Congratulations to New York's 2017 AASLH Leadership in History Award Winners!

Excerpt from AASLH's Press Release:

NASHVILLE, TN—The American Association for State and Local History (AASLH) proudly announces the winners of the 72nd annual Leadership in History Awards, the most prestigious recognition for achievement in the preservation and interpretation of state and local history. This year, AASLH is proud to confer forty-eight national awards honoring people, projects, exhibits, and publications.

“The Leadership in History Awards is AASLH’s highest distinction and the winners represent the best in the field,” said Trina Nelson Thomas, AASLH Awards Chair and Director, Stark Art & History Venue, Stark Foundation. “This year, we are pleased to distinguish each recipient’s commitment and innovation to the interpretation of history, as well as their leadership for the future of state and local history.”

The Leadership in History Awards Program was initiated in 1945 to build standards of excellence in the collection, preservation, and interpretation of state and local history throughout America. Each nomination is peer-reviewed by AASLH’s state captains. Final awards are decided by the Awards Committee, comprised of AASLH’s fourteen regional representatives and the National Awards Chair.

Congratulations to New York's two Leadership in History Award Winners!

Name: Averill Earls, Sarah Handley-Cousins, Marissa Rhodes, Elizabeth Garner Masarik, Katie Smyser, Tommy Buttaccio, and Dan Wallace

Nomination: The History Buffs podcast

Name: The Historic Tavern Trail Series presented by Johanna Yaun, Orange County Historian

Nomination: 2016 Historic Tavern Trail Series