

  • FULLER FARM
    ACQUIRED 1793 FROM BARON
    STEUBEN BY CAPT. SIMEON
    FULLER, B. 1761-D. 1852
    HELD BY HIM AND HIS
    DESCENDANTS TO THE PRESENT DAY
    Location: CO. RD., 1 MI. W. OF REMSEN

  • GERMAN-AMERICAN
    ORGANIZATIONS ASSISTED BY
    STATE OF NEW YORK ERECTED
    THIS TOMB IN HONOR OF THEIR
    GREAT FELLOW COUNTRYMAN
    Location: AT BARON STEUBEN MEMORIAL

  • SACRED GROVE
    IS THE NAME GIVEN IN 1804
    TO THESE WOODS HALLOWED
    BY ASSOCIATIONS WITH
    BARON STEUBEN, THE
    AMERICAN PATRIOT
    Location: AT BARON STEUBEN MEMORIAL

  • SAMUEL SIZER
    FIRST SETTLER ON STEUBEN
    GRANT, 1787. FARM
    MANAGER FOR BARON STEUBEN
    BURIAL PLACE IN MEADOW 80
    RODS NORHT OF THIS MARKER
    Location: CO. RD. 2 MIS. E. OF STEUBEN

  • SAW-MILL
    OF BARON STEUBEN
    BUILT 1790 NEAR THIS SPOT
    REMAINS OF DAM VISIBLE
    Location: NR. CREEK, NO. OF FULLER RD.

  • STARR HILL
    NAMED FOR DAVID STARR
    CAPTAIN IN CONTINENTAL ARMY
    FRIEND AND NEIGHBOR OF
    BARON STEUBEN
    SETTLED HERE 1791
    Location: CO. RD.1 MI. W. OF BARON STEUBEN MEMORIAL

  • STEUBEN GRANT
    OF 16,000 ACRES BY THE
    STATE OF NEW YORK, JUNE 27, 1786
    FOR SERVICE IN THE REVOLUTION
    HE CLEARED SIXTY ACRES NEAR HERE
    FOR HOME SITE (1788-1793)
    Location: CO. RD. W. OF BARON STEUBEN MEMORIAL

  • STEUBEN STATE
    MEMORIAL PARK
    INCLUDED FIFTY ACRES GIVEN
    IN 1804 BY COL. BENJ. WALKER,
    FRIEND AND AIDE OF STEUBEN,
    TO SECOND BAPTIST CHURCH
    Location: AT BARON STEUBEN MEMORIAL

  • STEUBEN STATE
    MEMORIAL PARK
    DEDICATED SEPTEMBER 12, 1931
    BY FRANKLIN D. ROOSEVELT,
    GOVERNOR OF NEW YORK
    Location: AT BARON STEUBEN MEMORIAL

  • THIS MONUMENT
    COVERS THE REMAINS
    OF BARON STEUBEN
    GOVERNOR HORATIO SEYMOUR
    LAID CORNERSTONE JUNE 1, 1870
    ERECTION COMPLETED 1872
    Location: AT BARON STEUBEN MEMORIAL

  • THIS PARK
    WAS CREATED IN MEMORY
    OF FRIEDRICH WILHELM BARON
    STEUBEN, MAJOR GENERAL IN
    THE WAR FOR INDEPENDENCE
    Location: AT BARON STEUBEN MEMORIAL

  • TOWN OF STEUBEN
    FORMED APRIL 10, 1792
    NAMED IN HONOR OF
    BARON STEUBEN
    ORIGINALLY EXTENDED TO
    NORTH BOUNDS OF THE STATE
    Location: NYS 46-A IN STEUBEN

  • WELSH IMMIGRANTS
    BEGINNING 1795 CLEARED AND
    SETTLED GREATER PART OF
    STEUBEN GRANT. BUILT
    FIRST CHURCH HERE 1804.
    Location: CO. RD., 1/2 MI. W. OF REMSEN

  • [ARROW]
    2 MILES
    TOMB OF
    BARON STEUBEN
    IN STATE MEMORIAL PARK
    Location: CO. RD. FROM STEUBEN & REMSEN

County: ONEIDA
Town: TRENTON, TOWN OF

  • CINCINNATI CREEK
    NAMED BY BARON STEUBEN
    TO COMMEMORATE THE SOCIETY
    OF THE CINCINNATI WHICH
    HE HELPED TO FOUND IN 1783
    Location: NYS 28, 2 MIS. S. E. OF TRENTON

  • TRENTON
    ONEIDA COUNTY
    MARCH 24, 1797
    FORMED FROM THE
    TOWN OF SCHUYLER,
    HERKIMER COUNTY
    Location: NYS 12 IN BARNEVELD

County: ONEIDA
Town: UTICA, CITY OF

  • BAGG'S TAVERN
    ORIGINALLY A LOG HOUSE
    FOUNDED 1794 BY MOSES BAGG
    WASHINGTON, LA FAYETTE
    HENRY CLAY & GEN. GRANT
    WERE GUESTS HERE
    Location: GENESEE AND MAIN ST.

  • [ARROW]
    21 MILES
    TOMB OF
    BARON STEUBEN
    IN STATE MEMORIAL PARK
    NEAR REMSEN
    Location: ONEIDA ST. BETWEEN GEER & FERRIS AVES.

  • [ARROW] 17 MILES
    TOMB OF
    BARON STEUBEN
    IN STATE MEMORIAL PARK
    NEAR REMSEN
    Location: NYS 5 E. OF NYS 8 & 12

County: ONEIDA
Town: VERNON, TOWN OF

  • MISSION CHURCH
    OF THE ONEIDAS BUILT BY
    REV. ELEAZER WILLIAMS 1818
    MOVED IN 1842 FROM ONEIDA
    CASTLE BY UNITARIANS.
    VERNON TOWN HALL SINCE 1892.
    Location: SENECA AVE. BETWEEN VERONA AND SCONON DORA STS. IN VERNON

  • ONEIDA CASTLE
    CHIEF VILLAGE OF ONEIDA
    TRIBE OF INDIANS
    MEMBERS OF
    IROQUOIS CONFEDERACY
    Location: NYS 5 IN ONEIDA CASTLE VILLAGE

County: ONEIDA
Town: VERONA, TOWN OF

  • ROYAL
    BLOCKHOUSE
    60 RODS EAST OF
    THIS POINT STOOD
    FORT ERECTED BY
    BRITISH IN 1759
    Location: NYS 13 IN SYLVAN BEACH

  • STARK'S LANDING
    JAVEZ HOUGH STARK, PIONEER
    BUILT 1ST PRESBYTERIAN
    CHURCH, SENECA FALLS 1807.
    CAME HERE 1821; BUILT
    HOUSE ACROSS CANAL 1823-5.
    Location: NYS 46 IN HIGINSVILLE

County: ONEIDA
Town: WESTERN, TOWN OF

  • WESTERN
    ONEIDA COUNTY
    MARCH 10, 1797
    FORMED FROM THE
    TOWN OF STEUBEN
    Location: NYS 46 NEAR SCHOOL IN WESTERNVILLE

  • [ARROW]
    11 MILES
    TOMB OF
    BARON STEUBEN
    IN STATE MEMORIAL PARK
    NEAR REMSEN
    Location: NYS 46 & 46-A IN FRENCHVILLE

County: ONEIDA
Town: WESTMORELAND, TOWN OF

  • BIRTHPLACE OF
    SAMUEL EELLS
    1810-1842
    WHO IN 1832 FOUNDED THE
    ALPHA DELTA PHI FRATERNITY
    AT HAMILTON COLLEGE
    Location: CO. RD. IN WESTMORELAND

County: ONEIDA
Town: WHITESTOWN, TOWN OF

  • 1ST PRESBYTERIAN
    CHURCH OF WHITESBORO
    ORGANIZED APRIL 1, 1793
    BETHUEL DODD, 1ST PASTOR
    Location: ELM AND MAIN STS., WHITESBORO

  • ENGLISH HOME
    BUILT 1792. BIRTHPLACE OF
    HENRY INMAN, 1801-46
    ARTIST WHO EXCELLED IN
    PORTRAITS, LANDSCAPES
    AND MINIATURES
    Location: NYS 69 IN YORKVILLE

  • HERE STOOD THE HOME OF
    COLONEL GERRIT
    G. LANSING
    OFFICER IN CONT. ARMY
    WHO PURCHASED LAND WHEREON
    ORISKANYT WAS FOUNDED 1802
    Location: DEXTER AVE. BETWEEN GRAHAM AND UTICA STS. IN ORISKANY

  • SITE OF
    WOOLEN MILL
    ERECTED IN 1810
    BELIEVED TO BE THE 1ST
    IN AMERICA TO MANUFACTURE
    FABRICS FROM RAW MATERIAL
    Location: NYS 69 IN ORISKANY

  • TOWN HALL
    ERECTD 1807
    EARLY CO. COURT HOUSE
    PRESENTED TO WHITESTOWN
    BY HON. PHILO WHITE
    1860
    Location: IN FRONT OF TOWN HALL, WHITESBORO

  • WHITESTOWN
    MARCH 7TH 1788
    NAMED IN HONOR OF
    JUDGE HUGH WHITE
    A FIRST SETTLER
    MAY 1784
    Location: MAIN ST. & VICTOR PKWY., WHITESBORO

County: ONONDAGA
Town: CAMILLUS, TOWN OF

  • SITE OF
    HOME OF
    JAMES GEDDES, 1798
    ERIE CANAL SURVEYOR, 1808
    CHIEF ENGINEER 1816-1825
    Location: ON NYS 5 2 MILES W. OF SYRACUSE AT FAIRMOUNT CRS.

County: ONONDAGA
Town: CICERO, TOWN OF

  • EARLY SCHOOL
    HERE STOOD SCHOOLHOUSE;
    DISTRICT NO. 1, BUILT 1824.
    FIRST DISTRICT SCHOOL IN
    TOWN OF CICERO
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1/2 MI. S. OF BREWERTON

  • JOHN LEACH
    MADE FIRST SETTLEMENT
    AT CICERO CORNERS IN
    1802. KEPT A TAVERN
    IN LOGHOUSE
    Location: ON RS 11 AT CICERO

  • LANDING PLACE
    NEAR THIS POINT
    VAN SCHAICK EXPEDITION
    AGAINST ONONDAGAS LANDED
    APRIL 20, 1779
    Location: ON US 11 AT BREWERTON

  • SITE OF INDIAN VILLAGE
    TECHIROGUEN
    VISITED BY LE MOYNE 1654
    AND BY LA SALLE 1673
    Location: ON US 11 AT BREWERTON

  • TOLL-GATE HOUSE
    BUILT AT SOUTH END
    OF FIRST HIGHWAY BRIDGE,
    1824 AT BREWERTON. MOVED
    TO THIS SITE ABOUT 1850.
    Location: ON BENNETT ST. AT BREWERTON

County: ONONDAGA
Town: CLAY, TOWN OF

  • CAUGHDENOY
    LOCK
    CONSTRUCTED BY
    STATE OF NEW YORK
    1841.
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT CAUGHDENOY

  • OAK ORCHARD
    LOCK
    CONSTRUCTED BY
    STATE OF NEW YORK
    1840.
    Location: ON CO. RD. 1 1/2 MILES NORTH OF EUCLID

  • ONONDAGA NATION
    OF INDIANS SETTLED HEREABOUTS
    ACCORDING TO TRADITION
    SEVERAL CENTURIES BEFORE
    DISCOVERY OF AMERICA
    BY COLUMBUS, 1492.
    Location: ON NYS 57 ABOUT 1 MILE SOUTH OF THREE RIVERS

  • SITE OF
    MC GEE'S INN
    (ACCORDING TO TRADITIONS)
    PATRICK MC GEE, FIRST SETTLER
    TOWN OF CLAY, 1793. IN 1791
    KEPT FIRST INN AT BREWERTON.
    Location: ON SOUTH BANK OF BARGE CANAL AT THREE RIVERS

County: ONONDAGA
Town: DEWITT, TOWN OF

  • DANFORTH MILLS
    ON THIS SIDE OF THE CREEK
    SAW MILL BUILT 1792
    GRIST MILL 1793
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 1/2 MILE NORTH OF JAMESVILLE

  • JOHN YOUNG
    1752-1834
    REVOLUTIONARY SOLDIER
    FIRST SETTLER HERE IN 1791
    VILLAGE FIRST CALLED YOUNGSVILLE
    Location: ON NYS 5 AND NYS 92 AT DEWITT

  • MOREHOUSE FLATS
    BENJ. MOREHOUSE SETTLED HERE 1789
    HIS LOG TAVERN OPENED 1790
    MEXICO TOWN ORGANIZED HERE 1791
    MEETING HERE PROPOSED FORMATION
    OF ONONDAGA CO. DEC 23, 1793
    Location: ON NYS 20 & NYS 173 ABOUT 1/2 MI. EAST OF JAMESVILE

  • UNION
    CONGREGATIONAL
    CHURCH
    BUILDING ERECTED 1808
    SOCIETY MOVED TO JAMESVILLE
    1828
    Location: ON NYS 20 N & NYS 173 ABOUT 1/2 MILE EAST OF JAMESVILLE

County: ONONDAGA
Town: ELBRIDGE, TOWN OF

  • BUILT ABOUT 1820
    HOME OF COL. JOHN STEVENS,
    ONONDAGA COUNTY MILITIA,
    WAR OF 1812
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT ELBRIDGE

  • THIS LOT
    WAS PART OF MILITARY TRACT
    OF CAPT. WM. STEVENS, MEMBER
    MASS. SOCIETY CINCINNATI:
    STATE SUPERINTENDENT OF
    SALT INDUSTRY.
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT ELBRIDGE

County: ONONDAGA
Town: FABIUS, TOWN OF

  • ANDREWS CABIN
    BUILT BY
    WILLIAM ANDREWS
    ABOUT 1821
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 2 1/2 MI. SOUTH OF FABIUS

  • BAPTIST CHURCH
    FIRST IN TOWN OF FABIUS
    UNBROKEN SERVICE SINCE
    ITS ORGANIZATION ON
    AUG. 24, 1803. THIS
    BUILDING ERECTED 1818.
    Location: ON NYS 80 AT FABIUS

  • FIRST CHURCH
    IN THE VALLEY
    ORGANIZED HERE 1803
    FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH
    OF FABIUS
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 3 MI. SOUTH OF FABIUS

  • SITE OF
    WOODRUF CABIN
    PIONEER HOME OF
    GURDON WOODRUF
    BUILT ABOUT 1795
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 2 1/2 MI. SOUTH OF FABIUS

  • SITE OF
    KEENEY CABIN
    INHABITED 1795 BY
    SIMON KEENEY, JR.
    BIRTHPLACE OF SON JOHN
    FIRST WHITE CHILD
    BORN IN THIS VALLEY 1797
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 2 1/2 MI. SOUTH OF FABIUS

  • WEBSTER CABIN
    BUILT ABOUT 1820 BY
    ELI WEBSTER
    FIRST FRAME HOUSE
    IN THIS VALLEY
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 3 MI. SOUTH OF FABIUS

County: ONONDAGA
Town: LAFAYETTE

  • HISTORIC CHURCH
    LAFAYETTE PRESBYTERIAN
    CHURCH
    ORGANIZED 1808
    ERECTED 1818

County: ONONDAGA
Town: LAFAYETTE, TOWN OF

  • CARDIFF GIANT
    DISINTERRED NEAR THIS
    VILLAGE ON OCT. 16, 1869.
    REPRESENTED AS A PETRIFIED
    PREHISTORIC MAN, IT WAS
    SUBSEQUENTLY PROVED A HOAX
    Location: ON US 20 AT CARDIFF

  • NEAR HERE WAS THE HOME OF
    MOSES DEWITT
    PIONEER SETTLER, SURVEYOR
    MAJOR OF MILITIA AND
    JUDGE OF THE COUNTY COURT
    Location: ON NYS 91 AT JAMESVILLE

  • [ARROW] 600 FEET
    SITE OF INDIAN TOWN
    ONONDAGA
    1684-1696
    DESTROYED AT TIME OF
    FRONTENAC'S INVASION 1696
    Location: ON NYS 91 ABOUT 1 1/2 MILES SOUTH OF JAMESVILLE

County: ONONDAGA
Town: LYSANDER, TOWN OF

  • BATTERY B
    FIRST N.Y. LIGHT ARTILLERY DRILLED
    NEAR THIS POINT UNDER THEIR
    ORGANIZER, CAPT. RUFUS D. PETTIT,
    IN THE SUMMER OF 1861.
    Location: ON NYS 370 ABOUT 3 MILES SOUTHWEST OF BALDWINSVILLE

  • FIRST LIFT LOCK
    THE FIRST LIFT LOCK TO BE
    CONSTRUCTED WEST OF LITTLE
    FALLS WAS BUILT HERE IN
    1809 BY JONAS C. BALDWIN.
    Location: ON NYS 31 & NYS 370 AT BALDWINSVILLE

  • FIRST SETTLER
    THE HOME OF THE FIRST WHITE
    SETTLER IN THE TOWNSHIP OF
    LYSANDER, JONATHAN PALMER,
    REVOLUTIONARY SOLDIER,
    WAS BUILT ON THIS SITE, 1793.
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. AT JACKSONVILLE

  • GRACE CHURCH
    THE EPISCOPAL CHURCH WAS
    THE FIRST CHURCH IN THE
    UNITED STATES, ACCORDING TO
    TRADITION, TO BE LIGHTED
    BY ELECTRICITY
    Location: ON ELIZABETH ST. AT BALDWINSVILLE

  • LOG CABIN SITE
    JONAS C. BALDWIN, FOUNDER
    OF BALDWINSVILLE, BUILT
    THE FIRST LOG CABIN
    ON THE NORTH SIDE OF THE
    RIVER NEAR THIS SPOT IN 1807
    Location: ON NYS RD. AT BALDWINSVILLE

  • ON THIS HILL
    IN THE ORIGINAL HOUSE, 31
    WOMEN ORGANIZED THE FEMALE
    CHARITABLE SOCIETY, SECOND
    OLDEST WOMAN'S SOCIETY IN
    THE U.S., JULY 27, 1817.
    Location: ON NYS 31 AT BALDWINSVILLE

  • SITE OF
    HALFWAY TAVERN
    1814-34
    STOPPING PLACE FOR STAGE
    AND FOR OUDIAGA, INDIAN
    RUNNER, FIRST MAIL CARRIER
    BETWEEN SYRACUSE AND OSWEGO
    Location: ON NYS 48 ABOUT 4 MILES NORTH OF BALDWINSVLLE

County: ONONDAGA
Town: MANLIUS, TOWN OF

  • CHERRY VALLEY TURNPIKE
    TERMINATED HERE
    COMPLETED ABOUT 1809, JOINING
    THE SENECA TURNPIKE HERE
    Location: ON ACADEMY STREET AT MANLIUS

  • CHRIST CHURCH
    OLDEST CHURCH EDIFACE AND
    OLDEST EPISCOPAL PARISH IN
    ONONDAGA COUNTY, INC. 1804,
    1811; BUILT 1813; REMOVED TO THIS SITE, 1832.
    Location: ON NYS 173 AT MANLIUS

  • DEEP SPRING
    TE-UNGH-SAT-AYAGH
    450 FT. NORTH ON IROQUOIS TRAIL.
    FIRST ROAD MADE 1790 BY GEN.
    JAMES WADSWORTH. COUNTY
    LINE AND SURVEY MARK.
    Location: ON NYS 173 AT THE MADISON & ONONDAGA COUNTY LINE

  • FAYETTEVILLE
    FIRST CALLED "MANLIUS FOUR
    CORNERS". SETTLED IN 1791
    BY ORIGEN EATON AND JOSHUS
    KNOWLTON. BOYHOOD HOME OF
    GROVER CLEVELAND
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT FAYETTEVILLE

  • FAYETTEVILLE
    FIRST CALLED "MANLIUS FOUR
    CORNERS". SETTLED IN 1791
    BY ORIGEN EATON AND JOSHUS
    KNOWLTON. BOYHOOD HOME OF
    GROVER CLEVELAND
    Location: ON NYS 5 & NYS 92 AT FAYETTEVILLE

  • GEN. JOHN J. PECK
    BORN HERE JAN. 4, 1821; WON
    PROMOTION FOR GALLANTRY
    MEXICAN WAR; MADE MAJ. GEN.
    1862; DEFENDED SUFFOLK, VA.;
    DIED SYRACUSE, APRIL 21, 1878.
    Location: ON NYS 173 AT MANLIUS

  • GROVER CLEVELAND
    PRESIDENT OF UNITED STATES
    1884-1888 AND 1892-1896.
    HIS BOYHOOD HOME IS THE
    FIRST HOUSE ON THE LEFT
    NORTH OF THE CORNER HOUSE
    Location: ON NYS 5 & NYS 92 AT FAYETTEVILLE

  • THE FIRST
    SCHOOLHOUSE
    IN THE TOWN OF MANLIUS
    WAS BUILT OF LOGS AND
    STOOD NEAR HERE IN 1798
    Location: ON NYS 92 AT MANLIUS

  • THE MANLIUS SCHOOL
    FOUNDED 1869
    AS ST. JOHN'S SCHOOL
    OLDEST BOY'S PRIVATE
    PREPARATORY SCHOOL
    IN CENTRAL NEW YORK
    Location: ON NYS 92 ABOUT 1/2 MI. SOUTH OF MANLIUS

  • THE MANLIUS SCHOOL
    FOUNDED 1869
    Location: ON NYS 92 & NYS 20 N AT MANLIUS

  • THIS WELL
    DUG IN 1795 BY
    JOSEPH WILLIAMS
    SOLDIER OF THE REVOLUTION
    WHOSE LOG HOUSE STOOD
    ABOUT 50 FEET NORTH
    Location: ON ROWN RD. ABOUT 1 MILE EAST OF MANLIUS

County: ONONDAGA
Town: MARCELLUS, TOWN OF

  • FIRST SAWMILL
    IN TOWN OF MARCELLUS
    BUILT 1796 BY DEACON
    SAMUEL RICE AND JUDGE
    DAN BRADLEY
    Location: ON NYS 20 N & NYS 175 AT MARCELLUS

  • SITE OF
    FIRST CHURCH EDIFACE
    IN ONONDAGA COUNTY,
    COMPLETED 1803; PRESENT
    CHURCH BUILT 1851
    IN CENTRAL NEW YORK
    Location: ON NYS 20 N & NYS 175 AT MARCELLUS

  • SITE OF
    TAVERN KEPT BY DEACON
    SAMUEL RICE 1800
    FIRST CHURCH SERVICES
    WERE HELD HERE, ALSO
    TOWN MEEETINGS
    Location: ON NYS 175 AT MARCELLUS

  • SITE OF
    OLD HOTEL KEPT BY DR.
    BILDAB BEACH. GEN.
    LAFAYETTE STOPPED HERE
    JUNE 9, 1824
    Location: ON NYS 20 N & NYS 175 AT MARCELLUS

  • SITE OF
    FIRST FRAME HOUSE IN TOWN
    OF MARCELLUS. BUILT BY DR.
    ELNATHAN BEACH, WHO SERVED IN
    AMERICAN REVOLUTION: SHERIFF OF
    COUNTY FROM 1799 TO 1801
    Location: ON NYS 20 N & NYS 175 AT MARCELLUS

County: ONONDAGA
Town: ONONDAGA, TOWN OF

  • FRANCIS ASBURY
    FIRST BISHOP OF THE
    METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH
    PREACHED JUNE 26, 1807,
    IN ONONDAGA COURT HOUSE
    THEN STANDING ON THIS SITE
    Location: ON NYS 20 N & NYS 175 AT ONONDAGA HILL

  • MORAVIANS
    BISHOP SPANGENBERG AND DAVID
    ZEISBERGER AS MISSIONARIES
    CAME TO ONONDAGA INDIANS
    NEAR HERE IN 1745. DAVID
    RETURNED '50,'52, '53, '54, '66.
    Location: ON NYS 11 A ABOUT 1 MI. SOUTH OF SYRACUSE

  • ONONDAGA RESERVATION
    ESTABLISHED 1788.
    THE ONONDAGA INDIAN NATION
    FOUNDED THE IROQUOIS LEAGUE.
    Location: ON NYS 11 A ABOUT 1 MI. SOUTH OF SYRACUSE

  • SENTINEL HEIGHTS
    PIONEER CEMETERY
    ANDREW SHARE, 1763-1847, REV.
    SOLDIER, WHO GAVE LAND FOR
    CEMETERY, SCHOOL HOUSE, AND
    METHODIST CHURCH, BURIED HERE
    Location: ON BULL HILL RD. ABOUT 4 MIS. SOUTHEAST OF SYRACUSE

  • SITE OF
    FIRST COURT HOUSE
    ERECTED IN 1802 ON LAND
    DONATED TO ONONDAGA COUNTY
    BY GEORGE HALL
    AND THADDEUS WOOD
    Location: ON NYS 20 N & NYS 175 AT ONONDAGA HILL

  • WAR OF 1812
    CAPTAIN HENRY CROUCH AND
    CAPTAIN BENJAMIN BRANCH
    SOLDIERS OF WAR OF 1812
    WHO DIED WHILE EMCAMPED
    NEAR HERE ARE BURIED ABOVE.
    Location: ON NYS 20 N & NYS 173 ABOUT 1/2 MI. EAST OF ONONDAGA HILL

County: ONONDAGA
Town: POMPEY, TOWN OF

  • ATWELL'S CORNERS
    JOSEPH ATWELL, 1754-1834
    REVOLUTIONARY SOLDIER
    SETTLED HERE 1792. OVERSEER
    OF POMPEY HIGHWAYS 1794
    OWNED LOT IN MILITARY TRACT
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT MADISON & ONON. CO. LINE 4 MI. SOUTH OF ORAN

  • BAPTIST CHURCH
    BUILT 1820 BY N. STERLING.
    FREDERICK FREEMAN FIRST
    PASTOR. ABANDONED IN 1834.
    ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCH
    1866-92. NOW LEMOYNE HALL.
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT POMPEY

  • BIRTHPLACE OF
    CHARLES MASON
    BORN HERE IN LOG HOUSE 1804
    GRADUATE WEST POINT 1829
    CHIEF JUSTICE IOWA 1838-42
    U.S. COMM'R PATENTS 1853-57.
    Location: ON US 20 ABOUT 3 MILES NORTHEAST OF POMPEY

  • BIRTHPLACE OF
    GOV. HORATIO SEYMOUR, 1811
    TWICE GOVERNOR OF NEW
    YORK STATE. DEMOCRATIC
    CANDIDATE FOR PRESIDENT
    AGAINST GRANT
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF US 20 AND NYS 91 AT POMPEY

  • CAPE COD COTTAGE
    BUILT 1794
    SLAVE RUNNING STATION
    FOR SHELTERING SLAVES
    DURING CIVIL WAR.
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1 MI. S.E. OF ORAN

  • CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH
    ORGANIZED OCT. 19, 1796
    BY REV. AMENI R. ROBINSON
    CHURCH BUILT IN 1817-18.
    NOW POMPEY PRESBYTERIAN.
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. AT POMPEY

  • DROVERS TAVERN, 1820
    BUILT OF MATERIALS TAKEN FROM
    PREMISES; DESIGN OF MAIN HOUSE
    ON FILE LIBRARY OF CONGRESS;
    LAST REMAINING TAVERN
    FOR DROVERS.
    Location: ON NYS 92 & NYS 20 N ABOUT 1 MILE SOUTHEAST OF ORAN

  • FIRST MASS
    IN NEW YORK STATE
    WAS OFFERED ABOUT 300 FEET NORTH
    OF THIS MARKER BY REV. J.M.
    CHAUMONT, 1655, IN A BARK CHAPEL
    Location: AT INDIAN HILL ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 2 MIS. SOUTHWEST OF ORAN

  • FIRST SCHOOL
    ERECTED IN TOWN OF POMPEY
    1797 AND USED UNTIL 1810
    HEPSABAH BEEBEE--TEACHER
    CEMETERY ADJOINED SCHOOL
    GROUNDS, LATER REMOVED
    Location: ON NYS 91 AT POMPEY

  • FIRST STEAMBOAT
    BUILT BY WM. AVERY 1 MILE
    SOUTH OF ORAN. LAUNCHED
    IN LIMESTONE CREEK NEAR
    BUELLVILLE, 1823, LATER FIRST
    STEAMBOAT USED ON ERIE CANAL
    Location: ON NYS 92 & NYS 20 N ABOUT 1/2 MILE NORTHWEST OF ORAN

  • FIRST TAVERN
    1796-1808
    BUILT AND KEPT BY JOB
    BARTHOLOMEW. BURNED 1808.
    ANOTHER BUILT ON SAME SITE
    IN 1809 KEPT BY WM. SCOVILLE
    Location: ON NYS 92 & NYS 20 N AT ORAN

  • HANDY'S TAVERN
    1797 FIRST FRAME BUILDING
    ERECTED BY E. BUTLER, JR.
    AND RUN AS A TAVERN BY HIM.
    THE ORIGINAL FRAME IS
    STILL IN THE HOUSE.
    Location: ON NYS 91 AT POMPEY

  • INDIAN HILL
    WAS THE HOME OF THE ONONDAGA
    INDIANS. LARGE POPULATION
    LIVED HERE IN 1655.
    Location: AT INDIAN HILL ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 2 MILES SOUTHWEST OF ORAN

  • INDIAN WAR STONE
    GRINDSTONE OF THE ONONDAGA
    INDIANS. USED TO SHARPEN
    ARROWS AND SPEARS AT INDIAN
    HILL UNTIL 1666. MOVED TO
    LEMOYNE PARK POMPEY, 1905.
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. AT POMPEY

  • LOG HOUSE
    ERECTED 1791 BY EBENEZER
    BUTLER, JR. FIRST WHITE
    SETTLER ON POMPEY HILL.
    A REV. WAR SOLDIER,
    MEMBER OF ASSEMBLY
    Location: ON US 20 AT POMPEY

  • OLDEST FRAME HOUSE
    IN TOWN OF POMPEY
    BUILT BY EBENEZER
    HANDY, 1806
    Location: ON US 20 AT POMPEY

  • ORAN
    SETTLED IN 1793 BY THE
    BARNES BROTHERS, ASA
    ROSEWLL, AND PHINEAS.
    CAME HERE WITH THEIR
    FAMILIES FROM MASSACHUESTTS.
    Location: ON NYS 92 & NYS 20 N AT ORAN

  • PRATT'S FALLS
    FIRST MILLS IN ONON. CO.
    BUILT BY MANOAH PRATT, SR.
    AND ABRAHAM SMITH IN 1796
    FIRST A SAW MILL AND THEN
    A FLOUR MILL IN 1798.
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. AT PRATT'S FALLS PARK

  • ROMAN CATHOLIC
    MISSION CHURCH
    FIRST IN POMPEY WAS
    LOCATED HERE, 1857-1866.
    FATHER JAMES CAHILL,
    FIRST PRIEST
    Location: ON TOWN RD. AT POMPEY

  • SITE OF
    POMPEY ACADEMY
    1810-1834
    ORIGINAL ACADEMY WAS 40 X 50
    FEET FRAME BUILDINGS, TWO STORIES,
    GABLE END FACING SOUTH.
    Location: ON TOWN RD. AT POMPEY

  • SITE OF
    LOG CITY
    RIVAL OF POMPEY WITH A
    STORE, ASERY, TANNERY,
    SHOE AND CARPENTER SHOPS,
    AND A SCHOOLHOUSE.
    Location: ON NYS 91 ABOUT 1 1/4 MILES NORTH POMPEY

  • SITE OF
    GREEN'S HOUSE
    BUILT OF LOGS IN 1796 BY
    DAVID GREEN. THE SETTLEMENT
    WAS KNOWN FOR YEARS AS
    GREEN'S CORNERS
    Location: ON US 20 AT POMPEY CENTER

  • SITE OF
    FIRST SCHOOL
    BUILT HERE ABOUT 1800.
    GEORGE CLARK, FIRST TEACHER
    AND AFTERWARDS THE FIRST
    MERCHANT IN ORAN
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT ORAN

County: ONONDAGA
Town: SALINA, TOWN OF

  • SALT MAKING
    MANUFACTURE OF SALT WAS
    BEGUN HERE IN LIVERPOOL
    BY JOHN DANFORTH, BROTHER
    OF ASA DANFORTH, 1794
    Location: ON NYS 57 & NYS 370 AT LIVERPOOL

County: ONONDAGA
Town: SKANEATELES, TOWN OF

  • SITE OF THE OLD
    SHERWOOD INN
    BUILT ABOUT 1800
    Location: ON US 20 AT SKANEATELES

County: ONONDAGA
Town: SYRACUSE, CITY OF

  • GEDDES
    TOWN NAMED FOR JAMES GEDDES
    1763-1838, ENGINEER OF STATE
    CANALS FOR N.Y. WAS FIRST
    TO MAKE SALT HERE. SURVEYED
    SITE OF SYRACUSE, 1804
    Location: AT THE INTERSECTION OF NYS 48 AND HIAWATHA BLVD. AT SYRACUSE

County: ONONDAGA
Town: VAN BUREN, TOWN OF

  • ONONDAGA BRICK
    THOMAS MARVIN, SOLDIER IN
    WARS OF 1776 AND 1812,
    SETTLED HERE 1811 (CAZENOVIA
    1800). MADE FIRST BRICK HERE FROM
    NATIVE CLAY TROD BY OXEN.
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 1/2 MILE EAST OF WARNERS

County: ONTARIO
Town: BRISTOL, TOWN OF

  • BURNING SPRINGS
    CHARTED ON EARLIEST MAPS
    OF NORTH AMERICA AFTER
    LA SALLE'S VISIT AUGUST 1669.
    CAUSED BY ESCAPING NATURAL
    GAS. ONCE MYSTERY TO VISITORS
    Location: ON CASE RD. ABOUT 1 MI. NORTHWEST OF BRISTOL CENTER

County: ONTARIO
Town: CANANDAIGUA, TOWN OF

  • CANANDAIGUA ACADEMY
    INCORPORATED 1795
    FIRST ACADEMY ON
    PHELPS & GORHAM TRACT
    Location: ON NYS 332 BETWEEN FORT HILL AVE. & GRANGER ST.

  • GRANGER HOMESTEAD
    HOME OF GIDEON GRANGER
    POSTMASTER GEN. IN CABINETS
    OF JEFFERSON & MADISON
    RESIDENT HERE 1814-1822
    Location: ON NYS 332 BETWEEN GRANGER & CHAPEL STS.

  • PHELPS-GORHAM PURCHASE
    PIONEER LAND OFFICE IN
    WESTERN N.Y. ESTAB. HERE
    1789
    HOME SITE OLIVER PHELPS
    1ST JUDGE OF CO. 1789-93
    Location: ON US 20, NYS 5 & NYS 21 BETWEEN NIAGARA & ONTARIO STS.

  • SITE OF
    PIONEER HOME
    CAPT. JASPER PARRISH
    SETTLED HERE IN 1792
    INDIAN CAPTIVE SIX YEARS
    GOVT. INTERTERTER LATER
    DIED IN 1826
    Location: ON US 20 & NYS 5 AT INTERSECTION S. MAIN & PARISH STS.

  • [ARROW]
    8 MILES NORTH, ROUTE 21
    CUMORAH
    FAMOUS MORMON HILL
    AND
    ANGEL MORONI MONUMENT
    Location: ON NYS 21 & NYS 332 AT INTERSECTION N. MAIN ST. & GIBSON ST.

County: ONTARIO
Town: FARMINGTON, TOWN OF

  • HERENDEEN HOMESTEAD
    BUILT BY JAMES HERENDEEN
    1832. ENTRANCE PORCH ADDED BY
    JOSEPHINE HERENDEEN
    1932
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 2 1/2 MILES SOUTH OF FARMINGTON

County: ONTARIO
Town: GENEVA, CITY OF

  • GANECHSTAGE
    SITE OF SENECA VILLAGE
    AND JESUIT MISSION
    FOR THE INDIANS
    ESTABLISHED 1687
    Location: ON WHITE SPRING RD. AT THE WEST LIMITS OF CITY.

  • PREEMPTION LINE
    BOUNDARY DRAWN BETWEEN
    MASSACHUSETTS AND NEW YORK
    DECEMBER 16, 1786
    CAUSE OF LONG CONTROVERSY
    IN WESTERN NEW YORK
    Location: ON US 20 & NYS 5 AT WESTERN EDGE OF THE CITY

  • SITE OF
    GENEVA HOTEL
    ERECTED 1796
    BY
    CAPT. CHARLES WILLIAMSON
    Location: ON WASHINGTON ST. BETWEEN PULTENEY & MAIN STS.

  • SITE OF GENEVA
    MEDICAL COLLEGE
    ELIZ. BLACKWELL RECEIVED
    HERE IN 1849 THE FIRST
    DEGREE OF MD EVER
    CONFERRED UPON A WOMAN
    Location: ON US 20, NYS 5 & NYS 14 BETWEEN WASHINGTON & HAMILTON STS.

  • SITE OF LOG HOUSE
    ERECTED 1787 LATER
    KNOWN AS
    ELARK JENNINGS TAVERN
    Location: ON S. EXCHANGE ST. SOUTH OF WASHINGTON ST.

  • SMITH OBSERVATORY
    WORLD FAMOUS FOR THE
    DISCOVERIES OF DIRECTOR
    DR. WILLIAM R. BROOKS
    Location: ON CASTLE ST. BETWEEN HILLCREST & HIGHLAND AVES.

  • TORY QUARTERS
    SITE OF MILITARY DEPOT
    UNDER COMMAND OF
    COL. JOHN BUTLER
    DESTROYED SEPT. 1779 IN
    SULLIVAN EXPEDITION
    Location: ON US 20 & NYS 5 ALONG SENECA LAKE

County: ONTARIO
Town: GENEVA, TOWN OF

  • GLASS FACTORY
    BAY
    1810 - 1850
    ONTARIO GLASS MANUFACTORY
    BLOWERS OF WINDOW GLASS
    VILLAGE OF 500 INHABITANTS
    Location: ON RTE. 14 ABOUT 1 1/2 MILES S. OF GENEVA

  • SITE OF KANADESAGA
    CHIEF CASTLE OF
    THE SENECA NATION
    DESTROYED SEPT. 7, 1779
    IN GEN. JOHN SULLIVAN'S
    RAID
    Location: ON CO. RD. TO SENECA CASTLE ABOUT 1/4 MILE WEST OF GENEVA

County: ONTARIO
Town: GORHAM, TOWN OF

  • MARCUS WHITMAN
    PIONEER MISSIONARY PATRIOT
    COLONIZER IN OREGON TER.
    BORN HERE SEPT. 4, 1802
    Location: ON NYS 245 AT RUSHVILLE

County: ONTARIO
Town: MANCHESTER, TOWN OF

  • HILL CUMORAH
    THE MORMONS BELIEVE THAT
    HERE IN 1827 JOSEPH SMITH
    RECEIVED THE BOOK OF MORMON
    Location: ON NYS 21 ABOUT 2 MILES N. OF MANCHESTER

  • [ARROW]
    2 MILES NORTH
    CUMORAH
    FAMOUS MORMON HILL
    AND
    ANGEL MORONI MONUMENT
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF NYS 21 & NYS 96 AT MANCHESTER

County: ONTARIO
Town: NAPLES, TOWN OF

  • FIRST CHURCH
    ON THIS SITE WAS ORGANIZED
    THE "FIRST RELIGIOUS COMPACT
    OF MIDDLETOWN 1800" THE
    CHURCH WAS BUILT IN 1824
    Location: IN VILLAGE PARK IN NAPLES

  • FOSSIL TREE
    ONE MILE WEST OF THIS SPOT
    WAS DISCOVERED THE FOSSIL
    DEVONIAN TREE TRUNK IN THE
    BED OF GRIMES CREEK. IT IS
    NOW IN THE STATE MUSEUM
    Location: ON NYS 21 & NYS 245 AT NAPLES

  • NAPLES
    FOUNDED 1789 ON THE OLD
    SENECA VILLAGE OF NUNDAWAO;
    FIRST KNOWN AS WATKINSTOWN;
    IN 1796 CALLED MIDDLETOWN;
    ON APRIL 6, 1808, NAMED NAPLES
    Location: ON NYS 21 & NYS 245 AT NAPLES

  • NAPLES
    KNOWN AS WATKINSTOWN 1789;
    NAMED MIDDLETOWN 1796,
    MIDWAY BETWEEN CANANDAIGUA
    AND BATH; NAPLES APRIL 6, 1808
    Location: ON NYS 21 & NYS 245 AT NAPLES

County: ONTARIO
Town: RICHMOND, TOWN OF

  • MILITARY ROUTE
    OF THE SULLIVAN-CLINTON
    ARMY ON ITS CAMPAIGN
    AGAINST THE BRITISH
    AND INDIANS OF WESTERN
    NEW YORK IN 1779
    Location: ON US 20A ABOUT 1/2 MILE E. OF HONEOYE

  • NEARBY IS THE SITE OF
    PIONEER HOME
    CAPT. PETER PITTS
    FIRST SETTLER IN TOWN
    OF RICHMOND
    Location: ON US 20A ABOUT 1/2 MILE E. OF HONEOYE

  • OLD REED
    HOMESTEAD
    FRIST BRICK HOUSE
    IN TOWN OF RICHMOND
    BUILT 1803 BY
    PHILIP REED
    Location: ON REED RD. ABOUT 1/2 MILE SOUTH OF RICHMOND MILLS

  • PITTS MANSION
    BUILT 1821 BY
    GIDEON PITTS
    SON OF CAPT. PETER PITTS
    PIONEER SETTLER IN 1789
    Location: ON US 10A AT HONEOYE

County: ONTARIO
Town: VICTOR, TOWN OF

  • EZRA WILMARTH
    OPENED STAGECOACH INN HERE
    DEC. 25, 1815. ORIGINAL
    INN SIGN HAD MASONIC EMBLEM.
    SOLDIERS OF WAR OF 1812
    GATHERED ON THIS SITE
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1 MILE SOUTH OF VICTOR

  • FISHER HOMESTEAD
    OLDEST HOUSE HERE, BUILT
    BY CHAS. FISHER, 1811. FISHERS
    NAMED FOR HIM. POST OFFICE
    1850. HOME OF HENRY PARDEE,
    ASSEMBLYMAN 1840.
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT FISHERS

  • PARK PLACE
    BUILT BY SIMEON PARKS
    APRIL 1813, WHO CLEARED
    A LARGE TRACT OF LAND.
    FAMOUS PLANK ROAD WENT
    BY HERE
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 1 1/4 MILES EAST OF FISHERS

  • SENECA TRAIL
    TRAVERSED BY FRENCH ARMY
    OF DENONVILLE, 1687. HERE
    WERE SENECA LODGES WHERE
    FRIENDLY INDIAN FOLLOWERS
    OF TRAIL WERE WELCOMED
    Location: ON TN. RD. ABOUT 3 MILES NORTHWEST OF VICTOR

County: ORANGE
Town: BLOOMING GROVE, TOWN OF

  • PINE HILL FARM
    HECTOR ST. JOHN DE
    CREVECOEUR, 1735-1813.
    SETTLED HERE 1769 AND HERE
    WROTE "LETTERS FROM AN
    AMERICAN FARMER" (LONDON 1782)
    Location: ON NYS 45 ABOUT 1/2 MI. N.E. OF CRAIGSVILLE

  • SITE OF
    CROMLINE HOUSE
    BUILT BY DANIEL CROMLINE,
    IN 1716, NAMED GREYCOURT INN.
    PRIOR TO 1765 WAS MAIN HOUSE
    BETWEEN NEW WINDSOR AND
    Location: ON NYS 94 ABOUT 1 MI. N.E. OF CRAIGSVILLE

County: ORANGE
Town: CHESTER, TOWN OF

  • CHESTER MILITIA
    ORGANIZED IN 1775 AS
    CAPT. JOHN JACKSON'S CO.
    IN COL. WILLIAM ALLISON'S
    GOSHEN REGT. SERVED AT
    RIVER FORTS AND MINISINK
    Location: ON NYS 94 AT CHESTER

  • OTTERKILL
    ON THIS STREAM THE FIRST
    GRIST MILL WAS OPERATED
    BEFORE 1785, OWNED BY
    JONAS DENTON AND RUN
    BY HIS SON, THOMAS DENTON
    Location: ON NYS 17M AT CHESTER

  • REVOLUTIONARY
    MILITIA
    OF ORANGE AND ULSTER
    WERE ASSEMBLED HERE, DEC., 1776.
    COL. WOODHULL CAMPED HERE, 1777.
    DEC., 1778, MILITIA MET TO
    MARCH TO MINISINK
    Location: ON NYS 94 AT CHESTER

  • SITE OF
    FIRST POST OFFICE
    IN CHESTER WAS LOCATED
    IN A SMALL BUILDING HERE
    IN 1794. JAMES WICKHAM,
    POSTMASTER
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF NYS 17 A & NYS 94 AT CHESTER

  • WAWAYANDA PATENT
    COVERING ABOUT HALF OF
    PRESENT ORANGE COUNTY WAS
    GRANTED BY GOV. CORNBURY
    MAR. 5, 1703 TO JOHN BRIDGES
    AND ELEVEN ASSOCIATES
    Location: ON US 6 & NYS 17 ABOUT 1/2 MI. EAST OF CHESTER

County: ORANGE
Town: CORNWALL, TOWN OF

  • WASHINGTON'S ARMY
    NEW YORK, NEW HAMPSHIRE
    AND NEW JERSEY TROOPS
    WERE QUARTERED 2500 FEET N.E.
    IN HUTS ON WEST BANK OF
    SILVER STREAM 1782-83
    Location: ON N. SIDE NYS 94 AT RILEY RD.INSTRSCTN. 1 MI. W. VAILS GATE

County: ORANGE
Town: CRAWFORD, TOWN OF

  • ORANGE COUNTY
    ONE OF ORIGINAL COUNTIES
    OF PROVINCE OF NEW YORK,
    ESTABLISHED 1683, BY GOV.
    THOMAS DONGAN, NAMED FOR
    WILLIAM, PRINCE OF ORANGE
    Location: ON NYS 52 AT ULSTER-ORANGE COUNTY LINE

County: ORANGE
Town: DEERPARK, TOWN OF

  • BOLTON BASIN
    A PORT ON THE OLD D. & H.
    CANAL, 1828-1898, NAMED
    FOR JOHN BOLTON, FOUTH
    PRESIDENT, D. & H. CANAL
    COMPANY
    Location: ON NYS 97 AT OLD BOLTON

  • CAMP SITE
    SECOND N. Y. REGIMENT, ON
    WAY TO STROUDSBURG MAY 7,
    1779 TO BUILD ROAD TO
    WYOMING FOR SULLIVAN'S
    MARCH AGAINST INDIANS
    Location: ON NEVERSINK DR. ABOUT 2 MILES NORTHEAST OF PORT JERVIS

  • CUDDEBACK
    HOMESTEAD BUILT IN 1755
    BY JACOBUS CUDDEBACK
    HUGUENOT REFUGEE FROM
    FRANCE WHO SETTLED IN
    THIS VICINITY ABOUT 1698
    Location: ON US 209 SOUTH OF GODEFFROY

  • CUDDEBACKVILLE
    NAMED FOR
    WILLIAM A. CUDDEBACK,
    COLONEL IN WAR OF 1812,
    ESTABLISHED 1826 ON
    DELAWARE AND HUDSON CANAL
    Location: ON US 209 AT VLGE. CUDDEBACKVILLE

  • D. & H. CANAL
    CROSSED THE NEVERSINK
    RIVER HERE IN A WOODEN
    AQUEDUCT, ABUTMENTS
    SHOWING SIZE OF CHANNEL
    100 YARDS ABOVE BRIDGE
    Location: ON US 209 HALFWAY BETWEEN HUGUENOT & PORT JERVIS

  • D. AND H. CANAL
    OPENED 1828-1898,
    FROM HONESDALE, PA. TO
    KINGSTON. CARRIED BULK OF
    NEW YORK CITY'S COAL UNTIL
    AFTER THE CIVIL WAR
    Location: ON US 209 AT CUDDEBACKVILLE

  • D. AND H. CANAL
    CROSSED THE MONGAUP RIVER
    HERE IN A WOODEN AQUEDUCT.
    CARRIED BULK OF NEW YORK
    CITY'S COAL, VIA KINGSTON,
    UNTIL AFTER THE CIVIL WAR
    Location: ON NYS 97 AT ORANGE-SULLIVAN COUNTY LINE

  • D. AND H. CANAL
    OPENED 1828, CLOSED 1898,
    FROM HONESDALE, PA. TO
    KINGSTON. CARRIED BULK OF
    NEW YORK CITY'S COAL UNTIL
    AFTER THE CIVIL WAR
    Location: ON US 209 AT SULLIVAN-ORANGE COUNTY LINE

  • D. AND H. CANAL
    A SLUICE FROM THE MONGAUP
    RIVER CROSSED HERE TO
    FILL CANAL. REMAINS OF
    STONEWORK MAY BE SEEN
    ABOVE BRIDGE
    Location: ON NYS 97 AT ORANGE-SULLIVAN COUNTY LINE

  • DECKER FORT
    MAJOR DECKER'S STOCKADED
    HOUSE ON THIS SITE BURNED
    BY BRANT'S RAIDERS, JULY
    20, 1779. MILITIA PURSUING
    BRANT RALLIED HERE
    Location: ON NEVERSINK DR. ABOUT 2 1/2 MILES NORTHEAST OF PORT JERVIS

  • DECKER'S TAVERN
    HERE MODELINE, THE INDIAN
    WHO SCALPED TOM QUICK, SR.
    REENACTED THE OLD MAN'S
    DEATH AGONY. HE WAS SHOT
    FOR IT BY TOM QUICK, JR.
    Location: ON US 209 ABOUT 3/4 MI. NORTHEAST OF PORT JERVIS

  • FIRST SETTLER
    ABOUT 1690 WILLIAM TIETSOORT
    SET UP A BLACKSMITH SHOP
    HERE AT REQUEST OF INDIANS
    WHO GAVE HIM THIS LAND
    WEST OF THEIR VILLAGE
    Location: ON US 209 ABOUT 1/2 MI. N. PORT JERVIS

  • FORT GUMAER
    BUILT IN FRENCH AND INDIAN
    WAR, 1755-1763, ON KNOLL
    ACROSS FLATS. SHELTERED
    105 SETTLERS DURING TORY
    AND INDIAN RAIDS, 1778-9
    Location: ON US 209 BETWEEN HUGUENOT AND GODEFFROY

  • INDIAN RAID
    ROUTE BY WHICH COL. BRANT
    AND HIS MOHAWK AND TORY
    RAIDERS DESCENDED ON THIS
    VALLEY OCTOBER 13, 1778
    AND JULY 20, 1779
    Location: ON CAHOONZIE RD. BETWEEN US 209 & NEVERSINK DRIVE

  • INDIAN RAID
    ROUTE BY WHICH COL. BRANT
    AND HIS MOHAWK AND TORY
    RAIDERS DESCENDED ON THIS
    VALLEY OCTOBER 13, 1778
    AND JULY 20, 1779
    Location: ON US 209 SO. OF HUGUENOT

  • INDIAN RAID
    ROUTE TAKEN BY N.Y. AND
    N. J. MILITIA IN PURSUIT
    OF COL. BRANT FOR RAID
    ON MINISINK (PORT JERVIS)
    JULY 21, 1779
    Location: ON US 209 ABOUT 1/2 MILE SOUTH OF CUDDEBACKVILLE

  • INDIAN RAID
    HOME OF SOLOMON KUIYKEN DALL,
    JUSTICE OF THE PEACE
    1771-1787
    BURNED BY BRANT'S MOHAWKS
    AND TORIES, JULY 20, 1779
    Location: ON NEVERSINK DR. EAST OF PORT JERVIS

  • INDIAN RAID
    ROUTE BY WHICH CO. BRANT
    AND HIS MOHAWK AND TORY
    RAIDERS DESCENDED ON THIS
    VALLEY OCTOBER 13, 1778
    AND JULY 20, 1779
    Location: JUST OFF US 209 WHERE CAHOONZIE RD. FORKS

  • INDIAN RAID
    HOUSE AND BARN OF JACOBUS
    VAN FLEET ON THIS SITE
    BURNED BY BRANT'S RAIDERS,
    JULY 20, 1779
    Location: ON NEVERSINK DR. ABOUT 2 MILES EAST OF PORT JERVIS

  • INDIAN RAID
    ROUTE TAKEN BY COL. BRANT
    WITH CAPTIVES AND CATTLE
    TAKEN IN THE SACK OF
    MINISINK (PORT JERVIS)
    JULY 20, 1779
    Location: AT INTRSCTN. NYS 97 & 42

  • INDIAN RAID
    HOME OF PHILIP SWARTOUT
    CHAIRMAN COMMITTEE OF
    SAFETY, 1777. HE AND TWO
    SONS WERE SACALPED HERE IN
    BRANT'S RAID, OCT. 15, 1778
    Location: ON US 209 AT HUGUENOT

  • INDIAN RAID
    GRIST MILL ON THIS STREAM
    BUILT BY SOLOMON DAVIS
    ABOUT 1730, WAS BURNED IN
    BRANT'S RAID, JULY 20, 1779
    Location: ON NEVERSINK DR. ABOUT 2 MILES EAST OF PORT JERVIS

