Congratulations to the 2019 Leadership in History Award Winners from New York State

AASLH is proud to announce the winners of the 74th annual Leadership in History Awards, the most prestigious recognition for achievement in the preservation and interpretation of state and local history. This year, AASLH is proud to confer fifty national awards honoring people, projects, exhibits, and publications.

“Each year the awards program bestows this honor to organizations and individuals who model best practices and innovative work in our field,” said Nicholas Hoffman, AASLH National Awards Chair and Managing Director of Education and Visitor Experience at the Missouri Historical Society. “These fifty award winners show the importance of using history to address contemporary issues and working with communities to share history that is relevant to them.”

The Leadership in History Awards Program was initiated in 1945 to build standards of excellence in the collection, preservation, and interpretation of state and local history throughout America. Each nomination is peer-reviewed by AASLH’s state captains. Final awards are decided by the Awards Committee, comprised of AASLH’s fourteen regional representatives and the National Awards Chair.

Presentation of the awards will be made at a special banquet during the 2019 Annual Meeting in Philadelphia on Friday, August 30. The banquet is supported by a generous contribution from the HISTORY™.

Brooklyn Historical Society Nomination for the Young Scholars program

New-York Historical Society Nomination for The Citizenship Project (This nomination is also the recipient of a HIP (History in Progress) Award)

Niagara Falls Underground Railroad Heritage Commission Inc. Nomination for the exhibit One More River to Cross: the Niagara Falls Underground Railroad Heritage Center

Susan Goodier and Karen Pastorello Nomination for the publication Women Will Vote: Winning Suffrage in New York State

Three Village Historical Society Nomination: for the Founders Day project