EXPERIENCE GEOLOGY
Mineral Collections at NYSM

MUSEUM RESERVATIONS
Visit the two scientific reservations under the management of the New York State Museum!
Stark's Knob: /nysgs/experience/sites/starksknob/index.html
Lester Park: /nysgs/experience/sites/lesterpark/index.html

GEOLOGICAL SITES
Altona Formation: /nysgs/experience/sites/altona/index.html
Adirondack "Missing Time" Road Cut: /nysgs/experience/sites/missingtime/index.html
Cohoes Falls: /nysgs/experience/sites/cohoesfalls/index.html
Garvey's Point: /nysgs/experience/sites/garviespoint/index.html
Kaaterskill Falls & Clove: /nysgs/experience/sites/kaaterskill/index.html
Keeseville, NY Jellyfish: /nysgs/experience/sites/keeseville/index.html
Letchworth Gorge: /nysgs/experience/sites/letchworth/index.html
Hudson River Exposures: /nysgs/experience/sites/hudsonriverlakeclays/index.html
Niagara Falls: /nysgs/experience/sites/niagara/index.html
New York City: /nysgs/experience/sites/nyc/index.html
Pyrites Complex, Adirondack Lowlands: /nysgs/experience/sites/pyrites/index.html
Shawangunk Ridge: /nysgs/experience/sites/shawangunk/index.html Taughannock Falls: /nysgs/experience/sites/taughannockfalls/index.html

FOSSIL & MINERAL COLLECTING
Collecting fossils and minerals is an integral part of field work for geologist. When collected in a responsible manner, properly cared for, catalogued and made available for use in a suitable museum, fossil and mineral specimens can reveal incredible secrets about the earth and have contributed significantly to the development of geology as a science, and to the understanding of geological history throughout the world.
Places to visit:
Herkimer Diamond Mine: http://www.herkimerdiamond.com/
Ace of Diamond Mine: http://www.herkimerdiamonds.com/
Barton Garnet Mine: http://garnetminetours.com/
Penn Dixie Outdoor Education Center: http://www.penndixie.org/
18 Mile Creek: http://www.fossilguy.com/sites/18mile/body.htm

 

Mineral Collections at NYSM

CAVING:
Caves have been explored out of necessity (for shelter from the elements or from enemies), out of curiosity or for mystical reasons for thousands of years. However, only in the last century or two has the activity developed into a sophisticated, athletic pastime. Caving is often undertaken for the enjoyment of the activity or for physical exercise, as well as original exploration, similar to mountaineering or diving. Physical or biological science is also an important goal for some cavers.
Places to visit:
Howe Caverns: http://www.howecaverns.com/
Secret Caverns: http://www.secretcaverns.com/
Natural Stone Bridge & Caves: http://www.stonebridgeandcaves.com/
Lockport Cave: http://www.lockportcave.com/

 

Mineral Collections at NYSM

PARKS & MUSEUMS:
One of the easiest ways to experience geology is to visit one of the many parks and museums located throughout New York State dedicated to the research and preservation of fossils and minerals.
Places to visit:
New York State Museum: http://www.nysm.nysed.gov
The Paleontological Research Institution: http://www.museumoftheearth.org/
Rock City Park: http://www.rockcitypark.com/
Adirondack Park & Museum: http://www.adkmuseum.org/
Buffalo Museum of Science: http://www.sciencebuff.org/
Niagara Falls State Park: http://www.niagarafallsstatepark.com/
High Falls Gorge: http://www.highfallsgorge.com/
Ausable Chasm: http://www.ausablechasm.com/

 

FIELD TRIPS
Building Stones of the Empire State Plaza - A Walking Tour

 

 


NYSGS CONTACT    |    NEW YORK STATE MUSEUM    |    NYSM RESEARCH & COLLECTIONS

The New York State Geological Survey (NYSGS) is a bureau of
the New York State Museum in the New York State Education Department.
NYSED Logo