  • INDIAN RAID
    SCHOOL HERE WAS BURNED BY
    RAIDERS, JULY 20, 1779.
    TEACHER SCALPED: BOYS
    MADE PRISONERS: GIRLS SAVED
    BY BRANT'S MARK ON APRONS
    Location: ON NEVERSINK DR. ABOUT 2 MILES EAST OF PORT JERVIS

  • INDIAN RAID
    ANTHONY VAN ETTEN BUILT A.
    SMITHY HERE ABOUT 1750.
    JAMES SWARTOUT HID IN
    FLUE DURING RAID OF 1779,
    THUS KEEPING HIS SCALP.
    Location: ON NEVERSINK DR. ABOUT 2 MILES NORTHEAST OF PORT JERVIS

  • INDIAN VILLAGE
    ON THE PLATEAU TO THE WEST
    STOOD THE INDIAN VILLAGE
    OQUEKUMSEY
    ABANDONED 1730, EXCAVATED
    BY N. Y. STATE MUSEUM, 1909
    Location: ON NEVERSINK DR. ABOUT 2 MILES EAST OF PORT JERVIS

  • KAATSBAAN
    (DUTCH FOR TENNIS COURT)
    SITE OF INDIAN FOOTBALL
    FIELD IN BEND OF RIVER
    HOME OF WILLIAM TIETSOORT,
    1690-1713
    Location: ON US 209 AT N. END PORT JERVIS

  • N. J. CLAIM LINE
    STATE LINE AS CLAIMED BY
    NEW JERSEY, 1686-1769,
    7 MILES NORTH OF PRESENT
    LINE AT PORT JERVIS, N. Y.
    CAUSED 50 YEAR BORDER WAR
    Location: ON US 209 HALFWAY BETWEEN HUGUENOT & PORT JERVIS

  • N. J. LINE WAR
    MAJOR JACOBUS SWARTOUT,
    LEADER OF N. Y. FACTION,
    SETTLED HERE ABOUT 1741
    AND WAS LATER KIDNAPPED
    BY JERSEY MEN
    Location: ON US 209 AT HUGUENOT

  • N. J. LINE WAR
    CAPT. JOHANNES WESTBROOK
    ON N. Y. FACTION, SETTLED
    HERE ON LAND CLAIMED BY
    N. J., ABOUT 1740. WAS LATER
    KIDNAPPED BY JERSEY FACTION 1754
    Location: ON US 209 ABOUT 3/4 MI. N. E. PT. JERVIS

  • N. J. LINE WAR
    HENRICK DECKER AND HIS
    BROTHER, JAN SETTLED HERE
    ABOUT 1698. HEADQUARTERS
    OF N. J. LINE COMMISSIONERS
    AND SURVEYORS, 1719
    Location: ON US 209 AT N. END PORT JERVIS

  • N. J. LINE WAR
    LAND OF WESTFALL & CO.
    WAS SETTLED ON JERSEY CLAIM
    1698. ATTACKED BY ARMED
    NEW YORKERS FROM GOSHEN
    AND PEENPACK, 1701-1759
    Location: ON US 209 SO. OF GODEFFROY

  • N. J. LINE WAR
    LAND OF WESTFALL & CO.
    WAS SETTLED ON JERSEY CLAIM
    1698. ATTACKED BY ARMED
    NEW YORKERS FROM GOSHEN
    AND PEENPACK, 1701-1759
    Location: ON US 209 HALFWAY BETWEEN HUGUENOT & PORT JERVIS

  • NEVERSINK DRIVE
    (HORN ROAD)
    ALONG THIS OLD ROAD ARE
    SCENES OF EVENTS IN THE
    RAID BY THE MOHAWK CHIEF,
    JOSEPH BRANT, JULY 20, 1779
    Location: ON NEVERSINK DR. E. OF PORT JERVIS

  • OLD MINE ROAD
    OLDEST 100-MILE ROAD IN
    AMERICA. BUILT BY DUTCH
    MINERS BEFORE 1664 FROM
    KINGSTON TO COPPER MINES
    NEAR DELAWARE WATER GAP
    Location: ON CAHOONZIE RD. BETWEEN US 209 & NEVERSINK DRIVE

  • OLD MINE ROAD
    OLDEST 100-MILE ROAD IN
    AMERICA. BUILT BY DUTCH
    MINERS BEFORE 1664 FROM
    KINGSTON TO COPPER MINES
    NEAR DELAWARE WATER GAP
    Location: ON US 6 WHERE RD. TURNS OFF AT TRI STATES

  • OLD TURNPIKE
    BUILT 1809, CONNECTING
    MINISINK (PORT JERVIS)
    WITH NEWBURGH, VIA
    MIDDLETOWN AND MONTGOMERY
    Location: ON NEVERSINK DR. ABOUT 1 1/2 MIS. NORTHEAST OF PORT JERVIS

  • ORANGE COUNTY
    ONE OF THE ORIGINAL COUNTIES
    OF PROVINCE OF NEW YORK
    ESTABLISHED 1683, BY GOV.
    THOMAS DONGAN, NAMED FOR
    WILLIAM, PRINCE OF ORANGE
    Location: ON RIVER RD. AT NEW YORK-NEW JERSEY LINE SO. PORT JERVIS

  • ORANGE COUNTY
    ONE OF ORIGINAL COUNTIES
    OF PROVINCE OF NEW YORK,
    ESTABLISHED 1683, BY GOV.
    THOMAS DONGAN, NAMED FOR
    WILLIAM, PRINCE OF ORANGE
    Location: ON US 209 AT SULLIVAN-ORANGE COUNTY LINE

  • ORANGE COUNTY
    ONE OF ORIGINAL COUNTIES
    OF PROVINCE OF NEW YORK,
    ESTABLISHED 1683, BY GOV.
    THOMAS DONGAN, NAMED FOR
    WILLIAM, PRINCE OF ORANGE
    Location: ON NYS 97 AT SULLIVAN-ORANGE COUNTY LINE

  • PENHORN'S LAND
    783 ACRES OF FERTILE
    LOWLAND OCCUPIED BY CHIEF
    PENHORN AND HIS TRIBE.
    SOLD BY THEM IN 1730 TO
    DAVIS, COLE AND VAN AUKEN
    Location: ON NEVERSINK DR. ABOUT 2 MILES EAST OF PORT JERVIS

  • RESIDENCE SITE
    CAPT. ABRAHAM WESTFALL
    WOUNDED IN BATTLE OF
    BUNKER HILL, FOUGHT AT
    TRENTON, BRANDYWINE,
    BLOODY RUN AND STONY POINT
    Location: ON US 209 SOUTH OF HUGUENOT

  • SITE OF
    PEENPACK SCHOOL
    BUILT ABOUT 1765. FIRST
    SCHOOLMASTER, THOMAS KYTE, MEMBER
    COMMITTEE OF SAFETY, 1776
    Location: ON US 209 SO. OF GODEFFROY

  • SITE OF HOME
    HARMANUS VAN INWEGEN
    MEMBER OF COMMITTEE OF
    SAFETY. GERARDUS, HIS
    SON, WAS KILLED AT FORT
    MONTGOMERY, OCT.6, 1777
    Location: ON US 209 NORTH OF HUGUENOT

  • SLAVES
    OLD BURIAL GROUND FOR
    SLAVES OWNED BY FAMILIES
    IN THIS VICINITY IS
    LOCATED ON THE HILL ABOVE
    Location: ON NEVERSINK DR. ABOUT 2 MILES NORTHEAST OF PORT JERVIS

  • WILAHOOSA CAVE
    MAJOR JOHANNES DECKER
    WOUNDED BY INDIANS OF
    BRANT'S RAIDING PARTY,
    ESCAPED BY HIDING IN THE
    CAVE ABOVE JULY 20, 1779
    Location: ON NEVERSINK DR. ABOUT 2 MILES EAST OF PORT JERVIS

  • [ARROW]
    FORT VAN AUKEN
    WHICH STOOD HERE DURING
    REVOLUTION, UNSUCCESSFULLY
    ATTACKED BY MOHAWKS AND
    TORIES, LED BY JOSEPH
    BRANT, JULY 20, 1779
    Location: ON NEVERSINK DR. ABOUT 2 MILES EAST OF PORT JERVIS

County: ORANGE
Town: GOSHEN, TOWN OF

  • HISTORIC TRACK
    "CRADLE OF THE TROTTER"
    MADE FAMOUS BY
    HAMBLETONIAN (1849-1876)
    SIRE OF TROTTERS
    Location: E. SIDE OF PARK PL. NEAR ENTRANCE TO HISTORIC TRACK

County: ORANGE
Town: HAMPTONBURGH, TOWN OF

  • 1ST BUTTER FACTORY
    IN U.S. - 1856
    BUILT HERE IN CAMPBELL HALL
    200 FT. EAST OF THIS MARKER
    F. W. WOODHULL, OWNER
    GEORGE GOUGH, BUTTERMAKER

County: ORANGE
Town: HIGHLAND, TOWN OF

  • BUTTERMILK FALLS
    AT THE FOOT OF THIS LANE
    AT BUTTERMILK FALLS, WAS
    THE HEADQUARTERS OF GEN.
    ISRAEL PUTNAM, COMMANDER
    IN THE HIGHLANDS, 1779
    Location: ON OLD 9W IN VLGE. OF HIGHLAND FALLS

  • CAPTAIN MOLLY
    MARGARET CORBIN, HEROINE
    OF THE BATTLE OF FORT
    WASHINGTON, PASSED HER LAST
    DAYS ON THE FORMER MORGAN
    ESTATE, NEAR HERE
    Location: ON OLD 9W AT VLGE. OF HIGHLAND FALLS

  • FOREST OF DEAN
    IRON MINE, OPENED BEFORE
    THE REVOLUTIONARY WAR; NOW
    A MILE DEEP; SUPPLIED ORE
    FOR THE QUEENSBORO
    FURNACE BEFORE 1777
    Location: ON NYS 293 ABOUT 5 MIS. N.E. OF CENTRAL VALLEY

  • FORT MONTGOMERY
    LAST STAND OF AMERICAN
    MILITIA, IN THE DEFENSE OF
    FORTS CLINTON & MONTGOMERY
    AGAINIST THE BRITISH
    OCTOBER 7, 1777
    Location: ON US 9W JUST N. OF BEAR MT. BRIDGE TRAFFIC CIRCLE

  • HUDSON GORGE
    THIS NARROW PART OF THE
    RIVER WAS FORTIFIED BY THE
    AMERICANS IN THE REVOLUTION
    WITH FORTS MONTGOMERY AND
    CLINTON AND AN IRON CHAIN
    Location: ON PERKINS MEMORIAL DR. AT BEAR MOUNTAIN STATE PARK

  • JOHN BURROUGHS
    APRIL 3, 1837-MARCH 29, 1921
    AS A YOUNG MAN, THE POET-
    NATURALIST TAUGHT SCHOOL NEAR
    THIS SPOT. HERE HE WROTE
    HIS POEM "WAITING"
    Location: ON OLD 9W AT VLGE. OF HIGHLAND FALLS

  • ORANGE COUNTY
    ONE OF ORIGINAL COUNTIES
    OF PROVINCE OF NEW YORK
    ESTABLISHED 1683, BY GOV.
    THOMAS DONGAN, NAMED FOR
    WILLIAM, PRINCE OF ORANGE
    Location: ON US 9W AT BEAR MT. TRAFFIC CIRCLE

  • REDOUBTS
    NUMBERS 1 AND 2
    ON HILLS ABOVE ARE REDOUBTS
    BUILT 1778-9, AS SOUTHERN
    DEFENSES OF AMERICAN
    STRONGHOLD AT WEST POINT
    Location: JUST OF US 9W AT WEST END OF HIGHLAND FALLS

  • ROAD TO SMITH'S CLOVE
    DURING THE REVOLUTION WAS
    USED BY TROOPS FROM THE
    CAMP IN SMITH'S CLOVE
    (NOW WOODBURY) TO FOREST
    OF DEAN AND WEST POINT
    Location: ON NYS 293 ABOUT 5 MIS. N.E. OF CENTRAL VALLEY

  • STONY LONESOME
    THIS ROCKY VALLEY, NAMED
    DURING THE REVOLUTION, WAS
    A PASS TO THE WESTERN
    DEFENSES OF WEST POINT
    AND WAS STRONGLY GUARDED
    Location: ON OLD 9W AT SOUTH END OF VLG. OF HIGHLAND FALLS

  • WASHINGTON VALLEY
    AT THE FOOT OF THIS VALLEY
    ON THE BANK OF THE HUDSON
    WAS THE MOORE HOUSE, USED
    AS HEADQUARTERS IN 1779 BY
    WASHINGTON WHEN AT WEST POINT
    Location: ON NYS 218 AT NORTHERN EDGE OF WEST POINT RESERVATION

  • [ARROW]
    THE TIMP
    THE CLIFF ON THE WEST END
    OF DUNDERBERG, SHOWING A
    PROFILE OF GEORGE WASHINGTON,
    WAS NAMED FOR A DUTCH WORD,
    "TIMPJE", MEANING "CAKE"
    Location: ON PERKINS MEMORIAL DR. AT BEAR MOUNTAIN STATE PARK

  • [ARROW]
    POPOLOPEN GORGE
    THE LEFT WING OF BRITISH
    FORCE ASSAULTING FORTS
    CLINTON AND MONTGOMERY
    MARCHED THROUGH THIS
    VALLEY OCTOBER 7, 1777
    Location: ON PERKINS MEMORIAL DR. AT BEAR MOUNTAIN STATE PARK

  • [ARROW]
    FORT CLINTON
    BELOW IS FORT CLINTON
    AND NORTH OF POPOLOPEN
    CREEK FORT MONTGOMERY, BUILT
    TO DEFEND HUDSON, AND STORMED
    BY BRITISH OCTOBER 7, 1777
    Location: AT INTRSCTN. US 6 & US 9W AT BEAR MOUNTAIN STATE PARK

  • [ARROW]
    ANTHONY'S NOSE
    THE STEEP HILL OPPOSITE
    WAS SO CALLED, WASHINGTON
    IRVING SAID, FOR THE BIG
    NOSE OF ANTHONY VAN CORLAER,
    DUTCH SLOOP SKIPPER
    Location: ON PERKINS MEMORIAL DR. AT BEAR MOUNTAIN STATE PARK

  • [ARROW]
    HESSIAN LAKE
    SO CALLED BECAUSE OF REPORT
    THAT BODIES OF HESSIANS IN
    BRITISH ARMY ATTACKING FORT
    CLINTON, OCTOBER 7, 1777,
    WERE THROWN IN ITS WATERS
    Location: ON PERKINS MEMORIAL DR. AT BEAR MOUNTAIN STATE PARK

  • [ARROW]
    DOODLETOWN
    THE VALLEY SOUTH WAS NAMED,
    ACCORDING TO LOCAL LEGEND,
    BECAUSE THE BRITISH PLAYED
    "YANKEE DOODLE" MARCHING
    THROUGH IT OCT. 7, 1777
    Location: ON PERKINS MEMORIAL DR. AT BEAR MOUNTAIN STATE PARK

  • [ARROW]
    DUNDERBERG
    "THUNDER MOUNTAIN" OF EARLY
    DUTCH SKIPPERS, LEGENDARY
    HOME OF DWERG, WHO SMOTE
    THEM WITH THUNDERSTORMS
    UNLESS THEY SALUTED HIM
    Location: ON PERKINS MEMORIAL DR. AT BEAR MOUNTAIN STATE PARK

  • [ARROW]
    IRON FURNACE
    ALONG POPOLOPEN CREEK, TO
    THE WEST, STANDS QUEENSBORO
    FURNACE, BUILT ABOUT 1770,
    DISMANTLED BY BRITISH ARMY,
    OCTOBER 7, 1777
    Location: ON PERKINS MEMORIAL DR. IN BEAR MOUNTAIN STATE PARK

County: ORANGE
Town: MINISINK, TOWN OF

  • FIRST PRESBYTERIAN
    CHURCH, WESTTOWN, N.Y.
    ORGANIZED MAR. 10, 1803.
    CHURCH ERECTED 1806, OPENED
    NOV. 30, 1807, REBUILT 1838
    REV. THOMAS GRIER FIRST PASTOR
    Location: ON NYS 84 AT WESTTOWN

  • KIMBER FORT
    AND MILL. GEORGE KIMBER, WIFE
    SARAH WESTFALL BOUGHT LAND
    1759. EARLY NEIGHBORS JAMES
    CLARK AND WIFE SARAH VAN
    AUKEN LIVED MILE WEST
    Location: ON NYS 84 AT UNIONVILLE

  • MASONIC LODGE
    SITE OF LODGE ROOM, "OLIVE
    BRANCH" LODGE, CONSTITUTED
    1803. MEETINGS HELD HERE
    IN 1811. LAST MEETING
    DEC. 3, 1822.
    Location: ON NYS 84 AT WESTTOWN

  • ORANGE COUNTY
    ONE OF ORIGINAL COUNTIES
    OF PROVINCE OF NEW YORK,
    ESTABLISHED 1683, BY GOV.
    THOMAS DONGAN, NAMED FOR
    WILLIAM, PRINCE OF ORANGE
    Location: ON NYS 84 AT NEW JERSEY-NEW YORK STATE LINE

  • PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH
    IN UNIONVILLE, N. Y. FIRST
    ORGANIZED BY REV. THOMAS
    GREIR MAR. 20, 1803. CHURCH
    BUILT 1825 REMODELED AND
    ENLARGED AFTER 1850
    Location: ON NYS 84 AT UNIONVILLE

County: ORANGE
Town: MONROE, TOWN OF

  • IRON MINE OPENED BEFORE
    THE REVOLUTIONARY WAR; NOW
    A MILE DEEP, SUPPLIED ORE
    FOR THE QUEENSBORO
    FURNACE BEFORE 1777

  • ROAD TO SMITH'S CLOVE
    DURING THE REVOLUTION THIS
    ROAD WAS USED BY TROOPS
    FROM THE CAMP IN SMITH'S
    CLOVE (NOW WOODBURY) TO
    FOREST OF DEAN AND WEST POINT

County: ORANGE
Town: MONTGOMERY, TOWN OF

  • HOME OF
    JOHN NICHOLSON
    1743-1811
    WHO HELD MANY PUBLIC OFFICES
    AND SERVED AS A COLONEL IN
    THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION
    Location: ON NYS 208 AT MAYBROOK

County: ORANGE
Town: NEW WINDSOR, TOWN OF

  • BREWSTER HOUSE
    BUILT 1768, BY DEACON SAMUEL
    BREWSTER, FOR HIS SON TIMOTHY.
    QUARTERS OF CHAPLAIN JOEL
    BARLOW OF AMERICAN ARMY
    CAMPED NEAR, 1782-83
    Location: ON TEMPLE HILL RD. ABOUT 2 MIS. NORTH OF VAILS GATE

  • CAMPS OF 1782-83
    NEWBURGH AND NEW WINDSOR
    WERE OCCUPIED BY TROOPS
    UNDER WASHINGTON, WAITING
    FOR THE END OF THE WAR
    OF AMERICAN REVOLUTION
    Location: ON NYS 32 ABOUT 1 MILE SOUTH OF NEWBURGH

  • CAMPS OF 1782-83
    NEWBURGH AND NEW WINDSOR
    WERE OCCUPIED BY TROOPS
    UNDER WASHINGTON, WAITING
    FOR THE END OF THE WAR
    OF AMERICAN REVOLUTION
    Location: ON TEMPLE HILL RD. ABOUT 1 MI. NORTH OF VAILS GATE

  • CAMPS OF 1782-83
    NEWBURGH AND NEW WINDSOR
    WERE OCCUPIED BY TROOPS
    UNDER WASHINGTON, WAITING
    FOR THE END OF THE WAR
    OF AMERICAN REVOLUTION
    Location: ON TEMPLE HILL RD., ABOUT 2 MIS. NORTH OF VAILS GATE

  • CLINTON FARM
    GOVERNOR GEROGE CLINTON,
    COMMANDER OF MILITIA IN
    NEW YORK IN REVOLUTION
    OWNED A FARM HERE
    ABOUT 1770-1780
    Location: ON SO WATER ST. SBOUT 1/2 MI. SOUTH OF NEWBURGH

  • EDMONSTON HOUSE
    BUILT 1735. USED WHEN
    ARMY CAMPED TO NORTH,
    1782-83, BY GENERALS
    ST. CLAIR AND GATES AND
    AS MEDICAL HEADQUARTERS
    Location: ON NYS 94 ABOUT 1/2 MILE WEST OF VAILS GATE

  • FALLS HOUSE SITE
    HERE, OCT. 1777, GEN. GEORGE
    CLINTON RALLIED TROOPS AFTER
    FALL OF FORTS CLINTON AND
    MONTGOMERY, TO DEFEND
    HUDSON VALLEY FROM BRITISH
    Location: ON NYS 207 ABOUT 2 1/2 MILES EAST OF LITTLE BRITAIN

  • FORGE HILL ROAD
    NAMED FOR BREWSTER FORGE
    OF REVOLUTIONARY PERIOD.
    SOLDIERS, MARCHING TO
    NEW WINDSOR CAMP, 1782
    PASSED OVER THIS ROAD
    Location: ON US 9W ABOUT 2 1/2 MIS. SO. OF NEWBURGH

  • HIGBY HOUSE
    HOME OF DR. MOSES HIGBY, WHO
    REMOVED FROM DANIEL TAYLOR,
    BRITISH SPY, A SILVER BULLET
    WITH MESSAGE FROM SIR
    HENRY CLINTON TO BURGOYNE
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF UNION & CEDAR STS. AT NEW WINDSOR

  • MURDERER'S CREEK
    OLD NAME OF STREAM, GIVEN
    BECAUSE OF SLAYING OF A
    SETTLER NAMED STACY AND
    HIS FAMILY, BY INDIANS IN
    THE UPRISING OF 1650
    Location: ON US 9W ABOUT 2 1/2 MIS. SO. OF NEWBURGH

  • TEMPLE HILL
    AT THE MONUMENT, IN 1782-83
    STOOD THE TEMPLE, A LARGE
    WOODEN BUILDING ERECTED BY
    SOLDIERS OF THE AMERICAN
    ARMY, FOR PUBLIC MEETINGS
    Location: AT TEMPLE HILL MONUMENT ABOUT 2 MIS. N. VAILS GATE

  • TEMPLE HILL
    IN THE BUILDING THAT STOOD
    HERE, IN 1783, WASHINGTON BY
    A STRRING APPEAL, PREVENTED
    MUTINY BY THE TROOPS, OVER
    HARDSHIPS AND LACK OF PAY
    Location: AT TEMPLE HILL MONUMENT ABOUT 2 MIS. N. VAILS GATE

  • [ARROW]
    TEMPLE HILL
    TWO MILES NORTH, MEETING
    PLACE OF AMERICAN ARMY, 1782-
    83, WHERE WASHINGTON, BY A
    FERVENT ADDRESS, AVERTED A
    MUTINY DUE TO DISCONTENT
    Location: ON NYS 32 AT VAILS GATE

  • [ARROW]
    AMERICAN CAMPS
    HERE IN 1782-83 WERE THE
    HUTS OF THE SOLDIERS OF THE
    SECOND MASSACHUSETTS BRIGADE
    OF WASHINGTON'S ARMY,
    AWAITING PEACE WITH ENGLAND
    Location: ON NYS 94 AT VAILS GATE

  • [ARROW]
    MACHIN'S BATTERY
    OF TWELVE GUNS, WAS PLACED
    ON THE SOUTH END OF PLUM
    POINT, TO SUPPORT THE
    CHEVEAUX-DE-FRIZE TO
    POLOPEL'S ISLAND, 1777
    Location: ON US 9W ABOUT 2 MIS. SOUTH OF NEWBURGH

  • [ARROW]
    3/4 MILE WEST
    BREWSTER'S FORGE
    WHERE PART OF IRON CHAIN
    WAS FORGED WHICH STRECHED
    ACROSS HUDSON RIVER AT WEST
    POINT, DURING REVOLUTION
    Location: ON US 9W & FORGE HILL RD. ABOUT 2 1/2 MIS. SO. NEWBURGH

County: ORANGE
Town: NEW WINSOR, TOWN OF

  • OLD BURIAL GROUND
    HEADQUARTERS TRACT
    VETERANS
    MEMORIAL GROVE
    ASSOCIATION

  • WASHINGTON'S ARMY
    NEW YORK, NEW HAMPSHIRE
    AND NEW JERSEY TROOPS
    QUARTERED 2500 FEET N.E.
    IN HUTS ON WEST BANK OF
    SILVER STREAM 1782-83

  • WASHINGTON'S ARMY
    NEW YORK, NEW HAMPSHIRE AND NEW JERSEY
    TROOPS WERE QUARTERED IN HUTS 2000
    FEET N.E. ALONG SILVER STREAM
    1782-83

County: ORANGE
Town: NEWBURGH, TOWN OF

  • NEWBURGH
    SETTLED 1709, BY EXILES FROM
    RHINE PALATINATE, OUSTED BY
    FRENCH, GRANTED LAND HERE
    BY QUEEN ANNE; LED BY PASTOR,
    JOSHUA DE KOCKERTHAL
    Location: ON NYS 32 AT W. END NEWBURGH

  • NEWBURGH
    SETTLED 1709, BY EXILES FROM
    RHINE PALATINATE, OUSTED BY
    FRENCH, GRANTED LAND HERE
    BY QUEEN ANNE; LED BY PASTOR,
    JOSHUA DE KOCKERTHAL
    Location: ON US 9W AT SO. END CITY

  • ORANGE COUNTY
    ONE OF ORIGINAL COUNTIES
    OF PROVINCE OF NEW YORK
    ESTABLISHED 1683, BY GOV.
    THOMAS DONGAN, NAMED FOR
    WILLIAM, PRINCE OF ORANGE
    Location: ON US 9W AT ULSTER-ORANGE COUNTY LINE

County: ORANGE
Town: PORT JERVIS, CITY OF

  • COLE'S FORT
    BUILT 1755, IN FRENCH AND
    INDIAN WAR, BY NEW JERSEY
    WHICH CLAIMED THIS SECTION.
    HOME OF WILHELMUS COLE, WHO
    SETTLED HERE ABOUT 1730
    Location: AT INTERSECTION E. MAIN ST. & JERSEY AVE.

  • DECKER FORT
    HOME OF MARTINUS DECKER
    BURNED BY BRANT'S RAIDERS,
    JULY 20, 1779. REBUILT
    1793. HEADQUARTERS OF
    JOHN B. JERVIS, 1826-28
    Location: AT INTERSECTION PARK AVE. AND MAIN ST.

  • FIRST MILL
    BEFORE 1713, A GRIST MILL
    WAS BUILT WHERE THIS ROAD
    CROSSES THE BROOK, BY
    STEPHEN TIETSOORT, SON OF
    WILLIAM, FIRST SETTLER
    Location: AT INTERSECTION KINGSTON AVE. & BEACH RD.

  • INDIAN RAID
    MAGHAGHAKMIK CHURCH, BUILT
    1743 ON THIS SITE, WAS
    BURNED IN RAID BY JOSEPH
    BRANT'S MOHAWKS AND TORIES,
    JULY 20, 1779
    Location: AT INTERSECTION MAIN ST. & JERSEY AVE.

  • INDIAN RAID
    TAVERN AND HOME OF PETER
    KUYKENDALL, JUSTICE OF
    THE PEACE, 1731-1743;
    BURNED BY BRANT'S RAIDERS,
    JULY 20, 1779
    Location: AT INTERSECTION ELIZABETH AND BROOME STS.

  • INDIAN RAID
    HOUSE AND BARN OF SIMON
    WESTFALL ON THIS SITE,
    BURNED BY BRANT'S MOHAWKS
    AND TORIES, JULY 20, 1776
    Location: ON SOUTH MAPLE ST.

  • INDIAN RAID
    ROUTE TAKEN BY COL. BRANT
    WITH CAPTIVES AND CATTLE
    TAKEN IN THE SACK OF
    MINISINK (PORT JERVIS)
    JULY 20, 1779
    Location: ON ERIE ST. WEST OF PORT JERVIS CITY LINE

  • OLD MINE ROAD
    OLDEST 100-MILE ROAD IN
    AMERICAN. BUILT BY DUTCH
    MINERS BEFORE 1664 FROM
    KINGSTON TO COPPER MINES
    NEAR DELAWARE WATER GAP
    Location: ON US 6 ON E. MAIN ST. IN PORT JERVIS IN FRONT OF HIGH SCHOOL

  • PORT JERVIS
    NAMED FOR JOHN B. JERVIS,
    ENGINEER, WHO BUILT D. AND H.
    CANAL. WAS CALLED
    MAHACKEMECK BY INDIANS.
    FIRST SETTLER, 1690.
    Location: ON ORANGE ST. BETWEEN SOUTH AND BROOME STS.

County: ORANGE
Town: TUXEDO, TOWN OF

  • AN IRON FURNACE
    & OTHER WORKS WERE BUILT
    AT THIS PLACE IN 1767 BY
    PETER HASSENCLEVER
    GERMAN PROMOTER, TO REDUCE
    ORES FROM NEARBY MINES
    Location: ON PARK RD. SOUTHEAST OF LAKE TIORATI

  • AUGUSTA FURNACE
    BUILT ABOUT 1783 BY PETER
    TOWNSEND, FORMERLY STOOD
    AT THE FOOT OF THE FALLS
    ON THE RAMAPO RIVER,
    TO THE EAST
    Location: ON NYS 17 AT TUXEDO PARK

  • BRADLEY MINE
    ABOVE THIS ROAD WAS ONE
    OF THE LARGEST AND RICHEST
    IRON MINES IN THE HUDSON
    HIGHLANDS. CEASED
    OPERATIONS 60 YEARS AGO
    Location: ON ARDEN VALLEY RD. NEAR LAKE CAHASSET

  • CLAUDIUS SMITH
    NORTORIOUS GUERILLA OF THE
    REVOLUTIONARY WAR PERIOD,
    MADE HIS DEN AND HID
    HIS SPOILS IN THE
    HILLS TO THE EASTWARD
    Location: ON NYS 17 AT TUXEDO PARK

  • ORANGE COUNTY
    ONE OF ORIGINAL COUNTIES
    OF PROVINCE OF NEW YORK,
    ESTABLISHED 1683, BY GOV.
    THOMAS DONGAN, NAMED FOR
    WILLIAM, PRINCE OF ORANGE
    Location: ON NYS 17 AT ROCKLAND-ORANGE COUNTY LINE

County: ORANGE
Town: WALLKILL, TOWN OF

  • HOPEWELL
    PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH BUILT
    1778, 1 1/2 MILE WEST AT OLD
    HOPEWELL; FIRST PASTOR REV.
    JONATHAN FREEMAN, 1793-98.
    PRESENT CHURCH BUILT 1831.
    Location: ON NYS 84 AT MICHIGAN CORNERS

  • MAPES CEMETERY
    BURIALS FROM 1804 INCLUDING
    SAMUEL MAPES, 1735-1820,
    SOLDIER OF REVOLUTION,
    SIGNER OF PLEDGE TO SUSTAIN
    CONTINENTAL CONGRESS
    Location: ON NYS 211 AT HOWELLS

  • MAPES TRACT
    664 ACRES MINISINK PATENT
    ACQUIRED JULY 8, 1776 AND
    CLEARED FROM WILDERNESS BY
    SAMUEL MAPES, 1735-1820,
    REVOLUTIONARY MILITIAMAN
    Location: ON NYS 211 AT HOWELLS

  • [ARROW]
    ONE MILE NORTHWEST
    FIRST PRESBYTERIAN
    CHURCH, SCOTCHTOWN, N.Y.
    ORGANIZED JUNE 1796, BUILDING
    OPENED SEPT. 12, 1797.
    PRESENT EDIFICE BUILT 1854
    Location: ON NYS 84 ABOUT 4 MI. EAST OF MIDDLETOWN

  • [ARROW]
    ONE MILE NORTHWEST
    FIRST PRESBYTERIAN
    CHURCH, SCOTCHTOWN, N.Y.
    ORGANIZED JUNE 1796, BUILDING
    OPENED SEPT. 12, 1797.
    PRESENT EDIFICE BUILT 1854.
    Location: ON NYS 84 ABOUT 4 MIS. EAST OF MIDDLESTOWN

County: ORANGE
Town: WARWICK, TOWN OF

  • AT THIS POINT STOOD A
    TOLL GATE
    ESTABLISHED 1808 ON THE
    NEW ROAD TO STERLING
    A SHORT-CUT TO NORTHERN
    NEW JERSEY & NEW YORK CITY
    Location: ON OAKLAND AVE. NEAR LEHIGH & HUDSON R. RR AT WARWICK

  • CAMP SITE
    USED BY TROOPS ON WAY TO
    JOIN GENERAL SULLIVAN AT
    EASTON IN SPRING OF 1779
    AND ON RETURN IN FALL
    OF THAT YEAR
    Location: ON FOSTER AVE. AT EAST END OF VLGE. OF WARAICK

  • CHUCKHASS
    SIGNED INDIAN DEED 1703
    TO WAWAYANDA PATENT LANDS
    LIVED 1/2 MILE SOUTH ON
    BENJ. ASKE'S FARM NAMED
    WARWICK BY OWNER IN 1719
    Location: ON NYS 17A AT EAST END OF VLGE. OF WARWICK

  • HATHORN HOUSE
    BUILT 1773 BY
    GENERAL JOHN HATHORN
    COMMANDER, WARWICK MILITIA
    DURING REVOLUTION
    Location: ON NYS 94 ABOUT 1/2 MI. SOUTH OF WARWICK

  • KINGS HIGHWAY
    SINCE 1734 - HERE
    DANIEL MORGAN RESTED HIS
    VIRGINIA RIFLEMEN AND
    GAVE EXHIBITION OF
    THEIR MARKSMANSHIP, 1775
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1 MI. NORTHEAST OF WARWICK

  • SAYERVILLE
    LOG BLOCKHOUSES STOOD HERE
    HOME OF DANIEL SAYER 1768
    UNTIL HIS STONE HOUSE WAS
    BUILT 1783. SAYER HOMESTEAD
    FOR FIVE GENERATIONS.
    Location: ON N. SIDE OF 17A, 1 MI. EAST VLGE. OF WARWICK

  • SETTLERS
    FIRST IN TOWN OF WARWICK
    JOHANNES & ELIZ. WISNER
    UNDER WAWAYANDA PAT. 1702
    SETTLED HERE 1712
    Location: ON TN. RD. ABOUT 2 1/2 MIS. SOUTHWEST OF FLORIDA

  • THE CONTINENTAL ARMY
    CAMPED HERE
    ON THE MARCH FROM
    NEWBURGH TO MORRISTOWN
    Location: ON NYS 94 ABOUT 2 MIS. S.W. VLGE. WARWICK

  • WILLIAM H. SEWARD
    1801-1872
    WAS BORN ON THIS SITE
    IN HOUSE NOW USED AS
    A BARN IN THE REAR
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF NYS 17A AND NYS 94 AT FLORIDA

  • WISNER TRACT
    CAPT. JOHN WISNER, 1722-78
    COLONIAL WARS & REVOLUTION
    PURCHASED 2064 ACRES IN 1766
    HOUSE BUILT BY GREAT-GRANDSON
    HENRY B. WISNER, 1840
    Location: ON GROUNDS OF N.Y.S. TRAINING SCHOOL FOR BOYS ABOUT 2 1/2 MIS. NORTHEAST OF WARWICK

  • [ARROW]
    1/4 MILE NORTH
    TO SITES OF
    COLONIAL FORGE
    AND INDIAN
    LONG HOUSE
    Location: ON NYS 17A AT BELLVALE

County: ORANGE
Town: WAWAYANDA, TOWN OF

  • OLD SCHOOL BAPTIST
    MEETING HOUSE
    ERECTED IN 1792 IN
    BROOKFIELD, NOW SLATE
    HILL. ELDER LABEAS
    LATHROP WAS FIRST PASTOR
    Location: ON US 6 AT SLATE HILL

  • ONE MILE [ARROW]
    FRIST PRESYTERIAN
    CHURCH, RIDGEBURY, N.Y.
    ORGANIZED IN 1792 BY THE
    REV. ISAAC SARGENT. PRESENT
    BUILDING ERECTED 1841
    Location: ON NYS 84 ABOUT 1/2 MILE NORTHWEST OF SLATE HILL

County: ORANGE
Town: WOODBURY, TOWN OF

  • CAMP SITE
    AT VAN AMBROSE'S HOUSE IN
    THE CLOVE, OCCUPIED BY PART
    OF THE RIGHT WING OF THE
    AMERICAN ARMY IN THE
    SUMMER OF 1779
    Location: ON NYS 32 ABOUT 1/2 MILE NORTH OF CENTRAL VALLEY

County: ORLEANS
Town: ALBION, TOWN OF

  • HOME OF
    SANFORD E. CHURCH
    1815-1880
    LIEUT. GOV. 1850-52
    COMPTROLLER OF STATE 1857
    CHIEF JUDGE CT. OF APPEALS 1867-80
    Location: AT INGERSOLL & E. STATE STS. IN ALBION

County: ORLEANS
Town: BARRE, TOWN OF

  • BRAGGS CORNERS
    SOLOMON BRAGG WITH SON NATHAN
    WERE FIRST SETTLERS WEST OF
    BARRE CENTER. BLAZED FOREST
    TRAIL TO THIS PLACE WHERE
    THEY BUILT A CABIN IN 1818
    Location: ON NYS 279 ABOUT 2 MIS. S.W. OF BARRE CENTER

  • ELISHA WRIGHT
    EARLY PIONEER OF BARRE
    BUILT THIS HOUSE IN 1831
    FOUNDER OF WEST BARRE M.E.
    CHURCH, 1833. ASSEMBLYMAN, 1843
    SUPERVISOR 1844. B.1791 - D.1875
    Location: ON CO. RD. 1/2 MI. S. OF W. BARRE

  • INDIAN TRAIL
    BRANCH OF GRAND CENTRAL
    TRAIL EXTENDING FROM
    BATAVIA TO LAKE ONTARIO
    KNOWN BY PIONEERS AS
    THE OAK ORCHARD TRAIL
    Location: ON NYS 98 IN BARRE CENTER

County: ORLEANS
Town: CARLTON, TOWN OF

  • ANCIENT MOUND
    BUILT BY THE ALGONKIAN
    INDIANS OF THE SECOND
    PERIOD OR POLISHED STONE
    AGE, EXCAVATED IN 1932-33
    BY CHARLES WYMAN PALMER
    Location: ON BANK OF OAK ORCHARD CREEK ABOUT 2 MIS. N.E. OF WATERPORT

  • FORDING PLACE
    USED FIRST BY INDIANS
    LATER BY EARLY PIONEERS
    THE OAK ORCHARD TRAIL
    FROM BATAVIA TO ONTARIO
    CROSSED THE CREEK HERE
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 2 MIS. N.E. OF WATERPORT

County: ORLEANS
Town: CLAREDON, TOWN OF

  • FARWELL'S MILLS
    HERE ELDRED FARWELL, FIRST
    WHITE SETTLER OF TOWN, BUILT
    THE FIRST MILLS IN CLARENDON
    SAW MILL IN 1811
    GRIST MILL IN 1813
    Location: ON NYS 237 IN CLARENDON

County: ORLEANS
Town: GAINES, TOWN OF

  • BURIAL GROUND
    1ST IN ORLEANS COUNTY IN
    WHICH REVOLUTIONARY SOLDIERS
    JOHN ANDERSON-DAVID BULLARD
    AND MANY PIONEERS ARE BURIED
    FIRST BURIAL IN 1812
    Location: ON US 104 IN GAINES

  • FIRST ACADEMY
    BETWEEN THE NIAGARA AND
    GENESEE. BUILT IN 1825
    INCORPORATED IN 1827
    ADMITTED TO THE REGENTS OF
    STATE OF N.Y. IN 1830
    Location: ON US 104 IN GAINES

  • FIRST CHURCH
    BUILT FOR PUBLIC WORSHIP
    ON RIDGE ROAD BETWEEN
    NIAGARA AND GENESEE RIVERS
    NORTH OF BATAVIA
    ERECTED IN 1824
    Location: ON US 104 IN GAINES

  • FIVE MILE HOUSE
    LATER KNOWN AS BALL'S TAVERN
    BUILT IN 1816 BY JOHN HUFF
    HERE THE MAIL CARRIERS BETWEEN
    CANANDAIGUA AND LEWISTON
    USED TO STOP OVER NIGHT
    Location: ON US 104 ABOUT 1 MI. E. OF EAST GAINS

County: ORLEANS
Town: KENDALL, TOWN OF

  • FIRST SETTLERS
    CLARK'S SETTLEMENT
    MADE BY FOLLOWING FAMILIES
    CLARK, BATES, PRIEST, RANDALL,
    BALCOM, ROSS, MANLEY IN
    THIS VICINITY IN 1812-1817
    Location: ON NYS 272 IN MORTON

  • NORWAY ROAD
    FIRST NORWEGIAN SETTLEMENT
    IN NEW YORK STATE - 1838
    MADE BY OLE ORSLAND AND
    ABOUT 20 OTHER PERSONS WHOSE
    PASSAGE WAS PAID BY HIM
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 3 MIS. N.E. OF KENDALL

County: ORLEANS
Town: MURRAY, TOWN OF

  • BALCOM'S MILLS
    SITE OF FLOUR AND GRIST
    MILL ERECTED 1834 BY
    HIEL BROCKWAY AND ABNER
    BALCOM. SAW MILL ON NORTH
    END OF DAM ERECTED 1837
    Location: ON NYS 387 ABOUT 1 1/2 MIS. NORTH OF FANCHER

  • FOUNDER OF HULBERTON
    IN 1826 BOUGHT 130 ACRES
    LAND WHICH HE LAID OUT IN
    LOTS (1833) IN 1830, HE GAVE TO
    M.E. SOCIETY THIS PROPERTY
    Location: ON CO. RD. IN HULBERTON

County: ORLEANS
Town: RIDGEWAY, TOWN OF

  • 1ST RELIGIOUS SOCIETY
    TOWN OF RIDGEWAY
    ORGANIZED AUGUST, 1817
    RECIPIENT OF GOSPEL LOT
    FROM HOLLAND LAND COMPANY
    FIRST CHURCH DEDICATED 1832
    Location: ON PRESBYTERIAN ST. IN KNOWLESVILLE

County: ORLEANS
Town: SHELBY, TOWN OF

  • NEUTER FORT
    OCCUPIED IN 14TH CENTURY
    BY NEUTER INDIANS
    ONLY DOUBLE PALISADED FORT
    IN NEW YORK STATE
    DESTROYED BY IROQUOIS 1650
    Location: AT SITE OF FORT ABOUT 1 1/2 MIS. WEST OF SHELBY

  • NEUTER TRAIL
    USED BY NEUTER INDIANS
    WHO OCCUPIED FORT
    ONE MILE WEST OF HERE
    PROBABLY IN 14TH CENTURY
    WERE DESTROYED BY SENECAS
    Location: ON NYS 63 IN SHELBY

County: OSWEGO
Town: CONSTANTIA, TOWN OF

  • FIRST SETLER
    NEAR THIS SPOT
    CHRISTOPHER MARTIN
    MADE FIRST SETTLEMENT
    IN CLEVELAND
    1821
    Location: ON NYS 49 AT CLEVELAND

  • FIRST SETTLER
    NEAR THIS SPOT
    JOHN BERNHARD
    MADE FIRST SETTLEMENT
    IN BERNHARD'S BAY
    1795
    Location: ON NYS 49 AT BERNHARD'S BAY

  • FRENCHMAN'S
    ISLAND
    CAMP SITE OF VAN SCHAICK'S
    EXPEDITION ON RETURN
    FROM ATTACK ON ONONDAGA
    APRILL 22, 1779
    Location: ON NYS 49 ABOUT 1/2 MILE EAST OF CONSTANTIA

  • KEMPWYK
    HOME OF
    FRANCIS ADRIAN
    VAN DER KAMP
    1793
    Location: ON NYS 49 ABOUT 1 MILE WEST OF CLEVELAND

  • TRINITY
    EPISCOPAL CHURCH
    ERECTED 1831, 24 ACRES
    AND BUILDING DONATED BY
    FREDERICK W. SCRIBA.
    Location: ON NYS 49 AT CONSTANTIA

County: OSWEGO
Town: HASTINGS, TOWN OF

  • FIRST SETTLER
    NEAR THIS SPOT
    MYRON STEVENS
    MADE FIRST SETTLEMENT
    IN CAUGHDENOY
    1797
    Location: ON COUNTY ROAD AT CAUGHDENOY

  • FIRST SETTLER
    NEAR THIS SPOT
    OLIVER STEVENS
    MADE FIRST SETTLEMENT
    IN BREWERTON AND
    OSWEGO COUNTY, 1789
    Location: ON US 11 AT BREWERTON

  • FORT BREWERTON
    ORIGINAL EARTHWORK
    OF FORT ERECTED BY
    BRITISH IN 1759
    Location: ON US 11 AT BREWERTON

  • INDIAN FISHERY
    T'KAH-KOON-GOON-DA-NAH-YEA
    WAS LOCATED
    NEAR THIS SPOT
    1753
    Location: ON COUNTY ROAD AT CAUGHDENOY

  • NEAR THIS SPOT
    SAMUEL DE CHAMPLAIN
    ON OCTOBER 8, 1615
    CROSSED THE RIVER
    AND DISCOVERED
    ONEIDA LAKE
    Location: ON US 11 AT BREWERTON

  • OVER THIS WATER ROUTE
    ST. LEGER'S
    ARMY
    PASSED TO INVEST
    FT. STANWIX
    JULY 29, 1777
    Location: ON US 11 AT BREWERTON

  • [ARROW]
    A FEW RODS SOUTH
    OLIVER STEVENS
    1ST SETTLER IN BREWERTON
    ERECTED A BLOCKHOUSE
    1794
    Location: ON US 11 AT BREWERTON

County: OSWEGO
Town: MEXICO, TOWN OF

  • SILAS TOWNE
    REVOLUTIONARY HERO
    HERE OVERHEARD PLANS OF
    ST. LEGER'S ARMY WHEREBY
    PATRIOTS SAVED FT. STANWIX
    & WON BATTLE OF ORISKANY
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT SHORE OF LAKE ONTARIO ABOUT 4 MILES NORTH OF MEXICO

  • [ARROW]
    SPY ISLAND
    AND THE GRAVE OF
    SILAS TOWNE
    Location: ON COUNTY ROAD ABOUT 3 MILES NORTH OF MEXICO

County: OSWEGO
Town: OSWEGO, CITY OF

  • FIRST
    COURT HOUSE
    ERECTED 1822 ON PRESENT SITE
    REMOVED 1859 AND SINCE USED
    FOR CHURCH PURPOSES
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF E. ONEIDA & E. SECOND STS.

  • HERE WAS THE OLD
    CABLE FERRY
    BY WHICH THE RIVER
    WAS CROSSED 1803
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF W. SENECA & W. FIRST STS.

  • THIS WAS THE
    FIRST BUILDING
    IN OSWEGO TO BE USED
    AS A SCHOOL HOUSE, CHURCH
    AND PUBLIC HALL
    ERECTED ABOUT 1806
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF W. SENECA & W. FIRST STS.

County: OSWEGO
Town: REDFIELD, TOWN OF

  • CAPTAIN
    NATHAN SAGE
    OF CONN. MADE THE
    FIRST SETTLEMENT IN TOWN
    OF REDFIELD NEARBY
    ABOUT 1795
    Location: ON COUNTY ROAD AT REDFIELD

County: OSWEGO
Town: RICHFIELD, TOWN OF

  • SAMUEL DE
    CHAMPLAIN
    WEST OF HERE ON LAKE SHORE
    CAHMPLAIN WITH FRENCH AND
    HURONS LANDED, OCT. 1615 ON
    HIS EXPEDITION AGAINST IROQUOIS
    Location: ON US 11 AT PULASKI

County: OSWEGO
Town: SCHROEPPEL, TOWN OF

  • 1809 STATE ROAD
    LATER PLANK ROAD. PASSED
    THROUGH ROOSEVELT HAMLET,
    FOUNDED BY NICHOLAS J.
    ROOSEVELT
    Location: ON NYS 49 AT ROOSEVELT CORNERS

  • BURIAL PLACE "GEORGE CASPER SCHROEPPEL"
    FOUNDER OF TOWN OF
    SCHROEPPEL, OWNER OF
    TWENTY THOUSAND ACRES,
    DIED 1825.
    Location: ON COUNTY ROAD IN PENNELLVILLE

  • GRIST MILL
    FIRST IN TOWN OF SCHROEPPEL
    BUILT HERE AT GILBERT'S
    MILLS BY ANDRUS AND HIRAM
    GILBERT IN 1819
    Location: ON TOWN ROAD AT GILBERT'S MILLS

  • HINMANVILLE
    LOCK NO. 1
    LOCATED NEAR HERE. LOCK
    TENDER'S HOUSE NEARBY. OLD
    OSWEGO CANAL COMPLETED 1828.
    IMPORTANT WATERWAY TO WEST.
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. AT HINMANVILLE

  • KUH-NA-TA-HA
    INDIAN FISHING VILLAGE 1654
    KNOWN TO THE INDIANS AS
    "PLACE OF TALL PINES"
    DISCOVERED BY FATHER LE MOYNE
    Location: ON NYS 57 AT PHEONIX

  • PENNELL
    SAW MILL
    BUILT HERE BY
    DR. RICHARD PENNELL
    IN 1833
    Location: ON COUNTY ROAD IN PENNELLVILLE

  • SCHROEPPEL
    HOMESTEAD
    FIRST FRAME HOUSE BUILT
    IN SCHROEPPEL TOWN 1818 BY
    GEORGE CASPER SCHROEPPEL
    Location: ON TOWN RD. AT SCHROEPPEL'S BRIDGE

  • SITE OF
    FIRST LOG CABIN
    ABRAM PADDOCK KNOWN TO
    INDIANS AS "BEAR HUNTER
    PADDOCK", FIRST WHITE
    SETTLER IN SCHROEPPEL,
    BUILT HIS CABIN HERE 1801
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF STATE & CULVERT STS. AT PHOENIX

  • SITE OF
    STOCKADED FORT
    1758-1759
    ABOUT 60 FEET SQUARE
    CONTAINING 3 STOREHOUSES
    BUILT BY COLONY OF N. Y.
    Location: ON NYS 57 AT THREE RIVERS

  • SITE OF
    BRITISH CAMP
    SIR JEFFERY AMHERST WITH
    TEN THOUSAND TROOPS WAS
    HERE 1760 ENROUTE TO
    CANADA TO CRUSH FRENCH
    POWER IN AMERICA
    Location: ON NYS 57 AT THREE RIVERS

  • SITE OF
    SALT WELL
    WELL SUNK 340 FEET IN 1864
    BY CAPT. E.S. COOK RESULTED
    IN STRONG SALT BRINE. SIX
    KETTLES WERE BUILT INTO AN
    ARCH FOR MANUFACTURING SALT
    Location: ON TOWN ROAD AT GILBERT'S MILLS

  • SITE OF
    TOLL GATE
    PLANK ROAD BUILT 1855
    CONNECTED PHOENIX WITH
    PENNELLVILLE. ROAD FIVE
    MILES IN LENGTH.
    Location: ON NYS 264 ABOUT 1 MILE NORTH OF PHOENIX

  • TOWN MEETING
    FIRST TOWN MEETING IN
    SCHROEPPEL WAS HELD HERE
    AT HOME OF JAMES B.
    RICHARDSON IN 1833
    Location: ON NYS 57 AT PHOENIX

  • TREASURE ISLAND
    FRENCH COLONISTS CAMPED ON
    ISLAND IN ESCAPING FROM ONONDAGA
    INDIANS IN 1658. SAID TO HAVE
    LIGHTENED THEIR WAR CHESTS AND
    DEPOSITED CANNON AND GOLD HERE
    Location: ON NYS 57 AT PHEONIX

County: OSWEGO
Town: SCRIBA, TOWN OF

  • SITE OF THE FIRST
    LOG HOUSE
    IN SCRIBA. BUILT 1804
    BY MAJOR HIEL STONE
    TEMPORARY HOSPITAL FOR
    WOUNDED SOLIDERS 1814
    Location: ON US 104 AT SCRIBA

County: OSWEGO
Town: WILLIAMSTOWN, TOWN OF

  • JEROME I. CASE
    1819-1891
    BORN NEAR HERE
    PIONEER BUILDER OF
    POWER FARM MACHINERY
    Location: ON NYS 13 AT WILLIAMSTOWN

County: OTSEGO
Town: BURLINGTON, TOWN OF

  • FARM AND GRAVE
    JEDIDIAH PECK
    1747-1821
    FATHER OF THE COMMON
    SCHOOL SYSTEM OF THE
    STATE OF NEW YORK
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 2 1/2 MIS. EAST OF BURLINGTON

County: OTSEGO
Town: CHERRY VALLEY, TOWN OF

  • -->
    1/5 MILE SOUTH TO MONUMENT
    MARKING SPOT WHERE
    COLONEL ALDEN
    WAS KILLED
    NOVEMBER 11, 1778
    SITE OF FORT ALDEN
    Location: ON ALDEN ST. NEAR CHERRY VALLEY CEMETERY

  • 1/2 MILE NORTH TO SITE
    FORTIFIED
    HOME
    OF COL. SAMUEL CAMPBELL
    1778
    Location: ON US 20 AT CHERRY VALLEY

  • 2/5 MILES WEST TO SITE OF
    DUNLOP HOME
    DESTROYED AT TIME OF
    CHERRY VALLEY MASSACRE
    NOVEMBER 11, 1778
    Location: ON US 20 AT CHERRY VALLEY

  • CHERRY VALLEY
    MASSACRE 1778
    MONUMENT 1/5 MILE SOUTH
    Location: ON US 20 AT CHERRY VALLEY

  • [ARROW]
    2 MILES NORTH TO
    WORMUTH ROCK
    MARKING SPOT WHERE
    LIEUT. WORMUTH FELL 1778
    SHOT BY JOSEPH BRANT
    FIRST LEFT, THEN RIGHT FORK
    Location: ON US 20 AT CHERRY VALLEY

County: OTSEGO
Town: COOPERSTOWN VILLAGE OF

  • CARDIFF GIANT
    THE GREAT AMERICAN HOAX
    DUG UP IN CARDIFF, NY
    OCTOBER 16, 1869
    NOW AT THE FARMERS' MUSEUM

County: OTSEGO
Town: EXETER, TOWN OF

  • OLD STONE CHURCH
    BUILT 1839-40
    BY GEORGE HERKIMER
    NOW USED AS A
    UNIVERSALIST CHURCH
    Location: ON NYS 28 AT SCHUYLER LAKE

  • SITE OF
    HERKIMER CEMETERY
    HENDRICK HERKIMER, BROTHER
    OF GEN. NICHOLAS HERKIMER,
    HIS SONS, GEORGE AND ABRAHAM,
    WHO SERVED IN AMERICAN
    REVOLUTION, ARE BURIED HERE
    Location: ON NYS 28 AT SCHUYLER LAKE

  • SITE OF_
    HERKIMER FARM
    ORIGINAL HERKIMER HOMESTEAD
    IN EXETER, THEN TRYON CO.
    SETTLED BY HENDRICK HERKIMER
    PRIOR TO REVOLUTION
    Location: ON NYS 28 AT SCHUYLER LAKE

  • TUNNICLIFF-1755
    HOMESTEAD OF JOHN TUNNICLIFF, SR.
    EARLY COLONIZER OF NEW YORK
    ALSO HIS SON, MAJOR JOSEPH
    TUNNICLIFF, SOLDIER IN
    WAR OF 1812
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 3 MILES SOUTH-WEST OF SCHUYLER LAKE

County: OTSEGO
Town: HARTWICK, TOWN OF

  • ABNER ADAMS
    1745-1825
    REVOLUTIONARY SOLDIER;
    ONE OF ISRAEL PUTNAM'S
    RANGERS; IS BURIED
    IN THIS CEMETERY
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 1 1/2 MILES N.E. OF SOUTH HARTWICK

  • BAPTIST CHURCH
    FIRST CHURCH IN
    TOWN OF HARTWICK
    ORGANIZED AUGUST 1795
    WITH 12 CHARTER MEMBERS
    THIS BUILDING BUILT 1854
    Location: ON E. MAIN ST. IN HARTWICK

  • HARTWICK COLLEGE
    FOUNDED AS HARTWICK SEMINARY
    1797
    CHARTERED AS HARTWICK COLLEGE
    FEBRUARY 17, 1928
    Location: ON COLLEGE CAMPUS AT CLINTON & WEST STS.

