A deer in Adirondack Hall
Outreach :: Local Government Historians :: Winslow Professional Award

The Edmund J. Winslow Local Government Historian's Award for Excellence is named in honor of Edmund J. Winslow, Senior Historian, New York State Museum, 1968 to 1990, and is awarded in recognition of excellence in one or more public history projects or publications. It is presented jointly by the Office of the State Historian of New York and the Association of Public Historians of New York State.

Past recipients include:

  • Dennis Sullivan, Voorheesville (Albany County) Village Historian, for his video production: Voorheesville, New york: A Nineteenth Century railroad Town.
  • Pauline Tedford, Waddington (St. Lawrence County) Village Deputy Historian, for her research, interpretation, and documentation of the life of Isaac Johnson (1844-1905), former slave, Civil War soldier, and master stonemason of St. Lawrence county.
  • Marvin Rapp, Ph.D., Canandaigua (Ontario County) City Historian, for his educational video series Chronicles of Ontario County.
  • Laura Lynne Scharer, Jefferson County Historian, for her publication But what Am I Supposed to Do?: A Guide for New York State's Local Government Historians.
  • Charles B. Swaine, Greene County Minority Historian, for his research, interpretation, and documentation of the service of "Buffalo Soldiers," African-American soldiers of the Civil War and Post-Civil War eras.
Museum Open Tuesday-Sunday: 9:30 am to 5 pm | Carousel Hours: 10 am to 4:30 pm
Office of Cultural Education | New York State Education Department
Information: 518-474-5877 | Contact Us | Image Requests | Terms of Use
Join us on Facebook See us on YouTube See us on Flickr