  • HARTWICK SEMINARY
    OLDEST LUTHERAN
    THEOLOGICAL SCHOOL IN
    AMERICA. FOUNDED 1797
    BY REV. JOHN CHRISTOPHER
    HARTWICK. LOCATED HERE 1816
    Location: ON NYS 28 AT HARTWICK SEMINARY

  • HOME OF
    MARCUS WELLS
    1815-1895
    WROTE WORLD FAMOUS HYMN
    "HOLY SPIRIT, FAITHFUL GUIDE"
    Location: ON NYS 205 AT HARTWICK

  • SOUTH HARTWICK
    CEMETERY 1812
    REV. EBENEZER WHITE, 1770-1813,
    NOTED METHODIST ITINERANT
    MINISTER IS BURIED HERE
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT SOUTH HARTWICK

County: OTSEGO
Town: MORRIS, TOWN OF

  • BUTTERNUT VALLEY
    NAMED FOR THREE BUTTERNUT
    TREES GROWING FROM ONE
    STUMP, THE ORIGINAL CORNER
    OF HILLINGTON, WELLS AND
    OTEGO PATENTS 1170' DUE S.E.
    Location: ON NYS 51 ABOUT 2 MILES NORTHEAST OF MORRIS

County: OTSEGO
Town: OTEGO, TOWN OF

  • REVOLUTIONARY
    ARMY CAMP
    SULLIVAN-CLINTON FORCES
    CAMPED NEAR THIS SPOT
    AUGUST 11, 1779
    Location: ON NYS 7 ABOUT 2 MILES NORTHEAST OF OTEGO

County: OTSEGO
Town: OTSEGO, TOWN OF

  • "NATTY BUMPPO"
    LEATHERSTOCKING RESCUED
    CHINGACHGOOK FROM FLAMES
    CHINGACH DYING IN HIS CARE
    "PIONEER"
    Location: ON CO. RD., E. SIDE OTSEGO LAKE ABOUT 3 MI. N. OF COOPERSTOWN

  • CLINTON'S DAM
    DAM OPENED AUGUST 9, 1779
    2000 MEN AND 200 BATEAUX
    WENT DOWN THE SUSQUEHANNA
    Location: ON LAKE ST. AT COOPERSTOWN

  • COUNCIL ROCK
    FAMOUS MEETING PLACE
    OF THE INDIANS
    Location: ON MAIN ST. AT COOPERSTOWN

  • GEORGE CROGHAN
    INDIAN AGENT - LAND SPECULATOR
    LIVED IN PIONEER LOG HOUSE
    LOCATED HERE 1769-1770.
    GENERAL JAMES CLINTON'S
    HEADQUARTERS HERE 1779.
    Location: ON MAIN ST. AT COOPERSTOWN

  • HUTTERS POINT
    WHERE HETTIE SAVED HER
    FATHER, TOM HUTTER
    AND HURRY HARRY
    FROM THE HURON
    "DEERSLAYER"
    Location: ON NYS 80 ABOUT 4 1/2 MILES NORTH OF COOPERSTOWN

  • OLDEST CHURCH
    IN COOPERSTOWN
    FIRST PRESBYTERIAN
    ORGANIZED JUNE 16, 1805
    LAND GIFT OF JUDGE COOPER
    Location: ON PIONEER ST.

  • SUNKEN ISLAND
    HOME OF TOM HUTTER
    "DEERSLAYER"
    Location: ON NYS 80 ABOUT 5 MILES NORTH OF COOPERSTOWN

County: OTSEGO
Town: OWRCESTER, TOWN OF

  • SITE OF
    FIRST MILL
    IN TOWN OF WORCESTER
    ERECTED BY
    SILAS CRIPPEN
    1790
    Location: ON NYS 7 1 MILE FROM WORCESTER

County: OTSEGO
Town: RICHFIELD, TOWN OF

  • BRIGHTON
    SITE OF 2ND MATCH FACTORY IN
    U.S., EATON AND STANTON OWNERS
    1845-50; 1ST POST OFFICE IN
    TOWN 1807; IVORY HOLLAND,
    1ST POST MASTER
    Location: ON US 20 AT BIRGHTON CORNERS

  • BUTTERNUT ROAD
    INDIAN TRAIL FROM FORT
    PLAIN TO UNADILLA; ON
    MAP BY BRITISH OFFICER,
    1757, DURING FRENCH
    AND INDIAN WAR
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 1/2 MILE EAST OF RICHFIELD SPRINGS

  • FEDERAL CORNERS
    FORMER HOME OF LEMUEL
    VIBBER, OWNER OF TWELVE-
    FORGE BLACKSMITH SHOP.
    HOUSE ERECTED 1798
    Location: ON TN. RD. ABOUT 1 MILE SOUTHEAST OF RICHFIELD SPRINGS

  • FEDERAL CORNERS.
    ONCE A BUSY HAMLET, SITE OF
    AVERILL INN, VIBBER'S TWELVE-
    FORGE SHOP, STORE, TANNERY. HOME,
    SCHOOL OF DR. JAS. L. PALMER
    PHYSICIAN AND TEACHER
    Location: ON TN. RD. ABOUT 1 MILE SOUTHEAST OF RICHFIELD SPRINGS

  • FRENCH WAR-1757
    HERE ENGLISH TROOPS
    GUIDED BY INDIANS
    SOUGHT SULPHUR DEPOSIT
    SITE GREAT SULPHUR SPRING
    OPENED TO PUBLIC 1820
    Location: ON US 20 AT RICHFIELD SPRINGS

  • MONTICELLO
    SITE OF BAPTIST CHURCH
    BUILT 1824, RAZED 1920,
    NEARLY OPPPOSITE SITE OF
    UNIVERSALIST CHURCH
    BUILT 1880, RAZED 1921
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT RICHFIELD

  • PRESBTERIAN CHURCH
    ORGANIZED IN 1803.
    FIRST VILLAGE CHURCH
    BUILT AT THIS SITE 1825.
    NATHAN DOW GAVE THE LAND
    PRESENT CHURCH BUILT 1877.
    Location: RICHFIELD SPRINGS, HIGHWAY 167 IN FRONT OF CHURCH

  • RICHFIELD HOTEL
    OLDEST TAVERN IN RICHFIELD; BUILT
    BY NATHAN DOW IN 1816, WHO WAS
    WITH ETHAN ALLEN AT TICONDEROGA.
    FIRST SUMMER GUESTS, 1821, WHEN
    BOARD WAS $1.25 PER WEEK
    Location: ON US 20 AT RICHFIELD SPRINGS

  • SITE OF
    BEARDSLEY HOME
    BUILT 1790 IN FOREST BY
    OBADIAH BEARDSLEY AND FAMILY
    FIRST SETTLERS IN RICHFIELD.
    ST. LUKE'S CHURCH, A LIBRARY AND
    SCHOOL WERE FOUNDED SOON AFTER
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1/2 MILE NORWEST OF RICHFIELD

  • SITE OF
    TUNNIFCLIFF ABBEY
    TAVERN BUILT 1800
    BY WILLIAM TUNNICLIFF
    REVOLUTIONARY SOLDIER
    Location: ON US 20 AT RICHFIELD SPRINGS

  • ST. LUKE'S
    EPISCOPAL CHURCH
    ORGANIZED MAY 20, 1799
    FATHER NASH, FIRST RECTOR
    NOTED MISSIONARY, MENTIONED
    IN COOPER'S "THE PIONEERS"
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. AT RICHFIELD

  • TUNNICLIFF MILL
    BUILT 1791 BY JEDIAH PECK, WHO
    "WOULD SURVEY YOUR FARM
    IN THE FORENOON, PREACH A
    FUNERAL SERMON IN AFTERNOON
    AND TALK POLITICS
    ALL THE WEEK"
    Location: ON US 20 AT RICHFIELD SPRINGS

County: OTSEGO
Town: SPRINGFIELD, TOWN OF

  • CONTINENTAL SCHOOL
    LOG SCHOOLHOUSE
    ON THIS SITE IN 1797
    FIRST SUNDAY SCHOOL IN
    TOWN ORGANIZED HERE 1819
    Location: ON TOWN RD. 2 MILES SOUTH OF MIDDLE SPRINGFIELD

  • FIRST CHURCH
    IN SPRINGFIELD, AND FIRST
    BAPTIST CHURCH WEST OF
    HUDSON VALLEY 1787. USED
    BY ALL DENOMINATIONS AND
    FOR TOWN MEETINGS
    Location: ON US 20 AT MIDDLE SPRINGFIELD

  • NEAR HERE STOOD THE
    LOG SCHOOL
    HOUSE, PROBABLY FIRST IN
    THE TOWN. BUILT BEFORE
    ORGANIZATION OF SPRING-
    FIELD IN 1797
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1/2 MILE NORTH OF E. SPRINGFIELD

  • ONE OF THE EARLY
    TOLL GATES
    ON THE THIRD DIVISION
    OF THE WESTERN TURNPIKE
    COMPLETED IN 1808
    Location: ON US 20 AT EAST SPRINGFIELD

  • SPALSBERRY
    CENTER
    AN EARLY SETTLEMENT HERE
    BURNED BY INDIANS UNDER
    JOSEPH BRANT
    JUNE 18, 1778
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 1 1/2 MILES NORTH OF EAST SPRINGFIELD

  • [ARROW]
    CLINTON CAMP
    OCCUPIED BY 4TH PENNSYLVANIA
    REGIMENT WHO SERVED AS GUARD
    FOR SUPPLY WAGONS
    1779
    Location: ON US 20 AT MIDDLE SPRINGFIELD

  • [ARROW].
    CAMP AND FORT
    AT HYDE BAY, OTSEGO LAKE
    1 1/2 MILES SOUTH, OCCUPIED
    BY 4TH MASSACHUSETTS REGIMENT
    1779
    Location: ON US 20 AT MIDDLE SPRINGFIELD

County: OTSEGO
Town: WORCESTER, TOWN OF

  • FIRST CHURCH
    IN VILLAGE OF WORCESTER
    ORGANIZED 1792 AS
    CONGREGATIONAL
    BECAME PRESBYTERIAN 1917
    PRESENT EDIFICE ERECTED 1892
    Location: ON NYS 7 AT WORCESTER

  • GARFIELD FARM
    SITE OF HOME OF SOLOMON
    GARFIELD AND SON THOMAS.
    ABRAM GARFIELD, FATHER OF
    PRESIDENT JAMES A. GARFIELD
    LIVED HERE PRIOR TO 1827
    Location: ON NYS 7 AT WORCESTER

  • MURPHY HOME
    TIMOTHY MURPHY, FAMOUS
    REVOLUTIONARY SOLDIER,
    LIVED ON THIS FARM
    1812-1817
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1 MILE WEST OF SO. WORCESTER

County: PUTNAM
Town: CARMEL, TOWN OF

  • ENOCH CROSBY
    PATRIOT SPY OF THE AMERICAN
    REVOLUTION. WAS ASSOCIATED
    WITH CARMEL. HIS FARM WAS
    NEARBY AND HE IS BURIED AT
    GILEAD, ONE MILE FROM HERE
    Location: ON NYS 52 AT CARMEL

  • RED MILLS
    SITE OF GRIST AND CARDING
    MILL, ORIGINAL BUILT ABOUT
    1760 BY COL ROGER MORRIS.
    IT GROUND GRAIN FOR THE
    REVOLUTIONARY SOLDIERS
    Location: ON NYS 6N AT MAHOPAC FALLS

  • SIBYL LUDINGTON
    RODE HORSEBACK OVER THIS
    ROAD THE NIGHT OF APRIL 26,
    1777, TO CALL OUT COLONEL
    LUDINGTON'S REGIMENT TO
    REPEL BRITISH AT DANBURY, CONN.
    Location: ON NYS 6N AT MAHOPAC FALLS

  • SIBYL LUDINGTON
    RODE HORSEBACK OVER THIS
    ROAD THE NIGHT OF APRIL 26,
    1777, TO CALL OUT COLONEL
    LUDINGTON'S REGIMENT TO
    REPEL BRITISH AT DANBURY, CONN.
    Location: ON NYS 6N AT MAHOPAC FALLS

  • SIBYL LUDINGTON
    RODE HORSEBACK OVER THIS
    ROAD THE NIGHT OF APRIL 26,
    1777, TO CALL OUT COLONEL
    LUDINGTON'S REGIMENT TO
    REPEL BRITISH AT DANBURY, CONN.
    Location: ON US 6 AT CARMEL

  • THE LOG MANSION
    BUILT ABOUT 1760 FOR MARY
    PHILIPSE AND HER HUSBAND,
    ROGER MORRIS, BY THEIR
    GRATEFUL TENANTS, STOOD
    ON THE KNOLL TO THE WEST
    Location: ON NYS 6N AT MAHOPAC FALLS

County: PUTNAM
Town: KENT, TOWN OF

  • LUDINGTON'S
    MARCH
    COL. H. LUDINGTON LED HIS MEN
    OVER THIS ROAD, APRIL 27, 1777
    TO JOIN IN REPELLING BRITISH
    RAIDERS AT DANBURY, CONN.
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT LUDINGTONVILLE

  • SIBYL LUDINGTON
    HERE ENDED HER NIGHT RIDE
    APRIL 26, 1777, TO SUMMON
    MILITIA OF COL. LUDINGTON'S
    REGIMENT TO REPEL BRITISH
    RAID AT DANBURY, CONN.
    Location: ON NYS 52 SOUTH OF DUTCHESS-PUTNAM COUNTY LINE

  • SIBYL LUDINGTON
    RODE HORSEBACK OVER THIS
    ROAD THE NIGHT OF APRIL 26,
    1777, TO CALL OUT COLONEL
    LUDINGTON'S REGIMENT TO
    REPEL BRITISH AT DANBURY, CONN.
    Location: ON NYS 301 AT KENT CLIFFS

  • SIBYL LUDINGTON
    RODE HORSEBACK OVER THIS
    ROAD THE NIGHT OF APRIL 26,
    1777, TO CALL OUT COLONEL
    LUDINGTON'S REGIMENT TO
    REPEL BRITISH AT DANBURY, CONN.
    Location: ON NYS 301 AT MEAD CORNERS

  • SITE OF HOUSE
    OF SOLOMON HOPKINS, ENOCH
    CROSSY'S BROTHER-IN-LAW,
    THE TOP STORY WINDOW WAS
    ALWAYS OPEN FOR PATRIOT
    SPY TO ENTER UNOBSERVED
    Location: ON NYS 301 AT COLES MILLS

County: PUTNAM
Town: PATTERSON, TOWN OF

  • COLE'S CORNERS
    HERE COL. HENRY LUDINGTON
    TURNED EAST WITH HIS MEN
    APRIL 27, 1777, MARCHING
    TOWARD DANBURY, CONNECTICUT
    TO REPEL BRITISH RAIDERS
    Location: ON NYS 22 ABOUT 1 MI. NORTH OF HAINES CORNERS

  • LUDINGTON GRAVES
    HERE ARE BURIED COLONEL
    HENRY LUDINGTON, OF THE
    DUTCHESS COUNTY MILITIA
    AND HIS DAUGHTER SIBYL,
    WHO RODE TO CALL THEM
    Location: ON NYS 311 AT PATTERSON

  • PUTNAM COUNTY
    NAMED FOR GENERAL ISRAEL
    PUTNAM, COMMANDER OF
    AMERICAN FORCES IN THE
    HUDSON HIGHLANDS DURING
    THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION
    Location: ON NYS 22 AT DUTCHESS-PUTNAM BORDER

  • SETTLER'S REVOLT
    AT LOG CHURCH HERE, IN 1776
    MILITIA FOUGHT SQUATTERS ON
    PHILIPSE PATENT, ROUTED THEM
    AND IMPRISONED PENDERGAST,
    THE LEADER AND 50 OTHERS.
    Location: ON NYS 216 AT WEST PATTERSON

County: PUTNAM
Town: PHILLIPSTOWN, TOWN OF

  • ARNOLD'S FLIGHT
    AT BEVERLY DOCK, AT THE
    FOOT OF THIS LANE, ARNOLD
    DISCLOSED AS A TRAITOR, FLED
    BY BOAT TO THE BRITISH SHIP
    VULTURE, OFF CROTON POINT.
    Location: ON NYS 9D ABOUT 3/4 MI. SO.. OF GARRISON FOUR CORNERS

  • CONNECTICUT CAMPS
    ON THE HILL WEST OF THE
    BROOK ARE REMAINS OF HUT
    SITES, OVEN, ETC., MADE BY
    NEW ENGLAND TROOPS GUARDING
    WEST POINT, 1778-1783
    Location: ON NYS 9D AT GARRISON FOUR CORNERS

  • CONNECTICUT LINE
    TROOPS WERE ENCAMPED IN
    THIS VALLEY ON BOTH SIDES
    OF THE BROOK, DURING
    THE WINTER OF 1780-1781
    Location: ON NYS 301 AT E. END OF NELSONVILLE

  • FORT HILL
    ON THE HILL TO THE WEST
    ARE THE NORTH AND SOUTH
    REDOUBTS, BUILT IN 1778,
    FOR THE DEFENSE OF THE
    HIGHLANDS AGAINST BRITISH
    Location: ON US 9 ABOUT 3 1/2 MIS. N. OF WESTCHESTER-PUTNAM CO. LINE

  • PUTNAM COUNTY
    NAMED FOR GENERAL ISRAEL
    PUTNAM, COMMANDER OF
    AMERICAN FORCES IN THE
    HUDSON HIGHLANDS DURING
    THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION
    Location: ON US 9 AT PUTNAM-WESTCHESTER COUNTY LINE

  • PUTNAM COUNTY
    NAMED FOR GENERAL ISRAEL
    PUTNAM, COMMANDER OF
    AMERICAN FORCES IN THE
    HUDSON HIGHLANDS DURING
    THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION
    Location: ON US 9 AT DUTCHESS-PUTNAM COUNTY LINE

  • ROBINSON HOUSE
    HERE STOOD THE ROBINSON
    HOUSE, WHERE BENEDICT
    ARNOLD, HIS TREASON DISCLOSED,
    FLED FROM HIS WIFE AND BABY
    TO THE BRITISH SHIP VULTURE.
    Location: ON NYS 9D ABOUT 3/4 MI. SO.. OF GARRISON FOUR CORNERS

  • SOUTH REDOUBT
    ONE OF THE FORTIFICATIONS
    BUILT IN 1776-1777 TO
    DEFEND THE HIGHLANDS,
    STOOD ON THE HILL TO
    THE NORTH, ABOVE HERE.
    Location: ON NYS 403 AT SO. REDOUBT RD.

  • SUGAR LOAF
    ON THE NORTH SLOPE OF
    THIS HILL WAS ONE OF THE
    FORTS BUILT, 1776-1777 TO
    DEFEND THE HIGHLANDS, FROM
    CONNECTICUT TO NEW JERSEY.
    Location: ON 9D ABOUT 1 MI. SOUTH OF GARRISON FOUR CORNERS

  • THE FIRST CHAIN
    PLANNED TO KEEP BRITISH
    SHIPS FROM GOING UP
    RIVER, ANCHORED ON SHORE
    BELOW, WAS FORCED BY THE
    ENEMY OCT. 7, 1777
    Location: ON NYS 9D ABOUT 1 MI. N.E. OF PUTNAM-WESTCHESTER CO. LINE

  • [ARROW] 1/2 MILE
    ARMY CAMP
    WHILE WEST POINT DEFENCES
    WERE BEING BUILT 1781
    THE CONNECTICUT LINE
    ENCAMPED ALONG THE BROOK
    Location: ON NYS 9D ABOUT 1 1/2 MIS. S. OF COLD SPRING

County: PUTNAM
Town: SOUTHEAST, TOWN OF

  • CHANCELLOR KENT
    JAMES KENT, CHIEF JUSTICE
    OF NEW YORK, AUTHOR OF
    "COMMENTARIES ON AMERICAN
    LAW", WAS BORN ON A SITE TO
    THE WEST, JULY 31, 1763
    Location: ON NYS 22 AT DOANSBURG

  • ENOCH CROSBY
    PATRIOT SPY OF AMERICAN
    REVOLUTION, LIVED ON A
    FARM GIVEN HIM FOR HIS
    SERVICE, ON THE WEST SIDE
    OF THIS RESERVOIR
    Location: ON US 6 AT TILLY FOSTER

  • FOWLER HOUSE
    ON OLD ROAD NORTH, BUILT
    ABOUT 1740, BY MOSES FOWLER.
    WASHINGTON OFTEN VISITED
    HERE ON TRIPS FROM WEST
    POINT TO CONNECTICUT
    Location: ON US 6 AT TILLY FOSTER

  • PUTNAM COUNTY
    NAMED FOR GENERAL ISRAEL
    PUTNAM, COMMANDER OF
    AMERICAN FORCES IN THE
    HUDSON HIGHLANDS DURING
    THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION
    Location: ON NYS 22 AT PUTNAM-WESTCHESTER COUNTY LINE

  • TILLY FOSTER MINE
    OPENED BY JAMES TOWNSEND
    1810; LARGE PRODUCER, 1864-
    1897; NAMED FOR FORMER
    OWNER, WHOSE FAMILY CAME
    FROM HARWICH, MASS. , 1749
    Location: ON US 6 AT TILLY FOSTER

  • TWO MILES EAST
    BIRTHPLACE OF
    DARIUS M. COUCH
    MAJOR GENERAL, U.S.A.
    COMMANDER 2D CORPS, ARMY OF
    POTOMAC, AT FREDERICKSBURG
    AND CHANCELLORSVILLE, 1862-63
    Location: ON NYS 22 ABOUT 1 MI. N.E. OF BREWSTER

County: QUEENS
Town: NONE

  • ARBITRATION ROCK
    IS UNDER THIS POINT. IT MARKS
    THE SETTLEMENT, IN 1769, OF A
    BOUNDARY LINE DISPUTE BETWEEN
    THE TOWNS OF NEWTON AND BUSHWICK.
    Location: MASPETH, ON ONDERDOK AVE. NORTH OF FLUSHING AVE. MASPETH.

  • CADWALLADER COLDEN HOUSE
    BUILT 1762. STOOD OPPOSITE.
    HE WAS LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR
    OF THE PROVINCE OF NEW YORK
    1760 TO 1775. HE DIED HERE
    ON SEPTEMBER 28, 1776.
    Location: FLUSHING, HORACE HARDING BLVD., EAST OF RODMAN ST.

  • DEWITT CLINTON
    HOUSE 1790-1828
    STOOD SEVERAL HUNDRED FEET
    NORTH OF HERE. GOV. DEWITT
    CLINTON WORKED ON PLANS
    FOR ERIE CANAL HERE.
    Location: MASPETH, 58TH ST. NEAR 56TH ROAD

  • FIRST HOUSE NUMBER
    IN QUEENS, ON HOUSE OPPOSITE
    HERE, UNDER NUMERICAL STREET
    & HOUSE NUMBER SYSTEM STARTED
    1913 BY TOPOGRAPHICAL BUREAU
    G. U. POWELL, ENGINEER IN CHARGE
    Location: WOODHAVEN, NEAR PARK LANE SOUTH AND 85TH STREET

  • FOSTER HOUSE
    STOOD OPPOSITE. STONE PART
    USED DURING INDIAN ATTACKS.
    THOMAS FOSTER WAS HANGED BY
    HESSIANS; HIS SON RESCUED HIM.
    Location: ALLEY POND, ON DOUGLASTON PARKWAY JUST EAST OF ALLEY POND

  • FRANCIS LEWIS
    HERE WAS THE ESTATE OF
    FRANCIS LEWIS, SIGNER OF
    DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE.
    HIS HOME STOOD SEVERAL
    HUNDRED FEET EAST OF HERE.
    Location: WHITESTONE, 7TH AVE. AND CLINTONVILLE BLVD.

  • GEN. HOWE'S
    HEADQUARTERS
    STANDS OPPOSITE HERE. HOWE
    WROTE HIS REPORT OF THE BATTLE
    OF LONG ISLAND HERE SEPT. 3, 1776
    WAS RENNE HOME
    Location: NEWTOWN, QUEENS BLVD. AT 57TH AVE. ELMHURST

  • JACKSON'S MILL
    HERE STOOD WESSEL'S GRIST
    MILL, 1640. RAZED IN EARLY
    INDIAN WAR, LATER MILLS OF
    LUYSTER, KIP, FISH AND
    JACKSON USED THE SAME SITE.
    Location: JACKSON HEIGHTS, THIS MILL STOOD ABOUT AT THE CORSSING OF GRAND CENTRAL PARK

  • MOORE HOMESTEAD, 1662
    ANCESTRAL HOME OF DR. C. C.
    MOORE, AUTHOR OF "T'WAS THE
    NIGHT BEFORE CHRISTMAS". LATER
    THE HOME OF GRANDSON OF
    COMMODORE O. H. PERRY
    Location: ELMHURST, 45TH AVE. AT BROADWAY

  • OLD FIRST CHURCH, 1652
    OLDEST CHURCH IN QUEENS
    CHURCH AND TOWN HALL OF
    EARLY AMERICAN COLONISTS
    1777 DESTROYED BY BRITISH.
    1893 PRESENT CHURCH BUILT.
    Location: 54TH AVENUE BETWEEN QUEENS BLVD & SEABURY ST.

  • ON AUG. 28, 1776
    GEN. NATHANIEL WOODHULL
    WAS CAPUTRED AND FATALLY
    WOUNDED BY THE BRITISH IN
    INCREASE CARPENTER'S HOUSE
    200 FEET NORTH OF THIS SPOT.
    Location: HOLLIS, AT SOUTHEAST CORNER JAMAICA AVE. AND 196TH ST.

  • PRINCE HOMESTEAD
    STANDS OPPOSITE. BUILT BY
    E. EMBREE 1780. WASHINGTON
    STOPPED HERE TO SEE THE PRINCE
    NURSERIES DURING HIS TRIP TO
    LONG ISLAND 1789.
    Location: FLUSHING, ON NORTHERN BLVD. BET. LAWRENCE ST. & COLLINS PL.

  • PROSPECT CEMETERY
    ORIGINAL JAMAICA TOWN BURYING
    GROUND, ESTABLISHED 1660.
    EGBERT BENSON BORN 1746
    DIED 1833, BURIED HERE. FIRST
    ATTORNEY GENERAL N.Y. STATE.
    Location: JAMAICA, 159TH ST., SOUTH OF BEAVER ROAD.

  • QUAKER MEETING HOUSE
    EASTERLY PART BUILT 1694.
    REMAINDER BUILT 1717. ALWAYS
    USED FOR WORSHIP EXCEPT 1776-83
    WHEN OCCUPIED BY BRITISH AS
    PRISON, HOSPITAL AND STABLE.
    Location: FLUSHING, 137-16 NORTHERN BLVD.

  • RAPELYE'S MILL
    ON THIS SITE, 1655, CAPTAIN
    JOHN COE ERECTED THE FIRST
    GRIST MILL IN NEWTOWN, USED AS
    A MILL BY RAPELYE UNTIL 1875.
    Location: CORONA, THIS MILL STOOD ON COLONIAL AVE., OPPOSITE WALDRON ST.

  • REMSEN CEMETERY
    COL. JEROMUS REMSEN, 1735-1790,
    IS BURIED HERE. WAS COLONEL
    OF A REGIMENT OF KINGS AND QUEENS
    CO. MILITIA IN THE BATTLE OF
    LONG ISLAND.
    Location: FOREST HILL, JUST NORTH OF METROPOLITAN AVE. BET. ORVILLE ST. AND TROTTING

  • ST. GEORGE'S
    SECOND EPISCOPAL CHURCH ON
    LONG ISLAND
    FOUNDED
    1702
    CHARTERED 1761 BY KING GEORGE III
    1ST CHURCH 1746;
    Location: MAIN STREET BETWEEN 28TH & 39TH AVENUES

  • STEVENS HOUSE
    MAJOR GENERAL EBENEZER STEVENS
    HOME EAST OF HERE. BORN
    1752; TOOK PART IN BOSTON
    TEA PARTY; MAJOR OF ARTILLERY
    IN THE REVOLUTIONARY WAR.
    Location: L. I. CITY, 30TH ROAD EAST OF VERNON BLVD., ASTORIA

  • WALTER BOWNE
    SITE OF HIS RESIDENCE. MAYOR
    N.Y. CITY 1829-33. GREAT
    GREAT GRANDSON OF JOHN BOWNE,
    ONE OF THE ORIGINAL PATENTEES OF
    FLUSHING.
    Location: FLUSHING, EAST SIDE OF 155TH ST. MIDWAY BET. 33RD AVE. & 35TH AVE.

County: RENSSELAER
Town: BRUNSWICK, TOWN OF

  • 1798
    HOME OF
    PHILIP D. DATER
    BORN 1790-DIED 1868
    SERVED IN WAR OF 1812
    Location: ON NYS 96 AT EAGLE MILLS

  • GILEAD CHURCH
    LUTHERAN, ORGANIZED ABOUT
    1746 BY PALATINE SETTLERS,
    400 FEET EAST OF THIS
    SPOT. MOVED 2 1/2 MILES SOUTH
    TO PRESENT SITE IN 1817.
    Location: ON NYS 7 AT HAYNERSVILLE

County: RENSSELAER
Town: EAST GREENBUSH, TOWN OF

  • CITIZEN GENET
    1763-1834
    SETTLED TWO MILES WEST
    OF HERE ABOUT 1800
    GRAVE BEHIND THIS CHURCH
    Location: ON US 9 & 20 IN FRONT OF DUTCH REFORMED CHURCH, E. GREENBUSH

  • WAR OF 1812
    GREENBUSH CANTONMENT
    QUARTERS FOR UNITED STATES
    ARMY SITUATED ON HALF
    MILE NORTH OF HERE
    [ARROW]
    Location: ON US 9 & 20 COLUMBIA TRNPKE. AT HAMPTON MANOR

  • [ARROW]
    4 MILES
    FORT CRAILO
    "YANKEE DOODLE"
    WRITTEN THERE 1758
    Location: INTERSECTION US 9 & 20 WITH NYS 4 & 40

  • [ARROW]
    2500 FEET
    FORT CRAILO
    "YANKEE DOODLE"
    WRITTEN THERE 1758
    Location: INTERSECTION US 9 & 20 WITH NYS 9J

County: RENSSELAER
Town: HOOSICK, TOWN OF

  • "BALL SEMINARY"
    BUILT IN 1842
    INCORPORATED BY REGENTS 1843
    PROPERTY CONVEYED 1863
    TO THE TOWN OF HOOSICK
    FOR A FREE UNION SCHOOL
    Location: ON CLASSIC ST., HOOSICK FALLS

  • BENNINGTON
    BATTLEFIELD
    GENERAL STARK'S VICTORY
    AUGUST 16, 1777
    Location: ON NYS 67 ABOUT 1 MILE EAST OF WALLOOMSAC

  • BENNINGTON
    BATTLEFIELD
    GENERAL STARK'S VICTORY
    AUGUST 16, 1777
    Location: ON NYS 67 ABOUT 1 MILE EAST OF WALLOOMSAC

  • EARLY TAVERN
    KEPT BY DAVID WILCOX
    BEFORE 1814. LATER
    HOME OF DR. JOHN WARREN.
    BORN 1806, DIED 1882
    Location: ON NYS 7 AT HOOSICK

  • FIRST MEETING HOUSE
    IN HOOSICK FALLS
    ERRECTED 1800
    FOR THE USE OF THE
    "WARREN SOCIETY OF HOOSICK"
    BAPTIST CHURCH ORGANIZED 1847
    Location: ON MAIN ST., HOOSICK FALLS

  • REFORMED PROTESTANT
    DUTCH CHURCH AT
    TIOSSIOOK
    ORGANIZED MAY 2, 1792
    PRESENT BUILDING ERECTED 1823
    FIRST PASTOR REV. S. SMITH
    Location: ON NYS 67 AT BUSKIRK

  • SITE OF
    WALLOOMSAC M. E. CHURCH
    INCORPORATED APRIL 18, 1811
    REINCORPORATED 1845 AND 1858
    ON PITTSTOWN CIRCUIT
    CHURCH BUILDING REMOVED 1898
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 1 MILE EAST OF WALLOOMSAC

  • SITE OF
    FIRST BRIDGE
    OVER HOOSICK RIVER
    AT THE FALLS, BUILT 1791
    AS "FEDERAL BRIDGE". BUILDERS
    JOHN WALDO AND JOHN RYAN
    REBUILT BY J. MANCHESTER, 1825
    Location: ON MECHANIC ST., HOOSICK FALLS

  • SITE OF FIRST
    HOOSICK BAPTIST CHURCH
    ORGANIZED MARCH 16, 1785
    FIRST BUILDING ERECTED 1792
    ELDER SAMUEL ROGERS
    FIRST REGULAR PASTOR 1797
    Location: ON NYS 7 ABOUT 1 1/2 MILES NORTHEAST OF HOOSICK

  • ST CROIX CHURCH
    NEAR HERE IS SITE DUTCH
    REFORM CHURCH THE FIRST
    PROTESTANT CHURCH IN
    HOOSICK VALLEY ON LOT OF
    A. WENDELL IN HOOSICK PAT.
    Location: ON NYS 67 ABOUT 1/2 MILE WEST OF NORTH HOOSICK

  • [ARROW]
    BENNINGTON
    BATTLEFIELD
    AUGUST 16, 1777
    ROAD LEADING TO
    SITE OF BATTLE AND
    BAUM'S REDOUBT
    Location: ON NYS 67 ABOUT 1 MILE EAST OF WALLOOMSAC

  • [ARROW] BENNINGTON BATTLEFIELD
    BATTERY POINT
    HERE, AUGUST 16, 1777 A CANNON,
    GUARDING BRIDGE AND FORD, WAS
    CAPTURED BY THE AMERICANS. NOW
    IN THE BENNINGTON HIST. MUSEUM
    Location: ON NYS 67 ABOUT 1 MILE EAST OF WALLOOMSAC

County: RENSSELAER
Town: NASSAU, TOWN OF

  • BENJ. BUDD'S TAVERN
    BUILT BY HERSHON TURNER
    ON SITE OF
    KAUNAUMEEK WHERE BRAINERD
    PREACHED TO INDIANS WITH AID OF
    WAUWAUMPEQUUNNAUNT
    Location: ON US 20 AT BRAINERD

County: RENSSELAER
Town: NORTH GREENBUSH, TOWN OF

  • VAN ALEN HOME
    BUILT ON 400 ACRE TRACT
    PURCHASED 1778 BY
    JOHN EVERT VAN ALEN
    BORN 1749 - DIED 1807
    CONGRESSMAN 1793-1799
    Location: ON NYS 43 AT DEFREESTVILLE

  • [ARROW]
    5 MILES
    FORT CRAILO
    "YANKEE DOODLE"
    WRITTEN THERE 1758
    Location: ON NYS 40 AT DEFREESTVILLE

County: RENSSELAER
Town: PETERSBURG, TOWN OF

  • BRIMMER FARM
    SETTLED 1754
    INDIAN MASSACRE OCCURRED
    HERE JUNE 2, 1755
    GEORGE BRIMMER BURIED HERE
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1/2 MILE SOUTH OF PETERSBURG JUNCTION

  • FARM OF
    JOHN BRIMMER
    WHO WAS CAPTURED
    BY INDIANS, 1754
    BURIED HERE IN 1830
    Location: ON NYS 22 ABOUT 1 1/2 MILES SOUTH OF PETERSBURG

  • HEZEKIAH
    COON INN
    FIRST TOWN MEETING HELD
    HERE APRIL 5, 1791. H.
    COON, MODERATOR; J. ODELL,
    SUPERVISOR; J. GREENE, CLERK
    Location: ON NYS 22 ABOUT 1 MILE SOUTH OF PETERSBURG

  • LYDIA ODELL BAXTER
    POET
    BORN HERE SEPTEMBER 2,
    1809 - DIED NEW YORK
    CITY, JANUARY 23, 1874
    Location: ON TN. RD. ABOUT 1 1/2 MILES EAST OF PETERSBURG

  • REYNOLDS FARM
    SETTLED 1780
    WILLIAM W. REYNOLDS
    BORN IN RHODE ISLAND 1747
    DIED HERE 1829. SERVED
    IN AMERICAN REVOLUTION
    Location: ON NYS 22 ABOUT 3 MILES SOUTH OF NORTH PETERSBURG

County: RENSSELAER
Town: POESTENKILL, TOWN OF

  • GARFIELD CHURCH
    PRESIDENT JAMES A. GARFIELD
    PREACHED HERE
    AND CONDUCTED HIS
    WRITING SCHOOL EARNING
    TUITION TO WILLIAMS COLLEGE
    Location: ON TOWN ROAD TO POESTENKILL

County: RENSSELAER
Town: RENSSELAER, TOWN OF

  • [ARROW]
    2000 FEET
    FORT CRAILO
    "YANKEE DOODLE"
    WRITTEN THERE 1758
    Location: ON BROADWAY AT DUNN MEMORIAL BRIDGE

  • [ARROW]
    1200 FEET
    FORT CRAILO
    "YANKEE DOODLE"
    WRITTEN THERE 1758
    Location: AT AIKEN AVE. & COLUMBIA ST.

  • [ARROW]
    1200 FEET
    FORT CRAILO
    "YANKEE DOODLE"
    WRITTEN THERE 1758
    Location: AT COLUMBIA ST. & BROADWAY

  • [ARROW]
    FORT CRAILO
    "YANKEE DOODLE"
    WRITTEN HERE 1758
    Location: ON RIVERSIDE AVE. OPPOSITE FORT CRAILO

  • [ARROW]
    2000 FEET
    FORT CRAILO
    "YANKEE DOODLE"
    WRITTEN THERE 1758
    Location: ON DUNN MEMORIAL BRIDGE

County: RENSSELAER
Town: SAND LAKE, TOWN OF

  • TRINITY
    LUTHERAN CHURCH
    ORGANIZED 1776
    PRESENT HOUSE OF WORSHIP
    ERECTED IN 1816
    Location: ALBANY AVE., CHURCH ST.

County: RENSSELAER
Town: TROY, CITY OF

  • HERMAN MELVILLE
    AUTHOR OF "MOBY DICK"
    FAMILY HOME 1838-1847
    DID HIS EARLIEST WRITING AND
    COMPLETED FIRST TWO BOOKS
    HERE; "TYPEE" AND "OMOO"
    Location: IN FRONT OF NO. 2 114TH ST. IN NORTH TROY

  • ON THIS SITE
    THE FIRST HOUSE OF WORSHIP
    IN TROY WAS ERECTED - 1792
    BY THE FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH
    PRESENT CHURCH BUILT 1836
    Location: ON THE CORNER OF CONGRESS & 1ST STS. IN TROY

County: RICHMOND
Town: NONE

  • BATTLE HILL
    SITE OF INDIAN VILLAGE
    ATTACKED BY DUTCH 1643
    AND OF BRITISH REDOUBT
    DURING THE REVOLUTION
    Location: ON CORNER OF WESTERN AND WASHINGTON AVE.

  • BURIAL PLACE
    OF THE DUTCH SETTLERS OF
    THE NORTH SHORE UNTIL 1696
    AROUND WHICH PORT RICHMOND
    WAS BUILT
    Location: ON RICHMOND AV. BETWEEN RAILROAD AND RICHMOND TER.

  • CONFERENCE HOUSE
    WHERE BENJ. FRANKLIN, JOHN
    ADAMS & ED. RUTLEDGE MET
    IN PARLEY WITH LORD HOWE
    AND SIR HENRY STRAKEY
    SEPTEMBER 11, 1776

  • IN 1695 A
    FRENCH CHURCH
    STOOD NEAR THIS SPOT
    THEN THE ONLY CHURCH
    ON STATEN ISLAND
    Location: ON ARTHUR KILL ROAD BETWEEN GIFFORD'S LAND AND RICHMOND AVE.

  • OLD TOWN
    FIRST PERMANENT SETTLEMENT
    MADE ON STATEN ISLAND 1661
    BY PIERRE BILLIOU & OTHERS
    WITH PERMISSION OF THE
    DUTCH WEST INDIA COMPANY
    Location: ON CORNER OF OLD TOWN ROAD

  • ON THIS SPOT STOOD AN
    ENGLISH CHURCH
    (PRESBYTERIAN) FROM 1729-1769
    Location: ON RICHMOND ROAD

  • PERINE HOUSE
    LAND PAT. SEPT. 1677 TO THOM.
    STILLWELL PREVIOUSLY COVERED BY
    DUTCH GROUND BRIEFS TO PIERRE
    BILLIOU AND HANS CHRISTOFEL
    Location: ON RICHMOND ROAD

  • SIGNAL HILL
    USED AS SIGNAL STATION
    SINCE 1641. NEARBY
    FORTIFICATIONS REBUILT 1812

  • SITE OF
    FORT
    KNYPHAUSEN
    OCCUPIED BY BRITISH IN REVOLUTION

  • THE CHRISTOPHER HOUSE
    ERECTED ABOUT 1750. HOME OF
    JOSEPH CHRISTOPHER, DURING
    REVOLUTION, TRADITIONALLY, MEETING
    PLACE OF S.I. PATRIOTS
    Location: ABOUT 200 FT. FROM WILLOWBROOK RD. AND VICTORY BUILDING

County: ROCKLAND
Town: ORANGETOWN, TOWN OF

  • "'76 HOUSE"
    WHERE MAJOR JOHN ANDRE,
    BRITISH SPY, PLOTTER WITH
    ARNOLD TO DELIVER WEST
    POINT, WAS CONFINED
    BEFORE HIS EXECTUION
    Location: MAIN & WASHINGTON STS. IN TAPPAN

  • DE WINDT HOUSE
    WASHINGTON'S HEADQUARTERS
    SETP. 28 - OCT. 2, 1780
    DURING THE TRIAL OF ANDRE,
    BRITISH SPY, PLOTTER
    WITH BENEDICT ARNOLD
    Location: OAK TREE RD. IN TAPPAN

  • GENERAL LAFAYETTE
    LIVED HERE IN A HOUSE ON
    THE BOGART FARM IN 1780.
    OPPOSITE IS SPRING USED
    BY CONTINENTAL ARMY
    CAMPED ON THE WEST RIDGE
    Location: WESTERN HWY. IN TAPPAN

  • THE MANSE
    BUILT 1726, DOMINIE SAMUEL
    VERBRYCK LIVED HERE DURING
    REVOLUTION. HE WAS FRIEND OF
    WASHINGTON. HE FOUNDED RUTGERS
    COLLEGE, N. J.
    Location: WESTWOOD-OLD TAPPAN RD., W. OF GREENBUSG RD., IN TAPPAN

  • TRIAL OF ANDRE
    THE BRITISH SPY, ANDRE,
    WAS FOUND GUILTY, IN
    THE DUTCH CHURCH WHICH
    STOOD, IN 1780, ON THE
    SITE OF THIS EDIFICE
    Location: MAIN ST., NORTH OF WASHINGTON ST. IN TAPPAN

  • TURN LEFT AT LIGHT
    DEWINDT HOUSE
    GEORGE WASHINGTON HEADQUARTERS
    SEPT. 28 - OCT. 2, 1780
    Location: ON US 9W S. OF OAK TREE RD.

  • WASHINGTON'S CAMP
    ON THE RIDGE WEST, 1782,
    THE AMERICAN ARMY, AFTER
    ITS RETURN FROM YORKTOWN,
    ENCAMPED UNDER GENERALS
    WASHINGTON AND GREENE
    Location: WESTERN HWY. & WASHINGTON AVE. IN TAPPAN

  • [ARROW]
    ANDRE MONUMENT
    ON THE HILL SOUTH IS THE
    SITE OF THE GALLOWS WHERE
    MAJOR JOHN ANDRE, BRITISH
    SPY, WAS HANGED, AND
    BURIED, ON OCT. 2, 1780.
    Location: SUMMIT AVE. & OLD TAPPAN RD. IN TAPPAN

  • [ARROW]
    2 MILES
    DE WINDT HOUSE
    GEORGE WASHINGTON HEADQUARTERS
    SET. 28 - OCT. 2, 1780
    Location: ON US 9W AT OAK TREE RD.

County: ROCKLAND
Town: STONY POINT, TOWN OF

  • "WORK I"
    A BRITISH REDOUBT MOUNTING
    A TWELVE-POUND CANNON WAS
    LOCATED HERE, JULY 1779.
    Location: IN STONY POINT PARK

  • AMERICAN BLOCKHOUSE
    HERE STOOD AN UNFINISHED
    AMERICAN BLOCKHOUSE WHICH
    WAS BURNED BY ITS DEFENDERS
    ON MAY 31, 1779, WHEN THE
    BRITISH SEIZED THE POINT
    Location: IN STONY POINT PARK

  • BUCKBERG MOUNTAIN
    HERE GENERALS WASHINGTON
    AND WAYNE, SURVEYED THE
    BRITISH FORT ON STONY
    POINT AND PLANNED THE
    VICTORY OF JULY 15-16, 1779.
    Location: BUCKBERG MT. RD., 1/2 MI. S. MOTT RD.

  • BUCKBERG MOUNTAIN ROAD
    IN 1776-1783, THIS WAS AN
    IMPORTANT MILITARY ROUTE
    OVER THE DUNDERBERG TO
    DOODLETOWN, FORTS CLINTON
    AND MONTGOMERY AND WEST POINT.
    Location: BUCKBERG RD., W. OF US 9W

  • CHRISTIAN FEBIGER,
    A DANE, COLONEL OF THE
    SECOND REGIMENT OF THE
    LIGHT INFANTRY UNDER
    WAYNE, LED THE MAIN
    BODY IN THE RIGHT COLUMN
    Location: IN STONY POINT PARK

  • COLONEL BUTLER
    OF PENNSYLVANIA, LED
    THE LEFT ASSULTING
    COLUMN OF AMERICANS
    UP THE STEEP SLOPE
    AT THIS POINT
    Location: IN STONY POINT PARK

  • DOODLETOWN
    HALF A MILE UP THIS ROAD
    IS DOODLETOWN, PIONEER
    HAMLET THROUGH WHICH THE
    BRITISH ARMY MARCHED TO
    ATTACK FT. CLINTON, 1777.
    Location: US 9W AT DOODLETOWN RD.

  • FRANCO-AMERICAN ARMY
    EN ROUTE TO CAPTURE
    CORNWALLIS AT YORKTOWN, IN
    VIRGINIA, CROSSED KING'S
    FERRY IN AUGUST, 1781.
    Location: IN STONY POINT PARK

  • GENERAL WAYNE
    WAS WOUNDED BY THE
    BRITISH GRAPESHOT
    LEADING THE RIGHT
    COLUMN UP THE SLOPE
    NEAR THIS POINT.
    Location: IN STONY POINT PARK

  • KING'S FERRY
    BELOW THIS HILL IS LOCATED
    THE WESTERN TERMINUS OF
    HISTORIC KING'S FERRY OF
    THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION,
    1776-1783.
    Location: IN STONY POINT PARK

  • LIEUT. KNOX
    AT THE HEAD OF THE
    FORLORN HOPE OF THE LEFT
    COLUMN ENTERED THE MAIN
    BRITISH REDOUBT AT
    THIS POINT
    Location: IN STONY POINT PARK

  • LIEUT.-COL. FLEURY
    WHO CAME FROM FRANCE
    WITH LAFAYETTE, LED A PICKED
    ADVANCE CORPS INTO THE
    FORT, AT THIS PART
    OF THE RAMPARTS
    Location: IN STONY POINT PARK

  • MAJOR MURFREE
    WITH MASSACHUSETTS AND
    NORTH CAROLINA COMPANIES
    ENGAGED BRITISH OUTPOST
    HERE BY FIRING TO COVER
    THE TWO FLANK MOVEMENTS
    Location: IN STONY POINT PARK

  • MILITARY ROAD
    LEADING TO THE CENTRAL
    BRITISH REDOUBT FOLLOWED
    THIS ROUTE, 1779
    Location: IN STONY POINT PARK

  • SIX STATES
    PENNSYLVANIA, CONNECTICUT,
    MASSACHUSETTS, MARYLAND,
    VIRGINIA AND NORTH
    CAROLINA, GAVE THE MEN OF
    THE LIGHT INFANTRY.
    Location: IN STONY POINT PARK

  • THE FINAL COMBAT,
    A HAND TO HAND MELEE,
    AMERICAN BAYONETS AGAINST
    BRITISH MUSKETRY AND
    CANNON, TOOK PLACE IN THE
    CENTRAL REDOUBT HERE.
    Location: IN STONY POINT PARK

  • THE FIRST ROAD
    ACROSS HUDSON HIGHLANDS
    FROM STONY POINT TO
    CENTRAL VALEY, MADE ABOUT
    1760, VIA CEDAR PONDS
    FOLLOWED THIS ROAD
    Location: US 9W & MAIN ST., IN STONY POINT

  • THE INNER LINE
    OF THE BRITISH ABATIS OF
    TREE TRUNKS AND SHARPENED
    STAKES RAN FROM THE NORTH
    TO THE SOUTH SHORE OF THE
    POINT HERE.
    Location: IN STONY POINT PARK

  • THE LARGER BODY
    OF AMERICANS, IN THE
    RIGHT COLUYMN, UNDER GEN.
    WAYNE, CROSSED THE MARSH
    AND COVE TO THE SOUTH
    TO SCALE BRITISH WORKS
    Location: IN STONY POINT PARK

  • THE LEFT COLUMN
    OF THE AMERICANS DIVIDED
    HERE, AT MUD BRIDGE, THE
    MAIN BODY, UNDER COLONEL
    BUTLER, MARCHING AROUND
    THE NORTH SHORE
    Location: IN STONY POINT PARK

  • THE MAIN GATE
    OF THE CENTRAL
    BRITISH REDOUBT
    WAS LOCATED HERE,
    1779.
    Location: IN STONY POINT PARK

  • THE OUTER LINE
    OF THE ABATIS OF FELLED
    TREES AND POINTED STAKES
    MADE BY THE BRITISH
    GARRISON CROSSED HERE
    FROM SHORE TO SHORE
    Location: IN STONY POINT PARK

  • TWO COMPANIES
    OF THE SEVENTEENTH BRITISH
    REGIMENT OF FOOT WERE
    STATIONED HERE AT
    THE TIME OF THE ASSAULT,
    JULY 15, 1779.
    Location: IN STONY POINT PARK

  • WORK "H"
    A BRITISH REDOUBT MOUNTING
    A TWELVE-POUND CANNON WAS
    LOCATED HERE, JULY, 1779.
    Location: IN STONY POINT PARK

  • [ARROW]
    STONY POINT
    BATTLEFIELD
    JULY 16, 1779
    Location: US 9W, 1/4 MI. NO. OF VLGE. STONY POINT

  • [ARROW]
    STONY POINT
    BATTLEFIELD
    JULY 16, 1779
    Location: US 9W. 1/2 MI. NO. OF STONY POINT VILLAGE

  • [ARROW]
    STONY POINT
    BATTLEFIELD
    JULY 16, 1779
    Location: ON PARK RD., E. OF US 9W

  • [ARROW]
    STONY POINT
    BATTLEFIELD
    JULY 16, 1779
    Location: ON PARK RD., E. OF US 9W

County: SARATOGA
Town: BALLSTON, TOWN OF

  • BALLSTON FORT
    SITE OF LOG MEETING HOUSE
    BUILT 1772
    SURROUNDED BY HIGH
    STACKADE DURING REVOLUTION
    Location: ON FRONT ST., BALLSTON SPA

  • COLONIAL INN
    THIS BUILDING
    ERECTED IN 1797
    FOR MANY YEARS A
    PUBLIC TAVERN
    Location: ON CO. RD. RD. OFF WEST HIGH STREET

  • END OF NORTHWEST PASSAGE
    ON THE HUDSON RIVER NEARBY
    HUDSON'S EXPLORING BOAT WAS STOPPED
    BY SHALLOW WATER
    SEPTEMBER 22, 1609

  • HOME OF
    ELIPHALET BALL
    FOUNDER OF BALLSTON
    BORN 1722
    DIED HERE 1797
    Location: ON NYS 50 ABOUT 3MIS. S. OF BALLSTON SPA

  • HOME OF JAMES GORDON
    COLONEL REVOLUTIONARY WAR
    MEMBER OF ASSEMBLY, STATE SENATOR
    FIRST SUPERVISOR TOWN BALLSTON
    MEMBER OF CONGRESS
    WASHINGTON VISITED HERE 1783
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 3/4 MI. NORTH OF BALLSTON CENTER

  • HOME OF JOHN W. TAYLOR
    MEMBER OF CONGRESS 1813-33
    SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF
    REPRESENTATIVES 1821-1827
    STATE SENATOR 1840
    Location: ON NYS 67 AT BALLSTON SPA

  • HOME OF SAMUEL YOUNG
    MEMBER OF ASSEMBLY 1814
    SPEAKER OF ASSEMBLY 1815
    STATE SENATOR 1819, 33,34,45,47
    CANDIDATE FOR GOVERNOR OF
    N.Y., 1824. DIED HERE 1850
    Location: ON NYS 50 ABOUT 3 MIS. SOUTH OF BALLSTON SPA

  • MCDONALDS
    BALLSTON-SARATOGA MINERAL
    SPRINGS WERE REVEALED TO
    WHITE MEN BY MICHAEL
    AND NICHOLAS MCDONALD
    ABOUT 1765
    Location: ON FRONT ST., BALLSTON SPA

  • MCDONALDS
    AT SHORE OF BALLSTON LAKE
    1/2 MILE FROM THIS SPOT
    MICHAEL & NICHOLAS MCDONALD
    BUILT FIRST CABIN IN THIS
    SECTION OF STATE IN 1763
    Location: ON CO RD. ABOUT 3/4 MILE S. OF BALLSTON CENTER

  • PRESBYTERIAN
    CHURCH
    FOUNDED 1775 BY REV.
    ELIPHALET BALL. PRESENT
    EDIFICE ERECTED DURING
    PASTORATE OF REV. CHARLES
    H. TAYLOR, 1854-61
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF CO. RDS. AT BALLSTON CENTER

  • SITE OF
    FIRST COURT HOUSE AND JAIL
    OF SARATOGA COUNTY
    ERECTED 1796
    DESTROYED BY FIRE, 1816
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1 1/2 MIS. S.W. OF BALLSTON SPA

  • SITE OF
    OLD STOCKADED FORT
    USED AS A REFUGE BY
    THE PATRIOTS AGAINST
    INVASION FROM THE NORTH
    Location: ON NYS 50 ABOUT 3 MILES SOUTH OF BALLSTON SPA

  • SITE OF
    CHRIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH
    FIRST EPISCOPAL CHURCH
    IN SARATOGA COUNTY
    ERECTED 1792
    REMOVED TO BALLSTON SPA 1817
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1/4 MILE SOUTH OF BALLSTON CENTER

  • SITE OF HOME
    BERIAH PALMER
    SUPERVISOR BALLSTON 1790-01
    MEMBER OF ASSEMBLY 1793-95
    MEMBER CONGRESS 1803-05
    SURROGATE SARATOGA COUNTY
    1808 - 12
    Location: ON NYS 146A NEAR INTERSECTION WITH NYS 50

  • THIS BUILDING
    WAS A PUBLIC INN
    DURING THE REVOLUTION.
    WILLIAM BETTYS, PROPIETOR
    Location: ON NYS 50 ABOUT 1 1/2 MIS. N.E. OF BURNT HILLS

  • TOWN OF BALLSTON
    NAMED FOR ELIPHALET BALL
    FORMED FROM SARATOGA AS A
    DISTRICT APRIL 1, 1775
    ORGANIZED AS A TOWN
    MARCH 7, 1788
    Location: ON NYS 339 AT BURNT HILLS

County: SARATOGA
Town: CRESENT, TOWN OF

  • CRESCENT
    NAMED FROM CRESCENT SHAPE
    OF MOHAWK RIVER AT THIS POINT.
    SITE OF INDIAN CARRY FROM
    MOHAWK RIVER TO HUDSON RIVER.
    SITE OF OLD CRESCENT BRIDGE.
    Location: ON BANK OF MOHAWK NEAR US 9 AT CRESCENT

County: SARATOGA
Town: MOREAU, TOWN OF

  • [ARROW]
    ON THE BROW OF THE HILL
    ROYAL BLOCKHOUSE
    BUILT DURING
    FRENCH AND INDIAN WAR
    Location: ON NYS 197 AT APPROACH TO BRIDGE TO FORT EDWARD

County: SARATOGA
Town: NORTHUMBERLAND, TOWN OF

  • BRITISH OVENS
    IN THE HILL ON THE LEFT
    WERE TWO LARGE OVENS
    USED BY THE BRITISH ARMY
    WHILE ENCAMPED ON
    ADJOINING FLATS
    Location: ON BACON HILL-FORT EDWARD COUNTY ROAD

  • FORT MILLER
    BUILT BY COL. MILLER
    JULY 1755
    Location: ON BACON HILL-FORT EDWARD COUNTY ROAD

  • GENERAL STARK
    HELD THIS POSITION TO PREVENT
    BRITISH RETREAT TO NORTH
    Location: ON US 4 AT NORTHUMBERLAND

  • HOME OF
    COL. SIDNEY BERRY
    SERVED IN REVOLUTION;
    FIRST SURROGATE OF COUNTY;
    FIRST SUPERVISOR OF TOWN
    Location: ON BACON HILL-FORT EDWARD COUNTY ROAD

  • HOME OF
    JOHN MCCREA
    BROTHER OF JANE MCCREA
    WHO WAS KILLED BY
    INDIANS JULY 27, 1777
    Location: ON BACON HILL-FORT EDWARD COUNTRY ROAD

  • HOME OF
    CAPTAIN MARTIN JOHN BURKE
    B. 1816 - D. 1847
    GRADUATED FROM WEST POINT
    1836; WAS KILLED IN WAR
    WITH MEXICO AUG. 20, 1847
    Location: ON NYS 32 AT BACON HILL

County: SARATOGA
Town: SARATOGA NATL. HISTORICAL PK.

  • AMERICAN ENTRENCHMENTS
    BATTLES OF
    SEPT. 19 - OCT. 7, 1777
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • AMERICAN ENTRENCHMENTS
    BATTLES OF
    SEPT. 19 - OCT. 7, 1777
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • AMERICAN PICKETS
    HELD THIS HIGH GROUND
    SOUTH OF MIDDLE RAVINE
    BETWEEN THE BATTLES OF
    SEPT. 19 AND OCT. 7, 1777
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • AMERICAN PICKETS
    HELD THIS HIGH GROUND
    SOUTH OF MIDDLE RAVINE
    BETWEEN THE BATTLES OF
    SEPT. 19 AND OCT. 7, 1777
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • BATTLE FIELD
    CEMETERY
    HERE LIES THE DUST OF
    AMERICAN HEROES WHO DIED
    THAT THE UNITED STATES
    MIGHT BE BORN
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • BATTLE WELL
    SOUGHT BY THE WOUNDED
    OF BOTH ARMIES
    SCENE OF MUCH SUFFERING
    AFTER THE BATTLES OF 1777
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • BREYMANN REDOUBT
    LASR ENGAGEMENT OF
    BATTLE OF OCT. 7, 1777
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • BRITISH ENTRENCHMENTS
    ON BREYMANN REDOUBT
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • BRITISH PICKETS
    HELD THIS HIGH GROUND
    NORTH OF THE MIDDLE RAVINE
    BETWEEN THE BATTLES OF
    SEPT. 19 AND OCT. 7, 1777
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • BRITISH PICKETS
    HELD THIS HIGH GROUND
    NORTH OF MIDDLE RAVINE
    BETWEEN THE BATTLES OF
    SEPT. 19 AND OCT. 7, 1777
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • BRITSIH CENTER
    OCTOBER 7, 1777
    GENERAL RIEDESEL
    BRUNSWICKERS
    CAPTAIN PAUSCH
    BATTERY OF 6 POUNDERS
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • BRITSIH LEFT
    OCT. 7, 1777
    MAJOR ACLAND
    GRENADIERS
    MAJOR WILLIAMS
    ROYAL ARTILLERY
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • BRITSIH RIGHT
    OCT. 7, 1777
    LIGHT INFANTRY
    EARL OF BALCARRAS
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • BURGOYNE BRIDGE
    BUILT BY THE INVADING
    ARMY OF BURGOYNE
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • GEN. MORGAN'S RIFLE CORPS
    ATTACKED THE BRITISH REDOUBT
    AFTER WIDE FLANK MOVEMENT
    BEHIND THE REDOUBT
    TO THE WEST
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • GENERAL DEARBORN'S
    LIGHT INFANTRY
    LEFT DIVISION
    AMERICAN ATTACK ON
    BRITISH LINE OF BATTLE
    OCT. 7, 1777
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • GENERAL LEARNED'S BRIGADE
    N. Y. AND MASS. REGIMENTS
    CENTER DIVISION
    AMERICAN ATTACK ON
    BRITISH LINE OF BATTLE
    OCT. 7, 1777
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • GENERAL POOR'S BRIGADE
    N. H. AND N. Y. REGIMENTS
    RIGHT DIVISION
    AMERICAN ATTACK ON
    BRITISH LINE OF BATTLE
    OCT. 7, 1777
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • GREAT REDOUBT
    SCENE OF FIGHTING OF
    FIRST BATTLE
    HELD BY BRITISH AGAINST
    ATTACKS BY ARNOLD IN
    BATTLE OF OCT. 7, 1777
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • HEADQUARTERS
    OF GEN. ARNOLD
    BATTLES OF
    SEPT. 19 - OCT. 7, 1777
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • MAJOR ACLAND
    MADE PRISONER
    OCT. 7, 1777
    FOUGHT DUEL IN DEFENSE
    OF VALOUR OF AMERICANS
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • MIDDLE RAVINE
    SEPARATING HOSTILE ARMIES
    BETWEEN THE
    BATTLES OF SARATOGA
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • OLD POWDER
    MAGAZINE
    BATTLES OF SARATOGA 1777
    RESTORED WITH ORIGINAL
    STONE ON EXACT SITE
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • ON THIS SPOT
    FRANCIS CLERKE
    AIDE-DE-CAMP TO BURGOYNE
    FELL MORTALLY WOUNDED
    OCTOBER 7, 1777
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • REVOLUTIONARY PERIOD
    BLOCK HOUSE
    SITE OF FORT NEILSON
    VISITORS WELCOME
    8:30 A.M. TO 5:30 P.M.
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • ROAD TO THE
    MIDDLE RAVINE
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • SITE OF THE ORIGINAL
    FREEMAN HOUSE
    CENTER OF RIGHT DIVISION
    OF BRITISH ARMY AFTER
    BATTLE OF SEPT. 19, 1777
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • THE SHOT THAT KILLED
    GEN. FRASER
    OCT. 7, 1777
    WAS FIRED FROM NEAR HERE
    BY TIMOTHY MURPHY
    OF MORGAN'S RIFLEMEN.
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • TO THE EAST
    BURGONYNE'S
    HEADQUARTERS
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

  • TO THE NORTH IS BREYMANN
    REDOUBT
    THE WESTMOST POINT OF THE
    BRITISH ENTRENCHED CAMP.
    CAPTURED BY THE AMERICANS
    ON OCT. 7 WHEN ARNOLD WAS
    SEVERELY WOUNDED
    Location: SARATOGA NATIONAL HISTORICAL PARK

County: SARATOGA
Town: SARATOGA SPRINGS, TOWN OF

  • BRYAN HOME
    ERECTED 1832 ON THE SITE OF
    THE LOG CABIN INN OF ALEXANDER
    BRYAN REVOLUTIONARY SCOUT
    Location: ON US 9 & NYS 50, SARATOGA SPRINGS

County: SARATOGA
Town: SARATOGA, TOWN OF

  • BREASTWORKS
    OF
    GENERAL BURGOYNE
    Location: ON NYS 29 AT SCHUYLERVILLE

  • BREASTWORKS
    OF
    COLONEL MORGAN
    Location: ON NYS 338 AT SCHUYLERVILLE

  • BREASTWORKS
    OF
    GENERAL LEARNED
    Location: IN SCHOOL YARD, VICTORY MILLS

  • CAMP OF
    CONTINENTAL TROOPS
    UNDER GENERAL GATES
    EAST ACROSS FISH CREEK
    Location: ON US 4 S. OF SCHUYLERVILLE

  • COLONEL MORGAN
    HELD THIS POSITION TO PREVENT
    BRITISH RETREAT TO WEST
    Location: ON NYS 29 ABOUT 1/2 MILE WEST OF SCHUYLERVILLE

  • COLONEL MORGAN
    HELD THIS POSITION TO PREVENT
    BRITISH RETREAT TO WEST
    Location: ON NYS 338 AT SCHUYLERVILLE

  • COLONEL MORGAN
    CROSSED CREEK HERE
    AS ASSAULTED
    BRITISH CAMP
    Location: ON US 4 AT VICTORY MILLS

  • COLONIAL AND
    REVOLUTIONARY
    FORDING PLACE
    Location: ON US 4 AT SCHUYLERVILLE

  • DERIDDER
    HORSE FERRY
    Location: ON NYS 29 AT SCHUYLERVILLE

  • FIRST BRIDGE
    HERE BORE STONE TABLET
    NOW BURIED IN ROADWAY
    READING "THE UNION-
    IT MUST BE PRESERVED.
    GEN'L JACKSON. A.D. 1834"
    Location: ON NYS 29 AT SCHUYLERVILLE

  • LEARNED, GLOVER,
    NIXON
    CROSSED CREEK HERE
    TO SUPPORT
    COLONEL MORGAN
    Location: ON US 4 AT VICTORY MILLS

  • LINES OCCUPIED BY
    BURGOYNE'S
    GERMAN AND CANADIAN
    FORCES
    Location: ON NYS 29 AT SCHUYLERVILLE

  • ON THESE FIELDS
    THE BRITISH ARMY
    GROUNDED ARMS
    AT THE SURRENDER
    Location: ON NYS 29 AT SCHUYLERVILLE

  • POSITION OF
    FRASER'S CORPS
    BRITISH LIGHT TROOPS
    OCTOBER 10 TO 17
    1777
    Location: ON US 4 S. OF SCHUYLERVILLE

  • SITE OF
    FORT VROOMAN 1689
    FORT SARATOGA 1702
    REBUILT BY PHILIP LIVINGSTON 1721
    FORT CLINTON 1746
    REBUILT AND NAMED FOR GOVERNOR
    Location: ON SCHUYLERVILLE-COVEVILLE COUNTRY ROAD

  • SITE OF
    HOME OF
    GENERAL SCHUYLER
    BURNED BY BURGOYNE
    1777
    Location: ON SCHUYLERVILLE-COVEVILLE COUNTY ROAD

  • SITE OF
    WHEATFIELDS
    BURNED BY
    CATHERINE SCHUYLER
    WHEN AMERICAN SETTLERS FLED
    BEFORE BURGOYNE'S ADVANCE
    Location: ON SCHUYLERVILLE-COVEVILLE COUNTY ROAD

  • SITE OF
    SURRENDER OF
    GENERAL BURGOYNE
    TO GENERAL GATES
    OCTOBER 17, 1777
    Location: ON SCHUYLERVILLE-COVEVILLE COUNTY ROAD

  • SITE OF
    CAMP OF
    GENERAL BURGOYNE
    OCTOBER 10TH TO 17TH
    1777
    Location: ON NYS 29 AT SCHUYLERVILLE

  • SITE OF
    GENERAL GATES
    HEADQUARTERS
    PREVIOUS TO SURRENDER OF
    GENERAL BURGOYNE
    OCT. 17, 1777
    Location: ON SCHUYLERVILLE-COVEVILLE COUNTY ROAD

  • SITE OF
    DOVEGAT HOUSE
    HEADQUARTERS GENERAL BURGOYNE
    DURING ADVANCE AND RETREAT
    OF BRITISH ARMY
    Location: ON SCHUYLERVILLE-COVEVILLE COUNTY ROAD

  • SITE OF
    FIRST
    FLAX AND LINEN MILL
    IN AMERICA
    BUILT 1810
    Location: ON US 4 AT SCHUYLERVILLE

  • SITE OF
    OLDEST COTTON MILL
    IN
    NEW YORK STATE
    BUILT 1828
    Location: ON SCHUYLERVILLE-COVEVILLE COUNTY ROAD

  • SITE OF
    CAMP OF
    GENERAL BURGOYNE
    OCT. 10 TO 17
    1777
    Location: ON US 4 AT SCHUYLERVILLE

  • SITE OF
    FORT HARDY
    1757
    Location: ON NYS 29 AT SCHUYLERVILLE

  • SITE OF
    CONTINENTAL
    BARRACKS
    WHERE GENERAL STARK TRIED AND
    CONDEMNED THE TORY LOVELACE
    AS A SPY
    Location: ON NYS 29 AT SCHUYLERVILLE

  • SITE OF
    CAMP OF
    GENERAL LEARNED
    BEFORE SURRENDER OF
    GENERAL BURGOYNE
    Location: ON TOWN RD., VICTORY MILLS

  • TRENCHES
    OF
    BURGOYNE'S ARMY
    Location: ON US 4 AT VICTORY MILLS

County: SARATOGA
Town: STILLWATER, TOWN OF

  • DIRCK SWART HOUSE
    HEADQUARTERS AUG. 3-14, 1777 OF
    GEN. PHILIP SCHUYLER
    ARNOLD MARCHED FROM HERE TO
    RELIEF OF FORT STANWIX
    Location: ON US 4 AT STILLWATER

  • FERRY LANE
    OCT. 1777 BURGOYNE'S BRUNSWICK
    TROOPS MARCHED THROUGH THIS
    LANE TO VANDENBURGH FERRY AND
    PRISON CAMP AT CAMPBRIDGE, MASS.
    Location: ON US 4 AT STILLWATER

  • HISTORIC SITES
    FORT INGOLDSBY BUILT 1709
    FORT WINSLOW BUILT 1756
    MONTRESSOR'S BLOCKHOUSE &
    STOREHOUSE BARRACKS 1758
    SCHUYLER'S SUPPLY DEPOT 1777
    Location: ON US 4 AT STILLWATER

  • ON THE WOODED HILL
    TO THE LEFT STAND
    EARTHWORKS
    THROWN UP BY AMER. ARMY
    BEFORE BATTLE OF SARATOGA
    1777
    Location: ON US 4 AT STILLWATER

  • SITE OF
    HARMANUS SCHUYLER
    MANSION
    WASHINGTON, SCHUYLER AND CLINTON
    WERE ENTERTAINED HERE IN
    1783
    Location: ON US 4 AT STILLWATER

County: SARATOGA
Town: WATERFORD, TOWN OF

  • FONDA ROAD
    COLONIAL MILITARY
    ROUTE
    Location: ON WASHINGTON AVE. NEAR BARGE CANAL YARDS, WATERFORD

  • HALFMOON FORT
    1689
    DEFENSE OUTPOST OF ALBANY
    SITE OF "YE HALFMOON"
    SETTLEMENT, 1764
    ON "GREAT ROAD" TO CANADA
    Location: ON US 4 1 MILE NORTH OF BOAD ST., WATERFORD

  • UP COUNTRY
    ERECTED 1830 BY WILLIAM
    PUNDERSON MANSFIELD.
    HOME OF LEWIS W. MANSFIELD
    AUTHOR OF UP COUNTRY LETTERS,
    MORNING WATCH AND
    COUNTRY MARGINS
    Location: ON SARATOGA AVE., WATERFORD

  • WATER FORD
    A COLONIAL FORD ACROSS
    THE MOHAWK RIVER FROM
    WHICH WATERFORD DERIVES
    ITS NAME
    Location: NEAR SOUTHEAST CORNER OF BROAD & SECOND STS., WATERFORD

  • WATERFORD
    1794
    OLDEST CONTINUOUSLY
    INCORPORATED VILLAGE
    IN NEW YORK STATE
    Location: ON US 4 4/5 MILE NORTH OF BROAD ST., WATERFORD

  • WATERFORD
    1794
    OLDEST CONTINUOUSLY
    INCORPORATED VILLAGE
    IN NEW YORK STATE
    Location: IN PARK, BROAD & FIRST STS. AT WATERFORD

  • WATERFORD
    1794
    OLDEST CONTINUOUSLY
    INCORPORATED VILLAGE
    IN NEW YORK STATE
    Location: IN FLATIRON PARK, BROAD & SIXTH STS., WATERFORD

  • WHITE HOMESTEAD
    ERECTED 1830 BY HUGH WHITE
    WHO HELPED DEVELOP COHOES
    POWER AND INDUSTRY; R.R.
    BUILDER; CONGRESSMAN; BROTHER
    OF CANVASS WHITE, C.E.,
    BUILDER OF ERIE CANAL
    Location: ON SARATOGA AVE., WATERFORD

County: SARATOGA
Town: WILTON, TOWN OF

  • BATTLE OF WILTON
    FEBRUARY 17, 1693
    BRITISH FORCE OF 250
    WHITES & 290 INDIANS
    ENGAGED FRENCH & INDIAN
    FORCE OF "600 OR 700" MEN
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 1/2 MILE WEST OF KINGS STATION

  • GRANT COTTAGE
    ENTRANCE TO COTTAGE
    ON MOUNT MCGREGOR
    SPLENID PANORAMA KNOWN
    AS "GRANT'S LAST VIEW"
    Location: ON US 9 AT WILTON

  • GRANT COTTAGE
    ENTRANCE TO COTTAGE
    ON MOUNT MCGREGOR
    SPLENID PANORAMA KNOWN
    AS "GRANT'S LAST VIEW"
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. LEADING TO COTTAGE ON MT. MCGREGOR

  • GRANT COTTAGE
    APPROACHING ROAD ON LEFT
    TO HOUSE ON
    MOUNT MCGREGOR WHERE
    ULYSSES S. GRANT
    DIED JULY 23, 1885
    Location: ON US 9 AT WILTON

  • GRANT COTTAGE
    APPROACHING ROAD TO HOUSE
    ON MOUNT MCGREGOR WHERE
    ULYSSES S. GRANT
    DIED JULY 23, 1885
    Location: ON US 9 AT WILTON

  • ULYSSES S. GRANT
    LIVED HERE
    DURING HIS LAST DAYS
    JUNE 16 TO JULY 23, 1885
    AND COMPLETED HIS
    PERSONAL MEMOIRS
    Location: ON LAWN IN FRONT OF COTTAGE ON MOUNT MCGREGOR

County: SCHENECTADY
Town: DUANESBURG, TOWN OF

  • BAPTIST CHURCH
    SOCIETY ORGANIZED 1800
    UNITING DUANESBURG & FLORIDA
    BAPTISTS - 1ST MINISTERS-ELDERS
    REUBEN MUDGE, ELNATHAN FINCH
    PRESENT EDIFICE BUILT 1868
    Location: ON NYS 30 AT BRAMAN CORNERS

  • CHRIST
    EPISCOPAL CHURCH
    BUILT 1792 CONSECRATED 1793
    BY BISHOP SAMUEL PROVOOST
    A GLEBE OF 80 ACRES PRESENTED
    BY JAMES DUANE FOR RECTORY
    Location: ON US 20 ABOUT 1 MILE WEST OF DUANESBURG

  • COUNTY LINE
    MEETING HOUSE
    ERECTED HERE ABOUT 1800
    IT WAS USED BY ALL
    DENOMINATIONS WORSHIPING
    IN THE VICINITY.
    Location: ON CO. RD. N. OF EATON CRNRS. SCHENECTADY-MONTGOMERY CO. LINE

  • DUANE MANSION
    ERECTED IN 1812, BY CATHERINE
    LIVINGSTON DUANE, YOUNGEST
    DAUGHTER OF HON. JAMES DUANE.
    GROUNDS PLANNED BY JACQUES
    RAMEE, NOTED FRENCH ARTIST
    Location: ON US 2 ABOUT 1/4 MILE EAST OF DUANESBURG

  • FRIENDS
    MEETING HOUSE
    ERECTED 1807 NEAR SITE
    OF ORIGINAL LOG STRUCTURE
    1ST PREACHER - EZEKIEL TRIPP
    SOCIETY ORGANIZED ABOUT 1790
    Location: ON NYS 7 AT QUAKER STREET

  • FROST HOMESTEAD
    THIS HOUSE WAS BUILT
    BY JAMES FROST IN 1834,
    USING RECLAIMED PORTIONS
    FROM THE FEATHERSTONHAUGH
    MANSION BUILT IN 1808
    Location: ON NYS 159 AT MARIAVILLE

  • JAMES DUANE
    BORN 1732 BURIED HERE 1797
    IN CONTINENTAL CONGRESS
    PROVINCIAL CONVENTION
    MAYOR OF NEW YORK, STATE
    SENATOR, FEDERAL JUDGE
    Location: ON US 20 ABOUT 1 MILE WEST OF DUANESBURG

  • NEAR SITE OF OLD
    SHERBURNE TANNERY
    EST. BY JOHN SHERBURNE
    ABOUT 1790. AFTER CLEARING
    LAND THE BUSINESS BROUGHT
    HIM OVER $100,000
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 2 MILES SOUTHWEST OF MARIAVILLE

  • OLD MILL SITE
    HERE AFTER REVOLUTION
    WERE BUILT A SAWMILL AND
    GRISTMILL. ABANDONED
    LATER BECAUSE FRESHETS
    TORE DAMS AWAY OFTEN
    Location: ON CLINE FARM NEAR EATON CRNRS.

  • OLD SHOP SITE
    WHERE BENJAMIN CUMMINGS
    FOUNDER OF CUMMINGS HOLLOW
    FORGED FIRST CIRCULAR SAW
    IN AMERICA IN 1814 FOR HIS
    SCHENECTADY MILL
    Location: ON CLINE FARM NEAR EATON CRNRS.

  • PIONEER BAPTIST
    OF SCHENECTADY COUNTY
    REV. ELIJAH HERRICK, 1ST TO
    PREACH IN DUANESBURG AFTER
    SERVICE IN REVOLUTION. AT
    CHARLESTON SERVED 50 YEARS
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 2 MILES SOUTHWEST OF MARIAVILLE

  • SITE OF
    POST OFFICE & STORE
    ESTABLISHED ABOUT 1820 BY
    LEMUEL EASTON AND RUN FOR
    YEARS. HE BROUGHT THE MAIL
    EACH SATURDAY ON HORSEBACK
    FROM AMSTERDAM
    Location: AT EATON CORNERS

  • SOCIETY OF THE REFORMED
    PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH
    ORG. 1795 BY REV. MCKINNEY,
    1ST MINISTERS: REV.
    MCMASTER, WYLIE, & RAMSAY.
    PRESENT EDIFICE BUILT 1836
    Location: ON US 20 ABOUT 1 MILE WEST OF DUANESBURG

  • WILLIAM NORTH
    BORN 1755 BURIED HERE 1836
    AIDE TO STEUBEN IN 1779
    GENERAL IN U.S. ARMY
    SON IN LAW OF JAMES DUANE
    ASSEMBLYMAN AND SPEAKER
    Location: ON US 20 ABOUT 1 MILE WEST OF DUANESBURG

County: SCHENECTADY
Town: GLENVILLE, TOWN OF

  • A FORMER LAKE
    JUST NORTH OF THESE GRAVEL
    KNOLLS IS THE BASIN OF A
    POSTGLACIAL LAKE. HERE MEN
    OF AN ARCTIC TYPE ONCE
    LIVED AND HUNTED
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 3/4 MI. WEST OF GLENVILLE

  • A NOTABLE HOME
    HERE ABOUT 1720 STOOD
    THE FIRST HOUSE IN THIS
    PART OF THE VALLEY,
    HOME OF SEVEN GENERATIONS
    OF THE VAN EPS FAMILY
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT HOFFMANS

  • ABRAHAM GLEN
    HOUSE 1730
    BUILT BY ABRAHAM GLEN
    WHERE KING'S HIGHWAY
    LEFT MOHAWK RIVER
    Location: ON MOHAWK AVE. IN SCOTIA

  • AN EARLY HOTEL
    KNOWN AS "UPPER NICKEY'S"
    BUILT AND KEPT BY NICHOLAS
    VAN PATTEN IN 18TH CNETURY.
    FIRST GLENVILLE TOWN
    MEETING HELD HERE IN 1821
    Location: ON NYS 147 ABOUT 1 1/2 MILES N. OF GLENVILLE CENTER

  • CEMENT MILL
    HERE, 1825-45, STOOD
    THE KILN AND MILL OF JOHN
    VAN EPS & SONS, MAKING
    THE FIRST HYDRAULIC CEMENT
    IN THIS PART OF THE STATE
    Location: ON NYS 5 NEAR SCHENECTADY-MONTGOMERY CO. LINE

  • CRABB KILL
    ABOUT 1770 EARLY SETTLERS
    BUILT A SAWMILL HERE, AND HERE
    (1840-1860) WAS THE TANNERY AND
    SHOESHOP OF ROCKWELL HARMON
    Location: ON COUNTY ROAD AT NORTHEAST EDGE OF GLENVILLE

  • FALL TREE KILL
    NAMED BY THE FIRST
    SETTLERS OF THE REGION.
    HERE, HIS PRIMITIVE BRIDGE
    A FALLEN TREE, THE RED MAN
    CROSSED THIS STREAM
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1 3/4 MIS. EAST OF GLENVILLE

  • FIRST CHURCH
    IN GLENVILLE
    BUILT 1785, HERE STOOD THE
    "CHURCH AT THE WOESTINA"
    (CHURCH IN THE WILDERNESS)
    REMOVED TO ROTTERDAM 1812
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. AT HOFFMANS

  • FIRST REFORMED
    DUTCH CHURCH
    OF GLENVILLE, BUILT 1812-
    13, REMODELED 1871
    SIMON I. VAN PATTEN,
    ARCHITECT AND BUILDER
    Location: ON CO. ROAD AT GLENVILLE

  • GLEN-SANDERS HOUSE, 1713
    BUILT BY CAPT. JOHANNES
    GLEN PARTLY OF MATERIALS
    IN FIRST MOHAWK VALLEY
    HOUSE BUILT BY ALEXANDER
    GLEN, 1655
    Location: INTERSECTION OF MOHAWK & SANDERS AVES., SCOTIA

  • HOFFMANS FERRY
    HERE ABOUT 1790 HARMANUS
    VEDDER ESTABLISHED A FERRY
    WHICH BORE HIS NAME UNTIL
    1835 WHEN THE FERRY RIGHTS
    WERE BOUGHT BY J. HOFFMAN
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT HOFFMANS

  • JOSIAS SWART
    HOMESTEAD
    CALLED THE SIXTH FLAT
    JOSIAS SWART, B. 1653, RECEIVED
    A DEED FROM THE TRUSTEES
    OF SCHENECTADY AUGUST 5, 1713.
    Location: ON NYS 5 ABOUT 1 1/2 MILES EAST OF HOFFMANS

  • KINAQUARIONES
    SITE OF ARCHAIC ALGONKIAN
    VILLAGE; ITS CORN PITS YET
    REMAIN. THROUGH THIS VALE
    RAN A GREAT AND ANCIENT
    PATH, TROD BY MANY RACES
    Location: ON COUNTY ROAD ABOUT 1/2 MILE NORTHWEST OF HOFFMANS

  • MOHAWK TURNPIKE
    COLONIAL HIGHWAY WESTWARD
    TO ST. JOHNSVILLE KNOWN
    AS "KING'S HIGHWAY"
    MILITARY ROAD 1812
    Location: ON MOHAWK AVE., SCOTIA

  • PRIMITIVE PATH
    HERE RAN A GREAT AND WELL-
    BEATEN PATH USED BY THE
    ARCHAIC ALGONKIAN AND OTHER
    NATIONS, GOING BETWEEN THE
    SEA COAST AND INTERIOR
    Location: ON PRIVATE ROAD ABOUT 1/4 MILE WEST OF GLENVILLE

  • PRIMITIVE PATH
    HERE RAN A GREAT AND WELL-
    BEATEN PATH USED BY THE
    ARCHAIC ALGONKIAN AND OTHER
    NATIONS, GOING BETWEEN THE
    SEA COAST AND INTERIOR
    Location: ON COUNTY ROAD ABOUT 1 MI. EST OF GLENVILLE

  • SITE OF
    M.E. CHURCH ERECTED 1823.
    FIRST PASTOR REV. ROSWELL
    KELLY. 1842 ORGANIZATION
    REMOVED TO GLENVILLE AND A
    NEW BRICK CHURCH BUILT
    Location: ON CO. RD. ON MONTGOMERY-SCHENECTADY CO. LINE ABOUT 3/4 MI. SOUTHWEST OF GREEN CORNERS

  • THE CAMP, 1755-1812
    AMERICAN ARMIES CAMPING
    GROUND ON MOHAWK RIVER
    FLATS WEST OF GLEN-
    SANDERS HOUSE
    Location: INTERSECTION OF BALSTON & SANDERS AVE. AT SCOTIA

  • TINKER HILL
    SITE OF BLOCKHOUSE NEAR
    RIVER BANK, BUILT BY CAPT.
    TURNIS SWART. STOCKADED
    AND ARMED WITH FIELD PIECE
    IN WAR OF REVOLUTION
    Location: ON NYS 5 ABOUT 1/4 MILE WEST OF HUTCHINSON

  • VAN VLECK HOME
    HERE, ABOUT 1770, HARMANUS
    VAN VLECK CLEARED A TRACT
    AND BUILT HIS HOUSE IN THE
    DENSE FOREST, YET HAUNT OF
    THE WOLF, BEAR AND PANTHER
    Location: ON COUNTY ROAD AT GLENVILLE

  • WOLF HOLLOW
    A FAULT AND DISPLACEMENT
    OF 1000 FEET IN EARTH'S
    SURFACE ROCKS. HERE, IN
    1669, THE MOHAWKS AMBUSHED
    THEIR ALGONKIAN INVADERS
    Location: ON CO. ROAD ABOUT 1/2 MILE NORTH OF HOFFMANS

  • WOLF HOLLOW
    A FAULT AND DISPLACEMENT
    OF 1000 FEET IN EARTH'S
    SURFACE ROCKS. HERE, IN
    1669, THE MOHAWKS AMBUSHED
    THEIR ALGONKIAN INVADERS
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1 1/2 MILES NORTH OF HOFFMANS

County: SCHENECTADY
Town: NISKAYUNA, TOWN OF

  • ALBANY PATH
    SKA-NEK-TA-DE
    TRAIL THROUGH OPEN PINES
    WAGON, STAGECOACH AND
    MILITARY ROAD, NOW STATE
    ST. AND ROUTE 5 TO ALBANY
    Location: ON NYS 5 AT EAST LIMITS OF SCHENECTADY

  • NISKAYUNA DUTCH
    REFORMED CHURCH
    ERECTED IN 1828
    PRECEDED BY AN EDIFICE BUILT
    IN 1760 - "GEBED HUIS," HOUSE OF
    PRAYER, FIRST BUILDING, ABOUT 1754
    Location: ON SCH'DY. - TROY RD. ABOUT 1/4 MILE EAST OF NISKAYUNA

County: SCHENECTADY
Town: PRINCETOWN, TOWN OF

  • LIDDLE HOUSE
    BUILT 1793 BY ROBERT
    LIDDLE, EARLY SETTLER OF
    DUANESBURGH, WHO CAME
    FROM NEW CASTLETON,
    ROXBURGSHIRE, SCOTLAND
    Location: ON NYS 7 ABOUT 1 1/2 MILES EAST OF DUANESBURG

County: SCHENECTADY
Town: ROTTERDAM, TOWN OF

  • BRADT HOUSE
    1735
    EARLY TYPE OF DUTCH
    FARMHOUSE. TO WEST WAS
    WOESTINA (WILDERNESS)
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 3/4 MILE NORTH OF ROTTERDAM

  • JAN MABIE HOUSE 1670
    MOST WESTERLY SETTLEMENT
    ON GROOTE VLACKTE (GREAT
    FLATS). BUILT BY DANIEL
    JANSE VAN ANTWERPEN
    Location: ON NYS 5S ABOUT 1/2 MILE E. OF ROTTERDAM JUNCTION

  • JAN MABIE HOUSE, 1670
    OLDEST HOUSE IN MOHAWK
    VALLEY, EAST OF THIS
    POINT, BUILT BY DANIEL
    JANSE VAN ANTWERPEN, 1670
    Location: ON NYS 5S ABOUT 1/2 MILE E. OF ROTTERDAM JUNCTION

County: SCHENECTADY
Town: SCHENECTADY, CITY OF

  • CANADA 1760
    AMHERST WITH 6000 AMERI-
    CANS 4000 BRITISH & 200
    BOATS MARCHED VIA MOHAWK
    &OSWEGO TO CAPTURE OF
    MONTREAL SEPT. 8, 1760
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF STATE ST. & WASHINGTON AVE.

  • CLINTON'S EXPEDITION
    JUNE 11, 1779 LEFT WITH
    1500 MEN & 200 BATTEAUX
    FOR SULLIVAN CAMPAIGN
    AGAINST IROQUOIS
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF STATE ST. & WASHINGTON AVE.

  • EARLY BRIDGE
    WOODEN SUSPENSION BRIDGE
    ERECTED HERE 1808 DESIGNED
    BY THEODORE BURR. USED BY
    SARATOGA RY., 1832-39.
    REPLACED 1874
    Location: AT END OF WASHINGTON AVE.

  • FREE MASONRY
    ST. GEORGE'S LODGE, NO.6
    F. & A.M. FOUNDED HERE
    1774 AUSPICES OF SIR
    JOHN JOHNSON, GRAND
    MASTER, NEW YORK COLONY
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF STATE ST. & ERIE BLVD.

  • JOHN GLEN
    HOUSE C. 1765
    WASHINGTON OCCUPIED N.E.
    BEDROOM SECOND FLOOR
    ON FIRST VISIT TO
    SCHENECTADY IN 1775

  • RIDE OF SYMON
    SCHERMERHORN
    ON NIGHT OF FEB. 8, 1690.
    ALTHOUGH WOUNDED HE RODE
    20 MILES TO ALBANY
    WARNING SETTLERS
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF FRONT & CHURCH STS.

  • ROBERT SANDERS
    HOUSE 1750
    WASHINGTON VISITED
    HERE IN 1775
    LATER BECAME SCHENECTADY
    FEMALE ACADEMY
    Location: ON WASHINGTON AVE.

  • SCHENECTADY
    ACADEMY
    ERECTED ON THIS CORNER
    BY DUTCH CHURCH 1785
    USED BY UNION COLLEGE 1796-
    1804. CITY HALL 1805-15
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF FERRY ST. & UNION ST.

  • SCHENECTADY
    SETTLED BY DUTCH UNDER
    ARENT VAN CURLER 1661
    BOROUGH 1765
    CITY 1798
    COUNTY SEAT 1808
    Location: AT CITY HALL, JAY ST. AND LIBERTY ST.

  • SITE OF
    FIRST MILL
    BUILT BY SWEER TEUNSIE ON
    MILL KILL 1666. DESTROYED
    BY FLOOD 1673 AND REBUILT.
    FIRST INDUSTRY OF THE
    MOHAWK VALLEY
    Location: ON MILL LANE BETWEEN SO. FERRY ST. & STATE ST.

  • SOUTH SHORE ROAD
    COLONIAL-REVOLUTIONARY
    ROAD TO FORT STANWIX
    AND OSWEGO. ROUTE OF
    TROUPS IN FIVE WARS
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF STATE ST. & ERIE BLVD.

  • ST. GEORGE'S
    CHURCH 1762
    ORGANIZED 1736. PART OF
    PRESENT CHURCH BUILT 1759
    USED AS BARRACKS
    DURING REVOLUTION
    Location: ON FERRY ST. BETWEEN UNION & FRONT STS.

  • UNION COLLEGE
    CHARTER GRANTED 1795
    PRESENT NORTH AND SOUTH
    COLLEGE BUILDINGS ERECTED
    1813-14 FROM PLANS
    BY JACQUES RAMEE
    Location: ON UNION ST. OPPOSITE NOTT TERRACE

  • YATES HOUSE
    REPUTED OLDEST HOUSE
    IN CITY. TYPICAL EARLY
    18TH CENTURY HOME OF
    ABRAHAM YATES
    Location: ON UNION ST. BETWEEN CHURCH & FERRY STS.

County: SCHOHARIE
Town: BLENHEIM, TOWN OF

  • BLENHEIM BRIDGE
    LONGEST SINGLE SPAN WOODEN
    BRIDGE IN WORLD. BUILT BY
    BLENHEIM BRIDGE COMPANY
    INCORPORATED 1828. LAST OF
    ITS KIND IN THIS REGION
    Location: ON NYS 30 AT NO. BLENHEIM

  • [ARROW]
    INDIAN TRAIL
    WESTKILL TO DELAWARE RIVER
    AND SOUTH TO SUSQUEHANNA
    RIVER AND WEST. ONE OF
    MANY TRAILS GIVING IROQUOIS
    CONTROL OF LARGE AREAS
    Location: ON NYS 30 AT NO. BLENHEIM

  • [ARROW]
    MANOR HOUSE
    BUILT BY JOHN LANSING
    ABOUT 1800. JUSTICE OF
    N. Y. SUPREME COURT, 1790-1801.
    CHANCELLOR 1801-14. OWNER
    PART OF BLENHEIM PATENT
    Location: ON NYS 30 ABOUT 3 MIS. S. OF NORTH BLENHEIM

  • [ARROW]
    MANOR HOUSE
    BUILT BY JOHN LANSING
    ABOUT 1800. JUSTICE OF
    N.Y. SUPREME COURT, 1790-1801
    CHANCELLOR 1801-14. OWNER
    PART OF BLENHEIM
    Location: NYS ROUTE 30, 3 MI. SO. OF NORTH BLENHEIM

County: SCHOHARIE
Town: CONESVILLE, TOWN OF

  • RICHTMYER TAVERN
    BUILT IN 1789
    FIRST TOWN MEETING WAS
    HELD TO FORM THE PRESENT
    TOWN OF CONESVILLE, 1836
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 2 MIS. EAST OF CONESVILLE

County: SCHOHARIE
Town: ESPERANCE, TOWN OF

  • METHODIST
    EPISCOPAL CHURCH
    INC. MARCH 1835. ORIGINAL
    CHURCH ERECTED 1836. PRESENT
    EDIFICE BUILT IN 1868. REV.
    S. COLEMAN, FIRST PASTOR
    Location: ON US 20 AT ESPERANCE

  • SITE OF
    INDIAN STONE HEAP
    KNOWN TO HAVE EXISTED IN 1753
    ROUTE TAKEN BY SIR JOHN JOHNSON
    FROM SCHOHARIE TO MOHAWK VALLEY
    LED PAST THIS MONUMENT
    Location: ON NYS 148 ABOUT 1/2 MI. N. OF SLOANSVILLE

  • SITE OF ENCAMPMENT
    OF JOSEPH BRANT, INDIANS
    SIR JOHN JOHNSON AND REGU-
    LARS ON OCT. 17, 1780
    AFTER RAIDING SCHOHARIE &
    DESTROYING KNISKERN DORF
    Location: ON NYS 148 ABOUT 1 1/4 MIS. S. OF SLOANSVILLE

  • THE PRESBYTERIAN (OLD STONE)
    CHURCH, ESPERANCE, N.Y.
    ORGANIZED MAY 4, 1823
    EDIFICE DEDICATED JULY 4, 1824
    SHELDON JACKSON RECEIVED AS MEMBER
    OCT. 2, 1853. REMODELED
    AND REDEDICATED JAN. 14, 1897
    Location: ON US 20 AT ESPERANCE

County: SCHOHARIE
Town: FULTON, TOWN OF

  • BOUCK'S ISLAND
    HOME OF WILLIAM C. BOUCK
    BORN 1786-DIED 1859;
    GOVERNOR OF STATE OF
    NEW YORK, 1842-44
    Location: ON NYS 30 ABOUT 4 MIS. S. OF MIDDLEBURG

  • SITE OF HOME
    TIMOTHY MURPHY
    WHERE HE LIVED DURING 1784
    AND DIED JUNE 22, 1818,
    AGE 67; REVOLUTIONARY SCOUT
    Location: ON NYS 30 ABOUT 3 MIS. S. OF MIDDLEBURG

  • VROMAN'S LAND
    PATENT GRANTED AUG. 1714
    MANY MINOR ENGAGEMENTS
    EARLY IN REVOLUTION TOOK
    PLACE NEAR THIS MOUNTAIN,
    ONISTAGRAW
    Location: ON NYS 30 ABOUT 3/4 MIS. S. OF MIDDLEBURG

  • [ARROW]
    INDIAN TRAIL
    WAR ROUTE OF REVOLUTION
    PANTHER CREEK TO CHARLOTTE
    AND SUSQUENHANNA RIVERS
    THENCE TO NIAGARA. USED BY
    BRITISH INVADERS OCT. 1780
    Location: ON NYS 30 ABOUT1 MI. N. OF BREAKABEEN

  • [ARROW]
    INDIAN TRAIL
    KEYSER TO CATSKILL CREEK
    AND HUDSON RIVER, CONNECTING
    HUDSON, SCHOHARIE, MOHAWK,
    DELAWARE AND SUSQUEHANNA
    VALLEYS AND THE WEST
    Location: ON NYS 30 AT BREAKABEEN

  • [ARROW] 500 FT.
    SITE OF UPPER VALLEY FORT
    HOUSE OF JOHN FEECK WAS
    INCLOSED BY LOG STOCKADE
    IN REVOLUTION. INCLOSURE
    CONTAINED 4 BLOCKHOUSES,
    DEWELLING AND EARTHWORKS
    Location: ON NYS 30 ABOUT 3 MIS. S. OF MIDDLEBURG

County: SCHOHARIE
Town: JEFFERSON, TOWN OF

  • JEFFERSON ACADEMY
    1812, ONE OF FIRST SCHOOLS
    OF ITS KIND BUILT IN SCHOHARIE
    COUNTY BY PUBLIC SUBSCRIPTION;
    REV. WM. SALSBURY, PRINCIPAL
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. AT JEFFERSON

  • UTSAYANTHA LAKE
    NAMED AFTER INDIAN MAIDEN
    FAMOUS IN INDIAN LEGEND
    ON TRAIL FROM SCHOHARIE TO
    DELAWARE AND SUSQUEHANNA
    RIVERS. HEADWATER OF DEL.
    Location: ON NYS 10 AT SCHOHARIE-DELAWARE COUNTY LINE

  • VILLAGE GREEN
    STEPHEN JUDD IN 1817 GAVE
    THE DEED TO 108 RODS OF
    LAND TO BE USED AS A GENERAL
    TRAINING GROUND AND LANDS
    FOR THE ACADEMY
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. AT JEFFERSON

  • [ARROW]
    SITE OF BATTLE
    BETWEEN SCHOHARIE MILITIA
    UNDER CAPT. JACOB HAGER
    OF UPPER FORT AND INDIANS
    AND TORIES UNDER CHIEF
    BRANT, NOV. 2, 1781
    Location: ON NYS 10 ABOUT 1 MI. S. OF SO. JEFFERSON

County: SCHOHARIE
Town: MIDDLEBURG, TOWN OF

  • HARTMAN'S DORF
    FOUNDED 1713 BY
    HARTMAN WINEDECKER
    AS A HOME FOR PALATINES
    Location: ON NYS 30 ABOUT 1 1/2 MIS. N. OF MIDDLEBURG

  • ON THIS SITE DWELT
    CAPT. GEORGE RECHTMYER
    DEFENDER OF MIDDLE FORT
    OCTOBER 17, 1780
    IN COMMAND AT FT. DUBOISE
    JUNE 3, 1779
    Location: ON NYS 30 ABOUT 2 1/2 MIS. N. OF MIDDLEBURG

  • SITE OF
    INDIAN COUNCIL
    ASSEMBLED HERE 1754 TO
    DECIDE WHOM TO SUPPORT DURING
    FRENCH AND INDIAN WAR
    Location: ON NYS 30 ABOUT 1/2 MI. N. OF MIDDLEBURG

  • SITE OF
    1ST REFORMED
    CHURCH
    BUILT 1732
    BURNED AUG. 17, 1780 BY
    BRANT AND JOHNSON
    Location: ON NYS 145 AT MIDDLEBURG

  • SITE OF
    MIDDLE FORT
    FORTIFIED AUG. 13, 1777
    TO PROTECT INHABITANTS
    DURING INVASION OF
    BRANT AND JOHNSON
    Location: ON NYS 30 AT MIDDLEBURG

  • WEISER'S DORF
    FIRST SETTLEMENT IN
    SCHOHARIE COUNTY
    FOUNDED 1712-13
    BY JOHN C. WEISER
    AS A HOME FOR PALATINES
    Location: ON NYS 145 AT MIDDLEBURG

County: SCHOHARIE
Town: RICHMONDVILLE, TOWN OF

  • 100 YDS. [ARROW]
    SITE OF
    2 RICHMONDVILLE
    SEMINARIES BUILT 1852 AND 1853
    BURNED 1852 AND 1854
    400 STUDENTS ACCOMODATED
    Location: ON NYS 7 AT RICHMONDVILLE

  • 100 YDS. [ARROW]
    SITE OF
    GRIST MILL
    BUILT BY ASHA BAILEY 1807
    ONE OF FIRST EARLY MILLS
    IN SCHOHARIE COUNTY
    Location: ON NYS 7 AT RICHMONDVILLE

  • BATTLE OF
    COBLESKILL
    ON MAY 30, 1778
    JOSEPH BRANT WITH
    TORIES AND INDIANS
    BURNED THE SETTLEMENT
    Location: ON NYS 7 ABOUT 1 MILE W. OF WARNERVILLE

  • BIRTHPLACE OF
    CORPORAL JAMES TANNER
    1844-1927, ENLISTED 87TH N.Y.
    VOL.-CO. C. WOUNDED SECOND
    BATTLE BULL RUN. PRESENT AT
    LINCOLN'S DEATH BED
    Location: ON NYS 7 AT W. RICHMONDVILLE

  • NICHOLAS WARNER
    ONE HALF MILE NORTH FROM HERE
    STOOD HOME OF NICHOLAS WARNER
    BURNED DURING BATTLE OF COBLES-
    KILL MAY 30, 1778
    Location: ON NYS 7 AT WARNERVILLE

  • OLD RESIDENCE
    OF HON. JOHN WESTOVER
    1797-1887
    BENEFACTOR OF THE VILLAGE
    OF RICHMONDVILLE
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT RICHMONDVILLE

  • SITE OF
    OLD PAPER MILL
    1865-1883
    OPERATED BY WESTOVER
    AND FOSTER
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. AT RICHMONDVILLE

  • SITE OF
    LOG CABIN
    SCHOOL HOUSE
    FIRST BUILT IN RICHMONDVILLE
    ABOUT 1807
    Location: ON NYS 7 AT RICHMONDVILLE

  • SITE OF
    GEO. DOX TAVERN
    BUILT 1795, FIRST INN
    ERECTED IN VILLAGE AND
    FIRST POST OFFICE IN 1825,
    J. WARNWE FIRST POSTMASTER
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF NYS 7 & NYS 10, RICHMONDVILLE

  • WARNERVILLE UNION
    LITERARY SEMINARY
    ERECTED 1853, ONE OF
    SIX EARLY SEMINARIES IN
    SCHOHARIE COUNTY
    Location: ON NYS 7 AT WARNERVILLE

County: SCHOHARIE
Town: SCHOHARIE, TOWN OF

  • GEORGE MANN
    TORY TAVERN
    KNOWN IN THE REVOLUTIONARY
    DAYS AS "THE BRICK HOUSE
    AT THE FORKS OF THE ROAD"
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF NYS 30 & NYS 43

  • JACOB SNYDER
    HOUSE
    KNOWN IN 1802 AS
    "YANKEE PETE TAVERN"
    ORIGINAL INN DESTROYED
    DURING REVOLUTION
    Location: ON NYS 43 ABOUT 3 MIS. W. OF GALLUPVILLE

  • OLDEST BUILDING
    IN SCHOHARIE COUNTY 1743
    LUTHERAN PARSONAGE
    PETER N. SOMMERS, DOMINIE
    FIRST SERVICES HELD
    SEPT. 12, 1743
    Location: ON NYS 30 AT SCHOHARIE

  • SITE OF
    BLOCK HOUSE
    BUILT 1781
    USED BY INHABITANTS
    DURING INDIAN RAIDS
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF NYS 7 & NYS 30

  • SITE OF
    SIMEON LARAWAY MILL
    ON MILL BROOK
    ERECTED 1737
    Location: ON NYS 30 AT SCHOHARIE

  • STONE CHURCH
    PARSONAGE
    THE FIRST HOME OF REV.
    JOHANNIS SCHUYLER
    PASTOR OFTHE OLD CHURCH
    FORTRESS FOR 31 YEARS
    Location: ON NYS 30 AT SCHOHARIE

  • SWARTS TAVERN
    ERECTED ABOUT 1772
    DUEL BETWEEN PHILIP
    SCHUYLER 2D AND JOSIAH
    CLARK FOUGHT BACK OF
    BUILDING IN 1820
    Location: ON NYS 30 AT SCHOHARIE

  • [ARROW] 300 FT.
    FIRST COURT HOUSE
    IN SCHOHARIE THE WAGON HOUSE
    OF JOHANNIS INGOLD. COURT
    HELD HERE DEC. 1795
    WILLIAM BEEKMAN, JUDGE
    Location: ON NYS 30 AT SCHOHARIE

County: SCHOHARIE
Town: SHARON, TOWN OF

  • CAMP OF CEDAR SWAMP
    JULY 10, 1781, TORY CAPTAIN
    DOCKSTADER WITH 500 INDIANS
    WERE ROUTED HERE BY CAPT.
    WILLETT AND BATTLE OF SHARON
    OCCURRED JUST WEST OF HERE
    Location: ON US 20 BETWEEN SHARON & SHARON CENTER

  • FIRST LUTHERAN
    CONGREATION
    IN SCHOHARIE COUNTY
    FOUNDED IN 1745 BY
    REV. PETER N. SOMMERS
    Location: ON NYS 10 AT BEEKMAN CORNERS

  • LEESVILLE
    CALVIN RICH SETTLED HERE
    IN 1784. HERE STOOD A
    TOLLGATE ON THE
    GREAT WESTERN TURNPIKE
    Location: ON US 20 AT LEESVILLE

  • OLD LOONENBERGH TURNPIKE
    THIS OLD TURNPIKE SURVEYED
    IN 1802 WAS THE MAIN ROUTE
    OF TRAVEL FOR STAGE AND
    OXCART FROM HUDSON RIVER
    VALLEY NORTH AND WEST
    Location: ON NYS 10 AT BEEKMAN CORNERS

  • WILLIAM BEEKMAN MANSION
    BUILT 1802
    WILL BEEKMAN WAS FIRST
    JUDGE OF COURT HELD IN SCHOHARIE
    COUNTY. DIED HERE NOV. 26, 1845.
    BURIED ON THIS FARM
    Location: ON NYS 10 ABOUT 3/4 MI. N. OF BEEKMAN CORNERS

County: SCHOHARIE
Town: SUMMIT, TOWN OF

  • OLD TOLL GATE
    ON RICHMONDVILE-
    CHARLOTTENVILLE PLANK ROAD
    1855
    Location: ON NYS 10 ABOUT 1 MILE NORTH OF SUMMIT

  • SITE OF
    PEOPLE'S COLLEGE
    1/4 MILE [ARROW]
    ERECTED 1855, BURNED 1867
    ONE OF SIX EARLY SEMINARIES
    IN SCHOHARIE COUNTY
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT CHARLOTTEVILLE

  • SITE OF
    CHARLOTTEVILLE
    SEMINARY
    BUILT 1850, BURNED 1856
    FIRST OF SIX SEMINARIES IN
    SCHOHARIE COUNTY
    Location: ON COUNTY RD AT CHARLOTTEVILLE

  • THE BEARS GULF
    ONCE USED AS INDIAN TRAIL
    ORIGINAL DAM ERECTED 1842
    PRESENT DAM BUILT 1863
    BY JOHN WESTOVER TO FURNISH
    WATER POWER FOR VARIOUS MILLS
    Location: ON TOWN RD. AT N. END OF BEARS GULF L. ABOUT 1 MI. N.W. OF SUMMIT

County: SCHOHARIE
Town: WRIGHT, TOWN OF

  • BECKER STONE HOUSE
    BUILT 1772
    THE TORY, CRYSLER, WITH A
    BAND OF INDIANS GAVE
    BATTLE ON JULY 26, 1782
    Location: ON NYS 43 WEST OF GALLUPVILLE

County: SCHUYLER
Town: CATHARINE, TOWN OF

  • CATHARINE M.E. CHURCH
    ON SITE OF EARLIER EDIFICE
    WHICH WAS THE
    FIRST CHURCH
    BUILDING IN COUNTY
    ERECTED 1807
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. IN CATHARINE

County: SCHUYLER
Town: DIX, TOWN OF

  • JANE A. DELANO
    FOUNDER AMERICAN RED CROSS
    NURSING SERVICE, 1909
    BORN IN TOWNSEND
    MARCH 12, 1862
    Location: IN FRONT OF GRANGE HALL AT TOWNSEND

County: SCHUYLER
Town: HECTOR, TOWN OF

  • CAMP SITE
    GEN. POOR'S
    BRIGADE
    CAMP, LINE NORTH-SOUTH
    SULLIVAN-CLINTON CAMPAIGN
    SEPTEMBER 3, 1779
    Location: ON NYS 414 ABOUT 1/2 MILE SOUTH OF HECTOR

  • CAMP SITE
    GEN. HAND'S
    LIGHT CORPS
    CAMP, EXTENDING WEST HERE
    SULLIVAN-CLINTON CAMPAIGN
    SEPTEMBER 3, 1779
    Location: ON NYS 414 AT HECTOR

  • CAMP SITE
    GEN. CLINTON'S
    BRIGADE
    CAMP, LINE EAST-WEST
    SULLIVAN-CLINTON CAMPAIGN
    SEPTEMBER 3, 1779
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 1 MILE SOUTHWEST OF HECTOR

  • CAMP SITE
    GEN. MAXWELL'S BRIGADE
    CAMP EXTENDING NORTH HERE
    SULLIVAN-CLINTON CAMPAIGN
    SEPTEMBER 3, 1779
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 1 MILE SOUTH OF HECTOR

  • CON-DAW-HAW
    SITE OF IROQUOIS VILLAGE
    CONSISTING OF CORNFIELDS
    LONG HOUSE & CABINS
    DESTROYED SEPT. 4, 1779 BY
    GEN. SULLIVAN'S TROOPS
    Location: ON NYS 414 AT VALOIS

  • EARLY SETTLER
    STATES SURVEY 1790
    LOCATES HERE CABIN ONE
    MASTERS
    WITH TWENTY ACRES
    CLEARED LAND
    Location: ON NYS 414 N. OF HECTOR

  • EPISCOPAL PARISH
    CONSECRATED HERE 1830 BY
    BISHOP HOBART. CHURCH
    BUILDINGS AND SUPPORT OF
    RECTOR MADE POSSIBLE THROUGH
    GIFTS OF ELIZABETH WOODWARD
    Location: ON NYS 414 AT HECTOR

  • FERRY
    ESTABLISHED 1805 BETWEEN
    THIS POINT AND STARKEY
    BY JOHN GOODWIN
    CHARTERED BY STATE, 1820
    FRANK WOOD, PILOT, 1867-97
    Location: ON LAKE SHORE AT VALOIS

  • FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH
    ORGANIZED 1809
    PRESENT EDIFICE BUILT 1818
    SUNDAY SCHOOL
    HELD CONTINUOUSLY
    SINCE 1813
    Location: ON NYS 414 AT HECTOR

  • HON. HENRY FISH
    HOMESTEAD
    BUILT 1815-1820. FIRST
    ASSEMBLYMAN FROM SCHUYLER
    COUNTY 1858, CHAIRMAN
    FIRST BOARD SUPERVISORS
    Location: ON NYS 79 AT MECKLENBURG

  • MILITARY ROUTE
    OF THE SULLIVAN-CLINTON
    ARMY ON ITS CAMPAIGN
    AGAINST THE BRITISH
    AND INDIANS OF WESTERN
    NEW YORK IN 1779
    Location: ON NYS 414 ABOUT 1/2 MILE SOUTH OF HECTOR

  • MILITARY ROUTE
    OF THE SULLIVAN-CLINTON
    ARMY ON ITS CAMPAIGN
    AGAINST THE BRITISH
    AND INDIANS OF WESTERN
    NEW YORK IN 1779
    Location: ON NYS 227 AT BURDETT

  • PEACH ORCHARD
    (GA-DI-ODJI-YA-DA)
    SITE OF IROUQUOIS VILLAGE
    GEN. SULLIVAN CAMPED HERE
    SEPTEMBER 3, 1779
    Location: ON NYS 414 AT HECTOR

  • SAMUEL A. SEELY ERECTED A
    WOOLEN MILL
    AT THIS PLACE IN 1801
    THE FIRST IN
    SCHUYLER COUNTY
    Location: ON NYS 414 ABOUT 3 MILES NORTH OF WATKINS GLEN

  • SAW MILL CREEK
    FIRST SAW MILL IN SECTION
    LOCATED HERE. BUILT BY
    REUBEN SMITH, 1795-6
    Location: ON NYS 414 AT HECTOR

  • SITE OF
    OLDEST HOUSE
    IN TOWN OF BURDETTE
    USED AS TAVERN, SCHOOL &
    MASONIC HALL. CONTAINS
    INTERESTING RELICS
    Location: ON NYS 227 AT BURDETT

  • SITE OF CABIN OF
    WILLIAM WYCKHAM
    FIRST SETTLER IN
    TOWN OF HECTOR 1791.
    DIRECT DESCENDANT OF
    EARL OF WYCKHAM
    Location: ON NYS 414 ABOUT 2 MILES SOUTH OF HECTOR

  • WAREHOUSE
    ON THIS SITE IN 1823
    A VESSEL LOADED 70 TONS
    OF WHEAT & REACHED PORT
    OF NEW YORK THROUGH
    THE ERIE CANAL
    Location: ON NYS 414 ABOUT 3 MILES NORTH OF WATKINS GLEN

County: SCHUYLER
Town: MONTOUR, TOWN OF

  • CATHERINE'S
    LANDING
    1ST STORE & INN IN REGION
    LOCATED HERE 1805
    AT HEAD OF LAKE NAVIGATION
    Location: ON NYS 14 AT MONTOUR FALLS

  • FIRST ROAD
    IN SCHUYLER COUNTY
    BUILT JUNE, 1799 FROM
    PRESENT OWEGA ST. BRIDGE
    TO SPENSER. KNOW AS THE
    CATH. SPENSER TURNPIKE
    Location: ON NYS AT MONTOUR FALLS

  • MILITARY ROUTE
    OF THE SULLIVAN-CLINTON
    ARMY ON ITS CAMPAIGN
    AGAINST THE BRITISH
    AND INDIANS OF WESTERN
    NEW YORK IN 1779
    Location: ON NYS 14 JUST SOUTH OF MONTOUR FALLS

  • SHE-QUA-GA
    "TUMBLING WATERS"
    A SKETCH NOW IN THE LOUVRE
    MADE ABOUT 1820 BY
    LOUIS PHILIPPE
    LATER KING OF FRANCE
    Location: ON GENESEE ST. IN MONTOUR

County: SCHUYLER
Town: READING, TOWN OF

  • UNDERGROUND
    RAILROAD
    LUTHER CLEVELAND AND WIFE
    SHELTERED FUGITIVE SLAVES
    HERE, AND HELPED THEM ON
    THEIR WAY TO CANADA
    Location: ON NYS 14 ABOUT 3 MILES NORTH OF WATKINS GLEN

County: SCHUYLER
Town: TYRONE, TOWN OF

  • SITE OF
    PRE-HISTORIC
    INDIAN VILLAGE
    OLDEST FOUND IN NEW YORK
    ESTIMATED TO DATE
    FROM 1000 B.C.
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 1/2 MILE WEST OF WESTON

County: SENECA
Town: COVERT, TOWN OF

  • OLD BAPTIST CHURCH
    FOUNDED COVERT, N.Y, FEB. 16,
    1803. 1ST PASTOR MINOR THOMAS.
    "MOTHER CHURCH" OF SENECA
    BAPTIST ASSOCIATION.
    OLD COVERT CEMETERY NEARBY
    Location: ON NYS 96 AT COVERT

  • OLD SCHOOL HOUSE
    THIS BUILDING WAS THE 2D
    USED FOR SCHOOL PURPOSES
    IN FARMERSVILLE, NEW YORK
    IN 1845 WAS KNOWN AS THE
    "FARMERSVILLE INSTITUTE"
    Location: ON YS 96A AT INTERLAKEN

  • THE BEEHIVE
    TAVERN OF PIONEER DAYS
    ERECTED 1824
    3D FLOOR USED FOR
    VARIOUS MEETINGS
    Location: ON NYS 96 AT INTERLAKEN

County: SENECA
Town: FAYETTE, TOWN OF

  • APPROACHING
    THE FARM OF
    JOHN JOHNSTON
    1791-1880
    FATHER OF TILE-DRAINING
    IN AMERICA
    Location: ON NYS 96A ABOUT 4 MILES NORTH-WEST OF FAYETTE

  • BURROUGH'S POINT
    SITE OF INDIAN VILLAGE
    DESTROYED DURING SULLIVAN
    CAMPAIGN, 1779. TROOPS
    UNDER COL. HENRY DEARBORN
    ENCAMPED HERE
    Location: ON NYS 89 ABOUT 3 MILES NORTH OF CANOGA

  • CANOGA
    GA-NO-GEH OF THE INDIANS
    INCLUDED IN RESERVATION BY
    INDIAN SACHEM FISH-CARRIER
    BY TREATY OF 1795
    Location: ON NYS 89 AT CANOGA

  • CANOGA CREEK
    SITE OF THE INDIAN VILLAGE
    OF SKANNAYUTENATE
    RED JACKET, THE INDIAN
    ORATOR WAS BORN HERE
    Location: ON NYS 89 ABOUT1 1/2 MI. NORTH OF CANOGA

  • CANOGA LANDING
    SITE OF INDIAN VILLAGE
    DESTROYED DURING
    SULLIVAN CAMPAIGN, 1779
    FRONTENAC IS. JUST EAST
    & NEARLY ACROSS THE LAKE
    Location: ON TOWN RD. SHORE CAYUGA L. ABOUT 1 1/2 MI. S.E. OF CANOGA

  • CANOGA SPRING
    REFERRED TO IN THE SURVEY
    OF SENECA CO. BY
    JOHN DELAFIELD IN 1850
    AS BUBBLING PURE
    NITROGEN GAS
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 3/4 MI. WEST OF CANOGA

  • CAYUGA LAKE
    SITE OF LANDING OF MORAVIAN
    MISSIONARIES ZEISBERGER AND
    CAMMERHOFF JUNE 27, 1750
    Location: ON NYS 89 ABOUT 3 MILES SOUTH OF CANOGA

  • FIRST
    SUNDAY SCHOOL
    IN FAYETTE, 1819, TAUGHT
    HERE IN OLD LOG SCHOOL
    HOUSE BY DEACON
    HUGH MC ALLISTER
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 3 MIS. WEST OF CANOGA

  • RED JACKET
    WAS BORN HERE ABOUT 1758
    THE FAMOUS INDIAN ORATOR
    AND SENECA CHIEF SOUGHT TO
    PRESERVE PEACE WITH U.S.
    DIED IN BUFFALO IN 1830.
    Location: ON NYS 89 AT CANOGA CEMETARY

  • SITE OF
    HOWLAND'S LANDING
    FORMERLY A LANDING AND
    WAREHOUSE, SHOWN ON THE
    DELAFIELD MAP OF 1852
    Location: ON NYS 89 ABOUT 3 MILES NORTH OF EAST VARICK

  • SITE OF
    INDIAN VILLAGE
    DESTROYED BY TROOPS UNDER
    COL. HENRY DEARBORNN
    SEPT. 21, 1779
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ON SHORE CAYUGA LAKE ABOUT 2 1/2 MIS. S.E. OF CANOGA

  • SITE OF TAVERN
    KEPT BY CAPTAIN NATHAN COOK
    1756-1838
    HIS GRANDSON, STEPHEN V. HARKNESS
    LIVED HERE-ONE OF FOUNDERS OF
    STANDARD OIL COMPANY
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. ABOUT 1 MILE NORTH OF MACDOUGALL

  • [ARROW] 1 MILE
    INDIAN VILLAGE AT
    CANOGA LANDING
    DESTROYED DURING
    SULLIVAN CAMPAIGN
    1779
    Location: ON NYS 89 ABOUT 1/2 SOUTH OF CANOGA

  • [ARROW] 1 MILE
    SITE OF
    INDIAN VILLAGE
    DESTROYED BY TROOPS UNDER
    COL. HENRY DEARBORN
    SEPT. 21, 1779
    Location: ON NYS 89 ABOUT 1 1/2 MIS. SOUTH OF CANOGA

County: SENECA
Town: OVID, TOWN OF

  • SULLIVAN TRAIL
    BEFORE SETTLEMENT BY
    WHITE MEN COL. HENRY
    DEARBORN OF THE SULLIVAN
    EXPEDITION VIEWED CAYUGA
    LAKE HERE, SEPT. 22, 1779
    Location: ON NYS 96 ABOUT 1 1/2 MILES NORTH OF INTERLAKEN

  • THOMAS R. LOUNSBURY
    ILLUSTRIOUS YALE PROFESSOR
    BORN HERE 1835. SON OF
    REV. THOMAS LOUNSBURY AND
    MARY JANETTE WOODWARD.
    STUDENT OF OVID ACADEMY
    Location: ON NYS 414, VLGE. OF OVID

County: SENECA
Town: ROMULUS, TOWN OF

  • DEAN'S COVE
    (SWAH-YA-WA-NAH)
    INDIAN VILLAGE DESTROYED
    BY DETACHMENTS FROM
    SULLIVAN'S ARMY
    SEPTEMBER 22, 1779
    Location: ON NYS 89 ABOUT 2 1/2 MILES SOUTH OF EAST VARICK

  • DEGORY PROWTT
    DRUMMER BOY, 1776-1783
    AT SIEGE OF FORT STANWIX
    ON THE SULLIVAN EXPEDITION,
    AT SURRENDER OF CORNWALLIS,
    LIVED A MILE WEST OF HERE.
    Location: ON NYS 89 ABOUT 4 MILES SOUTH OF EAST VARICK

  • KEN-DAI-A
    INDIAN VILLAGE
    DESTROYED BY
    SULIVAN'S ARMY
    SEPTEMBER 17, 1779
    Location: ON NYS 96A ABOUT 5 MILES NORTHWEST OF OVID

  • WHITNEY'S LANDING
    LATER KNOWN AS JACACKS' LANDING
    WAS A PROMINENT LANDING SHOWN IN
    THE DELAFIELD MAP OF 1852
    Location: ON NYS 89 ABOUT 6 MILES SOUTH OF EAST VARICK

County: SENECA
Town: SENECA FALLS TOWN OF

  • ALONG NORTH SIDE OF RIVER
    MARCHED SULLIVAN'S FORCES
    EXPEDITION COMMANDED BY
    COL.PETER GANSEVOORT &
    LT. COL. WILLIAM BUTLER
    SEPT. 20-21, 1779
    Location: ON US 20 & NYS 5 ABOUT 1 MILE EAST OF WATERLOO

  • BRIDGEPORT
    FORMERLY CAYUGA FERRY
    & W. CAYUGA TERMINUS OF
    STATE LINE BRIDGE
    PROMINENT WHEN AUBURN WAS
    "HARDENBERGH'S CORNER"
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 2 MIS. E. OF SENECA FALLS

  • ELIZABETH CADY
    STANTON
    PROMOTER OF THE FIRST
    WOMAN'S RIGHTS CONVENTION
    LIVED HERE. CONVENTION
    WAS HELD ACROSS THE RIVER
    Location: ON WASHINGTON ST., SENECA FALLS

  • FIRST CONVENTION FOR
    WOMAN'S RIGHTS
    WAS HELD ON THIS CORNER
    1848
    Location: ON US 20 & NYS 5, SENECA FALLS

  • HOME OF
    GARY V. SACKETT
    1790-1885
    JUDGE COURT OF COMMON
    PLEAS-PROMOTER OF
    CANAL SYSTEM
    Location: AT INTERSECTION W. BAYARD & SACKETT STS., SENECA FALLS

  • KINGDOM CEMETERY
    RESERVED IN DEED TO THOMAS
    LAWRENCE. HERE UNTIL 1856
    WERE MILLS, DISTILLERIES,
    TAVERNS, SCHOOL, JUSTICE CT.,
    MASONIC LODGE, RACE TRACK.
    Location: ON US 20 & NYS 5 ABOUT 1 MILE EAST OF WATERLOO

  • MILITARY ROUTE
    OF THE SULLIVAN-CLINTON
    ARMY ON ITS CAMPAIGN
    AGAINST THE BRITISH
    AND INDIANS OF WESTERN
    NEW YORK IN 1779
    Location: ON US 20 & NYS 5 AT THE EAST END OF WATERLOO

  • MYNDERSE
    ACADEMY
    NAMED FOR CO. WILHELMUS
    MYNDERSE, FOUNDER OF
    SENECA FALLS
    Location: ON US 20 & NYS 5, SENECA FALLS

  • OLD GENESEE
    STAGE ROUTE
    CAYUGA LAKE BRIDGE MADE
    THIS THE MAIN ROUTE UNTIL
    THE ERIE CANAL OF 1822
    AND THE RAILWAY OF 1840
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1/2 MILE EAST OF SENECA FALLS

  • POTTER INN FARM
    NATHANIEL J. POTTER, INNKEEPER
    BLACKSMITH ON GENESEE ROAD,
    1801-1808. HIS SON, HENRY 5.
    POTTER, LIVED HERE. 1ST PRES.
    WESTERN UNION TELEGRAPH, 1851.
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1/2 MILE EAST OF SENECA FALLS

  • SITE OF INDIAN VILLAGE
    GAR-NON-DE-YO
    DESTROYED DURING
    SULLIVAN CAMPAIGN
    SEPT. 21, 1779
    Location: ON NYS 89 ABOUT 1 1/2 MILES NORTH OF CANOGA

  • VAN CLEEF LAKE
    NAMED FOR GEORGE CUNNINGHAM
    VAN CLEEF, ONE OF FIRST
    WHITE CHILDREN BORN IN
    SENECA COUNTY 1797
    Location: ON BANK OF LAKE NEAR INTERSECTION TRINITY LA. & FALL ST., SENECA FALLS

County: SENECA
Town: TYRE, TOWN OF

  • CRUSOE ISLAND
    SITE OF CRUSOE POST OFFICE
    UNTIL 1852. HOME OF SENATOR
    DAVID H. EVANS, 1837-1920.
    STAGE RELAYING BARNS WERE
    LOCATED HERE
    Location: ON NYS 414 AT CRUSOE

County: SENECA
Town: VARICK, TOWN OF

  • BIRTHPLACE OF
    ISAAC PHILLIPS ROBERTS
    JULY 24, 1833
    REPRESENTATIVE EXTRA-
    ORDINARY OF AMERICAN
    FARMER
    Location: ON NYS 89 ABOUT 1 MILE NORTH OF EAST VARICK

  • EAST VARICK
    ONCE PROMINENT LANDING WITH
    HOTEL, WAREHOUSE, STORES,
    RESIDENCES. EARLY HOME OF
    ROBERTS, PHILLIPS, BURROUGHS,
    CHRISTOPHER, BARRICK FAMILIES
    Location: ON NYS 89 AT EAST VARICK

  • PRESBYTERIAN
    CHURCH
    ORGANIZED 1796 BY REV.
    DANIEL THATCHER OF VIRGINIA
    THIS BUILDING ERECTED 1838
    Location: ON NYS 96 IN VILLAGE OF ROMULUS

  • SITE OF
    CLARKTOWN
    A NOW EXTINCT HAMLET WITH
    WAREHOUSE, STORES, TAVERN,
    POTTERY, AND FERRY TO
    LEVANNA ACROSS THE LAKE
    Location: ON NYS 89 ABOUT 2 MILES NORTH OF EAST VARICK

  • SITE OF
    FRISBIE'S FERRY
    A NOW EXTINCT HAMLET WITH
    STORE, MILLS, DISTILLERY,
    TAVERN, AND FERRY TO
    AURORA, 1796.
    Location: ON NYS 89 ABOUT 1 1/2 MILES S. OF EAST VARICK

County: ST. LAWRENCE
Town: CANTON, TOWN OF

  • GRAVE & MONUMENT OF
    SILAS WRIGHT
    ARE IN THE CEMETERY
    AT JUNCTION OF
    MINER & WEST STREETS
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF PARK & WEST STS., CANTON

  • HOME OF
    SILAS WRIGHT
    STATESMAN
    U.S. SENATOR 1833-43
    GOV. OF NEW YORK 1844-46.
    Location: ON MAIN ST. BETWEEN COURT CHURCH STS., CANTON

  • ST. LAWRENCE
    UNIVERSITY
    CHARTERED BY THE STATE
    LEGISLATURE, APRIL 3, 1856
    RICHARDSON HALL CORNERSTONE
    LAID JUNE 18, 1856
    Location: PARK ST. S. OF UNIVERSITY AVE., CANTON

County: ST. LAWRENCE
Town: DE PEYSTER, TOWN OF

  • SITE OF BIRTHPLACE
    MAJ. GEN. NEWTON
    MARTIN CURTIS
    1835-1910
    SOLIDIER AND LEGISLATOR, WHO
    RENDERED DISTINGUISHED SERVICE
    DURING THE CIVIL WAR
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 5 1/2 MIS. S.W. OF HEUVELTON

  • [ARROW]
    1/4 MILE
    SITE OF BIRTHPLACE
    MAJ. GEN. NEWTON
    MARTIN CURTIS
    Location: ON NYS 184 ABOUT 5 MIS. S.W. OF HEUVELTON

County: ST. LAWRENCE
Town: FOWLER, TOWN OF

  • SITE OF FIRST
    TALC MILL IN
    UNITED STATES
    BUILT IN 1876 BY THE
    AGALITE FIBRE COMPANY
    CAPACITY 8 TONS DAILY
    Location: ON NYS 58, VLGE. OF FOWLER

County: ST. LAWRENCE
Town: HOPKINTON, TOWN OF

  • BIRTISH RAID
    IN FEB. 1814, BRITISH TROOPS
    RAIDED THIS VILLAGE SEIZING
    300 BARRELS OF FLOUR OF
    U.S. GOV. AND STORED IN BARNS
    OF COL. HOPKINS NEAR BROOK
    Location: ON NYS 11 B & NYS 72, HOPKINTON

  • MILITARY ROAD
    TO SACKETS HARBOR WAR 1812
    FIRST FRAME HOUSE OPPOSITE
    BUILT 1806 BY TOWN FOUNDER
    ROSWELL HOPKINS, COL. IN REV.
    WAR, SEC. OF STATE, VERMONT
    Location: AT INTERSECTION NYS 72 & NYS 11B AT HOPKINTON

County: ST. LAWRENCE
Town: LAWRENCE, TOWN OF

  • ROAD JUNCTURE
    PORT KENT TO HOPKINTON
    TURNPIKE MERGED WITH
    OLD MILITARY TURNPIKE
    NEAR HERE
    Location: ON INTERSECTION NYS 11B & NYS 195, NICHOLVILLE

County: ST. LAWRENCE
Town: MASSENA, TOWN OF

  • SITE OF
    UNITED STATES
    HOTEL
    BUILT IN 1848 BY BENJAMIN
    PHILIPS, HOTEL FACED
    EAST HATFIELD STREET.
    Location: AT INTERSECTION MAIN & W. HATFIELD STS.

  • SITE OF
    FIRST GRIST MILL
    IN MASSENA, BUILT 1808-09
    BY STEPHEN REED AND
    CALVIN HUBBARD
    Location: ON WATER ST., MASSENA

  • SITE OF
    FIRST SCHOOL
    IN MASSENA, BUILT 1803
    LOCATED ON WATER STREET,
    191 FEET FROM THIS CORNER.
    GILBERT REED, INSTRUCTOR
    Location: AT INTERSECTION E. ORIVS & WATER STS.

  • SITE OF
    FIRST SETTLEMENT
    IT MASSENA BEGAN IN 1792.
    SAWMILL ERECTED THEN. SITE
    NOW OCCUPIED BY STONE HOUSE
    BUILT BY CAPT. HASKELL 1825.
    Location: AT INTERSECTION E. ORVIS & TAMARACK STS., MASSENA

  • SITE OF
    HARROGATE HOUSE
    HOTEL BUILT IN 1822 BY
    RUEL TAYLOR FOR THOSE WHO
    CAME TO DRINK MASSENA
    SPRING WATER
    Location: AT INTERSECTION, MAIN & W. HATFIELD STS.

  • TOWN OF
    MASSENA
    FORMED MARCH 3, 1802
    NAMED IN HONOR OF
    ANDRE MASSENA, 1758-1817,
    MARSHAL IN FRENCH ARMY
    Location: ON NYS 37 AT W. EDGE OF MASSENA

  • TOWN OF
    MASSENA
    FORMED MARCH 3, 1802
    NAMED IN HONOR OF
    ANDRE MASSENA, 1758-1817
    MARSHAL IN FRENCH ARMY
    Location: ON NYS 56 AT MASSENA TOWN LINE

  • TOWN OF
    MASSENA
    FORMED MARCH 3, 1802
    NAMED IN HONOR OF
    ANDRE MASSENA, 1758-1817
    MARSHAL IN FRENCH ARMY
    Location: ON NYS 420 AT MASSENA TOWN LINE

County: ST. LAWRENCE
Town: OGDENSBUFGH, TOWN OF

  • [ARROW]
    REMINGTON ART
    MEMORIAL
    COR. WASHINGTON & STATE STS.
    OPEN 2-5 AND 7-9 P.M.
    DEDICATED JULY 19, 1923
    Location: ON NYS 37 AT E. LIMITS OF CITY

  • [ARROW]
    REMINGTON ART
    MEMORIAL
    COR. WASHINGTON & STATE STS.
    OPEN 2-5 AND 7-9 P.M.
    DEDICATED JULY 19, 1923
    Location: ON NYS 68 AT S. LIMITS OF CITY

  • [ARROW]
    REMINGTON ART
    MEMORIAL
    COR. WASHINGTON & STATE STS.
    OPEN 2-5 AND 7-9 P.M.
    DEDICATED JULY 19, 1923
    Location: ON NYS 37 AT W/EDGE OF CITY

  • [ARROW]
    REMINGTON ART
    MEMORIAL
    COR. WASHINGTON & STATE STS.
    OPEN 2-5 AND 7-9 P.M.
    DEDICATED JULY 19, 1923
    Location: ON NYS 87 AT S. LIMITS OF CITY

County: ST. LAWRENCE
Town: OSWEGATCHIE, TOWN OF

  • BIRTHPLACE
    CHARLES DAVIES, 1799, MATHEMATICIAN
    HENRY DAVIES, 1805, CHIEF JUDGE
    N. Y. STATE COURT OF APPEALS
    MAJ. GEN. THOMAS DAVIES, 1809
    WHOSE TOMB IS OPPOSITE
    Location: ON BLACK LAKE RD., 9 MI. WEST OF OGDENSBURG

County: ST. LAWRENCE
Town: PARISHVILLE, TOWN OF

  • FIRST CHURCH
    IN TOWN OF PARISHVILLE
    WAS BUILT HERE IN 1828
    MOVED TO
    PARISHVILLE VILLAGE
    1846
    Location: ON NYS 72 ABOUT 2 MIS. W. OF PARISHVILLE

  • SITE OF
    FIRST BRIDGE
    MADE BY WHITE MEN
    IN TOWN OF PARISHVILLE
    1809
    Location: ON NYS 72 AT PARISHVILLE

  • SITE OF LOG CABIN OF
    LUKE BROWN
    FIRST SETTLER
    IN TOWN OF PARISHVILLE
    BUILT 1810
    Location: ON NYS 72 ABOUT 4 MIS. W. OF PARISHVILLE

  • THE OLD
    PARISH TAVERN
    BUILT 1815 BY
    DAVID PARISH
    STOOD HERE
    BURNED 1875
    Location: ON NYS 72 AT PARISHVILLE

  • THIS WAS THE
    FIRST ROAD
    IN THE TOWN OF PARISHVILLE
    CUT THROUGH 1809
    CALLED LUKE BROWN ROAD
    FOR EARLIEST SETTLER
    Location: ON NYS 72 NEAR PARISHVILLE-POTSDAM TOWN LINE

County: ST. LAWRENCE
Town: POTSDAM, TOWN OF

  • TOWN OF POTSDAM
    ONE OF TEN TOWNS OF 1787.
    BOUGHT BY CLARKSON FAMILY
    WITH OTHERS, 1802. SETTLED
    BY BENJ. RAYMOND, LAND AGENT,
    1803. TOWN ESTABLISHED 1806.
    Location: ON E. SIDE OF NYS 11 AT S. EDGE OF VILLAGE

County: ST. LAWRENCE
Town: WADDINGTON, TOWN OF

  • ST PAUL'S
    EPISCOPAL CHURCH
    BUILT ON MODEL OF ST PAUL'S
    NEW YORK, 1818. FIRST RECTOR,
    REV. AMOS G. BALDWIN
    DIDICATED BY BISHOP HOBART
    Location: ON NYS 345 AT WADDINGTON

County: STEUBEN
Town: BATH, TOWN OF

  • PULTENEY SQUARE
    HERE IN 1793 WAS MADE
    THE FIRST CLEARING
    IN STEUBEN COUNTY BY
    COL. CHARLES WILLIAMSON
    Location: ON MORRIS ST., BATH

  • [ARROW]
    U.S. VETERANS
    ADMINISTRATION FACILITY
    SITE OF BATH SOLDIERS' AND
    SAILORS' HOME, BUILT IN 1877
    Location: ON US 15 NORTH OF BATH

County: STEUBEN
Town: CAMERON, TOWN OF

  • AVERELL HILL
    BIRTHPLACE OF
    WILLIAM WOODS AVERELL
    MAJOR GENERAL, U.S.A.
    NOTED CAVALRY LEADER OF
    THE CIVIL WAR
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT W. AMERON

County: STEUBEN
Town: CANISTEO, TOWN OF

  • FRENCH OCCUPATION
    HERE IN 1690 SIEUR DE
    VILLIERS AND ABBE FENELON
    DISCOVERED A SETTLEMENT,
    ERECTED A CROSS, AND
    PLANTED THE FLAG OF FRANCE
    Location: ON NYS 21 NEAR JUNCTION WITH NYS 248

  • KANESTIO
    CASTLE
    INDIAN VILLAGE BURNED 1764
    BY CAPT. ANDREW MONTOUR
    AND A PROVINCIAL FORCE
    Location: ON NYS 21 NEAR JUNCTION WITH NYS 248

County: STEUBEN
Town: COHOCTON, TOWN OF

  • FIRST PRESBYERTIAN CHURCH
    FOUNDED OCTOBER 8, 1809
    BY ABIJAH WARREN
    THIRD CHURCH ORGANIZED
    IN OLD BATH PRESBYERY
    AT CORNER OF CHURCH ST. AND HIGHWAY 15

County: STEUBEN
Town: CORNING, TOWN OF

  • CHIMNEY
    NARROWS
    LOCALITY OF
    INDIAN MOUNDS
    OF UNUSUAL SIZE

County: STEUBEN
Town: HORNELLSVILLE, TOWN OF

  • HERE INDIANS & TORIES
    USED PINE TREES TO BUILD
    CANOES FOR TRANSPORT TO
    WYOMING - WYOMING MASSACRE
    JULY 3, 1778
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1/2 MILE NORTH OF HORNELL

  • OLDEST HOUSE
    IN STEUBEN COUNTY
    ERECTED 1797 BY
    COL. JAMES MCBURNEY
    A PROBABLE STATION OF
    UNDERGROUND RAILWAY
    Location: ON NYS 21 AT CANISTEO-HORNELLSVILLE TOWN LINE

County: STEUBEN
Town: HOWARD, TOWN OF

  • OLD INN SITE
    DR. MARCUS WHITMAN, REV.
    AND MRS. H.H. SPALDING
    MET HERE FEB. 14, 1836
    AND DECIDED TO GO
    TOGETHER TO OREGON
    Location: ON NYS 70 AT HOWARD

County: STEUBEN
Town: PRATTSBURG, TOWN OF

  • NARCISSA
    PRENTISS
    WIFE OF MARCUS H. WHITEMAN
    BORN HERE MARCH 14, 1808
    CROSSED ROCKIES IN 1836
    MASSACRED NOV. 29, 1847

County: STEUBEN
Town: URBANA, TOWN OF

  • CRADLE OF
    AVIATION
    HERE CLENN H. CURTISS
    PILOTED "THE JUNE BUG"
    JULY 4, 1908
    FIRST KILOMETER FLIGHT

  • GLENN H. CURTISS
    BORN HAMMONDSPORT 1878
    EARLY MAKER OF MOTORCYLCE
    AND AIRPLANE ENGINES- FLEW
    SUCCESSFULLY AIRPLANES AND
    HYDROPLANES HERE 1908-1911
    1/4 MILE NORTH OF HAMMONDSPORT ON ROUTE 54

County: STEUBEN
Town: WHEELER, TOWN OF

  • 150 FEET [ARROW]
    FORMERLY THE OFFICE OF
    MARCUS WHITMAN
    MISSIONARY & PHYSICIAN
    LIVED AT WHEELER 1832-35
    Location: ON NYS 53 AT WHEELER

  • HENRY HARMON SPALDING
    MISSIONARY TO INDIANS OF NORTH-
    WEST TERRITORY AND
    PIONEER TO STATE OF IDAHO
    BORN HERE, NOV. 26, 1803
    Location: ON NYS 53 2 MILES SOUTH OF WHEELER

County: SUFFOLK
Town: BABYLON, TOWN OF

  • SUFFOLK COUNTY
    ORGANIZED NOV. 1, 1683.
    ONE OF THE ORIGINAL
    COUNTIES OF THE PROVINCE
    OF NEW YORK. ORIGINALLY
    EAST RIDING OF YORKSHIRE.
    Location: NYS 24, E. OF STAPLES RD.

  • SUFFOLK COUNTY
    ORGANIZED NOV. 1, 1683.
    ONE OF THE ORIGINAL
    COUNTIES OF THE PROVINCE
    OF NEW YORK. ORIGINALLY
    EAST RIDING OF YORKSHIRE.
    Location: PARKWAY CT. & GREAT NECK RD. WEST OF NYS 110

  • SUFFOLK COUNTY
    ORGANIZED NOV. 1, 1683.
    ONE OF THE ORIGINAL
    COUNTIES OF THE PROVINCE
    OF NEW YORK. ORIGINALLY
    EAST RIDING OF YORKSHIRE.
    Location: COUNTY LINE RD. & NYS 27

  • TOWN OF BABYLON
    A PART OF TOWN OF HUNTINGTON
    PRIOR TO
    ITS ORGANIZATION
    IN 1872
    Location: COUNTY LINE RD. & NYS 27A

  • TOWN OF BABYLON
    A PART OF TOWN OF HUNTINGTON
    PRIOR TO
    ITS ORGANIZATION
    IN 1872
    Location: NYS 110 NEAR MELVILLE RD.

  • TOWN OF BABYLON
    A PART OF TOWN OF HUNTINGTON
    PRIOR TO
    ITS ORGANIZATION
    IN 1872
    Location: STRAIGHT PATH NEAR TRISCOTT ST.

  • TOWN OF BABYLON
    A PART OF TOWN OF HUNTINGTON
    PRIOR TO
    ITS ORGANIZATION
    IN 1872
    Location: BRENTWOOD RD., E. OF COMAC RD.

County: SUFFOLK
Town: BROOKHAVEN, TOWN OF

  • GENERAL WOODHULL
    NATHANIEL WOODHULL, LEADER
    OF SUFFOLK COUNTY MILITIA,
    FATALLY WOUNDED AUGUST,
    1776. IS BURIED FOUR MILES
    SOUTH AT MASTIC.
    Location: NYS 27 IN MASTIC

  • ROE TAVERN
    STOOD HERE 1703-1936
    WASHINGTON SPENT THE NIGHT
    HERE APRIL 22, 1790.
    AUSTIN ROE, INN KEEPER, WAS
    ONE OF WASHINGTON'S SPIES.
    Location: NYS 25A, IN EAST SETAUKET

  • SITE OF
    STONY BROOK
    GRIST MILL
    BUILT IN 1699
    BY ADAM SMITH
    Location: AT MILL POND, STONY BROOK

  • SITE OF HOME
    ABRAHAM WOODHULL
    CHIEF OF LONG ISLAND SPIES
    UNDER GEN. WASHINGTON
    BUILT BY RICHARD WOODHULL
    1690 - BURNED 1931.
    Location: STRONG'S RD. & OLD LAND, SETAUKET

  • THOMPSON HOUSE
    ERECTED ABOUT 1700
    BIRTHPLACE IN 1784
    OF BENJAMIN F. THOMPSON
    LONG ISLAND HISTORIAN

  • TOWN OF BROOKHAVEN
    FOUNDED 1655.
    GOV. NICOLLS PATENT 1666-7.
    GOV. DONGAN PATENT 1686.
    FIRST CHURCH 1669.
    FIRST TOWN MEETING 1657.
    Location: NYS 27 IN PATCHOGUE, W. OF BUFFIN LANE

  • TOWN OF BROOKHAVEN
    FOUNDED 1655.
    GOV. NICOLLS PATENT 1666-7.
    GOV. DONGAN PATENT 1686.
    FIRST CHURCH 1669.
    FIRST TOWN MEETING 1657.
    Location: DAVID TERRY ST. & NO. RIVER RD. IN MANORVILLE

  • TOWN OF BROOKHAVEN
    FOUNDED 1655.
    GOV. NICOLLS PATENT 1666-7.
    GOV. DONGAN PATENT 1686.
    FIRST CHURCH 1669.
    FIRST TOWN MEETING 1657.
    Location: NYS 27 IN EASTPORT

  • TOWN OF BROOKHAVEN
    FOUNDED 1655.
    GOV. NICOLLS PATENT 1666-7.
    GOV. DONGAN PATENT 1686.
    FIRST CHURCH 1669.
    FIRST TOWN MEETING 1657.
    Location: OLD COUNTRY RD., N. OF EASTPORT

  • TOWN OF BROOKHAVEN
    FOUNDED 1655.
    GOV. NICOLLS PATENT 1666-7.
    GOV. DONGAN PATENT 1686.
    FIRST CHURCH 1669.
    FIRST TOWN MEETING 1657.
    Location: MORICHES RD.

  • TOWN OF BROOKHAVEN
    FOUNDED 1655.
    GOV. NICOLLS PATENT 1666-7.
    GOV. DONGAN PATENT 1686.
    FIRST CHURCH 1669.
    FIRST TOWN MEETING 1657.
    Location: NYS 25A, W. OF WADING RIVER RD.

  • TOWN OF BROOKHAVEN
    FOUNDED 1655.
    GOV. NICOLLS PATENT 1666-7.
    GOV. DONGAN PATENT 1686.
    FIRST CHURCH 1669.
    FIRST TOWN MEETING 1657.
    Location: NORTH COUNTRY RD., W. OF WADING RIVER

  • TOWN OF BROOKHAVEN
    FOUNDED 1655.
    GOV. NICOLLS PATENT 1666-7.
    GOV. DONGAN PATENT 1686.
    FIRST CHURCH 1669.
    FIRST TOWN MEETING 1657.
    Location: NYS 25A, E OF THE RIDGE

  • TOWN OF BROOKHAVEN
    FOUNDED 1655.
    COV. NICOLLS PATENT 1666-7.
    GOV. DONGAN PATENT 1686.
    FIRST CHURCH 1669.
    FIRST TOWN MEETING 1657.
    Location: NYS 25A, W. OF STONY BROOK

  • TOWN OF BROOKHAVEN
    FOUNDED 1655.
    COV. NICOLLS PATENT 1666-7.
    GOV. DONGAN PATENT 1686.
    FIRST CHURCH 1669.
    FIRST TOWN MEETING 1657.
    Location: RONKONKOMA AVE., N. OF R.R. BRIDGE, RONKONKOMA

  • TOWN OF BROOKHAVEN
    FOUNDED 1655.
    GOV. NICOLLS PATENT 1666-7.
    GOV. DONGAN PATENT 1686.
    FIRST CHURCH 1669.
    FIRST TOWN MEETING 1657.
    Location: WADING R. RD., S. OF PECONIC RIVER BRIDGE

  • TOWN OF BROOKHAVEN
    FOUNDED 1655.
    COV. NICOLLS PATENT 1666-7.
    GOV. DONGAN PATENT 1686.
    FIRST CHURCH 1669.
    FIRST TOWN MEETING 1657.
    Location: PATCHOGUE-HOLBROOK RD., N. OF BLUE POINT

  • TOWN OF BROOKHAVEN
    FOUNDED 1655.
    COV. NICOLLS PATENT 1666-7.
    GOV. DONGAN PATENT 1686.
    FIRST CHURCH 1669.
    FIRST TOWN MEETING 1657.
    Location: NYS 27, W. OF BLUE POINT

  • TOWN OF BROOKHAVEN
    FOUNDED 1655.
    COV. NICOLLS PATENT 1666-7.
    GOV. DONGAN PATENT 1686.
    FIRST CHURCH 1669.
    FIRST TOWN MEETING 1657.
    Location: NYS 25 IN LAKE GROVE

  • TOWN OF BROOKHAVEN
    FOUNDED 1655.
    COV. NICOLLS PATENT 1666-7.
    GOV. DONGAN PATENT 1686.
    FIRST CHURCH 1669.
    FIRST TOWN MEETING 1657.
    Location: MIDDLE RD., W. OF BLUE POINT

  • [ARROW]
    POOSPATUCK
    IN 1700 WILLIAM SMITH
    OF THIS TERRITORY GAVE THE
    POOSPATUCK INDIANS 50 ACRES
    ON THE MASTIC RIVER. THE
    TRIBE LIVED HERE MANY YEARS.
    Location: NYS 27 IN MASTIC

County: SUFFOLK
Town: EAST HAMPTON, TOWN OF

  • CLINTON ACADEMY
    FOUNDED 1784 BY REV. DR.
    BUELL. WILLIAM PAYNE WAS
    FIRST TEACHER. IT WAS THE
    FIRST ACADEMY CHARTERED BY
    STATE BOARD OF REGENTS.
    Location: NYS 27 IN EAST HAMPTON

  • FIRST SHEEP FOLD
    SITE 1684
    EAST HAMPTON TOWNSMEN
    UNDER CARE OF A SHEPHERD
    HERDED EARMARKED SHEEP
    IN THIS COMMON PASTURAGE
    Location: NYS 27 AT EGYPT LANE IN EAST HAMPTON

  • HOME OF
    CAPTAIN JOHN DAYTON
    LEADER OF THE MILITIA
    COMPANY THAT DEFENDED
    EAST HAMPTON IN THE
    AMERICAN REVOLUTION
    Location: NYS 27, E. OF TOWN LINE

  • INDIAN LANDMARK
    BUC-USK-KIL
    WHOOPING-BOYS HOLLOW, REST-
    ING PLACE OF BODY OF SACHEM
    POGGATTICUT, WHEN BORNE TO
    MONTAUK FOR BURIAL, MAY 1654.
    Location: NYS 114 BETWEEN E. HAMPTON & SAG HARBOR

  • SITE OF
    FIRST CHURCH
    BUILT BY TOWN 1651. USED
    UNTIL 1717. A FRAME BUILDING
    20 BY 26 FEET WITH A
    THATCHED ROOF, STOOD ON
    OR VERY NEAR THIS SPOT
    Location: JAMES LANE IN E. HAMPTON

  • SITE OF HOME
    REV. THOMAS JAMES
    LIVED HERE 1650-96. PREPARED
    A CATECHISM FOR MONTAUK
    INDIANS. WAS ARRESTED FOR
    ASSERTING RIGHTS.
    Location: JAMES LANE , EAST HAMPTON

  • TOWN CHURCH
    LARGEST AND MOST COSTLY ON
    LONG ISLAND. USED 1717-1861.
    HERE WERE ORDAINED SAMUEL
    BUEL, SAMSON OCCOM, LYMAN
    BEECHER AND STEPHEN MERSHON.
    Location: NYS 27 IN EAST HAMPTON

  • TOWN OF EAST HAMPTON
    FOUNDED 1648. FIRST CHURCH 1652.
    FIRST ACADEMY IN THE STATE OF
    NEW YORK. GOV. NICOLLS PATENT
    1666-7. GOV. DONGAN PATENT 1686.
    Location: NYS 27 AT TOWN LINE

County: SUFFOLK
Town: HUNTINGTON, TOWN OF

  • PLATT'S TAVERN
    STOOD ON THIS CORNER
    UNTIL 1860
    PRESIDENT WASHINGTON DINED
    THEREIN FRIDAY APRIL
    23, 1790
    Location: PARK AVE., E. OF WOODHULL RD., HUNTINGTON

  • SILAS WOOD
    1769 - 1847
    AUTHOR OF FIRST
    HISTORY OF LONG ISLAND
    HIS HOME STOOD ON THIS
    SITE UNTIL 1881
    Location: PARK AVE., E. OF WOODHULL RE., HUNTINGTON

  • SUFFOLK COUNTY
    ORGANIZED NOV. 1, 1683.
    ONE OF THE ORIGINAL
    COUNTIES OF THE PROVINCE
    OF NEW YORK. ORIGINALLY
    EAST RIDING OF YORKSHIRE.
    Location: NYS 25A, E. OF STATE FISH HATCHERY

  • SUFFOLK COUNTY
    ORGANIZED NOV. 1, 1653.
    ONE OF THE ORIGINAL
    COUNTIES OF THE PROVINCE
    OF NEW YORK. ORIGINALLY
    EAST RIDING OF YORKSHIRE.
    Location: NYS 25 AT NASSAU-SUFFOLK LINE

  • TOWN OF HUNTINGTON
    FIRST PURCHASE 1653.
    FIRST SCHOOL TEACHER 1657.
    GOV. NICOLLS PATENT 1666.
    GOV. DONGAN PATENT 1688.
    FIRST CHURCH BUILDING 1665.
    Location: WOODBURY RD., W. OF COLD SPRING HARBOR RD.

  • TOWN OF HUNTINGTON
    FIRST PURCHASE 1653.
    FIRST SCHOOL TEACHER 1657.
    GOV. NICOLLS PATENT 1666.
    GOV. DONGAN PATENT 1688.
    FIRST CHURCH BUILDING 1665.
    Location: NYS 25 AT NASSAU-SUFFOLK LINE

  • TOWN OF HUNTINGTON
    FIRST PURCHASE 1653.
    FIRST SCHOOL TEACHER 1657.
    GOV. NICOLLS PATENT 1666.
    GOV. DONGAN PATENT 1688.
    FIRST CHURCH BUILDING 1665.
    Location: NYS 110, S. OF RULAND RD.

  • TOWN OF HUNTINGTON
    FIRST PURCHASE 1653.
    FIRST SCHOOL TEACHER 1657.
    GOV. NICOLLS PATENT 1666.
    GOV. DONGAN PATENT 1688.
    FIRST CHURCH BUILDING 1665.
    Location: NYS 25 NEAR COMMACK RD.

  • TOWN OF HUNTINGTON
    FIRST PURCHASE 1653.
    FIRST SCHOOL TEACHER 1657.
    GOV. NICOLLS PATENT 1666.
    GOV. DONGAN PATENT 1688.
    FIRST CHURCH BUILDING 1665.
    Location: NYS 25A IN FORT SALONGA

  • TOWN OF HUNTINGTON
    FIRST PURCHASE 1653.
    FIRST SCHOOLTEACHER 1657.
    GOV. NICOLLS PATENT 1666.
    GOV. DONGAN PATENT 1688.
    FIRST CHURCH BUILDING 1665.
    Location: NYS 25A, W. OF LAWRENCE HILL RD.

County: SUFFOLK
Town: ISLIP, TOWN OF

  • ISLIP TOWN
    ORIGINALLY OWNED BY
    SECATOGUE INDIANS, NAMED
    AFTER ISLIP, ENG. FIRST
    TOWN MEETING 1720. FIRST PATENT
    1684. FIRST CHURCH 1769.
    Location: MIDDLE RD., E. OF GILLETTE AVE., BAYPORT

  • ISLIP TOWN
    ORIGINALLY OWNED BY
    SECATOGUE INDIANS, NAMED
    AFTER ISLIP, ENG. FIRST
    TOWN MEETING 1720. FIRST PATENT
    1684. FIRST CHURCH 1769.
    Location: NYS 27, E. OF GILLETTE AVE., BAYPORT

  • ISLIP TOWN
    ORIGINALLY OWNED BY
    SECATOGUE INDIANS, NAMED
    AFTER ISLIP, ENG. FIRST
    TOWN MEETING 1720. FIRST PATENT
    1684. FIRST CHURCH 1769.
    Location: PATCHOGUE-HOLBROOK RD. & WAVERLY AVE., HOLTSVILLE

  • ISLIP TOWN
    ORIGINALLY OWNED BY
    SECATOGUE INDIANS, NAMED
    AFTER ISLIP, ENG. FIRST
    TOWN MEETING 1720. FIRST PATENT
    1684. FIRST CHURCH 1769.
    Location: ROSEVILLE AVE., W. OF LAKE RONKONKOMA

  • ISLIP TOWN
    ORIGINALLY OWNED BY
    SECATOGUE INDIANS, NAMED
    AFTER ISLIP, ENG. FIRST
    TOWN MEETING 1720. FIRST PATENT
    1684. FIRST CHURCH 1769.
    Location: SMITHTOWN AVE. AT R.R. BRIDGE RONKONKOMA

  • ISLIP TOWN
    ORIGINALLY OWNED BY
    SECATOGUE INDIANS, NAMED
    AFTER ISLIP, ENG. FIRST
    TOWN MEETING 1720. FIRST PATENT
    1684. FIRST CHURCH 1769.
    Location: ROSEVILLE AVE., W. OF LAKE RONKONKOMA

  • ISLIP TOWN
    ORIGINALLY OWNED BY
    SECATOGUE INDIANS, NAMED
    AFTER ISLIP, ENG. FIRST
    TOWN MEETING 1720. FIRST PATENT
    1684. FIRST CHURCH 1769.
    Location: WHEELER RD. & TN. LINE RD., HAUPPAUGE

  • ISLIP TOWN
    ORIGINALLY OWNED BY
    SECATOGUE INDIANS, NAMED
    AFTER ISLIP, ENG. FIRST
    TOWN MEETING 1720. FIRST PATENT
    1684. FIRST CHURCH 1769.
    Location: CROOKED HILL RD., BRENTWOOD

  • ISLIP TOWN
    ORIGINALLY OWNED BY
    SECATOGUE INDIANS, NAMED
    AFTER ISLIP, ENG. FIRST
    TOWN MEETING 1720. FIRST PATENT
    1684. FIRST CHURCH 1769.
    Location: JOHN ST., W. OF PARKWOOD RD., WEST ISLIP

  • ISLIP TOWN
    ORIGINALLY OWNED BY
    SECATOGUE INDIANS, NAMED
    AFTER ISLIP, ENG. FIRST
    TOWN MEETING 1720. FIRST PATENT
    1684. FIRST CHURCH 1769.
    Location: NYS 27A, E. OF SUMPWAMS RD.

  • SAGTIKOS
    MANOR
    PRESIDENT WASHINGTON
    PASSED THE NIGHT HERE
    DURING HIS TOUR OF L.I.
    APRIL, 1790
    Location: NYS 27A, WEST BAY SHORE

County: SUFFOLK
Town: RIVERHEAD, TOWN OF

  • TOWN OF RIVERHEAD
    A PART OF SOUTHOLD PRIOR TO
    ITS ORGANIZATION 1792. FIRST
    SETTLEMENT 1690, SUFFOLK
    COUNTY SEAT SINCE 1725.
    Location: SOUND AVE., W. OF ALDRICH LA. NORTH OF FRANKLINVILLE

  • TOWN OF RIVERHEAD
    A PART OF SOUTHOLD PRIOR TO
    ITS ORGANIZATION 1792. FIRST
    SETTLEMENT 1690, SUFFOLK
    COUNTY SEAT SINCE 1725.
    Location: NYS 25, W. OF LAUREL LANE IN LAUREL

  • TOWN OF RIVERHEAD
    A PART OF SOUTHOLD PRIOR TO
    ITS ORGANIZATION 1792. FIRST
    SETTLEMENT 1690, SUFFOLK
    COUNTY SEAT SINCE 1725.
    Location: PECONIC BAY BLVD. & LAUREL LANE, S. OF LAUREL.

  • TOWN OF RIVERHEAD
    A PART OF SOUTHOLD PRIOR TO
    ITS ORGANIZATION 1792. FIRST
    SETTLEMENT 1690, SUFFOLK
    COUNTY SEAT SINCE 1725.
    Location: NYS 24 S. OF MAIN ST., RIVERHEAD

  • TOWN OF RIVERHEAD
    A PART OF SOUTHOLD PRIOR TO
    ITS ORGANIZATION 1792. FIRST
    SETTLEMENT 1690, SUFFOLK
    COUNTY SEAT SINCE 1725.
    Location: N. RIVER RD., MANORVILLE

  • TOWN OF RIVERHEAD
    A PART OF SOUTHOLD PRIOR TO
    ITS ORGANIZATION 1792. FIRST
    SETTLEMENT 1690, SUFFOLK
    COUNTY SEAT SINCE 1725.
    Location: WADING R. RD., N. OF PECONIC RIVER BRIDGE

  • TOWN OF RIVERHEAD
    A PART OF SOUTHOLD PRIOR TO
    ITS ORGANIZATION 1792. FIRST
    SETTLEMENT 1690, SUFFOLK
    COUNTY SEAT SINCE 1725.
    Location: NYS 25A, W. OF WADING R. RD.

  • TOWN OF RIVERHEAD
    A PART OF SOUTHOLD PRIOR TO
    ITS ORGANIZATION 1792. FIRST
    SETTLEMENT 1690, SUFFOLK
    COUNTY SEAT SINCE 1725.
    Location: SOUND RD. & N. WADING R. RD. WADING RIVER

County: SUFFOLK
Town: SHELTER ISLAND, TOWN OF

  • FIRST
    PRESBYTERIAN
    MANSE
    OWNED 1806-12, BY
    REV. DANIEL HALL
    Location: BURNS RD., E. OF RAM IS. RD.

  • JAMES HAVENS
    MEMBER OF THE PROVINCIAL
    CONGRESS LIVED IN THIS
    HOUSE, BUILT IN 1743,
    WHICH REMAINED IN HAVENS
    FAMILY UNTIL 1925
    Location: NYS 114, S. OF SMITH ST.

  • SHELTER ISLAND
    SETTLED 1652.
    NATHANIEL SYLVESTER 1610-80
    A SUGAR MERCHANT
    OF BARBADOS WAS THE
    FIRST RESIDENT OWNER
    Location: NYS 114 AT MANWARING RD.

  • SHELTER ISLAND
    SETTLED 1652.
    NATHANIEL SYLVESTER 1610-80
    A SUGAR MERCHANT
    OF BARBADOS WAS THE
    FIRST RESIDENT OWNER
    Location: NYS 114, AT S. FERRY LANDING

  • SHELTER ISLAND
    SETTLED 1652
    NATHANIEL SYLVESTER 1610-80
    A SUGAR MERCHANT
    OF BARBADOS WAS THE
    FIRST RESIDENT OWNER.
    Location: NYS 114 AT WINTHROP RD.

  • SITE OF
    GREAT CENTRAL MANSION,
    HOME OF
    JONATHAN NICOLL HAVENS
    MEMBER OF CONGRESS
    1755-1799
    Location: CONGDON RD., W. OF CARTWRIGHT RD.

  • SITE OF
    FIRST SCHOOL HOUSE
    DESTROYED BY FIRE
    JANUARY 1828.
    ALSO SITE OF
    OLD TOWN HALL.
    Location: NYS 114, W. OF RAM IS. RD.

  • SITE OF FIRST
    MEETING HOUSE
    BUILT 1743. ALSO OF
    CHURCH BUILDING DEDICATED
    JULY, 1817 AND BURNED
    FEBRUARY, 1934
    Location: NYS 114, S. OF MANWARING RD.

  • [ARROW]
    MONUMENT
    ERECTED JULY 17, 1884
    TO THE MEMORY OF
    NATHANIEL SYLVESTER AND
    THE QUAKERS WHO CAME
    HERE TO ESCAPE PERSECUTION.
    Location: NYS 114, S. OF MANWARING RD.

  • [ARROW]
    LORD SHIP YARD
    ESTABLISHED ABOUT 1800.
    FAMOUS SCHOONER "PARAGON"
    WHICH RAN BLOCKADE IN 1804
    DURING NAPOLEONIC WARS
    WAS BUILT HERE.
    Location: MENANTIC RD., S. OF HAGAR RD.

County: SUFFOLK
Town: SMITHTOWN, TOWN OF

  • TOWN OF SMITHTOWN
    FOUNDED BY RICHARDS (BULL) SMITH.
    GOV. NICOLLS PATENT 1665-6.
    GOV. ANDROSS PATENT 1677.
    FIRST CHURCH BEFORE 1750.
    Location: NYS 25A W. OF STONY BROOK

  • TOWN OF SMITHTOWN
    FOUNDED BY RICHARDS (BULL) SMITH.
    GOV. NICOLLS PATENT 1665-6.
    GOV. ANDROSS PATENT 1677.
    FIRST CHURCH BEFORE 1750.
    Location: HUDSON AVE. & LAKE SHORE RD., N. OF LAKE RONKONKOMA

  • TOWN OF SMITHTOWN
    FOUNDED BY RICHARDS (BULL) SMITH.
    GOV. NICOLLS PATENT 1665-6.
    GOV. ANDROSS PATENT 1677.
    FIRST CHURCH BEFORE 1750.
    Location: NYS 111 & ISLIP LINE RD., HAUPPAUGE

  • TOWN OF SMITHTOWN
    FOUNDED BY RICHARDS (BULL) SMITH.
    GOV. NICOLLS PATENT 1665-6.
    GOV. ANDROSS PATENT 1677.
    FIRST CHURCH BEFORE 1750.
    Location: COMMACK RD., S. OF CROOKED HILL RD.

  • TOWN OF SMITHTOWN
    FOUNDED BY RICHARDS (BULL) SMITH.
    GOV. NICOLLS PATENT 1665-6.
    GOV. ANDROSS PATENT 1677.
    FIRST CHURCH BEFORE 1750.
    Location: NYS 25, E. OF COMMACK RD.

  • TOWN OF SMITHTOWN
    FOUNDED BY RICHARDS (BULL) SMITH.
    GOV. NICOLLS PATENT 1665-6.
    GOV. ANDROSS PATENT 1677.
    FIRST CHURCH BEFORE 1750.
    Location: PULASKI AVE. & TOWN LINE RD., S. OF FORT SALONGA

  • TOWN OF SMITHTOWN
    FOUNDED BY RICHARDS (BULL) SMITH.
    GOV. NICOLLS PATENT 1665-6.
    GOV. ANDROSS PATENT 1677.
    FIRST CHURCH BEFORE 1750.
    Location: NYS 25A & BREAD AND CHEESE HOLLOW RD., FORT SALONGA

  • TOWN OF SMITHTOWN
    FOUNDED BY RICHARDS (BULL) SMITH.
    GOV. NICOLLS PATENT 1665-6.
    GOV. ANDROSS PATENT 1677.
    FIRST CHURCH BEFORE 1750.
    Location: CROOKED HILL RD., S. E. OF COMMACK RD.

  • [ARROW]
    FORT SALONGA
    ONE MILE NORTH ON OCT. 3,
    1781, MAJOR TRESCOTT AND A
    FORCE FROM CONNECTICUT TOOK
    BRITISH GARRISON AND LARGE
    QUANTITIES OF PROVISIONS
    Location: NYS 25A & BREAD AND CHEESE HOLLOW RD., FORT SALONGA

County: SUFFOLK
Town: SOUTHAMPTON, TOWN OF

  • BUILT 1757
    HEADQUARTERS OF
    GEN. WILLIAM ERSKINE
    COMMANDER OF BRITISH TROOPS
    OCCUPYING EASTERN LONG ISLAND
    1777-8
    Location: MAIN ST. & NO. SEA RD., SOUTHAMPTON

  • CONSCIENCE POINT
    1640
    LANDING PLACE OF COLONISTS
    WHO SETTLED SOUTHAMPTON;
    FIRST ENGLISH COLONY
    IN NEW YORK STATE
    Location: N. SEA RD., N. OF NORTH SEA ON GREAT PECONIC BAY

  • FIRST CUSTOM HOUSE
    IN FIRST DISTRICT
    OF NEW YORK STATE
    ACT PASSED BY FIRST CONGRESS
    MAKING SAG HARBOR PORT OF
    ENTRY, APPROVED AUG. 4, 1790
    Location: NYS 114 & SHORE RD., SAG HARBOR

  • FIRST WATERMILL
    1644
    BUILT BY EDWARD HOWELL
    NEAR THIS SITE FOR
    SOUTHAMPTON COLONY
    Location: MILL RD. AT BRIDGE IN WATER MILL

  • GRAVEYARD
    SHINNECOCK INDIANS
    HERE ALSO LIE THE BODIES
    OF THE INDIANS WHO PERISHED
    IN THE WRECK OF THE
    CIRCASSIAN, DEC. 1876.
    Location: S. OF NYS 27 ON RD. TO BEACH

  • INDIAN PREACHER
    GRAVE OF REV. PAUL CUFFEE
    OF THE SHINNECOCK TRIBE
    1790-1812. GRANDSON AND
    SUCCESSOR TO REV. PETER
    JOHN AND SAMSON OCCUM
    Location: NYS 27 BETWEEN HAMPTON BAYS AND CANOE PLACE

  • MEIGS' EXPEDITION
    MAY 23, 1777
    130 COLONIALS LANDED HERE
    DESTROYED BRITISH SHIPPING
    AT SAG HARBOR, CAPTURED
    90 PRISONERS AND REEMBARKED
    Location: SHORE & NOYACK RDS., NOYACK

  • NORTH END GRAVEYARD
    CONTAINING GRAVES OF
    MANY SOLDIERS OF
    AMERICAN REVOLUTION
    FIRST BURIAL 1712
    1777-8
    Location: NO. SEA RD. & MAIN ST., SOUTHAMPTON

  • OLD TOWN
    SITE OF FIRST SETTLEMENT
    1640 THE FIRST STREET
    Location: OLD TOWN RD. & WICKAPOGUE RD., SOUTHAMPTON

  • SITE OF
    SECOND CHURCH
    BUILT 1654
    Location: S. MAIN ST., S. OF MERRICK RD., SOUTHAMPTON

  • SITE OF
    FIRST
    MEETING HOUSE
    1641
    Location: OLD TOWN RD. & MEETING HOUSE LA, SOUTHAMPTON

  • SITE OF
    POXABOGUE WINDMILL
    SUBJECT OF FAMOUS LAWSUIT
    WHICH DECIDED THE RIGHTS OF
    LANDOWNERS TO ADJOINING
    HIGHWAY, NEW YORK STATE LAW,
    1842
    Location: SAGAPONACK RD., S. OF NYS 27

  • THE OLD FORT
    SITE OF OLD BRITISH
    FORT ERECTED DURING
    ENGLISH OCCUPATION OF
    SOUTHAMPTON, 1777-8
    Location: OLD FORT RD., SOUTHAMPTON

  • TOWN OF SOUTHAMPTON
    FOUNDED 1640. FIRST CHURCH 1640.
    ANDROSS PATENT 1676. DONGAN
    PATENT 1686. OLDEST ENGLISH
    COLONY IN THE STATE OF NEW YORK.
    Location: TOWN LINE RD. & HEDGES LANE

  • TOWN OF SOUTHAMPTON
    FOUNDED 1640. FIRST CHURCH 1640.
    ANDROSS PATENT 1676. DONGAN
    PATENT 1686. OLDEST ENGLISH
    COLONY IN THE STATE OF NEW YORK.
    Location: TOWN LINE ON PECONIC RIVER

  • TOWN OF SOUTHAMPTON
    FOUNDED 1640. FIRST CHURCH 1640.
    ANDROSS PATENT 1676. DONGAN
    PATENT 1686. OLDEST ENGLISH
    COLONY IN THE STATE OF NEW YORK.
    Location: MORICHES RD.

  • TOWN OF SOUTHAMPTON
    FOUNDED 1640. FIRST CHURCH 1640.
    ANDROSS PATENT 1676. DONGAN
    PATENT 1686. OLDEST ENGLISH
    COLONY IN THE STATE OF NEW YORK.
    Location: NYS 27 IN EASTPORT

  • TOWN OF SOUTHAMPTON
    FOUNDED 1640. FIRST CHURCH 1640.
    ANDROSS PATENT 1676. DONGAN
    PATENT 1686. OLDEST ENGLISH
    COLONY IN THE STATE OF NEW YORK.
    Location: OLD COUNTRY RD., N. OF EASTPORT

  • TOWN OF SOUTHAMPTON
    FOUNDED 1640. FIRST CHURCH 1640.
    ANDROSS PATENT 1676. DONGAN
    PATENT 1686. OLDEST ENGLISH
    COLONY IN THE STATE OF NEW YORK.
    Location: PECONIC R. IN UPPER MILLS

  • TRIANGULAR
    COMMONS
    TRAINING GROUNDS OF MILITIA
    OF EASTERN LONG ISLAND IN
    COLONIAL DAYS, 1649-1776
    Location: NYS 27 BETWEEN BEACH & SHORE RDS., BRIDGEHAMPTON

  • WICK'S TAVERN
    BUILT 1686
    BY JOHN WICK AND USED
    BY AMERICAN AND ENGLISH
    SOLDIERS DURING THE
    AMERICAN REVOLUTION
    Location: NYS 27 NEAR VILLAGE MONUMENT, BRIDGEHAMPTON

  • WINDMILL HILL
    SITE OF JOHN WICK'S
    SPIDER-LEGGED WINDMILL
    ABOUT 1700
    Location: INTERSECTION OF RDS. TO NOYACK, BRIDGEHAMPTON & SAG HARBOR, N. OF BRIDGEHAMTON

  • YE
    TOWNE
    STREET
    OPENED 1648
    Location: MAIN ST. & MEETING HOUSELANE, SOUTHAMPTON

  • [ARROW]
    SHINNECOCK
    INDIAN RESERVATION OF 400
    ACRES. THE REMAINDER OF THE
    TRIBE IS SELF-GOVERNING AND
    RETAINS ANCIENT FISHING AND
    HUNTING RIGHTS.
    Location: NYS 27 AT SHINNECOCK RESERVATION

County: SUFFOLK
Town: SOUTHOLD, TOWN OF

  • TOWN OF SOUTHOLD
    FIRST WHITE SETTLERS 1640.
    GOV. ANDROSS PATENT 1676.
    OLDEST ENGLISH CHURCH
    SOCIETY IN THE STATE OF
    NEW YORK, FOUNDED 1640.
    Location: NYS 25, E. OF LAUREL LANE, LAUREL

  • TOWN OF SOUTHOLD
    FIRST WHITE SETTLERS 1640
    GOV. ANDROSS PATENT 1676.
    OLDEST ENGLISH CHURCH
    SOCIETY IN THE STATE OF
    NEW YORK, FOUNDED 1640.
    Location: PECONIC BAY BLVD. & LAUREL LA., SOUTH OF LAUREL

  • TOWN OF SOUTHOLD
    FIRST WHITE SETTLERS 1640
    GOV. ANDROSS PATENT 1676.
    OLDEST ENGLISH CHURCH
    SOCIETY IN THE STATE OF
    NEW YORK, FOUNDED 1640.
    Location: SOUND AVE., W. OF ALDRICH LA. NO. OF FRANKLINVILLE

  • [ARROW]
    FOUNDERS' LANDING
    ON SOUTHOLD BAY IN 1640
    PURITANS FROM NORFOLK,
    ENGLAND, LANDED FROM NEW
    HAVEN COLONY TO FOUND
    THE TOWN OF SOUTHOLD
    Location: NYS 25, & HOBART AVE., SOUTHOLD

County: SULLIVAN
Town: CALLICOON, TOWN OF

  • CLARK TANNERY
    CONTAINED 182, SQUARE VATS
    PRODUCED 600, 051 LBS. SOLE
    LEATHER IN 1865. RANKED
    SECOND IN OUTPUT IN
    SULLIVAN COUNTY
    Location: ON SO. SIDE NYS 52 AT EASTERN END OF JEFFERSONVILLE

  • EARLY SAWMILL
    BUILT 1834 BY SAM M. YOUNG
    FOLLOWED IN TURN BY
    TURNING MILL, APPLE
    BRANDY DISTILLERY AND
    MILK MANUFACTURING PLANT
    Location: ON W. SIDE NYS 52 AT SOUTHERN END OF YOUNGSVILLE

  • FIRST CLEARING
    IN 1807
    J.S. JACKSON AND C. HURD
    CLEARED OVER 100 ACRES
    FOR JOHN DE WITT AT A COST
    OF 163 19S
    Location: ON NYS 52 1 MI. YOUNGSVILLE

  • HOME OF
    GEORGE G. DE WITT
    WHERE FIRST TOWN MEETING
    WAS HELD MAY 3, 1842
    500 FEET WEST
    Location: ON W. SIDE NYS 52 BETWEEN FEFFERSONVILLE & YOUNGSVILLE

  • OLD TOLL ROAD
    CALLICOON AND COCHECTON
    TURNPIKE 1852
    JOINED ERIE AT COCHECTON
    WITH TANNERIES AT PIKE POND
    JEFFERSONVILLE, YOUNGSVILLE
    Location: ON E. SIDE NYS 52 MIDWAY BETWEEN JEFFERSONVILLE, & YOUNGSVILLE

  • OLD TURNPIKE
    JEFFERSONVILLE TO
    MONTICELLO
    TOLL GATE TWO MILES
    EAST OF THIS POINT
    Location: ON NYS 52 ABOUT 1 1/2 MIS. N.E. JEFFERSONVILLE

  • SITE OF
    FIRST HOUSE
    IN YOUNGSVILLE
    BUILT OF LOGS, 1834 BY
    SAM M. YOUNG, FIRST SETTLER
    FOR WHOM THE PLACE IS NAMED
    Location: IN CENTER OF VLGE. YOUNGSVILLE IN FRONT OF JOHN PFIEFFLE RESIDENCE

  • SULLIVAN VOLKBLATT
    LOCAL GERMAN LANGUAGE
    NEWSPAPER PUBLISHED HERE
    1870
    GERMAN LANGUAGE PREDOMINATED
    HERE FOR FIFTY YEARS
    Location: ON NO. SIDE MAIN ST. BETWEEN CENTER ST. & DELAWARE AV., VLGE. OF JEFFERSONV

  • TANNERY OF
    HENRY INDERLIED
    BEEF HIDES WERE CONVERTED
    INTO SOLE LEATHER BY USE
    OF LOCAL HEMLOCK BARK
    1850
    Location: ON SO. SIDE NYS 52 NEAR CENTER OF YOUNGSVILLE

County: SULLIVAN
Town: FORESTBURG, TOWN OF

  • BRANT'S CAMP
    MOHAWK CHIEF WITH PLUNDER
    AND CAPTIVES TAKEN IN RAID
    ON MINISINK (PORT JERVIS)
    CAMPED HERE OVER NIGHT
    JULY 20, 1779
    Location: ON W. SIDE NYS 42 2 MIS. SO. FORESTBURG CORNERS

  • INDIAN RAID
    TWO CHILDREN OF JOHN
    BROOKS AND SON-IN-LAW,
    JOSEPH HUBBARD, WERE
    KILLED HERE BY BRANT'S
    MOHAWKS AND TORIES, 1778
    Location: ON W. SIDE CO. RD. 49 ABOUT 1 MI. SO. OAKLAND

  • SAWMILL
    BUILT 1873 BY WESTFALL &
    CUDDEBACK. SAWED LUMBER
    TO REBUILD HOUSES BURNED
    BY BRANT IN MINISINK
    (PORT JERVIS) 1778-79
    Location: ON NO. SIDE CO. RD. 49 NEAR W. END BRIDGE OVER MINISINK R.

County: SULLIVAN
Town: HIGHLAND, TOWN OF

  • BATTLE OF MINISINK
    ON THIS HILL, JULY 22, 1779
    N.Y. AND N.J. MILITIA WERE
    DECIMATED BY MOHAWK AND
    TORY RAIDERS OF MINISINK,
    (PORT JERVIS) UNDER BRANT
    Location: ON NYS 97 ABOUT 1/2 MILE EAST OF ENTRANCE TO BATTLEFIELD

  • BATTLE OF MINISINK
    ONE OF THE DEADLIEST IN
    FRONTIER WARFARE, BETWEEN
    MILITIA AND BRANT'S TORIES
    AND MOHAWKS, ON THIS HILL
    JULY 22, 1779
    Location: ON NYS 97 ABOUT 1 MI. WEST OF ENTRANCE TO BATTLEFIELD

  • BATTLE OF MINISINK
    ENTRANCE TO BATTLEFIELD
    WHERE JULY 22, 1779, N.Y.
    AND N.J. MILITIA ATTACKED
    MOHAWK AND TORY RAIDERS OF
    MINISINK (PORT JERVIS)
    Location: ON NYS 97 AT MINISINK FORD

  • BATTLE OF MINISINK
    COL. JOSEPH BRANT LED 40
    MOHAWKS AND TORIES UP THIS
    RAVINE AND AMBUSHED N.Y.
    AND N.J. MILITIA LYING FOR
    HIM ON HILL TO THE WEST
    Location: ON NYS 97 ABOUT 1 1/2 MIS. E. OF MINISINK FORD

  • BRANT'S CAMP
    THE MOHAWK LEADER OF RAID
    ON MINISINK (PORT JERVIS)
    CAMPED HERE JULY 21, 1779.
    PURSUING MILITIA CAMPED 3
    MILES UP THIS SAME BROOK
    Location: ON NYS 97 AT BARRYVILLE

  • BRANT'S CROSSING
    AFTER BATTLE OF MINISINK
    BRANTS RAIDERS WITH THEIR
    PLUNDER FORDED RIVER HERE
    TO CAMP AT MOUTH OF THE
    LACKAWAXEN CREEK OPPOSITE
    Location: ON NYS 97 NEAR ENTRANCE TO BATTLEFIELD

  • BRIDGE
    BUILT BY JOHN A. ROEBLING,
    BUILDER OF BROOKLYN BRIDGE,
    TO SUPPORT D. & H. CANAL
    AQUEDUCT BY WHICH BOATS
    CROSSED DELAWARE, 1848-98
    Location: ON NYS 97 AT MINISINK FORD

County: SULLIVAN
Town: LIBERTY, TOWN OF

  • EARLY SETTLERS
    JOSEPH AND EBENEZER HILL
    CAME FROM CONN., 1807
    BOUGHT 5000 ACRES IN
    HARDENBERGH PATENT. JOSEPH
    WAS CAPTAIN IN WAR OF 1812
    Location: ON NYS 52 ABOUT 1 MILE EAST OF WHITE SULPHUR SPRINGS

  • FIRST HOUSE
    IN
    ROBERTSONVILLE
    NOW CALLED
    WHITE SULPHUR SPRINGS
    1812
    Location: ON NYS 52, WHITE SULPHUR SPRINGS

  • ROBERTSONVILLE
    JONATHAN BRADLEY ROBERTSON
    CAME HERE FROM BRIDGEPORT,
    CONN., 1807, WHEN IT WAS A
    FOREST WILDERNESS. HE SERVED
    IN WAR OF 1812
    Location: ON NYS 52 AT WHITE SULPHUR SPRINGS

County: SULLIVAN
Town: LUMBERLAND, TOWN OF

  • D. & H. CANAL
    DRY DOCK AND BASIN
    1828-1898
    Location: ON NYS 97 AT MOUTH OF MILL BROOK NEAR POND EDDY

County: SULLIVAN
Town: MAMAKATING, TOWN OF

  • BLOOMINGBURGH
    NAMED JULY 4, 1812, BY JAMES
    NEWKIRK. FIRST SETTLER, CAPT.
    JOHN NEWKIRK, PRIOR TO 1776.
    FIRST SCHOOL, 1784, TAUGHT
    BY MR. CAMPBELL
    Location: ON NYS 17 AT BLOOMINGBURGH

  • BLOOMINGBURGH
    SITE OF FIRST NEWSPAPER,
    FIRST PRINTING OFFICE,
    FIRST CIRCUIT COURT, AND
    THE FIRST ACADEMY IN
    SULLIVAN COUNTY
    Location: ON NYS 17 AT BLOOMINGBURGH

  • BURLINGHAM
    NAMED IN HONOR OF WALTER
    BURLING, DIRECTOR OF ULSTER
    AND ORANGE BRANCH TURNPIKE,
    WHICH CROSSED SHAWANGUNK KILL
    AT NEWKIRK'S MILLS, 1808
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. AT BURLINGHAM

  • EARLY ACADEMY
    BLOOMINGBURGH ACADEMY
    BUILT 1810, FIRST TEACHER
    ALPHEUS DIMMICK, PRINCIPAL
    SAMUEL PITTS, UNION COLLEGE.
    HAD MANY FAMOUS GRADUATES
    Location: ON NYS 17K AT WEST END OLD BRIDGE AT BLOOMINGBURGH

  • FORT DEVENS
    1757 - ONE OF CHAIN OF FORTS
    BUILT UNDER SUPERVISION OF
    JAMES CLINTON, LATER
    GENERAL CLINTON, DURING
    FRENCH & INDIAN WAR
    Location: ON US 209 ABOUT 1 1/2 MILES NORTH OF WURTSBORO

  • MICHEL HELM
    KILLED AND SCALPED HERE
    DURING FRENCH AND INDIAN WAR,
    WHILE ON WAY FROM VISITING
    HIS DAUGHTER AT MINISINK,
    TO HIS HOME IN ROCHESTER
    Location: ON US 209 ABOUT 2 MILES NORTH OF WURTSBORO

  • ROOSA FORT
    BUILDING STARTED BEFORE
    REVOLUTIONARY WAR. LATER
    OWNED AND COMPLETED BY
    ABRAHAM ROOSA OR SON JACOB
    WHO LIVED IN CABIN ON HILL
    Location: ON TOWN RD. AT ROOSA GAP

  • WESTBROOK FORT
    AND HOUSE BUILT ABOUT
    1750-60 BY TJERCK VAN
    KEUREN WESTBROOK. VILLAGE
    OF WESTBROOKVILLE NAMED
    IN HIS HONOR
    Location: ON US 209 AT WESTBROOKVILLE

County: SULLIVAN
Town: NEVERSINK, TOWN OF

  • GRAHAMSVILLE
    (FORMERLY - CHESTNUT WOODS)
    NAMED FOR LT. JOHN GRAHAM
    KILLED HERE WITH 17 OTHERS
    SEPT. 5 1778, BY INDIANS
    RAIDING THE RONDOUT VALLEY
    Location: AT INTERSECTION NYS 42 & NYS 55 AT GRAHAMSVILLE

County: SULLIVAN
Town: ROCKLAND, TOWN OF

  • [ARROW]
    JOHN KARST HOME
    COLLECTION OF EARLY CRAFTS
    BROUGHT HERE 1907 BY MASTER
    WOOD ENGRAVER. MEETING PLACE
    OF "DOWN RENTERS" OR "THE
    SHEEPSKIN INDIANS", 1804
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 3 MILES NORTH OF DE BRUCE

  • [ARROW]
    JOHN KARST PRESERVE
    HOME OF FAMOUS WOOD
    ENGRAVER, ILLUSTRATOR OF
    EARLY AMERICAN SCHOOL
    BOOKS; MC GUFFY'S READERS.
    BORN 1838-DIED 1922
    Location: ON TOWN RD. AT DE BRUCE

County: SULLIVAN
Town: THOMPSON, TOWN OF

  • CAMP HOLLEY
    ENCAMPMENT GROUND OF
    143RD REGIMENT, NEW YORK
    VOLUNTEER INFANTRY
    AUG. 14 - OCT. 10, 1862
    Location: ON NYS 42 NEAR KIAMESHA

  • FIRST HOUSE
    IN MONTICELLO
    BUILT BY JOHN P. JONES
    FOUNDER OF VILLAGE
    DECEMBER 1804
    Location: ON NYS 17 AT MONTICELLO

  • METHODIST CHURCH
    MONTICELLO, NEW YORK
    ORGANIZED IN DISTRICTS,
    1804; PRESENT CHURCH
    BUILT 1844
    Location: ON NYS 17 AT MONTICELLO

  • PRESBYTERIAN
    CHURCH
    FIRST CHURCH
    IN MONTICELLO
    ESTABLISHED 1810
    LOT GIFT OF JONES BROTHERS
    Location: ON NYS 17 AT MONTICELLO

  • TOWN OF THOMPSON
    NAMED FOR WILLIAM A THOMPSON
    FIRST JUDGE OF SULLIVAN COUNTY
    APPOINTED 1803
    Location: AT BRIDGE NEAR OLD MLL, THOMPSONVILLE

County: SULLIVAN
Town: TUSTEN, TOWN OF

  • NEW YORK STATE
    EXPLORED BY DUTCH, 1609
    SETTLED BY DUTCH, 1624;
    UNDER ENGLISH RULE AFTER
    1664. NAMED FOR DUKE OF
    YORK, LATER KING JAMES II
    Location: ON NYS 52, DEL. R. BRIDGE. NAROWSBURG

  • TUSTEN
    NAMED FOR LT. COL. BENJAMIN
    TUSTEN OF GOSHEN MILITIA
    SURGEON WHO GAVE HIS LIFE
    TO ATTEND THE WOUNDED AT
    THE BATTLE OF MINISINK
    Location: ON NYS 97 NEAR OLD TUSTEN CHURCH, TUSTEN

County: TIOGA
Town: BARTON, TOWN OF

  • CARANTOUAN
    SPANISH HILL, 650 FT. SOUTH
    WHERE ETIENNE BRULE, SCOUT
    OF CHAMPLAIN CAME IN 1615.
    THE FIRST WHITE EXPLORER
    KNOWN TO REACH THIS REGION
    Location: ON NYS 17 AT W. END OF WAVERLY

  • ELLIS CREEK
    NAMED IN HONOR OF
    EBENEZER ELLIS,
    REVOLUTIONARY SOLDIER.
    PIONEER IN FOREST 1787
    THIS COMMUNITY-ELLISTOWN
    Location: ON NYS 17 ABOUT 1 1/2 MILES EAST OF WAVERLY

  • MAUGHANTOWANO
    WHERE IN SPRING OF 1779
    ENCAMPED SAWYER AND COWLEY
    AMERICAN SOLDIERS
    WITH FOUR INDIAN CAPTORS
    EN ROUTE TO BRITISH LINES
    Location: ON NYS 17 ABOUT 4 1/2 MILES EAST OF WAVERLY

  • SITE OF
    SHEPARD TAVERN
    BUILT ABOUT 1816 BY
    JOHN SHEPARD & ENLARGED
    BY ISAAC SHEPARD IN 1825
    DESTROYED BY FIRE 1853
    Location: ON NYS 17 AT W. WAVERLY

  • THE FIRST
    GRIST MILL
    ON CAYUTA CREEK, BUILT
    HERE SOON AFTER 1800 BY
    GEORGE WALKER.
    WAS ACTIVE FOR A CENTURY
    Location: ON INTERSECTION NYS 17 & 34 AT NORTH END OF WAVERLY

County: TIOGA
Town: CANDOR, TOWN OF

  • JAMES MCMASTER
    PIONEER, REVOLUTIONARY SOLDIER
    TO WHOM WAS GRANTED TITLE
    "MCMASTER'S HALF TOWNSHIP"
    1788
    LIES BURIED NEAR HERE
    Location: ON CO. RD., N. END VLGE. OF CANDOR

  • LINE OF
    ITHACA & OWEGO R.R.
    INC. 1828
    SECOND CHARTERED IN STATE
    OPERATED BY HORSE POWER
    FOR FIRST SIX YEARS
    Location: ON NYS 223, VLGE. OF CANDOR

County: TIOGA
Town: NEWARK VALLEY, TOWN OF

  • "MAPLE TREE", BESIDE INDIAN TRAIL
    FROM TIOGA POINT
    TO ONONDOGA SALT-SPRINGS
    1786 AMOS PATTERSON BLAZED
    TREE TO BE PRESERVED WHEN
    TRAIL WAS WIDENED INTO WAGON ROAD
    Location: ON NYS 38, VILLAGE OF NEWARK VALLEY

  • WADE FARM
    PURCHASED 1833 BY LEWIS WADE
    1791-1862, MUSICIAN WAR OF 1812.
    OWNED AND WORKED SUCCESSIVELY
    BY LEWIS WADE; WILLIAM WADE;
    EDGAR O. WADE; FLOYD E. WADE
    Location: ON NYS 38 ABOUT 2 MIS. S.W. OF VILLAGE OF NEWARK VALLEY

County: TIOGA
Town: NICHOLS, TOWN OF

  • ASBURY CHURCH
    ERECTED 1822-23
    SOCIETY FORMED 1818 BY REV.
    JOHN GRIFFING WITH MEMBERS
    ELIJAH, PHEBE, ANN, MARIAH
    AND DANIEL MCD. SHOEMAKER
    Location: ON CO. RD. 5 MIS. WEST OF VILLAGE OF NICHOLS

  • BEFORE 1800 THIS ROAD LED
    TO A FERRY ACROSS
    THE SUSQUEHANNA RIVER TO
    TIOGA CENTER, OPERATED BY
    JOHN DECKER AND GIDEON
    CORTRIGHT, REV. SOLDIER
    Location: ON NYS 283 AT LOUNSBERRY

  • COXE'S MANOR
    31,470 ACRES OF LAND
    ALONG THIS SUSQUEHANNA VALLEY
    WERE GRANTED TO DANIEL COXE
    AND ASSOCIATES BY THE CROWN
    OF ENGLAND JANUARY 15, 1775
    Location: ON NYS 283 ABOUT 2 1/2 MILES WEST OF OWEGO

  • LOUNSBERRY
    FORMERLY NAMED
    CANFIELD CORNERS
    BENJAMIN LOUNSBERRY
    SETTLED HERE IN 1793. EXRA
    CANFIELD FIRST POSTMASTER
    Location: ON NYS 283 AT LOUNSBERRY

County: TIOGA
Town: OWEGO, TOWN OF

  • 1828
    OLD ACADEMY BUILDING
    ON THE SITE OF THE FIRST
    SCHOOLHOUSE
    OF OWEGO SETTLEMENT
    BUILT OF LOGS ABOUT 1797
    Location: ON COURT ST., VLGE. OF OWEGO

  • A LOG HOUSE
    FIRST PERMANENT BUILDING
    IN THIS PART OF THE VALLEY
    BUILT 1785 NEAR HERE BY
    JAMES MCMASTER & PARTY
    Location: ON W. FRONT ST., VLGE. OF OWEGO

  • CAMPVILLE
    NAMED IN HONOR OF
    COL. ASA CAMP
    REVOLUTIONARY SOLDIER
    WHO SETTLED HERE IN 1800
    & CONDUCTED 1ST TAVERN
    Location: ON NYS 17C ABOUT 6 MILES EAST OF VILLAGE OF OWEGO

  • FIRST SAWMILL
    IN OWEGO, BUILT BY
    JAMES MCMASTER & AMOS DRAPER
    BEFORE 1791, STOOD
    JUST ABOVE THIS BRIDGE
    Location: ON NYS 17 AT W. END VLGE. OWEGO

  • FIRST TAVERN
    BUILT ON THIS SITE, 1795, BY
    CAPTAIN LUKE BATES.
    DESTROYED BY FIRE, 1829.
    HERE WAS THE FIRST TOWN
    MEETING OF OWEGO SETTLEMENT
    Location: ON CHURCH ST., VLGE. OF OWEGO

  • ISAAC HARRIS
    WHO SETTLED HERE IN 1786
    WAS DELEGATE TO PHILADEL-
    PHIA IN 1790 AND SECURED
    SQUATTERS RIGHTS FROM THE
    PATENTEES OF COXE'S MANOR
    Location: ON OLD NYS 17 AT S. END OF VLGE. OF APALACHIN

  • ITHACA-OWEGO R.R.
    SECOND CHARTERED IN STATE
    INC. JUNE 28, 1828
    CROSSED THE VILLAGE PARK
    TO TERMINUS ON
    SITE OF AHWAGA PARK
    Location: ON NYS 17, VLGE. OF OWEGO

  • JAMES MC MASTER
    IN 1788 WAS GRANTED TITLE
    THROUGH THE INFLUENCE OF AMOS DRAPER TO
    MCMASTER'S WEST HALF TOWNSHIP
    THE SITE OF
    PRESENT VILLAGE OF OWEGO
    Location: ON NYS 17, VLGE. OF OWEGO

  • KA-NAU-KWIS
    KNOWN AS CAPTAIN CORNELIUS,
    IN TIME OF NEED HERE.
    SUPPLIED VENISON AND
    "CORN FLOUR" TO FAMILY OF
    PIONEER BENANUELL DEUEL
    Location: ON NYS 17, VLGE. OF OWEGO

  • NICHOLAS
    DELAWARE WARRIOR
    SUCCESSFUL FARMER AMONG
    THE PIONEERS; WHOSE SQUAW
    GAVE NAME TO SQUAW ISLAND,
    CLAIMED THIS FLAT
    Location: ON NYS283 ABOUT 1/4 MILE WEST OF VLGE. OF OWEGO

  • OWAGEO, AN ABANDONED
    INDIAN VILLAGE OF TWENTY HOUSES WITH
    FIELDS OF STANDING CORN, BURNT BY
    ORDER OF GENERAL CLINTON
    AUGUST 19, 1779, ENROUTE TO JOIN
    GENERAL SULLIVAN
    Location: ON NYS 17 AT N. END BRIDGE OVER SUSQUEHANNA R., VILGE. OF OWEGO

  • OWEGO
    BIRTHPLACE OF ERIE
    HERE WAS HELD CONVENTION
    DECEMBER 20, 1831
    TO FURTHER THE CHARTER OF
    NEW YORK AND ERIE RAILROAD
    Location: ON NYS 96 AT ERIE R.R. CROSSING, VLGE. OF OWEGO

  • OWEGO AND ITHACA TURNPIKE
    INCORPORATED BY ACT OF LEGISLATURE
    APRIL 6, 1807
    ROUTE GIVING OUTLET FOR TRAFFIC
    FROM THE NORTH TO PENNSYLVANIA
    AND MARYLAND MARKETS
    Location: ON NYS 96 AT N. END, VLGE. OF OWEGO

  • OWEGO FEMALE SEMINARY
    OPENED IN 1828
    BY JULIETTE M. CAMP.
    OWEGO FEMALE INSTITUTE
    IN 1843 HEADED BY
    PROF. AND MRS. JOSEPH M. ELY
    Location: ON NYS 17C,VLGE. OF OWEGO

  • TAVERN - 1831
    BUILT BY PIONEER MERCHANT
    RANSOM STEELE
    THE BARNABY ACADEMY
    WAS LOCATED HERE SEVERAL
    YEARS DURING THE CIVIL WAR
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. AT APALACHIN

  • THE CAYUGA LAKE TRAIL
    HERE JOINED
    THE SUSQUEHANNA TRAIL
    BOTH THOROUGH FARES FROM TIME IMMEMORIAL
    OF THE SIX NATIONS
    WHICH IN 1712
    FORMED THE IROQUOIS COMMUNITY
    Location: ON FRONT ST., VLGE. OF OWEGO

  • TOLL BRIDGE
    OF 1828, SWEPT AWAY BY
    FLOOD OF 1867.
    TRESTLE BRIDGE OF 1868,
    PURCHASED BY VILLAGE, 1881.
    STEEL BRIDGE ERECTED, 1893.
    Location: ON NYS 17 AT S. END OF BRIDGE OVER SUSQUEHANNA RIVER

  • TURNPIKE
    IN 1822 THE SHORTEST ROUTE
    FROM OWEGO TO NEW YORK VIA
    MONTROSE, DUNDAFF, MILFORD,
    NEWTON, MORRISTOWN, NEWARK
    NUMEROUS HILLS & TOLLGATES
    Location: ON NYS 283, VILLAGE OF OWEGO

County: TIOGA
Town: RICHFORD, TOWN OF

  • DUNHAMVILLE
    EXPERIMENTAL CITY STATE
    PROPOSED IN 1828 BY
    WM. DUNHAM, MERCHANT,
    FIRST POSTMASTER, AND
    SUPERVISOR OF RICHRORD.
    Location: ON NYS 38 ABOUT 1/2 MILE S. OF VILLAGE OF RICHFORD

  • EARLY TURNPIKE
    COMMISSION OF 1797:
    "TO LAY OUT THE ROAD LEADING
    FROM CATSKILL LANDING
    TO CATHERINESTOWN
    IN THE COUNTY OF TIOGA."
    Location: AT INTERSECTION NYS 38 & 79 AT VLGE. OF RICHFORD

  • FIRST CHURCH
    ORGANIED 1821, BUILT 1823
    BY PURITAN SETTLERS.
    REBUILT IN 1854. ORIGINAL
    BELL NOW IN USE
    Location: ON NYS 38, VLGE. OF RICHFORD

  • PUBLIC SQUARE
    GRANTED BY DEED TO THE
    TOWN OF RICHFORD
    BY THE PIONEERS
    EZEK. RICH & STEPHEN WELLS
    OCTOBER 9, 1821
    Location: AT INTERSECTION NYS 38 & 79 AT VLGE. OF RICHFORD

  • SITE OF
    THE OLD ABBEY
    BUILT 1813 BY SAMUEL SMITH
    WHO KEPT A TAVERN HERE.
    THE RICHFORD POST OFFICE
    ESTABLISHED HERE IN 1830.
    Location: ON NYS 38, VLGE. OF RICHFORD

County: TIOGA
Town: SPENCER, TOWN OF

  • SITE OF OLD COURT HOUSE
    BUILDING BURNED IN 1821
    THIS LOT WAS COUNTY PROPERTY
    SPENCER WAS THE COUNTY SEAT
    FROM 1811 TO 1812
    DESTROYED BY FIRE 1821
    Location: ON NYS 34, VLGE. OF SPENCER

County: TOMPKINS
Town: CAROLINE, TOWN OF

  • 1ST TOWN MEETING
    HELD HERE IN BUSH
    TAVEN, MADE OF HEWN LOGS;
    APRIL 1811
    WILLIAM ROUNSVELL, SUPERVISOR
    CAPT. LEVI SLATER, TOWN CLERK
    Location: ON NYS 79 ABOUT 1/2 MILE WEST OF SLATERVILLE SPRINGS

  • BLAIR HOMESTEAD
    BIRTHPLACE OF AUSTIN BLAIR
    CIVIL WAR GOVERNOR OF MICHIGAN
    SON OF GEORGE BLAIR
    PIONEER SETTLER 1809
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 2 MILES N. OF SPEEDSVILLE

  • CABIN SITE
    CABIN BUILT BY MARIA
    EARSLEY, 1794, FOR HOME.
    FIRST SETTLER IN CAROLINE.
    FIRST TRIP FROM ROXBURY, N.J.
    ON HORSEBACK WITH SON, JOHN
    Location: ON NYS 79 AT CAROLINE

  • CAMPING GROUND
    CHIEF WHEELOCK
    ONEIDA INDIAN
    CHIEF KILLED IN ACTION
    WAR OF 1812
    Location: ON NYS 79 ABOUT 3/4 MILE W. OF SLATERVILLE SPRINGS

  • DEERLICKS
    ON '76 ROAD EXTENSION
    INDIANS AND EARLY SETTLERS
    HERE OBTAINED THEIR SALT
    '76 ROAD BUILT BY
    AUGUSTINE BOYER, 1804
    Location: ON NYS 330 ABOUT 2 MILES EAST OF BROOKTONDALE

  • DUTCH REFORMED
    CHURCH SITE-CEMETERY-1820
    FIRST CHURCH IN CAROLINE
    BUILT 1820-ORGANIZED 1810
    BY THE FIRST DOMINIE
    REV. GARRET MANDEVILLE
    Location: ON NYS 79 ABOUT 1 MILE W. OF SLATERVILLE SPGS.

  • HOME OF
    NATHANIEL TOBEY
    WHO EMIGRATED FROM BRISTOL
    CO., MASS. BUILT MANY NEW
    ENGLAND STYLE HOMES HERE, 1810
    Location: ON NYS 79 AT CAROLINE

  • OLD GENUNG FARM
    LOT 93 WAS CLEARED BY
    MOSES AND BENJAMIN GENUNG,
    BROTHERS, NEW JERSEY REV.
    SOLDIERS. CABIN BUILT IN
    1800. OWNED BY FAMILY 125 YRS.
    Location: ON NYS 79 ABOUT 2 1/4 MILES WEST OF SLATERVILLE SPGS.

  • OLD RICH TAVERN
    BUILT AND CONDUCTED BY
    CAPTAIN DAVID RICH WHO
    EMIGRATED HERE FROM
    VERMONT 1795. ALSO SITE
    OF CAPT. RICH'S LOG CABIN,
    ALSO WAS A TAVERN.
    Location: ON NYS 79 ABOUT 1/2 MILE EAST OF CAROLINE

  • OLD TOBEY TAVERN
    BUILT 1808. INN KEEPERS,
    GEORGE VICKORY AND NATHANIEL
    TOBEY. ONCE TOBEYTOWN.
    NOW VILLAGE OF CAROLINE
    Location: ON NYS 79 ABOUT 1/2 MILE W. OF CAROLINE

  • QUICK HOMESTEAD
    BUILT IN 1823 BY HENRY
    QUICK AND WIFE SALLY
    EARSLEY, WHO CAME WITH
    FIRST SETTLER FROM ROXBURY
    (MONTCLAIR) NEW JERSEY, 1794
    Location: ON NYS 330 ABOUT 2 1/2 MILES EAST OF BROOKTONDALE

  • SETTLERS CABIN
    BUILT BY BENONI MULKS
    NEAR SPRING 1798-1801
    ORIGINAL FIREPLACE STAND-
    BOYCEVILLE'S
    FIRST SETTLEMENT
    Location: ON NYS 79, SLATERVILLE SPGS.

  • SITE OF
    SPEED BLOCKHOUSE
    BUILT 1806 OF SQUARED LOGS
    BY JOHN JAMES SPEED.
    POST OFFICE HERE 1806 CALLED
    SPEEDSVILLE. CATSKILL TURNPIKE
    FROM CATSKILL TO BATH, 1804
    Location: ON NYS 79 ABOUT 1 1/2 MILES W. OF CAROLINE

  • SLATERVILLE
    MAGNETIC MINERAL SPRINGS
    DISCOVERED IN THIS VALLEY BY
    DR. WILLIAM C. GALLAGHER
    WHO SUNK THE 1ST ARTESIAN
    WELL HERE IN 1871
    Location: ON NYS 79 AT SLATERVILLE SPGS.

  • SOUTH ENTRANCE TO
    "SIX HUNDRED FOREST"
    GORGE OF UPPER SIX MILE
    CREEK. SITE OF OLD "BOTTOM
    MILL", SAWMILL BUILT 1808
    BY ELIJAH POWERS, PIONEER SETTLER.
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1 MILE EAST OF SLATERVILLE SPRINGS

  • SPEEDSVILLE
    COMMONS
    INCORPORATED STATE PARK, 1858
    LABAN JENKS EARLY SETTLER
    BUILT HOUSE IN 1819
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT SPEEDSVILLE

  • SPRINGFARM
    OLD PLANTATION HOME OF
    DR. JOSEPH SPEED, VIRGINIA
    PIONEER, 1805.
    LEVEL GREEN ROAD;
    CAROLINE ONCE CALLED SPENCER
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 3/4 MILE SOUTH OF CAROLINE

  • WEST OWEGO CREEK, N.W.
    BOUNDARY "BOSTON PURCHASE"
    230,400 ACRES OF INDIAN LAND
    CEDED BY NEW YORK TO MASS.
    1787, TO SETTLE BOUNDARY DISPUTE
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 2 1/2 MILES EAST OF SLATERVILLE SPRINGS

  • [ARROW]
    SLAVE BURYING GROUND
    45 RODS EAST OF THIS POINT
    IN EDGE OF WOODS ARE
    BURIED 14 SLAVES
    OWNED BY RESIDENTS
    OF TOWN OF CAROLINE
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 2 MILES SOUTH OF ELLIS

County: TOMPKINS
Town: DANBY, TOWN OF

  • NEW JERUSALEM
    CHURCH SITE
    ORGANIZED 1816, BUILT 1824
    FOUNDED BY DR. LEWIS BEERS
    PHYSICIAN, PASTOR, JUSTICE
    AND PIONEER SETTLER, 1797
    Location: ON NYS 96 ABOUT 1 MILE SOUTHEAST OF DANBY

  • THIS WAS THE
    FIRST CHURCH
    IN THE TOWN OF DANBY
    ORGANIZED 1807
    ERECTED 1813
    Location: ON NYS 96 AT DANBY

County: TOMPKINS
Town: DRYDEN, TOWN OF

  • 1ST BAPTIST CHURCH
    DRYDEN, 1830. ORGANIZED 1804
    1ST CHURCH BUILT, 1807
    REV. JOHN LASURE, 1ST PASTOR
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT ETNA

  • BIRTHPLACE OF
    WILLIAM R. "DADDY" GEORGE
    1866-1936
    FOUNDER OF
    GEORGE JUNIOR REPUBLIC
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1 1/2 MILES WEST OF WEST DRYDEN

  • FIRST ROAD
    IN TOMPKINS COUNTY FROM
    EAST. USED BY MANY EARLY
    SETTLERS. STARTED BY JOSEPH
    CHAPLIN; CONTRACTOR, MAY 5,
    1792. COMPLETED IN 1795
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT MALLORYVILLE

  • FIRST ROAD
    IN TOMPKINS COUNTY FROM
    EAST. USED BY MANY EARLY
    SETTLERS. STARTED BY JOSEPH
    CHAPLIN; CONTRACTOR, MAY 5,
    1792. COMPLETED IN 1795
    Location: ON NYS 13 ABOUT 4 MILES NORTHEAST OF DRYDEN

  • INDIAN CAMP
    HUNTING AND FISHING
    GROUNDS ON DRYDEN LAKE.
    ARROWS, SINKERS AND
    FLINTS ABOUND IN
    GREAT NUMBERS
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 2 MILES SOUTHEAST OF DRYDEN

  • JOHN MILLER
    FIRST GOVERNOR OF
    NORTH DAKOTA
    BORN HERE IN
    TOWN OF DRYDEN
    INAUGURATED 1889
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 3 MILES SOUTH OF WILLOW GLEN

  • MALLORYVILLE
    SETTLED BY SAMUEL MALLORY
    IN 1826 WHO OPERATED HERE
    CHAIR AND CLOTH FACTORIES.
    ONCE SITE OF HOWE AND WATSON
    AND WADE COOPERAGES
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT MALLORYVILLE

  • MALLORYVILLE
    ABOUT 1845 WILLIAM TRAPP
    HERE INVENTED THE FIRST
    SUCCESSFUL BARREL-MAKING
    MACHINE. HAMLET LATER
    BECAME COOPERAGE CENTER
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT MALLORYVILLE

  • ONE MILE EAST ON HILL LOG CABIN
    SITE OF BIRTHPLACE JOHN MC GRAW,
    1815-1877. DONOR MC GRAW HALL,
    CORNELL UNIVERSITY
    FATHER OF JENNIE MC GRAW FISKE,
    CORNELL BENEFACTRESS
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 4 MILES S. OF WILLOW GLEN

  • THE BRIDLE ROAD
    VIRGIL TO ITHACA 1795
    BUILT BY JOSEPH CHAPLIN
    DRYDEN CENTER HOUSE
    BUILT BY BENJ. ALDRICH
    TOWN MEETINGS HELD HERE
    Location: ON NYS 13 ABOUT 2 1/4 MILES WEST OF DRYDEN

  • UNDERGROUND
    RAILROAD
    HOME OF WILLIAM HANFORD
    AND WIFE ALTHA C. TODD,
    WHO SHELTERED FUGITIVE SLAVES
    ON WAY TO CANADA AND FREEDOM
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 1/2 MILE WEST OF ETNA

  • UNDERGROUND
    RAILROAD
    HOME OF HANANIAH WILCOX
    AND WIFE NANCY ANN PRICE
    WHO SHELTERED AND ASSISTED
    FUGITIVE SLAVES ON WAY TO CANADA
    Location: ON TOWN RD. AT ETNA

  • [ARROW]
    WAGONSHED WHEREIN
    WILLIAM R. GEORGE CONCEIVED
    OF THE JUNIOR REPUBLIC
    THE YOUTHFUL VILLAGE WHOSE
    MOTTO IS "NOTHING WITHOUT
    LABOR" WAS FOUNDED JULY 10, 1895
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 3/4 MILE WEST OF WEST DRYDEN

County: TOMPKINS
Town: ENFIELD, TOWN OF

  • APPLEGATE TAVERN
    BUILT BY JOHN APPELGATE,
    1807. SETTLED IN TOWN 1805.
    1ST SCHOOLHOUSE IN TOWN
    N. OF TAVERN, ERECTED 1809
    APPLEGATE'S CORNERS
    Location: ON NYS 79 ABOUT 5 MIS. W. OF ITHACA

  • INDIAN SITE
    EARLY IROQUOIAN VILLAGE
    ARROWS, CRACKED BONES, BEADS,
    COOKING STONES, FLINT, PIECES
    OF IROQUOIAN POTTERY FOUND
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ALONG SCHUYLER-TOMPKINS CO. LINE ABOUT 1 MI. N. NYS 79

  • INDIAN VILLAGE
    CIRCULAR PALISADE AROUND
    POND. WALL SOUTH FROM GATE
    IMMENSE EARLY IROQUOIAN SITE
    HERE THE INDIANS
    OBTAINED CLAY FOR POTTERY
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ALONG SCHUYLER-TOMPKINS CO. LINE ABOUT 2 MI. N. NYS 79

  • VAN DORN
    TAVERN SITE
    BUILT BY PETER VAN DORN
    A CATSKILL TURNPIKE
    MILESTONE STOOD AT
    VAN DORN'S CORNERS
    Location: ON NYS 79 ABOUT 4 MIS. W. OF ITHACA

  • WALLENBECK INN
    ROUTE OF CATSKILL TURNPIKE
    FIRST ROAD BUILT IN TOWN.
    OLD POST ROAD AND STAGE
    ROUTE USED FROM MECKLENBURG
    TO KIRBY'S, 1826
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ALONG SCHUYLER-TOMPKINS CO. LINE ABOUT 1 MI. S. NYS 79

County: TOMPKINS
Town: GROTON, TOWN OF

  • CHARLES W. SANDERS
    1805-1889
    AUTHOR OF SCHOOL BOOKS
    RESIDED IN WEST DRYDEN
    AND COMPLETED HIS
    "FIRST SPELLER" HERE
    Location: ON SOBERS ROAD, TOWN OF GROTON

  • CONGREATIONAL CHURCH
    ORGANIZED 1816, BUILT 1832
    FIRST SERVICE MAY3, 1833
    CENTENNIAL JULY 16, 1916
    WEST GRONTON, N.Y.
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT WEST GROTON

  • CUMMINGS HOME
    GURDON CUMMINGS AND WIFE
    ABIGAIL PETTIS FROM MANSFIELD,
    CONN., SETTLED HERE IN 1810.
    OWNED AND OCCUPIED BY FOUR
    GENERATIONS OF CUMMINGS.
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 2 MIS. S. OF SUMMER HILL

  • ELM TREE INN
    SITE OF 1ST LOG TAVERN
    IN MC LEAN BUILT BY AMASA
    COBB, 1796. GIANT ELM WAS
    NATIVE FOREST SAPLING
    WHEN TAVERN WAS BUILT
    Location: ON COUNTY RD. AT MCLEAN

  • INDIAN VILLAGE
    FAVORITE HUNTING GROUND
    OF CAYUGA INDIANS
    AND OTHER LOCAL TRIBES
    NEAR OWASCO CREEK
    PERUTONS-GROTON TOWNSHIP
    Location: ON NYS 38 ABOUT 3 MIS. S. OF GROTON

  • OLD BAPTIST
    CHURCH-1828
    FOUNDER REV. BENJ. WHIPPLE
    1ST PASTOR REV. P.L. PLATT
    MEETINGS HELD SINCE 1805
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT MCLEAN

  • OLD EAST GROTON
    CEMETERY AND 1ST CHURCH
    KNOWN AS E. CONGREGATIONAL.
    ORG. 1805. SITE AT STICKLES
    CORNERS. BUILT OF LOGS 1810
    1ST PASTOR, JOSHUA LAND, 1809
    Location: ON NYS 222 ABOUT 2 MIS. E. OF GROTON

  • OLD MILL SITE
    LAFAYETTE GRISTMILL
    BUILT BY GEORGE FISH, 1818
    NAMED SAME DAY GENERAL
    MARQUIS DE LAFAYETTE
    VISITED AUBURN, 1825
    Location: ON NYS 222 AT LAFAYETTE

  • SYLVESTER PENNOYER
    1831-1902
    BORN HERE; GOV. OF OREGON 1886-94
    MAYOR CITY OF PORTLAND, OREGON,
    1896; OWNER AND EDITOR OREGON
    HERALD, 1868-71
    Location: ON NYS 38 AT GROTON

County: TOMPKINS
Town: ITHACA, CITY OF

  • CAYUGA INDIAN
    WINTER QUARTERS
    LOCATED ON EXPOSED
    FLATLANDS OF THIS GORGE
    BELOW WELLS FALLS
    Location: ON COLUMBIA ST.

  • END OF TURNPIKE
    WEST TO OLD BOAT LANDING
    EAST THROUGH LANSING
    "ENTERPRISE" FIRST STEAMBOAT
    LAUNCHED ON LAKE 1820
    ROUND TRIP TWO DAYS
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF AURORA ST. & RAILROAD AVE.

  • HOMESITE AND BURIAL
    PLACE OF SIMEON DEWITT
    B. 1756 D. 1834, SURVEYOR
    GENERAL IN NEW YORK STATE
    REMAINS REMOVED TO
    ALBANY RURAL CEMETERY 1854.
    Location: ON DEWITT PLACE

  • OLD HOMESTEAD
    REV. DR. SAMUEL PARKER
    HERE IN 1833 PLANNED,
    WITH MARCUS WHITMAN
    PIONEER MISSIONARY JOURNEY
    WHICH SAVED OREGON TO UNION
    INDIAN CEMETARY ON ESTATE.
    Location: ON PARKER PLACE

  • OLDEST HOUSE
    IN TOMPKINS COUNTY, BUILT
    ABOUT 1800 BY ABRAM MARKLE,
    SOLD TO SIMEON DE WITT AND
    USED AS INITIAL POINT OF
    SURVEY FOR EARLLY TURNPIKES
    Location: ON LINN ST.

  • ORIGINAL LANE
    USED BY FIRST SETTLERS:
    YAPLE AND DUMOND NEAR
    STATE ST.; HENNEPAW ON
    CASCADILLA CREEK
    Location: ON EAST BUFFALO ST.

  • OWEGO-ITHACA
    TURNPIKE, 1811-1841
    R.R. INC. 1828, OPENED 1834
    2ND R.R. CHARTERED IN STATE
    INCLINED PLANE 480 FT. EAST
    Location: ON NYS 96, S END ITHACA

  • SITE OF
    FIRST COURT HOUSE
    A PRIMITIVE HALL OF JUSTICE
    BUILT OF WOOD IN 1818
    ERECTION PREVENTED TOMPKINS
    CO. FROM BEING REANNEXED TO
    SENECA AND CAYUGA COUNTIES
    Location: ON COURT ST.

  • SITE OF FIRST
    PERMANENT SETTLEMENT 1788, YAPLE & DUMOND CABINS
    BEGINNING OF SOUTHERN
    CAYUGA INDIAN TRAIL
    Location: ON EAST STATE ST.

  • TOLLGATE HOUSE
    ONCE STOOD UPON ROAD
    AND TRAFFIC PASSED THROUGH
    OWEGO-ITHACA TURNPIKE
    SURVEYED AS EAST ROAD 1792
    ON INDIAN TRAILS
    Location: ON NYS 34 AT N. BANK OF FALL CREEK AT LAKE ST. BRIDGE

  • TURNPIKE
    FROM CATSKILL TO BATH
    RAN ORIGINALLY THROUGH
    STATE (OWEGO) ST. MAIL TO
    WESTERN SETTLEMENTS CARRIED
    OVER THIS TURNPIKE
    Location: ON EAST STATE ST.

County: TOMPKINS
Town: ITHACA, TOWN OF

  • CATSKILL
    TURNPIKE
    STAGE COACH ROUTE FROM
    CATSKILL TO BATH 1815. OLD
    POST ROAD & MAIL ROUTE
    BETWEEN WATKINS & ITHACA
    Location: ON NYS 79 ABOUT 1/2 MI. W. OF ITHACA

  • COREORGONEL
    (WHERE WE KEEP PIPE OF PEACE)
    CAYUGA INDIAN VILLAGE
    IROQUOIS SIX NATIONS
    DESTROYED BY SULLIVAN'S ARMY
    SEPTEMBER 24-25, 1779
    Location: ON NYS 13 & 34 ABOUT 2 1/2 MIS. S.W. ITHACA

  • FISHER'S TAVERN
    JACKSON'S TAVERN AND
    TOLLGATE SITES 3/10 MILE
    SOUTH IRISH HILL ROAD
    CORDUROY UNTIL 1853
    RENAMED NEWFIELD ROAD 1903
    Location: ON NYS 13 & 34 ABOUT 2 MIS. S.W. ITHACA

  • LINDERMAN TAVERN
    BUILT BY CORNELIUS LINDERMAN
    SETTLED IN TOWN 1802
    SITE OF LOG CABIN
    PANORAMA OF CAYUGA LAKE
    AND CITY OF ITHACA
    Location: ON NYS 79 ABOUT 1/2 MI. W. OF ITHACA

  • OLD STONE HEAP
    DAVENPORT'S TAVERN-LOT 87
    HERE ABNER TREMAN SPENT THE
    NIGHT ON HIS RETURN, 1793-
    1794, TO HIS CLAIM, NOW THE
    VILLAGE OF TRUMANSBURG
    Location: STATE HIGHWAY, E SIDE OF ROAD, 200 YARDS N. OF ITHICA CITY LINE, AT POINT WERE WILLIAMS BROOK CROSSES

County: TOMPKINS
Town: LANSING, TOWN OF

  • LUDLOW INN 1795
    FIRST LOG TAVERN, 1792
    LOG GRISTMILL, 1795
    BUILT BY MAJ. THOMAS LUDLOW
    EARLY SETTLERS--SILAS, HENRY
    AND THOMAS LUDLOW, 1791
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT LUDLOWVILLE

  • LUDLOWVILLE-MEYERS
    DETACHMENT OF GEN. JOHN
    SULLIVAN'S ARMY UNDER
    COL. BUTLER CAMPED ON THESE
    HEIGHTS SEPT. 24, 1779.
    ANDREW MYERS, PIONEER, 1791
    Location: ON HGTS. W. OF NYS 34B BETWEEN LUDLOWVILLE & MYERS

  • ROGUES HARBOR INN
    1830, BUILT BY D.D. MINIER
    SON OF GEN. ABRAM MINIER
    WHO LOCATED IN TOWN 1788
    AND LIVED ON SITE 1792
    LIBERTYVILLE NOW S. LANSING
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF NYS 34 & 34B AT SOUTH LANSING

County: TOMPKINS
Town: NEWFIELD, TOWN OF

  • CONNECTICUT HILL
    BORN HERE, JULY 22, 1855, TO
    FOREST ERVAY AND WIFE, FOUR
    CHILDREN, KNOWN AS ERVAY
    QUADRUPLETS; ON EXHIBITION
    FOR SEVERAL YEARS
    Location: ON TN. RD. ABOUT 3 MIS. W. OF TRUMBULL CORNERS

  • CONNECTICUT HILL
    EARLY CALLED SAXTON HILL
    HIGHEST ELEVATION (2097.2 FT)
    IN TOMPKINS COUNTY. ONCE
    OWNED BY STATE OF
    CONNECTICUT
    Location: ON TN. RD. ABOUT 3 MIS. W. OF TRUMBULL CORNERS

County: TOMPKINS
Town: ULYSSES, TOWN OF

  • ABNER TREMAN
    FIRST SETTLER AND
    FOUNDER OF TRUMANSBURG
    BUILT HIS LOG HOUSE
    NEAR THIS SPOT
    IN 1792
    Location: ON NYS 96 AT TRUMANSBURG

  • ALGONKIAN SITE
    INDIAN VILLAGE
    EXTENDING FROM MOUTH OF
    CREEK TO FALLS
    Location: IN TAUGHANNOCK FALLS STATE PARK

  • CAMP HOUSE
    BUILT IN 1848 BY
    HERMAN CAMP
    COLONEL OF CAVALRY
    NIGARA FRONTIER
    WAR OF 1812
    Location: ON LAWN ST., TRUMANSBURG

  • CAMP SITE
    CAPTIAN JONATHAN WOODWORTH
    REVOLUTIONARY SOLDIER,
    NAVIGATOR AND SURVEYOR
    WITH EXPLORING EXPEDITION
    CAMPED HERE IN JUNE 1788
    Location: IN TAUGHANNOCK FALLS STATE PK.

  • CAYUGA INDIAN
    FORT AND BURIAL GROUND
    EARTH WORK ON NORTH SIDE
    BURIAL GROUND OPPOSITE
    CIRCULAR EARTH WORKS S.E.
    BLUFF SUPPORTED PALISADE
    Location: ON TN RD. ABOUT 1/2 MILE WEST OF WATERBURY

  • HALSEY HOUSE
    BUILT 1829
    BY NICHOLL HALSEY
    FIRST SETTLER & FOUNDER
    OF HALSEYVILLE
    Location: ON NYS 96 AT HALSEYVILLE

  • OLD COOPER INN
    BUILT BY THOMAS COOPER, 1823
    PIONEER SETTLER, 1799
    ITHACA-GENEVA TURNPIKE
    STATE COACH ROUTE
    AND POST ROAD, 1811
    Location: ON NYS 96 AT JACKSONVILLE

  • SAMUEL WEYBURN
    SETTLED HERE IN 1790
    THE HOSPITALITY OF HIS LOG
    CABIN HOME SAVED LIFE OF
    ABNER TREMAN, REV. SOLDIER
    CAUGHT IN BLIZZARD 1793-4
    Location: IN TAUGHANNOCK FALLS STATE PK.

County: ULSTER
Town: ESOPUS, TOWN OF

  • CHURCH OF THE
    ASCENSION
    ESOPUS
    BUILT 1842
    Location: US 9W AT WEST PARK

  • [ARROW]
    JOHN BURROUGHS
    1 1/2 MILES WESTWARD IS
    "SLABSIDES", RUSTIC CABIN
    OF THE POET-NATURALIST,
    WHERE HE SPENT MUCH TIME
    IN THE LATE 90'S AND EARLY 1900'S
    Location: BROADWAY & PARK LA., IN WEST PARK

County: ULSTER
Town: HURLEY, TOWN OF

  • GENERAL WASHINGTON
    WAS GIVEN A PUBLIC
    RECEPTION HERE ON HIS
    JOURNEY FROM WEST POINT
    TO KINGSTON, NOV. 16, 1782
    Location: N.E. CORNER ZANDHOECK RD. & MILLBROOK AVE. IN HURLEY

  • OLD GUARD HOUSE
    LIEUT. DAVID TAYLOR,
    BRITISH SPY, WAS
    CONFINED IN THIS HOUSE AND
    HANGED ON AN APPLE TREE,
    OCTOBER 18, 1777
    Location: US 209 AT HURLEY

  • OLD MINE ROAD
    ESOPUS-MINISINK TRAIL
    INDIAN TRAIL CONNECTING
    DELAWARE VALLEY WITH HUDSON
    RIVER. USED BEFORE AND
    DURING REVOLUTION
    Location: US 209 AT HURLEY

  • VAN DEUSEN HOUSE
    BUILT 1723
    TEMPORARY CAPITOL OF STATE
    AFTER BURNING OF KINGSTON
    1777
    Location: US 209 AT HURLEY

County: ULSTER
Town: KINGSTON, CITY OF

  • ELMENDORF TAVERN
    MEETING PLACE
    STATE COMMITTEE
    OF SAFETY
    1777
    Location: SE CORNER MAIDEN LA. & FAIR ST.

  • FIRST
    KINGSTON ACADEMY
    FOUNDED 1774 BY
    TRUSTEES OF TOWN OF KINGSTON
    Location: SW CORNER JOHN & CROWN STS.

  • PLAN OF KINGSTON
    STOCKADE (WILTWYCK)
    FORT (F) AND 1658
    STREETS
    SITE OF
    OLD STOCKADE 1658
    N.E. BASTION AND BLOCKHOUSE
    Location: N. FRONT ST. & CLINTON AVE.

  • SITE OF
    OLD BLOCKHOUSE
    BUILT 1658
    Location: S.W. CORNER MAIN & FAIR STS.

  • SITE OF
    TAPPEN HOUSE
    OCCUPIED BY GEORGE CLINTON
    WHILE GOVERNOR OF STATE
    Location: S.W. CORNER N. FRONT & WALL STS.

  • SITE OF
    BOGARDUS TAVERN
    FIRST MEETING PLACE
    NEW YORK STATE
    ASSEMBLY
    SEPTEMBER 10TH 1777
    Location: N.W. CORNER MAIDEN LA. & FAIR ST.

  • VAN KEUREN HOMESTEAD
    BURNED BY BRITISH OCT. 17,
    1777. REBUILT AND OCCUPIED
    BY DIRECT DESCENDANTS OF
    ORIGINAL OWNER SINCE THEN.
    Location: ST. JAMES ST. BETWEEN PINE & CLINTON AVES.

County: ULSTER
Town: LLOYD, TOWN OF

  • COLONEL DEYO HOME
    ERECTED 1805
    BUILT AND OCCUPIED BY
    COLONEL JACOB DEYO
    8TH REGIMENT, NEW YORK
    STATE GUARD
    Location: NYS 55 E. OF TRAFFIC CIRCLE

  • ELTING HOMESTEAD
    BUILT BY PHILIP ELTING 1817
    WHO FOUNDED VILLAGE OF HIGHLAND
    ON HIS FARM WHICH WAS DEVISED BY
    HIS GRANDFATHER ABRAHAM ELTING
    TO NOAH ELTING APRIL 1797
    Location: MAIN ST., S. OF ELTING PL., IN HIGHLAND

  • ELTING'S LANDING
    BOMBARDED BY BRITISH 1777
    NOAH ELTING'S FERRY 1793
    HORSE DRAWN FLAT BOAT 1819
    "DUTCHESS AND ULSTER", STEAM
    POWER FERRY EST. 1830
    Location: W. OF R.R., NEAR RIVER IN HIGHLAND

  • HIGHLAND LANDING
    YELVERTON'S LANDING 1777
    VALENTINE BAKER'S LANDING 1786
    NEW PALTZ LANDING 1798
    THE TOWN'S SHIPPING CENTER
    FOR A CENTURY AND A HALF
    Location: E. END OF MAIN ST., HIGHLAND

  • PRESBYTERIAN
    CHURCH
    ORGANIZED MAY 26, 1792, AS
    THE PRESBYTERIAN CONGREGA-
    TION OF NEW PALTZ. PRESENT
    EDIFICE ERECTED 1844.
    Location: CHURCH & GROVE STS, IN HIGHLAND

  • REVOLUTIONARY
    DRILL FIELD 1775
    9TH COMPANY THIRD
    ULSTER COUNTY REGIMENT
    COMMANDED BY CAPTAIN
    PELEG RANSOM
    Location: US 9W S. OF TRAFFIC CIRCLE

  • ULSTER COUNTY
    ONE OF ORIGINAL COUNTIES
    OF NEW YORK STATE, 1683,
    RECEIVED ITS NAME FROM
    THE EARLDOM IN IRELAND
    OF JAMES, DUKE OF YORK.
    Location: NYS 55 AT W. ENTRANCE TO MID-HUDSON BRIDGE

County: ULSTER
Town: MARBLETOWN, TOWN OF

  • 1 1/2 MILE
    SITE OF
    CLOVE REFORMED CHURCH
    ORGANIZED 1807.
    MOVED TO PRESENT SITE
    IN HIGH FALLS 1867
    Location: NYS 213 AT HIGH FALLS

  • DAVIS TAVERN
    FOR MANY YEARS BEFORE AND
    AFTER THE REVOLUTION, THE
    PUBLIC BUSINESS OF THE
    TOWN OF MARBLETOWN WAS
    TRANSACTED HERE.
    Location: US 209 AT MARBLETOWN

  • OLD DEPUY HOUSE
    BUILT IN 1797 BY S. AND A. DEPUY
    WHO KEPT A TAVERN HERE.
    Location: NYS 213 AT HIGH FALLS

  • OLIVER HOUSE
    IN ORIGINAL ANDREW OLIVER
    HOUSE HERE, THE NEW YORK
    LEGISLATURE MET FOR ONE
    MONTH, AFTER BURNING OF
    KINGSTON, OCTOBER, 1777.
    Location: US 209 AT MARBLETOWN

  • SCHOONMAKER HOME
    BUILT IN 1760 BY
    CAP. FREDERICK SCHOONMAKER,
    REVOLUTIONARY OFFICER; HOME
    FORTIFIED AND USED AS PLACE
    OF REFUGE DURING THE WAR.
    Location: NYS 213, E. OF HIGH FALLS, AT COXEN CREEK BRIDGE

  • SITE OF
    COLONIAL CHURCH
    HERE STOOD THE EARLIEST
    CHURCH IN THIS VICINITY,
    ORGANIZED 1737, BUILT 1746,
    THE FIRST MINISTER WAS
    BURIED BENEATH THE PULPIT
    Location: US 209 AT MARBLETOWN

  • TACK TAVERN
    HOME OF JOHANNES TACK,
    WHERE COURT CONVENED AFTER
    BURNING OF KINGSTON BY THE
    BRITISH, OCTOBER, 1777.
    FIRST SCHOOL WAS NEARBY.
    Location: US 209 AT STONE RIDGE

  • [ARROW]
    OLD STONE AQUEDUCT
    BUILT IN 1825 BY D. & H.
    CANAL CO.; COMPLETED 1828;
    ENLARGED IN 1842 AND 1851;
    ABANDONED FEB. 23, 1899.
    Location: NYS 213 AT HIGH FALLS

  • [ARROW]
    DISCOVERY OF CEMENT
    AT BRUCEVILLE, NATHANIEL
    BRUCE, BURNED IN A BLACKSMITH'S
    FORGE, SOME NATIVE ROCK AND
    DISCOVERED CEMENT IN 1818.
    Location: NYS 213 AT HIGH FALLS

  • [ARROW]
    JOHN BURROUGHS
    AMERICAN NATURALIST
    TAUGHT SCHOOL AT HIGH FALLS
    IN 1857 NEAR PRESENT BUILDING
    Location: CHURCH ST., S. OF NYS 213 IN HIGH FALLS

County: ULSTER
Town: NEW PALTZ, TOWN OF

  • BEVIER HOUSE
    BUILT BY LOUIS BEVIER,
    THE PATENTEE, IN 1698.
    ELTING HOMESTEAD FROM
    1740. THIS HOUSE HAS AN
    INTERESTING SUB-CELLAR
    Location: SE CORNER HUGUENOT ST. & BROADHEAD AVE., NEW PALTZ

  • DEYO HOUSE
    BUILT BY PIERRE DEYO,
    ONE OF TWELVE ORIGINAL
    PATENTEES OF NEW PALTZ,
    IN 1692.
    Location: HUGUENOT ST., IN NEW PALTZ

  • DIE PFALZ
    A FRENCH HUGUENOT VILLAGE
    GOVERNED BY "THE DUSINE",
    A BODY OF 12 MEN CHOSEN
    ANNUALLY. FOR 100 YEARS THE
    ONLY FORM OF GOVERNMENT.
    Location: HUGUENOT & N. FRONT STS., IN NEW PALTZ

  • DUBOIS HOUSE
    THE FORT BUILT IN 1705
    BY DANIEL DUBOIS. SITE
    FIRST REDOUBT. THERE ARE
    PORT HOLES IN THE EAST END.
    Location: HUGUENOT ST., IN NEW PALTZ

  • DUBOIS HOUSE
    BUILT IN 1755 BY
    BENJAMIN DUBOIS,
    GRANDSON OF ISAAC DUBOIS,
    NEW PALTZ PATENTEE.
    Location: CO. RD., W. OF NEW PALTZ 4 1/2 MIS. N. OF NYS 299

  • FREER HOUSE
    BUILT 1720 BY HUGO FREER,
    ONE OF TWELVE ORIGINAL
    PATENTEES OF NEW PALTZ.
    THE LOW HOUSE AFTER 1732.
    Location: HUGUENOT ST., IN NEW PALTZ

  • HASBROUCK HOUSE
    BUILT IN 1712, BY ABRAHAM, THE
    PATENTEE, ONCE SOLDIER IN
    ENGLISH ARMY, FRIEND OF
    GOV. ANDROS. KITCHEN SCENE
    OF COCK FIGHTS.
    Location: HUGUENOT ST., IN NEW PALTZ

  • JEAN HASBROUCK
    HOUSE BUILT IN 1712, BY
    THE PATENTEE; NOW HOME OF
    THE HUGUENOT HISTORICAL
    SOCIETY, SINCE 1899.
    Location: HUGUENOT & N. FRONT STS., IN NEW PALTZ

  • NEW PALTZ
    FOUNDED 1678. SIX HOUSES
    BUILT BEFORE 1720 ARE ON
    HUGUENOT STREET, ON THE
    WALKILL RIVER, HOMES OF
    REFUGEES OF FRANCE.
    Location: SW CORNER N. CHESTNUT AND MULBERRY STS., IN NEW PALTZ

  • NEW PALTZ
    FOUNDED 1678. SIX HOUSES
    BUILT BEFORE 1720 ARE ON
    HUGUENOT STREET, ON THE
    WALKILL RIVER, HOMES OF
    REFUGEES OF FRANCE.
    Location: NYS 208, S. OF NEW PALTZ

  • NEW PALTZ
    FOUNDED 1678. SIX HOUSES
    BUILT BY HUGUENOT REFUGEES
    FROM FRANCE, ORIGINAL
    PATENTEES, BEFORE 1720,
    ARE ON WALKILL RIVER
    Location: NE CORNER MAIN & N. FRONT STS., IN NEW PALTZ

  • SITE OF
    THE "OWL" CHURCH
    CONFERENTIA CHURCH PARTY
    ORGANIZED 1767, TO MAINTAIN
    CONTACT WITH CLASSIS OF
    NORTH AMSTERDAM, HOLLAND,
    JOINED PALTZ CHURCH, 1783
    Location: CO. RD. W. OF NEW PALTZ, 1 MI. S. OF NYS 299

  • SITE OF
    WALLOON CHURCH
    BUILT OF LOGS, FIRST
    CHURCH-SCHOOL, 1683,
    FIRST CHURCH OF STONE 1717.
    CALLED "OLD FRENCH CHURCH",
    PRECURSOR REFORMED CHURCH.
    Location: HUGUENOT ST., W. OF N. FRONT ST., IN NEW PALTZ

  • STONE CHURCH - 1773
    FIRST STONE CHURCH, 1717.
    SERVICES IN FRENCH TO 1753,
    DUTCH LANGUAGE TO 1800.
    CHURCH CORNER STONE SEEN
    AT SOUTH WALL OF PORTICO.
    Location: HUGUENOT ST., NEAR BROADHEAD AVE., NEW PALTZ

County: ULSTER
Town: PLATTENKILL, TOWN OF

  • ULSTER COUNTY
    ONE OF ORIGINAL COUNTIES
    OF NEW YORK STATE, 1683,
    RECEIVED ITS NAME FROM
    THE EARLDOM IN IRELAND
    OF JAMES, DUKE OF YORK.
    Location: NYS 32, S. OF PLATTEKILL, AT ULSTER-ORANGE CO. LINE

County: ULSTER
Town: ROCHESTER, TOWN OF

  • ALTON BROOKS PARKER
    MAY 14, 1852 - MAY 10, 1926
    PRINCIPAL OF THIS SCHOOL, 1870-71
    CHIEF JUDGE OF THE NEW YORK
    STATE COURT OF APPEALS, 1897-1904
    CANDIDATE FOR PRESIDENT OF U.S.;
    1904
    Location: US 209, N. OF ACCORD

  • COLONIAL TAVERN
    SILES BOUCK, SCOUT TAKEN
    IN INDIAN AND TORY RAID
    IN 1779, TO FORT NIAGARA, CAME
    BACK HERE, WHILE NEIGHBORS
    WERE HOLDING A MEETING
    Location: US 209, S. OF ACCORD

  • ROCHESTER CHURCH
    REV. NUCELLA PREACHED, 1695
    LOG CHURCH BUILT, 1700
    2 STONE CHURCHES, 1743, 1860
    2 OTHER CHURCHES BURNED
    PRESENT 6TH ON SAME SPOT
    Location: US 209, S. OF ACCORD

  • SITE OF
    COLONIAL FORT
    HERE ON DEYO'S HILL
    STOOD A FORT PROTECTING
    EARLY SETTLERS FROM INDIANS
    Location: US 209 N. OF KERHONKSON

  • SITE OF
    TRAINING FIELD
    COLONIAL MILITIA, IN THE
    FRENCH AND INDIAN AND
    REVOLUTIONARY WARS, MET
    FOR TRAINING IN A FIELD
    AT THIS PLACE
    Location: US 209 N. OF ACCORD

  • SITE OF
    INDIAN RAID
    IN COLONIAL CHURCH WHICH
    STOOD HERE, 1778, SETTLERS
    FORTIFIED THEMSELVES, AND
    SUCCESSFULLY FOUGHT OFF
    ATTACK OF INDIAN RAIDERS.
    Location: US 209 AT PINE BUSH

  • TOM QUICK FARM
    HOME OF TOM QUICK, BOUGHT
    FROM HARMON HEKUN, INDIAN,
    1676; QUICK WAS KILLED BY
    INDIANS AND HIS SON SLEW
    MANY RED MEN IN REVENGE.
    Location: US 209, S. OF ACCORD

County: ULSTER
Town: ROSENDALE, TOWN OF

  • CREEKLOCKS
    ORIGINALLY WAGENDALL.
    RENAMED 1825 WHEN DELAWARE
    AND HUDSON CANAL WAS BUILT.
    CANAL ENTERED CREEK HERE.
    Location: CREEKLOCKS RD., CREEKLOCKS

  • D. & H. CANAL
    STARTED 1825, OPENED 1828.
    IMPORTANT WATERWAY IN THE
    DEVELOPMENT OF NEW YORK
    STATE, CONNECTING DELAWARE
    AND HUDSON RIVERS.
    Location: NYS 213 W. OF ROSENDALE

  • FORDING PLACE
    USED BY GEN. CLINTON'S
    FORCES, ON WAY FROM
    NEWBURGH TO DEFEND KINGSTON,
    FROM BRITISH RAIDERS IN
    OCTOBER, 1777.
    Location: NYS 32 AT ROSENDALE

  • FREER HOUSE
    BUILT 1765 BY JACOB FREER,
    GRANDSON OF HUGO FREER,
    NEW PALTZ PATENTEE; FIRST
    SETTLED BY FAMILY IN 1730
    CALLED "HALF MOON".
    Location: NYS 32 S. OF TILLSON

  • GRIST MILL
    OPERATED IN 1809 BY JACOB
    LOW SNYDER, EARLY SETTLER;
    IN 1825 BY JUDGE LUCAS
    ELMENDORF. CEMENT GROUND
    HERE FOR D. & H. CANAL.
    Location: NYS 213 W. OF ROSENDALE

  • HOME OF
    ABRAHAM VAN WAGENEN
    AN ORIGINAL SETTLER,
    BUILT, 1725-1730.
    Location: CREEKLOCKS RD., CREEKLOCKS

  • JOPPENBERGH
    JACOB'S MOUNT, NAMED
    FOR COL. JACOBUS RUTSEN,
    FIRST SETTLER, IN 1680
    Location: NYS 213 W. OF ROSENDALE

  • LEFEVRE HOUSE
    BUILT 1780; SINCE 1810
    HOME OF LEFEVRE FAMILY,
    DESCENDANTS OF SIMON,
    NEW PALTZ PATENTEE,
    CALLED BLOEMENDAL.
    Location: NYS 32, S. OF BLOOMINGTON

  • MEETING HOUSE
    FRIENDS CHURCH, BUILT
    IN 1800. PHEBE TILLSON
    WAS THE FIRST RECOMMENDED
    MINISTER.
    Location: GRIST MILL RD., TILLSON

  • NEWKIRK TAVERN
    BUILT IN 1781 BY
    GERRIT NEWKIRK.
    A FAMOUS HOSTERLRY.
    Location: NYS 32 AT MAPLE HILL

  • PERRINE'S BRIDGE
    ERECTED IN 1850. ONE OF
    THE FEW OLD COVERED
    BRIDGES STILL STANDING
    IN NEW YORK STATE.
    Location: NYS 32 S. OF TILLSON

  • PETRUS VAN WAGENEN
    ONE OF ORIGINAL SETTLERS
    OF WAGENDAAL, OCCUPIED BY
    VAN WAGENEN FAMILIES, BUILT
    THIS HOUSE IN 1726-1730.
    Location: SW CORNER CREEKLOCKS RD. & MAIN ST., BLOOMINGTON

  • REFORMED PROTESTANT
    DUTCH CHURCH
    FIRST ORGANIZED 1797,
    BURNED 1846, REBUILT ON
    PRESENT LOCATION, 1847.
    Location: CHURCH ST., W. OF MAIN ST., BLOOMINGTON

  • ROSENDALE CEMENT
    DISCOVERED HERE IN 1826.
    FIRST COMMERCIAL MILL
    OPERATED HERE 1826 BY
    WATSON E. LAWRENCE,
    CALLED LAWRENCEVILLE.
    Location: NYS 213 W. OF ROSENDALE

  • RUTSEN HOUSE
    FIRST HOUSE BUILT IN TOWN
    BY JACOBUS RUTSEN IN 1680.
    JACOBUS RUTSEN HARDENBERGH
    BORN HERE - ENTERTAINED
    GEN. GEORGE WASHINGTON.
    Location: NYS 32 AT ROSENDALE

  • SITE OF
    DE WITT MILL
    ERECTED 1750 BY COL.
    CHRALES DE WITT. FLOUR
    GROUND HERE FOR AMERICAN
    ARMY IN THE REVOLUTION.
    Location: NYS 32 AT BLOOMINGTON

  • SITE OF
    DE WITT HOUSE
    BUILT 1736; DESTROYED 1930;
    HOME OF COL. CHARLES DE WITT,
    MEMBER PROVINCIAL CONGRESS
    CALLED CROCODILE INN,
    ABOUT 1800.
    Location: NYS 32 AT BLOOMINGTON

  • SITE OF
    FIRST CHURCH
    ERECTED HERE IN 1797,
    REFORMED CHURCH OF
    BLOEMENDAL BURNED 1846,
    REBUILT 1847, AT NEW
    LOCATION AT BLOOMINGTON
    Location: E. OF NYS 32 IN MAPLE HILL

  • SNYDER HOME
    COMMUNITY FIRST SETTLED
    1755 BY JACOB SNYDER,
    HOUSE ERECTED 1788; HOME
    OF CHRISTOPHER SNYDER,
    REVOLUTIONARY SOLDIER.
    Location: CO. RD. AT COTTEKILL

  • TAWAERI TAQUI
    NORTHWEST CORNER OF
    PATENT GRANTED TO THE
    HUGUENOT SETTLERS OF
    NEW PALTZ, IN 1677, IS
    ONE HALF MILE WEST.
    Location: SPRINGTOWN RD., TILLSON

  • TILLSON HOME
    FIRST ESTABLISHED IN 1778.
    HOME OF JOB TILLSON, SCOUT
    IN REVOLUTIONARY ARMY AT
    12 YEARS. COMMUNITY NAMED
    IN HONOR OF FAMILY.
    Location: GRIST MILL RD., IN TILLSON

  • WAGENDALL
    ON THIS FARM IS HOME OF
    JACOB AARTSEN VAN WAGENEN,
    BUILT 1669, FIRST SETTLER,
    AND HOME OF JOHANNES
    VAN WAGENEN, BUILT 1775.
    Location: CREEKLOCKS RD., CREEKLOCKS

  • WHITE'S MILL
    BUILT 1830 BY HUGH WHITE,
    SUPPLIED CEMENT FOR CROTON
    RESERVOIR, WHITEPORT NAMED
    TO HONOR HUGH WHITE.
    Location: CO. RD. AT WHITEPORT

County: ULSTER
Town: SAUGERTIES, TOWN OF

  • BARCLAY HEIGHTS
    NAMED FOR HENRY BARCLAY
    1778-1851, EARLY SETTLER
    WHO FOUNDED TRINITY CHURCH,
    UTILIZED LOCAL WATER POWER
    AND GREATLY PROMOTED INDUSTRY.
    Location: US 9W, S. OF BARCLAY ST., IN SAUGERTIES

  • BRICK CHURCH
    BUILT 1827. USED FOR WORSHIP
    UNTIL 1852. THEN SOLD FOR
    USE AS AN ACADEMY. LATER
    KNOWN AND USED AS
    BURHANS BLACKSMITH SHOP
    Location: LIVINGSTON ST., W. OF NYS 32, SAUGERTIES

  • BRINK HOMESTEAD
    OWNED CONTINUOUSLY BY FAMILY
    OF CORNELIUS LAMBERTSEN BRINK,
    PURCHASER, 1688, OF SECOND
    LAND GRANT IN TOWN. PART
    OF ORIGINAL HOUSE REMAINS.
    Location: CO. RD., 1-1/2 MIS. S. OF MT. MARION

  • FLATBUSH
    REFORMED CHURCH
    OF SAUGERTIES, N. Y.
    ORGANIZED JUNE 9, 1807.
    BUILDING ERECTED 1808.
    Location: NYS 32, 1-1/2 MIS. S. OF GLASCO

  • GLASCO TURNPIKE
    ROAD FROM EARLY GLASS WORKS
    ON THE UPPER SAWKILL, TO
    SHIPPING POINT ON HUDSON
    ABOVE RONDOUT. NAMED FOR
    SIGN ON COMPANY'S WAREHOUSE.
    Location: NYS 212, E. OF WOODSTOCK

  • INDIAN CAVE
    HOME OF "NACHTE JAN", LAST
    INDIAN OF REGION. FRIEND
    OF CORNELIUS PERSEN, OFTEN
    WARNED HIM OF ATTACKS
    BY INDIANS AND TORIES.
    Location: NYS 32, SO. OF KATSBAAN

  • KATSBAAN CHURCH
    ERECTED 1732 KNOWN AS
    "DE STEENEKERK OP DE KATS
    BAAN." REBUILT 1867. IN
    NORTH WALL ARE STONES WITH
    NAMES OF BUILDERS.
    Location: CO. RD., 8 MIS. N. OF KATSBAAN

  • KIERSTED HOUSE
    OF PRE-REVOLUTIONARY DAYS.
    HOME OF DR. CHRISTOPHER KIERSTED,
    FIRST PHYSICIAN IN TOWN,
    RENDERED SERVICE DURING
    REVOLUTIONARY WAR
    Location: MAIN ST., E. OF WASHINGTON AVE., SAUGERTIES

  • KING'S ROAD
    OLDEST HIGHWAY IN TOWN, 1703.
    FIRST KNOWN AS "FOOTPATH" TO
    ALBANY, THEN AS THE
    "QUEEN'S HIGHWAY", LATER AS
    THE OLD KING'S ROAD."
    Location: NYS 32, 100 YDS. N. OF THRUWAY ENTRANCE NO. 20

  • LUTHERAN CHURCH
    ORGANIZED IN 1710 BY THE
    PALATINES. FIRST PASTOR
    REV. JOSHUA KOCHERTHAL.
    FIRST CHURCH NEAR SITE
    OF PRESENT CHURCH
    Location: US 9W AT WEST CAMP

  • MYER HOMESTEAD
    LAND DEEDED 1724 TO
    CHRISTIAN MYER, PROMINENT
    PALATINE SETTLER; EIGHTEEN
    DESCENDANTS SERVED IN
    REVOLUTIONARY WAR
    Location: CO. RD., 1-1/2 MIS. S. OF NYS 32

  • MYNDERSE HOUSE
    JOHN PERSON, PATENTEE 1712,
    BUILT GRIST MILL AND EST'D
    FERRY ACROSS ESOPUS CREEK.
    DEEDED TO DAUGHTER OF MYNDERT
    MYNDERSE. ADDITION BUILT 1743
    Location: MYNDERSE ST., S. OF US 9W, IN SAUGERTIES

  • PERSEN STORE SITE
    25 YARDS EAST STOOD STORE
    OF CORNELIUS PERSEN; ALSO
    FUR TRADE HEADQUARTERS OF
    JOHN JACOB ASTOR; IN 1867
    USED AS PLACE OF WORSHIP
    Location: NYS 32, SO. OF KATSBAAN

  • POST TAVERN SITE
    USED AS PATRIOTS MEETING
    PLACE DURING REVOLUTION.
    ARTICLES OF ASSOCIATION
    SIGNED HERE. RELIGIOUS
    SERVICES HELD HERE 1815-29.
    Location: MAIN ST., W. OF PARTITION ST., SAUGERTIES

  • SAWYER'S MILL
    STOOD ON THIS SITE 1663.
    SAUGERTIES DERIVED ITS
    NAME FROM THE DUTCH
    WORD "DE ZAAGERTJES".
    Location: US 9W N. OF SAUGERTIES AT BRIDGE

  • SCHOONMAKER HOMESTEAD
    ELDER KATSBAAN CHURCH, MEMBER
    OF GENERAL COMMITTEE OF ARTICLES
    OF ASSOCIATION. OCCUPIED CON-
    TINUOUSLY BY DESCENDANTS.
    PRE-REVOLUTIONARY HOUSE.
    Location: MAIN ST., W. OF MYNDERSE ST. IN SAUGERTIES

  • SETTLERS CAPTURED
    JUNE 10, 1780, NEAR THIS
    SPOT, PETER SHORT AND PETER
    MILLER WERE CAPTURED BY
    TORIES DISGUISED AS INDIANS
    AND TAKEN TO CANADA
    Location: NYS 212, E. OF WOODSTOCK

  • TAVERN SITE
    KEPT BY CHRISTIAN FIERO.
    PUBLIC MEETING PLACE
    DURING REVOLUTION.
    FIRST TOWN MEETING HELD
    HERE APRIL 16, 1811
    Location: NO. OF NYS 32, AT KATSBAAN

  • TAVERN SITE
    NEAR HERE STOOD NOTED INN
    KEPT BY "OOM HANS" MYER,
    FREQUENTED BY AARON BURR.
    MYER DROVE AMBULANCE WAGON
    FROM SARATOGA TO ALBANY
    Location: CO. RD., 5 MIS. S. OF NYS 32

  • ULSTER COUNTY
    ONE OF ORIGINAL COUNTIES
    OF NEW YORK STATE, 1683,
    RECEIVED ITS NAME FROM
    THE EARLDOM IN IRELAND
    OF JAMES, DUKE OF YORK.
    Location: US 9W AT ULSTER-GREENE CO. LINE

  • WEST CAMP VILLAGE
    SETTLED 1710 BY PALATINES
    FROM THE RHINELAND FOR
    PRODUCTION OF NAVAL STORES.
    BUILT CHURCH AND SCHOOL
    DURING FIRST WINTER.
    Location: US 9W AT WEST CAMP

County: ULSTER
Town: SHANDAKEN, TOWN OF

  • ULSTER COUNTY
    ONE OF ORIGINAL COUNTIES
    OF NEW YORK STATE, 1683
    RECEIVED ITS NAME FROM
    THE EARLDOM IN IRELAND
    OF JAMES, DUKE OF YORK.

County: ULSTER
Town: SHAWANGUNK, TOWN OF

  • SITE OF NEW FORT
    23 INDIANS KILLED, 13
    CAPTURED. 23 CAPTIVE
    WOMEN AND CHILDREN
    RELEASED. 3 SOLDIERS
    KILLED, SEPT. 5, 1663
    Location: OFF CO. RD., 1 MI. S. OLD SHAWANGUNK CHURCH

County: ULSTER
Town: WAWARSING, TOWN OF

  • ABRAM BEVIER
    WHOSE HOUSE STOOD HERE, HAD
    A SMALL CANNON, WHICH THE
    INDIANS FEARED, AND WHICH
    MADE HIS HOME OF FORT FOR
    SETTLERS IN RAID OF 1781.
    Location: US 209 AT NAPANOCH

  • BEVIER HOUSE
    AUG. 12, 1781, INDIANS
    RAIDING RONDOUT VALLEY
    FIRED HOUSE OF CORNELIUS
    BEVIER, BUT FLAMES WERE PUT
    OUT BY NEGRO WOMAN SLAVE.
    Location: US 209 AT WAWARSING

  • CORNELIUS DEPUY
    HOUSE
    ATTACKED BY INDIANS, AUG. 12,
    1781. GARRET VAN WAGENEN, 16,
    SHOT THE LEADER, AND
    SCARED THE OTHERS AWAY.
    Location: US 209, N. OF WAWARSING

  • HOME OF
    JOHANNES G. HARDENBERGH
    ERECTED 1762. NEW YORK
    RECORDS DEPOSITED HERE
    OCT. 12, 1777 BEFORE KINGSTON
    WAS BURNED BY THE BRITISH
    Location: US 209, 1 MI. S. OF KERHONKSON

  • OLD MINE ROAD
    ESOPUS - MINISINK TRAIL
    INDIAN TRAIL CONNECTING
    DELAWARE VALLEY WITH HUDSON
    RIVER. USED BEFORE AND
    DURING REVOLUTION
    Location: US 209, N. OF SPRING GLEN

  • SITE OF
    FIRST MILL
    HERE, ON VERNOOY KILL, WAS
    FIRST MILL, BROUGHT FROM
    HOLLAND AND SET UP EARLY
    IN THE EIGHTEENTH CENTURY
    BY CORNELIUS VERNOOY.
    Location: US 209 AT WAWARSING

  • ULSTER COUNTY
    ONE OF ORIGINAL COUNTIES
    OF NEW YORK STATE, 1683,
    RECEIVED ITS NAME FROM
    THE EARLDOM IN IRELAND
    OF JAMES, DUKE OF YORK.
    Location: US 209, S. OF SPRING GLEN

  • WAWARSING FORT
    [ARROW]
    ON THE KNOLL 300 FT EAST
    STOOD A STONE FORT WHICH
    PROTECTED THE SETTLERS
    DURING THE INDIAN RAID
    OF AUG. 12, 1781.
    Location: US 209 AT WAWARSING

  • [ARROW]
    SITE OF
    LONG HOUSE
    AT FOOT OF HIGH BLUFF STOOD
    INDIAN COUNCIL HOUSE DESTROYED
    BY CAPT. KREGIER, AUGUST 31, 1663
    Location: US 209 AT WAWARSING

County: ULSTER
Town: WOODSTOCK, TOWN OF

  • "DOWN RENT" WAR
    REBELLION AGAINST "THREE
    LIFE" LEASES CAUSED RIOTS
    HERE BY FARMERS DISGUISED
    AS INDIANS, 1845, AND LED TO
    ABOLISHMENT OF SYSTEM.
    Location: S. OF NYS 212, AT LAKE HILL

  • BAEHR'S STORE
    CHRISTIAN BAEHR, A GERMAN
    PEDDLER, FOUNDED STORE ON
    SAWKILL, IN 1839. EARLY IN
    TANBARK INDUSTRY, IT GAVE NAME
    TO HAMLET BEARSVILLE.
    Location: NYS 212, AT BEARSVILLE

  • ELIAS HASBROUCH
    CAPTAIN IN AMERICAN ARMY,
    1775-1783; AT QUEBEC WITH
    GEN. MONTGOMERY; BURIED HERE.
    HIS HOUSE IN KINGSTON WAS
    BURNED BY BRITISH, 1777.
    Location: N. OF NYS 212 AT LAKE HILL

  • GLASCO TURNPIKE
    ROAD FROM EARLY GLASS WORKS
    ON THE UPPER SAWKILL, TO
    SHIPPING POINT ON HUDSON,
    ABOVE RONDOUT. NAMED FOR
    SIGN ON COMPANY'S WAREHOUSE.
    Location: CO. RD., NE OF WOODSTOCK

  • GLASCO TURNPIKE
    ROAD FROM EARLY GLASS WORKS
    ON THE UPPER SAWKILL TO
    SHIPPING POINT ON HUDSON,
    ABOVE RONDOUT. NAMED FOR
    SIGN ON COMPANY'S WAREHOUSE.
    Location: CO. RD., N OF WOODSTOCK

  • GLASS FACTORY
    BRISTOL (SHADY) 1825-1856.
    ONE OF EARLY INDUSTRIES IN
    CATSKILLS; MADE WINDOW GLASS
    AND DOMES FOR WAX FLOWERS,
    STILL FOUND IN WOODSTOCK.
    Location: 1/2 MI. N. OF SHADY

  • OLD WOODSTOCK MILL
    GRIST MILL, 1788-1925
    ALSO RUN AS CARDING MILL,
    1836 AND LATER, BY
    JOSHUA NASH.
    Location: SE CORNER NYS 212 AND NYS 375

  • OLD ZENA MILL
    OPERATED PRIOR TO 1750 BY
    MAJOR JOHANNES HARDENBERGH.
    GRANTED TO EPHRAIM VAN KEUREN,
    LATER RUN BY CAPT. WILLIAM
    SWART AND WILHEMUS HOWE.
    Location: CO. RD., N. OF ZENA

  • SITE OF
    NEWKIRK HOUSE
    ONE OF THE EARLIEST HOUSES
    IN WOODSTOCK, OCCUPIED 1777
    BY GARRET NEWKIRK, LATER
    BY JACOBUS ELTINGE.
    Location: NYS 212, AT VILLAGE CENTER IN WOODSTOCK

  • TANNERY BROOK
    TANNERS, USING HEMLOCK BARK,
    RAN MILLS HERE, 1830-1870.
    HIDES WERE BROUGHT IN SHIPS
    UP THE HUDSON TO KINGSTON.
    Location: NYS 212, W. OF WOODSTOCK

  • ZENA - WAGHKONK
    ZENZ WAS CALLED WAGHKONK OR
    AWAGHKONK, INDIAN FOR LOW
    MEADOWS OR MARSH; DUTCH
    TRANSLATED IT VAN DAAL, OR
    VALLEY; ENGLISH VANDALE
    Location: CO. RD. AT ZENA

  • [ARROW]
    BLUESTONE QUARRY
    THE CALIFORNIA QUARRY, ON
    OVERLOOK MOUNTAIN, NORTH,
    WAS ONE OF THE LARGEST OF
    THESE INDUSTRIES WHICH
    FLOURISHED, 1839-1900.
    Location: CO. RD., NE OF WOODSTOCK

County: WARREN
Town: BOLTON, TOWN OF

  • DIAMOND ISLAND
    IN CENTER OF LAKE, MILITARY
    DEPOT OF BURGOYNE'S ARMY,
    ATTACKED, SEPT. 1777, BY
    AMERICANS UNDER COL. BROWN;
    LATER ABANDONED BY ENEMY
    Location: ON DIAMOND ISLAND IN L. GEORGE

County: WARREN
Town: GLENS FALLS, CITY OF

  • HALF WAY BROOK
    MIDWAY BETWEEN FORT EDWARD
    AND FORT GEORGE. ON THIS
    SITE ABOUT 1755 STOOD
    A BLOCKHOUSE ENCLOSED
    BY A STOCKADE.
    Location: ON US 9 AT NORTHERN END OF CITY

County: WARREN
Town: HAGUE, TOWN OF

  • THROUGH THIS PASS TO
    TROUT BROOK WAS
    AN INDIAN TRAIL
    USED BY ROBERT ROGERS AFTER
    BATTLE ON SNOWSHOES, 1758,
    ON RETREAT TO FT. WILLIAM HENRY
    Location: ON NYS 8 & NYS 9N ABOUT 1 MILE NORTH OF HAGUE

County: WARREN
Town: LAKE GEORGE, TOWN OF

  • FORT WM. HENRY
    1755 BUILT BY SIR WM. JOHNSON
    1757 AFTER A GALLANT DEFENSE
    COL. MONROE IN COMMAND
    SURRENDERED TO THE FRENCH
    UNDER GEN. MONTCALM
    Location: ON LAKE FRONT, L. GEORGE VLGE.

  • MONTCALM'S CAMP
    1757
    ON THESE GROUNDS MONTCALM'S
    ARMY CAMPED DURING THE
    SIEGE OF FORT WM. HENRY
    AUGUST 6-9, 1757
    Location: ON US 9 AT LAKE GEORGE VLGE.

  • THE HOSPITAL
    AT BATTLE OF LAKE GEORGE
    MANY WOUNDED SOLDIERS AND
    SOME WITH SMALLPOX WERE
    CRUELLY MURDERED BY INDIANS
    OF MONTCALM'S ARMY
    Location: ON STATE RESERVATION AT LAKE GEORGE VILLAGE

County: WARREN
Town: QUEENSBURY, TOWN OF

  • FIVE MILE RUN
    IN FRENCH AND INDIAN WAR
    THIS RUN WAS AVOIDED
    BECAUSE OF FEAR OF ATTACK
    BY HIDDEN INDIANS. NAME
    CHANGED TO MEADOW RUN 1808.
    Location: ON US 9 ABOUT 2-1/2 MILES NORTH OF GLENS FALLS

  • MILITARY ROAD
    BETWEEN FORT EDWARD
    AND LAKE GEORGE
    BUILT BY SIR WILLIAM JOHNSON
    DURING THE SUMMER OF 1755
    Location: ON US 9 ABOUT 4-1/2 MILES NORTH OF GLENS FALLS

  • ONEIDA
    NAMED FOR TOM HAMMOND, A
    HALF BREED ONEIDA INDIAN
    A THRIVING SETTLEMENT DOING
    A LARGE LUMBERING BUSINESS
    AT CLOSE OF REVOLUTION
    Location: ON NYS 9L ABOUT 3-1/2 MILES NORTH OF GLENS FALLS

County: WARREN
Town: THURMAN, TOWN OF

  • JAMES CAMERON
    PIONEER WOODSMAN FARMER,
    JUSTICE OF THE PEACE,
    SETTLED IN THIS VALLEY
    IN 1773. BURIED 100
    FEET WEST OF THIS MARKER.
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 5 MILES WEST OF WARRENSBURG

County: WASHINGTON
Town: ARGYLE, TOWN OF

  • FIRST CHURCH
    AND MANSE OF ARGYLE UNITED
    PRESBYTERIAN CONGREGATION
    BUILT IN 1792 NEAR GROUP
    OF TREES A SHORT DISTANCE
    EAST OF THIS SPOT.
    Location: ON NYS 40 ABOUT 1/2 MILE SOUTH OF ARGYLE

  • KILMER MILL
    BUILT SHORT DISTANCE WEST
    OF HERE BEFORE REVOLUTION.
    FIRST SETTLEMENT IN ARGYLE
    VILLAGE AND FIRST GRIST
    MILL WITHIN FORTY MILES.
    Location: ON NYS 197 AT ARGYLE

  • SITE OF
    ALLEN HOUSE
    WHERE NINE PEOPLE WERE KILLED
    BY LE LOUP'S INDIANS
    JULY 1777
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1-1/2 MILES EAST OF SOUTH ARGYLE

  • THE STREET
    ROAD LAID OUT IN 1764 BY
    GRANTEES OF ARGYLE PATENT.
    EXTENDED EAST SEVEN MILES
    FROM HUDSON RIVER BORDERED
    BY TOWN LOTS OF SETTLERS
    Location: ON NYS 40 ABOUT 1/2 MILE SOUTH OF ARGYLE

County: WASHINGTON
Town: CAMBRIDGE, TOWN OF

  • CONTINENTAL ROAD
    (DI-ON-ON-DA-WA-HA TRAIL)
    COL. BAUM'S ROUTE FROM
    FT. MILLER TO BENNINGTON
    AUGUST 14, 1777
    Location: ON SO. UNION ST., CAMBRIDGE

  • GREAT NORTHERN
    WAR TRAIL
    1628-1764
    OVER WHICH INDIANS LED
    NEW ENGLAND CAPTIVES TO
    CANADA DURING INDIAN WARS
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF NYS 22 & NYS 313 AT CAMBRIDGE

  • SITE OF
    CAMBRIDGE WASHINGTON
    ACADEMY
    INCORPORATED BY REGENTS, 1815
    MERGED IN UNION SCHOOL, 1873
    Location: ON ACADEMY ST. IN CAMBRIDGE

  • SITE OF
    KING'S M.E. CHURCH
    ERECTED 1823, NAMED FOR
    FENNER KING, LEADER AND
    PROMOTER. DESTROYED 1897.
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 2 MILES EAST OF CENTER CAMBRIDGE

  • SITE OF
    FIRST CHURCH
    IN CAMBRIDGE PATENT
    BUILDING STARTED 1775
    INTERRUPTED BY REVOLUTION
    COMPLETED 1783
    Location: ON TOWN RD. AT SOUTH END OF VILLAGE OF CAMBRIDGE

  • SITE OF
    BUSKIRK'S BRIDGE
    BUILT 1801 BY
    MARTIN VAN BUSKIRK
    TO REPLACE USE OF FORD
    Location: AT APPROACH TO COVERED BRIDGE OVER HOOSIC R. NEAR BUSKIRK

County: WASHINGTON
Town: EASTON, TOWN OF

  • FRIEND'S LOG MEETING HOUSE
    SURROUNDED BY BURGOYNE'S
    INDIAN ALLIES IN 1777 BUT
    FINDING FRIENDS UNARMED
    STACKED ARMS AND ATTENDED
    MEETING PEACEABLY.
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 3/4 MILE EAST OF EASTON

  • [ARROW]
    POSITION OF
    THE CONTINENTAL TROOPS
    UNDER GENERAL FELLOWS
    TO PREVENT BURGOYNE
    CROSSING THE HUDSON
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1 MILE SO. OF CLARKS MILLS

County: WASHINGTON
Town: FORT ANN, TOWN OF

  • BLOCK HOUSE
    ON ISLAND
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT KANES FALLS

  • BLOCK HOUSE
    BUILT DURING REVOLUTIONARY
    WAR PROBABLY TO PROTECT
    SAWMILL AND WATER
    PIPES TO FORT ANN
    Location: ON ISLAND AT KANES FALLS

  • FORT ANN
    "GATEWAY TO NORTH"
    HERE STOOD FIVE FORTS
    1690-1777
    ON ROUTE BETWEEN LAKE
    CHAMPLAIN & HUDSON RIVER
    Location: ON US 4 AT FORT ANN

  • HALF-WAY CREEK
    USED IN FRENCH AND INDIAN
    & REVOLUTIONARY WARS
    FOR TRANSPORT OF SUPPLIES
    Location: ON US 4 AT FORT ANN

  • HOME OF COL. GEORGE WRAY
    ORIGINAL MANOR HOUSE BUILT
    1778, CONTAINS SLAVE PENS.
    GRAVE OF COL. WRAY IN THE
    ORCHARD.
    Location: ON TN. RD. 2 MI. WEST OF FT. ANN

  • HOME OF COL. GEORGE WRAY
    TWO MILES WEST, BUILT
    ABOUT 1778, CONTAINS
    SLAVE PENS.
    Location: ON US 4 AT FORT ANN

  • OLD POWDER HOUSE
    USED DURING FRENCH AND
    INDIAN WARS AND
    REVOLUTIONARY WAR
    Location: ON CO. RD. TO W. FORT ANN IN FORT ANN VILLAGE

  • OLD WELL
    USED IN FORT SITE. BUILT
    BEFORE REVOLUTIONARY WAR
    BY QUEEN ANNE OF ENGLAND
    Location: ON CHARLES ST. AT FORT ANN

  • OLDEST HOUSE
    BUILT BEFORE 1800, OWNED
    SUCCESSIVELY BY MOORE
    PIKE AND SHIPMAN FAMILIES
    Location: ON US 4 AT FORT ANN

  • THADDEUS DEWEY PLACE
    BUILT IN 1788 BY THADDEUS
    DEWEY, OWNED BY DEWEY,
    WHITE, COLLINS AND PARRISH
    FAMILIES. ONCE AN OLD
    TAVERN.
    Location: ON TN. RD. AT DEWEY BRIDGE

County: WASHINGTON
Town: FORT EDWARD, TOWN OF

  • "THE ISLAND"
    BARRACKS HOSPITAL,
    BRICK-KILN
    1755
    Location: ON OLD FORT ST. IN FT. EDWARD

  • 1/4 MILE [ARROW]
    DUER HOUSE
    BRITISH HEADQUARTERS
    AUG. 14--SEPT. 10, 1777
    Location: ON US 4 AT FORT MILLER

  • <--
    TO THE SITE OF
    FORT EDWARD, BUILT 1755
    FORT NICHOLSON 1709
    FORT LYDIUS 1731
    FORT LYMAN 1755
    Location: ON US 4 AT S. END OF FT. EDWARD

  • BAGLEY'S BRIDGE,
    (PONTOON TYPE)
    BLOCKHOUSES GUARDED
    APPROACHES
    BUILT DURING
    FRENCH AND INDIAN WAR
    Location: ON US 4 ABOUT 1 MILE SOUTH OF FORT EDWARD

  • BLOCKHOUSE
    AN OUTPOST OF THE FORT
    BUILT DURING
    FRENCH AND INDIAN WAR
    Location: ON BRIDGE ST., FORT EDWARD

  • FORT EDWARD
    1755
    GREAT CARRYING PLACE
    FORT NICHOLSON 1709
    FORT LYDIUS 1731
    FORT LYMAN 1755
    Location: ON US 4 AT N. END OF FT. EDWARD

  • GENERAL SCHUYLER'S
    ENTRENCHMENTS
    HEADQUARTERS OF AMERICAN ARMY
    AFTER THE EVACUATION OF
    FORT EDWARD JULY 1777
    Location: ON US 4 ABOUT 5 MILES SOUTH OF FORT EDWARD

  • JANE MC CREA
    HOUSE
    1777
    Location: ON B'WAY IN FT. EDWARD

  • NEAR HERE STOOD
    THE RED HOUSE,
    MENTIONED IN MADAME
    RIEDESEL'S MEMOIRS
    BUILT ABOUT 1765
    Location: ON BANK OF OLD CANAL OFF B'WAY BETWEEN STATE & ARGYLE STS., FT. EDWD.

  • NEAR HERE WAS
    NORTHEAST BASTION,
    PART OF OUTWORKS
    FORT EDWARD
    1755
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF B'WAY & MOON STS., FT. EDWARD

  • OLD MILITARY ROAD
    FOLLOWED THE GENERAL
    DIRECTION OF BURGOYNE
    AVENUE TO MOSS STREET
    IN KINGSBURY
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF CASE ST. & BURGOYNE AVE., FT. EDWARD

  • ON THE OPPOSITE SIDE
    OF THE RIVER
    FORT MILLER
    BUILT DURING
    FRENCH AND INDIAN WAR
    Location: ON US 4 AT FORT MILLER

  • ON THE WEST BANK
    WAS THE HOME OF
    COLONEL JOHN MC CREA
    PATRIOT
    BROTHER OF JANE MC CREA
    Location: ON US 4 ABOUT 5 MILES SOUTH OF FORT EDWARD

  • REMAINS OF
    OLD MOAT
    PART OF OUTWORKS
    FORT EDWARD
    1755
    Location: ON OLD FORT ST. FT. EDWARD

  • REVOLUTIONARY
    BLOCKHOUSE
    ATTACKED
    JULY 27, 1777
    Location: ON CASE ST., FT. EDWARD

  • SITE OF HOME
    JUDGE WILLIAM DUER
    STATESMAN AND PATRIOT
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 3/4 MILE EAST OF FORT MILLER

  • STATE ST. BURYING GROUND
    ORIGINAL BURIAL PLACE OF
    DUNCAN CAMPBELL
    SECOND BURIAL PLACE OF
    JANE MC CREA
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF STATE & NOTRE DAME STS., FT. EDWARD

  • THE GRAVE OF
    DUNCAN CAMPBELL
    & JANE MC CREA
    ARE JUST WITHIN AND
    TO THE LEFT
    OF THIS GATEWAY
    Location: ON US 4 BETWEEN FORT EDWARD & HUDSON FALLS

  • TO THE SITE OF
    OLD FT. EDWARD
    BUILT 1755
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF OLD FORT & MONTGOMERY STS., FT. EDWARD

  • TO THE SOUTH
    PUTNAM'S RANGERS AND PROVINCIAL
    TROOPS DEFEATED FRENCH AND
    INDIANS AFTER THEY HAD KILLED
    TWELVE MEN
    JULY 23, 1757
    Location: ON NOTRE DAME ST. IN FT. EDWARD

  • [ARROW]
    ORIGINAL BURIAL PLACE OF
    JANE MC CREA
    JULY 28, 1777
    Location: ON US 4 ABOUT 2-1/2 MILES SOUTH OF FORT EDWARD

County: WASHINGTON
Town: GRANVILLE, TOWN OF

  • ERECTED 1784
    THE FIRST BAPTIST CHURCH
    IN THE
    TOWN OF GRANVILLE
    Location: ON OLD RTE. NYS 22 IN TRUTHVILLE

  • ERECTED 1789
    THE FIRST
    CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH
    IN THE
    TOWN OF GRANVILLE
    Location: ON NYS 149 AT S. GRANVILLE

  • FIRST CHURCH
    IN THE TOWN OF GRANVILLE
    ERECTED IN 1782 BY THE
    UNION RELIGIOUS SOCIETY
    Location: ON NYS 22 IN MIDDLE GRANVILLE

  • FRIENDS
    MEETING HOUSE
    ERECTED 1806
    BESIDE CHURCH SITE OF LOG
    SCHOOL HOUSE OF FRIENDS
    LATER A DISTRICT SCHOOL
    Location: ON NYS 22 IN GRANVILLE

County: WASHINGTON
Town: GREENWICH, TOWN OF

  • FROM THIS PLACE
    BURGOYNE'S
    GERMAN TROOPS
    MARCHED TO THE
    BATTLE OF BENNINGTON
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT CLARKS MILLS

  • MC NEAL'S FERRY
    OPERATED DURING
    REVOLUTIONARY DAYS
    Location: ON US 4 AT BRIDGE OVER HUDSON R. AT THOMSON

  • POSITION OF
    GENERAL STARK
    BEFORE CROSSING THE RIVER
    Location: ON CO. RD. BETWEEN CLARKS MILLS & THOMSON

  • POSITION OF
    BURGOYNE'S
    BRIDGE OF BOATS
    ON WHICH HE CROSSED
    THE HUDSON
    Location: ON TN. RD. LEADING TO ABANDONED BRIDGE OVER HUDSON R., CLARKS MILLS

  • SITE OF
    CAPTAIN FURNIVAL'S
    BATTERY
    COMMANDING MARSHALL HOUSE
    AND RIVER CROSSING
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT CLARKS MILLS

  • SITE OF
    THE BRITISH CAMP
    BEFORE CROSSING HUDSON
    LATER OCCUPIED BY GENERAL FELLOWS'
    CONTINENTALS
    Location: ON TN. RD. LEADING TO ABANDONED BRIDGE OVER HUDSON R., CLARKS MILLS

County: WASHINGTON
Town: HARTFORD, TOWN OF

  • BROWN'S TAVERN
    ERECTED 1802 BY
    CALEB BROWN
    Location: ON NYS 40 AT S. HARTFORD

  • CLINTON GIFT
    GOV. CLINTON GAVE THIS LAND
    TO BAPTIST SOCIETY, 1798,
    LOG MEETING HOUSE, 1788
    STOOD 50 FEET TO THE SOUTH,
    CHURCH ERECTED HERE, 1805
    Location: ON CO.RD. AT HARTFORD

  • HAWK'S CORNERS
    SAVILLE'S TAVERN BUILT 1800
    M. BULL'S BLACKSMITH SHOP
    1794, A TOWN POUND 1794
    HIGLEY'S SHOE SHOP, 1850
    Location: ON NYS 149 ABOUT 4 MILES WEST OF HARTFORD

  • MILL CREEK
    COVELL'S MILLS EAST 1810,
    HATCH TANNERY 100 FT. SOUTH
    1800, SCOTT'S CLOTHING WORKS
    AND OTHER MILLS BELOW.
    WOOLEN MILL, 1 MILE WEST, 1836
    Location: ON NYS 40 AT S. HARTFORD

  • SITE OF
    OLD MILLS
    I. NORTON BUILT DAM 1814
    DOWN'S CLOTHING WORKS
    WOODELL STARCH MILL 1866
    DAICY CABINET WORKS 1870
    HIGBY TANNERY BELOW 1818
    Location: ON NYS 149 AT HARTFORD

County: WASHINGTON
Town: SALEM, TOWN OF

  • HOME AND LABORATORY
    DR. ASA FITCH, JR.
    1809-1879
    FIRST STATE ENTOMOLOGIST,
    1854-71. PIONEER IN STUDY OF
    CROP PESTS AND THEIR CONTROL
    Location: ON RTE. 29, 2 MILES S.W. OF SALEM

County: WASHINGTON
Town: WHITE CREEK, TOWN OF

  • A LOG CHURCH
    WHICH STOOD HERE
    WAS BURNED BY THE BRITISH
    BATTLE OF WALLOOMSAC
    AUG. 16, 1777
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1-1/2 MILES WEST OF WHITE CREEK

  • GREAT NORTHERN
    WAR TRAIL
    C. 1650 - 1700
    OVER WHICH INDIANS LED
    NEW ENGLAND CAPTIVES TO
    CANADA DURING INDIAN WARS
    Location: ON WEST SIDE OF S. PARK ST. IN CAMBRIDGE

  • SITE OF
    FRIENDS MEETING HOUSE
    ERECTED BY SOCIETY OF FRIENDS
    OF WHITE CREEK. PREPARATIVE
    MEETING IN 1783. FINISHED IN
    1785. LARGER ONE BUILT 1804.
    Location: ON TN. RD. AT WHITE CREEK

  • SITE OF
    SKIRMISH
    BETWEEN HESSIAN TROOPS
    & CAMBRIDGE SETTLERS
    SEVERAL PATRIOTS TAKEN
    PRISONERS, AUG. 15, 1777.
    Location: ON NYS 22 ABOUT 4 MILES SOUTH OF CAMBRIDGE

  • SITE OF
    BRITISH
    ENCAMPMENT
    AUGUST 13, 1777
    COL. BAUM'S FORCES
    CAMPED HERE
    Location: ON US 22 ABOUT 4 MILES SOUTH OF CAMBRIDGE

  • SITE OF
    UNION ACADEMY
    ESTABLISHED IN 1810
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT WHITE CREEK

  • SITE OF
    ASH GROVE CEMETERY
    AND
    2D M.E. CHURCH
    IN U.S. ORGANIZED 1770 BY
    IRISH METHODISTS UNDER THOMAS
    ASHTON AND PHILIP EMBURY
    Location: ON TN. RD. AT ASH GROVE

  • SITE OF
    "JOHN ALLEN'S
    HAT SHOP"
    BORN 1775 - DIED 1855
    Location: ON TN. RD. AT WHITE CREEK

  • SITE OF HOME
    JOHN WOOD
    FIELD OFFICERS WERE VOTED FOR
    HERE, MAY 11, 1776.
    ALSO BIRTHPLACE JOHN
    WOOD'S SON, JETHRO WOOD, INVENTOR
    FIRST IRON MOULD PLOW (1814)
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1 MILE WEST OF WHITE CREEK

County: WASHINGTON
Town: WHITEHALL, TOWN OF

  • NEAR THIS SPOT
    MARCH 21, 1780, 3 TORIES AND
    MANY INDIANS MURDERED A SETTLER
    AND HIS WIFE AND CAPTURED LEMMA
    BARTHOLOMEW. AFTER HIS RETURN
    HE SERVED AS ENSIGN IN REVOLUTION
    Location: ON US 4 AT WHITEHALL

County: WAYNE
Town: LYONS, TOWN OF

  • FIRST SCHOOL
    A LOG SCHOOL HOUSE WAS
    BUILT ON THIS SITE BEFORE
    1808. BRICK STRUCTURE
    REPLACING IT WAS USED
    AS A CATHOLIC CHURCH
    Location: ON BUTTERNUT ST., LYONS

  • NAMING OF LYONS
    ABOUT 1795 NEAR THIS SPOT
    THE RIVER VIEW RESEMBLING
    THAT OF LYONS, FRANCE, LED
    CHARLES WILLIAMSON TO
    RENAME "THE FORKS"
    SETTLEMENT - LYONS
    Location: ON WATER ST., LYONS

County: WAYNE
Town: MARION, TOWN OF

  • 1800
    FIRST TAVERN
    KEPT IN MARION
    WAS LOCATED
    ON THIS SITE
    Location: ON MAIN ST., MARION

  • FIRST LOG HOUSE
    IN MARION WAS ERECTED
    ON THIS SITE
    IN 1795
    BY HENRY LOVELL
    Location: ON NYS 21 IN MARION

  • MARION
    SETTLED IN 1795-6
    BY PIONEERS FROM RHODE
    ISLAND AND MASSACHUSETTS,
    WAS ORGANIZED AS A
    TOWN APRIL 15, 1826
    Location: ON MAIN ST., MARION

  • THIS HOUSE
    ERECTED IN 1830
    WAS A STATION OF THE
    UNDERGROUND RAILWAY
    IN THE DAYS OF SLAVERY
    Location: ON NYS 21 ABOUT 1/2 MI. SOUTH OF MARION

County: WAYNE
Town: PALMYRA, TOWN OF

  • 1793-1805
    FIRST SCHOOL HOUSE
    IN PALMYRA BUILT HERE ON
    LAND GIVEN BY GENERAL
    JOHN SWIFT
    Location: ON CHURCH ST., PALMYRA

  • EAST PALMYRA CHURCH
    FIRST TO BE ORGANIZED
    IN STATE, WEST OF PRE-EMPTION
    LINE, 1793
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1/2 MI. EAST OF EAST PALMYRA

  • HERE IN 1790
    FIRST LOG HOUSE
    IN PALMYRA
    BUILT AND OCCUPIED BY
    THE PIONEER SETTLER
    GENERAL JOHN SWIFT
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF NYS 31 & 21 IN PALMYRA

  • JOSEPH SMITH HOME
    WHERE HE LIVED IN 1827
    WHEN HE TRANSLATED
    PART OF THE BOOK OF MORMON
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1 MI. SOUTH OF PALMYRA

  • MARTIN HARRIS
    FARM
    MORTGAGED FOR $3,000 IN
    1829 TO PROVIDE FUNDS
    FOR FIRST PUBLICATION
    OF BOOK OF MORMON
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1 MI. N. OF PALMYRA

  • ROPE WALK
    HERE ROPE WAS MANUFACTURED
    IN 500 FOOT LENGTHS. IT
    WAS USED ON THE ALBANY
    SCHENECTADY R. R.
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1/2 MI. EAST OF PALMYRA

  • SAMPSON HOUSE
    BIRTHPLACE OF REAR ADMIRAL
    WILLIAM T. SAMPSON
    COMMANDER OF FLAGSHIP
    IN SPANISH-AMERICAN WAR
    1840-1902
    Location: ON SO. SIDE VIENNA ST., PALMYRA

  • SAW MILL BROOK
    LONG ISLAND COLONY
    SETTLED HERE MAY 2, 1792
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1-1/2 MIS. WEST OF E. PALMYRA

  • SITE OF
    ORTHODOX QUAKER
    MEETING HOUSE
    FIRST ONE ERECTED IN WESTERN
    NEW YORK 1800-1830
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 2 MIS. NORTH OF PALMYRA

  • SITE OF
    FIRST CHURCH
    IN PALMYRA
    1811-1832
    LAND GIVEN BY
    GENERAL JOHN SWIFT
    Location: ON CHURCH ST., PALMYRA

  • SITE OF
    PIONEER HOME
    OF GIDEON DURFEE
    BUILT 1811
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1/4 MI. EAST OF PALMYRA

  • THIS HOUSE
    BUILT BY PLINY SEXTON IN
    1827 WAS A STATION OF
    THE UNDERGROUND RAILWAY
    IN THE DAYS OF
    SLAVERY
    Location: ON MAIN ST., PALMYRA

  • [ARROW]
    4 MILES SOUTH
    CUMORAH
    FAMOUS MORMON HILL
    AND
    ANGEL MORONI MONUMENT
    Location: AT INTERSECTION OF NYS 31 & 21 IN PALMYRA

  • [ARROW]
    1/4 MILE
    SACRED GROVE
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1 MI. S. OF PALMYRA

County: WAYNE
Town: SAVANNAH, TOWN OF

  • INDIAN TOWN
    ON HILL TO EAST WAS
    ONONTARE, A FORTIFIED
    TOWN OF CAYUGA NATION.
    IN 1657 THE SITE OF
    MISSION OF ST. RENE
    Location: ON NYS 414 ABOUT 1 MI. SOUTH OF SAVANNAH

County: WAYNE
Town: WALWORTH, TOWN OF

  • ON THIS SITE
    ISAAC BARNHART BUILT DAM
    IN 1813, GRIST MILL IN 1818.
    CRAGGS ROLLER MILLS 1862-1930
    Location: ON CO. RD. NEAR WALWORTH-MACEDON TOWN LINE

  • SITE OF
    TANNERY
    BUILT BY LUTHER FILLMORE
    IN 1805
    Location: ON TOWN RD. ABOUT 1/4 MILE NORTH OF WALWORTH

  • SITE OF
    FIRST CHURCH
    IN WALWORTH, BUILT PRIOR
    TO 1809; IN USE UNTIL 1825
    Location: ON NYS 350 ABOUT 1 MILE WEST OF WALWORTH

  • SITE OF
    THE FIRST ACADEMY
    IN WALWORTH
    INCORPORATED 1842
    BUILT OF LAKE STONES
    AT A COST OF $4000
    Location: ON CO. RD. IN WALWORTH

  • SITE OF
    LOG SCHOOL HOUSE
    BUILT IN 1804
    Location: ON CO. RD. IN WALWORTH

  • SITE OF
    FREEWILL BAPTIST
    CHURCH
    1834-1875
    BUILT AT A COST OF $2000
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 2 MIS. N.W. OF WALWORTH

  • WALWORTH
    KNOWN AS DOUGLAS CORNERS
    1801-1825
    HERE STEPHEN DOUGLAS OF
    CONN. BUILT FIRST HOUSE
    Location: ON CO. RD. AT WALWORTH

County: WAYNE
Town: WILLIAMSON, TOWN OF

  • FIRST ROAD
    IN WILLIAMSON BUILT BY
    CHARLES WILLIAMSON IN 1794
    CALLED THE OLD SODUS ROAD
    BETWEEN PALMYRA AND
    SODUS BAY
    Location: ON US 104 AT E. WILLIAMSON

  • FIRST WHITE MEN
    FROM 1687 FRENCH BATEAUX
    MEN STOPPED HERE TO TRADE
    WITH INDIANS. FIRST SETTLER
    "YANKEE BILL" WATERS, A HUNTER
    LIVED HERE 1804
    Location: ON NYS 21 AT PULTNEYVILLE

  • INDIAN TRAIL
    THIS ROAD, SECOND IN TOWN
    WAS INDIAN TRAIL, LATER
    CANANDAIGUA-PULTNEYVILLE
    POST ROAD, BUILT OF PLANK,
    HERE STOOD TOLL GATE
    Location: ON NYS 21 ABOUT 2 MIS. NORTH OF WILLIAMSON

  • SITE OF
    UNDERGROUND
    RAILROAD TERMINUS
    HOME OF SAMUEL CUYLER USED
    AS TERMINUS OF UNDERGROUND
    R.R. DURING SLAVERY PERIOD
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 1/4 MILE EAST OF PULTNEYVILLE

  • SITE OF
    FIRST LOG HOUSE
    BUILT 1807 BY MAJOR WILLIAM
    ROGERS. USED FOR TAVERN,
    STORE, AND POST OFFICE.
    SETTLEMENT WAS CALLED
    ROGERS CORNERS
    Location: AT INTERSECTION NYS 104 & 21 IN EAST WILLIAMSON

  • SITE OF
    UNION CHURCH
    ERECTED 1825, OPEN FOR USE
    OF ANY DENOMINATION,
    DEDICATED TO TOLERANCE AND
    PROMOTION OF GOOD ORDER
    AND RELIGION
    Location: ON NYS 21 AT PULTNEYVILLE

County: WAYNE
Town: WOLCOTT, TOWN OF

  • WOLCOTT FALLS
    CALLED BY INDIANS
    "gANADASGUA", LEAPING
    WATERS ABOVE THE LAKE.
    SITE OF MELVIN'S MILLS
    ESTABLISHED 1809
    Location: ON US 104 AT WOLCOTT

County: WESTCHESTER
Town: CORTLANDT, TOWN OF

  • CAMP SMITH
    NEW YORK NATIONAL GUARD
    TRAINING CAMP ESTABLISHED
    1882. CONTAINS 1900 ACRES.
    NAMED FOR ALFRED E. SMITH,
    GOVERNOR OF NEW YORK
    Location: SEMINARY AVE., NO. OF ENTRANCE TO SEMINARY

  • CAMP SMITH
    NEW YORK NATIONAL GUARD
    TRAINING CAMP ESTABLISHED
    1882. CONTAINS 1900 ACRES.
    NAMED FOR ALFRED E. SMITH,
    GOVERNOR OF NEW YORK
    Location: US 6-202, NR. BEAR MT. BRIDGE

  • CAMP SMITH
    NEW YORK NATIONAL GUARD
    TRAINING CAMP ESTABLISHED
    1882. CONTAINS 1900 ACRES.
    NAMED FOR ALFRED E. SMITH,
    GOVERNOR OF NEW YORK
    Location: US 6-202, SO. BEAR MT. BRIDGE

  • CROMPOUND ROAD
    MAIN ROAD FROM
    YORKTOWN TO PEEKSKILL
    IN COLONIAL DAYS AND
    DURING THE REVOLUTION
    Location: US 202, E. OF PEEKSKILL, CLINTON AVE. & CROMPOUND RD.

  • JAN PEECK BRIDGE
    NAMED TO COMMEMORATE
    THE PLACE WHERE JAN PEECK,
    DUTCH TRADER, 1640-1650,
    MET INDIANS TO TRADE FOR FURS
    Location: US 6, US 9 AND US 202, NO. OF PEEKSKILL CREEK BRIDGE

  • JAN PEECK BRIDGE
    NAMED TO COMMEMORATE
    THE PLACE WHERE JAN PEECK,
    DUTCH TRADER, 1640-1650,
    MET INDIANS TO TRADE FOR FURS
    Location: US 6, US 9 AND US 202, SO. OF PEEKSKILL CREEK BRIDGE

  • KINGS FERRY
    IMPORTANT RIVER CROSSING
    IN COLONIAL DAYS AND THE
    REVOLUTION. USED BY FRENCH
    AND AMERICAN ARMIES ON
    MARCH TO YORKTOWN IN 1782
    Location: KINGS FERRY RD., NEAR VERPLANCK

  • POST HANNOCH HOUSE
    OWNER OPERATED KINGS FERRTY
    1664. COLONEL LIVINGSTON'S
    HEADQUARTERS, 1781. WASHINGTON
    PRESENTED MEDALS TO CAPTORS
    OF ANDRE HERE IN 1782
    Location: KINGS FERRY RD., 1 MI. W. OF US 9

County: WESTCHESTER
Town: EASTCHESTER, TOWN OF

  • SUNSET HILL
    WHERE IN THE YEAR 1666
    GRAMATAN
    CHIEF OF THE MOHICAN INDIANS
    SIGNED THE DEED TRANSFERRING
    EASTCHESTER TO THE WHITE MAN
    Location: PONDFIELD RD., W. OF VALLEY RD., BRONXVILLE

County: WESTCHESTER
Town: GREENBURGH, TOWN OF

  • ANDRE CAPTURED
    HERE IN 1780 THREE HONEST
    MILITIAMEN ARRESTED MAJOR
    JOHN ANDRE ADJT-GEN. BRITISH
    ARMY, DISGUISED, PREVENTING
    DISASTER TO AMERICAN CAUSE.
    Location: US 9 AT PARK ENTRANCE, TARRYTOWN

  • ASBURY M.E. CHURCH
    FOUNDED 1796 BY REV. JOHN
    BARNET MATTHIAS, ITINERANT
    PREACHER. CHURCH FIRST
    INCORPORATED IN 1807.
    THIS BUILDING ERECTED 1837.
    Location: WASHINGTON AND ELIZABETH STS., TARRYTOWN

  • BATTLE OF
    EDGAR'S LANE
    SEPT. 30, 1778 CONTINENTAL
    DRAGOONS UNDER MAJ. HENRY
    LEE KILLED 23 HESSIANS ON A
    MARAUDING EXPEDITION. BATTLE
    WAGED FROM HERE TO RAVINE.
    Location: US 9, NO. OF FARRAGUT PKWY. IN HASTINGS-ON-HUDSON

  • CHRIST CHURCH
    ERECTED IN 1837. FOR MANY
    YEARS WASHINGTON IRVING
    WAS VESTRYMAN AND WARDEN.
    IVY IS FROM CUTTINGS FROM
    VINE ON HIS HOME SUNNYSIDE.
    Location: US 9 AND ELIZABETH ST., TARRYTOWN

  • DRAPER PARK
    MEMORIAL TO
    DR. JOHN WILLIAM DRAPER 1811-1882
    CHEMIST, PHILOSOPHER, HISTORIAN
    FIRST PHOTOGRAPHED THE HUMAN
    FACE, 1839
    Location: US 9 & WASHINGTON AVE., IN HASTINGS-ON-HUDSON

  • DRAPER PARK
    MEMORIAL TO
    DR. JOHN WILLIAM DRAPER
    1811-1882
    ASTRONOMER AND HISTORIAN
    WHO MADE HERE 1ST PHOTOGRAPH OF MOON
    Location: IN JOHN W. DRAPER MEMORIAL PK. US 9 & WASHINGTON AVE., IN HASTINGS-ON-HUDSO

  • EARTH REDOUBT
    CONSTRUCTED IN REVOLUTION,
    FROM HERE THE LOCAL WATER
    GUARD CANNONADED BRITISH
    SLOOP VULTURE RETURNING
    FROM ANDRE-ARNOLD MEETING.
    Location: FOOT OF CHURCH ST., TARRYTOWN

  • FRENCH CAMP
    HEREABOUTS, FRENCH TROOPS,
    UNDER COUNT DE ROCHAMBEAU,
    SENT TO ASSIST WASHINGTON
    MADE THEIR CAMP JULY 6,
    TO AUGUST 19, 1781.
    Location: UNDERHILL RD. & CLAYTON ST., E. OF ARDSLEY

  • ISAAC VAN WART
    ONE OF MAJOR ANDRE'S
    CAPTORS SEPT. 23, 1780
    ELMSFORD CITIZEN 1758-1820
    BURIED HERE
    Location: NYS 9A, BETWEEN MAIN & VAN WART STS., ELMSFORD

  • SECOND REFORMED
    CHURCH
    ERECTED IN 1837 AS SOUTH
    CHURCH OF OLD DUTCH CHURCH
    OF SLEEPY HOLLOW BECAME A
    SEPARATE CONGREGATION 1851
    Location: US 9 AND CENTRAL AVE., TARRYTOWN

  • SITE OF
    COUENHOVEN INN
    TAVERN USED DURING
    REVOLUTIONARY WAR, WHERE
    WASHINGTON RESTED AND
    HELD CONFERENCE.
    LATER MARTIN SMITH'S INN.
    Location: US 9 AND MAIN ST., TARRYTOWN

  • SITE OF MOTT HOME
    SCHOOL LAWN WAS SITE OF
    OLD HOME BUILT 1712. SCENE
    OF ACTIVITY IN REVOLUTION.
    SAID TO BE HOME OF IRVING'S
    HEROINE KATRINA VAN TASSEL.
    Location: US 9, NO. OF HAMILTON PL., TARRYTOWN

County: WESTCHESTER
Town: MOUNT PLEASANT, TOWN OF

  • JOHN DEAN ROCK
    REFUGE OF
    CAPTAIN JOHN DEAN
    DURING THE
    REVOLUTIONARY WAR
    Location: SAW MILL R. PKWY., SO. OF HAWTHORNE CIRCLE

  • SITE OF
    GRAHAM HOME
    DR. ISAAC GILBERT GRAHAM
    BORON SEPT.10, 1760 - DIED SEPT.13, 1849
    SURGEON'S MATE, 1781-1783
    IN REVOLUTIONARY WAR
    Location: ACCESS DR., THORNWOOD

  • SITE OF HOME
    SERGEANT STAATS HAMMOND
    1744-1820
    THE LAST STOPPING PLACE
    OF MAJOR ANDRE BEFORE
    HIS CAPTURE AT TARRYTOWN
    Location: S.E. SIDE HAWTHORNE TRAFFIC CIRCLE

  • THE HEADLESS
    HORSEMAN BRIDGE
    DESCRIBED BY IRVING IN THE
    LEGEND OF SLEEPY HOLLOW
    FORMERLY SPANNED THIS
    STREAM NEAR THIS SPOT.
    Location: US 9, NO. OF STONE BRIDGE, NORTH TARRYTOWN

  • THE OLD
    DUTCH CHURCH
    OF SLEEPY HOLLOW, BUILT 1697
    BY FREDERICK PHILIPSE, FIRST
    LORD OF THE MANOR. IN USE
    SINCE EXCEPT IN REVOLUTION
    Location: US 9 AT DEVENS AVE., NORTH TARRYTOWN

County: WESTCHESTER
Town: MOUNT VERNON, CITY OF

  • "BILLY"
    CRAWFORD'S
    TAVERN
    BUILT IN 1732
    WESTCHESTER LODGE
    MET HERE IN 1797
    Location: SO. COLUMBUS AVE., E. OF SO. THIRD AVE.

  • "BROM" DYCKMAN
    A "WESTCHESTER SCOUT"
    WAS MORTALLY WOUNDED
    HERE DURING A SKIRMISH
    ON MARCH 4, 1782
    Location: W. FIRST ST. & SO. 11TH AVE.

  • APPROACHING
    SAINT PAUL'S CHURCH
    EASTCHESTER
    FOUNDED 1665
    Location: SO. COLUMBUS & SO. FULTON AVES.

  • COLONIAL ROAD
    FROM
    PHILIPSE MANOR
    TO
    OLD BOSTON POST ROAD
    AT EASTCHESTER
    Location: SO. THIRD AVE. AT WASHINGTON BLVD.

  • COLONIAL ROAD
    FROM PHILIPSE MANOR
    TO
    EASTCHESTER
    CROSSED HERE
    Location: MACQUESTEN PKWY. NO., AT OAK ST.

  • EASTCHESTER
    LANE
    PART OF COLONIAL ROAD FROM
    PHILIPSE MANOR
    TO
    EASTCHESTER
    Location: SO. 11TH AVE. & EASTCHESTER LANE

  • HUNT HOUSE
    PURCHASED BY
    ISRAEL HUNT FROM
    THOMAS LAWRENCE, 1789.
    Location: RD. TO CROSS COUNTY PKWY. FROM NO. COLUMBUS AVE.

  • SITE OF
    FOWLER'S TAVERN
    BUILT IN 1733, REBUILT 1799
    WHERE MILITIA GATHERED
    IN 1776. MASONS MET HERE
    1700-1814
    Location: SO. COLUMBUS AVE. AT SO. THIRD AVE.

  • SITE OF
    MORRELL'S TAVERN
    AT A SKIRMISH HERE
    ON OCTOBER 23, 1776,
    TEN HESSIANS AND
    ONE AMERICAN FELL
    Location: NO. COLUMBUS AVE., NO. OF SHERMAN AVE.

County: WESTCHESTER
Town: NEW ROCHELLE, CITY OF

  • [ARROW]
    COLLEGE OF NEW ROCHELLE
    FIRST CATHOLIC COLLEGE FOR WOMEN
    IN NEW YORK STATE, FOUNDED 1904
    Location: S.E. CORNER MAIN ST. & PINTARD AVE.

  • [ARROW]
    COLLEGE OF NEW ROCHELLE
    FIRST CATHOLIC COLLEGE FOR WOMEN
    IN NEW YORK STATE, FOUNDED 1904
    Location: N.W. CORNER PELHAM RD. & LELAND AVE.

County: WESTCHESTER
Town: OSSINING, TOWN OF

  • BIRTHPLACE OF
    JOHN L. WORDEN 1818-1897
    REAR ADMIRAL U.S. NAVY
    COMMANDED "MONITOR" AGAINST
    "MERRIMAC" HAMPTON ROADS,
    VIRGINIA, MARCH 9, 1862
    Location: US 9, SO. OF SCARBOROUGH RD.

  • ROBERT HAVELL
    1793-1878
    WORLD FAMOUS ENGRAVER OF
    AUDUBON'S "BIRDS OF AMERICA"
    LIVED MANY YEARS IN HIS HOUSE
    AT FURTHER END OF THIS STREET.
    Location: US 9 AT HAVELL ST., IN OSSINING

  • SPARTA CEMETERY
    SET APART BY COL. PHILIPSE
    GRAVES OF REV. SOLDIERS.
    CANNON FIRE HIT TOMBSTONE.
    FIRST SITE OF PRES. CHURCH
    MOVED TO SING SING IN 1800.
    Location: US 9 AT CEMETERY, OSSINING

  • UNION HOTEL
    STOOD ON THIS CORNER ABOUT
    1800 TO 1890. OWNED BY
    ENOCH CROSBY, JR., LATER BY
    SIMEON M. TOMPKINS. STAGE
    STOP N.Y. - ALBANY & SOMERS.
    Location: US 9 AT CHURCH ST., OSSINING

County: WESTCHESTER
Town: SCARSDALE, TOWN OF

  • SITE OF
    JAMES FENIMORE
    COOPER RESIDENCE.
    ERECTED 1817. HERE WAS
    WRITTEN THE SPY 1821.
    Location: MAMARONECK RD. BETWEEN MURRAY HILL & KELWYNNE RD.

County: WESTCHESTER
Town: YONKERS, CITY OF

  • CAMPING GROUND
    FOR AMERICAN AND BRITISH
    FORCES DURING THE REVOLUTION.
    WASHINGTON USED NEARBY
    VALENTINE HOMESTEAD FOR
    HEADQUARTERS FREQUENTLY.
    Location: SEMINARY AVE.& MILE SQUARE RD.

  • COLONIAL ROAD
    SPRAIN ROAD OVER WHICH
    AMERICAN FORCES PASSED IN
    ADVANCE AND RETREAT
    BEFORE THE BATTLE OF
    WHITE PLAINS, OCT. 28, 1776
    Location: SPRAIN RD., AT AUSTIN AVE.

  • COLONIAL ROAD
    SPRAIN ROAD OVER WHICH
    AMERICAN FORCES PASSED IN
    ADVANCE AND RETREAT
    BEFORE THE BATTLE OF
    WHITE PLAINS, OCT. 28, 1776
    Location: SPRAIN RD., SO OF BRIDGE

  • COLONIAL ROAD
    SPRAIN ROAD OVER WHICH
    AMERICAN FORCES PASSED IN
    ADVANCE AND RETREAT
    BEFORE THE BATTLE OF
    WHITE PLAINS, OCT. 28, 1776
    Location: SPRAIN RD., NO. OF CEMETERY ENTRANCE

  • COLONIAL ROAD
    SPRAIN ROAD OVER WHICH
    AMERICAN FORCES PASSED IN
    ADVANCE AND RETREAT
    BEFORE THE BATTLE OF
    WHITE PLAINS, OCT. 28, 1776
    Location: SPRAIN R., NO. OF TUCKAHOE RD.

  • MANOR HALL
    BEGUN 1682, FINISHED 1745
    SEAT OF PHILIPSE FAMILY
    UNTIL 1779. CONTAINS THE
    COCHRAN COLLECTION OF
    PORTRAITS OF PRESIDENTS
    Location: WARBURTON AVE. & DOCK ST.

  • MILE SQUARE ROAD
    COLONIAL ROAD, EASTCHESTER
    TO WHITE PLAINS, USED BY
    AMERICAN FORCES BEFORE
    BATTLE OF WHITE PLAINS,
    OCT. 28, 1776
    Location: MILE SQUARE RD., W. OF BRONX RIVER RD.

  • MILE SQUARE ROAD
    COLONIAL ROAD, EASTCHESTER
    TO WHITE PLAINS, USED BY
    AMERICAN FORCES BEFORE
    BATTLE OF WHITE PLAINS,
    OCT. 28, 1776
    Location: MILE SQUARE RD., E. OF CENTRAL PARK AVE.

  • SITE OF
    VALENTINE HOMESTEAD
    WASHINGTON'S HEADQUARTERS
    AT VARIOUS TIMES DURING
    THE REVOLUTION. HOUSE STOOD
    150 FEET BACK OF STONE MARKERS.
    Location: SEMINARY AVE., NO. OF ENTRANCE TO SEMINARY

  • SITE OF
    THE GLEBE
    125 FEET EAST OF THIS SPOT
    STOOD ST. JOHN'S RECTORY,
    1770 - 1845 ON LAND GIVEN BY
    FREDERICK PHILIPSE 1751.
    SCENE OF SKIRMISHES 1778.
    Location: SAW MILL R. RD., NO. OF ASHBURTON AVE.

  • ST. JOHNS
    FIRST PUBLIC BURIAL GROUND
    IN YONKERS - ABOUT 1783.
    GRAVES OF SOLDIERS OF
    REVOLUTION AND LATER WARS;
    ALSO EARLY SETTLERS OF YONKERS
    Location: SAW MILL R. RD., NO. OF ASHBURTON AVE.

  • YONKERS
    NAMED FOR THE "JONKHEER"
    ADRIEN VAN DER DONCK
    PATENTEE OF COLEN DONCK
    1641. BECAME PART OF MANOR
    OF PHILIPSBOROUGH 1693
    Location: US 9, NO. OF DUDLEY ST.

County: WESTCHESTER
Town: YORKTOWN, TOWN OF

  • GEN. ROCHAMBEAU
    HEADQUARTERS FOR SIX WEEKS
    IN 1781-1782
    Location: SPRAIN RD. SO. OF BRIDGE

  • PARSONAGE SITE
    OF PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH
    HEADQUARTERS OF YORKTOWN
    COMMITTEE WHO DISARMED
    LOYALISTS IN 1776.
    BURNT BY BRITISH IN 1779
    Location: N.W. CORNER US 202 & NYS 132, AT YORKTOWN

  • PINES BRIDGE
    OLD CROTON RIVER CROSSING
    IMPORTANT BRIDGE HEAD
    GUARDED BY AMERICAN TROOPS
    DURING THE REVOLUTION
    Location: NYS 100, NO. SIDE OF BRIDGE OVER CROTON RESERVOIR

  • YORKTOWN CHURCH
    BUILT BY PRESBYTERIANS IN
    1738. ARMY STORE HOUSE
    DURING REVOLUTION. BURNED
    BY BRITISH 1779. PRESENT
    BUILDING ERECTED 1799
    Location: N.W. CORNER US 202 & NYS 132, AT YORKTOWN

County: WYOMING
Town: MIDDLEBURY, TOWN OF

  • FIRST
    PRESBYTERIAN
    CHURCH
    OF MIDDLEBURY
    ORGANIZED WITH 15 MEMBERS
    JUNE 14, 1817
    Location: ON NYS 19 IN WYOMING

  • WEST MIDDLEBURY
    BAPTIST CHURCH
    ORGANIZED WITH 17 MEMBERS
    MARCH 11, 1811
    PRESENT BUILDING
    DEDICATED JUNE 21, 1832
    Location: ON CO. RD. 47 IN HAMLET OF WEST MIDDLEBURY

County: WYOMING
Town: SHELDON, TOWN OF

  • HAMILTON SITE 1807
    VETERAN PHYSICIAN OF THE
    HOLLARD LAND COMPANY
    PIONEER SETTLER
    EXTENSIVE LAND OWNER
    SURGEON IN THE
    WAR OF 1812
    Location: ON TN. RD. ABOUT 9 MILES WEST OF VARYSBURG

  • TURNER'S
    CORNERS
    PIONEER OUTPOST 1804
    ON INDIAN TRAIL FROM
    PORTAGE TO LAKE ERIE
    Location: ON US 20A ABOUT 4-1/2 MILES WEST OF VARYSBURG

County: YATES
Town: BENTON, TOWN OF

  • METHODIST CHURCH
    BENTON CLASS FORMED 1793
    EZRA COLE PREACHED 1792
    OLDEST EXISTING RELIGIOUS
    SOCIETY IN YATES CO. AND OF
    METHODISM IN WESTERN N.Y.
    Location: ON NYS 14A AT BENTON CRNRS.

County: YATES
Town: BRANCHPORT, TOWN OF

  • RED JACKET
    NEAR THIS SPOT STOOD THE
    CABIN HOME OCCUPIED BY
    PARENTS OF NOTED SENECA
    CHIEF RED JACKET, 1752.
    HIS MOTHER'S GRAVE IS HERE
    Location: ON NYS 54A ABOUT 1/2 MILE SOUTH OF BRANCHPORT

County: YATES
Town: JERUSALEM, TOWN OF

  • BUILT ABOUT 1790
    FRIEND'S HOME
    HERE LIVED
    JEMIMA WILKINSON
    KNOWN AS
    THE UNIVERSAL FRIEND
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 4 MILES NORTH OF BRANCHPORT

  • HERE LIVED
    GU-YA-NO-GA
    INDIAN CHIEF OF THE
    SENECA NATION
    FRIEND OF THE REVOLUTION
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 2 MILES NORTH OF BRANCHPORT

County: YATES
Town: MIDDLESEX, TOWN OF

  • INDIAN BURIALS
    HERE IS AN INDIAN BURIAL
    PLACE OF THE PERIOD PRIOR
    TO THE COMING OF EARLY
    SENECAS. EXCAVATED BY
    STATE MUSEUM 1922
    Location: IN VINE VALLEY

County: YATES
Town: POTTER, TOWN OF

  • BUILT ABOUT 1790
    POTTER MANSION
    HOME OF ARNOLD POTTER
    PIONEER & EARLY SETTLER
    AFTER WHOM TOWN IS NAMED
    Location: ON CO. RD. ABOUT 3-1/2 MILES NORTHWEST OF PENN YAN

Museum Open Monday-Saturday: 9:30 am to 5 pm | Carousel Hours: 10 am to 4:30 pm
Office of Cultural Education | New York State Education Department
Information: 518-474-5877 | Contact Us | Image Requests | Terms of Use
Join us on Facebook See us on YouTube See us on Flickr